TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found Thousands in Deductions TurboTax has been a great option from its inception into the software marketingplace. You'll never be able to produce a product that satifies everyone, but this is as close as it gets. As the saying goes, it's difficult to get to #1, it's even more difficult to say #1 unless you truly are the Champ. TurboTax is the Champ !
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 So many questions, which made me wonder if your program was biased. I will definitely think twice about using your product next year.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Good & the BAD Generally a good program. After numerous tries was unable to send for free, had to mail returns.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use The program gets a little easier to use and navigate each year.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Can Trust TurboTax I'm a long-time user of TurboTax and its predecessor and I don't think there's anything better for individual tax returns. The smooth linkage with a broad range of financial institutions, which makes downloading relevant tax information rather than having to key it all in, is a real time saver. The smooth interface between federal and state returns is awesome, another big time saver. I've never had a problem with either my federal or state returns, which speaks to the thoroughness and accuracy of TurboTax. And, I like having the option to purchase Audit Protection for a few bucks for added peace of mind should the IRS decide to audit a return.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The tax would not upload to IRS due to "update requirements" but the instructions were not clear.Called the support line, but after 2.5 hours on the phone, no resolution and then was transferred to another support desk which left a message that will get a call in 28 minutes. Had to extend and file 3 days after the deadline.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Your Ohio state was NO HELP with a missing data item. I got all these messages about walking me through the problem and you dropped me cold!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 electronic tax return problems Sandra helped me understand that I was unable to electronically file because the IRS system broke down. She explained that the IRS extended the deadline for filing to April 22, 2018. Also she taught me that since I am expecting a refund, I would NOT have been penalized for filing after the deadline. Overall, my phone support service was pleasant and quick! Thank you for all your help.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AGI was 174K- told me I could not contribute to IRA after contributions to my 401K- do not believe that is correct however did not have time to research further.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Near Miss Turbo Tax is always my go to. Filing late makes you jump through a hoop of buying and downloading software... ok. Then theres the fact that you can't E-File which you don't find out until the very last step... less ok, but whatever. Then theres the mail it in step... but the software freezes when you choose the file by mail option. Let's say that it's a legal reason that you have to file by mail the fact that I paid money for this software and if fails right at that point of filing that's a HUGE FAIL.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problem with spouses in different states I have used TT for years and am generally pleased with it. However, my husband and I separated and this last year lived in different states. TT could not deal with this situation, although it cannot be that rare. At least they explained a workaround, which is cumbersome.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes life easier Had various different things happen for this year's taxes. TurboTax guided me through the pieces the first time I worked through my paperwork. Then, when I made small changes, I could select just the parts I knew had to be changed. I've used TurboTax for a loooong time, and like that I know what information to collect before bringing up the software to enter the info.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best refund yet helped me to find how to enter my 401 ks and other information about investments
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deficiency Complaint I've been doing my own taxes for over 30 years as a USA resident and using Turbo Tax program as long as it has been available. I'm generally happy with the software. I've had some complications over the years and, therefore, use the Premier version. However, my primary disappointment is the lack of details for individuals with foreign (i.e. Canadian) capital and investments.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Getting status on filing not sure yet if I have filed. Answers from Turbo Tax are nonexsistent and cannot get a live person on line to help. I have used TT for over 20 years and this is first time it has been totally screwed up in helping me file. I also do taxes for AARP and we would be out of business if we could not provide answers to our customers. 1-10 scale, TT is 0 right now.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Review of Premier Version Since I sold stocks in 2017 I needed to calculate my cost basis, from reading the difference between between Deluxe and Premier I thought by upgrading I would get additional help. After paying the $30 for the premier and downloading it there appeared to be no difference between the two other than it said I had the Premier. It was a complete waste of money.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Paid more tax Spent two hours myself and then three hours on phone with TurboTax consultant entering Foreign Tax Credit and could not complete due to software bug. Gave up!! Paid more tax for lack of Tax Credit. TurboTax should have hot-line for the Consultant or Client to call for Software Technician to research and correct software bug and download corrected software to all users. Also E-filed return on 4-12-18 for debit on 4/17/2018. Had to refile again on 4/19/2018 after no debit to bank account. TurboTax should have confirmed to client of IRS acceptance or non-acceptance on 4/17/2018.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good software with a surprize The review, print, and print for filing are not clear, and I got several duplicates.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy by Turbo Tax
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Present downstream effect upfront All you have to do is tell the consumer what will happen based on which path they follow, e.g., if you do this, then your tax will go up/down. Improve backward navigation, so I don't have to go through each screen, i.e., show me what I have entered and take me directly to that page with just one click. Be more informative about home offices. I ran past the deadline for filing because I saw the deduction analysis and thought I should delete the home office only to find my tax went up. I then had to re-enter everything for the home office. BTW, what happens when I sell my home? Is there a tax effect because I took the deductions for a home office? TurboTax needs to focus on the presentation of entered data as well as in-stream guidance.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use User friendly, step by step guidance.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Owed more than I estimated I owed much more than I estimated and couldn't pay the entire amount. It would be nice if Turbo Tax had an option to pay a partial amount when I file my taxes, rather than having to pay thru the IRS website or by mail.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Error: 102345 Could not submit return due to error 102345. Had to start all over and then had to pay for a state form even though it was included in the Turbo Tax premier. Will definitely look into using a different software next year.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Money would be better spent elsewhere The program itself is terrible. The only reason I'm giving 2 stars is for the awesome support I got on Twitter. Next year I'm going with a CPA where I can know what I'm getting in to on the front end. I was fine with the cost of the software. I got pretty annoyed when I had to pay for a second state tax form when I've not even lived in the second state for 3 months. It really escalated when I paid for the additional state to then have to pay a very small amount to said state. I almost lost it when e-filing cost me an additional $25 just to file a second state that I already paid for and paid money to. And finally, to think that it makes any kind of sense to throw in the charge of $40 to deduct in from my return is absolutely stupid. When it was all said and done, I paid over $200, half of which because of living in a state for 3 months. The amount I paid isn't the problem, but rather the fact that TurboTax isn't upfront about any of it. Aside from price, the software was buggy. Kept crashing and making me input info that didn't exist without any way around it. To cap it off, having the update the software just so I can file my taxes is straight stupid. If I don't want to update, I shouldn't have to. All in all, a terrible experience and I won't ever recommend or use again. But props to the Twitter specialist that helped me out.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair I have been using TurboTax for over a decade. When it first came out, it was amazing. However, it has not kept up with the times. I am continuing to find the program tedious. Surprisingly, it is not hooked up to various organizations for the W-2. Also, I have to type unnecessary information repeatedly.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax rocks! Have been using turbo tax for 12 years through many major life changes and this was the first time I had been rejected by IRS. But turbo tax was immediately at my rescue telling me exactly what I needed to do and I was able to re e-file. All went great. Thanks TurboTax!!!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely done Still smooth for an experienced hand (me) but hard to explain to another if you don't have the 1040 form populating. The intelligent 1040 form doesn't have the necessary look and feel to easily compare to the actual 1040.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So frustrating I have used turbo tax for the past 10 years or more and every year it is harder to navigate. Need to get to the forms I need easier and change and find stuff easier.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Final Review is done at the time of e-filing. It should be done earlier.
Date published: 2018-04-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1343, tr_4349
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 115ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.