TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.1 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund a Go Go I have used turbo tax for several years now after a coworker convinced me to try it and that I would be able to use it successfully. He was right and I have learned a lot about taxes I would not have learned had a taken it to the local tax preparation service.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good program - using for about 6th year I had a case of two forms for credits. One wiped out all my tax, so there was no benefit from the IRS form for the other credit. The nonrequired form did not print with the efile, but I wanted it to. You should put options in to force certain forms that are not required if the customer desires it.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blackstone LP TurboTax just flat doesn't handle a 10-K from Blackstone LP. After spending about 8 hours trying to get TT to handle the 10-K without generating error messages, I found a post on the support board with a workaround that requires you to input four 10-Ks for the same company. TT should either build a program that handles this 10-K (there must be thousands of users who own this common security) or give you a clear fix when the error message is generated.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 TT Review I've used TurboTax forever. Overall its solid. I'm a CFO, but not a tax expert and it leads you by the hand-good. The education expense area needs to be more specific, i.e. qualified expense worksheets like "its deductible" for non-cash donations, make it simpler, start by helping to decide whose return the stuff should be reported on, the parents or the college student's
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost completely satisfied I appreciated the simplicity and good explanations in TurboTax. What I did not like was that it was advertised that one state return was included in the package but at the very end, when it came time to transmit the returns, the was an additional $24.99 that we had to pay for the "free" state return. That seemed like a bit of deception and put an unfavorable ending to an otherwise satisfying process.
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Premier Product! I chose the Premier version based on several unique situations that all occurred during the same tax year. TurboTax explained all of the scenarios clearly and made it easy to file on the first time. Extremely happy with the ease and clarity.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieved Taxpayer All in all I find Turbotax a service that is relatively straightforward and easy to use. Following the instructions is the key to having a mistake free return.
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good My home computer is XP based PC, which is no longer supported, but is what I am used to, and works well. Turbo tax is pushing me out of my comfort zone.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program! I've used Turbotax for close to 20 years and continue to be pleased with it.
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comprehensive But Crashes Have used turbotax for over 25 years, but the 2017 version crashes repeatedly - every time I save it and other times as well.
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sale of second home I found the guidance did not explain where I was supposed to enter my information for a second home sale.
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Filing Failure! For some odd reason, my 2016 and 2017 electronic filings didn't actually go through and I had no idea until the I.R.S. sent me a letter! Then when I tried to file the 2017 return electronically, it gets rejected because the AGI doesn't match the previous years. That is because, the previous year was 2016 and that didn't get filed either! I have the two print outs for both years confirming the date for my payment to be withdrawn and the amounts and it appeared that my filing was complete but it wasn't! I should have received some warning from Turbo Tax stating my returns still haven't been filed!
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy solution to a healthcare mess I am thoroughly amazed at how easily my taxes can be done with TurboTax. If I had to gather all of the information for someone else, I am better off to do it myself, and I learn somethings along the way. Great job, TurboTax guys and girls.
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 Premier Program will be much more user friendly if it drops back to the section you just finished within the Income or Deductions heading instead of reverting back to the first item in Income or Deductions. It is very annoying to have to scroll all the way back down to the next section you need to review/work on when you are near the last items in each section.
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from it could have been worse, but that would take work switched from paper returns to TT this year and was about as bad as i expected. it works, and the ux isnt terrible, until it starts doing stupid stuff like making me uncheck one box on schedule E a dozen times.
Date published: 2018-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Been using Turbotax forever
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from finallydone have used TT for many years. will continue to use it. use if very easy and even if you know nothing about filling out the tax forms the interview format is very helpful.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything and a "bag of chips" Did it all. Made the investment sales a breeze. BUT had to enter the foreign taxes withheld directly into the forms - a pain to figure it out and then enter it. Also when updating the software/files at the launch of the software, there is no indication if the updating is launched or it has frozen. Eventually it indicates that files are being downloaded. It would be better if a clock or hourglass or something gave an indication that it is in process. Otherwise, this is somewhere in the neighborhood of 10 years of using TurboTax. Wouldn't go elsewhere.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistant Excellent quality product I have been using TurboTax since 1984. I was an old user of Quicken and TurboTax was the perfect product to use, same logic, same accuracy and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy to Prepare and File a Return Turbo Tax makes preparing and filing a return very easy. The clear, concise, descriptive prompts make supplying the correct information easy.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier than using my CPA firm software I went back to work for a local CPA firm for the 2017 tax season. In comparison to the software used by a national firm, Turbo Tax is far more efficient in gather data, providing simple explanations, and ensuring no items are overlooked. , Turbo Tax is much, much better in nearly every way! I would recommend using it to nearly anyone who asked.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Amendment Feature is Horrible! The original filing was easy, except for the lack of clarity during home deductions. The amendment process was very confusing: when you check the amount previously filed for Federal, it was correct; when you check the amount previously filed for State it shows zero, which is not correct. The amendment process needs a complete overhaul.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbo tax was helpful in getting me the opportunity to file my return and then to go over and redo
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incorrect Tax forms My mom sold her house. I entered the data in accordance with the interview but the software doesn't fill out the form 8949 and Schedule D correctly. Even worse it added back selling costs on the AMT form and showed extra taxes of more than 7000. Good thing I didn't just file it.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbotax It saves us money having someone else punch the number into a program!
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Owed but confident it was correct Owed money to both the Feds and the State but extremely confident that the return was correct. I filed an extension just so I could have a CPA review it for accuracy. He found no errors and was extremely satisfied with the way Turbo Tax asked the questions.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Software The software walks you through basic returns with ease, however, unusual items can be difficult to find and work out. For instance, an extension was filed for my state return and the full balance was not paid with the extension; the software should know that it needs to add interest to the balance due and provide a place to enter the actual filing date to cut off the interest calculation instead of running it all the way out to the extended filing date of Oct 15th. Also, a "mask SSN" print option should be added as taxpayers frequently need copies of their tax returns for banks and mortgage companies.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to do updates! On Federal, unlike State, very difficult to print Estimated Tax forms without printing entire tax return. I just got my last K-1 (1065) forms and had to update Turbo Tax with latest information, including estimated taxes. I do a lot of stock trading, so estimates need to be updated, reflecting success or lack thereof in trades through the year. Turbo Tax does not allow me to do this easily and then print new revised estimated tax forms. Yes, it can be done, but took me the better part of an hour to load the two new K-1s (easy), adjust the resulting refund to apply to next year (difficult), and then calculate (easy) and print (hard) new estimated quarterly payments, Fed and state, for the second half of the year.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Experienced some problems 1. TT said they improved my State Return and made it easier. I found the first number of screens on the State Return confusing and not helpful. This needs to be changed next year. I wasted some time trying to figure out what TT was trying to say. 2. As part of the final sign out process TT asked for our drivers license information for security purposes. However it would NOT accept the formats used by my state. This needs to be corrected
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed to file return. When searching the IRS site for "where's my return", I discovered it had never been filed. Somehow TurboTax let me think it had been filed, and even had my file copy dated 4/15/2018, but it didn't happen. Even if it was a communication problem, or misinterpretation of instructions, there should be a fail safe built in - perhaps a confirmation message or follow up message if the filing date was missed for any reason. Spoiled my entire experience of timely self filing.
Date published: 2018-07-05
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1395, tr_4543
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.