1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by the instructions were easy to read and follow I was able to complete my return in less than an hour with Turbo Tax it was highly recommended to me. June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you TurboTax I really appreciate the eastime to follow layout of TurboTax. Even when I ran into problems, it provided me with multiple solutions and I was able to be taken care of. June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So fast and easy Thank you so much, this is the most stressful part of the year for me and this year was the most stress filled yet...and yet it was the most relieving to be done so easily and quickly. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome easy to fill out! i will continue to use Turbo Tax and tell others how easy it is to do your own filing June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This is a free service that most likely you will spend some money ...$30. It is worth it. This is an excellent learning tool as well. Intuit just does it better than anyone else. 5 stars. June 19, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I was unable to return to the page to undo a Premium Benefit charge which i did not want. I may not use Turbo Tax next year because of this. Basically I was being charged for something I did not want. April 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made me feel like a rock star Wow the accountant at my company said this is how she did her taxes..so I thought I have nothing to loose and it was unbelievably easy..I am so impressed I an going to recommend turbo tax to EVERY ONE April 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved This Site! This worked really well and was easy for me to understand. Maybe because I filed so late, it seemed kind of expensive and all my options weren't open to me. Other than that, it was a great experience. April 14, 2016
  • 2016-06-23 T13:07:33.222-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21686, tr_21686
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2015, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 356 next>>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 113ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Filing Deadline: IRS filing deadline for tax year 2015 is April 18, 2016 (except for residents of Massachusetts or Maine, where the IRS filing deadline for tax year 2015 is April 19, 2016).
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except the TurboTax Home & Business/QuickBooks Self-Employed bundle offers.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.