TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Letting You Know The ease with transferring data from last year's return was nice and quick. The topics made adding my information pretty easy. Adding bond information was very easy this year when I had to add the original purchase price. That used to be very difficult I complete the bonds information in about 20% of the time from previous years. Correcting an electronic data transfer error from my brokerage form was difficult. It is not intuitive how to back out bad data, but I got it after several attempts. The average sales tax for my area in Texas for our household income was very low. So I had to total sales taxes from my major purchases and all my 2017 receipts. Not sure why the allotted amount is so small. The electronic transmission to the IRS was very quick and easy. I got my IRS acceptance within 12 hours even on the 17th of April, which was this year's tax due date.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good For "I don't know what I don't know" I love it. Have used TT for years. It helps me ferret out items I may have overlooked. Taxes can be confusing, so I appreciate the little tips along the way.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax2017 simple and straightforward I've used TurboTax since 2002 and find it to be very simple and easy to use. Every year they add more institutions for easier importing of data to reduce hand-jamming (and potential errors). The forms/worksheets are all there and plenty of instructions to explain what is needed.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Thorough! Very thorough. I felt that turbotax covered all the information in great detail, and left nothing unanswered about my tax returns. I also felt relieved to know my tax returns were reviewed in detail and guaranteed correct.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TurboTax sucked! I finish my taxes & TurboTax stated, everything was O.K., I signed up for Tax Audit which saved my returns. When I tried to file, numerous errors popped up. My Federal & State returns were not done. Stuff I had entered days ago was gone from TurboTax Then TurboTax printed 2 copies of my state returns for my record (It did print one copy of my Federal Return.) Pages were not formatted correctly I have used TurboTax for over 10 years with no problems. SOMEONE DID NOT DO THIER JOB!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CONTINUALLY IMPROVING SINCE 2010 My life changed in 2009 when my husband died. I had to learn who my friends were. Turbo tax showed me that I have a friend in turbo tax. Now I rely on many intuit products for my financial health. Can't believe I finally filed on line. I'm 72. Yea for me and Turbo Tax and Audit protection.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from won't use turbo tax again, too many issues with this program.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficulty reviewing 1040 I have used TurboTax for years, but this edition is not easy to have a look at what I have for entries on the actual 1040 form without having to get out of the process and then having difficulty in getting back to where I was in completing the step(s) I was involved with in making entries.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy tax Prep Overall an excellent software program with good explanation of sometimes complex tax law. Sources of information on subjects were relevant throughout the program. The final assessment on completeness as well as tax audit was reassuring.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The support for Form 1041 is very poor. It does not explain clearly and there are other IRS forms that you won't even provide. How ridiculous....
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best and easiest refund i have ever done! Thank you so much TurboTax i really appreciate the help!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from turbo tax premier it would be great if the extension function be provided separately. or some online chat tool for real-time support
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problem at the last moment of filing I had Interest from three accounts, TurboTax wanted a special CUSIP 9-digit number. CUSIP numbers relate to a specific bond. I don't own any specific bonds. JPMorgan provided the downloaded info,
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifeline I have been using TurboTax for about 10 years. My tax situation gets more and more complicated each year, but TT does it all, gracefully. This software operates at the perfect level for me - it doesn't assume I'm an idiot, but also doesn't assume I'm a tax accountant.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still my favorite I still love TurboTax as it walks me through the process step by step. I find it easy and thorough. I like the income import tools. The one thing I did not like this year was the It's Deductible that was included with the software all these years was not included. I had to go to the It's Deductible website, enter my deductions there and import it into TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Handling Schedule K-1 needs to be improved TurboTax needs to improve its capability to deal with Schedule K-1. I spent lots of time to pass the check of federal tax part because of the problem of Box 16 conflict codes. Fortunately I got the problem fixed with the information online. TurboTax should guide the user to solve the problem, not just pop up error message and block the user to go to next step.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good except for..... Overall I like turbotax. When I'm finished I feel like I have correctly filed my taxes. I get the desktop version because I help friends and family file their returns. I was disappointed this year that the info from friend's 2016 return filed with turbo online couldn't be imported to my desktop turbo version for the 2017 return. It seems like Turbo should be able to import Turbo from Turbo. Also disappointed when posting 1099G income and I'm asked to enter an amount that turbo says could result in lowering my tax liability on that income -- but says if I don't know that amount, don't enter anything. Seems like turbo would tell me how to find that info if I don't know! And I wish turbo would state clearly up front that the only way to file a state return free is if you do it the old-fashioned way -- print it and mail it. I wish they would say in ALL CAPS "NO FREE EFILE FOR STATE RETURNS!" Regardless, I still like turbo tax. It cost me $59.86 plus tax at Sam's for the premier version -- plus the $24.99 plus tax for the state efile: about $92 total. I feel like I saved about $200 as opposed to using a tax-preparer.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from two decades of great help for Turbotax Turbotax guides users painlessly through the most complex of capital gains, rental and deduction issues. It's truly a great value!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Fully Satisfied I've been using TurboTax for years and have always been satisfied. This year it seemed difficult to enter things for which there may have been an exception.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from my refund TurboTax has gotten a lot better about multiple states. I file three states and there software has really improved in that area. But I feel like turbo tax is more expensive than has been in the past. Bought the premier cd plus buy two states and then 50 bucks to E-file two of the states, the third won't let me E-file. Also noticed if tell turbo tax to take the fees from your refund they charge an additional 50 bucks for a " refund processing fee". Quickly backed up and paid with my debit card. Over all great software but I will test try someone else next year and compare to see if there cheaper.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confused I have been retired as a federal government employee for twenty years. I have received a 1009R, statement of annuity paid, every year. This year, the turbotax program categorized this income as payments from an IRA. It is not! The OPM payments are for my pension, nothing more. What is up with this?
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Morethanbefore It took a lot longer than i anticipated but well worth it. it asks more questions than a tax professional but again with Turbotax I am receiving a larger refund. Thank you Turbotax
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Remember stuff for me next time Please be more explicit about loss carryovers--what was from prior year, what will be carried forward, and how carryovers affected tax. Also, needs to be more explicit about all options when W-2 is wrong. Final review should show carryover used, carried forward, and marginal tax rate, and special taxes assessed.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind Expert guidance and links to the applicable IRS Guidelines and the convenience of the 'Its Deductible' blue book to estimate allowable values of donated items was a big plus. Walking you through each area is like having an agent holding your hand along the way. The Smart Check helps be another set of eyeballs before you file. Love the option to select the Audit Defense if needed. Simple to use and makes Tax Time far less mindboggling.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Going to a Great Dentist Using Turbotax is like going to a great dentist. All that fear about going and you come out with shiny healthy teeth. Things got complicated this year and with Premier version it just sorted everything out for me. We've been together a really long time Turbotax. You've outlasted a marriage.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slow and Freezes Turbo Tax was very slow in advancing from screen to screen and often froze up ("not responding" in Windows-speak). Eventually it would catch up and continue. Very frustrating. Also, on charitable contribution of items, Turbo Tax stated that I needed to provide addresses of charities receiving more than $500 in contributions. In a couple of cases I had to provide addresses where the donation was far less than the $500 limit. Finally, Turbo Tax created a Form 2210A... related to underpayments when I clearly paid far more in estimated taxes than I needed to. While I was able to delete the form, what happened made no sense to me.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This program is a mess to say the least!! It lied about the cost and it told me I would be able to talk to someone live and instead it had me read the answers to all my questions if I found them... I would NEVER EVER do it again!!! If you were filing a simple tax return it would be ok but if you have questions forget it!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Federal Portion was Great/MD state not so much I've used Turbo Tax for years and have never had a problem. As far as I know, until recently, the returns have been accurate (I've never been audited). For the past two tax years, I've been notified of an error from the state of MD, luckily to my benefit. This year I noticed that a lot of information necessary to complete the filings was not covered by Turbo Tax. I wish I had noticed earlier, or I would not have paid to efile through TT. Certainly if there are errors again, we will have a conversation. This will also be the deciding factor in whether I will continue to use this software. If the state program isn't accurate and I have to pay to e-file, I may as well do it on the state's website for free.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expensive & Time Waster The program continues to have problems with trying to report 1099-misc income. It's not consistent. The steps to complete a return take too long. The processing fees are too expensive. This product is pricing itself out of the market. I will go cheaper next year. The quality won't make me stay any longer.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful, saved money with help of accountant For simple returns, turbo tax is great. With complexity, such as depreciation, buying and selling of property, you still need an accountant
Date published: 2018-04-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_25, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1345, tr_4349
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 259ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.