TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ExPat Dilemma Have always liked TurboTax through the years but living overseas creates difficulties for expats. Each year they have to tackle amazingly complex items like Form 1116 and Form 2555 while living overseas and paying overseas taxes. It would be helpful if Intuit spent a little extra time on helping expats with these forms. Perhaps a bit more in the help sections or adding an example or two. Keep up the good work!
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Reliable and Consistent A TurboTax user since 2001. TT provides choice of own control or prompting. I prefer desktop version because I don't feel intimidated by being on the Internet, I am more relaxed. Easy to follow prompts. TT prompts could be a bit more aware of individual state situations related to Federal taxation, i.e. state sales tax deduction. For 2018 tax year's changes this will be very important.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Goofed State of Illinois return. State of Illinois form goofed up my return. I spent 3 hrs talking to turbotax about Illinois return in March. Just heard back from state -- I owed them an extra $650, due to Turbo tax didn't/couldn't help me. Turns out there is an income limit on exemptions & property tax credit. This was nowhere to be found on Illinois Turbo tax form.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my tax It's great
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refunds Generally I like Turbo Tax and have been using it for 30 years and it gets easier for me every year. I only do my family and a couple of friends tax returns so the limit to how many I can do is annoying in that I am not getting paid for these efforts. I think an option that addresses gift tax and estate tax questions would be nice but understand that amounts involved for these subjects probably exceed the scope of this program.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted my time on state return eFiled federal return without problem. AFTER paying Turbotax to efile my state return, the program returned an error that said one of my entries (apparently obtained off the federal return) had too many characters. There was no way to resolve this issue so the only choices were to change my federal return after is was already efiled, or file the state return on paper (all 75 pages) and just lose the money already paid to Turbotax. Researching the problem on the internet revealed many others with the same problem! I won't be dumb enough to pay to efile my state return in the future!
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tax Program Used TurboTax for 15 years, despite having increasing complicated tax returns, turbotax always makes it easy to do my taxes
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very little information on Disaster reporting In 2017 many people were impacted by hurricanes. The guidance for reporting losses from these disasters on Turbo Tax was very limited.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Difficulties wit State Submission State Submission for mailing process is not straight-forward. I had to search for the State Submission via mail functionality. The State Submission by mail functionality should have been selectable on the same page/level that the eFile State Submission functionality was.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Job I have used TurboTax for more than 10 years and have been very please. This year was my first year for using the Premier version. When my refund was received it was less then what was expected. The error was a simple one; one I think the problem should of caught. The error was in the estimated tax payment section. I made duplicate entries in both the Federal & State question about how much was paid from my refund. In my opinion TurboTax should of questioned these entries. If it had my refund amount would have been correct; the amount entered in the Federal question should have been blank. All-in-all I will use TurboTax again because this is the only year I have had any kind of error.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes it Simple TurboTax is awesome at making sure you input all of the necessary data and do so correctly.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only One Complaint I have used TT for more about 15 years and have been very pleased. I would give it 5 stars but for two things: as you complete each of the various categories and click Done, you are put back at the beginning of the list. I would much prefer to be taken back to where I was on the list. Very annoying to have to scroll down each time, especially as you move further and further along the process. The admitted flaw as to foreign source and the directions were problematic. When I added a zero as directed to by-pass the flaw, it added $500 to my tax liability. Crazy!
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rejected Return I signed and paid the extra $ to file the state return electronically, turbotax said my return had no errors, then the state filing was rejected based on an error in line 71. I double checked it multiple times, got no help from turbotax and ended up having to file a late return by mail. WASTE OF MONEY!
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still the best way to file - but not perfect Turbo tax is still the gold standard from small businesses that self-file - but Intuit needs to be more transparent and all the things you have to pay for to get fed and state filed. Put ALL of this info upfront in a plain graph or table - not later when you have the user trapped.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tax filing would recommend turbo tax to others for non complicated taxes
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tiny Fonts Tiny fonts required me to us a screen-magnifier. This only works over a small area, so constantly moving the magnifier around was very painful. The help windows had an even tinier font!! It was cumbersome going thru all the Intuit-stroking screens that had no other purpose.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax makes taxes easy Turbotax makes the complicated tax process easy with its step-by-step guide.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lots of Hidden Fees After you buy the software the company makes you pay additional fees such as a $40 fee and then a $25 efile fee. The states allow you to e-file for free so this is a sneaky extra $65 for TurboTax. I will not purchase TurboTax again as they are not upfront with the cost.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Work Have a better site map Put a list of expected forms for income another list for deductions in a common place and also during the walk thru.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Integration with State (AZ) is awful Fed portion is great, but State portion needs work: > Does not carry over capital gains over from fed to state correctly. > Whole sections of state calculation worksheets need to be entered manually > State rejected form twice, and T.Tax program suggested no fixes. > Can not pick and choose State sections to work on. Each time you must walk through the entire form from start to finish.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from T-Tax Remains a Good Buy Turbo Tax business and pro have been my go-to tax partner since tax year 1999. I keep coming back because Intuit always invests in improvements, they provide excellent security features and the product is always more efficient and effective than other tax filing methods including services such as HR Block. Although Turbo Tax cannot provide tax advice their professional grade product could do a better job of allowing "what-if" analyses. Several times during the past years, I used T-tax to forecast income changes. I would happily pay twice the price for a version that allows me to do estimated taxes in the event of the sale of a primary residence, significant tax law changes such as removal of the state tax exemption, and other significant events. I could then make better tax decisions. Otherwise, Intuit Team, please keep up the good work.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found Thousands in Deductions TurboTax has been a great option from its inception into the software marketingplace. You'll never be able to produce a product that satifies everyone, but this is as close as it gets. As the saying goes, it's difficult to get to #1, it's even more difficult to say #1 unless you truly are the Champ. TurboTax is the Champ !
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 So many questions, which made me wonder if your program was biased. I will definitely think twice about using your product next year.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Good & the BAD Generally a good program. After numerous tries was unable to send for free, had to mail returns.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use The program gets a little easier to use and navigate each year.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Can Trust TurboTax I'm a long-time user of TurboTax and its predecessor and I don't think there's anything better for individual tax returns. The smooth linkage with a broad range of financial institutions, which makes downloading relevant tax information rather than having to key it all in, is a real time saver. The smooth interface between federal and state returns is awesome, another big time saver. I've never had a problem with either my federal or state returns, which speaks to the thoroughness and accuracy of TurboTax. And, I like having the option to purchase Audit Protection for a few bucks for added peace of mind should the IRS decide to audit a return.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The tax would not upload to IRS due to "update requirements" but the instructions were not clear.Called the support line, but after 2.5 hours on the phone, no resolution and then was transferred to another support desk which left a message that will get a call in 28 minutes. Had to extend and file 3 days after the deadline.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Your Ohio state was NO HELP with a missing data item. I got all these messages about walking me through the problem and you dropped me cold!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 electronic tax return problems Sandra helped me understand that I was unable to electronically file because the IRS system broke down. She explained that the IRS extended the deadline for filing to April 22, 2018. Also she taught me that since I am expecting a refund, I would NOT have been penalized for filing after the deadline. Overall, my phone support service was pleasant and quick! Thank you for all your help.
Date published: 2018-04-20
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1358, tr_4431
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 171ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.