TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from eASE OF uSE I have used turbotax for five years. I found 2016 harder to use. Step by step questions did not ask questions in as simplified manner as it had before. [examples] After entering main W-2 info it did not ask me if I had more W-2s to enter. I have a working interest in oil well I had to go back and look at paper copy of 2015 and enter on forms. In the income section questioning it did not ask me about Social Security Income it asked do you have XX-1099 forms. Took me three times as long to complete as last year.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Software Made it much easier to use over previous year.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I love the product and have been using it for years.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problem with Efile Worked well except the E-file and that may have been a safeguard on the part of the Federal system.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Broken promises I only have to file one state return. The package said you could file one return for free. When I filed the state return it charge me. False advertising. They is no phone number to call if you need real time help.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it might help if you keep save button in the interactive screens so frequent saving of the progress is easier to do from user point of view
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Review I love TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from State tax a problem It took me considerable time with a representative to get a state where I didn't need to file removed from the list so I didn't have to pay $45 to get another state. I finally got it resolved, but it was annoying - bad enough to have to spend hours getting all information put together without having to spend additional time to get a state taken off. I hope this is resolved for 2017 taxes!
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from K-1s are difficult to deal with K-1s are very difficult to enter. I enter the info from the K-1s but the additional questions that pop up in the review are difficult to clear. Please make it easier to enter K-1s.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Worked We have an usual and complicated tax return. TurboTax almost handles it. Because TurboTax misses a couple of required items, I must override them. Overrides in the program - even on the TurboTax worksheets - prevent eFiling.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from saved me a headache Thank you for making this process easier than I expected. I was worried but your step by step guide walked me thru the entire process
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Difficult to Use In doing a final return for a deceased person, it was not possible to adjust everything that needed adjusted. I found I had to go read the IRS forms and instructions in order to answer the questions on Turbo Tax. Their questions are obtuse. Their point of view is too narrow which made it impossible for me to figure out how to answer their questions. It was a waste of money. Never again.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Premier I'm a real fan of turbotax. I use turbotax at home for family and a few friends. I also volunteer for AARP each spring and do income tax returns for "clients" at no cost to them. I have used two different software programs provided by the IRS at the AARP site (i.e., a local city library). I think turbotax is the easiest to use of the three software programs.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product--with some continuing annoyances I have used Turbotax for nearly 20 years and love it. The one thing that bedevils me nearly every year is that both K-1s that I receive they have entries on both boxes 1 and 2, which requires one to "split" the K-1 but without any real guidance as to which entries to include on each to match up. I end up putting Box 1 with various others plus, Box 16 E and J, and then need to put Box 2 with some other Box 16 subparts that I have developed completely by trial and error. These always show up on error check when the items don't match up. Turbotax should allow you to just enter such a K-1 exactly as you receive it with information on all boxes and then break it down the way that is needed without the user having to guess. Otherwise, GREAT program. I also don't think that the instructions and entry for the 529 plan statements and payments are very clear.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfactory - but please include price for state 1. Need to be able to more easily know forms from easystep alternative 2. Prefer that state tax e-file fee is include in the price paid (for one state)
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest Software I have ever used In spite of being a Turbotax for a couple of decades, I still get amazed by the software design, its ease of use, and a wonderful user experience. To accomplish this for a complicated and ever changing topic like taxes, deserves hats off to the team that designs the software. Simply love it !
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Filing Again I've used Turbo Tax over a dozen years. Always easy to enter data to complete return. Appreciate the program knowing what forms have to be prepared given the data entered. Calculations always accurate. E-filing is easy and efficient. My only small criticism is answers to tax questions available within the program are occasionally not detailed enough. But I can always go to instructions on the IRS website to deal with that. Turbo Tax is a great product overall. Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but needs work I've been using Turbo Tax for years now. It's great for preparing tax returns with the exception of reporting oil royalties. It has improved somewhat over the years, but I still struggle with it every year. This time it kept insisting I give it a business name and details about accounting method and address, when I just get oil royalties, period. It takes longer to do royalties than anything else, and I'm pulling my hair out by the time I finish.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to file by snail mail Turbotax improves a little each year. It's a major help that it can now handle Form 1116. But I couldn't e-file this year because it doesn't include Form 8082. This is a simple form that you just fill out. It would save a number of us a lot of grief if you would include it so we could e-file. And, since I had to print my return for filing this year, I found that the pdf file output does not include blank pages where appropriate. This makes it hard to comply with the IRS requirement to put each Schedule or Form on a separate page. I had to pick my way through the pdf printing some on both sides and some on one side only. Blank pages inserted where appropriate would be nice so that we could just select "Print on both sides" and let it print.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusing to the max... I've used TurboTax for years with few problems, but this year, with rental and royalty info to enter, it was confusing to the max. I had to file an extension because I didn't have all my rental expense info, and when I got it, I couldn't figure out where to enter it.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Help for Filing Taxes I have used TurboTax for a number of years and it has been very helpful over the years to complete my returns, even as they became more complex. My biggest complaint has always been how difficult it can be to get to a real person for tax or non-tax related questions.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just a few questions left hanging I've been using Premier Turbo Tax for quite a few years and usually have few, if any problems. Sometimes when I encounter a new situation (capital loss without a 1099-B) I have problems making my way through the directions or end up having to go to the IRS website for instructions on how to complete a certain Schedule (like a Schedule D).
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had a difficult time removing a schedule K 1022s I entered by mistake. You need an easy way to correct mistakes such as this.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Finished the Job This is the 3rd time I had to send my tax return to the IRS. YOU keep saying I'm finished when I'm not. YOU keep asking me more and more questions, most of which have nothing to do with the return. There is no end to the questions that can be asked. In March, I thought its was submitted; In August, I thought it was submitted; now in October, AM I SUMBITTED? What's frustrating is that I have to go to the IRS website to find out that they do not have my return on file. When I get back into TurboTax, I find out it was not submitted. They have more questions for me. I actually talked to a rep in Aug and he went through it with me. Everything seemed like it was finished and submitted. Guess what? It wasn't. What happened this time was an update to TurboTax required me to add more info which seemed to be the reason it was not submitted last time. I really can't recommend this kind of program that never gets to the finish line. And even when you think it has, it won't alert you that you're not really finished. So, I'll check the IRS website to let me know if they received it. It does not matter how good the program is if it can't deliver.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Input forms were incomplete The system does not provide readily available forms for inputing tax payments made with an extension. Further, if you want to correct an input and go to forms, it is very difficult to input the correct information. Finally, you should provide an telephone call number even if you have to pay for it. The on-line help you provide is useless.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need some Help for Links to Forms When entering inputs to schedule C, income from business, you get error reports about duplicate links to forms. The whole concept of links is nowhere in the Help. In fact,"Link"appears nowhere in FAQs except to mean "URL". But overall, TT does a fine job of explaining itself.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from over 20 yrs I'm a long time user, I help all my family and a few friends with their returns. As a regular user a few more short cuts would be nice, especially the ability to look at a menu for the step by step so I don't have to go through everything each time. Also, after through once and I go back to make corrections or additions there are many boxes that go blank and have to be re-entered. Over the years the program has gotten more robust with the entries for K-1s. There are still some issues. Line 14 can only be completed by adding phantom forms and separating out passive and general categories. It took 4 calls and about 5 hours on the help line. Multi state investment are also very difficult. I like the downloading capabilities and the ability to easily archive my data. Most importantly I can do returns faster than I can drive to the accountant!
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Problems Have used TurboTax for at least 5 years, maybe more. Most helpful is the Search Box where one can access answers to open questions. And, then one is offered the option to Jump to the associated section in the Return. Guess I'm addicted to TurboTax and will be using it in the future. ThanX.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough Tax preparation TurboTax Premier was very helpful in helping me sort through the complexities of the federal tax forms. However, some of the stepwise questions can leave you guessing, when the question uses unfamiliar or ambiguous terms. At that point you are referred to a help blog to see if other people have had similar questions. The only problem is that the blog entries that have good answers are not always obvious and you have to page through several to get an answer. Some of the answers are written as if the recipient of the answer (you) is already a tax professional and therefor the answer is short and cryptic. Usually digging a little more reveals a more detailed explanation. Year to year use of the product is excellent in that the old numbers are carried over so that most old data is pre-filled. The only problem here is that if you reply that a certain form is unnecessary, but later find out otherwise, there is no way to re-instate the original form and any old data it might have had associated with it. My advice - don't delete any forms until the end when the program does a check and finds some blank forms to delete.
Date published: 2017-10-06
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1975, tr_5209
  • loc_, sid_800_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 232ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.