TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intuitive, but irritating at times TurboTax is relatively easy to use. The help features are great. I did however find the ads peppered throughout the program irritating and some misleading, almost intentionally deceptive. Finally, some parts of the program are difficult to access if you want to review all the steps you've accomplished.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from expensive Its great just like the past years, but a bit more expensive. Worth the not to worry feeling
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Contradictions The running total of taxes owed/due is sometimes difficult to understand. Further, it is difficult to investigate the sources of tax liability at the end of the reporting process. Last, the filing process provided recommendations that led to my return being rejected. The solution was simple, but I had to invest further time in what is supposed to be an easy process.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I couldnt even submit my federal return now i have to send it late and print it out! :(
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems throughout, failed at the finish Several issues arose while completing my return that were very tricky to fix. One related to forms for an HSA that I did NOT have, and the only solution was to delete those forms (which I only learned about through a Help posting that happened to mention it). The TurboTax software itself did not offer any solution to the problem. To correct a statement related to foreign taxes, again the only way I found to do that was to delete the form and re-do it. Finally, after fixing everything and e-filing, my returns were REJECTED because TurboTax insisted that my Direct Debit be one day AFTER I filed while the IRS insisted that my Direct Debit date be the same date that I file - those are in direct contradiction, so is it impossible to e-file and pay on the same day?? Now I face late payment penalties because of this. Yes, it would have been ideal to file before the final day, but certainly it should be possible with TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible turbotax failed to submit my return which caused me to have to pay late penalty. Would not recommend.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Updated review: my taxes rejected TurboTax was easy to file and find deductions. BUT my Fed and State were rejected due to an error. That's not on TurboTax but the PROBLEM. The 'guide you through...' process did NOT let me correct ALL the errors at ONE time. I am on my 4th filing now and wondering if it will get rejected again!! Frustrated!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I cannot give 0 so I give 1 I was charged $200 (75$ extra) becauce I cannot remove services which the program adds without asking! When I contacted the turbotax for refund they didnt reply! Their customer service is awful. Every year it gets worse!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit disappointing I have several tax-exempt bonds, and entering the State-ID for each bond was a nightmare. It asked for the State ID twice, and the second time, you could not change the value. If you tried, TurboTax would crash. In addition at some point the tax data became corrupted (showing the amount owed to be inexplicably high). The source appeared to be the Dividends section. The Dividend summary showed one amount, but if you actually clicked into the Dividend section, a smaller (and more accurate) amount would display. Unfortunately TurboTax was using the summary amount to calculate the tax owed. I finally had to start over, as even if I deleted every Dividend, the summary amount was nonzero (in fact it wasn't even close to zero). This is the first time this has happened, but it would be nice if there was a way to resolve it without resorting to clearing and starting over.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super hard to enter NQSO Last time I'm using Turbotax. The NQSO option for Schedule D changes every year and I waste so much time. No thanks!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its simple I have used turbotax for many years, its always been satisfying. Long time ago after doing turbotax, I went to a professional to get some validation. The professional got the same result. Now my taxes are fairly simple, I do itemize deductions. Its very easy to step through , plenty of assistance if needed. Allows me the flexibility of time and allows me to gather up my documents at my leasure. I love that I can access my previous data whenever I want. Also TurboTax fills in any carryover etc. automatically which is a great feature for do it yourselvers. Overall excellent.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from turbo tax is awesome! We've been using turbo tax for several years and wouldn't consider using anything else!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely Recommend I have used Turbo Tax for years. I love being able to do my taxes in the privacy and comfort of my home. Using TT allows me to get file my taxes easily and quickly as well as receive my refund without issue. I also like having access to my returns for future use, if needed.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficulty Navigating; Would let me go back Overall it is a good product, but the ability to go back and update what I had already done was very difficult. Often I wouldn't even get the same screens, but it would ask me the same questions. It is not very intuitive. I'd say at least 3 of the 6 hours it took me to do my taxes were just trying to navigate the tool.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Down to the Wire I've been using TT for years - and it definitely saves my bacon every time!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from expert help The help from the online Experts was very helpful. First time I had used this service. Great addition !!!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh I put in for a callback..my first one immediately got disconnected after I got to the agent and didn't get a callback. The next day I put in for one that didn't get returned, and then finally I got through to someone today. He was super helpful. Ended up having to do ANOTHER callback because they tried upcharging $74.99 to talk to a cpa which they transferred me to. Got help..they resolved it, I would give it a comfortable 3.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laura reviewed my taxes Laura, was a great help. She explained the process that made me feel very relax. She walked though the process step by step with me. Thanks Laura for all you have done. BMaynard
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great My mother was a CPA before she passed in January 2017. She showed me your product and explained that it was just as good as me making her do my taxes every year. She said she wouldn't be around forever to do them for me and it was something I needed to know to continue in life, so one day when I was younger we sat together in our living room. She walked me through the process, explaining things as we went, but it's so easy to use after just one time with her behind me, I had got it. Filed by myself the next year (with her double checking everything after), and every year since. The product is top notch, your extended services are great and reasonably priced. Couldn't be happier and I know mom would be happy to see me doing these things like the man she raised me to be (even though I was late this year, but what mama don't know, don't hurt her). Thank you.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not really Really had problems finding the right answer on employee stock options.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked it! So Easy to Use! This was the best and easiest way I’ve completed my taxes! TurboTax walks you through everything using the smilies terms compared to those others out there.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soo easy Always the easiest way to file your own taxes!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use the live expert option!! Met with Brenda (CPA) on the phone -- she was GREAT. Got me through the difficulty of selling a rental property for the first time. All the yays.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trapped I found the general format familiar and comfortable. There was no guidance for filling in missing information. In the past I was able to use Deluxe Turbotax with no problems. Now I was forced to go to Premier and Turbotax would not continue my return unless I did. I deeply resent the fact that I could not print my state return and send it in. Turbotax insisted that I delete it before I could send the federal return. I feel coerced into efiling both returns. I will be looking elsewhere next year.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Dependable Overall TurboTax has always been a great, dependable service. I do question the different prices and added services. Then again, that's the case with them all.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost panicked but didn't have to! When I first completed my taxes, I owed a SIGNIFICANT amount of money. I knew it couldn't be right, but where to begin? Going through TurboTax's tooltips helped me find that I missed some supplemental paperwork that I usually don't work with every year. Disaster averted, I went to be very satisfied.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very thorough and easy to use Very thorough and easy to use but can be confusing and overwhelming at times. Fortunately, it has great help.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Confused I'm confused as to whether I filed an extension or not. I clicked the "do extension" buttons, but no confirmation, and the continue buttons just guide you along to finishing the filing as if I'm not extending. I liked TT better in past years, and don't feel as confident now. Also, it keeps prodding as you go to add additional charges.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from IMHO I really like the step by step approach that Turbotax provide. The people are helpful if you can get hold of them they really spent a good amount of time and patience in helping me. I would however like to be able to have same features available on desktop and online. e.g., the audit meter is available on deluxe and above (desktop version) but not for online. It would also be nice if turbo tax don't ask too much personal id info especially in the age of online identity theft. Finally, I wish i can just call support without having to fill out forms. Oh by the way instead of asking customer to start for free provide a way for them to purchase right away. It gets frustrating to have to wait till end which at that time the price changes. I hope next year version will improve on these. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Assistance Awesome assistance with reviewing questions and looking for additional credits. Not easy with additional state returns.
Date published: 2018-04-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7175, tr_12888
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.