TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from steady as she goes I like how Turbo Tax walks you through step by step, and has every small detail included and explained in order to maximize the return. I like that I can complete it in the comforts of my home, and pick up where I left off, if I need to step away. Price is a bargain. I like the little positive affirmation messages along the way. Keeps my happy and motivated.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One less headache.. Been using TurboTax for over a decade now and the product just gets better every year..
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks Wonderfully detailed. Someone to help understand the gobbledygook of tax forms and instructions!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No discounts, tried to upsell twenty times
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have used Turbo Tax for about 15 years. For some reason Turbo Tax did not have a record of me filing with Turbo Tax in 2016. I called and that did not fix the problem. I uploading a PDF of last years taxes and that did not work. Thus, all my personal information, carry overs, losses, etc. had to be reentered manually that drastically increased the time to do my taxes and decreased the accuracy that all my old tax information was incorporated. I would expect better.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from IRS FILE FOMR So, after i filed my taxes, Turbo tax said that I had to mail Form 8453 to the IRS. I have no clue what this form is and never had to send it before. I just paid for Turbo Tax Premeir and the Max benefit and I cant even get a hold of a Turbo Tax representative.. I
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really easy Great software - I do my taxes myself with confidence that Turbotax has asked me all the right questions and has checked my answers.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Value Tax time is about as much fun as dentist time, but TurboTax makes the pain tolerable. I've used TurboTax for 10 years now & couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TT programming errors required a work around!!! I'm an American, but retired in Germany. I have a U.S. credit card with a U.S. mailing address. I entered my German mailing address on the electronic return, along with my U.S. credit card info, and your program kept rejecting my credit card info and asking me to reenter. Thanks to "Trish", one of your employees in KY, I used a U.S. address and just asked you to bill me from my refund. That went through. However, I owe, so will have to call you to straighten out this mess. I suggest you fix your program to allow for a foreign address and a U.S. credit card. Your apparent programming error cost both Trish and me about 90 minutes to figure out a work around.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly Intuitive Too expensive for 2018
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amatuer programming TT use to be a decent - ok priced tax program. Now it is a truely dummed down program that is too rigid in the process. Also does not handle simple processes like filing AFTER an extension has been effected. I prepaid OK for the anticipated taxes but there was no way to account for that. I believe TT is priced twice what it should.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you TurboTax Thank you TurboTax for making tax preparation so easy. The method of asking the right questions to make sure I've included all pertinent information made my filing easy and complete. I've used this program for years and I love it.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply smooth Made filing a breeze. No headache
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from walked me through cost-basis on cap gains I was stumped on filling out cost-basis forms for the sale of company stock. I got expert advice with patience and knowledge.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service Jay was super helpful and efficient resolving problems for me to file my Mom's returns on time.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It seems to be thorough and makes sure no detail is left out, no income remains unreported and no deduction remains unclaimed. AMT treatment is not transparent and revisiting past years requires a lot of manual effort
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and easy I've used the product for years and am pleased with how it has evolved. It is clearly "as good" as that provided by my CPA for an s corp, rental property, and individual 1040 returns. That said the "junk" credit card offers and "advice" at the end has no value.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems EVERY Year Every year I use Turbo Tax and run into some sort of problem at the end. This year it was the third party between TT and IRS, called 1040 Pay. They take the payment from TT and get to IRS, they attempted to take payment 5 times causing my bank to freeze my account. I literally spent SEVEN hours today, one of which was waiting for TT Sup to call back, never did. After that, I escalated to a sup, Marquita. I refused to let her go and she stayed with me through calls to IRS and I finally paid IRS directly on their site.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ted was really helpful I don't have any cons. I had to buy some extra services this time because my taxes got a little more complicated but I was impressed with the very helpful service from a guy named Ted who has 35 years of tax experience. He help me through and reviewed my taxes with me and explained the things I was confused about. I think what I paid for extra services was well worth it.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a piece of garbage doesn't let you view return easily before sending didn't transmit prior years return information despite using turbotax.com for years did not archive my prior returns unless I pay for this year Calculated the 529 credit incorrectly and state return, so don't trust it
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy enough Taking you step by step through the process. Reviewing previous entries can sometimes be a hassle. I can't find/print itsdeductible summary? I look again? I was able to save/print in previous years???
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Appalling: Can't e-file & tells you AT THE END? This is appalling and frustrating. Turbotax *knows* it can't e-file due to a W2 field particularity. Instead of being upfront, it waits til the END of the process to tell me that I can only submit my taxes by mail! Trusted the e-file capability since I didn't have time to go to the post office, and now I'm screwed. Thank you for nothing, Turbotax.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great personal assistance! Just a great experience this year! Big thanks to Denis, my online assistant. I sold a property and was totally screwing up how to enter it. He went through it with me every step of the way. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from max refund the ability to speak with a tax expert to address all your questions and review your return is invaluable.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my turbo tax I love to use this product. I love the way it retains last year's information which really helps. The only thing missing this year was the audit review. It's only available for desktop users. Boo - we want it back!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly Happy As Usual Had a rather disappointing 'live' CPA conversation who focused only on my one question and didn't seem to have looked over my entire return suggesting, perhaps, areas where I might benefit from. The end result is I could have saved myself $75. CPA was personable, friendly, customer-service-oriented but lacking in taking the initiative beyond the one issue I identified (and could identify by virtue of the space limit when writing). Also, the 2106 form we should be able to add more than two vehicles. This is an issue identified years ago and was told it would be corrected??
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good program but was better in the past
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minimal pain TurboTax minimizes the pain involved in filing taxes; I rent and that complicates my return, but TurboTax handled that well. I'm bummed that I couldn't e-file my state return through TT though - it wasn't able to handle that due to the required penalty for underpaying my taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK It would be helpful if there were a detailed index so one could go to a specific page without having to review an entire section
Date published: 2018-10-15
  • y_2018, m_11, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7348, tr_13238
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.