1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 9 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Good too simple to file I will recommend Turbotax to all of my friends February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Service Appreciate the ease of use, quality control checks, advice and help access, and no cost efile. Seems to get better and easier to use every years. Have been using Turbo Tax for years and has never let me down. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rode the tax filing wave The process was quick and simple.There's no doubt I got the maximum refund possible. Would highly recommend! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth I was impressed by this year's Turbo Tax process. It has been streamlined and even more user friendly than before. Thanks for the help Turbo Tax! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes filing taxes easy! I have been using TurboTax online now for 3 years and I love it! I am confident that I am in good hands. Very thorough and explanatory, in fact I am going to try and keep more receipts on things that might be tax deductible. Overall awesome! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy-Peasy I only had interest income as a full-time student, but it exceeded the amount required for filing. This was quick, easy, and painless, totally done within minutes. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and easy.. Love how easy it was.. Wish I had known about it before.. I got the same refund that Jackson Hewitt said I would get.. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy for me to get my refund! Started with H&R Block and they ended up wanting to charge in the end for my federal refund, Turbo Tax was easy and guided and free! loved it. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Online Experience TurboTax took something complex like filing taxes and made it simple, fun, and easy. High praises for your user experience design/strategy team! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love TurboTax!!! Been using Turbo Tax for 3 years and absolutely love it!! No waiting to visit face to face I can just learn to do it myself and keep more money in my pocket. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy! Made doing my taxes so fast! And I like that I could save all of my info and come back to finish later. I will be using TurboTax again next year. Thanks! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and convenient!!!!!! It was fast and convenient. Saved a lot of money. February 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Free Made me waste time trying to get my PIN from the IRS(impossible) only to show me my AGI from last year after the fact. It was blank the first time when I had forgot my PIN and could not find last years return. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 very easy and helpful love that it was free and super easy only took me about 10 minutes to file and all in the comfort of my home. thank you turbotax!! February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service Overall I will recommend this to all of friends and family members very helpful and great! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A++ TurboTax walks you through every possible way you could be qualified for a high tax return. Its easy to use and navigate their website. I will be uses TurboTax next year, A+ overall February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome program was very easy and helpful explained everything January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and quick Well laid out. Guided me through everything easily. Would recommend it every time. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Federal refund went great; State not so much I am a student and had dual states and a very low income... State preparation should have been free, given my income was only $10,000.00 but Turbo Tax wanted to charge me over $50.00 for the state returns. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by first timer i usually do our returns by hand. friends recommended turbo tax efile as quicker. i agree. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by free tax file love how i get help to fix reject. lets me know just whats going on. Updates me if it gets rejected etc. So helped when both state & federal was free . Due to i owe a lil. that helped. Thanks February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by refund keeps getting messed up Wish I could change my mailing address since my taxes got sent to the wrong address twice last year February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st time made easy! I was extremely impressed by this service. I have never filed my own taxes and now I am wondering why I never did because this was so incredibly easy. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy TurboTax is easy and free and, as a college student, I appreciate both of those things. I like how quickly they tell you if you've made a mistake as well. It's annoying how they keep asking you if you want to upgrade to TurboTax Premium for, I think $29.99, but this is only a very minor inconvenience. February 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by free state? Turbo tax advertised free state file, not true for me. When finished i was prompted to still print and mail in forms. Why would i be e-filing just to mail in forms? February 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not user friendly Very frustrating at the end!! Would not send my returns to print and then had the wrong employee # for my fed return and Idaho state return. Corrected the number and can not get confirmation....very frustrating on how to proceed... February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Refund I enjoyed using Turbo Tax instead of the other websites I used, its more professional and easier. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, fast experience This was my first year using Turbo Tax and I loved it. It was a quick and simple experience. I previously used Tax Act but was a bit confused this year due to not as detailed step by step process. I do intend on continuing to use Turbo Tax in the future years to come. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Rocks. First time doing my taxes. One of the easiest things I have ever done! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really quick and ways Great filing system love the fact that it was completely free February 10, 2015
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 55 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.