1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.7/5 | 294518 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbo tax I WOULD NOT EVEN CONSIDER ANY OTHER TAX PROGRAM- TURBO TAX IS THE BEST, HANDS DOWN
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thorough hand-holding I am self-employed now and transitioning from being a w2 employee. I have all kinds of expenses and doing my own taxes helps me understand what I need to keep track of and what the value of that tracking is in terms of tax burden. Being responsible for an accurate accounting means knowing in advance what will be needed. By using turbotax for the past few years I'm now much better at paying attention my expenses and I don't worry that I'm mis-reporting since the guidelines are so clear with the step by step process.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not thrilled I'm very disenchanted with TTax. When I originally began using it in the early 2000s, it was great. The support and tax expertise were great, but now the support is marginal - depending on the expertise of the representative. I'm glad to have had the experience, though.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use The step by step guide is great and easy to follow
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is my last year to file with Turbo Tax I was charged 3 times for a basic service. Moreover, there is no 24/7 support.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not As Handy As It Seems I had a really hard time filing - didn't know my AGI from the previous year, which meant I had to send off for it from the IRS, which made me late to file. Then when I received the necessary information, I could no longer file online, and had to download the software, which wouldn't work on my Operating System (OS 10.8). At that point I had to find a different computer to file from, and install the software. It wouldn't let me run my tax return without purchasing a TN state return, which I was not actually required to file - I'll be hoping for a refund for that. Overall, just not any easier than paying a tax guy only SLIGHTLY more to do them for me!
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grateful I had a few issues with buying the program for my google chrome book . I had to call a few times for help on tax questions. Everyone, I spoke to was very patient, kind, & extremely helpful. Thank you very much, I'm truly grateful, you were still available to help even after tax season.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy to use, except if you're late! I'm darned good at preparing a Tax Return with Turbo Tax, especially now that we have soooooo fully integrated Quickbooks with Turbo Tax. However, it appears that if you've upgraded QB's to a more recent edition, it ceases to be compatible with older version of Turbo Tax. Like with QB's Pro 2016 and Turbo Tax Business 2014. Or so it seems. I had already imported once, in 2015, but now that I am finally kicking into gear to get the final return submitted, it wouldn't let me re-import. So, I had to enter all of the account balances manually. A bit of a pain, but otherwise, Turbo Tax is awesome!
Date published: 2017-11-20
  • y_2017, m_12, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_125197, tr_169321
  • loc_, sid_TT_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.