TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 217 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get Cash Fast With Turbo Tax Marvelous, and Spectacular is what I call Turbo Tax. An easy, virtually free way to file your taxes. If your not sure about which forms you should file, Turbo Tax will ask you short simple questions to see if you qualify to file for that portion. More the one W2 to file no problem. Turbo tax will take you step by step through each and every process to make sure that you get the optimal return . It doesn't take long to receive your refund either. How great is that. I don't think I could of found anything better. I will never go to a tax preparer to file my taxes again. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Too Easy... I mean... it was simple and quick and felt thorough. I approached unsure, having done my own simple filing for the last 4 years I didn't want to make the mistake of letting the interwebs do my taxes. But considering I work for a hundred production companies, and with a guarantee that their estimated return is accurate, I was like, "Why not? Let the machines do it for me." Well I'm pleased. I was afraid of Cyberdyne, and I got C3PO. Turbotax was helpful and quick, and essentially held my hand through the whole process. So I'll definitely be recommending in the future. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful, User-Friendly, Low-Stress This is my second year using Turbo Tax. It was an easy way to do my taxes last year, but I was worried it would be more complicated this year since I switched jobs. I didn't have to worry-- Turbo Tax made it easy for me to file using multiple W2 forms while living in one state and working in another. The interface is clean and easy to use. I appreciate that there are '?' boxes to click when I want more details on a certain topic, but I'm not bombarded with paragraphs of info that aren't relevant to my circumstances. Definitely planning on continuing to file using Turbo Tax! February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Convenient But you pay for that convenience. $30 just to transfer last year's information is rather steep, but they know that lazy people like me will pay. I do like that you have the option to deduct their fees from your return. One less thing to worry about, and you don't need to give them your credit card information. I have probably the most basic return there is, so I can't really speak to how they work for more complicated returns, but for someone like me, this is the fastest and easiest way to file and get a refund. I've used Turbo Tax for the past few years and never had any problems with them. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest way to file for first timers Turbo tax is super easy to use and great for a beginner such as my self! The directions made using this my first second and now my third time filing taxes a breeze. Even as my finances and return process has become more complicated the process stays simple. I only had one snag and the phone operators were a great help. Im 21 and ive convinced all my friends to stop having their parents do their taxes and to start learning it on their own using turbo tax! If your reading this and have any doubts do yourself a favor and cast them aside because this program is easy and it works March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slightly Shocked Based on the commercials I've been seeing this tax season, I got my hopes up, thinking that I could actually file my taxes for 100%-free-no-money-whatsoever-out-of-pocket this year. BUUUUUUUT...... They give you NO OPTION to not use TurboTax plus, which still costs you $29.99.... The same price as last year's filing, where they didn't claim that you could file for FREE..... Free means free, not a hidden, unavoidable fee........... Then again, I'm filing taxes. Even if I get a sweet return, I guess I should still get out the lube, for the inevitably incoming shaft... Right? o.O February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Filing Stress Reduction Appreciated Turbo Tax's site was so customer/user friendly! I had no problem understanding how to file my taxes even though I haven't had a return to file in years! The site walks you through every step clearly. I was so pleased with this service that I decided to upgrade to Turbo Tax Plus even though I only filed a simple tax return. I also encouraged my 17 yo son to file his 1st ever return with Turbo Tax this year and he was also happy with this service. 1000% recommend Turbo Tax to anyone with a simple tax return and imagine a more complicated return would be a breeze using this site. February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Filing The Federal Tax Filing went fairly smoothly; the state tax filing was announced to not be possible because a specific New Mexico tax form was not available until a couple weeks later. There was no communication saying the form was available and when returning to TurboTax, there was no mention of the form. Attempting to pick up, where I had left off, I was forced back over several pages of the process of filing already completed earlier. The free Federal and State tax filing was a misnomer: There was a charge for pulling the data I had spent hours inputting from previous years. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way too easy! TurboTax is the greatest program to use for filing taxes. I have used it for several years now and have never had a problem. It's quick, easy, and straight forward. Plus, you can complete your taxes from home and each year it keeps your information for you. The only thing that I could say negatively is about the emails I received saying all fees were $0 this year. That's only if you get the plus program, therefore I still paid the $30 fee. Oh well, the taxes are filed, it's still way cheaper than going to a business and I sat in my office and done them! Took 15 minutes. Too easy! January 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by refund done, not impressed with new fees This product has been super easy to use and my go to for taxes for many years. However, when they started advertising free service for both fed and state this year, I had a feeling it was too good to be true. If I wanted to imput all my information myself I would have done the return with any other company or manually on paper. I don't think it is fair to add a 29.99 fee to complete the return the same way I did in the past for free. Also, when paying the most secure way, with my secure FCU visa, I was charged a service fee of 3.95. I find this outrageous and will use HR next time. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and love the walk thru Love Turbo tax and have used for years. I enjoy being able to start as the w2 come in and open again later for other forms or just complete all the same day. easy efile and walk thru each part. LOVE TURBO TAX and I would never go back to HR Block and pay those outrageous prices again. Even a person that is not good with numbers or doesn't feel secure in doing his/her/their taxes CAN do this !!! IT IS EASY and if taxes can be fun ... this is the place. I like watching the upper left corner as I enter info and the refund grows !!!! IT is a great program and private from your home computer. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Turbo! This was my first time using Turbo Tax and well it was painless and I did it all in the comfort of my own home! I have used other Tax Return sources and well what can I say, the waiting area is chaos, then you have to wait for an individual that is basically a regular Joe to file my taxes and to boot I have to dish out a couple hundred of my hard working bucks to this individual that doesn't care anything about me and what I get back in my return. I would much rather do it this way and keep as much of my money as I can. Besides who know me better then me! Thanks Turbo Tax this was genius! January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time On My Own This was my first time filling my taxes on my own, I usually have it done by a family friend who works for a company that does taxes. As a first timer, it was such an awesome experience and this program really does make filling so much easier than I thought it was going to be. TurboTax lays all the cards in the table and even guides you through every single bit of it, which makes things so much simpler and easier to understand about this painful process. A friend recommended this program to me, and I'm glad that I took the time to do it and I'm happy with the return that I will be getting! February 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never be using or recommending again Horrible! I will never ever be recommending or using Turbo Tax EVER AGAIN. SO angry. A friend of mine had warned me about how Turbo Tax had messed up her taxes and then she needed to owe money, but my husband and I decided to take the plunge and try it anyway. Well it was horribly misleading. "Free" NOT then once we finished inserting ALLLLL of our tax papers it said $55, so then we figured since we just spent all that time putting everything in we figured we'd pay, but then we got charged $85. Would have definitely rather gone to H & R block. Will not be making the Turbo Tax mistake again. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy! Easy! My niece has used Turbo Tax for 10 years. This is my first time using it. I have not worked for the last four years therefore, I have not filed an income tax return. It is very easy, a very comfortable and smooth process. It guides you every step of the way and if you make a mistake it is easy to correct it. It asks all the right questions to ensure that you get all the credits that you are entitled too. I recommend Turbo Tax highly and should I continue to work I will use it in the future. I am not sure I will use the state tax return because I am not exactly clear why I am paying $27.99. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calmed my nerves It is very calming to know that someone more tax literate than I, and certainly more patient than I , has my back. I hate taxes!!! Just the very words Income taxes makes my brain explode and my emotions run the gammmet from cold sweats to clammy hands and pounding headaches. All that and I just fill out a simple 1040A to try and itemize. Turbo Tax helps me to see which way to file for my biggest return. And I can file on the spot and have my refund usually in 10 days or so. I already have my taxes done, filed, my refund deposited and well spent long before my friends have even begun. WooHoo! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done Deal Given the complexity and unwieldy nature of US tax code (several thousand pages longer than the next highest in the world) it is inconceivable than any person, or program, can grasp the full complexity of the matter and simplify it to the point a layman can easily comprehend and complete, unassisted, their own taxes. TurboTax, and by extension, Intuit, have accomplished exactly that. I wholeheartedly endorse their entire suite of products, as i have had no issues with ANY of them. I've personally used Quicken, Quickbooks, TurboTax, and I've interacted with several iterations and variations of each. Unparalled ease, and understanding, precise accounting of tangibles and intangibles, thorough documentation, and several measures for out-of-norm issues so they can be handled quickly and easily. I've used Turbotax for two or three years now, and will never use anything else. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast Filing As a young professional, filing taxes is something that is necessary to make a regular habit! I used to file by mail and I am so glad I started using the TurboTax services. It is so well automated and easy to navigate! I also appreciate all of the e-mail reminders and offers that were dispersed throughout the year. It gently reminded me that tax season is just around the corner. I will and definitely already have recommended TurboTax to my friends and colleagues who have a pretty straightforward income and simple assets. I won't be going anywhere else in the near future tax seasons. Thank you! March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time online turbo tax filer Compared to a face to face tax filing as I did before at Walmart, Turbo Tax has proved to be my best choice. A few weeks or a month ago I read some reviews both positive and negative about Turbo Tax. Of all that I read, a few that caught my attention were the ones in which the filers lamented how complicated it was using Turbo Tax. I got scared but gave it a trial anyway. Now that I have tried for myself, I'm proud to say it's the easiest and most convenient way to file your taxes for anyone out there who intends to. Moreover, Turbo Tax has both a free and paid edition of it's software. Great! January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets Better And Better When I first moved out on my own and had to do my taxes on my own for the first time, it was a nightmare. The places I went to wanted to take to much out of my taxes, or at least that's what I thought, even my bank wanted a lot. A friend turned me on to Turbo Tax and at first I was nervous but I did and I have used it ever since. About 4 years now. And it only gets better and better. It is very easy to browse through, it is easy to get your questions asked, and they bring up things you might not think about towards getting your maximum refund. I have and will still recommend Turbo Tax to anyone. February 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcharged and no refund for a convoluted app All I wanted was to file my taxes for the Free Federal and $27.99 state and got charged an additional $29.99 for the PLUS version. The worst part, it wouldn't let me review the payment I was making to see if I was actually being overcharged. It just let me click submit and BOOM! Thank you for your payment of $58 when it should've only been $28. Not only that, last year I filed my taxes with just my W2 and this year I was asked an absurd amount of questions that didn't even apply to me. I will certainly be looking at other programs next year as this was one of the worst experiences in recent memory. March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I WAS terrified! Im 34, ive ALWAYS paid $300 to H&R Block because I was TERRIFIED of screwing up something as important as TAXES!! Well, this year H&R FAILED me! Brand -new clerk who didn't know what he was doing, COULD NOT submit my taxes, because the manager had failed to register his IRS tax clerk number with them!!! H&R block TOTALLY wasted and hour of my time. They told me to come back after work. I showed up at 6:45 after fighting traffic, picking up my child from daycare, (no dinner yet!!)only to be told, have a seat and wait. I think NOT!!! I asked for my W2 back. came HOME....and here I am!! Saved $230 :) January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best way to do taxes! I love Turbo Tax! This is my second year using it and I always get the biggest returns when I do. Last year, my friend who had a larger income than I did, went to the same university, and had the same amount of scholarships, got half the amount I did because the guy at H&R Block didn't know about all of the education breaks she could've gotten. Needless to say, she used Turbo Tax this year! They really do look out for you and make me so much more comfortable since they walk you through the whole process and explain anything you don't get. This program is great for tax novices and aficionados alike. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stimulating Guide I'm a senior resident and this was my first time doing my taxes online alone. I was hesitant to start, but since the beginning the messages make my feel understood and supported, very empathetic way to guide somebody into a labyrinth. It was like talking with somebody that was honestly there for you. I loved when the text said: " Don't worry we'll figure out for you later". I appreciate all the technological effort and the professional expertise that you put into this. Congratulations, you help to reduce the stress in our lives, and that's a wonderful contribution to the psychological well being of our society. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Returning Turbo Tax User Filing taxes on your own can seem intimidating. For years I used to pay the big chains to prepare and file my taxes, but they always charged a lot to do it. I've used Turbo Tax online to file my taxes for the last three years. Its the quickest, easiest, and cheapest way to file. I've ALWAYS gotten the maximum refund. The site is EXTREMELY user-friendly and helps walk you through your return step by step and is even smart enough to remind you if you've forgotten something. I HIGHLY recommend using Turbo Tax to anyone. Its so easy that my eleven year old could use it. I'll be coming back year after year. January 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Refund Review Turbo tax online is excellent and very helpful. I started my taxes as soon as i could but had a problem with a W-2. The company took over 30 days to fix the problem. So i missed the file for free cut of date even though i started my taxes in early January. I think that it is ridiculous that you charged me $58 dollars to pay for your services through my refund. It was my only choice so I had to do it. Next year I will only use turbo tax if it is completely free, if not i will do it the old school way by pen and paper. Other than those 2 complaints, e-filing with turbo tax was easy to use and a big help. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was so easy! I was really nervous about trying to do this myself this year, but free versus the $600 we paid last year was worth a shot. I was shocked at how easy to use the whole system was. They asked every possible question to make sure you get more money back and to make sure you report everything correctly. The prompts and commands are easy to follow, the questions are worded simply, and there are information boxes if you need them or don't understand what it's asking. The way the system is designed it's almost like talking to an actual human being. I loved this and I fully plan to do the same thing next year! February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALWAYS AWESOME I have used Turbo Tax for many years and I have always had great experiences with the product and with the customer service department. It is very easy to use even if you have never done your own taxes before they take you through it step by step ask simple questions and then they make sure you have entered it all correctly before you file. I will ALWAYS use Turbo Tax to prepare and file my taxes each year and as a bonus they keep each years taxes for you so you can print them out at anytime and then each year they transfer all your info over to the new year so you don't have to enter it all over again! January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The biggest refund, as always I have used Turbo Tax for 10 years. I feel that I have always received the largest refund available to me. A few years, when I heard alot of hype about other tax software getting you more, I have tried both and always found Turbo Tax to be the most reliable for the largest refund. This year was no different. After hearing people talk about HRBlock getting them a bigger refund, I did both online and was not at all surprised when Turbo Tax found $1000.00 that its competitor missed. I challenged my friends to try both and 2 will file an adjusted return because Turbo Tax found money the other guys missed :) February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just.. Wow! TurboTax is just about as dumbie proof as it can get! I've just turned 20 years old and this is my first time filing my own taxes, something I assumed was a VERY complicated process.. I was pretty scared and almost caved in to paying my mother's friend to do it for $100bucks! I decided to take a chance though and after seeing a turbotax commercial, decided WHY NOT! Best choice I've made in a very long time, completed everything in about an hour while watching a movie! I spent most of my time looking for my W-2 and other paperwork! Thank you sooooo much TurboTax, I will definitely be back next year!!!! :D February 3, 2015
  • 2015-03-30T12:09:40.584-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-217, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_11302, tr_11302
  • loc_en_US, sid_200_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 215 216 217 218 219 ... 222 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.