1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 Super simple and totally free! I've used turbo tax every year since I've started working. My returns are straight forward and turbo tax makes my filing process streamlined and incredibly easy. My filing is always done fast and accurately and I've never had an issue. This year federal and state filing are completely free, you just can't beat that! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy! THis is the first time I am filing my own taxes and not using a service or accountant. The system made the filing process easy and clear for me. I was worried a the beginning, but whenever I had a question I just clicked on the blue areas for clarification. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by show me the money! turbotax made filing my taxes easy. they led me through the whole thing and I feel confident I am getting the most money back possible. the best part is it was free and I was able to efile too. thanks turbotax February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Great Turbotax was quick and easy to use. felt 100% comfortable and would recommend to friends February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by refund what fun I work so little last year did not expect to get anything back. But thank you for helping me without you I would not have filed. February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great like always I always find it easy when I do my taxes on turbotax. They ask you questions and you just click on the answer that corresponds to you. They even make you review your submitted information to make sure you have entered the right information. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 so easy to do something so unpleasant finished a simple 1040 return, single filer, in less than 1 hour March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, fast, easy, helpful! Pretty good explanations of everything. Alleviated much of the confusion and stress. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised I thought filing my taxes was going to be a lot more difficult, but the step-by-step process made it easy! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time filer This is the first time that I filed my taxes on my own and it was simple and quick! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO EASY I started out on HR Block and it made it SO difficult to opt out of paying for upgrades I didn't need. I gave TurboTax a try and I'm so glad I did. I needed something to be easy today...and it was. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Breeze! I've never used another online tax return service, but I couldn't imagine finding one better than TurboTax. It's quick, easy to use and any information one may need is just a click away. I'll definitely use this service again, and I recommend it to anyone. March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised First time user and I will definitely be back. They simplified my taxes to just a few clicks, and it can't get any better than that.Plus is mainly just convenience and it'd be nice to know about the fee a little earlier then the last two stages, but still a very helpful site. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Painless I was dreading doing my taxes for the first time especially based on how bad some people make it sound. But using TurboTax made it really quick and easy and everything was laid out in laymen terms. Very straight forward and made filing a breeze. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made taxes fun! I tried other tax websites before TurboTax and that was an absolute waste of time. TurboTax was by far the easiest and most simple way to do taxes. Quick and easy, and I am sure that I am getting my maximum return! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience! Let's be honest, everyone is scared when they first think about doing their taxes alone but the step by step instructions were so helpful. It was basically like filling out a multiple choice quiz. Quick and easy. Thank you so much! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by i hope my refund I like that it is easy for anyone and if you get an error you back and things will clear the leaves which I like because if a mistake is easy ahy correct January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome! I was totally pleased with filing my federal return through TurboTax but initially balked at paying the fee to file my state return. However, after a half hour on my state's website, I simply couldn't figure out how to get the refund amount TurboTax estimated. So I went back to TurboTax, filed my state return in about a minute, and received more money than I could manage to figure out on my own, even minus the fee. I mean, this was actually fun! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Stress Free and $$$ Since I began college I have used Turbo Tax. They have updated every year making it even easier than the year before! This year was the quickest and easiest thus far. Since I have limited free time, I was very thankful to have Turbo Tax to make my tax return a stress free experience! Thanks Turbos. March 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by wrapping up turbo tax at the end I don't remember going through so many hoops at the end to verify identity. This was a pain in the rear and frustrating!!! March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by So easy! Easy. Quick and too the point! Definitely worth your time! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Painless Simple and easy to follow instructions lead you throughout the entire process. Thoroughly goes through every possible scenario to make sure you don't miss an opportunity to enhance your refund. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Woohoo refund Good program overall...quick and easy...worst part is they really want you to spend money when you are filing your own refund. If I wanted to lay for it I would let someone else do it for me, March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now for the Refund! Wasn't sure about using an online tax process. Always had tax preparers do them. This was very similar to questions asked when doing ours at their offices and very easy to navigate. Very glad we did this with Turbo Tax. Several family and friends used them this year and I was very pleased. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! Best online product I've used so far. I highly recommend it. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy- and fast! I thought turbotax was an excellent source for filing taxes. As a first time filer on my own, I thought they streamlined the process beautifully and made it super simple to understand. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by rocked my refund I will do my taxes every year from now on with Turbo tax. It's fast and easy with guided steps to walk you through it. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Another statistic I've used turbo tax for 4 years and I recommend it to everyone. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by so simple I'm very happy with the service, though I was confused by the way some of the "explain this" sections were worded. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use Overall easy to follow and use. Only wish state was available at the same time. Have tried several programs and by far this has the easiest step by step directions of them all. Would totally recommend to someone else. February 2, 2015
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 83 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.