TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 329 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 17443 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long Time User with Mixed Exerience I was very disappointed in how the change in the Deluxe version's availability of certain forms was handled. However, this was corrected somewhat by the refund made available in the software after filing. Next year I will move to your competitor which provides all of the function I need at a considerable savings unless you reconsider your changes. It is not worth $30 to move to premier when I only need a one line entry for an investment sale. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect except for one small flaw This is the second year using TurboTax....just to increase my comfort level, I had my CPA cousin review prior to filing....he could find nothing to change or correct which is great! As noted in cons, it kept telling me to file FL state tax and we don't have one...this made me a little uneasy. The problem with which version to buy was very unprofessional...think TT learned something themselves this year. Super product with proven track record. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally excellent software-one caveat I am a long time user of TurboTax and have generally been quite satisfied with my experience. This year I ran into a problem with the pull down menus. Somewhat randomly but all to frequently, they didn't respond. For example, if I wanted to save a file the File pull down did not respond. So I had to use CTL-S. Likewise the other menus weren't available. Sometimes after a while they worked. At other times I had to close the program and reopen. April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disgusted with Do Not File/Form Not Final on Ohio I read the same causes many times but no solid way to get rid of messages and simply print so I can file my return. So I tried to file my state return electronically. Guess what? At the last click required to submit, I got a message that a form was missing and I should go to On-line tab and and update. I did that and no forms were updated. Tried to submit again with repeat of error. What do I do now??? Maybe fill out my Ohio return by hand. July 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this year TT was a major inconvenience this year. The attempt to extract an extra fee for the same service as in previous years was quite irritating and reflected heavily on my perception of the product. Although the final outcome was acceptable the path was not transparent and discovered only when i explored somewhat obscure buttons. I have reduced the rating of this product from excellent to about FAIR and have begun to explore other options for 2015. April 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax Premier vs Business Premier wins due to the easy import from our brokerage accounts. Plus, the State filing was key! Business version fails due to no import capability on trust accounts. We have hundreds of transactions that have to be reported and without the import turbotax wasn't worth what I paid. Also, right ....my state (TN) was not listed as one of the states available to use the automated filing. Very disappointing. I hope they correct this by next year. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by First Time Disappointed Very disappointed in this year's program. WE could not encrypt our returns. When we tried, program froze up and all data was lost. We had to start returns over each time. I tried returning the original copy we purchased, but the second copy did the same thing. We have used Turbo Tax for many years. This is the first time we had such a serious problem. Also, we could not save anything to the Turbo Cloud. When we tried, the program froze again. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some problems I've used Turbotax for many years. This year has been the most frustrating. First it started with upgrade to premier to input royalties, next it would not register my pension as taxable income and help couldn't figure out why, so they said start over causing a lot of input twice! Estimated tax is difficult to alter, especially in CA state, where I had to go to the form to do it. I think over the years the program has become less user friendly. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by feeling luke warm about turbo tax It's relatively easy to use, but not so different than other tax programs. Maybe a little easier than taxAct. I'm really disappointed that I could not successfully import last years numbers from taxAct even after a lot of searching. So that means no year-to-year comparison. I gave up on that. No way am I paying $25 to file a state return. I did not know that up front and it seems exorbitant considering CA will do it for free at the gov site! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Changes to 2014 Tax Having to beg for Premier status because of 1 issue, a small royalty income that used to be in the regular Standard package, now I had to download "something" to make it Premier so we could enter ALL of our income, and it turned out to be put in "RENTAL" category anyway. We have used TurboTax since it was created in La Jolla for DOS users,TurboTax forced us to get Windows sooner because TurboTax was not going to create a DOS version any more. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund I have been using Turbo Tax for over twenty years. It is always my first choice. This year, i almost switched. My frustration was the changes from the different versions. I have a basic return, and have always purchased the same version. This year, I needed to upgrade to complete one of the sections! Intuit, you have a great thing here, the wheel wasn't broken, why fix it? People will buy it simply because your product is great and easy to use. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Tax Program I did my return from a place in fl. Didn't have last years file on the computer I used and could not transfer last years tax information. This greatly complicated filling out return. Turbo Tax should be able to keep a copy of a return online in a file dedicated to the user in a turbo tax account. That way no matter where a person is or what computer they are using they could be able to transfer last years return information into current return. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's done for '14 As usual (I've done Turbo for several years), I did it all in one sitting. I had all my papers and so the ducks were in a row. The progression of income and deduction categories was good. It would be helpful if the program went down to the bottom of the category list so that I did not have to scroll down after finishing a category. That annoys me a bit, and I get tired of all the scrolling. It all worked well and I am done for my 2014 taxes. February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Non-cash Contributions Non-cash contributions don't require that the original purchase price be entered for donations less than $500. Once I had already entered an amount, the only way I could get it out was to override it, which I did. However, when filing the return I was required to delete the override. The problem is that when I overrid it, it shifted the original purchase price from the next line and replaced my overide to that amount instead of blanking it out. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by critique of 2015 product Since payer ID numbers are entered for the federal return with the proper programing they could be transferred to the state. If those ae to be required again (as now) at least show the amount as one cannot match the payee name and ID with the entries in case of multiple entries. Also, one should be able to print a copy earlier in case of E-filing. I get nervous that the filing is going to happen before the printed review which I deem essential. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally pretty good Even though taxes get more complicated, Turbo Tax seems to make them easier each year. This year had problems with local taxes. When doing the Columbus OH city tax, wages appeared twice; once as earned income and once as business income. Cleveland CCA seemed more difficult this year to get the offset to work with city where wages were earned. Then it pulled in a $750 credit that it had no support for. At least problems were easy to overwrite. March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy with turbotax I have always been happy with turbotax. However, when I bought the version I needed this year I had to upgrade over last year which is a big reason I may not go with turbotax again. I had to upgrade again when I was preparing my taxes because the version I had upgraded to was not enough to take care of some of my tax items. In other words I had to upgrade 2 steps to do the same thing I had done in prior years with the package I used previously. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for 2015 I was very happy to see you did not go thru with the original plan to eliminate the schedule d etc from the Deluxe version. Truthfully i was looking to switch to HR Block's version until i clicked on the explanation telling us you were going to credit the upgrade to Premium. I would have switched otherwise. I've been using Turbotax for many years and was really disappointed that i had to switch. Hope you take this into account for 2015 tax year March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistent Turbotax User I have used TurboTax for several years and have great confidence in the accuracy of my tax returns. I always file electronically, but prefer to use software from purchased disks. Because of that I couldn't recover my saved returns from previous years I filed electronically, but could not recover anything from the Intuit site. Paper copies enabled me to complete this year's return by manually entering data from previous years, but it was a pain. March 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cost is getting too high Really unhappy (actually pretty darned mad!) in finding out after the fact that the Turbotax Deluxe did not include the basic forms needed to report Investment performance. I had to pay extra for this feature which pushed the cost to nearly $100. In addition I had to pay another $30 to email my state returns. This is a great product but one that has now forced me to look at different options that are less costly, like H&R Block, for next year. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked OK with a few exceptions Been away form TT for a few years, decided to dump my high priced CPA and go back. Program worked well. Learned a few things. Import of brokerage and W2 info was excellent. When entering my e-mail to file state, I messed it up and after correcting it TT continued to disallow my correct addresses. After a few tried I finally got it by making both email windows totally blank, hitting continue and then filling them in again when it rejected them. March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost there . . . Besides the fact that I don't know if I really did my taxes right due to the complete lack of transparency in Turbotax, I admit Turbotax IS easy. This year however there were some questions / entries that I could not understand. I have a Ph.D. in English and am logical, so I know that in several places the directions were not possible to parse. In those cases, I just guessed. The only way you could improve this is to get more people to test it. August 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Refund process can be improved I always use the walk through method and verify my information a second time. I did notice there were several sections that not all options were there the first time. When I verified I notice the other option for that section would appear or vice verse. It would be awesome if all information could transfer over if you want to see filing married jointly would save you more money. It is time consuming to re-enter all you information a second time. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by DEPENDABLE AS USUAL I like most everything about the program . I like it better now, when I choose the option to look for things you know you need, instead of looking at everything. The only thing I don't like is when you type in a zip code, the city doesn't pop up. I volunteer to do taxes for the AARP and we use Tax Wise and it does have this feature, It also will show the information about a business, i, e, name, address, etc when you enter the EIN number. Thanks February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard Day's Nite It took me less than an hour to do my US taxes but because I was unaware of the special requirements for the foreign tax credit I did it according to the guide and spent several hours searching for the reason that it was not working. A warning should precede the guide that even for one category of income the largest credit has to be listed first!!!!!! Also once it is done wrong ,it is hard to back out of the program. Needs a "start over" button. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product I've used TT for 15 years. I continue to enjoy the Step-By-Step ease of use with the option of going directly to the forms. I find it very useful that TT imports info from Quicken and from last years tax information. I was very upset about having to pay extra for an upgrade, until Intuit made it right without extra cost. I really miss being able to print off a Two-Year Comparison and the Tax History Report that was available in previous years. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert's 2014 Federal Tax Return I have used TT Deluxe for many years and it contained all of the schedules I normally used. The 2014 change in format was an unpleasant surprise but the TT Premier update provided these schedules and facilitated swift completion of the return, especially with its reference to the prior year return schedules. The program provides a consistent means of updating or changing personal information, income and expense items, and making any corrections. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No so great this year. Problems. Entered numerous capital gain transactions. Some got bumped from D to E LT Gains. Couldn't use program to move. Had to reenter. People with similar problems had waited 29 days for response to inquiry. And still didn't have it. Schedule K-1 had an entry on foreign interest expense allocation. Entered all data from K-1 but program was looking for a foreign source income allocation I did not have and it would not explain in more detail. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied again. Everything was great in filling out my Federal and State forms. Well laid out and easy to understand. The only confusion part was using your method of deducting the State Filing fee from the federal refund. It was expensive almost $35 and I had to fill out one form twice. It maybe was because of federal guidelines. Why not use the State refund to pay the fee. Next year I will just send the State in by mail, much cheaper and easier, no confusion. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Year Of This Turbo Tax is the only way to do taxes. It knows everything even if you think you know. The ease of filling out the forms can't be matched. Certainly not by hiring a tax professional to do it for you at a much higher cost. Printing this year seemed to be much easier as I've had problems with the printing in the past. Having the security of knowing that Turbo Tax is completely up-to-date with all the latest tax changes lets me sleep well at night. February 28, 2015
  • 2015-10-06T11:34:24.877-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-329, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17443, tr_17443
  • loc_en_US, sid_800_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 327 328 329 330 331 ... 398 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.