1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 8 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14485 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy!! Turbo Tax was so incredibly easy to use. It literally took me only 20 minutes to do my taxes! There was no "tax" mumbo jumbo, just normal everyday language. I have never had such a simple time doing my taxes. Just awesome. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Going through this process was extremely easy, and quick, and almost painless. I appreciate the effort put into the design, graphics, and the attempt to make it seem more like dealing with a person than a computer program. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by domination of h&r block i hope that this company makes h&r block quit the tax game January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good and Easy I have been using Turbo Tax since at least 1992. I have always found it easy to use and very thoroughly even when I had to do amendments for forgetting to enter some 1099's due to no fault of the programs sometimes I would get them in late and had forgot all about them. When I used to but the tax programs I let my children and close relatives use my computer to do their Taxes using The Turbo tax program and they found it very easy to use. Since my retirement I qualify for free filing However Some of My children and Grandchildren still use and pay for Turbo Tax for many years and have always been very satisfied with e-filing using it. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbotax! Simply the best!! January 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 Misleading Turbo tax very clearly stated that my state refund would be free, and yet it still ended up costing me $30, which I couldn't even use my tax return to pay for. Very frustrating. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Time User I have been using Turbo Tax of and on for over 20 Years whenever I did not need a CPA for filing. I have always been comfortable that the filings were correct, and I have received the proper refunds or payment requirements. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxi Lab! I ended up owing a lot of money b/c of working 2 jobs. I was still pleased w/ how easy it was to file. I double checked with a taxing agent and it matched with turbotax exactly. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quite efficient I loved how easily they guided me through the filing process. This was my first time applying for a refund and i had little to no problems doing so. I'd definitely recommend it. May 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by well a good page torbotax help me in a exellent way to get mi taxes back being my first time doing it easely and effective January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super EZ This was my 1st time filing on my own. I was encouraged by all of the other reviews.I read the fine print. I understood all of my tax credits & deductions. I will definitely be completing my taxes with turbo again next year. March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quick and easy Turbo tax makes filing so easy, and makes a non professional in the world of taxes feel comfortable and confident. They used terms that were easy to understand, and gave plenty of opportunity for questions and confirmations. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Although my husband and I had to owe taxes this time, it was easy. Now I can rest assured that my taxes are done! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peasy Taxes Done Easy My taxes are extremely simple, and Turbotax makes it even simpler and easier. What I don't understand does not matter much. Turbotax holds me by the hand and walks me through. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! This is truly a great service! Only charges you when adding on expenses and more forms, the regular federal tax return is free. Really enjoyed the ease of doing my taxes here. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best Its so simple and easy to use Turbo-Tax, whether you are filing the EZ form, or a complicated tax mess. Just answer their questions, they double check your answers, and get you the most money back. Its simple, easy, and fast. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Good too simple to file I will recommend Turbotax to all of my friends February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Turbo tax was very easy to use. The prompts and supporting information were helpful. The format was intuitive to any anyone who knows how to use a computer. Excellent design! March 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rode the tax filing wave The process was quick and simple.There's no doubt I got the maximum refund possible. Would highly recommend! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Review Really enjoyed the experience it was simple through and I felt very confident that my taxes were done well. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and easy.. Love how easy it was.. Wish I had known about it before.. I got the same refund that Jackson Hewitt said I would get.. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience All features were just like the commercials! So simple to use, just like answering questions about your life. I was afraid to do my taxes at first, thinking it might be very complicated but TurboTax made everything very simple. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy! I use it every year. The instructions are easy to understand and I love that it guides you step by step. April 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy Turbo Tax is great for students and young adults putting in just school info and w2's! So easy and FREEE March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good easy program I enjoyed using TurboTax because it helped me clearly work through my taxes and the program was very easy to use. I'm glad I didn't waste my time with a preparer this year. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful and Efficient! I have never filed my own taxes, but decided to take the plunge this year. Turbo Tax online was very easy to use and was not overwhelming or intimidating (like I had expected). I will definitely be using Turbo Tax in the future! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy e-filer I've used TurboTax several times over the years. Always enjoy how easy it is to use and the ability to find answers when I have questions. Do not enjoy the prompts to upgrade when I have selected the service level I know I need. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Turbotax is so easy and hassle free. I'll continue to use turbotax as my filing status changes with marriage, home ownership, kids, etc. Thanks for making this easy for me. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and convenient!!!!!! It was fast and convenient. Saved a lot of money. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confident First time doing my own taxes..I'm 68 & if I can do my taxes on line, anyone can. The instructions are easy to read & follow. Thank you for making doing taxes stress-free. March 24, 2015
  • 2015-08-27T12:51:32.838-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14485, tr_14485
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.