TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program Great program. Good value with Max protection. Looking forward to another trouble free year of tax returns.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Paying for TurboTax from refund too expensive I have high regard for TurboTax and has used the services for several years. Today for some reason, one of my credit card to pay for the turbotax software for strange reasons did not go through. So I finally decided to pay it off from refund. But later in the work flow it showed $34.95. Given how nicely, UI is done by Turbo Tax, charge shouyld have been shown upfront. Anyway, I went back and used one of other credit card and things worked. So I am giving 3 Star in place of otherwise 5.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Procrastinator's Delight some of the income items did not allow for federal tax withholding. don't know where any federal taxes already paid such as estimated taxes were supposed to be entered. i may have overpaid and will have to determine a refund later.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy a caveman could do it! I love how quickly the interface efficiently guides you through all of the relevant issues specific to each individual, without wasting time on the irrelevant issues.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eases a Painful Experience I have been with Turbo Tax since it's inception. It gets better each year. They have won my business over the years, and I am not tempted to cash in on the new free versions.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TurboTax lost my work!! Turbotax promises to save your info, but it lost the work I did for my 2016 return. I know I used the right email/username because the confirmation of tax extension filing (back in April) was emailed to me. I also logged in with every possible username and email in case I somehow logged in to the wrong account (unlikely). This is the account I've had for many years and multiple prior tax returns were completely missing (status in tax timeline says it's started, but not filed) I had to re-do my complicated taxes and it was extremely painful. Also, Intuit needs to fix its account databases, because having multiple usernames per email is ridiculous.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy advice and guidance
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too complicated need an accountant Going to an accountant. Need to stop using this for the time being. I think it's costing me more than it's saving me.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy & Loyal Taxpayer I've been a loyal customer of Turbo-Tax for the last 15 years and will continue to use this excellent program So far so good, I've been able to access my income-tax from anywhere in the world and truly enjoy how my identity has always been protected and all my documents are always at my fingertips
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's getting too locked down It is frustrating that over the years the product get more and more forced. Once you could easily navigate to any schedule you needed and not be forced to buy premier products - unless you needed the guidance. I don't need to be walked through everything. Also I despise holding my prior returns hostage unless I pay for a package. What the heck? I have to pay to see my own returns? Please roll that back.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confusing Made Simple Turbo Tax was very easy to use. We have two rentals and this software walked me through each step. When having to look-up information the system would log me out. For the coming year, it would be helpful if there was a Turbo Tax organizer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dual States I like that I can get my tax return finished on my time line. Sometimes it takes me days to find all the info I need to refer to. I can come & go on Turbo Tax on line. I can review everything as many times as I need to. I live in one state & lease out my owned home in another state. Turbo Tax makes it easy to meet all tax filing requirements.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as Good/Easy as it used to be Comprehensive and accurate (I trust ), but you cannot get to the forms screen to look at your return in progress as easily as in previous years, and the color and contrast on the screen is not as easily read as I previous years.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth sail to file returnd It great software but its slow specially while filing investment income (security transactions)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax gets it done 12 year customer and counting! TurboTax is central to how I manage my finances, handles my fairly complex situation with three K-1 Partnerships + salary + stocks very well.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rocked the taxes I like turbo tax I would like to do the state taxes for free like some of the other tax sites.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASE AND FAST GREAT SPEEDY ACCURATE SERVICE THAT I USE EVERY YEAR!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mostly easy to use! long time user with minimal difficulties but this year almost did me in! lost data while going thru the review stage - had to call your tech support to get help. On phone an hour before we finally found data - it was saved but hidden - only empty categories were showing on my screen and I found I had to hit review buttons in every category to retrieve it. it did work and I was able to file but it was a gruesome hour trying to find it with your person who was great! also, I have difficulty every year with K-1's and only way I can fill in all the blanks is to put in 0's or 1's in spaces that your system says needs a response. Very annoying but my system works without impacting my tax amounts. sometimes I have to erase investment of K-1 info and start over to get your system to accept data properly.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love turbo tax I really like the questions that describe what I need to enter in order to receive the biggest refund. There are also help topics for every question so you can understand what they are asking for. I will definitely recommend turbo tax!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from First Time User This is my first time filing my own taxes. I usually use a CPA. Without my tax return from last year, I would have been lost. Disappointed that it couldn't upload my pdf of previous year taxes, and I had to call for support on a more complicated issue. It was impossible to find where to enter this information without assistance. It does make everything simple for you once you do the work.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a relief I was late filing my taxes this year. I am almost 70 and my health has been poor this year, including two hospitalizations and actually suffering clinical death last July. The illness was extremely difficult and frightening and completing my taxes this year was extraordinarily difficult. Turbo Tax made it doable. So for the first time in my life I was late filing my taxes but Turbo Tax made it easier.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love turbo tax!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied with Turbo Tax! I am very satisfied Turbo Tax user. It saves me times, prevents mistakes as it basically takes you by the hand, it is very comprehensive (even downloads investment data from your brokerage account), and it is very accurate. Also, you can do both your Federal and State returns during the same log in session and using the same data you first entered for the Federal, which is another time saver vs. you doing then independently on your own. Highly recommended product1
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from prior year issues..not included could not switch to forms as needed. may get penalty since had to jury rig in the capital loss carryover. not provided automatically as it should have been by turbotax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Turbo Tax Overall a great prduct
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great experience with some possible improvements My experience with Turbotax was pretty good. It was fast and most of the calculations were automated. The interface was quite friendly, the entire preparation process feels almost like an interview with some tax experts. Besides, I really love the fact that there are large number of explanations/documentations when you expand those question marks. With that being said, there are still several things I wish could have been improved: 1. Importing 1099 from my broker is broken, at least in the online premium version. This was the most frustrating part as I was very confused when trying to enter numbers on my own instead. I ended up having to use another online software to generate and export Schedule D to TurboTax, paying extra hundreds of dollars 2. During the entire preparation process, I was not able to see the actual 1040 form that will be filed, which made me feel a bit unsafe. I wasn't sure if my last year's capital loss carryover was entered correctly the whole time
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Several Frustrations I was using the Freedom version and making my way through our return very happily when at the point where I was virtually finished, I discovered in order to do certain things I was going to need to upgrade to a $54.xx version. I really had no choice but to bite the bullet. Then not long after that I was told I was going to have to upgrade yet again to Premier. When I accepted that upgrade the format of the software changed, and I was unable to find data for W-2's and 1099's I had previously entered. I spent a long time working with support and she, too, had a lot of difficulty helping me locate previously-entered data. I could tell I had an error somewhere because it was showing more self-employment income than I knew I had, but we were unable to see what the amount showed consisted of or to go in and edit it. We could only work through a series of reviews which did not take us back to previous fields at all - it was a review of things we might not have known to enter (bad debts, etc.).
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned complex into completed! We are in our 80's and both suffering from chronic illness and on suffering with a terminal illness. We had to sell our house and possessions to provide the care we need and TurboTax guided us through the complexities with ease! Our tax filing with from complex to complete in no time!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The good, bad, and the ugly I love Turbo Tax overall. This year, I sold a rental that had been off the market for a year prior due to it getting destroyed by renters and needing a complete remodel before I could sell it. Turbo Tax did not walk me through this issue. I used the Premier which is supposed to cover rental issues; however, I had to research a lot of it on my own. There was no prompt that helped me. I had to search for the topic that took me to the right place. Within that topic, not much was explained. It did not walk you through establishing a cost basis. I just had to read IRS publications. Also, even though I have used Turbo Tax for years and depreciated my rental, Turbo Tax did not pull in the depreciation amount. I am disappointed that this product is advertised to be the one to use if you have rentals, but it really isn't much help with rentals.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got me through the grind! This makes it about 50 times faster than doing it by myself, and more reliable than other tax prep apps.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_15, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9138, tr_15744
  • loc_, sid_400_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.