1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183428 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183421 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by On-line help 1- Like every past year my last year's tax info again was not transferred properly which resulted in typing data which should have been there. 2-Some questions asked during the interview did not have enough explanation to make the right decision for a non-accountant like me. 3- During the interview I entered wrong data in the personal business area specifically related to health insurance premiums paid. To correct this I tried everything including going directly to the worksheet forms but it won't let me. October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Taxing Overall, it makes an unpleasant task more tolerable October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy Return I'm a long time user of TurboTax. The software is pretty much, streamlined (not slow or clunky) with updates to make my return accurate. I've been given real peace of mind with all the support being offered (ie help center, error check, legal options, etc). I'm looking forward to 2015 using TurboTax. October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good - except entering payment Service was great, but I just wanted to use TurboTax for my state ONLY. I had to pay for BOTH Federal ($105.00) and State before I had the option to choose which to file or print. I called TurboTax 4 times about this issue and the representatives were great, but none of them understood why I couldn't select only State returns to pay for and file. I am now waiting on a $105 refund for the federal that I have already filed myself on paper. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only way to file This is my 11th year of using Turbo Tax. It makes April 15th a much less stressful situation. I put in the information and Turbo Tax does the calculations. It doesn't get any easier than that! October 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still better than pencil and paper! For years, I did my income taxes with pencil and paper. A few years ago I started using TurboTax, because I was tired of filling out page after page of Schedule D investment info, and liked the ability to easily import the data. Unfortunately, the program runs EXTREMELY slowly at times, even with nothing else running on my computer. I also find it almost impossible to find explanations when I'm not sure how something should be entered - and I've had this difficulty year after year. Finding / changing an entry can be difficult as well. I tried to find how / where to apply a part of this year's refund to my estimated taxes for next year.... while I can find where it is on my (filled in) forms, I can't find anywhere to actually split my refund into part refund, part payment of this year's taxes. Finally gave up (after about a 10 minutes search) and just filed with all my overpayment as a refund. October 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by After purchasing the 2013 version to do taxes for that year I was disappointed to find out that I could not use the efile because air message says deadline to use efile is oct 2014. no where on the box does it indicate this. Why sell this product if you cant use the efile which is why I originally purchased it. October 5, 2015
  • 2015-10-06T11:51:39.467-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183421, tr_183421
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 3831 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.