TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 336 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Issues in Using TurboTax 2014 Premier My 2013 data was only partially imported, although data for 2010-2012 appeared in the summary (used TurboTax for these years). The IP PIN instructions, when IP PIN entered in the search box, took me back to the same search answer, not the menu to enter the IP PIN (continuous loop). When I entered "identity protection pin" in the search box (not "IP PIN" per the instructions), it took me to the correct menu. I am assuming the return was accepted; I will not kow this until I receive confirmation. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Delux I had always used Turbo Tax Delux version and it was sufficient to meet my needs. Now you have eliminate a part of the program and requires a upgrade to the more expensive Premium version. This year it was a free upgrade. I am afraid next year it will have to be purchased. This now moves the cost of the program up almost $30. I have been a Turbo Tax customer for almost 15 years. This modification in the program does not seem to be justified. I will review closely before renewing for next year. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Filing Tool I had used TurboTax for years and always found it helpful. My income and investment situations became more complex a couple of years ago, so I used a CPA to file my taxes as I thought my filings were overly complex. What I found was that assembling the data the CPA needed was the same as what I did to prepare my returns I used to use TurboTax. For 2014, I returned to using TurboTax. The user friendliness and intuitive entry process was even better than before. I will be a TurboTax user forever! April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax makes complex IRS rules less scary. There is no way to list my United Way W2 recurring contribution amount in the ITsdeductible Summary Form as supporting documentation because Turbo Tax already pulled the amount from W2 Box 14 and included. I had to find the Schedule A, Line 16 Cash Contributions Worksheet and attach the worksheet with the Summary Form to provide the IRS clear documentation. Providing clear supporting documentation lessens the chance the tax return will be returned to the tax payer for tax adjustment or an audit. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by why change Why, after all these years do I need to upgrade to pro? I don't run a home office, I just have a few investments that provide K-1 forms. Hate the change and added cost. Most likely to switch software next year. Also, my city return is not working correctly (had worked the last 10 years plus). Adding income to "resident" column, when we are non-residents, but work within the city. In the past the software would ask if this added income (capital gains) was obtained within the city. Not this year. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax needs to lower it's cost....! No way to delete a 1098-T Form from last year, after your transfer data. Disappointed in the stoppage of filing state returns, and disappointed in the cost of Turbo Tax, and the fact that now I need to spend even more on your product to submit a Schedule K (Premium). Good chance I may not be back to use your product next year. I did do the comparison with HR Block product and it is pretty good. It's going to take a significant discount in costs of your product to keep me as a customer next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by When doing my kids returns (both college students), I had to input all of their expenses (tuition, room/board, books, etc) and their 529 info, only to find that they were not eligible for any educational credits because they had been declared as dependents on my return. You need to restructure this section and first ask if they have been declared dependents elsewhere, and if so, say they don't have to proceed because they're not eligible, saving a lot of time inputing data that is not necessary. April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unexpected Extra Fee I have used Turbo Tax for years because it is an accurate and easy way to file my taxes. This year it would not provide me with forms for some farm rentals that it had provided in previous years and required an additional expense that I was not expecting. I still think that I will use the software next years, but will also look at other options. In the past, I would rely on Turbo Tax being the best way to file my taxes. In the future, I will take time to shop for my best tax preparation product. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth and quick again. Another in a long series of TurboTax filings went smoothly. This was a quiet financial year, so I probably didn't need Premier, but it was nice to know all the tools were ready to go when I was. Next year could be more challenging as I move into retirement so I will stick with TurboTax Premier. TT asks all the right questions of me, then displays the fields that the IRS wants to know about. Tons better than reading tens of thousands of pages of regulations or hiring tax preparers or accountants. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of Hard Work Reported the hole in the program by phone. I had to omit 2 1099-Rs otherwise ACCORDING TO TURBOTAX I would have had to pay $563,000.00 instead of getting the refund I was actually due. Also, when revisiting a section, ("updating",) several of the individual questions that were asked during the first pass thru the section never appeared again, making it quite difficult to change an answer to the more correct answer to see if it made any difference. Instead, a whole new tax form needed to be done, March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by CDS12 Your customer service rep helped me to overcome the upgrade issues. I did not get the "free" state filing as it was not available after 2/16, but nowhere was I able to find out about that! Also, the customer rep did not know it had expired so you are a big company. I managed to get thru OK. However, I did find a duplicate entry for home interest. You need to put in a check/double cx for exact amount entries in the same category. My return would have gone to audit if I had not caught this error. March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 5th Year Using TurboTax This is at least my 5th year using TurboTax. The 1st couple of years I also did my taxes the old fashion way (paper/pencil/calculator) just to make sure the numbers came out the same. TurboTax actually showed me somethings that I missed. Now that life is more complicated (kids, new jobs, more cars, raises, buying & selling homes) I let TurboTax do all the calculations. The only problem I had this year was with the wording on Settlement Papers for the old & new houses not matching exactly with TurboTax. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I Wish It Was Better and Wasn't Charged for E-File The format is good, questions leading you to inputs which are distributed to various forms. I was asked on State Forms to label costs that TurboTax created on Federal forms. I paid $40 each for 2 add'l state forms and then was asked for a $17 fee each for e-filing when I had $0 tax due on one and $2 tax due on the other. (Doesn't seem to make sense, does it?) Printing preview of the forms for my records yielded a hodgepodge of forms that weren't listed on the selection menu causing me great concern. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Import function broken? For whatever reason, I could not get TTP to import 1099 info from USAA this year. I ended up typing it all in manually, but it was a shame since that is a big convenience feature and ensures I don't have an input error from the keyboard. Oh well, I know Intuit has had a tough year with the rebranding they did. Hopefully next year they clean it all up and it's back to being a flagship product. Otherwise I guess there will be shift in market share for tax prep software, which would be inconvenient. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but I have been using Turbo Tax for the last 10 years. Great product! During that time I have lived in three different states. While living in WV & MN the direct deposit information automatically transferred onto the state return. For the last four years I have lived in PA. Unfortunately, Turbo Tax does not automatically transfer the direct deposit information onto the PA return. Not good. I end-up waiting weeks for my state return. I hope this issue can be addressed in the 2015 edition of Turbo Tax. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TT Federal/State The Federal went smoothly. I had previously purchased the premier with one state filing. I learned that because of one 1099 form I had to file in a state in which I was not a resident and had not filed previously (New Jersey). Another $43 (yuk). I kept getting hung up on several points and could not determine what info was needed and where in the world I was going to get the info. The explanation was not very helpful so I did what I normally do and made several assumptions and finally got through March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by dated, needs improvement 1)after a completed topic or entry, page returns to top of screen and requires manual scroll back to next topic/entry point. 2) printing forms for review or records overwhelms printer memory and prints, stops, and then reprints a few pages at a time. destroying a forest of trees and ink supply. 3)there is an error in the state return program where it states that it cannot file due to an entry(motion picture filming credit). I did not claim any such credit/entry. and I can't go back and review it. March 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a mess I have been using Turbo Tax for many years and this year it has taken me a month to do because it seemed that everything that I put in was a problem. Now that I am trying to print the state tax forms it will not let me do it. I guess you only want me to e-file it but I do not want to do that. I just have the feeling that this year I will get audited because of all the trouble that I have had. Do not think I will give you another chance next year and will just take it in somewhere to have it done. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Little Things This year, 2014 tax return, I wanted to save my work and went to the save area. i overlooked the encription button and its alternate to encript.Since the T/T recommended that option I followed. To my dismay I didn't realize the need to write the code down to reach my files. The result was that I lost all of my file and had to start over. Your online help was great but I was handicapped without the comparisons of 2013 to 2014 which are very helpful. You obviosly train your telephone people vry well. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by HUGE problems with screen size and font size not sure whether it is my Mac acting up or your software, but I had a NIGHTMARE of a time suddenly getting inflated text that did not fit screen, and only one Zoom function. I got no help from you or from MAC. Oh yes...I was not happy that I had to upgrade to Mac OSX 10, requiring complete Mac backup on an external harddrive ($60). I should have stayed w Deluxe but your advertising indicated I should get Premium. and your Terms and Conditions for this review are preposterous, ridiculous. good work! April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good! My 12th year with TT. I like this program and have managed two rental properties (with all of the accounting aggravation) without much difficulty. If I could make a suggestion, I would make the "help/question" process easier. I would like to see a help link next to each entry on each page of the TT data-entry pages so that you can see what the IRS will and will not allow for that entry. The way it is set up now, I end up doing a lot of research on the web to find the answer for one data-entry box. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund Finally After Several Years I am a returning customer for a couple of decades. The product was easy and fun to use. It organized my return and all the data so it would be easy to find (very detailed if you want to use it). I was surprised that this year I was forced into buying the upgraded version when I have always purchase the Deluxe product. I required forms C and D for my investments. I understand that with this filing, I will be able to recover the $25 for the higher level version from Turbo Tax. Sincerely, PapaBob20 April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EZDoesit Always did taxes myself until K1's , MLP's and options made it a little more complicated. CPA became a little too expensive. Turbo Tax capacity to import financial data from brokerages, banks etc simplified process and eliminated manual transcribing by the CPA. With a little patience and utilizing some additional resources I was able to complete and file this years return without any trouble. Even with some more complicated financial transactions Turbo Tax was able to guide me through the process. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done with Taxes I Hope The return went well and the program guided me through most things well. I had a bit of a problem trying to get the state program to all for the deduction of the capital gains on the sale of an Oklahoma Municipal Bond. As the amount was only $34 I finally gave up said that it was taxable. The program kept wanting an address or a Federal EIN number. Neither of these goes with a municipal bond. Amount for filing state return seems higher than I have heard that other programs charge for this service. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Your Significant Cost Increase For the year 2013 I didn't need Sch D, but for 2014 I did and found that you omitted Sch D and a couple of others from your Deluxe edition that I have been using for over 15 years. Adding $25 to the cost of the Deluxe edition is about a 50% cost increase just for the one schedule that I frequently use. Now I have to buy your Premier edition that contains a bunch of stuff that I'll never use at this increased cost just to get one schedule. I'll probably look into H&R Block's tax program for 2015.. March 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems with same gender marriage TurboTax needs to fix this problem. For several years before the overturn of DOMA, my husband and I used TurboTax to file as domestic partners federally and married/joint in Massachusetts. After DOMA was overturned, TurboTax could not be convinced that we were now married, so that even though our married filing jointly returns were accurate, the program gave an error warning during the last steps every time through. I could file returns OK, but errors slowed the process and were quite frustrating. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Using Turbo Tax Because of the changes Turbo Tax (TT) made to their software, I needed to upgrade from Deluxe to Premier. Thankfully and gratefully, there was no charge by them to upgrade. This year, I also let TT download some information. It usually takes me about 20 minutes to type in the information, but it took only about 30 seconds to download the information as I was on the phone with the other company who walked me through the downloading process. It was great to use. Older people can learn something new. March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oil Lease Info Lacking As a new oil lease for many this year, I found the directions lacking clarity and wasted a number of hours trying to figure it out. That could have been very easily avoided. I think that pushing everyone to the cloud solution as a backup is fine, but I also wanted to back it up locally and although not partially difficult I would like to see you add it as an easy option. Also, you used to have an option to burn it all to disc for archive. Now that is gone. That would be nice to have returned too. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it done quickly! Been using since DOS program. Gets better every year. Nice and quick, logical presentations. Love the review or errors feature. I am clueless on the software problems from earlier in the year. None of the e-mail explanations made sense to me. They were a stark contrast to the easy to follow instructions in Turbo Tax. I did appreciate getting a free upgrade, but stock transactions were handled by the Deluxe version. Why was this eliminated? If I sound confused, I am one of several million others? March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still the best for me Since I tend to keep my tax supporting documents in order through the year, I can use TurboTax and get the filing done in (usually) one day. It guides me to the points I need and generally gets all of the data right. It even catches omissions in forms imported from the financial institutions. My only real objection is that I need the Premium package even though my taxes are relatively simple, since I do trade stocks and other securities. It's a lot of extra $$$ just for that one extra capability. March 28, 2015
  • 2015-04-24T13:00:20.612-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-336, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_16991, tr_16991
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 334 335 336 337 338 ... 387 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.