TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 335 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent for Federal; not usable for Pennsylvania The Premier Program was showing as line 1a income what I receive as pension and IRA income when Pennsylvania does not tax either. Also I could not figure out how to enter information on the state return when it seemed to be asking something for 1971. I know that Pennsylvania initiated a personal income tax in 1971 and cannot tax income before that date, but computing basis of stock sales for stocks acquired before that date is complex. I simply did not know what the program was asking for. March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall, strong program with good info..challenge are fees - makes me wonder if using a CPA would be a better deal - in the end..cost me $104.00 in fees + cost of Turbo Tax federal of $50 + state cost of $24.99 plus my time. 30 min with an accountant might be $150-175 so come out ahead to do that rather than use TurboTax. Maybe you should rethink? (and there was an issue with Turbo Tax with my state this year so that does NOT instill confidence although I have had no issues in years past). March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets easier every year. Perhaps refining the process of "creating" K-1's vs. entering information from a "received" K-1. Also a statement clarifying reporting "income" via a K-1 which is different than reporting "principal" (such as non-taxable income from closing an estate). It took me quite awhile to figure it out when a simple statement clarifying the difference would have made it much simpler. It's really an IRS problem, but clarifying it in Turbo would have helped. Other than that, thanks for a great product! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by trubotax deluxe fed + state I have been a loyal member of TurboTax deluxe for years - as you can see. After transferring the details from 2013 tax year to file 2014 taxes, the app said that I have to upgrade to premier to do that and that it will be done as a free upgrade. Is this going to change to a chargeable upgrade? If so, I have to really think of other options. I am not sure why you have decided to take this option away from deluxe version and will not subscribe to such a change. Your loyal turbotax deluxe user. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Down I have mentioned this every year for the last few years and nothing ever gets done to improve it. I find that when indexing through income or deduction groups that as I end one catagory I am automatically moved to the top position in the listing. Then to get to the next catagory I manually have to scroll down to the next catagory. If the next catagory automatically appeared at the top of the column instead of the bottom of the catagory it would be a whole lot easier to advance trhough them. April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by end of the review suggestions for next year When the capital gains loss ran out ($3000/year in 2013) the package should have told me that unless I had additional capital gains loss in the next year I should have just purchased the lower package instead of buying something I did not need or use. Nickname field should allow shorter lengths. 40 years ago I taught taxes and programing. Fields can be shorter. You can always fill the remaining field with unprintable characters to make them unique. Now retired after 30 years of programming. April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Getting worse AND more expensive every year!!! Splitting TurboTax from the original two separate versions into three now, each at a higher cost than previous years is quite profitable O'm sure. But it does feel like a bit of a ripoff. The there's this - if the amounts don't match with some predetermined internal measure, the references don't seem to match the amounts on the requisite forms. And one winds up in an eternal loop from which there's no apparent exit. EVER! And why did I have to sign in to Intuit' Server four separate times? April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got 'er Done! Overall, still a very good product. Got the taxes done in record time for FASFA purposes. One "error" that I couldn't figure out: I had explored one possible tangent #a 529 payout#, and it kept that sheet in there, noted the error, and didn't allow me to get rid of it, I think. Not sure what happened to it, but it kept cropping up in Reviews and even in the transmission. Liked the Free Federal E-file, but didn't cough up the $20 for state. I'll save that pay the extra stamp cost of mailing. February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need Another Flavor Most folks have financial investments that do NOT include rental property. I would like to see TurboTax off offer a, Financial Investment module and a Rental Property module as separate ADD ONs to the Deluxe version. I would not mind paying a few bucks more for the Investments Module but I (and many others with Stock Investments) have no need for the Rental Property Module (a very specialized investment) even though I am forced to pay for it in order to get the Financial Investments module. February 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used software for approximately ten years I have used this software for close to ten years. I am married to the software, because it loads my previous year's data, so that kind of influences my decision to use it year after year. It is very easy to use, but for the complicated calculations like foreign tax credit and approximating state sales tax, I felt like it did not ask the question in a way that made me feel comfortable it was doing a good job. Overall, it is a very good tax preparation software, and I have no reason to change. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Easy Most of it was pretty straight forward, however Schedule D instructions were somewhat confusing. Luckily from previous years I knew where to put info but it took me a while to get my carry forward loss entered. Also, If you're due a refund, why doesn't the program just ask if you want the refund applied to the next year's taxes instead of making you hunt for the option? This was my second year using Turbo Tax and I will use it again. Just wish it was a bit more user friendly on some things. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Mexico From a loyal user - I love using TurboTax but I found the state return support lacking. NM Form PIT-110 assisted me in going from owing over $1300 to getting a refund of $170. I had to research this all on my own and feel like there should be a question that asks "do you work in New Mexico but live in another state?" Then it would prompt you to fill in the appropriate fields to assist the user. I would gladly pay extra for this enhancement. Please incorporate this into next year if possible! April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, But I've used Turbo Tax for over 15 years. Generally I like the improvements made. The ability to chose guidance or individual forms is nice. The calculations to determine, joint or individual, AMT requirement, and standard or itemized makes the end result easy. Importing or previous returns helps a lot also. But most of the time, your help is useless. FAQs that are never the same as your question, other customers that are just guessing or a two hour wait that still may not answer your question. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good but could be beter Going through the interview to get to the "one" question you want to change is a pain. Especially when it doesn't always remember all the answers you gave last time. Also the "continue" button isn't in the same spot, so you have to mouse to get to it on every screen. This isn't a big deal the first time through, But on re-review, it's a pain. But all in all, Turbo tax is much cheaper than a company like H&R Block, and it's much easier than doing it by hand #especially things like Schedule D# April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, not spectacular Not always intuitively obvious how to enter and edit info. Much harder than it used to be to go to where you want to go to check something or make changes. Made me answer the same questions on multiple sequential screens repetitively, even if I had not changed anything. It is at the top of the price that it is worth- if Intuit enforces the change next year to force an upgrade to the next level if you just have some capital gains, then I won't be using it - and I've used Turbo Tax for 11 years. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too Dumbed Down I have used Turbotax almost from the beginning ... mid 1990's. What was new this year, is I had to purchase "Premier" version just to get the forms I needed ... if you itemize you deductions you will need to purchase Premier. Also when you go back to revisit an area, Turbotax will re-ask all the questions again, and many times doesn't remember your original answers ... very annoying!! I would have gone with Taxact this year, but they don't have a Mac version for their downloadable software. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting better... Although it was correct for the Missouri Subtractions, TurboTax did not correctly divide Missouri Additions for Dividends (should have been 50/50), but assigned entire amount to one person); requiring manual override, even though the "income belonged to both of us" box was checked. Form 1099-R, does not accept OPM supplied value for taxable income; required manual override TurboTax Form 1099-R Simplified Method Worksheet Line 16 to reflect the taxable income shown in box 2a of the OPM 1099R. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 TTax software Software was excellent...very easy to work with. Just plug the numbers in (download or manual) and all calculations were automatic. On the downside, I was never informed that I needed to purchase a different version of the software (2013 Deluxe vs 2014 Premier) even though nothing had changed (except the numbers). I purchased the Deluxe and then had to return it for the Premier after a friend told me that the 2014 would not work for me. Should have been notified well in advance of the change. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by first time efiled I've been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years and always mail my return...I like paper files! After only one email for an incorrect employer #. I just refiled. Hope you go back to a simpler format...we're getting older and not working any longer where computer training was provided. So give us basic info on how to print prior to the saving feature. Tech reassured me next year version would address this year's issues. She was AWESOME and went above her level to determine printing issues. Thanks D. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of use Overall TurboTax was great. But my State tax return could not be e-filed because of one error that could not be corrected. The error statement was "Form INC 250 has too long an entry on the first line of Non-taxable dividends" I made no entry on that line. The form line item was "yellowed-out". It was permanent. It was not correctable. Consequently, I was not allowed to proceed to e-file.. This was after I paid TurboTax $27.43 to e-file my return. The software is not useable . It needs fixing. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I inadvertently selected Alabama as my state when it should have been Alaska. I was on line so Alabama state automatically downloaded onto my computer. I was not able to go back to the states section and select Alaska as my state of residency as it was not an option because Alaska was not allowed because of no state income taxes. Therefore I kept getting many errors for the Alabama return because I did not fill them out. Should have an option to deselect Alabama and select Alaska in this case. March 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I gave Turbo Tax the lowest rating possible due to the absence of Turbo Tax Basic. This year I was forced to buy the Premier version for $70.00 and then to add insult to injury had to purchase an up-grade just to get the necessary forms to finish my return. I would have switched to a H. R. Block or some other service but by the time you are notified that you will need the upgrade, you are nearly done with your taxes. I have been using Turbo Tax since 2002 but this will likely be the last year. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Purchase of Turbo Tax I believe that I am a regular household person who is a homeowner. What makes you think that regular homeowner would not have some stocks bonds or other investments? I was ready to dump TurboTax, which I have used for over 20 years because of you trying to get a few more dollars from me. I get the deluxe which should take care of a regular person, lets keep it that way and you will keep me a happy customer of your products You also went from Excellent to average because of what you tried to pull April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As mentioned, in CONS, I have not been able to retrieve my forgotten/misplaced password to enter my account. Therefore, I was unable to access getting help on certain specific areas for entering information for some of the forms necessary for the completion of my Federal Return. Due to the incomplete information provided by some on the 1099-B and 1099-R Forms. I had to spend considerable time researching due to the inaccessibility of the "Help Function" because I could not get a password reset. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Filing Tool I had used TurboTax for years and always found it helpful. My income and investment situations became more complex a couple of years ago, so I used a CPA to file my taxes as I thought my filings were overly complex. What I found was that assembling the data the CPA needed was the same as what I did to prepare my returns I used to use TurboTax. For 2014, I returned to using TurboTax. The user friendliness and intuitive entry process was even better than before. I will be a TurboTax user forever! April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Software install difficulties As a previous user(many, many years) I had difficulty determining what I needed to do to upgrade the deluxe version to included the excluded forms. It took many hours of searching the internet until I found the correct phone number to call. The phone number should have been easily accessible within the software (since the store I purchase it from said it was very easy to update). Once I got a live person on the phone it did only take about five minutes to get the update and he was very helpful. February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Issues in Using TurboTax 2014 Premier My 2013 data was only partially imported, although data for 2010-2012 appeared in the summary (used TurboTax for these years). The IP PIN instructions, when IP PIN entered in the search box, took me back to the same search answer, not the menu to enter the IP PIN (continuous loop). When I entered "identity protection pin" in the search box (not "IP PIN" per the instructions), it took me to the correct menu. I am assuming the return was accepted; I will not kow this until I receive confirmation. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Delux I had always used Turbo Tax Delux version and it was sufficient to meet my needs. Now you have eliminate a part of the program and requires a upgrade to the more expensive Premium version. This year it was a free upgrade. I am afraid next year it will have to be purchased. This now moves the cost of the program up almost $30. I have been a Turbo Tax customer for almost 15 years. This modification in the program does not seem to be justified. I will review closely before renewing for next year. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax makes complex IRS rules less scary. There is no way to list my United Way W2 recurring contribution amount in the ITsdeductible Summary Form as supporting documentation because Turbo Tax already pulled the amount from W2 Box 14 and included. I had to find the Schedule A, Line 16 Cash Contributions Worksheet and attach the worksheet with the Summary Form to provide the IRS clear documentation. Providing clear supporting documentation lessens the chance the tax return will be returned to the tax payer for tax adjustment or an audit. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by why change Why, after all these years do I need to upgrade to pro? I don't run a home office, I just have a few investments that provide K-1 forms. Hate the change and added cost. Most likely to switch software next year. Also, my city return is not working correctly (had worked the last 10 years plus). Adding income to "resident" column, when we are non-residents, but work within the city. In the past the software would ask if this added income (capital gains) was obtained within the city. Not this year. April 12, 2015
  • 2015-04-25T12:18:36.682-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-335, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_16993, tr_16993
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 333 334 335 336 337 ... 387 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.