TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TT2017 I paid for the initial license and then again an amount of near what the purchase price was for an electronic filing. I felt I was charged double
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrating Change When you are the finance guy in a large family, everyone is used to you doing their taxes for them. Now limiting it 5 e-filings is FRUSTRATING, especially to find out at the last minute!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Satisfied Over the Years Have used TurboTax for many, many years. Always extremely satisfied. Like ability to jump back & forth between step-by-step and forms, which can make entry and use easier once you are familiar with forms. Like to see immediate impact on Federal & State refund or amount due.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't use my credit card for fees The software is easy to navigate. Got to the efile stage and every time I selected audit protection and pay with my credit card, it would say it needed to save my return and lock up my computer. I finally gave up on the audit protection and it did the same when I tried to use my credit card for efile fees. I ended up paying the 39.99 for having the fees deducted from my return just so I could get the return filed on time.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Filing stinks I have used TurboTax for many, many years. This year may well be the last. Yes, I waited to file until the last day, although I did the work for everything ahead of time - I just wanted to pay at the last minute. Every time I tried to go to where I could pay the state fee to efile, my computer completely locked up. Tried for what seemed like forever. At the last minute I tried hitting alt-tab while the form was saving and it kept the turbotax window open and it worked, but by the time I was finished it was just after midnight. I have never been late like this before and I am extremely unhappy. I will probably die early after all this unneeded stress.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Suckhole bandits OK data input, but they don't consider anything out of the norm such as handicapped adult children dependents (on social security). They won't allow you to file electronically if you don't chose their additional $45 fee deducted from your refund instead of electronic fee only to your credit card. Greedy suckhole crooks.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixxing Errors The areas for Credits and deductions should be explained more better in the tool in layman terms rather than going to the website. Also after the analysis is completed it would help if the software could have an easy step in taking you to all the areas where the data might be linked to in fixing the errors instead of entering the forms view and reading the forms and also going to the website for help.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Import of 2016 data Only during final review of forms did I discover that 2016 TT failed to forward 2016 State tax paid in 2017. Fortunately, I discovered it during my final hard copy review, went back to my copy of TT 2016, recovered the information and entered it in the correct place. If I had not discovered this TT error I would have had to pay an additional $362 in Federal and $181 in State taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbotax premier will definitely be using it again from now on, very easy to use and very fast to process your tax returns.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Premier I purchased the Premier because I have 1 rental house. However, it never did prompt me to enter the real estate tax on my rental property. I searched and searched. Where it enters the real estate tax for the home where I live it said don't enter real estate tax here for rental property, but it never asked me for that information. Perplexed. Plus I think the Premier may only apply to those who do real estate as a professional. I couldn't find out if I could enter this via just the Deluxe.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep improving Not enough information found on how to proceed on oil and gas working interest. The examples were not clear to the novice user.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally It's Done I have been using Turbo Tax for quite a few years now and majority of it is helpful and user friendly. This year I had a new tax situation. I did a like-kind exchange and came across some problems. I checked the wrong box and went back to correct it after doing research, and the program would not let me delete forms 4797 and 8824. After spending hours trying to correct this, I just re-entered everything from the beginning. Uggghhhhh.... Also, I had problems deleting a flagged error message after I corrected it many times. It kept appearing again, so I just left it.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Reliable, So Easy to use, So convenient Thank you again for this software. Year after year you have been my go to tax software for my filings.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from update is painful 1) At the end, at e-file, i cannot file and have to run update. After update, the app filed to start. Luckily I restarted my mac, restart the app and run update again. 2) app is not loading last year's return well. Disappointing. Had to open up last year's return to retrieve data. Luckily, we could run turbo tax 2016 and 2017 at the same time.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Passive Activity Loss not carried over It would be nice to have the tax instructions available to better understand something. The passive activity loss was not carried over from last year, and it took me a while to learn about it, find the information on last years taxes, and then add it into the right form for 2017. Seriously, you require a unique nick name? Why make it hard to send you feedback?
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbotax makes life relatively easy I enjoy using Turbotax as it saves me a lot of time. Generally, it is easy to use. This year I had a little scare when my taxes went up $300 on the live screen by just clicking the button "Start -> Check for Penalty". If I didn't hit that button, my taxes would not have jumped $300. It took an hour to input the quarterly income and quarterly deductions to reduce the penalty to $5. Then by requesting a waiver, I was able to return to the original tax amount. Phew, that was crazy. It made me wonder if the $300 would have shown up at some point later in the flow. Anyway, I got passed that and things went well after that. The state returns are very easy to file. Once the Federal is done, the state returns just fall into place. Thanks for a great product!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable I have been using Turbotax for more than 10 years, but this year I find it the most unreliable! I am paying more for Premier, but it still can't get the base cost right even it's in the broker forms. I had to fix the numbers manually otherwise would have been taxed for the same gains twice. While retrieving investments it kept changing the refund abruptly for no reason. Some parts have also become so confusing, asking for the same data several times and adding extra forms not needed. Even after I deleted those parts not impacting the refund, the forms remained in the final filing and I had to delete manually to avoid leaving inaccurate forms. If you have to face AMT, it’s not of much help explaining the differences that need to be entered.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Double Billed I purchased the Premier Turbo Tax Software and was still asked to pay for the State E-file. It was supposed to be included. Trying to get the state credit was not straight forward and complicated things exponentially.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 Turbo Tax failed to import depreciation data from our rental property. Had to reenter manually and override worksheet numbers, as well.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall very good, but not much help on tip income Income from tips is such as common situation that Turbotax should have standard questions to guide the user through it. I had to do a lot of digging, and I'm still not sure I reported them correctly,
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deteriorating Quality & Increased cost Errors created in the entries, selections disappear when start editing the entries. Alerts for wrong entries are missing. Charging for state e-files even for Premier TT. Customer service- terrible, does not have basic knowledge to answer the questions. TT does not have place to input many foreign earnings/ deductions, taxes etc, for resident/non resident aliens. Performance is deteriorating year by year, very upset.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More People should use Turbo Tax Years ago, I took a part-time job at a tax file organization for one season so I could learn more on how to complete my taxes. Needless to say their program is just like TurboTax. More people should save the fees and submit their own taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened to TurboTax I can not believe a company like Intuit would put a product on the market that is not ready for prime time. The feel is improved, but the function is not up to the feel. Prime example: If you have a partial year on ACA, you can not enter the data. Once you dig deep deep enough you find instructions for getting into Admin mode so you can modify the system to save in spite of the code rejecting it. WRONG!!! A few years ago, Intuit released code with less function than the same name package had the previous year creating a major turmoil. This year you slipped in a price increase that was hidden until you went to submit the forms. All finished and then I see a note about having to spend more money to submit on line. I got the package because I desired to submit on line. These kinds of actions rarely happen in competitive markets. Do you think your customers are stupid and do not care that you release the package with known bugs and no fix?? I can not believe that a well know and good reputation company would release a product like you released this year.. You must be looking for an exit from this highly competitive business. The catastrophe to your reputation is exacerbated by the fact that you knew the problem and it would not take much code to circumvent the problem
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reduced my stress on Crypto Gains I was very stressed out this year with all my bitcoin, etc gains, but Turbo Tax even had me covered with auto 2210 Form Annualized / Estimated payment penalty reduction so I was in the clear there - for irregular capital gains payouts vs simply a known higher salary. While traders doing 30 or more transactions a year on singular platforms will probably be happier with something else (TurboTax does support SOME auto generated gains forms from other sites), it was fine for me to manually type everything in, since all my account activity is so off the record that I'd be on my own anyways. I was annoyed though that the program doesn't seem to work with stock brokers where users have enabled 2 step verification that I try to turn on whenever possible. That would have saved me some time, but I still only spent 2 days on my entire return, so it was a big win for me! Please add more robust crypto and automation support or resources. Or maybe I'll get next year's program months earlier and start adding in my data.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Overall easy to use and file. However, noticed an error. The online help had a fix for it though and it did not delay my last day filing!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Questionable Spending $65 for the software, then another $65 for a "processing" fee and to file the state return is too high. $130 to do your own taxes is tooooo much, might as well use a tax service. Also I still had to re-input W-2 employer information and bank routing and account numbers, all information it already had.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bought in Store, lots of hidden costs... I knew I would have to buy an extra state return, but not at $50!!! then got nickel and dimed to efile...
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo'd through my Taxes I have had access to "TurboTax" for several years, and the process is simple and the least complex of the filing system. I am happy and privileged to have been able to utilize your system and look forward to 2018 tax returns.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A few Challenges TurboTax worked reasonably well after it was loaded (i.e., it literally took hours to load the software). It had challenges letting me see additional states.
Date published: 2018-04-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1343, tr_4349
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 271ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.