TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from been using for years and each year gets easier
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I Expected I am confident that I will continue to use the software.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always there for me Been using TurboTax for as long as I can remember and, when I recently thought I might need a CPA, he told me, after I entered everything in TurboTax for him to review, he basically uses the same thing so there was no need for his services. How awesome is that?
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from zero on cryptos had a hard time filing cryptocurrency taxes. TT is not adapted to it. i bought a premier TT which initially said " free" state filing but in the end charged me 24.99 on top of the $109 i already paid. so in total, i paid $135 dollars. with that money, I'll just go to a tax preparer next time.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trying to be secure but it aggravates me instead If you use a password manager you will be infuriated when you attempt to import your records. Disabling paste makes in really frustrating to import, particularly if you are using long complicated passwords that were not meant for humans to type.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fails on Windows 10 I have used Turbo Tax for 10+ years. Each year it pulls in information from my past year which saves me a lot of time. I know the program and it saves me a lot of time. This is the first year where Turbo Tax didn't work well. It froze up and self closed dozens of times. Online searches showed lots of issues with Windows 10.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible & Insecure I use TurboTax because the tax code is still so complex. ItsDeductible is owned by your company. Yet, you make the integration with TurboTax so difficult that I was forced to file an extension. I could not get access to my ItsDeductible account from within TurboTax. Then, I looked this problem up and your website says it was fixed months ago. Yet, it took me two more hours of research, and what seemed like an infinite loop where I had to enter my PC password 15 times, before I nearly gave up and (on the third or fourth try of entering my PC password 12 or 15 times) must have accidentally hit the right button so I was finally able to access ItsDeductible. After that I was forced to change my PC password since I have no idea how many times it was sent to your server. Part of the problem was that it talked about a "keychain": but I've never used one on my computer (a Mac). You should allow the user to enter directly into the ItsDeductible website, or have that option. This has been my most frustrating year yet. OK, that is just the time wasted part. Each year, we pay a lot of AMT. Most or all of our state income tax deduction is erased. Yet, whenever - in the over ten years of using any year / any version of TurboTax - that we've had a state income tax refund ... TurboTax says that it is taxable. It offers a choice something like "you can recalculate last year's return, but this is complicated" - but I've tried multiple years as an experiment and it may was well tell me to download all the tax forms from the IRS since it provides zero automation or guidance on how to do so. Thus, you claim you are getting me the maximum refund but I'm convinced that I'd have to hire an accountant to file ten or more years of 1040X forms to recover all the federal tax I've paid on state income tax refunds when I should not have had to pay any tax since it was not deducted due to AMT in the prior year.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Consistent Process
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slapdash as usual pretty ordinary. unfortunately I'm stuck with it because of previous filings which I have to transfer every year. I can't even download W2 data from a major employer. plenty of other shortcomings that will tax your patience (excuse the pun)
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helpful...until there were schedule errors I found the software helpful until there were issues with one of the schedules and then there was no information on how to resolve or get back to the error. I had to go outside of TurboTax to get the answers which took quite a bit of time.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely high cost Why does Turbo Tax charge a fee to file the first state tax return is beyond e, It should be bundled with the license fee.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & trusted tax program I've been using Turbo Tax since 1989 and every year they get better & easier to use. I trust the results and have never been audited, even on complicated tax returns. Over the years, I have taken my returns into my accountants to consult with them & check if Turbo Tax is doing things correctly. Never had a problem. This is one program that gets it right.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from refund 2017
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked My Refund!! The sales tax instruction were not clear to me. I had to google the IRS instruction to clarify the deduction choices. I'm not a big forum or YouTube instruction fan. I like to read the source data. Probably because I was born in the 50's.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Section 15a.453A-1(c)(3)(i) problem According to IRS code Section 15a 453A-1(c)(3)(i), if a seller's future contingent payments under an installment sale become worthless, deduction of the seller's remaining basis in the sale can be accelerated and deducted in the current year. Further, the IRS says to use the same form as the one used to report the original installment sale. In this case, that meant using Form 6252. However, Turbotax will not allow a negative number to be entered on form 6252 and will not allow you to e-file the return as long as a negative number is entered on Form 6252. This appears to be a programming problem with no work around.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy for simple tax return I have a difficult time to fill out the ISO transaction and tried to call many times. It took me few months in order to resolve this issue. I have to reach the sixth advisor to help me completing the complicate transactions. Hopefully, this will be improved.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SHOW ME THE MONEY!!!!! I've used Turbo Tax every year for years and always find it easy to use and fast. Couldn't trust using any other tax program.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly Tax Return Process I've used Turbo Tax all the way back to the 1980's when you would get the forms to insert into a pin feed printer. Have used it since then and never missed a year. I estimate I've used the software for close to 35 years.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still the Champ will do my own taxes till the day I day. TurboTax makes it possible and teaches you everything about what matters. Next year should be fun with the new tax code!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Turbo Tax Been using Turbo Tax for years and will continue to use it. It handles all my needs. I use Premier
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Keep closing unexpectedly The return would unexpectedly close when I would hit a "Continue" button or "Print to PDF" button. Had to re-enter and re-enter data!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detailed I had to extend the return due to family death. Turbotax made it very easy during the extremely stressful time. Thank you TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly good Really, the Federal form is good, but there needs to be a lot of work done on the Indiana form explanation. It is NOT easy to understand from the online instructions. It is NOT clear, and there is no link to visit to get the information. It is just assumed that you know what these questions are about. If you do a search, it returns stuff that is not about Indiana. I had to leave TurboTax twice to find the info I needed.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thank goodness the IRS found the error File my taxes using Turb"0"Tax and three months later the IRS sent me a check for over $3000 I had over paid. Thank goodness the IRS found the error that TurboTax didn't. PS: The "nickname" thing is a joke.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax Filing Made Easy I am always filing at the last minute, literally the last day and hour. :<) This software gives me the confidence from preparation to submission. All done quickly and accurately. Keep making it easy TurboTax!!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Foreign Income Return Generally went well. There is a place to enter deductions from foreign earned income and the explanation is confusing. Then where you enter trips to the US, I thought that all income earned while in the US was considered, but apparently it is only when you were working (i.e., vacation time is not considered income earned in the US, at least that's my interpretation). The explanation was less than clear cut. One frustration was that as I was moving forward and back on the foreign income section, an incorrect foreign income amount appeared. I don't know where it came from and I couldn't get rid of it. I had to delete the file and start over. That wasn't good. A second issue was that as I was going back and forth, I suddenly seemed to be getting questions related to the Physical Presence Test, but I qualify under Bona Fide Residence. It didn't seem to cause a problem, but it was disconcerting. Cleaning up the foreign earned income section would be helpful.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unforseen costs I have used TT for the last 10 years. This will be my last year. The random and constant upgrade costs as compared to previous years makes the product very expensive, difficult to use, and frustrating when being constantly asked to pay excessive charges that were unforeseen (not explained up front) . DUMB!!!
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped so much Susan was awesome. She answered all my questions with a delightful sense of humor and professionalism. Cory was very patient before he referred me to Susan
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Turbotax tool Received great support with Q&A on the website while working on the filing Tools helpful for capturing the maximum of deductions
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tax Program I have been a long term user and will continue to use Turbo Tax Premier. This year the Stock Trade entry got a little quirky. I imported my 90 trades using a TXF file from my broker. The file imported just fine. Turbo Tax had me filing out a lot more info than I though I should have to (e.g., Entry/Exit dates which are in the TXF file). After poking around and coming back to that section, I had to correct the first 10 to add the dates, but the rest of the trades were OK. I only had to enter the class of trade (e.g., "A", "B", etc.), which is what I expected all along. I will continue to use TT, this was a minor inconvenience as it sure beats typing in 90 stock trades!
Date published: 2018-10-12
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1397, tr_4555
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 764ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.