TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tough time with bit numbers Wealthfront is computer controlled investment tool that can generate 10,000 stock buy and sell transactions in a single year. TurboTax has a difficult time with a large number of transactions. You need to do this import first, as it won't accept it once you've imported other files. Once the large set of transactions is imported, the program is very slow. In general, this was difficult and there should be a solution for this as it is becoming more common.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have used TurboTax for many years. This year the program ate my entered information several times. I would open the return and nothing was there. Next time I am using a different software company.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tubo tax Premier Need to have a place to pay other taxes to counties
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Alright I guess... So, you can't just delete a K-1. I mean, you CAN but the blank fields will constantly pop on the internal review TurboTax does and there is no way to just remove it easily (or there is no intuitive way). Additionally stock fields (sales) will sometime spawn odd headers and I'll have to go back, and redo about twice more. (I know what I want it to say TurboTax, don't add what you want to the header to make it harder to parse!) End State- Yeah, I will use TurboTax next year I guess...
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Product I paid to be able to prepare my state return. I don't like having to pay again to e-file that return. Also I don't like that I have to buy the Premier Edition just because a sold a stock. That used to be covered in the Deluxe Edition. Overall still a very good product.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo EZ I have been using Turbo Tax for many years. Each subsequent release was always better than the prior ones. I especially liked the import process where you no longer had to log in to each site. It was brilliant to just key in the account # and document ID. The information was right in your hand. I have never completed my tax return as quickly as fhis time.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but not Mike & Ebbie Missing most 3800 related forms. No warning of factors that knock out efile. BIG PROBLEM--I had to return to the forms AFTER clicking efile and getting the "like putting it in the mail" warning when efile then did an "Uh, we didn't realize this until now but you cannot efile..."!! This almost required an unexpected Post office run of 30 miles! DUMB!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved again - my buddy Start early, give TT a chance, try the assistance they offer... If you don't know what the numbers mean, may be time for a pro. TT been my buddy for MANY years!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 TurboTax Eval I would never be able to do my taxes without TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I've been a confident Premium user for years and am shocked how much people pay for someone else to do the data entry. Each year gets easier and easier due to data, info and tools out there. I'd only like TTax to add more help content for some of the vague IRS nuances, maybe I should just start earlier next time.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deficient With 64-bit computers (even your phone is a 64-bit computer), you can address more atoms than there are in the universe. But turbotax cannot handle more than 3,000 stock transactions. Their software should remove the limitations they imposed in the 1980s. New version will require OS upgrade for no good reason.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Getting Worse Each Year The search help field has become virtually useless. What comes back is a jumble of mostly unrelated and weak statements. The "LeadMe" needs to link to line by line help and to useful "Where do I find this number." There was no useful help on "Foreign Dividend Amount " asked for in quick check process. Example of poor use of imported data: Morning Star import had the answer for Foreign Dividend Amount but TurboTax did not use it. Instead I had to go to Forms View and find what I guess was the right number but the vocabulary did not correlate well. I will be looking around for other DIY software for next year. Eventually I got through the reviews but after submission but got back message that both VA State and Federal were rejected. Now to go try to figure out why. The msg promises help but we will see.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would have given a 5 but I had health insurance for a self employed individual and it took me over an hour to figure out where to report it. Help did not help at all. It sent me to medical deductions.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from getting better I have been using TurboTax for many years and generally like the improvements it has made. I like the flags as I don't always have all the documents ready but need just to make estimates. It would be nice to have an automatic way to signify that it is an estimate and that an updated entry was needed to be entered at a later date. Then be automatically be able to get back to those with just a click or two. Or maybe have a separate estimate return worksheet/file but later would transfer over to the real return when updated. I really wish there was a way to copy a page or parts of a page. I end up taking screen shots and it very cumbersome, why not just let me copy pages. At least it is getting better to be able to see what I downloaded. However, after downloading, from my broker, I had to go to the actual tax statement to get some information on foreign tax (the amount was there but not the income or source) and also there was a 1099 Misc that was downloaded but without all the info I needed to complete the form. I wish it tell me before I start on all the deductions what the standard and person deductions are. Since I no longer have a mortgage interest deduction, it is unlikely for me to exceed it and then I could skip all the deduction questions. There are several questions that require choices that don't really fit or aren't really accurate but maybe that is the tax code. When I got some 1099 income (that actually was from my stock broker that didn't really say what it was for), I got an error then it asked for profession code. At this point I could not find where it would give me a list of them... I had to Google and look around several sites....
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok, except if you have K-1's My major gripe is the section on K-1s is EXCRUCIATING. You cannot uncheck a checked box or remove an entry without going into forms and deleting, but the worst part is having to enter MULTIPLE K-1 forms for the same K-1 document! Professional tax software doesn't make you do this. Be warned, it is not for the timid.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Filing is painful Trying to file state returns. Rejects because it says the issue date on my drivers license is wrong, but I have verified 3 times
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Been using TurboTax for 15 years. Great for easy step when needed, and great for filling in forms directly when needed. intuitive, straight-forward. e-file is great.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too many clicks and drama I have been using Turbotax for many years, even though I don't think it is really getting better, and instead it gets costlier with time, most notably last year when prior Deluxe features migrated to Premier (there was a one-time credit offered, but it was too much trouble to obtain). Anyway, my specific complaint has to do with the e-filing process. I was in the process of e-filing, just prior to the deadline - to be specific, the deadline for the 6-month extension, but don't judge; if I had it done earlier, I don't know that I would have chosen to use Turbotax - when out of the blue, my description of my bank was deemed insufficient, and instead the program needed the full mailing address. Now I bank with Bank of America, so I don't really even know what this means: the local branch, the headquarters, what? Besides, once I have specified the bank routing number and account number, is this really needed? Most importantly, it threw me for a loop, just minutes before I was about to run out of time.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy use I've been using TT for as long as I can remember. this year I had a more complex return and they were on the phone walking me thru it (on October 15th). I really enjoyed that. it put my mind at ease that I had it right.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Crashes during e-file on Mac OS High Sierra For unknown reasons every time I've had to file for an extension to file the Turbotax desktop software can't do it. I need to do it online and then tell the desktop software that I mailed the extension request. This is just a minor inconvenience and I'm not super annoyed by it. This year however when I got to the end and started e-filing the software would not continue and just keep crashing and crashing. I did figure out that it was the MacOS upgrade to High Sierra that happened a few weeks ago and luckily for me we had a Mac at home that I could use to finish the e-filing process. However this should have been tested by Intuit given that this is one of their flagship products and there should not be last minute surprises with this.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continues to be useable Suggest that you emphasize purchasing TurboTax via online download rather than on a CD - many newer laptops do not have CD drives, making it difficult to download from a CD.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & fast to file Simple & comprehensive means to file for extension, amend, and eFile. Great experience & convenient
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from E-Filing Always Involves More Questions E-filing should not generate further questions when the Turbo-Tax "Final Review" has been run and all resulting questions answered.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from when you're done, you're not done After you're done filing, you have to click on "continue" countless times to answer questions, rate the app, invite friends, and go through "analyses" that consist only of blank screens. Refund analysis: blank. Income analysis: blank. Deductions analysis: blank. Credits analysis: blank.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from have used turbotax for years and generally happy with it. a lot more questions this year and was charged for state when it says its free
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too cumbersome and complex Have used for past 10 years and now seems very dated and painful to use - hard to find and fix errors, repeats asking questions when you are trying to correct, the help is basically very unhelpful, Doesn't provide useful answers except for the most basic questions. I know you can do better than this and make more intuitive -- my family situation is not that complex
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Inadequate Instructions re Computer I tried to run TurboTax 2016 on my IMac, which I have used for many years. Only then did learn that Turbo does not maintain flexibility to use same computer even though Apple continues to update the IMac. This defeats the main reasons a customer keeps buyingTurbo: rollover of basic data and year/over/year comparisons. Also, Turbo provides no guidelines on how to transfer the prior tax year records to a newer computer. Example: I prepared our 2016 1040 on my newer MacBook because the 2016 Turbo ran OK on it. But I still have no year/year comparability for earlier years. This seems easily fixed but there is no sign that Turbo appreciates my repeat business - or the business of anyone else that sticks with your products. By definition, taxes go on and on -- you should look at this factor. It's frustrating. By the way, skip the nickname idea - unnecessary. I wasted time trying to come up with an unused name.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & fast to file Simple & comprehensive means to file for extension, amend, and eFile. Great experience & convenient
Date published: 2017-10-15
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1975, tr_5209
  • loc_, sid_800_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 127ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.