1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183505 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183454 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 Fine for simple taxes - breaks when complicated I've used Turbo Tax for about 20 years. As my income and net worth grow and my taxes become more complicated, Turbo Tax struggles more and more. If you need to file a special form and not use Step-By-Step the forms are often closed off and can't be edited. Also, if you try to e-file and you can't get a good pin from government, it locks you in e-file limbo and you can't then switch to filing by mail and get complete instructions. October 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 What happened to Turbo Tax? I have been a loyal Turbo Tax user for many years. This year, I had to purchase the mac version of Home and Business edition for Schedule C, as I do every year. It was glitchy and slow, and had many unexpected errors. At one point, I had to delete the entire return and start over. It was very difficult to find the area where Home Office expenses (utilities, square feet, etc) are entered, and I had to resort to reading tons of postings by other unhappy customers on-line to find out how to locate this section. Also, the Health Care section was incredibly slow and glitchy. I will not be using Turbo Tax Home and Business again unless there are many, many changes made to the MAC version for 2015. October 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 lack of information Turbo tax should have an introduction to customer what is new this year about the program so that we won't have so much surprise after using it. October 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax for the last four years. There is a problem with the State tax return. You include something that is not allowed and the State corrects it and lowers the amount of my return. October 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 Acceptable but shortcomings & errors I have several (more than desirable) comments which I submitted specific sections in TT. One of the biggest challenges is that when doing a search in Help, multiple words are handled as an 'OR' search. Hence the list of results is nearly unusable since there are so many (try: amortize tax exempt bond). Also, information is not included in a return without an easy way to find out why (e.g. not including a Schedule B event though the various 'messages' say that documenting tax exempt bond amortization is required (that info would be posted on Schedule B) but since taxable interest is less than a threshold ($1,500, I think) then Schedule B is not included. October 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Federal return went quick and easy. I liked the comparative (last to current year) comparison as each section was completed. The State of Michigan return was very difficult because it did not follow the same input format as the Federal return and had no year-to-year comparisons showing what amount would appear on my State return..... nor did each section lay out what amount I just put in for each covered topic---very frustrating to me. October 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 State needed to be filed paper because of a form you don't support. Need to better split elect filing for fed and print for state. Errors changed several times after fixing all errors, saving, then opening. Carryover losses not well handled from year to year. Needs work. Get rid of the amazon gift certificate and quit pushing things that make extra profit for intuit, ie State E filing, etc. This seems to be a theme on intuit products like Quick books, and Norton. Its annoying and seems to be a common gripe py Intuit users. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent help Excellent. Thank you. October 6, 2015
  • 2015-10-07T11:17:28.530-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183454, tr_183454
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 3832 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.