TurboTax Premier CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier software makes tax filing easy. It calculates investment & rental property tax deductions to get you a bigger tax return.Efile taxes online with TurboTax. Choose easy.

Learn more

4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quicken Data Downloaded To TurboTax Tax summary report in Quicken did not exactly correlate line for line with TurboTax to easily check for download accuracy. For example medical insurance in the same Quicken category split into two separate Schedule A lines in TurboTax.
Date published: 2019-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible Assistance I was trying to apply a Federal over payment from the prior year as a refund and I entered the amount on the tax return 1040 and the software said it was an error. In my efforts there was no information on how to correct the software error or comment. Totally frustrated by your product.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have used for over a Decade I have used Turbo Tax from the beginning. I have never had a problem until this year for the 2018 tax year. I could not get my new computer to read the files from the older operating system therefore had to start from scratch. Big negative! First time ever I had to file for an extension. Turbo Tax deactivated my account because I let it sit loo long without activity. I had no idea this would happen. Major problem at the last minute when it was time to file. After years of no problems this year was horrific from start to finish. Enough so I'm not sure I'll use it next year. The gentleman that helped me on the phone was wonderful but 24 - 48 hours for a response cannot help when the post office closes in less than an hour.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useful -- if you're already a tax expert Pros: Turbotax allowed me to complete my tax returns myself Cons: 1) As someone who is not a professional tax preparer, I do not find Turbotax very user-friendly. In particular, the explanations of the interview questions are frequently unhelpful. Typically when I don't understand whether a rule referenced in an interview question applies to me I read the accompanying explanation, which gives one or two examples of when the rule might apply but doesn't give a non-example or any guidelines explaining why it wouldn't; generally my situation doesn't match the example situations, but I'm left wondering if the difference between them is significant enough to disqualify me. Without more information, and without the time to do significant research, I'm left to guess. (Before Intuit publishes Turbotax each year, they should have laypeople read their explanations and give feedback.) In addition, once Smart Check is happening the error messages tend to be written in the (rather opaque) language of the tax form instead of the language of the interview -- something like, "Box 26c (RFQ) requires a value from 0-5" -- and the (presumably non-expert) user must figure out how to interpret this. When this happens I usually have to go to the tax form itself to figure out what's going on, which makes me wonder why I shelled out the money for a program that's supposed to interpret those forms for me. 2) I found the timing of the error checks very peculiar. I prepared returns for both my spouse and me and then ran them both through Smart Check several times; no errors were found. I subsequently went through all the steps to e-file the returns, and was in the process of submitting them. Only then did Turbotax announce that it had found an omission (in both returns) of some information (which it presented to me in a very opaque manner, as I mentioned above, and which I had to puzzle through on the tax form itself). I don't understand why a) Turbotax had failed to ask me for that information (about the taxpayer's spouse's state residency status) in the interview stage, and b) why it had failed to notice that omission during any of the earlier error checks. It was just a stroke of luck that I wasn't submitting at my usual time of 11:58 PM: one trusts that when the Smart Check says the taxes are error-free, that the taxes are error-free. 3) It is annoying to have to enter information from paper forms box-by-box into Turbotax -- there is a huge chance of error, both through mistyping and through mismatches between what boxes are on the form and what fields are on the screen. While Turbotax has the option of importing from banks and brokerage houses, I often find that this function does not work. I would like to see a function added to the program that would use my computer's webcam to scan forms from my financial institutions and transfers the data directly into my tax return. 4) I find it frustrating that there is no way of knowing whether I actually did my taxes correctly. I got a really big refund and my spouse owed a lot of money, and I don't know if that's due to the intricacies of the tax code or because I messed up somewhere; Turbotax didn't find any errors, but that doesn't mean I didn't make any. Turbotax checks my work, but it is limited by what I have inputted: if I did not understand a question correctly, or if I interpreted a tax situation incorrectly, the program won't know that I messed up. I realize that there any computer program is limited by user input, but either a) the program should be more helpful in the way it collects my input, or b) the program should do a better job of educating me as I go through it so that I can do a better job of determining whether I used it correctly, or both. Otherwise, I'm left wanting to take my Turbotax returns to a professional tax preparer to check my work for me, which defeats the whole purpose of using Turbotax. 5) Intuit makes a big deal about how Turbotax is good because it gets users a big refund. I think this is somewhat deceitful: I think what makes a tax program good is whether it results in users submitting a correct return. A big refund doesn't help me if I messed up and have to give it back. By advertising big refunds, Intuit is basically avoiding the question of quality control.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboCharged with TurboTax As with each year I have used TurboTax, it was easy to use. An additional great feature is the carry-over feature that allows information from the prior year's filings to be carried over to the current year. Its a time saver because it eliminates having to enter information that has not changed from the previous year.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEst Just Keeps Getting Better and Better I have used TurboTax for no less than ten years running. IT JUST GETS EASIER and more thorough every year! Help dialogue screens are ALWAYS most helpful; I use the "walk me through my return" option and the interaction gets easier and more effective each year !!!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Endless hoops Why can't you offer a product where you can buy TT, the states you want, AND e-file, all at the same time? Instead you keep springing it on us at the very end of the process when we are trying to file the return, then log in and pay for the states you want, then back, oh then you need to pay to e-file in those states - but there is a 3 state limit (why?), then back in, e-file, and then do it all again for the states past the limit. Again, this comes ALL right at the END, when you are trying to file the return and it takes 30 minutes to just get all the extra payment things out of the way, not to mention surprise inquiries about your DL number. Any reason why you can't get that info in the beginning? It would save a LOT of aggravation. TT has the tax part down - but the non-user friendly part of the actual e-file part leaves a lot to be desired!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very dissapointed This is the last time I will use Turbotax. My grievances are many 1/ did not find last year filing (filed with turbotax with the same email address) 2/Does not support "Opportunity zones", what kind of premium package is it. 3/ When errors are made in K1 Turbotax does not tell you where. 4/Network help is useless I have used Turbotax for more than 10 years and never again.
Date published: 2019-10-16
  • y_2019, m_11, d_7, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1155, tr_4249
  • loc_, sid_800_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 316ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

* Important Offer Details and Disclosures

TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.

  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed/ for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.

  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.

  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.

  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. For the Assist & Review product, if your return requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. For the Full Service product, the tax expert will sign your return as preparer. Administrative services may be provided by assistants to the tax expert. Payment by federal refund is not available when a tax expert signs your return. On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.

  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.

  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.

  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.

  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.

TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99.

  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Audit Support Guarantee:
  • If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.

  • TurboTax Free Guarantee:
  • $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.

  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).

TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • Installation requirements: Product activation required via Internet. Install on up to 5 of your computers. Download option requires free online Intuit account. You must accept the TurboTax License Agreement to use this product (www.TurboTax.com/softwarelicense). Not for use by paid preparers.

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.

  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2018 TurboTax products.

  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2017 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2017 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.