1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(4.6/5 | 198145 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped a lot Easier than I thought
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ACCESS to UPDATES TurboTax 2017 was working AOK in Feb 18 when 1st loaded to obtain IRS extension request. Jul-Aug 18 could not get updates and multiple attempts to reach CSR for solutions failed. Finally, after about a 1-hr wait, CSR came on-line and we worked over an hour to locate and implement a solution that updated TurboTax [worked AOK with my data]. Thanks. For over 10 years I have been a Quicken and TurboTax user. Both tools have been very useful to maintain and reconcile data. I recommend both.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still Easy To Use I've been using TT since the late 90's. It's always been reliable and I now use it for my business too. I still have my accountant do my business return but the rest is fairly easy. So easy to import investment accounts and w2s. This year I am missing the previous year comparison. Even though I can always compare it was good to see if I missed something.
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from State taxes is a disaster I have spent an extra 3-4 hours trying to get the state tax downloaded. The deluxe product is suppose to have it but the system kept trying to charge me $44 for it. Eventually after a number of calls and some waiting, etc, it was finally downloaded. calculations seemed to work and i was ready to efile but the system wanted to charge me an additional $44. I was willing to pay the $25 regular rate but the system seems to think i don't have the state forms. Too frustrating to try to call. I can file by mail quicker than mess with turbotax support. The same thing happen last year but after it was downloaded, it worked as it was supposed to. I have been a turbotax user for 18 years but thinking about changing next year.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from awful experience There was zero help with the basic package. I got no tax support and ended up spending HOURS on my return with NO HELP when I had questions! I paid the amount I have paid a professional in the past except I paid TurboTax for me to do all the work. WILL NEVER RETURN AGAIN.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good experience I've been using Turbotax for many years. We skipped one year and used a tax-preparation service, which didn't save us any money, but many times over in cost. The software is easy to use; but once in a great while, when I need specific help, it is not always easy to find the right answer and getting a live person seems to be not so intuitive...
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deluxe Turbo Tax 2017 I had a difficult time finding the section of the instructions page for the state return where the taxpayer can authorize allowing the tax preparer to talk to the IRS.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Filing Failure! For some odd reason, my 2016 and 2017 electronic filings didn't actually go through and I had no idea until the I.R.S. sent me a letter! Then when I tried to file the 2017 return electronically, it gets rejected because the AGI doesn't match the previous years. That is because, the previous year was 2016 and that didn't get filed either! I have the two print outs for both years confirming the date for my payment to be withdrawn and the amounts and it appeared that my filing was complete but it wasn't! I should have received some warning from Turbo Tax stating my returns still haven't been filed!
Date published: 2018-08-14
  • y_2018, m_8, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80469, tr_117661
  • loc_, sid_TT_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 190ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.