TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4.1 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbo tax was helpful in getting me the opportunity to file my return and then to go over and redo
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incorrect Tax forms My mom sold her house. I entered the data in accordance with the interview but the software doesn't fill out the form 8949 and Schedule D correctly. Even worse it added back selling costs on the AMT form and showed extra taxes of more than 7000. Good thing I didn't just file it.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbotax It saves us money having someone else punch the number into a program!
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Owed but confident it was correct Owed money to both the Feds and the State but extremely confident that the return was correct. I filed an extension just so I could have a CPA review it for accuracy. He found no errors and was extremely satisfied with the way Turbo Tax asked the questions.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Software The software walks you through basic returns with ease, however, unusual items can be difficult to find and work out. For instance, an extension was filed for my state return and the full balance was not paid with the extension; the software should know that it needs to add interest to the balance due and provide a place to enter the actual filing date to cut off the interest calculation instead of running it all the way out to the extended filing date of Oct 15th. Also, a "mask SSN" print option should be added as taxpayers frequently need copies of their tax returns for banks and mortgage companies.
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to do updates! On Federal, unlike State, very difficult to print Estimated Tax forms without printing entire tax return. I just got my last K-1 (1065) forms and had to update Turbo Tax with latest information, including estimated taxes. I do a lot of stock trading, so estimates need to be updated, reflecting success or lack thereof in trades through the year. Turbo Tax does not allow me to do this easily and then print new revised estimated tax forms. Yes, it can be done, but took me the better part of an hour to load the two new K-1s (easy), adjust the resulting refund to apply to next year (difficult), and then calculate (easy) and print (hard) new estimated quarterly payments, Fed and state, for the second half of the year.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Experienced some problems 1. TT said they improved my State Return and made it easier. I found the first number of screens on the State Return confusing and not helpful. This needs to be changed next year. I wasted some time trying to figure out what TT was trying to say. 2. As part of the final sign out process TT asked for our drivers license information for security purposes. However it would NOT accept the formats used by my state. This needs to be corrected
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed to file return. When searching the IRS site for "where's my return", I discovered it had never been filed. Somehow TurboTax let me think it had been filed, and even had my file copy dated 4/15/2018, but it didn't happen. Even if it was a communication problem, or misinterpretation of instructions, there should be a fail safe built in - perhaps a confirmation message or follow up message if the filing date was missed for any reason. Spoiled my entire experience of timely self filing.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing forms preclude filing - no support of valu I have not been able to file my Fed and CA returns due to a recording warning that I need updated forms in order to file. Updating does absolutely nothing, and there is no useful support. I have been using since decade ago, and never had such problems with no path to solutions of any use... 2017 = fail Turbotax
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 Turbo Tax for 2017, as always, was fairly easy to use. However, correcting errors which came along with downloads from brokers was impossible.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hidden Charge for State e-file Turbo tax does not make it obvious until the final step that there is a $25 fee to e-file a state return. If the state return is "included" in the premier edition, it should be stated that e-filing is extra. If it so states, it is not obvious (I had income while temporarily residing in OH)
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ahhhh,...mostly okay. Have used for some number of years. Experience mostly good. I don't like that you need new software every year. I don't like that the "included" list gets shorter every year, and we have to use more expensive product. For 2017, there were a lot of difficulties e-filing after using e-file for many years. Turbo Tax really could help with these problem, and the software was not good at coming up with a work-around. No refund for e-file charges. Ended up printing the forms and filing by mail. I don't like that TurboTax prints out so many work pages. I would prefer to just be able to print out the forms that are submitted. That a fairly basic filing should take 75 pages is ridiculous.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Headaches by the dozen Could not get around to make it connect to submit my return. it kept giving me an error 2 and try again later....I change all kinds of security settings in my compouter to no avail....now I am not sure how my computer is set up. I even try to contact them and sent an email but no response
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Allows Me To Do My Own Taxes Without TurboTax I would never attempt to do my own taxes. But with it, I feel I can do my taxes in a complete and honest way, and it keeps me in touch with tax law. I have learned so much about how our tax system works by using TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just a few tweeks along the way Overall A-.... as far as accuracy and coverage those are excellent. Any issues I have encountered have always and only been in the UI.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How about a redo?Yes Been using TurboTax for about 10 years. It hasn't changed or improved over the last decade. Yes, there is the adage, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." However, if it ain't that good, why not fix it, esp with tax reform. If I'm not mistaken, the operating system is still somewhat dos based. I mentioned endless loops. For example this year I tried to complete the Foreign Tax Exemption, but I knew I didn't qualify. Even though I said I didn't want you to consider either of our incomes, still form 2555 was not removed & wouldn't let me move forward. I had to go into form view & delete the form. I mention this for 2 reasons. One, I hope to qualify for Foreign Tax Exemption, so I hope to "fix" that module so it's more understandable. Two, this is not the first time I've gotten into endless loops where I had to "trick" the system by deleting forms or entering negative numbers to get the balance back to zero. I hope with tax reform, TurboTax will take the leap to the 21st century and come out with a redo. I know the launch maybe difficult next year, but that is expected whether you rebuild the system from the ground up or not, and you will be a better platform for the future.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of use I started using Turbo Tax this past busy season; I will never go back to manual tax return preparation.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making Taxes easier I love this program. It makes doing may taxes simple and easy while providing step by step instructions. The only item that appears different from the great application that I'm use to is It's Deductible. Usually it is included and the packaging says it is but it seems to only be able to import from the Web version of It's Deductible. usually you can do either, online or within the program; seems online is the only option now.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok - trouble with foreign income Needed to manually adjust From 1116 to correctly calculate the reduction in foreign tax credit based on foreign earned income exclusion.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAPPY This is the second year I used turbotax and am very satisfied with it. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Program missed inclusion of pension withholdings Even though annual data value for w/h on pension was entered on data form from 1099R, this info was omitted from the appropriate line on 1040. This was not noticed in review before submittal and necessitates filing an amended return. Instructions for this are not clear or easy to perform. A walk through may be needed to achieve this.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tax Preparation Product I've been using Turbo Tax for years and as usual it was easy to file. The only issue I had was the lack of prompts for rental property deductions. I was able to catch it during the review, so I guess that's a good thing. Will buy it again next year.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Easy to Complete I've tried other vendors, but have found Turbo Tax the easiest to use and accurate in filing. Support is available if needed.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it is finished! I have used Turbo Tax for a number of years and it is worth the price that I pay for the software
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Difficult Version
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Incorrect/Questionable Return The IRS sent me a letter dated March 15, 2018. It stated that they were delaying my $2905 refund and conducting a review of my return information. The letter says that one or more of the following is a reason for the review: Income you reported on your return; Income tax withholding mounts you reported on your return; Claims for tax credits you made on your return; Business income you reported on your return. As I had no business income, am very certain of the income reported, and had no claims for credits, I surmise that the withholding amounts for one or more quarters must be in dispute. Yet turbotax 2018 premier version did not indicate any error. I remember filling in information for form 2210 during the final check of my return, an assumed that the information was correct when the turbotax program accepted it. But I must have been wrong. Is there any way that Intuit can help in this matter? Thank You!
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way Easy The process was a lot easier than I imagined. I did it at my own pace which allowed me time to fish for and gather information, especially expenses I forgot about. This is the first time I did my own taxes. I love the "hand holding" process and step by step guide. I felt safe, secure and in control. I never imagined doing taxes could be a pleasant experience. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Customer I have been using Turbo Tax for years and I have never been let down. The directions and yearly updates keep me from having to do a lot of research work and from paying an accountant for the work I can do myself. I certainly plan on continuing the use of Turbo Tax in the years to come. The ole saying "keep it simple" is what Turbo Tax does.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Refiling Headaches with Audit Defense My original e-filing was rejected for some inexplicable reason -- totally unacceptable because I didn't do anything wrong and I've been using turbo tax for many years now. On top of this, upon refiling my return turbotax kept forcing me to repurchase Audit Defense which I had already purchased for this tax year. It forced me to enter my credit card info rather than presenting an option to input the invoice confirmation from the previous purchase. I really, really hope I'm not double charged for this service. This notwithstanding, the Turbo tax app should NOT FORCE YOU TO REPURCHASE Audit defense. It should have at least given me a way to "uncheck" the option to purchase Audit Defense again. THIS SUCKS BIG TIME!!! I wasted a lot of time trying to work around this problem and then ended up having to recharge my credit card. Again, I sure hope you folks at Intuit do not double charge me. This is completely unacceptable and insane for me to have to go through this hassle after purchasing the "Premium" version of Turbo Tax
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thank goodness I am done! Used TT for many years. Foreign tax section easier this year. When you leave a page and sign out, it would be nice if it took you back to same page. Also sometimes it removes answers in the section when you do this, and that is frustrating to have to retype in info. I'd add a save on each page to assure user that each page is going to remain what the user put in. I'll continue to use next year.
Date published: 2018-05-20
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1358, tr_4431
  • loc_, sid_800_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 180ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.