TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You've gone downhill Using TurboTax this year was EXCRUCIATING! Been using TurboTax for the last 15 years! Why was our eFile information not saved from last year?? This will be the last time we ever use TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit challenging but doable Was not happy that when I called to get help with some questions, it seems like I knew more about that subject than the TurboTax Rep. Didn't like that they wanted me to pay extra for efiling my state return :(
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging tax year -challenge met Turbo Tax works great for simple returns. Quickly gets all required information in. For more complicated returns, all the details are there. A bit hard to figure out why our itemized deductions were capped. But it was in there. Printing partial returns got easier as well.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WORST YEAR EVER!! I am a long time user, always loved it...not this year Trying to file on completed return, would not connect to site to purchase e-file Cost me $39 extra!!! I expect a refund!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Went downhill from the last years This year's return seemed more complex and time consuming. The import tax documents from all of the financial institutions that I use (3) did not work correctly and required manual discovery, research, and entry. State tax for AZ failed on form 8949 and asked for a correction. I have no idea what form 8949 is and when I went to the form was not enlightened in any way so I guessed.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 Return Many trys to get to last years return to find AGI for 2016. Could not pull it up even though I used the software last year. Even though I have all the emails from last year I could not get the info online.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ESPP Steps are Confusing This might be the last year I use TurboTax after using the program since its debut. Now that I have employee stock options that I need to file I don't feel confidant that its being completed correctly - especially for Pennsylvania state taxes. I feel like you need to be a CPA to understand what help was online for federal, and the direction for how PA does not conform to federal rules gave me no help at all.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turbotax Premiere Turbotax has really gone down hill over the years. It was a relief when it first came out. It felt like it came from a company that was really trying to make a positive name with loyalty and support to its customers. It now feels like a soul-less, giant that tries to squeeze every last penny it can out of you, while trying to pretend its didn't sell its soul. Way too clingy and self-promoting. The interface seems somehow worse than the first few years and its almost as expensive as going to an accountant now. Boooo.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Annoying requests and not clear instructions I founded annoying in many places, where the information was already provided but it kept asking over and over again. I did not understand why it was asking for my IRA information when it was not being used in my tax preparation...Also, my financial institute in submitted 1099-B with mm/dd/yy...and found TurboTax could not handle it as it expected yyyy format... Talk about the short comings.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TurboTax Premier Have used TurboTax for 18 years. generally easy to use, keeps last years information and tracks last years numbers for comparison. I spent 3 hours with TurboTax this year trying to pay for e-file of state return which turned out to be due to not assigning administrator capabilities to me. Have had problems with special issues in the past which TurboTax did not fix but I found a way to circumvent the program to correct the return. In general the program works well but you still have to think for more complicated returns. I prepare returns for other family members.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fee CRazy They charged over $65 fee's on top of the $65 that I paid for the product. Very shady.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible last year I ever use
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome For the most part is very helpful and easy. Would like to see more step by step with worksheets
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly AWESOME!! Been using Turbo Tax for over a Decade!! This year, I started an online version instead of getting the CD..Had problems with getting last year's taxes imported, called and got that resolved! (Yay) BUT...then I ran into the problem of not being able to import my Quicken information to the Online Turbo Tax Version..wasted a lot of time..please inform users of this BEFORE they begin the online version!! I have a business and HAVE to import from Quicken, or my taxes would take me forever..So, guess I have to download or purchase the CD every year..oh, could have used more explanation on why you chose standard deduction when I had a LOT of deductions..had to go way back and research all my deductions!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Great software but difficult to save and start a new return
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not user friendly Come on guys, I've been using this for years, and it never gets easier. The second someone delivers a simpler product that is easier to use, many will transition to it. Probably including me.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still confusing and requires unneeded typing Still doesn't fill in fields it already knows from last year, or even from other forms in this year's forms. State forms are really confusing about which income and deductions are included. Does seem to be getting better each year, though. Next year's tax "reform" (hah!) will get much worse.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very simple to use I've been using turbotax for years, and its the only software I will continue to use for tax return. I am very happy with the software, but an improvement on the customer support would be beneficial. Please review your customer support process.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from unable to get help when asked I have been charged at least twice for each of my returns and once for the softwear. in my view that's about 2.5 times more than I should been charged not sure I will do this again next year.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buggy Not the best this year. Tried CD from Costco. Used to do it on-line. Will try a different company next year.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Been using for many years 2017 worst! Most disappointed. Have been using Turbo Tax for many years. The program would not transfer "it's deductible" to my return until after 2 phone calls to your customer service and deletion of several items on my computer! Yesterday, I hit the transmit button and printed my return. All looked well until I did not receive an email confirmation today. The program kept insisting that I did not have correct zip codes for 3 charities. I finally got down to 1 and had to delete the donation because I was fed up. I have been a big fan for several years since I gave up using my CPA but am most disappointed this year.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great program! Would rate 5 stars if extra states weren't so expensive. Maybe some states are more complex, but my states are simple and aren't worth the extra price.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from foreign dividend requires amount of foreign income shame on intuit for opposing tax simplification initiatives.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Surprised being charged for state filing! Takes WAY too long--much longer than it has to. Charged for a state filing, even though it should have been included in my premiere purchase. Arbitrary limit on investment buys and sells that is not made clear when buying the product!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Help on Filing Tax! In total turbotax makes life much easier when you have investment and rental house. The interface seems to be improved than last year. I wish the rental house part can be more easy to understand. Maybe a short introduction or description can be available when you start that section.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I have used TurboTax for the last 20+ years I cannot think of any other software that is more complete and easier to use. If you have a business, which I did, it works with Intuit's book keeping software and makes it extremely easy. Plus, if you do it yourself, you can save money next year as you begin to know what you can deduct.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent & Easy Turbo Tax is the best. I have used it for years and find it is accurate and easy to use. I love how it transfers so much detail from prior years which assures me all is accurate and correct. I know there are other products out there but for me Turbo Tax is the gold standard.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplifies a stressful task I have used Turbo Tax for many years. It takes out the guess work. Just go with the flow!
Date published: 2018-04-17
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1343, tr_4349
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 24ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.