1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 197210 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome as always! I always file with turbo tax my own and its amazing to feel in control of your own tax filing. Turbotax makes that possible!
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paige Was Great! My consultant was amazing. Paige joined me and walked me through everything. This service is really amazing.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to File Great job Turbo Tax. You have improved things dramatically.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra Features Worth It! We have used TurboTax for many years now. Our tax situation has become increasingly more complicated as the years have passed, but TurboTax has grown to meet our needs. We are especially taken with the new TurboTax Live feature. Both times I used it, my questions were answered professionally and accessibly. We are very satisfied.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Customer I have been using Turbo Tax for years and I have never been let down. The directions and yearly updates keep me from having to do a lot of research work and from paying an accountant for the work I can do myself. I certainly plan on continuing the use of Turbo Tax in the years to come. The ole saying "keep it simple" is what Turbo Tax does.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reglar TurboTax user I am a regular Turbo Tax user. I trust the program and have never had a problem with my returns in 16 years. The only concern is the cost that has been raising year after year that makes me consider going back to an accountant.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy To Use Easy and smooth process for doing my own taxes. Saved tons of money. Only thing you are charged an additional fee to have your money directly deposited. It is very disappointing that we are now charged for convenience to either get our own hard owned money or to pay your bills on time.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst year yet on TurboTax—and not IRS fault! TurboTax failed miserably. Some final numbers went it, and then I went from a $1,400 refund to owing $4,000 with one click of a button. Turns out TurboTax lost the numbers, and I was forced to flush the whole entry (work and self-employment and all that entails) and start over. On top of that, I got cut off from some TT experts, and they didn't call back, or I couldn't get a hold of them again. Also, many more technical tax aspects later in the TT process have poor explanations and/or need expert advice—not community advice. Some of the informational windows early in the process are fairly informative and useful, but later on, when you get into the weeds, you're essentially on your own. Things are confusing (probably deliberately on the tax code side) and poorly delineated. Some things are the fault of the Feds, States, and IRS, but TurboTax is supposed to help you navigate through it all. It is THEIR job to articulate the IRS and State verbiage and guide the user through it. There should never be a doubt as to what action a user needs to take (no ambivalence whatsoever); instead, TT relies on a community of users who are not tax experts to answer the questions one may have. Well, the wisdom of the crowd has been debunked, and I doubt the IRS would allow non-expert advice on TT as an argument in an audit defense. I'm not sure I'll use TurboTax again (I'm hoping they compensate me for the loss of time). I lost a good 10 hours or more of tax work having to redo everything from scratch for a final tax return that ended up being a total of 47 pages.
Date published: 2018-05-22
  • y_2018, m_5, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80143, tr_117038
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.