TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Paid more tax Spent two hours myself and then three hours on phone with TurboTax consultant entering Foreign Tax Credit and could not complete due to software bug. Gave up!! Paid more tax for lack of Tax Credit. TurboTax should have hot-line for the Consultant or Client to call for Software Technician to research and correct software bug and download corrected software to all users. Also E-filed return on 4-12-18 for debit on 4/17/2018. Had to refile again on 4/19/2018 after no debit to bank account. TurboTax should have confirmed to client of IRS acceptance or non-acceptance on 4/17/2018.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good software with a surprize The review, print, and print for filing are not clear, and I got several duplicates.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy by Turbo Tax
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Present downstream effect upfront All you have to do is tell the consumer what will happen based on which path they follow, e.g., if you do this, then your tax will go up/down. Improve backward navigation, so I don't have to go through each screen, i.e., show me what I have entered and take me directly to that page with just one click. Be more informative about home offices. I ran past the deadline for filing because I saw the deduction analysis and thought I should delete the home office only to find my tax went up. I then had to re-enter everything for the home office. BTW, what happens when I sell my home? Is there a tax effect because I took the deductions for a home office? TurboTax needs to focus on the presentation of entered data as well as in-stream guidance.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use User friendly, step by step guidance.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Owed more than I estimated I owed much more than I estimated and couldn't pay the entire amount. It would be nice if Turbo Tax had an option to pay a partial amount when I file my taxes, rather than having to pay thru the IRS website or by mail.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Error: 102345 Could not submit return due to error 102345. Had to start all over and then had to pay for a state form even though it was included in the Turbo Tax premier. Will definitely look into using a different software next year.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Money would be better spent elsewhere The program itself is terrible. The only reason I'm giving 2 stars is for the awesome support I got on Twitter. Next year I'm going with a CPA where I can know what I'm getting in to on the front end. I was fine with the cost of the software. I got pretty annoyed when I had to pay for a second state tax form when I've not even lived in the second state for 3 months. It really escalated when I paid for the additional state to then have to pay a very small amount to said state. I almost lost it when e-filing cost me an additional $25 just to file a second state that I already paid for and paid money to. And finally, to think that it makes any kind of sense to throw in the charge of $40 to deduct in from my return is absolutely stupid. When it was all said and done, I paid over $200, half of which because of living in a state for 3 months. The amount I paid isn't the problem, but rather the fact that TurboTax isn't upfront about any of it. Aside from price, the software was buggy. Kept crashing and making me input info that didn't exist without any way around it. To cap it off, having the update the software just so I can file my taxes is straight stupid. If I don't want to update, I shouldn't have to. All in all, a terrible experience and I won't ever recommend or use again. But props to the Twitter specialist that helped me out.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair I have been using TurboTax for over a decade. When it first came out, it was amazing. However, it has not kept up with the times. I am continuing to find the program tedious. Surprisingly, it is not hooked up to various organizations for the W-2. Also, I have to type unnecessary information repeatedly.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax rocks! Have been using turbo tax for 12 years through many major life changes and this was the first time I had been rejected by IRS. But turbo tax was immediately at my rescue telling me exactly what I needed to do and I was able to re e-file. All went great. Thanks TurboTax!!!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely done Still smooth for an experienced hand (me) but hard to explain to another if you don't have the 1040 form populating. The intelligent 1040 form doesn't have the necessary look and feel to easily compare to the actual 1040.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So frustrating I have used turbo tax for the past 10 years or more and every year it is harder to navigate. Need to get to the forms I need easier and change and find stuff easier.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Final Review is done at the time of e-filing. It should be done earlier.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Letting You Know The ease with transferring data from last year's return was nice and quick. The topics made adding my information pretty easy. Adding bond information was very easy this year when I had to add the original purchase price. That used to be very difficult I complete the bonds information in about 20% of the time from previous years. Correcting an electronic data transfer error from my brokerage form was difficult. It is not intuitive how to back out bad data, but I got it after several attempts. The average sales tax for my area in Texas for our household income was very low. So I had to total sales taxes from my major purchases and all my 2017 receipts. Not sure why the allotted amount is so small. The electronic transmission to the IRS was very quick and easy. I got my IRS acceptance within 12 hours even on the 17th of April, which was this year's tax due date.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good For "I don't know what I don't know" I love it. Have used TT for years. It helps me ferret out items I may have overlooked. Taxes can be confusing, so I appreciate the little tips along the way.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax2017 simple and straightforward I've used TurboTax since 2002 and find it to be very simple and easy to use. Every year they add more institutions for easier importing of data to reduce hand-jamming (and potential errors). The forms/worksheets are all there and plenty of instructions to explain what is needed.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Thorough! Very thorough. I felt that turbotax covered all the information in great detail, and left nothing unanswered about my tax returns. I also felt relieved to know my tax returns were reviewed in detail and guaranteed correct.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TurboTax sucked! I finish my taxes & TurboTax stated, everything was O.K., I signed up for Tax Audit which saved my returns. When I tried to file, numerous errors popped up. My Federal & State returns were not done. Stuff I had entered days ago was gone from TurboTax Then TurboTax printed 2 copies of my state returns for my record (It did print one copy of my Federal Return.) Pages were not formatted correctly I have used TurboTax for over 10 years with no problems. SOMEONE DID NOT DO THIER JOB!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CONTINUALLY IMPROVING SINCE 2010 My life changed in 2009 when my husband died. I had to learn who my friends were. Turbo tax showed me that I have a friend in turbo tax. Now I rely on many intuit products for my financial health. Can't believe I finally filed on line. I'm 72. Yea for me and Turbo Tax and Audit protection.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from won't use turbo tax again, too many issues with this program.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficulty reviewing 1040 I have used TurboTax for years, but this edition is not easy to have a look at what I have for entries on the actual 1040 form without having to get out of the process and then having difficulty in getting back to where I was in completing the step(s) I was involved with in making entries.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy tax Prep Overall an excellent software program with good explanation of sometimes complex tax law. Sources of information on subjects were relevant throughout the program. The final assessment on completeness as well as tax audit was reassuring.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The support for Form 1041 is very poor. It does not explain clearly and there are other IRS forms that you won't even provide. How ridiculous....
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best and easiest refund i have ever done! Thank you so much TurboTax i really appreciate the help!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from turbo tax premier it would be great if the extension function be provided separately. or some online chat tool for real-time support
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problem at the last moment of filing I had Interest from three accounts, TurboTax wanted a special CUSIP 9-digit number. CUSIP numbers relate to a specific bond. I don't own any specific bonds. JPMorgan provided the downloaded info,
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifeline I have been using TurboTax for about 10 years. My tax situation gets more and more complicated each year, but TT does it all, gracefully. This software operates at the perfect level for me - it doesn't assume I'm an idiot, but also doesn't assume I'm a tax accountant.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still my favorite I still love TurboTax as it walks me through the process step by step. I find it easy and thorough. I like the income import tools. The one thing I did not like this year was the It's Deductible that was included with the software all these years was not included. I had to go to the It's Deductible website, enter my deductions there and import it into TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Handling Schedule K-1 needs to be improved TurboTax needs to improve its capability to deal with Schedule K-1. I spent lots of time to pass the check of federal tax part because of the problem of Box 16 conflict codes. Fortunately I got the problem fixed with the information online. TurboTax should guide the user to solve the problem, not just pop up error message and block the user to go to next step.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good except for..... Overall I like turbotax. When I'm finished I feel like I have correctly filed my taxes. I get the desktop version because I help friends and family file their returns. I was disappointed this year that the info from friend's 2016 return filed with turbo online couldn't be imported to my desktop turbo version for the 2017 return. It seems like Turbo should be able to import Turbo from Turbo. Also disappointed when posting 1099G income and I'm asked to enter an amount that turbo says could result in lowering my tax liability on that income -- but says if I don't know that amount, don't enter anything. Seems like turbo would tell me how to find that info if I don't know! And I wish turbo would state clearly up front that the only way to file a state return free is if you do it the old-fashioned way -- print it and mail it. I wish they would say in ALL CAPS "NO FREE EFILE FOR STATE RETURNS!" Regardless, I still like turbo tax. It cost me $59.86 plus tax at Sam's for the premier version -- plus the $24.99 plus tax for the state efile: about $92 total. I feel like I saved about $200 as opposed to using a tax-preparer.
Date published: 2018-04-18
  • y_2018, m_7, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1357, tr_4423
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 194ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.