TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 386 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by TT Rocks! I used to use face-to-face services for tax preparation. Then, one year, an H& R Block Enrolled Agent charged me about $1000.00 to do a return, because of the complexity of my Schedule D. (I had sold a number of stocks to reinvest them.) She had me running all over the place to get the basis for stock sales. Then, she simply typed the data into her computer, charged me a hefty fee, and left me feeling like a fool. I should have walked out of her office, but the return was due, and I felt helpless...so I reluctantly paid. Not any more! For the last 10 years I have done my own taxes with Turbo Tax and it feels good to be in control. I don't have to deal with Enrolled Agents any more. They are cut out of the preparation process and the savings add up over time. Turbo Tax can import financial information from brokerages, which would make your reporting on Schedule D much simpler. However, my broker, National Financial, doesn't seem to be compatible. I wish that these two institutions would work it out. However, the Turbo Tax software is pretty easy to use, so even though I have to report stock sales individually, the process isn't so bad. In about an hour, I can get it all done. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use but help center could be improved As a long time Turbo Tax user, I have come to trust the Intuit brand and the product. It's a nice benefit that when you install the federal product, it immediately installs the state product as well. I enjoy how you can either have the software walk you through the entire process, step-by-step, or you can choose the topic you'd like to work via an itemized list. Another great feature is the live update feature on the left hand side of the software. It tells you your federal and state refund and live-updates as you enter your information. The not-so-great is when you want context sensitive help, you are redirected to Intuit's website, where the help is anything but context-sensitive. Instead, you are prompted to type your question into a text box, and "search." The questions are often asked by other Turbo Tax users, and the answers are given by either Turbo Tax employees, but more often, it's an answer from another Turbo Tax user. The answers provided may or may not help you, and often it appears that you won't be able find the answer you are looking for. To improve, Intuit should truly provide context-sensitive help since the software knows which topic you are working on. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gets the job done...eventually Federal very complete with very good error check and convenient importing. Context-sensitive help hasn't kept up with the ever increasing complexities--typically too vague to be of much help. Still no straightforward way to handle publicly traded partnership K-1's that you sell during the tax year. Workarounds still needed. Program should have input for the sales info provided by the partnership in their K-1 package and a built-in mechanism to prevent duplication of the sale with the 1099-B data from the broker. Expense of e-filing the state return is unjustified after paying so much for the Premier program needed to handle investments. State return for Oregon has a bug in the info sheet where Federal Pension income is adjusted for Oregon. Data carries here from prior year--in duplicate--and there's no way to get rid of the duplicate without overriding. User should be able to delete the duplicate payer if needed without overriding. Oregon return context sensitive help is woefully inadequate. You need to consult Oregon's Pub 17 1/2 to get the arcane addition and subtraction codes presented in a usable fashion; there should be direct links to that pub in the TT Oregon software. May 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Apparently the "Free" Upgrade to Premier Isn't! Turbo Tax continues to be my preferred way of filing. Due to his failing health, I did my Father-in-Law's taxes this year using TT, while he has done them for years manually. In re-inputting his data from prior years into my TT programs for those years, I found several errors he had made that he wouldn't have made had he used TT. However, I'm very unhappy over the cost to upgrade to Premier so I could file Schedule D, the cost to purchase a second state program, and the ultimate indignity, the cost to e-file with the states. What starts out as a $30 purchase easily gets up over $100 with the required upgrade to Premier, the purchase of an extra state program and e-filing fees. All are extremely excessive, in my opinion. The brainpower is contained in TurboTax, and all these other fees are just profiteering. The cost to e-file for a state return is ridiculous - it should be $5, not 5 or 6 times that much. If you need to raise the price of the basic product to cover the intellectual work that goes into the main program, then raise the price. Don't try to recover those costs by things like exorbitant e-filing fees and exorbitant add-on charges for state income tax return calculation. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PTP Disposal Software Suggestions Software should be improved to better handle the dispositions of Publicly Trade Partnerships (PTPs). Although I eventually was able to accurately report the disposition of Kinder Morgan Energy Partners, LP, it took some work to properly split the long term gain from the ordinary income onto the proper forms. It was very frustrating - especially with the "walk through" step by step process - which I eventually discarded and went straight to the forms. Even the community answers conflicted. So improvements are warranted in the software itself. The problem lies with the way the 1099-B information is tied with the K-1 information received from the General Partner and the step by step process. Also, because of this particular type of disposal, an Internal Revenue Code Section 751 Statement had to be included in the filed return. While I tried using a supporting statement for the 751, the statement was not part of the required filing pages. Finally found the blank page that would be included with the required filing pages. Intuit could certainly fix this area so that this works not only with step by step properly for reporting this kind of disposition but also improve Help instructions. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally good but... Although I like TurboTax and have been using it for many years, there are a few annoying problems. The worst was in downloading brokerage information. I wanted to correct some purchase dates and costs after some research, and the only way to do it was to delete all of the download (from that organization) and to install it again. The edit feature did not allow me to access the parts I needed to access. Some of the results were inaccurate; for example, at the end, when I file, it tells me that I have a guaranteed refund that is actually $500 more than the actual refund. I didn't get that. Also, the filing time was incorrect, as if you had a bad clock. The worst was that at one point the file was completely scrambled and had input and results that was not what I had entered. I had to start all over again. It was easier the second time around, since I had all the information at hand, but it was scary. (I use a Mac running OS10.10, generally very stable.) A feature that would be useful would be easier access to the actual calculation and rules that TurboTax uses along the way. Then, i wouldn't have to search through the actual forms and instructions to find the calculations and reasons. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Still The Best! I've been using TurboTax Deluxe for several years and switched to TurboTax Premier for 2014 due to the change in forms availability. Entering information was a piece of cake and the program guides you through everything step by step. While most people were upset with the changes in TurboTax Deluxe, it was apparent from reading the box which program you would need, so I didn't find it a problem at all. I'm really surprised in this day and age where change is the norm that more people didn't take a few seconds extra to READ THE PACKAGING before buying. For the miniscule cost compared to hiring a professional tax preparer, even the Premier version is a bargain when you factor the time you save and how the program maximizes your refund and provides helpful suggestions along the way. If you've never done your own taxes before and you don't have any unusual tax situations, then TurboTax in all its forms is hands down better than anything else on the market. Kudos to the TurboTax team for going the extra mile to take care of those hapless individuals who didn't take the time to READ THE PACKAGING! It's your tax refund, so why wouldn't you make sure the program you are buying will meet your needs? February 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was nice to be able to do taxes my taxes mysel I bought Turbotax Deluxe because our taxes are very simple. At least I thought they were. We own several MLP's and had some equity sales. II found out I needed to upgrade to Turbotax Premier at a cost of $32.03. I understood I would get a rebate of $25.00 when I filed my taxes. I saw no place to get this rebate when I filed my taxes. I paid $59.99 when I bought Deluxe 1/5/2015. A short time later it was advertised that Premier was only $54.99 (it was much more expensive when I bought Turbotax). It took forever to download the Premier upgrade. You did a big disservice to your users by failing to include the additional features for investment income. The box Deluxe came in said there was 1 State product via download ( Print free or e-file for $19.99. When I went to e-file state taxes it said it would cost $24.95 I used Turbotax a number of years ago, then went to a CPA. Our tax situation has gotten much less complicated and I decided to use Turbotax again. It really was a pain to deal with this year to get started. I sincerely hope you get the versions straightened out before 2015 tax filing. HOW DO GET THE REBATE FOR HAVING TO UPGRADE TO PREMIER??? and the aggravation of having to download it??? April 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another year done, will be back for 2015 Overall pleased with this year's product (Premier). One glitch at the beginning: when TurboTax automatically searched for last year's file, it just searched and searched and finally froze... twice. Had to intervene and show it where the file was. After that, all of last year's data loaded just fine. I've used TurboTax for a number of years now and I feel I have a pretty good understanding of how to prepare my taxes with it. However, if I was new to it this year, that might not have been the case. A little more explanation might help first timers understand a bit better. For example, I have 2 kids attending college. TurboTax made it appear that I could only count secondary education expenses as deductions if I was the one in school. I had to search to confirm that I could include my kids' expenses. TurboTax should say something like "Here you may claim your own expenses or the expenses of qualified dependents as deductions" without having to search elsewhere for it. I get the feeling that TurboTax takes for granted that the person using the software already knows things like this. I do, but if my wife, who has never done our taxes before had done them this year, she would have had a rough go of it. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Met My High Expectations -- Again I have always been a TurboTax fan! I have prided myself in doing my own taxes since 1966. I used to spend hour upon hour each year in IRS Pub 17 and other pubs, pouring through them to find the correct information on how to handle the purchase and sale of the six homes my wife and I have owned across the US, how to handle the rental and eventual sale of two of them when I couldn't sell them right away, how to handle investment income and sales, how to handle losses, etc. I started using TurboTax in 1997 (tax year 96) and seldom has it not answered all of my questions and covered all of my circumstances in the last 19 years. Goodbye Pub 17! This year was no exception. Having turned 70 1/2 last year, I had to start taking RMDs from my traditional IRA. Some of the distributions I had sent directly to my church, and I was afraid I would have to dust off Pub 17 to see how to handle it. To my delight, TurboTax walked me right through it. I also appreciate the fact that I can download all of my investment transactions directly from my investment management company -- what a time saver! I have never experienced any problems with TurboTax. Thanks for making it available for those of us who do our own taxes! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is Cool My TurboTax experience was generally quite good. A couple of small criticisms: A. Long-term Care Insurance premiums are deductible for my state income taxes, but they don't affect the federal return unless my total medical expenses exceed a certain percentage of my income (which it never does). I thus looked a long time for a way to enter the LTC Premiums on the STATE return, finally discovering that I should enter them on the Federal Schedule A, even though they don't affect the Federal refund. I suggest that Turbo Tax include a brief statement on the page where the user enters Health Expenses on the Federal return indicating that such expenses should be entered there even if they won't affect the Federal tax amount, because they may affect the state tax amount. B. I still don't know why the Deductions page includes the "other taxes" amount. This is very confusing, making the user think that he/she has entered an inappropriate deduction. If you think this sum needs to be included, at least show this amount in a way that makes it clear that the amount is not ADDED to the deducted amounts for health care, state income taxes withheld, charitable donations, etc. Other than this, the program is very cool. February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Few "hiccups" In the “Let’s Review your Numbers section” under Federal Tax Summary, you have a hyperlink to “detail tax breakdown”. This takes you to the 2014 Tax Breakdown section. I entered Property Taxes, but it’s not listed under the “You Entered” column. Didn’t affect me personally as I always manually sum up the deductions total (i.e., I always fail to qualify and end up with the Standard Deduction anyway). But,,, it may affect someone else. Hope this helps… Also, your program got confusing after I entered an oil royalty income in the 1099-MISC section (i.e., it states you will come back to this later). After entry, it “doubled” the entry and amount in Schedule E section. I ended up simply deleting the two 1099-MISC’s and starting over. You need to let the program take you directly to the Schedule E information as part of the 1099-MISC “or” have it list it in Schedule E section to select and complete. It was like it got hung in a loop. Hope this helps… P.S., tell your boss, Susan Goodarzi, Thanks for the free upgrade for Deluxe. I have one little oil royalty that requires a Schedule E. To purchase the upgrade for that “one form” costs more than the oil royalty pays in a year, and oil prices are falling LOL… March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as pie refund! I've used TurboTax for almost as long as I've done taxes. It's a great and easy way to do your taxes quickly and accurately. It meticulously goes over anything that might possibly give you more of your money back and makes filing extremely easy. My only criticism is the price difference between versions: Basic is $15 (or free online), Deluxe jumps up to $60, Premier jumps to $90, Home and business at $100. The $45 jump from Basic to deluxe and $30 jump from Deluxe to Premier seems a bit much. Not to mention the extra $29.95 if you have to download an additional state and extra money to efile the extra state. The price differences and somewhat high extra fees make filing in more than one state a little pricey. The nice thing about TurboTax has always been that you could do your own taxes quickly and accurately without having to pay someone a lot of money to do it. With all of the nickel and dime pricing of the latest versions, it is quickly losing this aspect of it's appeal. If you are filing for 1 state or don't have any interest, investments, or other forms of additional income, then TurboTax is a sweet deal. For the rest of us, who already love and have used it in the past, it is becoming a little pricey. April 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great job again this year Never had any problems ever in years past. This is the first time ever that there was a problem. I entered all of the information from our W-2s EXACTLY the way it was printed on them. After everything was done and had E-filed a form popped up for me to fill out and print off. It was for us to pay our local school tax. I knew that that was not right so I rechecked my W-2s and looked how they were entered into TurboTax and everything was exactly the way they were on the printed forms. I manually added up the school taxes that were withheld and looked at my E-filed return and noticed that the filed figure was way short of the actual amount that had been withheld and entered. This additional form for my state school taxes said that I owed over $300.00 more. When I manually recalculated what I owed I discovered that I actually only owed an additional $1.92. I contacted the Ohio Dept. of Taxation and they said for me to fax copies of my W-2s to them with all of the documentation, which I did. I didn't hear anything from them for quite a while so I emailed them back wondering what was going on. Apparently they are going to deduct the reported tax due amount and then they will refund the over payment, some day. Swell! April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Drowning in Two States My wife and I are retirees, renters with little income. Toward the end I was tired, I'll admit but saw no distinctions between e-filing feds for free and going ahead and doing same for two states. I felt like I wasted $80 with the State returns, but couldn't shut down the Turbo Tax Locomotive. I paid $50 for the program, 40 for a second state, and $80 additional to file 3 returns, federal and two states. For $170 I could have hired an accountant. I had tons of trouble knowing what was wanted between the two states, Oregon and Colorado, and the Oregon return on how to split the federal pension or whatever was a tough guess on my part. Not sure, given your lack of direction, if I filled things in correctly. I just did my best. You need to explain what is going on and how "splits" are made between two states. My research shows that Oregon calls you a resident only if you've spent 200 days or more as a resident there, so I don't feel I needed to do Oregon at all--but your system guided me into it. But between us, the job is done, and I can head for a couple of very stiff Bourbons. You guys are close to being great, but for me a little expensive and in spots lacking explanation. Thank you. It's a relief. Tired Thurmond. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax return mostly but not all easy Heard about how you skipped some features in certain versions (for 2014) of TurboTax, and you apparently eventually "got it." Do not do that again! There's always H&R Block, TaxAct, etc.! Almost every tax situation is anticipated. Only weakness is in handling complicated taxation of partnerships and royalty trusts. (Especially when I got a 1099 Misc from brokerage and instructions by mail from trust for the same royalty.) As for navigation, you walked me through data entry very well, but I found it hard to figure out how to change something later (such as when I discovered an error or got corrected data from brokerages); when user wants to adjust something already entered, you should explain at once how to do this. Downloading from brokerages requires hight vigilance; I ended up with duplicate data downloads when I had (for example) "Schwab" in one place and "SCHWAB" elsewhere; a computer is still a dumb machine and needs to be "taught" about such details. After writing all this, a snag: No way to continue after "Preview my review"!!! How about "All Done" or "I"m done with review!" Another snag: You say my nickname is too short. I keep entering a longer and longer one, and you keep telling me it's too short!!!!!!!!!!!!!! March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easier than I Thought The importing of financial data from investment firms, etc. is a huge time and labor savings. TurboTax walks you through the whole process and gives the taxpayer the ability to file their own return instead of hiring someone. I feel more knowledgeable about my taxes now than when I went to a pro. Downside is that I had to pay for a upgrade right in the middle of doing my taxes. Guess I didn't have much choice. TurboTax needs to better define what each version can actually handle so the buyer can purchase the right version from the start. Overall, I'm happy with the performance of TurboTax. It might be nice to have a preview of the information that was imported from a financial/ investment firm so that the user knows he/ she has a complete record. Otherwise you do not know what you have until you print out your return. My return ran over 35 pages due to listing all the sale of assets. I was not certain all the data was there until I printed my return. If I could have had a preview after importing the information for my Form 8949 it would have saved me much worrying. With two kids in college, TurboTax made the education credits a snap. I be back for TurboTax again next year and won't be dreading filing like I have in the past. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Interface I was looking for information on how to print returns prior to filing - Help response appeared to give me directions for the online version, whereas I was looking for information on the dowload version. Start of filing section had button something like "e-file federal return now" - Not a valid label, since it indicated that selecting that button would initiate e-fileing the return, so I was reluctant to select it. In actuality, the button meant that turbotax was asking whether I wanted to initiate the efiling dialogues - BIG DIFFERENCE!!!! When I got to the end, I found I had ample opportunity to print and review my return - so why wasn't there clear information about that when I sought help on printing the return. I got the feeling that the Turbo Tax product is not reviewed by new users - only those who already know the overall dialogue structure. Don't need to add more dialogue questions, but should provide better "HELP" for the download version. Literally, I felt trapped by this product. It was also strange that it appeared that I had to sign-on to the turbotax website every time I wanted to work on the downloaded version of Turbotax. Overall, this product leaves me very unsettled. I may decide to use a different product next year. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally good with a few flaws Generally, it does everything needed to get the job done but there are some things that should be fixed or changed. 1. Charitable contributions should be able to be displayed in alphabetical order. As it is, they're strictly ordered in the sequence entered so the following year, it's necessary to pick through the list to find the ones to edit for that year. Alphabetizing would be a big help and shouldn't be difficult. 2. After entering zero for Farm Income (we have no farm), it asks a question about the source of the farm income. This is inappropriate and should be corrected. 3. I made no estimated payments and still got a refund, yet TurboTax generates Estimated Payment vouchers with substantial amounts for the following tax year. No explanation but again, wholly inappropriate. 4. When reviewing numbers on forms, the "Data Source" should be able to track you back to the entry/ies that generated the result. Frequently, this doesn't work; i.e., nothing happens when using "Data Source". It seems like it used to work pretty well in prior years but now is broken. 5. After previewing this review and editing several times, things just went dead and I had to redo the review. May be an IE glitch. Fortunately, I had saved this part of the review. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good. I use it every year. I can't complain too much. I've been using Turbo Tax for years and I've never had any kind of problem at all, until this year. I found two small glitches that I couldn't correct no matter what I did. First, my wife has her own consulting business. The program asks who has the business and I put my wife as the owner. For whatever reason Turbo Tax decided I was the owner. I went back and redid this section about five times, but no matter what I did, Turbo Tax insisted that I was the owner. I just left it alone and submitted my taxes. I hope the IRS doesn't care who owns the business as long as they get their money. The other glitch I found concerned my IRA. My dad had been taking money from his IRA. When he died, I inherited it and was required to continue taking money out every year. There's a place on the state form where they want to know why you are taking your money out of the IRA. Turbo Tax didn't ask me, it just said I was over 591/2 and taking money out. I tried several times to go back and find a way to tell it that I was under 591/2, but there was no way I could do that. Those were the only two things I could find wrong with the program, and as I said, I'm generally pleased with it because it makes a very difficult job much easier. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be much better I have used TT for many years without much trouble. This year TT was awful. First, it would not work on Mac Snow Leopard which was very frustrating. I had no intention of upgrading my operating system so TT would run. Fortunately, my Mac has windows XP also and it ran through windows. Interestingly, XP is a much older operating sys. than Snow Leopard, yet it worked. Secondly, my stock transactions were downloaded from Scottrade. After carefully reviewing the many transactions, TT failed to pick up the cost basis on one occasion and showed the entire gain as the sales price. I was able to do a work around eventually. The point is, one must visually check every automatic TT entry with your own records. Third, I sold a rental property and followed all the stupid guided steps as directed. The result was a double entry, double the capital gains for the same property. I did not discover this until careful review. An accountant friend helped me straighten this out. TT should have caught this in their so-called error checker which is less than useless. All in all, TT provides a platform for entering tax data, but one would be a fool to trust it. I would not recommend TT for a naive individual who just enters data and expects the result to be correct. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience with Minor Flaws I used TurboTax to file a final return for my deceased mother-in-law. Unfortunately, she received 1099's that included income for all of 2014 rather than being split between personal and estate income. Thus, I had to account for the portion of reported estate income. In this situation the IRS instructs that an entry should be made on Schedule B below all the other payees that is deducted from the total. I saw a suggestion (I believe at the TurboTax site) to make such an entry by creating a dummy 1099 with negative values. I tried that in the EasyStep section, but TurbotTax would not let me enter negative numbers. However, I discovered that by switching to the Forms view I was able to make manual entries in the Schedule B Smart Worksheets using negative numbers. The resulting updated INT and DIV totals were correctly reflected throughout the other forms. Still, there was one remaining problem with the TurboTax check for qualified dividends. Qualified dividends must be equal to or less than ordinary dividends. The negative values entered for my adjustments did not work well with the TurboTax check because it apparently does not test absolute values. So TurboTax flagged an error all the way through the entire filing process that I just had to ignore. March 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Surprised for 2014! I've used Turbo Tax via two different desktop systems for over 10 years and have been generally very pleased with the product until this year when I got 3 surprises. 1. This year's product - I started with Deluxe but was forced to upgrade to Premier - was buggy which I had never experienced before with a Turbo Tax product. The drop down menus at times would not drop down or if they did nothing occurred when clicked on. The program would stop executing at random times and just lock up; you would have to restart the program (though I never lost information I had already inputted when this happened# in order to continue. 2. The deletion of features #i.e. stock transactions via Schedule D# from Deluxe without a reduction in price was a real downer. 3. This last one could be considered minor but given the product's price continues to rise I see no reason why the appearance of the product on the computer screen has been downgraded; the colors were subdued, the fonts less bold and overall the presentation less pleasing to the eye. #My computer and monitor are the same so its TT#. Bottom line - next year I'll think twice before using Turbo Tax and I will consider other tax prep software and maybe even going to paper and pencil #holy cow did I write that!). March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helped a lot complicated investment tax situations The software made several steps easier. I was a paper filer up until this year. Doing cost basis calculations and many of the other various forms necessary for LPs and S-corporations manually forced several recomputations on many forms and worksheets. By storing them electronically and the software recomputing (no data on physical forms), this greatly reduced my tax processing time. The one issue I ran into is that the K-1 wizards assume only one purchase and sale date. I had one example that had both long-term and short-term elements which made the data entry ... "imaginative". I divided the K-1 myself and found the results in alignment with what would be accurate (just took some time to separate the information). I did not like the e-file cost for state (as I am not used to the concept - being a paper filer), but overall the cost was about $100 for filing. Comparable to professional offices but worse than manually doing it myself. The good part is that TurboTax provides the option of paper filing as well. I just decided against it. Additionally, I always filled out a Schedule B (even when not required ) as it provided for a good listing of all income sources. It would be nice to have the option to print these optional forms if we desire to do so.. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Peace of Mind, I Guess I've used TurboTax through several years and many life changes - from years working for a preschool while also doing both contract work and running my own business (plus working in two states) to years working one job in a corporate environment. TurboTax certainly helped give me peace of mind during the years during where my taxes were very complicated. That being said, TurboTax made it really hard to find the state taxes when I chose to file them by mail rather than pay an additional $20 in fees. There isn't an easy link to print off just state taxes like there was in the past. I had to search through several pages to find the printable state taxes. When I finally found it, the document looked like a repeat of the federal tax return I'd just reviewed during the e-file process. They'd buried the state taxes at the bottom of a document with pages of the federal tax information at the top. This was so frustrating - I actually thought they'd deleted the information I'd just entered in for the state taxes! Ultimately, I'll probably use TurboTax again, but I know that I just have to be prepared to search to find what I need. Sadly, I'd been enjoying up to that point using TurboTax to prepare my taxes, but this definitely ended my evening on a sour note. February 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maury's 2014 Tax Returns This has been the worst year of completing my taxes because of the confusion about whether I needed to upgrade to the Premier version of Turbo Tax. I have always done my taxes with Turbo Tax Deluxe for 15 years. Many times I have used Schedules B, D, E and 4835. In completing these forms I use the Forms part of Turbo Tax only. Answering all your questions is too confusing for me. This year I was told by your program that I would not be able to e-file unless I upgraded. I think that was a lie just to get me to upgrade, I upgraded just so I could e-file my taxes but now I don't think the upgrade was necessary. The worst part of the confusion was your letter telling me about the confusion and that I could get $25 back after e-filing my taxes. I have not filed for my $25 yet because I think the upgrade should have been free. I got a letter from CostCo telling me that if I upgraded starting February 2, the upgrade would be free. Unfortunately I upgrade on January 31, 2015, 7 days to early to get the free upgrade. You owe me a free upgrade. The cost of my upgrade on January 31 was $30 plus 1.88 sales tax. Would you please credit the full amount ($31.88) back to my credit card account so I don't have to go through is process again after i file for my $25. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been using TurboTax for years! I've been using TurboTax for over a decade to get my taxes done. I've never been able to use the EZ forms - my situation has always been a bit more complicated. TurboTax walks me through everything, and when there are questions it's easy to find answers. One issue I've had with it, and it's only one, is regarding deductions. Several years in a row now I've gone through and input my contributions to a Roth IRA, and TT has said that I have contributed too much and I will pay a penalty. It's disheartening because I've contributed about half of the 'allowed' annual amount, but that amount is for people with lower incomes than my husband and I. It's only AFTER we enter alimony paid that TT says that my contribution is okay and won't be penalized. I think this is a glitch that should be fixed - maybe rearrange the order in which the deductions are handled. On a brighter note, a number of years ago I was audited by the state and was facing a stiff penalty for something that had been filed incorrectly. I went back through my returns (both Fed and State) for that year and found that something from the Fed return hadn't been correctly translated to the State return. I sent TT the information and they stood by their guarantee and paid the penalty. Kudos to them! March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some great, some not. Schedule D fiasco I think you already know the Schedule D fiasco was just that. I hope you'll be very public and open about what happens next year. I have used sched D for many years. Free State filing I wish State filing was free. Who gets that money ? Double-sided printer Being able to specify I have a double-sided printer would be nice. Forms could be printed double-sided and the next form would start on the next "front" page. Printing would be much easier and waste less paper. Form 1116 Flow on Form 1116 did not seem to work correctly at first. Started in step-by-step and calcs were wrong. Try to fix by hand, no flow in form. Started over in step-by-step and it suddenly worked. It also cleared overrides made trying to fix it. Frustrating. Not sure if my problem or yours. Copy text I wish I could select and copy text. Easier to search TTax and web for clarifications, and more. What if calculator I often want to know the benefit of a deduction or the effective rate it saves at. I now have to note the tax/refund when a deduction is in, then remove $1000, for example, to see what change happens in both Fed and State. Having a worksheet that keeps track of those numbers so I don't have to note them elsewhere is something I have wanted for many years. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than paying my accountant I started using TurboTax some years ago, then started having an Enrolled Agent prepare my taxes for a couple of years because they got a little too complicated. After they raised their rates significantly I decided to give TurboTax Premier a try as I have investments and rental property. The only tricky part was entering in the property depreciation information in last year. This year was a breeze because TurboTax carries forward from previous years all that information. In addition, downloading your stock activity from your financial services company takes most of the headache out of reporting your gains and losses. The way TurboTax walks you through the process of entering all your pertinent tax data is really straight forward and I can honestly say that I didn't scratch my head once wondering what I should enter or do next. My only gripe is that when I went back to step through and review some sections, TurboTax reset some of my selections and I had to re-select them. To make things even easier in the future I will start entering my accounting data into Quicken so that I can simply import it straight into TurboTax. I would definitely recommend giving TurboTax a try, it costs me about 4 hours of my time but saves me hundreds of dollars on tax preparation. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Results I have used TurboTax for many years. The changes to Deluxe were a big inconvenience and I used Premier this year. I download the software and file my returns by mail so having to go online to print the returns makes no sense. This was not the case last year. The requirements to use Schedule C-EZ should be changed to last year's format. If you do not have a 1099 misc. and only have non 1099 misc income, the software tries to make you upgrade to Home and Business. This was not the case last year. I meet all the requirements for C-EZ and should not have to use Home and Business which will just result in Schedule C-EZ anyway. TurboTax should consider a user committee if you do not already have one to evaluate major changes before they are released. People tend to use the same software every year to do their taxes as long as they are satisfied with the product. You are risking a continuous revenue stream (almost like an annuity) by making significant changes without informing the users. If people get dissatisfied and change to a competitor, they are not likely to come back. If you have a profit problem, increase the price of the Deluxe product. If you can't increase the price because of competition, find another way that doesn't risk alienating your customer base. March 29, 2015
  • 2015-05-23T12:21:52.375-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-386, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17099, tr_17099
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 384 385 386 387 388 389 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.