1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 9 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14494 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome program was very easy and helpful explained everything January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Fast This was my first time filing taxes, and I am so glad TurboTax was recommended to me! It was very fast and easy. They walked me through everything, nothing was confusing! August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by first timer i usually do our returns by hand. friends recommended turbo tax efile as quicker. i agree. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by refund keeps getting messed up Wish I could change my mailing address since my taxes got sent to the wrong address twice last year February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy TurboTax is easy and free and, as a college student, I appreciate both of those things. I like how quickly they tell you if you've made a mistake as well. It's annoying how they keep asking you if you want to upgrade to TurboTax Premium for, I think $29.99, but this is only a very minor inconvenience. February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not user friendly Very frustrating at the end!! Would not send my returns to print and then had the wrong employee # for my fed return and Idaho state return. Corrected the number and can not get confirmation....very frustrating on how to proceed... February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Refund I enjoyed using Turbo Tax instead of the other websites I used, its more professional and easier. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Informative Turbotax streamlined the tax filing process for me. It was clear and focused for each step, and took me through it at a good pace. I was able to complete my tax returns with no trouble and the "what is this" links were informative. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank goodness for Turbo Tax I appreciated that Turbo Tax put things into simple terms for me. They ask (semi-simple) questions and whenever you do need a little extra explanation it is right below. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by eh I had to pay Turbo tax even though I had no state refund. So now I am out $30 even though I had no refunds. If you are a student and own nothing, have no debts or loans, no children, and independent;file your state taxes elsewhere. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by so easy I have been using Turbo Tax to do my taxes for several years. I find them easy to do and refunds always seem to come in a day or two. At my age (81) it is wonderful to have a program that makes something on the computer really easy! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy refund filing as always!!! Thank you for always providing us an easy means of filing our taxes. No complains except for state fees. :( It's ok, would rather pay than go to any other tax preparer. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by pricing was great, easy to use format, and available options for next year if needed to file a different form. Great helpful hints and walk through. Thank you Turbo Tax April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by confused Had a problem, thought I had filled on 4/13/15 - forms were never transmitted and I had to refile "late" so that I could fill out FASFA forms for college. did not realize that forms had never been submitted until after the due date. July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really quick and ways Great filing system love the fact that it was completely free February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to use for a basic return. I have used Turbo Tax for many years now, and it just keeps getting better and easier to use. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely easy I am extremely happy and satisfied with the process used to file my taxes. it is very simple. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service This service was so incredibly easy! It was very fast, and simple, and I can't believe I only spent about 30 minutes working on my tax return, great stuff!! Loved it!! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by no problems Extremely easy to use, it literally holds your hand throughout the entire process and explains everything in a simple and easy to understand manner. 5 stars in my book February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by DONE!!!! If you have all your information you can get so much back with them doing all the calculations. Quick, easy and done! Now to think about hat we will do with the money. March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for Federal! I have W2s from 2 different states, and wasn't able to file with TurboTax due to that, so it was a bit inconvenient. But Federal was super easy, and I felt very safe and secure filing with them. They made it very easy to understand! March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Fast Laws and deductions change every year and Turbo Tax stays up-to-date, so you don't have to. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by $$$ saved me a tone of money would never pay again to have someone do my taxes thanks turbo tax January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by turbo tax rocks This is my first year filing and even a beginner can do this. Will use again next year :-) January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy! This site takes you step by step and has an explanation for everything. I was always afraid taxes would be so complicated and scary. My friend introduced me to this site and I was relieved! This is my second year using it, and I will continue to use it. The only downside I've found was today when I tried to amend my return. But I'm not sure if that's a thing specific to them or you can't amend online in general. I highly recommend this site, though. January 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by It works, but they use sneaky tactics for your $. Turbo tax works well. The system they use is pretty much flawless, BUT... there are frequent interruptions where they suggest that you upgrade to their "PLUS" package. I'd go as far as saying that they trick you into buying their services. I used the FREE edition package, and more than twice they suggested that I use the PLUS edition, all times I declined the offer. I'm not a business owner, I get no special tax-deductions; I have the most basic tax returns on the planet... comparatively. By the time I was checking out, I owed nearly $60.00. So much for free. It took me about 15 minutes to figure out that because I chose to pay for my $29.99 State returns with my federal refund, they tacked on an additional $29.99. Not once did they warn me of this, I had to do in depth research and site-browsing. Beware. April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast and simple Second year using Turbo Tax and I have had no problems. The questions are straight forward and to the point. They ask several questions to get you the biggest return. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This year I was doing my taxes on my own and nervous as heck. TurboTax was so easy and i had no stress whatsoever. Thank goodness! I'll be using this again next time! February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good job, could make some things easier pin number didn't transfer and didn't recognize my 2013 return through last years program January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really easy and fast Really easy to use and fast. I always use Turbo Tax and it has always been very reliable March 1, 2015
  • 2015-10-06T11:07:45.454-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14494, tr_14494
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.