TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another year, another successful filing Will use again as it coordinates with my quicken. Wish price for premier were lower. suggest allowing 2 free fed efiles and one free state efile and lowering price. would like discs to hit market earlier for ease of tax planning on cap gains, dividends, roth conversions, etc..
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is the best Turbo Tax has been my choice for quite a few year because of data downloads.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Refund! I love TurboTax. I've been using it since 1984 tax season when it was MacIntax. This year I was very disappointed when a change was made that no longer supported printing in Macintosh El Capitan for the 2017 tax year. El Capitan was supposed to be supported until the 2018 program.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TURBOTAX THANK YOU THIS WAS QUICK AND EASY TO FOLLOW AND THE HELP INFO WAS GREAT.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All in all I spent less time this year than in the previous years. Good Job.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Longtime user, very disappointed this year! I have used Turbotax for at least 10 years and have generally been very pleased with it. However, this year I struggled mightily with a situation that should be rather common and easily handled. I sold a rental property that had been occupied for part of the year. Your software makes it so difficult and confusing to enter the relevant information that I am still not sure I did it right. I had requested an extension back in April due to missing information, and found that I owed money due to capital gains. When I tried to e-file, software led me in circles around how to pay what I owed in federal and state taxes. I finally had to resort to going to each entity's website (IRS, state dept. revenue) and paying that way. I thought I had managed to e-file without paying through Turbotax, but today discovered that a) I had NOT actually e-filed, and b) it is impossible to do so after 10/15/18. Now I have to locate a printer, print out paper copies of all my taxes and send them in via U.S. mail. I am NOT a happy customer.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor handling of Roth IRA conversion The interview is getting harder to follow every year and this year I noticed an issue on my form 8606 that led me to find TurboTax has issues on my 8606 the last 2 years and my taxable income for last year, requiring 2 amended 8606 and 1 amended return with taxes due. The Roth IRA conversions require the taxpayer to go into the Wages and Income section, somewhere I"d never think to explore for IRA contributions and conversions. I think it's a very poor setup.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from improved
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Buggy My e-filings got rejected several times, missing important deadlines. The culprit?, a bug in the user authentication, where it asks for last years AGI. Only worked when I finally enrtered zero for that at the request of the tech support rep. Once I did that, then the IRS finally accepted my return, but now I am looking at possibly thousands of dollars in penalties for missing deadlines while troubleshootiung your bugs. After over thirty years of TTax use, I am fed up. Now also almost impossible to find the IRS instructions to a given entry in forms.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Simplicity 1) Bugs in software limiting direct entry into forms and worksheets 2) Software disallowed dependent going through step by step process over a dozen times. Finally, using assistance on line, had to delete dependent and then re-enter the same information. Turbo tax expert confirmed the issue on their copy. 3) Could not edit state tax refund from amended return without program deleting forms and worksheets. 4) Repeating Entries every time you go through topic.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I like the way the product takes you from the very beginning, all the way to sending the completed taxes. The itemization process and forms available for individual printing or PDF file saving.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not world class software I don't think TurboTax is a class act. A couple examples: * TurboTax does not automatically figure out if my CA state tax refund is taxable. I paid AMT last year AND used TurboTax '16 and yet TurboTax '17 makes you figure this out for yourself by going back to last year's TurboTax and grinding through it laboriously. What don't you guys understand about software that you can't automate that process and make it invisible to the user? * At the very last stage in filing my return, TurboTax would NOT let me file because my employer put $1900+ towards CA-SDI. The limit for CA-SDI is $998. Why is this flagged at the very last step AFTER going through all the check routines??? I checked my W2 and sure enough, my employer got it wrong. So why am I blocked from filing an accurate return that reflects my actual W2??? I figured out a way to finesse this rediculous problem, but it was 20 minutes of thrash before I got there. Thank you TurboTax may I have another. * There are numerous other clunky aspects to TurboTax. It is anything but slick. Seriously, do you guys talk to your customers?
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Led me thru to a full refund I have used TurboTax for years now, and it has never let me down.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loved TurboTax - until today!! I have used TurboTax for years. Today is the extention deadline, 10/15/18, and all information I have found says that e-file works through today. After dozens of tries (over an hour's time) I cannot pay to file our State with a credit card, as the "continue" button pales, and does not allow it to go forward. However, not surprisingly, the choice to pay the extra $39.99 out of our refund has no problem processing. I wanted to at least file the Federal return portion for free, as it is part of what I originally purchased, but the program will not allow me to drop the Tax Defense choice, even though the credit card option won't work. I have logged out, rebooted, and tried every other re-set strategy. This is unfair, as I will need to paper-file (unless I want to pay the exorbitant $39.99 to pay with our refund).
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would have been perfect, EXCEPT... Another bit, besides the Pros and Cons above: consider a checklist of the various sorts of ID info to gather in preparation for signing, filing, etc., especially for those filing jointly, perhaps for the first time after filing separately in the past. Getting up again and again for both sets of State ID numbers, prior year AGI values, and more, with the clock ticking closer to midnight, was extra pressure I could have done without. (Not THAT close, actually. It's after 10:30 pm but not yet 11, much less midnight. But still . . .). I still wouldn't have gone with anyone else's software. I'm a TurboTax fan for as long as I have income and, subsequently, taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you! Great! Helps us to prepare our own tax returns. Keeps information on file from previous years.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money, money, money! Have been using it for 7 years now (accountant retired), some years with other states (gambling). Have had some big filings due to business, always had what I needed. Fairly easy to get used to after the first time.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waaaay too much trouble at the end! I was asked the same question seven times about the name of my business. I'm self-employed and the box saying as such was checked so what else was I supposed to do?
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program I've used this program for several years now. It seems to get more comprehensive as time goes on. I look forward to using it in the years to come.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aweful- What Happended What happened to your product....Does it just suck on Mac or did it just go downhill!!! Please fix it!! And the review will only allow 5 stars...
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too complicated I am not sure why but every year I feel like turbo tax is getting harder and harder to use. I have been using it for over 20 years and I feel like it is getting harder and harder to use, the step by step guidance was very easy to understand in the past but getting harder to follow now. Maybe it is my tax situation that is changing but not so sure that this the reason.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good and easy to use. Maximizes return
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Living outside of the USA -Best app to file return I have been using TurboTax Premier for more than six years to file our tax returns. It covers most of the scenarios a US Person living outside of the US would encounter. In our case I did not require any outside help to prepare the returns. I can't imagine filing our return without using TruboTax. I purchased digital copy of TurboTax which made installation a breeze.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frustration TurboTax kept dropping the $1,000 payment filed with the extension--at 9:30 pm Oct. 15, 2018, nothing seemed to work. I went into the state form and over road the TurboTax entry. The amount stayed in the return past review and then disappeared.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Tax Return The overall process of completing the Federal Return is very good. The transition to the State returns isn't quite as smooth. Once you realized you need to go back to the Federal Return for some data, it becomes easier. I would highly recommend TurboTax to anyone with even a somewhat complicated return.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and efficient Overall I am happy to use turbo tax every year.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good bye Turbo Tax it's been nice Got a notice that Turbo Tax won't support the latest Mac OS that runs on my Mac next year. I don't think I'll be buying a new laptop just for the fun of using just this one application. Program spends 15 seconds after each input before it's ready for the next. So slow.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Filed and relieved It is so very nice to have the aide of the software to navigate through the tax requirements/documentation needed to file the taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Software! Extremely capable of handling trading accounts.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from review b;ue boxes are too low contrast for my old eyes!
Date published: 2018-10-15
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1397, tr_4555
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.