TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 337 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it done! Easy to follow menus helped to get through the exercise. Only issue was with Schedule D worksheet - for investment-types over 50 lines long, only 50 lines would display for review and editing, though all totals were retained and details did print later. On printouts of Forms 8949, all investments of a letter-type were grouped together, and not sub-totaled by investment account, making review more difficult. Otherwise, everything else went very well. Good job, as usual! March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still Easy To Use Still believe this is the best software for personal taxes, even including business if you buy the appropriate version. I was especially disappointed that there was no indication upfront that Premier would not include investment handling. The approach of not telling you until you received the annual automatic copy was not a wise marketing decision and almost made me return it and go to another supplier. The only thing that saved the day was the offer of a free upgrade. March 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Asking for the first name at the beginning of the interview places that individuals name first on the returns. No problem with the federal, but causes problems on the state (at least for the state of Missouri). Figures ended up in the wrong column and causing some negative numbers for myself (a stay at home mom). Negative figures would surely result in red flags for possible audit. Turbo Tax, GO BACK TO THE OLD INTERVIEW. Also, I have purchased the same program year after year, Turbo Tax Deluxe. Did the same this year and what a shock to open, begin to prepare and find out that I have to upgrade to complete taxes. Cost for me more in the end, than it would have to purchase the Turbo Tax Premier Software in the store. My opinion, the current Turbo Tax Premier is what was Turbo Tax Deluxe. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better A back door Roth IRA is perfectly legal, and necessary for high wage earners, which are many of your customers. Why is it difficult to enter this information each year? Why don't you make it straight forward. Every year I need to go into blogs to figure out how to enter the data because your program does not make it straight forward. I don't understand why not. Also, after going through the interview, if you need to go back and change info it is not straight forward how to do that, and not sure when it updates everything. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easier than last year I was surprised that even with mortgage interest payments, state, real estate, excise taxes and other reasonable deductions that the standard deduction amount for our situation was not quite met. Seems to me that people that don't own homes and property really get a tax bargain relative to those that do. The capital gains calculation set up was a little better this year with Turbo Tax Premium, but that was in large part to changes in reporting by the investment company. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Always I have been using Turbo Tax since the mid 1990's. It has always been a benefit to me. I tried using a "brick-n-mortar" establishment once and they came back with owing money. I used TurboTax and they found me ways to actually get a refund! I did have a financial person review both returns and the accountant agreed with TurboTax. As my financial situation has changed overtime, TurboTax has always had the right product for me. Definitely the best monies I have ever spent! March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Returned to TurboTax For the "average" return with stock/bond investments or rental property, TurboTax is very straightforward. But when oil royalties, oil leases, farm cash-rents, and realted income_expenses are involved, it's exceedingly more difficult. TurboTax can handle it - it's just not that great in explaining how the various entries are related. True: if you dig deep enough, and search the forum long enough, you will eventually find what you need - but it shouldn't be so difficult. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love my refund I was a nervous wreck filing my taxes this year because I have multiple w2s and 1099s. I called for support from product support and the lady I spoke with was personable as well as knowledgeable she was great. I also spoke with a tax agent and she was wonderful. I used turbotax premier it was very easy to use and I felt comfortable. thank you turbotax for making it easy to do my taxes as well as affordable. I will be returning next year for my third year. Job well done. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent linkage to financial institutions I've been using TurboTax for my personal return which is fairly straightforward: Military retirement, Social security, IRA RMDs, and investments for more than 10 years. This is the first year I've let it go to my brokers and download Sked B and Sked D data. Very slick! Really speeds up the process. The best thing about running Quicken and TurboTax is that you can "what if" your investment decisions to determine their tax impact beforehand which can save a lot of money. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Blah Here I am ready to efile and bam I get hit with account ID and password - why not get all the information up front?? When you say I can print it doesn't print it just shows me the pdf file?? there is very little to no processing information up front. I don't always know what when, how, why, etc. the only thing that has kept me is the pdf file - paged correctly. I can always find things. but frustration at the end of the process will make me look for a cpa next. year. February 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay I could not reset my password because I do not know what nickname I have on file for my oldest (and only) child. I do not have a nickname for her. I never have as I like her name as it is just fine. Likewise that is probably the worst security question there could possibly be. I wanted to get Audit protection but because logging in kept failing because I could not answer this question in order to reset my password and there was no Chat or phone support I had to opt out. February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well Premier version has a limited way of handling rental property that was only in use part year. It calculates deductions behind the scenes, based on total year deduction inputs. It automatically includes these deductions, split appropriately between Schedule E and Schedule A. But then, it asks the user for input for these same deductions for Schedule A again, yet telling the user it has already taken them into account ?!?! I had to redo Schedule A deductions in certain areas to make sure the numbers added up correctly. Turbo Tax tried to duplicate my mortgage and property tax deductions (nice, but hardly legal - lol). April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I bought this at Costco, like usual, and had to do the "free upgrade" thing to be able to incorporate a K-1 form. I appreciate that Intuit stood behind me as a customer. However, for the next year I will comparison-shop for tax software when I haven't bothered with that in years. I appreciate the predictability of how TurboTax works, and frequently use the view of the completed form. The State wizard seems really weak, somehow, in comparison to the Federal. Help is useful. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long Time User of TTax I have used TTax since the DOS versions (15+ years?) and find that it handles all of my tax issues including brokerage transactions, retirement income, rental property, etc. However, it seems that for some years, while TTax will allocate rental property income and expenses according to my percentage of ownership, it does not allocate depreciation in a similar way. It appears to give me 100% of depreciation regardless of the % of ownership. Forum comments have confirmed this. Messy. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I do not want to backup to the cloud Love your product and for the most part ease of use. I do not want to pay $25 to e-file my state taxes. That is too much money. It was hard to figure out how to print the state return. if you don't e-file you should not have to go back through the menu to print it manually. Also, I do not want to store my information in "the cloud" After celebrity photos were stolen, I know my personal information could get stolen too. Much safer to back it up to a hard drive in my home. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The process of doing the Federal taxes was very clear. Was very happy with this process. The state taxes process was not the same. We did the state of Iowa taxes and there were time when it was very unclear what we were suppose to do. I felt like TurboTax did not spend much time on the state taxes process. We have been using TurboTax for the past 9 years and this is the first year I was not completely satisfied because of the experience we had with the state tax process. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Software The software allows me to file my taxes cheaply, easily and hassle free. A regular tax preparer would charge me a few hundred dollars easily and would have to wait weeks before they are completed. The only downside is the deluxe version was missing some forms and had to upgrade to Premier. However, TurboTax is sending me a $25.00 check. The total additional cost for premier was $30.00 plus tax. So, I only really paid an extra $8.00 or so. I will use this again next year. January 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Getting Worse First of all going back...takes too much effort going to the beginning of a section then answering all the questions again to get where you need to be...you can do better second deductions for rental home items !! Put more selections ...third Im a jet mechanic I bought a couple hundred dollars worth of tools (they will last longer than a year) where do I put my deduction.Get with it please been using turbo tax a while lately every year its getting more user Unfriendly!!! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made complex taxes easy Downloads from its deductible, W-2s, banks, investment companies, etc make things easy. bringing data forward from year-to-year reduces the time required to complete taxes side by side comparison with prior years helps ensure nothing is missed and provides a good reasonableness check that may catch data entry errors. depreciation calcs and carryforward a big help. links to help and what's new in context sensitive areas very helpful I will always choose turbotax software. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT to do it yourself Continue to use Turbo Tax even for my somewhat complicated return.have used it for years and still think it is a good way to do your taxes.Would like to talk to a real person when I call for information on trying to get an additional state reloaded because of problems I had with my laptop before I finished doing my entire package.( I had to purchase state over again) Judging by what tax professionals charge I figure I'm making about $100 an hour. Overall I love TURBO TAX March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good but could be better When trying to understand how TTX came up with the ABP and accrued interest credits, it would have been very helpful to have an explanation. I have both taxable and tax-free bonds. Eventually I realized TTX was apportioning the credit between the two (no credit for tax-free bonds). The ABP was a complete mystery. More explanation would have been helpful, e.g. clicking on the value in the form could have led to a calculation showing how the number was derived. It doesn't do that. Clearly, TTX knows how to do the calculation so it would seem simple to reveal that the user in the manner just described. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Switch requirement When I was notified that my Deluxe edition was being shipped, I was not told that the Premier edition would be required for forms that previously were available on the Deluxe edition. I did not know this until I was filling out my returns on the Deluxe edition. I'm glad you made the Premier edition available for free so that I could continue my work or I would have been really mad. If I have to use the Premier edition at a much higher price, I will shop for a different brand next year. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 TurboTax Fed + MI Premier package Overall a very well thought out package for preparing taxes. The Premier also features ability to handle rental income and Investment data. As noted in "Cons" it would be nice for the software to remember the security name for repeated transactions in the 1099-DIV section. This would make things a LOT quicker for multiple entries that have different dates. . Other than that issues, the package worked smoothly and it only took about 3 hours time to do the tax year and file. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes Simplified!!!! We have been using Turbo Tax for more than 8 years now for computing our Annual Taxes each year. It makes filing our taxes less stressful, fast & easy, having step by step accounting coverage included overall, for every tax filer. Mostly the latest updates help us to be free of any worries. Gives us a good reasonable & much better computed refund. In fact, my family members & friends switched to Turbo Tax for filing their taxes, after we told them the simplicity of using it. Great Programme within just ONE CD disc.!!!! Thanks!!!! April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 2014 Turbo Tax Experience My experience is that this Turbo Tax product improves each year that I use it, and this is the 5th consecutive year. I am very confident that my tax returns are accurate and will withstand an audit. The tutorial format is easy to work with, and helps me to include tax items that I may have otherwise forgotten. I used to have a CPA do my taxes and never felt this confident. So now I have complete confidence in my tax returns and have saved myself several hundred dollars! February 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by no happy I am assuming that you did not do your home work on Royalties from gas wells. so right off I had to pay an extra 30.00. then when I go to file I now have to pay another 35.00 to file so that is 49.99 + 30.00 + 35.00 = 114.00 I saw where I am suppose to get 20.00 back but I will believe that when I get the check. I have been using Turbo tax since it 1st came out and sold all family on it and many customers. but I think I will have to try something else next year like H & R February 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting Unweildy TT needs a comprehensive rewrite instead of bandaging. I've been a user of TT for years, each year it becomes harder to use. There should be a way to walk through the forms with a means to amplify the entries. It is hard to jump around as the data presents itself. I know you can go to certain areas to enter data but try getting back to where you were. There are certain bugs which demand an answer before you can go forward. In short, I may look at other programs next year. March 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Some Help Had problems installing on Windows 7 systems. Wouldn't install on my desktop so I had to install it on my laptop. I had problems with my federal return. It was difficult to declare and reconcile my NQSO sale. Got all the info in there, but still not sure it's entirely correct. Some of the areas needed to add the info are buried and difficult to even find. Once you find it, it still doesn't make sense. Just had to do the best I could with it. Got all my fingers and toes crossed. April 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but complex TT this year was less helpful. For instance it did not point out that I was paying a late penalty nor did it suggest how it could be reduced (which I did dramatically manually). Form K-1 entry was a series of catch-22 errors forcing me to enter several worksheets for the same investment and I had to test the impact of this by trial and error. TT should be able to handle automatically the K-1 data submitted without work around procedures by me (that is what computers are for), April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent I heard that your company was having problems, but you were working on corrections. I love your software and decided to use. I had faith that you would fix the problem. I Filed my federal and state returns without any problems. I will use this again and again. I checked with some of the other tax prep companies and ask their people some questions. I did not like their answers. I decided I could do better and learn something for the next tax season. I learning a lot. Thanks February 8, 2015
  • 2015-04-17T12:22:43.935-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-337, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_16822, tr_16822
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 335 336 337 338 339 ... 382 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.