TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.1 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Customer Service My state allows a credit for in-state bank interest but TT does not figure that into the return and I could not get an answer from the community.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from when you are ready to file the return at that time to the page where is the mistake and how to correct. It takes too much time to correct. Customer service do not offer chat window. Intuit lakes on the customer service. Print copy do not have page numbers. PLEASE INSERT PAGE NUMBER ON PRINT COPY.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as easy as ever About the 25th year I have used TT
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs imorovement On review, many of the error messages are not clear or do not give any help in fixing. For example, I am invested in several partnerships. If there is an error in a form that was fed by a partnership, it doesn't tell which partnership was the problem. I had a problem with foreign tax credits but again, I couldn't figure out the source of the problem from the error message. Error messages where applicable should be linkable to the related input area. In fact investment in MLP's in general seem to cause many problems in Turbo Tax, especially with the lines 13-20
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a Good Experience It's tough enough to audit Form 8949 transactions because personal records on Excel are not amenable to sorting into the same categories as reported from Financial Inst (FI). How can filer know what category A, B, C will be used by FI.? 1099s do disclose, but then it takes as much time to enter columns into Excel then do a sort as it takes to find a transaction, one at a time, to match TT sequence. Best I could do was sort by FI, by Stocks or Options, by Date of Sale. I found FI omitted stock transactions, split up qty into 2 transactions or combined 2 trans. into a single line. To correct, needed to post real situations, and delete bad data. Could not post correct transaction while in edit mode on TT FI's list, so entry showed up in Unknown Source category. TT Program kept trying to get me to download from FI again. Need to add button "any more transactions for this FI?" Then there was the problem of transactions that should have been filed on K-1s that had to be deleted once I determined which were duplicating the FI stock transaction list. Turns out that K-1s that were "final" would lead to duplicate capital gains/losses being reported. I don't know how TT can know which K-1s impact the overall gain/loss, but users need to be made aware by TT instructions that this is the case.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from iMac issues the program itself seems to run well. But the Mac version has bugs that you will have to deal with. The largest is that it won't transmit the filing. The only solution that I found was on a discussion board. Hit transmit over and over until it works. After 18 tries it finally went, but not what I would call smooth
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from couldn't update for new version, no efile Very disappointing. I expected better.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great with 1 bump Please state that LAST YEARs PIN should be use, not just any 5 #s. This cost me a rejection and the need to mail my return.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to delete forms; hard to toggle I've used Turbotax for many years. This was the hardest yet. Unable to easily delete forms of info from worksheets, as I change my mind (to forgo a deduction). As I E-filed, the App erroneously showed my Federal refund as my state. Oh well. I'm done. I use Gainskeeper for stock trades and that 3 way interface went really well.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy I have used TT for years. Always does an excellent job. Have used other tax prep programs in the past. They are way to cumbersome.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than prior accountant experiences When I started the process I was told to use the incorrect tax software for my small business and personal taxes. That was a huge waste of time but once I actually found the customer service representative who could help me the process was better. I had to scrap all the prior work and use 2 different products for business and premier for personal tax returns.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joe F. Review 07312017 We use turbo tax Business and Premier and frankly couldn't do our taxes without them. The last time we did our own 1040 return we put 1 number in the wrong column and have been going back and forth with the IRS and Indiana Department of Revenue for six months. Thanks for the great products, Joe F.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked as usual Long time user; for some reason this years version (Premier now for several years) just didn't seem as user friendly. I didn't seem to be a be able to modify a number I had already put in for Tax preparation. One thing that would be really nice is to tell the filer how much they spent for TurboTax each year.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK State Return Imported stock sale data just fine, and because we switched advisors last year there was a lot. That being said , when it transferred to the OK return, OK wanted some specific buy dates even though the 1099B listed buy dates for some mutual funds as various. Works for the feds- you would think it would be fine for the state. Furthermore, the state wants to know one of three things-the location of the company in OK , or the fed ID number, or check the box to say not applicable for the capital gains exclusion. SO! TT says pls review the list. You work your way down the list, check the not applicable box for the majority of the items. However, after you check one box TT starts over at the top of the list. So you have to scroll down,, find the net line, enter the data or check not applicable, and TT takes you to the top of the list. When you are going thru one hundred plus lines, it is a nightmare. So you think you have entered the right info, hit continue, and TT says not so fast, pls review the whole list of entries, not just the ones that still need an answer, And guess what , it starts again at the top of the list. After a few hours, I got a drink and asked my wife to check the data. She worked on it for at least an hour. I realize it is a state return , and OK isn't one of the more populous states, but maybe you all can see what you can do to improve the experience. I didnt experience this problem last year that I remember, but for sure I didnt have the number of transaction. I think some of the stocks had 20 or more transaction, a few shares at a time, because some were bought through DRIPs, and God knows the feds and all the accountants want to track every firggin dollar you make even if it costs someone, not them, a dollar's worth of time or effort to report it. Well, filed for another year. Thanks
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusing It's our first time to have 529 plan usage to report. I worked on TurboTax in stages and had difficult time inputting college expenses later. It appeared as if 529 is part of our income to be taxed. Had to review all work: to get expenses into program and find we weren't taxed. Older Turbo Tax programs easier to use!
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relatively Straightforward & Easy I've been using TurboTax for as long as I can remember. It's relatively simple to use and it's accurate. Handles most situations well. Only area not handled particularly well (at least for me) is foreign tax credits; instructions, etc. need to be clearer and cover more sources of foreign income. Overall, I like TurboTax a lot, and will continue to use it.
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked very well, would buy again (and did). I've used TurboTax ever since my broker introduced me to how easy it is to use. If you have your tax forms (or get your income statement from the IRS), you just need to sit down for about an hour or two and follow the step-by-step process of entering your information. In the case of some forms, your employer or broker, may have the forms available electronically so no entry needed. Enter your deductions, file electronically, and basically you're done. No tax tables to consult and no worrying that you've made silly a math mistake. Updates can be downloaded as they become available so you won't be caught off guard by last minute tax changes. I've used TurboTax since 2013 and I've been very happy with it. I recommend it to everyone concerned with doing their taxes.. They say there are only tow sure things in this world (sorry, I haven't figured out what to do about the other sure thing yet).
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great software, interface can be better I am not really an expert in taxes, but I have been using TT for over 10 years. I only tried a competitors once, and have stuck with TT since then. A couple of comments: - The interface can be enhanced for experienced users. For example, I click 100 times that I know what I want to work on... very annoying... - There is no way to save the Software updates. I save the CDs for future use, just in case. But, I have to trust that TT will keep providing the updates over the air. - I had one year missing for example, and there was no easy way to get a copy of the old software. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Year over year - spiraling downward i was hoping that K1's and 1099 interactions and AMT calculations would improve year over year and still taking the high end version did not help. These areas of K1s , RSU's, NQSO, 1099's are still bad and worse then before. Not happy with any of them. Carry overs is problematic too.
Date published: 2018-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from PROBLEMS Software was also in error, which required me to ask for a person with an EA or CPA behind their name due to software saying, stop filing and contact employer, asking for a corrected W-2C form due to employer withholding too much in SS tax from tips. After contacting employer and their sending me info, realized that something was wrong with Software. Had to have tax expert to help me figure out how to get through issue, for employer was not going to issue a corrected W-2 and quite frankly, nothing wrong!
Date published: 2018-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool It was easy and very helpful for Turbo Tax to link to my investment accounts and W2 etc. and automatically download all the information.
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from program not as robust as it should be The ability to enter information on k-1s is limited and certain categories do not transfer to the correct places on the form 1040 and have to be entered manually. It does not allow a k-1 to report more than one type of activity i.e business income and real estate rent. You need to enter a separate worksheet for each category of income even though they are from the same partnership.
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had issue that could not be resolved by the Help D Now I am stuck in me review because all nicknamesare used. YUK
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Difficult Transactions We had a complex 1031 exchange to report involving multiple properties. Turbo Tax has the forms for reporting the exchange, but no clear instructions how to report an unusual transaction. there was no way to add additional explanatory pages as IRS instruction suggest, so we had to guess at the proper way to report the transaction in Turbo Tax using multiple exchange forms rather than just one. We're hoping this method flies.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for me I have used TurboTax for years and have taught my children how to use TurboTax also. I can complete my returns in home and I feel completely secure in the data I enter.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good Overall it's a very smooth tool. But, in California, conservation easements are only deductible to 30% of AGI, and TurboTax doesn't handle that correctly.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent If TurboTax bold very important stuff, it draws more attention. I used TurboTax every year, for 20 years.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ho Hum I know that Intuit does not make the rules, but some of the explanations provided seem to be a bit vague. The young lady that helped me over the phone was terrific. She figured out that check writing was my forte and adjusted her explanations to fit my limitations. I would like to suggest that future Turbo Tax software be modified to incorporate definitions for things such as "ISS" etc. Keep up the good work.
Date published: 2018-09-25
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1397, tr_4555
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 154ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.