1. TurboTax /
  2. Tax Calculators & Tips /
  3. Tax Tips Guides & Videos /
  4. Tax Extensions /
  5. Tax Relief for Missouri Storm Victims

Tax Relief for Missouri Storm Victims

Updated for Tax Year 2016 • December 9, 2022 01:02 PM


Anyone who has ever been involved in a natural disaster knows that it puts regular responsibilities (like filing taxes) on the back burner, often for a considerable period of time. The IRS is mindful of this. When the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) declares a disaster, the IRS often steps in to provide tax filing relief to those who have been affected. It has done so for residents of 33 counties affected by the December 2015 storms that produced flooding and tornadoes across much of Missouri.


File 100% FREE with expert help

Get live help from tax experts plus a final review with Live Assisted Basic.

For simple tax returns only.
See if you qualify.
Limited time offer. Must file by 3/31.

State included

Tax deadlines affected by the storm

Contractor using reciprocating saw

The IRS has extended certain 2016 tax filing deadlines for those affected by the 2015 storms:

  • The April 18 filing deadline for individual returns is extended to May 16, 2016.
  • Corporate tax returns due March 15 are now due May 16.
  • Quarterly estimated tax payments due January 15 and April 18 are now due May 16.
  • The February 1 and May 2 deadlines for quarterly payroll and excise taxes have been moved to May 16.

This relief is available not only to the residents of the 33 counties affected by the storms, but also to relief workers who served the area, provided they were associated with a recognized philanthropic or government organization.

Eligible Missouri counties

As of Jan. 22, 2016, residents of these Missouri counties can take advantage of the extended filing deadlines:

  • Barry, Barton, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cole, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Maries, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

FEMA may include additional locations once it completes its assessment of damages. You may also be eligible if you live elsewhere, but your tax records are located in one of the affected counties and were destroyed or can’t be readily accessed due to the storms.

Relief from penalties

The IRS has also waived certain late-filing tax penalties for Missourians affected by the storms. Late deposits for payroll and excise taxes are normally penalized, but if you receive a notice that any deposits you owe came due and went unpaid from Dec. 23, 2015 through Jan. 7, 2016, notify the IRS immediately that you were a storm victim. Your business might not have to pay these penalties, provided you make the required deposits by Jan. 7.

Accelerated refunds

The Internal Revenue Code also includes provisions that allow you to get your tax refund a bit sooner if you’re caught in a natural disaster and want to claim a casualty loss deduction on your return. This rule isn’t unique to Missouri’s December storms, although you do have to live in a federally declared disaster area to qualify.

The IRS allows you to immediately file an amended return for the year prior to the one in which the disaster and your loss occurred. You won’t have to wait until the current year’s end to claim a refund if your casualty loss deduction creates a refund; it’s money you can use to help rebuild.

Let an expert do your taxes for you, start to finish with TurboTax Live Full Service. Or you can get your taxes done right, with experts by your side with TurboTax Live Assisted. File your own taxes with confidence using TurboTax. Just answer simple questions, and we’ll guide you through filing your taxes with confidence. Whichever way you choose, get your maximum refund guaranteed.

File 100% FREE with expert help

Get live help from tax experts plus a final review with Live Assisted Basic.

For simple tax returns only.
See if you qualify.
Limited time offer. Must file by 3/31.

State included

Get your max refund

Answer simple questions about your life and TurboTax Free Edition will take care of the rest.

For simple tax returns only
See if you qualify

Looking for more information?