1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197582 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for basic stuff In general TurboTax is good, but it is not very well suited for things that are off the normal path. An example is the calculation of the foreign withhoding tax credit where TT is reducing the amount that can be credited for things that are clearly not related to the foreign income. There are also other quirks, why does TT think that I have farm income when I have stated that I have none (it does not affect the calculations, but it adds noise in the tax return).
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Time consuming Turbo Tax should ask most questions up front and not during the step by step system/(or work on selected tasks ), because it waste a lot of time re-answering the same irrelevant questions while reviewing, redoing, correcting or adding numbers.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 taxes I would like to see the dual screens of previous years taxes while entering current year.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dissatisfied with So Called Live product I paid extra for Live with the expectation that I would be able to get advice in real time, only to be told it would be two days before I received a response. I feel I was overcharged for a service that did not work. I would not recommend this product to any friends or colleagues.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So difficult I couldn't get it filed in time my first year filing medical, etc. and didn't know what to do. Not as user friendly as prior years.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018, after I filed for extension by mail I send a form by mail to IRS for an extension (Form 4868). and then I collected all data I needed to file my Taxes 1040 of 2018, with TURBO TAX. It was very easy to introduce manually all the forms that I have, like 199's etc. Turbo Tax had the right questions for completing all forms
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online edition is terrible It's so tiring to have to go back through the interview questions back-and-forth to make changes. I wish there was some sort of an expert mode that would allow me to just update or change my responses in one screen. For example, it's tiring to click into depreciation and then have it asked you do you want to make changes to depreciation? Of course I do why would I click it if I didn't!
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind I've used TurboTax the past few years. I usually do it on my phone, using SnapTax, but this year I did it on my computer. I like that as long as I have my documents from each of the places I've dealt with over the past year, then I can confidently click through the process and know that I have done everything I need to do. If I forget or lose a form, that's on me, so no problems with TurboTax there. If I have an extra document that they didn't ask for, I just search it on the sidebar and they can take me straight to that form. Intuit also has the possibility of pulling records straight from some employers and services, making it even easier to complete my taxes, because they can fill my forms automatically. At the end of the process when I was looking at my return, I can click through a series of regular-language questions that help me understand exactly how everything was calculated. I end the experience feeling very confident about my filing.
Date published: 2018-06-16
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80268, tr_117276
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 50ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.