TurboTax Basic

Step-by-step guidance

$49.99* Federal

State additional  |  Free federal e-file included

TurboTax Basic
CD/Download additional feature list

  • No tax knowledge needed

    We'll ask you easy questions about your year and fill in the right tax forms for you.

  • Personalized to your unique situation

    We ask questions to get to know you. Then, based on what you tell us, we'll search for every tax credit that applies to you.

  • Thousands of error checks

    You won't miss a thing, we'll double-check your tax return for accuracy before you file.

  • Finish your state return faster

    Once you complete your federal taxes, we can transfer your information over to your state return to help you finish quickly and easily. (Fees may apply*)

  • Go at your own pace—no appointment necessary

    Finish your tax return in one visit or do a little at a time. We automatically save your progress as you go, so you can always pick up where you left off.

  • Up-to-date with the latest tax laws

    When tax laws change, TurboTax changes with them, so you can be sure your tax return includes the latest IRS and state tax forms.

  • Your information is secure

    We're dedicated to safeguarding your personal information. We test our site daily for security, use the most advanced technology available, and employ a dedicated Privacy Team.

  • See your tax refund in real time

    We display and update your federal and state tax refunds (or taxes due) as you do your income taxes, so you always know where you stand.

  • Free federal e-file for your fastest possible tax refund*

    E-file your federal and state tax return with direct deposit to get your fastest tax refund possible. Free federal e-file is included.

  • Your tax refund, your way

    Choose to receive your tax refund by check or direct deposit to your bank account.

  • No money out of pocket

    Skip the trip to your wallet. We can conveniently deduct any TurboTax preparation fees from your federal tax refund and have the remaining balance deposited directly into your bank account. Additional fees may apply.

Reviews from TurboTax Basic CD/Download users

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unhandled exception For the past 4 years I have gotten the "unhandled exception" notice when I attempt to get the latest software up date. This year I took Webroot off line to get around this notice. Each year requires a new fix.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Easy to do, comprehensive, helps find all deductions. Have used for years with simple and complex returns.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy! I have used TurboTax for many years and although no one enjoys paying taxes, it makes it much easier. I always wait until the last minute to do my taxes and TurboTax is always there to guide me through it!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mailing in a return I wanted to mail in my State return because it was only $28 and I didn't want to spend $25 to e-File. You all make it soooooo HARD to print a simple form VA760 in order to spend $0.50 on a postage so you can make your money on e-filing fee. Doubtful I'll use your program again in the future. You charged me for the program. Then for state forms. Then for e-filing. You guys suck with your fees. Absolutely shameful.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable as always Been using it since the 90's. Reliable and never had a problem. Although, the interface is straight-forward, some new abilities/jazzed-up interface would be a welcome change.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy peasey All in all it was easy to follow & send.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's over :Loved the program as usual.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from update issues My copy of turbotax would not update in the program. I had to download a manual updater each time I needed to update it. Giant pain. And I could not file without doing it one more time.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my life easier TurboTax has been making April 15th easier for me since 1997.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worried for Nothing Honestly, if you want your taxes made simple and learn something in the process, Turbo Tax is great. I was so relieved to get my taxes done in one short evening.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very User Friendly Overall 4.5 out of 5 stars. I really enjoyed how user friendly it was, and at the same time detailed to offer you the most deductions. Nick Ortiz
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad service I have hearing issues. Customer service would not speak slow and loud for me to understand what she said. Then hung up. I don't like hidden charges for state returns and e-file. I have used TT for years but never again!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes filing federal taxes understandable I've used TurboTax each year for over 15 years. Now that I'm retired, I just don't want to hassle with preparing Federal taxes and worrying that I've missed some obscure regulation or opportunity to reduce my final amount owed. I sleep better the night after filing knowing I've benefited from the expertise of the pro's. Thanks for another great software product once again this year.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax is the BEST! I have been using TurboTax for many years and it is the BEST.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 good program!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I honestly don't know how to improve the product. Using TurboTax is fun ... almost. To make it better you would have to pay the tax bill for me!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank You!!!!! Quick and painless. Made doing the dreaded taxes a breeze! I've never used TurboTax before, but I'll never use anything else now.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Feel like I got cheated Well, I first bought the TurboTax Basic thinking that this version would be sufficient for filing my tax returns, but apparently I was wrong. After paying $45 for the basic software, I found that I needed to pay another $45 or so just to file a state return - what a RIP - I did not have to pay this before... On top of that, an E-file for $25.. this was no surprise but I am sure that i payed double what I payed last year. I am strongly considering choosing another service next year...
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so easy to use I HAVE BEEN USING TURBO TAX FOR YEARS. SO EASY TO USE. GIVES BETTER ADVICE THEN A PROFESSIONAL FORE LESS THE COST
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo is my go-to. I have used this excellent product for the last 3 years of filing, and I must say that it is logical, friendly in tone, flexible in terms of how one chooses to make entries, and is quite reasonable in price. It doesn't miss a trick - all the way through filing, which is done with one click if you're e-filing. I have only one issue with the software. It is rendered in small fonts and in shades of gray that become tiresome after a few minutes. Most people view their monitors from 18-22 inches away from the monitor, so maybe a little help with the sizing and contrast would help those of us who are a little long in the tooth. I for one, will be happy when e-publishing gets over its fascination with the gray print fad that permeates the industry right now. Function over form should prevail when working on taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, except... I suppose this tediousness is worth it if it eliminates fraud.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and easy Lots of helpful tips and details about what things mean. Clear examples of situations that are not overwhelming or confusing. Clean interface makes it user friendly compared to free government sites.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had to pay IRS this time. I will probably use a CPA to prepare our returns beginning 2019. This was the most difficult tax return ever - made so by Quicken 2017! I am dropping Quicken immediately and will try iBank or something else.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from charged me 3 times for same product! bought turbotax basic for $30. the box says state filing is an extra $19.99, which I expected to pay. once I was ready to file my returns the price to buy a "state product" was actually $45. then they charge you another $25 for a filing fee. I wish I just went to H&R Block.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NEEDS WORK I,VE USED TURBOTAX FOR MANY YEARS AND IT'S BEEN BULLETPROFF. THIS YEAR IT FORCED ME TO TYPE IN MOST OF THE DATA. WHAT IT DID IMPORT IT PUT INTO THE WRONG COL. IT CUT OFF PART OF MY LAST NAME, WHEN IT TRANSMITTED MY RETURN. I TRIED TO CORRECT IT,BUT IT DID'T LET ME BACK UP.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always easy, few hitches It's just plain easy. Actually this year was one of the few times I had a problem, when doing the smart check. I had to delete an actual unwanted form, because it just wouldn't let go of it. But I still have to give 5 stars for how easy it is.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Be Easier! I love this product because it takes the stress out of tax time. Been using this for as long as I can recall and have never had an issue with my return.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool From the start, this product makes things easy with the import feature, so, not a whole lot of time typing in information. It guides through every topic and you can easily go back. It's very thorough in the questions it asks. If there's any confusion, there are multiple ways get information and the answers you need. Choosing between this product and say, H&R Block, I'd choose this product. I have used it for the past 10 years and have never had a problem.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Fast I liked the way this leads thru the questions and collects the information. It also appears to be quite thorough. I refer to Basic. My taxes are simple enough that I don't need Deluxe or more.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unethical Eventually I figured out how to file my state taxes via mail as they wanted substantial additional costs for this trivial benefit. The way they present options make it seems like you have no other option than continually pay extra $25 increments as you use the software, after you have invested hours of your time using it. This seems highly unethical to me. This seems to be a pattern as even these comments can be changed by them based on their Ts&Cs: "For any content that you submit, you grant Intuit a perpetual, irrevocable, royalty-free, transferable right and license to use, copy, modify, delete in its entirety, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from and/or sell and/or distribute such content and/or incorporate such content into any form, medium or technology throughout the world without compensation to you."
Date published: 2018-04-14
  • y_2018, m_7, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_96, tr_242
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Minimum requirements for your computer

Windows® CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Windows computer.

Processor

  • Pentium 4 or Later.
  • Athlon or Later.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 or higher recommended.

Operating Systems

  • Windows 7 (Service Pack 1 or latest)
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Administrative rights required.

RAM

  • 1 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax (plus up to 4.5 GB for Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 client if not already installed).

Third Party Software

  • Microsoft .NET 4.5.2 included with TurboTax Installer.
  • Adobe Reader 11 or higher.
  • Administrative rights required.

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection recommended).

Printer

  • Any Windows-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Mac CD/Download Products

Below are the minimum requirements for TurboTax Federal 2017 software installed on a Mac computer.

Processor

  • Multi core Intel Processor with 64-bit Support.

Monitor

  • 1024x768 screen resolution or higher.

Operating Systems

  • Mac OS X v10.11 or later [64-bit required].

RAM

  • 2 GB or more recommended.

Hard Disk Space

  • 650 MB for TurboTax

Internet Connection

  • 56 Kbps (Broadband connection highly recommended).

Printer

  • Any Macintosh-compatible inkjet or laser printer.

CD/DVD drive required

Tax Forms included with TurboTax CD/Download products

Commonly Filed Tax Forms and Schedules
1040 U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040A U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
1040EZ Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents
Schedule A Itemized Deductions
Schedule B Interest and Dividend Income
Schedule C Covers miscellaneous income and some related expenses (1099-MISC)
Schedule C-EZ Net Profit From Business
Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses
Schedule E Supplemental Income and Loss, including rental property
Schedule EIC Earned Income Credit
Schedule SE Self-Employment Tax
Other Tax Forms and Schedules
Form 982 Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness
Form 1040-ES Estimated Tax for Individuals
Form 1040-V Payment Vouchers
Form 1040X Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1095-A Health Insurance Marketplace Statement
Form 1095-B Health Coverage
Form 1095-C Employer-Provided Health Insurance Offer and Coverage
Form 1098 Mortgage Interest Statement
Form 1098-C Contributions of Motor Vehicles, Boats and Airplanes
Form 1098-E Student Loan Interest Statement
Form 1098-T Tuition Statement
Form 1099-A Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property
Form 1099-B Proceeds from Broker Transactions
Form 1099-C Cancellation of Debt
Form 1099-DIV Dividends and Distributions
Form 1099-G Certain Government Payments
Form 1099-INT Interest Income
Form 1099-K Payment Card and Third Party Network Transactions
Form 1099-MISC Miscellaneous Income
Form 1099-OID Original Issue Discount
Form 1099-Q Payments From Qualified Education Programs
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement, etc.
Form 1099-SA Distributions from an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA
Form 1116/AMT AMT Foreign Tax Credit/Foreign Tax Credit
Form 1310 Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Form 2106/EZ Employee Business Exp/EZ Employee Business Expenses Short Form
Form 2120 Multiple Support Declaration
Form 2210-F Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen
Form 2210/2210AI Underpayment of Tax/Annualized Income
Form 2439 Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains
Form 2441 Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Form 2555 Foreign Earned Income
Form 3115 Application for Change in Accounting Method
Form 3468 Investment Credit
Form 3800 General Business Credit
Form 3903 Moving Expenses
Form 4136 Credit for Federal Tax Paid on Fuels
Form 4137 Tax on Unreported Tip Income
Form 4255 Recapture of Investment Credit
Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Form
Form 4562 Depreciation and Amortization
Form 4684 Casualties and Theft
Form 4797 Sales of Business Property
Form 4835 Farm Rental Income and Expenses
Form 4852 Substitute for Form W-2 or 1099-R
Form 4868 Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Form 4952/AMT AMT Investment Interest Expense Deduction/Investment Interest Expense Deduction
Form 4972 Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions
Form 5329 Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (including IRAs)
Form 5405 First-Time Homebuyer Credit and Repayment of the Credit
Form 5695 Residential Energy Credits
Form 6198 At-Risk Limitations
Form 6251 Alternative Minimum Tax
Form 6252 Installment Sale Income
Form 6781 Gains/Losses from Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Form 8283 Non-cash Charitable Contributions
Form 8332 Release of Claim to Exemption for Child of Divorced of Separated Parents
Form 8379 Injured Spouse Allocation
Form 8396 Mortgage Interest Credit
Form 8453 U.S. Individual Income Tax Transmittal for an IRS E-File Return
Form 8582/AMT/CR Passive Activity Loss Limitations/AMT/Credit Limitations
Form 8586 Low-Income Housing Credit
Form 8606 Nondeductible IRAs
Form 8615 Tax for Certain Children who have Unearned Income
Form 8801 Credit for Prior Year Minimum Tax
Form 8814 Parents' Election To Report Child's Interest and Dividends
Form 8815 Exclusion of Interest from Series EE and I U.S. Savings Bonds
Form 8822 Change of Address
Form 8824 Like-Kind Exchange
Form 8829 Expenses for Business Use of Your Home
Form 8834 Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit
Form 8839 Qualified Adoption Expenses
Form 8853 Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts
Form 8857 Request for Innocent Spouse Relief
Form 8859 Carryforward of D.C. First-Time Homebuyer Credit
Form 8862 Information to Claim Earned Income Credit After Disallowance
Form 8863 Education Credits
Form 8880 Credit for Qualified Retirement Savings Contributions
Form 8881 Credit for Small Employer Pension Plan Startup Costs
Form 8885 Health Coverage Tax Credit
Form 8888 Direct Deposit of Refund
Form 8889 Health Savings Account
Form 8903 Domestic Production Activities Deduction
Form 8910 Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8911 Alternative Fuel Vehicle Refueling Property Credit
Form 8917 Tuition and Fees Deduction
Form 8919 Uncollected Social Security and Medicare Tax on Wages
Form 8936 Qualified Plug-in Electric Drive Motor Vehicle Credit
Form 8938 Statement of Specified Foreign Financial Assets
Form 8941 Credit for Small Employer Health Insurance Premiums
Form 8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
Form 8958 Allocation of Community Property Amounts
Form 8959 Additional Medicare Tax
Form 8960 Net Investment Income Tax
Form 8962 Premium Tax Credit
Form 8965 Health Coverage Exemptions
Form 9465 Installment Agreement Request
Form 14039 Identity Theft Affidavit
Form SS-4 Application for Employer Identification Number
Form W-2 Wages and Tax Statement
Form W-2G Certain Gambling Winnings
Form W-4 Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate
Schedule 8812 Child Tax Credit
Schedule F Profit or Loss from Farming
Schedule H Household Employment Taxes
Schedule J Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen
Schedule R Credit for Elderly or Disabled
Schedules K-1 (Form 1041) Estates and Trusts
Schedules K-1 (Form 1065) Partner's Share of Income, Credits, Deductions
Schedules K-1 (Form 1120S) Shareholder's Share of Income, Credits, etc
Don't see the form you're looking for?
Change the filter above to view forms for different products.

Compare TurboTax Basic CD/Download to our other products
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.