TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 336 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clear & Easy EXCEPT ... Having to upgrade from Deluxe to Premier in the middle to enter 1099B info was a hassle. Looked like it would be straightforward online, but didn't work. Had to call support. He was helpful and I had my upgrade within a few minutes, but that was after waiting for 20-30 on hold. It wasn't made clear (to these old eyes, at least) on the display where I bought TurboTax that Deluxe was no longer adequate for my purposes (i.e., including sales of stocks), as it has always been in the past. March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, BUT NOT GREAT USED TURBOTAX ANNUALLY SINCE 2010 OR BEFORE. PRICE KEEPS INCREASING WITHOUT EVIDENT INCREASE OR IMPROVEMENTS IN FORM OR FUNCTIONALITY. IN FACT, CALIFORNIA STATE RETURN WAS MORE CUMBERSOME AND CONFUSING THAN PRIOR YEARS. 2013 FED RETURN WAS REJECTED BY FEDS DUE TO IDENTITY THEFT ISSUE WHEREUNDER THIEF FILED EARLY CLAIM FOR REFUND, VS OUR TURBOTAX FILING TRIED TO E-FILE TAX DUE PAYMENT. TURBOTAX AS NO HELP IN GETTING US TROUGH THAT VERY UGLY AND TIME CONSUMING RETURN CORRECTION PROCESS, March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Product While I found the software as easy to use as in past years, I was disappointed to learn that I could no longer use the Deluxe version to do my taxes as I did last year and had to buy the new Premier version although no major changes occurred in my tax situation in 2014. I was annoyed since I didn't realize I needed the Premier version until I brought the Deluxe version home. It would have helped if intuit had provided a sales information phone number either on line or on the packaging. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another easy tax return process Another tax return process done, thanks to TurboTax. Walked me through everything again. This year I had a Form K-1 for Partnerships to include. Without TurboTax, it would have taken all day. I was somewhat disappointed in having to "upgrade" this year (and pay more) for the Premier version with no real changes in my tax year. Intuit should have warned their loyal customers in advance instead of springing it on them at the retail outlets with no warning (or at least from I could tell). April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 30 Years of TurboTax I have always dreaded doing my taxes; all that work and at the end of the process my reward is "being permitted to contribute to my government." The incentive is less than compelling. However TurboTax, though not really giving any incentives, makes the whole process about as painless as tax filing could be. It's organization of the tasks is as near to my thought processes as it could be. No wasted time trying to figure out the program. Whatever I need, whenever I need it , there it is. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Switch requirement When I was notified that my Deluxe edition was being shipped, I was not told that the Premier edition would be required for forms that previously were available on the Deluxe edition. I did not know this until I was filling out my returns on the Deluxe edition. I'm glad you made the Premier edition available for free so that I could continue my work or I would have been really mad. If I have to use the Premier edition at a much higher price, I will shop for a different brand next year. April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good tool but not worth upgrade I have been a loyal user of TurboTax for many, many years. I have always found the tool easy to use and very intuitive. I was very disappointed and frustrated that I had to purchase the premium version this year to handle my limited schedule D items where the deluxe version would always do the job in the past. Sadly, this is likely my last year as a turbo tax user. There are alternatives that will work for my simple return and I intend to explore them. I recommend everyone do the same. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by absolutely terrible Today is the 18th and the program is stipp going in a circle and will NOT let me filemy return. Will not use again and will advise others not to use it . Refer to service files 411271660 and 411381694. The people were excellent. I work during your hours of operation and cannot try to get this done during that time. I finally mailed both federal and state forms,; after paying TurboTax. the program is so good that my name is rejected "can only be letters or numbers" April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 33 years of success with TurboTax I have used TurboTax to file my taxes since 1982. It has made a very complicated process possible and saved untold $thousand in tax preparation expense. Over the years I have used both step by step and forms methods. We rent a room out in our house. I have found TurboTax does not support the split out of expenses against the rental income and otherwise deductable expense such as Mortgage Interest and Property Taxes. I would hope this special scenario would be address in future releases. March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent for refunds, user interface needs work I'd recommend getting some more people to test out the interface before you deploy it to the customers. Some of the controls aren't exactly intuitive and there are several pages where I'd go back and delete information (so that it doesn't show up on the screen) just so that it would pop up later on during the return. If something gets deleted, just delete it out of the system. It's really confusing to make a mistake, quickly delete some information, just to see it pop up somewhere else. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by $20 to eFile State??? I LOVE Turbo Tax, and won't use anything else, but COME ON Turbo Tax, IF I am getting less than $20 back from State, WHY would I pay that much to eFile, AND if I OWE $$ Why on EARTH would I pay even more to eFile. If you can write software to translate onto my tax forms what I am being credited for by donating a shirt to the goodwill, you certainly can write in to the programming that I NOT be offered the "opportunity" to eFile and pay even more money!! Think about the logic there?!?!?! March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product Works well and is well worth the money but every year something that should be very simple always seems to fall through the cracks. This year it is in the charitable deductions. It allows and actually suggests using "VARIOUS" when there are multiple donations to the same charity at multiple times. Then in the review it indicates that "VARIOUS" is not allowed and you must go back and put the date in for each donation. Various should not be allowed as a choice when in the deductions area. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Pain is Gone I'm still concerned that your Mint program will require more at regular intervals than it would normally would to make my last-minute preparations for my next 1040. Will I be allowing (and Mint using) my checking account to be accessed? Will Mint want to access my brokerage account? Does Mint have the sophistication of Quicken? Quicken takes so much time to set up that I purchased, then removed it from my PC because the learning curve was too complex for someone not using it constantly. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax longer than I can remember and have ALWAYS liked the ease of filing my taxes and getting fast refunds but, the past couple years have been getting frustrating with added costs for the "premium" package to file with investment income. Also, why is it cheaper to buy the product at any of the local big box stores than directly from Turbo Tax? I'll probably continue to use your product but will definitely start looking at alternatives should the price continue to rise. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Chat I have been using Turbo Tax awhile now and although I am no tax expert,,, this program has made filing my taxes a relatively stress free process. Most people who do taxes use programs similar to turbo tax. I was having a tax attorney do my taxes and decided to try using turbo tax and discovered 3 mistakes my attorney had made on my previous year taxes which resulted in him refiling those and me getting back $3000. So overall I would highly recommend it and the e-filing is fast and easy! April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo tax premier did not work for the state taxes I really like the Turbotax product as I have used it for several years, but this year 2014 the state portion in the premier version did not work and I had to file my state taxes manually. It appeared to be stuck in a loop and never went into the state tax portion. I tried all of the suggestions to fix it and nothing worked. Turbotax had a better product last year (2013) with no problems. 2014 Turbo tax premier should be giving a refund for it NOT working correctly for the state portion. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by quality sliding software needs to be more intuitive in interview questions based on my turbo tax history from last years return. to many times i had to go to IRS.gov to get an answer, that really was not that complex or unusual of a question. going to specific tax forms from interview screens was not very easy. been using product for over 15 years and the quality of software in handling my tax situation effectively seems to get worse each year, and i don't really have that complex of a tax situation. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great software, one complaint The software is great. With that being said, I had to recharacterize a Roth contribution last year and TurboTax instructions got confusing. When I called Vanguard, my investment firm, to follow those instructions, I apparently did not use phrases that they recognized. I realize there are times to consult a tax advisor; but I did not think this was one of them. TurboTax might want to use more precise language when asking a company to call an outside firm as per their instructions. Thanks. March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs more explanation for first time house owner when entering my stock statements that was sold for covering taxes by brokerage company there was not enough help available straight. I find it in the turbo tax help statements. Also it was not clear what box in form 1099 matches turbo tax form. Multiple situation [esp based on brokerage i chose] should be explained in the help document The fees i had to enter for initial buying houses is not so clearly explained. I could not match my HUD statements to the items in the turbo tax forms. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Moderately OK I did my taxes this year in short segments on my iMac. on two occasions, I saved my work and when I returned I had lost it. When I made it to the federal review, a certain form, line and column had been left blank. The exact same thing happened during the state review. In each case, I could not access 'FORMS', either through the Icon or the drop down menu. First, when I answer all of your questions, why is there an incomplete form, and second, the obvious, how do I get to it to correct. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased Costumer We have used Turbo Tax for the last five years and have always been pleased. It does take time to get your taxes prepared yourself. However, it is so much easier having all the information filed at home and easy to reach, rather than having to gather it all to take to someone else (which in reality is just as time consuming!). We have had a few specialty cases in our taxes and Turbo Tax has always managed to be the right fit! We will continue to use this software; I see no reason to not! April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fees & Upgrades We love to use Turbo Tax for our taxes every year, but this year we found we paid an extra $60 in fees for electronic funds transfer and VA State e-file. The VA e-file fee is pretty standard, but I was surprised to see the EFT fee. I also found that I had to upgrade to the Premium version for another $30. So after paying around $50 for the program and the other fees, I am now wondering if this is still the best way to do my taxes. I love the product, just not too crazy about hidden fees. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost 20 years audit free! I have been using TurboTax for over 25 years. The US edition, the German edition, the online edition for my older kids. In all the years I filed with TurboTax I was never audited! I only used tax accountants to help me 4 times over the past 25 years and was not only audited but had to pay back-taxes because my taxes where filed incorrectly! I will stick with TurboTax. Do yourself a favor and switch to TurboTax! ...and no, I don't have to any investments in TurboTax, perhaps I should! February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peezy Lemon Squeezy! Overall, I really like this product. First time I upgraded to Premium due to newly acquired stocks. I was able to finish in under a couple of hours since I always review everything twice before going to the next section. Have used Turbo Tax for close to 10 years now. However, this year, I received a 1099 after I had already filed and gotten accepted by federal and state. So now I have to file a 1040X. Will shall see how easy this will be using Turbo Tax? I blame Charles Schwab for this. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Major issue, easy as pie I have done this process for several years and it has always been safe, complete and easy to follow from beginning to end--when the forms are sent in to the feds and state folks for processing. Sometimes things are complex in the returns and, at least now, they seem more straight forward ("simple"), but I have never been lost in the process of completing the required info to complete my necessary, legal, financial obligation. It works and it is as easy as can be (for a federal process!!) March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Year in the Books I like the fact that you stay on top of all the new tax laws. The software is user friendly with the exception of sometimes trying to correct errors on a form you don't need for the current tax year. I discovered going in and deleting the form works but not sure if it is the correct way to do it. Still having trouble trying to get my AMT credit when it asks for information from Form 6521 which hasn't been used for several years. I have $9600 that I still can't figure out how to collect. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was quite impressed with my refund I have used TurboTax for several years now as I like to see for myself how I progress and understand what goes where. TurboTax is very easy to follow; if you have a question, it's easy to find answers or guidelines via the search box. I mentioned that some codes were not explained how to enter. Say 81 in 1099 r. I took me awhile to come up that it should be 8 and the second code 1. I hope I got all right filing my excess IRA contribution. Other than that, I had a very positive experience. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I love using turbotax. I am comfortable with the program I don't need guidance very often. But: When "doing it yourself" in deductions and completing a section, the prompt should return to the next item on the main page. all fields in deductions and sub-worksheets should show the amount last years column just like the main deduction page. Showing what was donated last year in the breakout boxes helps to determine amounts to look for this year like holiday donations to different charities. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PREMIER COULD HAVE ADVISED UP FRONT THAT THERE WOULD BE TWO SCREENS TO INPUT STOCK SALES. ONE FOR LONG AND ANOTHER FOR SHORT SALES REQUIRED. OLD FORMAT LET YOU ENTER INFO AND BROKE IT OUT AS REQUIRED. SECOND YEAR IN A ROW THAT FORM 1116 IS DIFFICULT. AS YOU DO THE CALCULATIONS, WHY CAN YOU NOT SUPPLY THE SUPPORTING INFO IF IT IS NEEDED FOR A PARTICULAR LINE OR AT LEAST DIRECT US TO WERE WE MIGHT FIND THE INFO. IF FORM 1116 IS NOT CORRECTED NEXT YEAR I WILL LOOK FOR ANOTHER PROGRAM TO DO MY TAXES. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by One thing that has always bothered me with TurboTax. When you enter information in the "Pick the items myself" section, when you are done filling out an item it returns you to the top of the page and you have to scroll back down to where you just finished. It would be better to return you to the spot on the page where you just finished so you could continue with the next item in line. I almost missed entering my sales tax because of this, which would have cost me several thousand dollars! April 12, 2015
  • 2015-05-27T13:06:31.922-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-336, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17113, tr_17113
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 334 335 336 337 338 ... 390 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.