TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 180 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by 7 Years Strong I love Turbo Tax and have been using it for 7 years and counting! As a former Jackson Hewitt employee I find no better smarter easier option. My return always comes in a timely matter, I have peace of mind at the trusted security of the website, my previous returns are neatly filed away and for only $29.99 completely worth it!! No matter how many times the software is updated the steps continue to get easier and easier and I actually enjoy doing them. No frustration no hassle no worries. Thank you Turbo Tax!! January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Timer I usually just have the my local CPA do my taxes, but after moving from ND to SD, I figured I'd try doing my own taxes this year. Turbo Tax walked me through everything, although I have pretty simple taxes. I just don't know if I got my full refund from ND. I had about the same amount of taxable income in ND as the year before, but payed almost twice the state income tax. In the end, there's not much state income tax in ND to begin with, so I'm not going to complain. In the end, TurboTax made this very easy. January 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Transparent about Charges I was very careful to select the Free version of TurboTax online and to refuse all upgrade offers during the process. I even double checked this before completing my forms. Only after my credit card was charged, did TurboTax notify me that I had been charged for a PLUS version of their services (an additional $29.99). A confirmation of the charge was sent to my email, where it was outlined that I had been charged $3.62 for taxes in addition to the PLUS fee, which was never itemized on my online receipt. I will not be using TurboTax again. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Been Turbo-ing for Years I've been doing Turbo Tax for at least the past 5 years and I've never really complained (besides the usual tax bracket changes and a little less money back each year of course). This year was the same, quick and easy except for a few rather annoying site glitches where I had no choice but to reload the page. Luckily Turbo Tax is good about saving your spot, or I'd have been very frustrated. I'll continue to be a user until I have no other choices, as well as suggest it to those who have yet to try it. Thanks! February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Easy and Straight Forward I have used TurboTax for many years and being able to have much of my information transferred from the previous years for comparison is very helpful. Although before computers I filed written tax returns, this is obviously much simpler and easier with professional guidance and not a lot of extra research on my part. It would be nice if I could periodically view my 1040 and other forms along the way to watch my progress. If this is already available, it should be highlighted plainly. Thank you for your service. February 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by messed up my state I don't understand how my state tax return got rejected for the errors that came up? The information was suppose to be transferred from the federal return and the federal return was fine. I still haven't got confirmation that it was accepted the second time that I submitted it. I don't won't to mail it. I paid extra money to be able to access the return and now this. How hard is it to fix the errors? I don't get it. I'm not happy about the problems I've had with this and there's no excuse for this to have happen. None. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest Tax Return I've EVER done. Love It!!!!!!!! This is the 1st time I have ever used this site. A friend recommended this to me, and at 1st I was a little worried. But after getting on the site and seeing how easy and simple they have made the process I was amazed... Loved doing this in the comfort of my home and not waiting in line or for an appt; like with other Tax Afflications.... Now just waiting for my refund hope it all goes well, and I will never go to anywhere else...... Thank you Turbo Tax.... You have made one more thing simple, fast and easy.... February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Taxes Made Easy Turbo Tax is easy and thorough. I trust it to ask me all the proper questions, collect all the necessary information, and submit my taxes properly. However, I am always troubled by the various incidental costs. While most of these fees can be ignored or avoided, I always have to wade through the descriptions of each potential fee to see if I need it or not. I understand Turbo Tax is a business, and I respect their need to generate money--but I would like it if they would separate the extras from the necessities. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Time saving, efficient, fast... I have used Turbo Tax for 4 years. Questions are easy to understand with linked windows for further information if I do not understand a question. It finds deductions and credits to maximize my refund obtaining the information provided. It is like sitting at the tax office without the face to face interaction. I enjoy using Turbo Tax. In addition, even with all the extras offered products, I still pay less than walking into an actual office with all the paper work to carry. Thank you Turbo Tax, please don't change. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW Why haven't I done this in the past I am very pleased with Turbo Tax this is the second year I have filed this way. Fast, Easy, Convenient, Inexpensive, Any "tax place" you go to want a percentage and is usually hundreds of dollars and talking to some of these "tax place employees" makes me nervous (Are they getting me a full return?, Am I going to get a letter from the IRS?). The only thing I am not pleased with, is not being able to have a hard copy of the IRS forms if needed. But I am very pleased and will continue using Turbo Tax. Thanks Turbo Tax January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax kicks butt! We have used Turbo Tax for the last few. It has helped us get more money back on our taxes, and we feel confident that it's correct because we have been putting in the information ourselves. It has has been extremely helpful and has informed us of breaks in our taxes that we might not have come across on our own. The process is quick and if you have questions it helps to educate you on what the item or question is asking or looking for before you answer. This year was even easier and more helpful than previous ones. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by To the point and comprehensive Turbo Tax started by recalling all my previous year's information saving time and then walked me through my taxes in a clear, simple question method. The questions address one area at a time so you never feel overwhelmed and visual graphics show your progress throughout. When in doubt about a topic (scared to death about making a mistake) links bring up message boxes with detailed information about relevant topics. A little time at my computer and my taxes were started, completed, filed and checked off the to do list! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quickest, Easiest and Most Inexpensive Tax Prep I've used Turbotax as a married and a single filer. Even when our tax returns were complicated, Turbotax still made it easy. As a single filer this year, for the first in 10, I was pleasantly surprised by the ease and inexpensiveness. Turbotax charged me five times less than two of the biggest commercial tax preparing companies in the nation. I absolute love the fact that you can pay with your refund and BONUS, you get a debit card for your direct deposit. I'll never use anyone else again, unless it's free of course. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience loved how easy it was to submit and complete my refund. ive always been scared of tax season and hate paying so much to get them done. i was just tired of it decided to try turbo tax and it has been a great experience for me. do yourself a favor and if your single no home no kids like me still pay the 29.99 and upgrade ypu definitely will need the peace of mind of having access to these documents at any giver time for what ever reason. also they need an option that says live with parents because i dont rent a home lol January 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rejected I have used TurboTax for the last few years with no issues. This year has been nothing but a hassle and headache in filing my returns. After following all instructions as required my returns have been rejected 4 times. Finally I had to seek answers through an online forum of other frustrated TT users having the same problem. I then had to delete my w2 and re-enter manually. Funny thing is that this is the exact reason I use TT in the first place so I dont have to go line by line and enter manually. Very disappointing.. January 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The new 1040EZ Free Rocks Our salaries go up and down, never know which of us should claim the kids or file jointly? I love Turbo Tax, but if I could a little more easily explore these scenarios on 1 username it would make things alot easier. I have used Turbo Tax for 5 to 6 years and gotten used to the way I do it, but you could make it easier. I add dependants to me, delete dependants, then go to my husbands, do the same thing, then go to my joint account see if thats better etc. Going to have them done is easier but this is pretty affordable. January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, accurate, straightforward. TurboTax is simple to use, easy to understand, and thorough. The site is laid out intuitively and the series of questions/categories that lead you through inputting your information is streamlined, so that with minimal headache and paperwork you can file your return. Tax deductions are explained in laymen's language and any automated decisions TurboTax makes are explained. TurboTax accurately saves your place every time you log on, so it's easy to enter one tax form at a time without any confusing loss of information. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Turbo tax is the easiest software to use to file my taxes. I have tried 2 other tax software companies before (tax slayer, freetaxusa) and neither can compare with the ease of Turbo tax. I trust Turbo tax to completely walk me through all of the possible deductions I am legally able to claim and efiling is a breeze. It is definitely worth the fee for the plus edition to have my previous year and current tax forms imported directly into this years return and the whole process is so pain free. Turbo tax is simply the best. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Refund Review Turbo tax online is excellent and very helpful. I started my taxes as soon as i could but had a problem with a W-2. The company took over 30 days to fix the problem. So i missed the file for free cut of date even though i started my taxes in early January. I think that it is ridiculous that you charged me $58 dollars to pay for your services through my refund. It was my only choice so I had to do it. Next year I will only use turbo tax if it is completely free, if not i will do it the old school way by pen and paper. Other than those 2 complaints, e-filing with turbo tax was easy to use and a big help. February 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT FREE I do not have complicated taxes. I do not own property and do not have any investments. But despite advertising that state and federal filing was free I still had to pay over $55. This was after I manually entered everything because I did not want to pay. I chose turbo tax again this year because I used it last year and at least I thought it would be helpful for them to import data that way. But I still manually entered everything and ended up paying. Really should have done TaxAct as I heard they are actually the cheapest. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Sauce! I'd recommend this service to a friend, it made doing my taxes less annoying. I like the website, its very elegant and modern, they highlight important things with big letters and make it much more fun and less stressful to read, there is also no lag on the site, which is a big plus! PLEASE GIVE A RAISE TO THE WEB DESIGNER. i'd suggest making it a bit more fun by using even more fun words. Anyway, the taxes were very easy to file because of this site, no confusion and no long headaches. I'm definitely doing this next year. January 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly wonderful I have used TurboTax for many years because i like how user friendly it is. This year with the new layout it became very difficult to find what I was looking for. There was to many different windows open at the same time. I could not import my w-2 like normal. I was lost and all over the place trying to get my taxes done. I'm hoping that will be the case for just this year! I like using this product, because I have had nothing but fun (I know) filing my taxes every year. But now its turning into a chore and I don't like that. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finished my tax return in no time! I have been using turbo tax for many years to do my tax return. I am always extremely satisfied with how easy turbo tax makes it for me to process my tax refund. I love how there are step to step instructions on how to enter information. I also love how every thing is covered so that i dont miss a thing. I really feel like I am getting the most out of my tax refund when using this service. Every year turbo tax amazes me more and more. I have nothing bad to say and have yet to make a complaint about the service that I am getting. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to use...they walk you step by step.... they take you step by step so you dont miss any money you should be getting back....you can do the same thing as one of the big brand name store tax places without paying the big bucks...even if you pay here it wont be half of what you have to pay at the big store front plus you have professionals working for you anytime you need them....whatever taxes you have you can file it may cost a little but not near as much as those brand stores.... i been using turbotax for the last six years and have never had a problem i love turbotax February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Busy Year + Easy Filing = Max Refund As a single mother with two children (one being a newborn) and a full time job, TurboTax makes filing taxes quick, easy, and totally stress free. This is my second year filing my own taxes using TurboTax; I upgraded from their free service and had a large percentage of my taxes filled out and done before I even started! I love that they saved all of my old information and walked me through any changes and additions I needed to make. I was done within the hour! Now I can relax knowing my taxes are done and my refund is on its way. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I've been filing my taxes with turbo tax for at least 5 years. I feel like it it very quick and for the most part easy. Eveyr year I do encounter at least one problem usually a technical error of some sort that requires me to talk to a turbo tax associate. Everyone I've talked to by phone has been friendly and most times can help me trough my problem. If I could make it though a single tax year without technical issue I would have giving turbo tax a 5 star rating! Maybe next year. Thanks for making tax season a bit more bearable. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax I am a single mom. Every penny I have counts. Things changed dramatically for my boys and I this past year I have the faith we will be ok and make a big turn around. I have two wonderful sons and live in this dead cold state. I cannot afford to go have my taxes done and for many years I have used Turbotax. Its been a blessing for me, to have the small luxury of doing my taxes at home and for a small price. Its easy, they guide you and they answer any question you may have. Thanks Turbotax for your help. Keep up the great work you do. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time user I had issues, was even rejected by the IRS, but they were my fault. I was so stressed and felt like giving up! I decided to contact customer service and spoke to a lady named Sarita. Now if she is an angel or not I can't say but what I do know she went above, beyond, and over what I ever expected! She even called me back to check on my status after helping me get through my return!Before I used another online service to file my taxes but after this wonderful customer service experience I am a lifetime customer! Thanks again Sarita!!! January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing done! All in all, this is an easy step-by-step way to do at least simple taxes. I don' t have foreign accounts or earnings, no rentals, no dependents, etc. But all the questions are there in case any of those situations needs to be addressed. I have used TurboTax for several years and have never had any problems with my returns or refunds. Great way to handle a potentially stressful situation with little or no stress involved. I can work in shifts and always pick up right where I left off and watch my refund grow as I answer the questions. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got More For The Price! I thought I had to dig up all my printed files from last year's tax return. My external hard drive died and took all the info with it. but TurboTax saved everything from last year and $20 was worth saving me several HOURS looking everything back up! This is an ingenious feature and worth the $20 every time! AND TurboTax found a bit more for me this year as well! I'm currently unemployed, and the little extra it found will ensure that i have a full month with no bills to pay!!! Definitely will be a confidence booster as I find a job! January 24, 2015
<<prev 178 179 180 181 182 ... 186 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.