1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 8 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by . I understand you need to make money to keep the website up and running. which is why I assumed you have the propacks and other stuff. but, almost sixty dollars was taken out of my "free" tax return review. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I did it! I like how we can do our taxes right from our computer and we are able to get the information that we need too. I just had issues with paying and continued to see my total double. Thanks for the easy file! April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by :) Always easy! I love turbo tax--it takes out all the fuss. I've used it every year and plan to keep on going! The visual setup they have is not only easy, but fun! You'll get a kick out of doing your taxes~ March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Federal refund went great; State not so much I am a student and had dual states and a very low income... State preparation should have been free, given my income was only $10,000.00 but Turbo Tax wanted to charge me over $50.00 for the state returns. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Annoying I had to pay for the state refund with my debit card because if I didn't Turbo Tax was forcing me to pay for Turbo Tax Plus. I don't have much money right now, so I really didn't want to do this. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!! I'm single with no kids and I rent, so my taxes are pretty simple. I paid a CPA $100 last year to file for me. It took me less than an hour to do the same thing with TurboTax. Brilliant service! March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seven Years Plus As an accountant for a non-profit, I didn't have time to keep up with personal tax changes. Turbo Tax met all our needs while working and thru the changes of retirement. Intelligent guidance and good value. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So simple!! It was my first time filing my taxes on my own and TurboTax made it very simple for me! I didn't think it was this easy and I know for sure I will return next year to file my taxes again. Thanks TurboTax!!! March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent refund Turbo tax was quick and easy. Not time consuming and boring. It was thorough and fast. I would refer this site to my friends and family or anyone in need of a good site to file their tax refund. March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by through Like the layout just do not like being told oh you might need this oh to get your refund from prior years you need to upgrade etc...and customer service is a pain to get through to and get help. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love that it's so easy to prepare my tax return with the free online program. It beats reading pages and pages of information that you might not even need. I would recommend this to my family and friends. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was remarkably simple Was my first time doing my own taxes, and it was a breeze. Everything was well explained. I was always hesitant about doing it myself, but TurboTax made me feel confident in my understanding of tax returns. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aced this refund This is a good tax filing service for the not so savvy 1st time tax preparer. There's a lot of helpful information to assist thru the whole process, even the not so computer literate tax persons April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY! I user Turbo Tax to check my own calculations and Turbo found me a savings of over $500 on my own calculations. It was very easy and walked me through the return preparation. Will use Turbo Tax from now on. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by it good I had trouble add the car I used so I couldn't enter the date I stopped using it. because it wanted me to say I sold it but it was a loaner I took care of so there was no way to specify the fact February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and fast this is my first year to file income tax. this program made it super easy and quick. the navigation process is simple to follow. answers to my questions were literally at my fingertips. thank you turbo tax. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by How Easy Was That! The online Free Federal Filing option was a great tool as a first time filer. It was easy to use and TurboTax walked me through every step without me needing anything clarified. Awesome product! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I have used Turbo Tax since it first came available and I recommend it to everyone if they don't already use it. It's fast, easy, and worry free. It provides all the proper forms so you don't miss anything. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy process! As a first time user of TurboTax, I found it very easy to use. There were explanations available and links when needed. I will definitely use it again, and recommend it to my friends and family! March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Great! The breakdowns on each step helped immensely. Everything was made clear and easy to understand. I felt confident with the review sections helping me to make sure all my information was complete. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by totally awesome I have used several sites to do my taxes over this past several years and I must say this was by fat the best. Extremely easy to use and very helpful when needed. I highly recommend using them!! February 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 Misleading ads The return process was OK. What I don't like is that your ads said that state returns were filed for free w/1040 A or EZ. Instead, I got "offered" to file my Virginia return for $30. What gives? April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent as Usual I've used Turbo Tax for many years. They've consistently improved the product with new features each year. Invariably the program will find something that I missed on my own. It's a simple way to file, too. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst experience ever. You can't amend or change on the return itself. We did not get back what Turbo Tax said we would and when it comes to amending you can't change the amount. This has been a miserable experience. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy .....And Free! It really is easy and free to file your taxes with TurboTax. I cannot believe people still pay for services to file their taxes unless they have complex situations. I love TurboTax ad I trust it's accuracy. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This is my first time filing my taxes on my own and gotta admit was a lot easier than i thought i really enjoyed the fact that the website explains step by step by needs to be done very pleased. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is the Bomb! I've always hated doing my taxes. They confused me. But turbo tax changed that. They made it easy, and less confusing, and they helped me get the biggest tax return possible. THANK YOU SO MUCH!! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So fast and simple! I have used TurboTax for many years now and I cannot imagine doing my taxes any other way! I love this product, it is simple, accurate and explains things in a way that anybody could understand! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing My Taxes was EASY It was quick, easy, and very understandable. I felt like I had a personal guide the whole way through the process. They go above and beyond to give you the max refund possible. I'll always choose Turbo Tax. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Excited!! I love this website! It finds more deductions that I would not have found on my own and it makes filing so easy. I was married in 2014 and TurboTax took the anxiety out of filing married for the first time. March 26, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:07:13.182-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.