TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good, but needs improvement I've used Turbo-tax now for over 20 years. In the past few years I've had to handle trusts and multiple K1's. These have been extremely difficult and I may need to have an accountant handle my returns next year.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Support Cannot find where to enter id pin...had the same problem last year after my e-file return is rejected. Spent hours trying to find where to enter it. This is an ongoing issue with Turbo Tax. Wont buy this software next year.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Every year Turbo Tax gets worse Turbo Tax makes unnecessary changes to justify raising the price. If it's not broke, don't fix it. If you have an error, Turbo Tax won't let you file electronically. I spent an hour trying to fix an error that was worth less than $1 to either myself or the IRS. I ended up filing by mail as I know if the IRS wants the error corrected, they will do it and send me a letter requesting additional taxes. This is the first year TT added this feature. I have been using TT since 1992. It is getting more complicated every year and not because of the IRS.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Your product worked great even for me living outside the US. Thank you, you made my live much easier!
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Software Over Charges The total to file for a state is 75$ they don't tell you about the 25$ to efile states.. will not be using this software ever again
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intuit 2016 Premier Very fluid and easy to follow.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund on schedule Been using a long time and will continue to use in the future!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but issue with MD state return Everything was great and fairly clear, but I think there could have been a better walkthrough of adjusting mortgage Interest when you a person moves to a new state and converts that original property to a rental property. Also the MD state return was done after my VA return and the MD return did not pull in the correct incomes for both myself and spouse. It only pulled in one income and therefore had us owing a significant amount before I manually correct the income later in the return.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have used TurboTax for the last eight years and have been pleased to date. I am unsure why the E-file cost is that high for the state filing when you pay a good bit for the software to begin with. Overall a four star rating.
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Keeps directing me back to the Turbo Tax window when I click on the file to open my copy (PDF format)
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of use I have used turbotax for several years, I think I am fairly familiar with the tax forms, but continue to use the interview process. It would be nice if turobotax could remember what forms were used last year and delete them from the interview
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tax Prep Software I've used TurboTax for many years. Never had my returns audited; never even a question from the IRS. Very easy to use -- you don't need to be a tax expert. Just follow the easy instructions and prompts.
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed After having Turbo tax for the last 5 years, I was disappointed this year. It would not retrieve past information until I uninstalled it and reinstalled it, and then when it was upgraded, it would change information for no apparent reason. I finally had to review everything again, correcting incorrect changes made by Turbo tax.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use...I like that you can choose between using step-by-step and forms.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Turbo Tax Review Turbo Tax is easy touse but it is also expensive.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too many State fees The fees to obtain additional states is much too expensive at $44.99/state. In addition, the filing fees for the states of $24.99 adds insult to injury. Overall, ease of use; however, you can spend hundreds of dollars if you file in several states. Product not worth the cost.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filing Made Easy I liked the use of driver's license to prevent possible fraud/identity theft. I tried filing an extenion but the instructions weren't friendly and requires $$ to e-file extension. Shouldn't be required to pay up front but would be ok when ready to e-file to pay the e-file extension.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Tax Prep for You I have used Turbo Tax for the last number of years and find it easy to use and understand. Some basic knowledge of tax forms and structures helps but is not necessary. A good product that gets better each year.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from REJECTED BECAUSE OF THE TIME FRAME WE HAD TO RE FILE. STATE SHOULD NOT REJECT JUST BECAUSE THE FEDS REJECTED. WOULD NOT LET ME PULL DATA FROM PREVIOUS YEAR BECAUSE I CHANGED COMPUTERS....
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great harrison was patient and helpful
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Preparation I've been using TurboTax since 1992
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Turbotax and K-!s I like the Turbotax product and have used it for years. This is my first year of filing K-1s and it was far more painful than my usual Turbotax experience. It actually handled domestic K-1s well. I had one foreign K-1 (Canada), and my experience filing it was dreadful. The error messages I received were clearly incorrect, as they referenced fields where I had made no entry. I used the support community without finding a solution. I had to file for an extension solely because of this K-1. I finally just skipped some of the (hopefully) less critical data and submitted my return. My experience was dreadful to the point that I immediately sold my remaining foreign partnership that issued a K-1. Keep in mind that I still intend to use Turbotax again next year, rather than pay someone else to wrestle these. But this is one area where Intuit should pick up their gain.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2017 TurboTax Premier I've used TurboTax Deluxe and Premier for many years. I've never had an issue with the IRS. It's easy to use, yet the process is still too lengthy. The most annoying thing was the importing of my charitable donations. All year long, I log my donations into Intuit's "Its Deductible Online (IDO)." Turbotax Deluxe and above allow the importing of this data via electronic transfer. It was disastrous this year. I called Customer Support, who was very pleasant, but had no clue how to solve my problem. Luckily, online I found a rather cryptic solution that worked. Who knew I had to select "Always Allow" (the import from IDO) vs. "Allow One Time." Most folks unfamiliar with their computers would have a difficult time working through the solution. On another note, the $24.99 + tax for my State filing is too high.
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problems I e-filed on 23 Apr after getting an extension. When I noticed that the additional taxes had not been taken from my bank account I checked the program and it said I had not filed yet. I started the process again and at every step of the way my information to file was already in place, i.e., bank account number, IRS e-file # etc., was already loaded in the appropriate block. This could only happen if I had already e-filed. I never got any notices that there was a problem. So I have e-filed again
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent way to go Walked me through the entire process, helped me get the maximum refund possible, even with some tough filings I had this year. Thank you turbo tax!
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why Premier Instead of Deluxe? I have used TurboTax (TT) for many years to file our federal and state tax returns (married filing jointly). I have become very familiar with it over the years and really appreciate its ease of use. However, a recent change in TT that forced us to have to purchase the Premier version instead of Deluxe (which we used successfully for many years), is a significant con for us to continue using TT. My wife gets a very small rental income from a property she inherited, which gets reported on Schedule K-1 Form 1120S. We were able to report this using TT Deluxe through 2015, but starting in 2016, we had to purchase TT Premier in order to report it. This is a very simple form with only 2 entries on it, so it makes no sense that this should require Premier (especially when it used to work in Deluxe)! The extra money we had to pay for Premier for our 2017 filing almost used up the little amount of income we obtained from this rental property. Intuit should switch this functionality back into the 2018 Deluxe program for simple K-1 situations like this. It will be interesting to look into how other programs handle this reporting for 2018. We would definitely consider using a different program for filing our taxes if we can save the extra cost we have to pay for TT Premier by doing so.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from better than a sharp stick in the eye
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best at asking Understandable Questions At times it is hard to find the answers to complex questions. The interaction with chat sessions needs to be promoted more since they have been helpful.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too expensive Could not access Solar Deduction forms, had to upgrade to higher version. Upgraded and still not all forms were available. State eFile on package said $19.99, when I finished taxes software said $24.99...plus tax. Ended up having to pay accountant to assist with solar...thanks Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Changes needed for 2018 fed 1040 and State returns
Date published: 2018-04-28
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1358, tr_4431
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 689ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.