TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

$49.99$39.99* Federal

State additional  |  Free federal e-file included

TurboTax Basic
CD/Download full feature list

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. (Fees may apply*)

  • Go at your own pace—no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your bank account.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

Reviews from TurboTax Basic CD/Download users

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never done my own taxes ever . This was my first time ever and it was great , it took me some time to work some things out but it wasn't hard to work it out . I will be doing my own taxes for now on with Turbo Tax .......
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is the ticket I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years...have never had any issues. Will use as long as I do taxes.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THANKS TURBO I would definitely use Turbo tax next year.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Explanation of State form Boxes First, on all tax forms, (weather Federal or State forms), spell out all abbreviations or acronyms! Second, on all tax forms, (weather Federal or State forms), explain all abbreviations or acronyms in a way, "the man on the street" can understand, in either a "bubble" or drop down box"!! Realize that he/ she does not deal with tax abbreviations or acronyms everyday as your organization does!!! Third, consider adding a "what if" section to allow users to compare filing a detailed return or something more complex. You say you do? Let me rephrase the issue so that you can better understand!!! consider adding a "what if" section to allow users to compare filing a detailed return or something more complex. Really ,... is it oriented towards the "the man on the street"? Can he/ she understand what you have created?
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and Straight Forward
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from over charged I bought the Ohio state return program so I dont think that I should have had to pay again to file it
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Refund If you haven't tried TurboTax you are missing out on an excellent product. They provide great support from beginning to end. There is help every step of the way. Thank you so much for helping me get the most out of this stressful time.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from download link for Basic was too difficult to find My main complaint is that it took 1.5 hours to find the link to download the Basic version of TurboTax. I was presented with Tax Advantage signup screens multiple times and couldn't locate the link to download the Basic software because it was not made apparent on the site. I optimize web sites for a living as an Adobe employee and your site UI for software download is absolutely horrible. I nearly switched to HRBlock because I was so frustrated and am seriously considering a switch for next year. I will NEVER input all of my tax info onto your servers for filing. If you ever remove the download feature, I will definitely quit using Turbo Tax. I decided not to purchase Quicken because you make users provide all of their info on your servers, then require subscriptions to access our own info. Never, never, never will do that.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced The program works as always, sequencing through income and expense categories logically. It has gotten better at recovering if you make a mistake and have to go back and find a form to change an entry. It has not gotten better in the fact that, if you go back , and you're in "lead me through everything mode", you'll have to go through everything linearly to get back to where you were. But the dang thing is just way over priced. You pay 30-something for the basic package, then almost $40 for your state (if applicable), then a bunch more to file electronically. It keeps adding, and the longer we subscribe, the more we pay. We're canceling our 10+ year subscription because the free services will do everything we need, while TT costs nearly $100 to file a couple of simple returns.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Word: Easy Been using Turbo Tax for years and every year it gets better and better. Hard to imagine improving on a great product but every year TT manages to raise the bar.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Software The software is awesome. I wish I could just buy one type and be done. too many other variations of the same software.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrated So frustrated that we are charged 3 separate times while filing taxes: 1) to buy turbotax 2) to buy state 3) to e-file state It feels like a scam not knowing how much you will pay up front and having to enter credit card number 3 times.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eezy Peezy I loved it! I was hesitant to try and file by myself. Taxes always seemed like such a daunting task. Turbotax made it easy to get back my dinero!
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Free State Free State? $42.00 turbo tax 44.00 download state 25.00 to E-file.. I could have had them done for 100.00 and less time on the computer. never again
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy street easy to use. did it with my wife reading me all the numbers that were not imported directly.did on the day before tax day in lessthan an hour. ye I belong to prcrastinators annonyms, prodly solving the problems of today toomarrow
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid as always Year in and year out TurboTax has been our go-to software for completing our Federal Income Tax Return.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund I've used Turbotax for 15 years and have never had any problems. This year I had a question on my IRA distribution and a simple phone call answered it. I strongly recommend Turbotax.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little pricie Every thing going great ,get to the end and your hand is out wanting more dollars for a direct deposit HUH?
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CORRECT PIN NUMBERS DISAPPOINTED .. WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO FILE VIA MAIL....NOT TOO HAPPY WITH TURBOTAX TODAY
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tax help The tax process is generally unpleasant. Using Turbotax makes it tolerable through the good help.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NAILED IT AGAIN!! TurboTax is THE ONLY way to get your taxes done! I wouldn't use any other service or filer.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unnecessary Hassle
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love to use TurboTax and have used it for the last 5 years. It has the easiest steps to follow and the help feature is there for every question. I would recommend this product to family and friends.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have been using TurboTax for 15 years. It has always been easy to use and accurate. On one occasion, it found a deduction that I would not have if I were doing my taxes manually. Filing for an extension and E-filing is very easy.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Years of quality software & service! To be honest, I can't recall for how long I have been using TurboTax...I think it has been since the late 1980's or 1990. I am pretty sure I started with the 1.0 version! It was the FIRST and ONLY program I have ever used for tax prep on a PC. Sure, I have looked at other programs, but, have not found a single competitor that comes close to the features and simplicity of TurboTax! I have run my own business for over 22 years. Granted, my business is not HUGE, and lately, it has just been me, no employees...but, even when it was bigger, TurboTax did the job! SO many people ask me, when they find out I run my own business, "Who does your taxes?" They are always shocked when I tell them "I do!"...many try to warn me "Oh, I'd never do that, you should really have an accountant or a tax expert do that!" or they say "How do you know that you are getting your maximum deductions?" or "How are you certain you even know what you are doing?" First off, my business really isn't all that complicated! I also have a fairly good "basic knowledge" on taxes since I have a business degree. So, maybe I have a bit of an advantage from that perspective. However, I have used it for so long, I really think that it has become so easy to use, ANYBODY can do it. I even showed my kids how. It's not hard, you follow the prompts. If you start your return early enough, there is help built right into the software to get you through it! And, there is TONS of information on-line both from Intuit and other sources. Having used TurboTax for so many years, really, decades, I have feel I can give a fair evaluation as I have watched it change and evolve into the tool it is today. It is really quite a remarkable difference from the early versions. To really appreciate it, you have to have experienced what doing your own tax returns was like BEFORE there were programs like TurboTax. For starters, you'd go down to the Post Office, certain Banks or your local Library to pick up the forms you needed. Invariably, if your return had ANY level of complication to it, you had to make a second trip because you needed a form you forgot! While you were there, you picked up extra copies of each form, in case you make a mistake! I learned early on to do mine in pencil first! THEN, transpose the figures onto a clean set of forms in PEN! Think about all the wasted paper and the cost to do all that printing back then! When tax software first came out, it was really just a simpler way to make sure you had at your disposal all the forms you needed, and, since you were typing everything into your computer first, you didn't need to worry about making a mistake or changing a number. You did it all on your PC first, then printed it out, signed, and mailed it. Since then, the software has really grown up. It now can look back at previous returns, import information, keep track of depreciation schedules, your investments, it can automatically pull and import your W-2's and other forms, it even integrates with your accounting system. I have 2 children, both working and going to college. I can do their taxes for them and have it done quickly, and it's not a big effort on my part. So, when someone marvels about the complexity of doing their own taxes, I ask them "Have you ever used TurboTax?"
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy return Mostly worked well. I've used Turbo Tax for years and will do so again but was a little frustrated that I missed the Social Security section the first time through and had to go back to enter that info. Also, would have liked to apply my refund to 2017 but didn't see that option.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a pain I have contacted them 19 times so far today. It won't file my taxes and now it wants me to start buying things again. Avoid them like the plague!
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great I like turbotax. It is fast and and easy. I spent $60 total for whole thing. My taxes are not complicated so I feel $60 is a lot to pay for them.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long time user of Turbotax I remember when I could call and speak to a TT human. This year I wanted to know about how my social security benefits affected my taxes (I believe there was a penalty involved) but couldn't figure it out. I may have to 1040X it.
Date published: 2017-04-14
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_294
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Windows computer.

Processor

  • Pentium 4 or Later.
  • Athlon or Later.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.

Operating Systems

  • Windows 7 (Service Pack 1 or latest)
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Administrative rights required.

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 client if not already installed).

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 included with TurboTax Installer.
  • Adobe Reader 11 or higher.
  • Administrative rights required.

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended).

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Mac computer.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher.

Operating Systems

  • Mac OS X v10.11 or later [64-bit required].

RAM

  • 2 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection highly recommended).

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Tax Forms included with TurboTax CD/Download products

Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040A U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040EZ Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents
Schedule A Itemized Deductions
Schedule B Interest and Dividend Income
Schedule C Covers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule C-EZ Net Profit From Business
Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses
Schedule E Supplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EIC Earned Income Credit
Schedule SE Self-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ES Estimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-V Payment Vouchers
Form 1040X Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-A Health Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1095-B Health Coverage
Form 1095-C Employer-Provided Health Insurance Offer and Coverage
Form 1098 Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-C Contributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-E Student Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-T Tuition Statement
Form 1099-A Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-B Proceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-C Cancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIV Dividends and Distributions
Form 1099-G Certain Government Payments
Form 1099-INT Interest Income
Form 1099-K Payment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISC Miscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OID Original Issue Discount
Form 1099-Q Payments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SA Distributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMT AMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310 Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106/EZ Employee Business Exp/EZ Employee Business Expenses Short Form
Form 2120 Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-F Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AI Underpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439 Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441 Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555 Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115 Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468 Investment Credit
Form 3800 General Business Credit
Form 3903 Moving Expenses
Form 4136 Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137 Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255 Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562 Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684 Casualties and Theft
Form 4797 Sales of Business Property
Form 4835 Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852 Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMT AMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972 Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329 Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405 First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695 Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198 At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251 Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252 Installment Sale Income
Form 6781 Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283 Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332 Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced of Separated Parents
Form 8379 Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396 Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453 U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CR Passive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586 Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606 Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615 Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801 Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814 Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815 Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822 Change of Address
Form 8824 Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829 Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834 Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839 Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853 Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857 Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859 Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862 Information to Claim Earned Income Credit After Disallowance
Form 8863 Education Credits
Form 8880 Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881 Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885 Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888 Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889 Health Savings Account
Form 8903 Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910 Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911 Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8917 Tuition and Fees Deduction
Form 8919 Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936 Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941 Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958 Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959 Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960 Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8965 Health Coverage Exemptions
Form 9465 Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039 Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4 Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2 Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2G Certain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4 Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812 Child Tax Credit
Schedule F Profit or Loss from Farming
Schedule H Household Employment Taxes
Schedule J Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule R Credit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041) Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065) Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S) Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Don't see the form you're looking for?
Change the filter above to view forms for different products.

Compare TurboTax Basic CD/Download to our other products

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.