TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 333 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it done! Easy to follow menus helped to get through the exercise. Only issue was with Schedule D worksheet - for investment-types over 50 lines long, only 50 lines would display for review and editing, though all totals were retained and details did print later. On printouts of Forms 8949, all investments of a letter-type were grouped together, and not sub-totaled by investment account, making review more difficult. Otherwise, everything else went very well. Good job, as usual! March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 Highs and Lows The program is simple and easy to use. Similar to the thousands who commented previously, the sudden change that required upgrading to Premier because of investments was poorly thought out. There should have been some indication that Premier was now required since the back of the Deluxe box had the same check marks as previous years. I appreciated the offer to return the extra fee paid, but the experience was disappointing, especially after 10+ years of using TurboTax. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was great until... I hadn't put it the recipient name and address on three 1099Rs. Turbo tax caught two of the errors, but didn't catch the third instance, even though I re-checked for errors. Both returns kicked back at me for e-filing. Also, Turbo tax is great for straightforward returns, but for more complex issues the preparer had better have a good idea of how their finished return should look. After you've used Turbo Tax or other tax prep software, the step by step is awfully slow. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still Easy To Use Still believe this is the best software for personal taxes, even including business if you buy the appropriate version. I was especially disappointed that there was no indication upfront that Premier would not include investment handling. The approach of not telling you until you received the annual automatic copy was not a wise marketing decision and almost made me return it and go to another supplier. The only thing that saved the day was the offer of a free upgrade. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too much secrecy Didn't like the lack of notification about changes to the product. I was also told I could not get my upgrade refund if I filed an extension rather than file by deadline. There are some holes in the estimated taxes for 2015 section: 1) there should be a calculation for estimated AMT rather than jut a box to input your own estimate and 2) there should be a calculation to determine the minimum estimated tax payment needed each quarter to avoid a penalty for underpayment. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks! I am filing a Schedule E for the first time this year and was going to hire an accountant after using Turbo Tax for several years. After I got everything together, I realized it would actually be more efficient to do the return myself. Turbo Tax gave me the support I needed and was easy to follow. I was able to duplicate all calculations (except for AMT) with ease. I saved a few dollars and learned more about the tax laws for vacation rentals. Thanks to all at TurboTax April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by disenchanted Although I have used TurboTax for many years, this will be the last. By the time the software is purchased, state filing fees & fees for deduction of fees from refund are paid, it simply isn't worth it. Additionally, there were several spots that caused difficulties. Last year I completed the form with no problems. This year, with exactly the same income/deductions, there were several points of frustration & delay. It doesn't seem as user friendly as in previous years. April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Blah Here I am ready to efile and bam I get hit with account ID and password - why not get all the information up front?? When you say I can print it doesn't print it just shows me the pdf file?? there is very little to no processing information up front. I don't always know what when, how, why, etc. the only thing that has kept me is the pdf file - paged correctly. I can always find things. but frustration at the end of the process will make me look for a cpa next. year. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like your tax program I need the program with investments and stocks, so this year I had to buy your premier program. In the past this was included in the deluxe program. I did not need a lot of fancy stuff as our life is not big investments and stocks like many people. I guess it worked, but the extra $30 for the program almost changed my mind. Thanks for a useful product and program, but seems like every time you turn around the costs increase, while our salaries stay the same. Thanks. ALF April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love my refund I was a nervous wreck filing my taxes this year because I have multiple w2s and 1099s. I called for support from product support and the lady I spoke with was personable as well as knowledgeable she was great. I also spoke with a tax agent and she was wonderful. I used turbotax premier it was very easy to use and I felt comfortable. thank you turbotax for making it easy to do my taxes as well as affordable. I will be returning next year for my third year. Job well done. February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay I could not reset my password because I do not know what nickname I have on file for my oldest (and only) child. I do not have a nickname for her. I never have as I like her name as it is just fine. Likewise that is probably the worst security question there could possibly be. I wanted to get Audit protection but because logging in kept failing because I could not answer this question in order to reset my password and there was no Chat or phone support I had to opt out. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Always I have been using Turbo Tax since the mid 1990's. It has always been a benefit to me. I tried using a "brick-n-mortar" establishment once and they came back with owing money. I used TurboTax and they found me ways to actually get a refund! I did have a financial person review both returns and the accountant agreed with TurboTax. As my financial situation has changed overtime, TurboTax has always had the right product for me. Definitely the best monies I have ever spent! March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Returned to TurboTax For the "average" return with stock/bond investments or rental property, TurboTax is very straightforward. But when oil royalties, oil leases, farm cash-rents, and realted income_expenses are involved, it's exceedingly more difficult. TurboTax can handle it - it's just not that great in explaining how the various entries are related. True: if you dig deep enough, and search the forum long enough, you will eventually find what you need - but it shouldn't be so difficult. March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by More difficult this year I found it very difficult to download financial information from my Investment Company. The directions to create the file to download were not clear to me so I chose to enter all the information myself. In past years I used the regular Turbo Tax (not premier which I bought because the package said I needed it to download investments which ended up I couldn't use) and downloaded straight from the company and had no problems. I finally gave up and entered all info myself. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent linkage to financial institutions I've been using TurboTax for my personal return which is fairly straightforward: Military retirement, Social security, IRA RMDs, and investments for more than 10 years. This is the first year I've let it go to my brokers and download Sked B and Sked D data. Very slick! Really speeds up the process. The best thing about running Quicken and TurboTax is that you can "what if" your investment decisions to determine their tax impact beforehand which can save a lot of money. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep up the good work! I've been using Turbo Tax ever since it came out. I usually have fairly complicated returns to prepare and Turbo Tax has walked me through and helped me understand all of it. I've also used the help phone line with a professional tax person for particular situations and was greatly impressed. One year I used another tax product - what a mistake. It was tedious, confusing and I wasn't sure I had even done my return correctly. So, take my tip and use Turbo Tax every year! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax software good, but forced upgrade a pain The ridiculous deal of forcing an upgrade to Premier to get stock transactions after many years as a customer colors everything else about the product. I reacted quickly and bought my upgrade through Intuit which cost a total of $31.80 just before they decided to just activate the software for Deluxe users. However, Intuit will only give me $25 back and I had to wait two months until I filed my income taxes. Intuit still in my mind has not made me whole in this debacle. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easier than last year I was surprised that even with mortgage interest payments, state, real estate, excise taxes and other reasonable deductions that the standard deduction amount for our situation was not quite met. Seems to me that people that don't own homes and property really get a tax bargain relative to those that do. The capital gains calculation set up was a little better this year with Turbo Tax Premium, but that was in large part to changes in reporting by the investment company. April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of software quality control amazing! The interview sometimes sends you to windows that are irrelevant ("tell us more about your farm income"... when you have no farm income. Summaries of capital loss carryovers are mislabeled with the tax years from last year's version. Intuit eliminates capabilities of the version you have been using for 10 years to force you to upgrade to get the same thing you previously had. If their quality control on the interface is this bad, how accurate can the calculations be? April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax As many others most likely said I was not happy with moving the financial information from Deluxe to Premier and charging another $25. That is not the way to treat long time customers unless you are taking us for granted. I understand TurboTax is trying to remedy the problem. I love TurboTax and would highly recommend it. It is easy to use and walks you right through everything required. Once you begin to use it you will never want to file taxes using any other method. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Individual Tax for 2014 I had one entry that was clearly marked as Box E for long term stock sales. It had a negative number. I was told I could not have a negative number and that box E was wrong. I ended up deleting the entry since the brokers form said it was NOT reported to the IRS. I could not find out why I had a problem using E or having a negative number. I also checked on-line with no luck. Outside of this one area, I had no issues. This was the only explanation I could not understand April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Didn't appreciate needing to upgrade in past years I could use the deluxe version of the software to enter all my information including K-1's. This year when I went to enter the K-1 information I was told I had to upgrade to the premium version. Another $30.00 dollars. That was the only feature of the Premium Edition that I used. This year is was worth the $30.00 because I needed to finish my return, but for my 2015 taxes I may shop around for new software because 5 minutes of data entry wasn't worth $30.00 April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT to do it yourself Continue to use Turbo Tax even for my somewhat complicated return.have used it for years and still think it is a good way to do your taxes.Would like to talk to a real person when I call for information on trying to get an additional state reloaded because of problems I had with my laptop before I finished doing my entire package.( I had to purchase state over again) Judging by what tax professionals charge I figure I'm making about $100 an hour. Overall I love TURBO TAX March 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wanted extra money for nothing. I've used TurboTax ever since they were new, maybe 20 years. This year at some critical point TT says "Deluxe" version was inadequate and that I had to purchase a premium version for $30 to complete the step. After that, as far as I can tell, the program did not change anything, based on the premium version. In other words, the purchase they insisted on was worthless. Furthermore, there is place to express a complaint. I will find another platform to do my future taxes. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made complex taxes easy Downloads from its deductible, W-2s, banks, investment companies, etc make things easy. bringing data forward from year-to-year reduces the time required to complete taxes side by side comparison with prior years helps ensure nothing is missed and provides a good reasonableness check that may catch data entry errors. depreciation calcs and carryforward a big help. links to help and what's new in context sensitive areas very helpful I will always choose turbotax software. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The process of doing the Federal taxes was very clear. Was very happy with this process. The state taxes process was not the same. We did the state of Iowa taxes and there were time when it was very unclear what we were suppose to do. I felt like TurboTax did not spend much time on the state taxes process. We have been using TurboTax for the past 9 years and this is the first year I was not completely satisfied because of the experience we had with the state tax process. February 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Getting Worse First of all going back...takes too much effort going to the beginning of a section then answering all the questions again to get where you need to be...you can do better second deductions for rental home items !! Put more selections ...third Im a jet mechanic I bought a couple hundred dollars worth of tools (they will last longer than a year) where do I put my deduction.Get with it please been using turbo tax a while lately every year its getting more user Unfriendly!!! March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I do not want to backup to the cloud Love your product and for the most part ease of use. I do not want to pay $25 to e-file my state taxes. That is too much money. It was hard to figure out how to print the state return. if you don't e-file you should not have to go back through the menu to print it manually. Also, I do not want to store my information in "the cloud" After celebrity photos were stolen, I know my personal information could get stolen too. Much safer to back it up to a hard drive in my home. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Software The software allows me to file my taxes cheaply, easily and hassle free. A regular tax preparer would charge me a few hundred dollars easily and would have to wait weeks before they are completed. The only downside is the deluxe version was missing some forms and had to upgrade to Premier. However, TurboTax is sending me a $25.00 check. The total additional cost for premier was $30.00 plus tax. So, I only really paid an extra $8.00 or so. I will use this again next year. January 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Required Adjustments I was required to explain adjustments to 1099's that separated earnings from before and after my wife's date of death. The software did not allow me to do so so I had to file by paper. However NYS requires electronic submission but software would not permit submitting NYS electronically because Federal was not submitted electronically. The explanation of the adjustments was a simple paragraph. One would have thought the software could have allowed such a simple addition. April 13, 2015
  • 2015-07-31T11:21:28.645-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-333, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17244, tr_17244
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 331 332 333 334 335 ... 393 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.