TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fairly Easy I know know more that the average person about taxes as I've worked as a tax preparer but it's been many years so I'd forgotten some things. Tubrotax is written in simple language and that's so helpful.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped me when I needed it most! TurboTax helped me to properly report our younger son's daycare expenses and our older daughter's income. I loved being able to automatically import our investments by just entering the account number and document ID. It was so easy to use!
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Albert's review Everything on my 2017 return was handled in a professional manner. thank you so much.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like riding a bike I filed with TurboTax a very long time ago (AOL - dial up internet - type long time ago) and it was fairly easy back then. Turn that clock forward a marriage, a few kids, rental property in a different state, college, and several investments. The last 10 - 15 years I've been using a company to file my taxes because it was just too complicated to figure out myself. This year I decided to give Turbo Tax a try again. I was quite surprised at how automated the process is and how easy it was to get my taxes filed. If anything the program is too thorough. There were questions asked that I hadn't even begun to think of which will come in handy when it's time to file next year.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great program and Great Expert Help! I've been using turbotax for five years consecutively and I love the convenience, the ease and the relatively low cost compared to a tax place or a personal accountant. This year I had a question on one part so I paid the extra fee to have an expert call me back. The person was very knowledgeable and walked me through everything! It was work the peace of mind and still cheaper and easier than having a professional tax service file for me. I am very pleased.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Income Tax Complete!!! Even though it was time consuming, it was well worth the time to get it right! If I had a question, turbotax fielded it and provided detailed explanation.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I CAN do this! Filing taxes is unnecessarily complicated and those who have money to pay for accountants have an unfair tax advantage. TurboTax is straightforward software to deal with our messy tax filing system and to successfully file taxes on your own. I have used a few other software programs and have come back to TurboTax because it is the BEST to get the job done RIGHT.
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty complicated could use some more help with whether special situations apply; and some explanation as to the calculation logic for some forms e.g., Form 6251, 8960 and W/S e.g., Sched D Tax W/S
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have no idea how I'd file my taxes without turbota The year I lived in two countries, two states and worked in a third state. I also ran two partnerships. I think it'd be virtually impossible for me to file my taxes using the IRS forms - I'd be at it for weeks. Turbotax makes the process doable by translating the dense IRS instructions into intelligible, answerable, largely intuitive questions.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sergio Helped me "Get it done"! I very much appreciated this assist. I have used turbo tax for many years with any need of assistance. But this year was quite different as I experienced some drastic life changes. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Devastation & Heartbreak!!! I eFiled my federal return since I'm offshore sent 6/15/2018. TurbTax said it was eFiled. I never heard anything so I went back into my return and it said it was Printed and Ready to MAIL!~! Why when is it when it said on the screen it was eFiled then when I checked it said this is it the customers fault as the rep that I talked to said. His exact quote was "I can assure you it was you". I have used TurboTax for years and this is how a loyal customer is treated!
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplified a complex year Overall a great product I have used for the last 10 + years.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better then H&R I went to H&R to check to see if they could do better. Sadly, the folks working there are not experts. I walked out after a few min there. I like that TurboTax also offers tax coverage just encase you get turbotax IRS audit protection. The only difficulty I had was deleting my state tax. I've been overseas for 10 years, so I didn't need that. I had to go into the form view and delete it there for it to give me the option to delete it in the application.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I will use it again and have enjoyed using it. Just wish there was a little help to answer some questions that just have to much legal talk for me to know what I'm doing.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online edition is terrible It's so tiring to have to go back through the interview questions back-and-forth to make changes. I wish there was some sort of an expert mode that would allow me to just update or change my responses in one screen. For example, it's tiring to click into depreciation and then have it asked you do you want to make changes to depreciation? Of course I do why would I click it if I didn't!
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind I've used TurboTax the past few years. I usually do it on my phone, using SnapTax, but this year I did it on my computer. I like that as long as I have my documents from each of the places I've dealt with over the past year, then I can confidently click through the process and know that I have done everything I need to do. If I forget or lose a form, that's on me, so no problems with TurboTax there. If I have an extra document that they didn't ask for, I just search it on the sidebar and they can take me straight to that form. Intuit also has the possibility of pulling records straight from some employers and services, making it even easier to complete my taxes, because they can fill my forms automatically. At the end of the process when I was looking at my return, I can click through a series of regular-language questions that help me understand exactly how everything was calculated. I end the experience feeling very confident about my filing.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduced Taxes Owed
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turbo tax just keeps getting better. Easy to follow question-answer format with references to more information if needed. Top line Turbo tax paid - Fed e-tax blocked. Could not discern error. Used the help number and a knowledgeable person stayed on the phone with me until we had all correct. Fantastic experience...again for someone who has a "mental" block about tax form filing. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comleted & filed my return It took me longer as I had go overseas just a few days after starting. Not all tax info was available when I left. When I restarted on return, I wasn't sure what info had been imported and what wasn't. TurboTax kept a tab on the info and I was able to complete and file on time.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from getting worse even though I am wiling to pay more, I cannot get immediate help or access to support for questions. the guy does not help in handling special situations. I am a US citizen staying abroad and turbotax does not even allow me to pay its own bill.. cover all situations ...refund me the amount that you charged for doing payment through refunds. Your web site does not allow me to use my credit card from outside US . piece of crap
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing the happy dance! I love Turbo Tax. I've been using this service for many years. I'll never switch
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for simple items Have been using TT for years. My returns were simple: Income and investments. This year I bought a home and had some investment property that resulted in foreign taxes. Using TT was very difficult. The instructions were not easy to follow and online explanations did not help. The software got stuck at some point while checking my returns. I had to put dummy values in a form even though they made no difference just to be able to file. I will most likely not be using TT again.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLYDONE! ") Overall a less painful way to get it done right. Thanks.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Customer Service Overall, I am well pleased with Turbotax.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty Bad Expat Tools I've been a loyal turbotax user my entire adult life, but this year was my first filing taxes from abroad as an expat. Expat taxes are confusing enough, but unfortunately turbotax made them even harder. The instructions on several pages were less complete than what is in the IRS publications, and the content was generally over simplified into cutesy language that made what to do difficult to determine. There are also several instances of fields that simply can't be properly filled (zip codes, country codes) or forms that aren't available (statement for an automatic 2 month extension.) Lastly, I found at least 1 minor bug in the health coverage, where turbotax filled the form improperly unless you exercise careful trial and error with the input fields. Sadly, there don't seem to be many better options for expat taxes, but turbotax definitely has room for improvement.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More Needed for First Timers Next year, it will be smooth sailing, but this year, the learning curve was steeper than it should have been. I just e-filed for two S-Corps and each had a signature sheet. I get to e-filing my 1040 and there was no mention. After searching the "community," I finally figured out that entering my last years' AGI "counted" as my signature. A newby could not possibly know that. Multiply that by a couple of dozen. Bottom line: Provide more "here's why" info for first timers and don't assume they are veterans at it the first time. And, for anyone, there needs to be a way to see summaries of what has been entered at a given point. As it is, I had to go back and start at the beginning of the whole section and click back through it to see what I'd entered. When I did, several yes/no boxes I'd checked would be no longer checked, so I had to check them again. When I entered my asset depreciation items, it came up with a box for state and said it could not be left blank. When I got to the review, it said I had things that needed corrected. Every one of the items for state that I had put a number in now said it should be blank! And there was something also for each one of them that said needed to be checked but didn't tell me when I was entering the data. Maybe have someone at TT in QA/QC start with a 1020S and then move on to a 1040 and see what happens.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Non Resident- Foreign taxpayer TurboTax could review their instructions related to taxpayers living overseas for they are not as good as other instructions. An opportunity! Not may taxpayers located overseas, realize they have to file US taxes. It would good to advertise at US Consulates in other countries.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad its done Cheaper than H and R. Better than doing it the old way.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally done For the most part, Turbotax is a great service. It walks you through tax forms that can be less than user friendly without it. I've used Turbotax for a number of years because it's a reasonably priced and mostly user friendly solution. This is the first year that I really struggled with it. I have some unusual situations (living abroad, an excess contribution to IRA) that were quite difficult to understand or resolve using the platform. For instance, anyone living overseas should be eligible for a 6 month extension; however, when I went to file my extension, it asked if I was active military overseas. I'm not active military, so I chose no. It said I was living in USA so I can't file the extension. It didn't give me a choice to be a non-military person living overseas. So I couldn't file the extension. So I paid the extra money to get the tax professional guidance...just to find out that they are only available 5am-5pm PST. This can be very difficult when you are living overseas and have a job. They should really have 24-hour support. And chat-based 24-hour support. Having USA-hours based support only made it very challenging and made me feel like I wasted my money on the extra service. Now I'm on the fence for whether I will use Turbotax next year or just go to a legal professional to do it all.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service
Date published: 2018-06-05
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7233, tr_12983
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 321ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.