1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 9 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Easy! I like that the 1040EZ is free. Thank You! I have used TurboTax many times, it is really great if you have a lot of different circumstances to enter. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy for Young Professionals I asked a college friend (CPA, Masters in Accounting, currently working for a big four firm) how he does his taxes and he told me TurboTax, cant argue with that! I did not want to pay an accountant for such a simple return; I'm an employed single non home owner so filing was really easy and was actually a little bit higher than what the family accountant had estimated! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Second-time tax filer and both times have been a breeze. It took me all of twenty minutes to do both state and federal. Would definitely recommend to anyone and I look forward to using TurboTax in the future. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job real easy I was very surprised at how easy it was. Turbo tax tells you where to look for certain information in order to complete your returns. I will definitly recommend turbo tax to friends and family February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Awesome! I love using turbo tax! This year I used it for both federal and state! User friendly, fast, and just completely awesome!! Thank You Turbo Tax for making this part of the year something to look forward to instead of something to dread!!! March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! I loved that it was so easy to use and guided me through each step. The comments were also very reassuring, and made the process almost enjoyable! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Experience I procrastinated doing my taxes, waiting until last minute. I heard of TurboTax from a friend and tried it. It was so easy to complete. The helpful hints the program gives makes it easy for a first-time tax filer like me to use. Thank you! Will file again next year! March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, understand and zero frustration Turbo Tax was VERY easy to use, and cost me less than using a CPA/Accountant. I feel very secure about using Turbo Tax and I really liked that they were able to explain every step of the way. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely better then H&R Block TurboTax free federal is by far the best of the free tax filing services. I simultaneously used turbotax and h&r block and canceled one before officially filing. Turbo tax found me ~$400 more for my refund. By March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So fast and super easy! The entire process was user friendly and made it easy to get through the tax filing process. Makes me wonder why anyone would pay to have their taxes done when they could just use Turbo Tax! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I really like using Turbo Tax! This product helps maximize my returns and is presented in a very easy, fun and informative way. I would highly recommend Turbo Tax to others. Thank you Mz. M. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast, easy good info checks wonderful program March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Turbo tax is extremely quick and easy to use. It explains everything that you need or have questions on. If you are still confused it has an online chat option that is very handy along with a great FAQ section.; March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been doing Turbo Tax for year. The service is intuitive and helps explain the most complicated deductions in a simple straightforward manner. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as pie!! I think it was very easy to use and explained it all as we went along. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by mostly easy most of the prompts were straight forward and simple and easy. it was very helpful that it saves for you as you go. but you have to find where you can elect to donate to the presidential election fund (it is not a simple check marked box in the regular taxes prompt, it is in a separate portion). the only issue I had was the way they worded the prompt for when I was including business purchases and car mileage etc. it was a bit of a head ache and totally confusing even though it was written in easy terms. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! Incredible! Thank you so much for making my first time filing easy! January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free and works well Turbotax helped me file my taxes for free and is the best software i have ever used to file taxes. Our tax system is ridiculous and complicated, but turbotax makes things completely workable, and much cheaper than tax preparers. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! Thank you so much for making such a user friendly site that allows me to get my taxes done for free. Money is especially tight right now and this website helped me save and explained everything so thoroughly! I really appreciate it. Thank you March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by totally loaded my wallet Totally filled my wallet! It was easy to understand and follow Very informational I'm just totally happy with this tax service I would recommend them to anyone who is lacking the funds to file February 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Program did not catch error on empty tax paid box I had two W-2 forms this year. When entering one I failed to enter the Fed Tax Paid amount. The program guided me through everything all the way to the end and never caught that empty box. There were some entries where it takes you back to the page and outlines the box in RED if you failed to complete it - BUT NOT ON THE FED TAX PAID box. That's a BIG issue. If I had not known that I should received 100% of what I paid in, I would never have caught it. I just knew the amount of my refund didnt look right and had to go back and find what was wrong myself. Makes me wonder how many other issues there might be. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Effective! You are able to save and exit at any time if you forget to grab some receipts, or if you are reading through all of the possible deductions and realize you may qualify for something that you didn't even think of! i have never been asked for my book fees for school, or for my vehicle registration fees in order to deduct the costs! Using turbo tax helped me find everything I could deduct this year, and what others have missed while doing my taxes in previous years. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Breezy I recommend this simple service. follow the instructions and simply answer all the questions. Your return should come out accurate as my previous year did. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was done very quickly! I have been using Turbo Tax for years now and really find it very easy to use! January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just SImple I've used Turbo Tax for several years and have never had an issue. You have saved me money by making this simple as 1-2-3 which means that I can start, pause, and finish my taxes at my convenience. I love Turbo Tax! March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome site! Being a first time filer, I was terrified about doing my taxes. With this site, everything was made easy with a breakdown and helpful follow along instructions. Who knew filing taxes could take less than 15 minutes! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First Taxes I forgot I had to jobs If turbo tax asked me more than once about my jobs I might have finished the first time instead of doing an emendment. but over all turbotax is the best thank you February 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mixed I had to print and mail in both state and Federal, but only told me that after I paid to e-file my state taxes. $28.00 down the drain!!!! I feel I should be refunded my e-fileing fee!!! March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by way to go Thanks for making filing my return a piece of cake. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by meh id do it again Kind of upsetting that at the end suddenly things got choppy it never gave me a price and suddenly it's all about sharing and reviews January 21, 2015
  • 2015-04-01T12:02:19.107-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_8483, tr_8483
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 157 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.