1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 8 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Rewarding! TurboTax has been my goto for filing my taxes, as it's simple to use and very thorough with it's process. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THanks for making it simple overall- program easy to use March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 turbo refunding So easy to understand and work with Thank you March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this! Much much easier than H & R block January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kind of confusing but worked this free service works good. It was confusing because I input many things that should have been deductions, but cant verify if they were added to my deductions or not. anyways im just glad its over!!!! March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Fun Refund Great for people like me who don't have time to sit down and understand everything about taxes. Just answer a series of clear and simple questions, and TurboTax handles the rest and saves you money. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filed my return!!!!! I really liked Turbo Tax. Everything was very easy to understand and helpful. I actually received more on my refund than I would have if I had filed them with someone else. They are really GREAT!!!! March 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by You won't remove unwanted Fees 29.99 was charged when I didn't choose it and removed it. I will never use Turbo Tax again and will not recommend to my friends and tell them not to use Turbo Tax March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast, efficient, recommended Fast, affordable, reliable!! January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy easy... simple,easy and free. perfect for basic returns. i even had to do an amendment this year ( my mistake) and they made that un complicated. i would recommend turbo tax. February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by USE IT! I filed 3 W2s in under 20 minutes. TurboTax makes the process easier and easier every year. I will continue to use them over any other site without question. February 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by STUPID! I was told I had to upgrade to Deluxe but why would I pay $25 for a $60 refund? I then had to restart in order to downgrade and ended up spending three hours just trying to file taxes for the first time. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Experience I procrastinated doing my taxes, waiting until last minute. I heard of TurboTax from a friend and tried it. It was so easy to complete. The helpful hints the program gives makes it easy for a first-time tax filer like me to use. Thank you! Will file again next year! March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by really was simple This time was even faster than last. Could'nt have been simpler. They walk you thru fast and easy. If you don't understand something, you click and a window pops up explaining it. Fast and simple! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Step by Step I've used other online tax services and by far TurboTax has been the easiest and detail oriented tax service. Will be coming back for next year tax-return. February 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy I liked that it walked me through. However, I hate that it was always asking me to upgrade it to a higher version to complete my return - my family members had this problem as well. Don't advertise that something is free, and it isn't. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Good Stuff I really like turbo tax. Very good software March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Easy and Stress free filimh Turbo tax made it super easy and quick January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was remarkably simple Was my first time doing my own taxes, and it was a breeze. Everything was well explained. I was always hesitant about doing it myself, but TurboTax made me feel confident in my understanding of tax returns. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amended Return I was a little nervous having to file this amended return and didn't know what to expect. However, Turbo tax step-by-step instructions and the double checking, made me comfortable and confident. March 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Advertisements stated that State returns were free this year and instead of going to another preparer that charged less for state returns, I TurboTaxed again this year, only to find out I had to pay again this year. Not happy! March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Like it It was fast going through every section that I did need to go through. If I did not need to do a section of it I had a chances to see what section that I wanted to do. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Don't use an accountant Turbotax is amazing. I filed my taxes in under 2 hours, and it's much cheaper than hiring a CPA to do it for you. All you need is your paperwork, and Turbotax will prompt you for them when you need them. Easy. I don't like all of the motivational, friendly asides as if I'm about to snap and Turbotax is trying to calm me down and hold my hand. I'm a big boy, and I can carry my juice without spilling it, even if the family dog nudges me. Other than that, an amazing clerical experience. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peazy Turbo Tax is easy to use, and very helpful. I've used this service for several years, and I feel like I've always gotten the most out of my returns, and this program makes it really easy to do. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by More'n 5 Years Now Turbo Tax has done very good job for me for more than 5 years. Easy to follow instructions & figured out way to make our tax burden easier. Good deal for old folks like us. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Second-time tax filer and both times have been a breeze. It took me all of twenty minutes to do both state and federal. Would definitely recommend to anyone and I look forward to using TurboTax in the future. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job real easy I was very surprised at how easy it was. Turbo tax tells you where to look for certain information in order to complete your returns. I will definitly recommend turbo tax to friends and family February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite! My husband and I love using TurboTax. It takes the pain and anxiety out of filing taxes and breaks it down into a process that is fast, easy, effective, and actually kind of fun. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! I loved that it was so easy to use and guided me through each step. The comments were also very reassuring, and made the process almost enjoyable! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, understand and zero frustration Turbo Tax was VERY easy to use, and cost me less than using a CPA/Accountant. I feel very secure about using Turbo Tax and I really liked that they were able to explain every step of the way. February 23, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T12:12:35.399-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_8322, tr_8322
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 154 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.