1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 9 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amended Return I was a little nervous having to file this amended return and didn't know what to expect. However, Turbo tax step-by-step instructions and the double checking, made me comfortable and confident. March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I spent a little over 3.5 hours doing a simple 1040EZ with my Dad. We watched the "circle of death" for a long time - simply to hit "continue". Filing could have been a lot easier and faster.... March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes...Check! Refund...check! This is my second year using TurboTax and I would still recommend it to all of my friends! It is so easy to use and I don't have to worry about paying an arm and a leg for professional tax help. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was simple and easy to use and it was free! TurboTax is very straightforward and honest. It is a great service to do your taxes. The visuals kept me interested (because taxes can get boring) and I will probably be using their service again next year. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved the step-by-step method you used--it helped a lot with a first-time user like me, and saved time and confusion. I don't know why I didn't use this service before!!!!! Thank you for everything!!!!!!! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Refund Compare to H&R Block software, this is a lot easier, friendlier to use. This Turbo Tax sum up every tax form to make sure everything is correct before going to the next form. Highly recommended. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doing taxes I had a real easy time doing my taxes this year, no problems at all. With messing around in between doing my taxes, it took me 30 minutes or less. i approve of Turbo Tax, and Chuck Norris would do the same. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by YASSS GIRL YAS This software/website whatevs is so easy to use. I used to have a CPA do my income taxes last year and I got no where near my full refund. With TurboTax everything was easy and I got the most out of refund. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as pie Used another sites software for years and this was my first time using your site. It was quick and easy and understandable. Why haven't I been using your services before? Dummy me!!!!! Keep up the good work February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Job These guys are great. They go through everything with you, maximize deductions and really do get you the most money back! Not only is it easy, but it is fast to complete. And the best part is... EVERYTHING! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Really enjoyed how TurboTax made filing my taxes for the first time very easily. I tried to file my state taxes by paper but gave up and turned to TurboTax. Too bad it cost me my federal refund! April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Me Turbo Tax is so easy that I was able to do my own taxes at 20 years old!! Even my parents are going to use it now!! Thanks Turbo Tax!! And to think I was a nervous wreck....lol....not any more!! March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Painless! I usually dread doing my taxes and this year was no exception. But this was so easy and fast. Totally worth the $29.99 to get it all done in one fell swoop. Next year: Turbo Tax for sure! LouLou April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great service! Awesome service to help me with my taxes! I had not completed my taxes on my own before and Turbo Tax took the stress and anxiety out of this intimidating process. I will definitely be using Turbo Tax again! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool to get best refund! and no hassle. This is great tool to file your taxes. There are many tools in market but none are as good as Turbo! you bet! I am with Turbo for last 5 years and trust me, other tools are no where when compared with Turbo! February 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by getting harder to use. The interveiw used to be easy to use the last 2 years have been horrible. I'll be using H&R Block next year. Even your review is a pain to fill one - really I'm ready to just quit it. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time, Refund's Mine! First time doing my taxes on my own and it couldn't have been easier. Such a great free way to do something usually considered a hassle. I will definitely look into using the non-free services in the future. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got my billion! For the senior citizen it was very easy to navigate. The "step by step" or "jump" to topics were useful for the challenged or very experienced. Loved the interaction of how great I was doing:-) April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lame state charge Last person who recommended this to me said they didn't pay for state refunds. Not sure why turbotax decided to try to charge me, but that's not happening. I'm trying to GET money, not waste my money on you. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome and Easy TurboTax made it extremely easy to file my taxes online with them! It took about 20 minutes and I feel comfortable that they found all the possible deductions and that all my forms were filled out correctly. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund! Turbo Tax really help my file my taxes. I didn't know how to file my taxes until I learned about Turbo Tax. It is really easy to use and I would recommend it to anyone who is having trouble with their taxes. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You guys made filing taxes idiot proof. Awesome. I filed my taxes last year and it was extremely simple; it's as if I ripped off a bandaid so fast there wasn't any pain. I do not know how to do taxes, so this is fantastic. Good job, TurboTax. April 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filed my taxes! TurboTax is the best! Easy step by step instructions. No worries about missing anything on my return. Any questions are easily answered. It is like sitting across from a tax man instead of a computer screen. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charity/Donations I tried to file my charity donations but when I got the final page, you all kept doubling the amount. I ended up not filing that section rather than lie about what amount the 2014 total was. Please fix this. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy even I could do it. I started around 1:30 and finished at 4:04.Not bad considering I wasn`t completely ready for all the questions.The good news is I`m done until next year and no heartburn.I`m glad I chose Turbo! April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by They didnt file my 2013 return but sent irs my pay Think they failed to file last years as a way to make me pay to get last years return to sent to the irs. Just a headache to send it to them. But at least they sent my payment to them so I wont pay a penalty April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy and leaves you with peace of mind. For the great procrastinator that I am and fearful of doing tax returns I found Turbo Tax super easy! I will file much earlier than April 15th next year because I know with Turbo Tax I have nothing to dread. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by makes taxes EASIER! turbo tax simplifies my life. have done them "longhand" with tax booklet and paper tax forms...big PAIN! Turbo Tax tacks the PAIN out of doing my taxes and my son's. Highly recommend Turbo Tax! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantaxtic I truly appreciate how easy it is to file through turbotax! It takes away the stress of having to file in the first place. It is the only service I have every used because it is just that easy. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Clear Thank you for helping us with our taxes AT NO COST. Before retiring, I used TurboTax and am a quicken and former QuickBooks user. I feel I have gotten an extra benefit, for which I am grateful. February 28, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T09:08:03.407-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.