1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by rrrmmmmm i dont like the changes cause you guy ere4ased my whole tax filing history. i went to grab last years taxes and found out that it says i didnt file when i file with you every year. i ws not amused, February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by File like a pro! I am an international student and this year I become a resident alien (by passing the substantial presence test). I had no idea on how to file the tax return. TurboTax is a great help! Many thanks! March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Idiot proof, but spendy I loved how easy this was, but it seems a little ridiculous to me that I was charged $30 on my $37 state return. I could see $10 to e-file both the federal AND the state, but $30 is a little steep to me. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product I do like Turbo tax because it goes through every aspect of your tax needs and explains if you don't quite understand something. The fact that it's free for we senior citizens makes me go back each year. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thankful First Time Taxer Its my first year filing taxes and TurboTax made it SO easy and a really pleasant experience, I will definitely be using them in the future! Thank you TurboTax! You have made me one happy American. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO EASY I started out on HR Block and it made it SO difficult to opt out of paying for upgrades I didn't need. I gave TurboTax a try and I'm so glad I did. I needed something to be easy today...and it was. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great refund I love turbo tax. It makes me feel like a tax expert. 20 minutes and my refund is on the way. The software is great, does not let you miss any deductions that you would never have thought of on your own. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Job I really appreciate this easy way to file before the deadline and avoid lines and stress in trying to do it myself. You have been an awesome service and will use you for years to come. God bless you all. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! I was very nervous about this but it was very eas! I always see an H&R block consultant but they started charging for EZ files last year and I can't really afford to lose any more money. So thanks! March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow instructions. Overall, it really helps to have prior experience with filing taxes before. This is a good computer program-but beware of Turbo Tax's efforts to guide you towards more costly, unnecessary upgrades. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've done my taxes with this program for years. It's very simple and straight forward. Explanations are to the point and presented where you understand them easily. Would recommend it for everyone! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to File Easy step by step instructions, anyone can follow them. Not a fan of them constantly pushing for you to purchase the next one above the free file but I understand that they're trying to make money. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I really enjoyed using TurboTax because it takes the stress out of filing my taxes. I don't have to worry about which information goes in which box, or whether I'm adding and subtracting correctly. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, easy, almost painless Turbotax is great. It was thorough and easy to use. I appreciate the humor used in explaining why they're asking certain questions. I really enjoyed this service and will be using it in the future. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gettin' money! TurboTax was very helpful and easy to use. I am a first time tax doer and barely had to do a thing. This site is great and it's free! I will definitely be using this site every time I do my taxes! March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Easy It couldn't be simpler with Turbo Tax. I don't understand why anyone would pay to have a simple return prepared. It is a Do It Yourself Guide for Dummies. I have used it every year for over 10 years now! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complicated made easy I had a couple of extraordinary tax situations for 2014 that I was worried about, but TurboTax made it easy for me to nail down and take control of my situation. I'm confident my taxes are done correctly. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great First Time Experience!! This was my first year filing taxes and because my Mom uses TurboTax I decided to as well. It was very easy to follow all of the steps and entering my information was just a few clicks. Thank you TurboTax March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me money, HR block tried charging me $45 Happy that it was free and relatively easy to use. I didnt feel like I didnt know what to do next. Maybe cut back on all the additional offers, felt like I was being swarmed by the paparazzi haha April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest tax refund in 50 years I've used TurboTax before which is why I used it this year even though my tax return seemed easy enough. The program has improved making it faster and very convenient. Thank you for your wonderful product April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for ease of use Filing taxes is usually really really stressful and I procrastinate every year. But Turbotax really made it easy, I filed in one afternoon and they made me feel like i was really getting my money. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by iPhone EZ I've used the FREE TurboTax service for several years and it's gotten even easier to do! I really like that I'm able to import my W-2 with no hassle. I was able to complete my return on my iPhone! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You Anyone can do their own taxes online with Turbo Tax. This is my 7th year. Can't imagine doing my taxes any other way. Bonus...it's FREE! I get to keep all of my refund! Thanks so much Turbo Tax :) February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Succinct! There are a lot of "options" out there to file your taxes. In my opinion, and I have opted to use other services (i.e, H and R Block, etc.) for prior returns, TurboTax offers the best 'bang for the buck." March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's good I saw on tv that you could not file state tax free also but that is not the case or I used the wrong website. I barely gave it five stars. I would give it 6 and recommend to someone if the state was free. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and most easy tax filing Absolutely wonderful experience filing my taxes with you guys this year, can`t wait to do it again with you next year, easy, not complicated at all, did not get stress at all filing it, love it!!! March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by really was simple This time was even faster than last. Could'nt have been simpler. They walk you thru fast and easy. If you don't understand something, you click and a window pops up explaining it. Fast and simple! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable I have been doing my taxes with turbo-tax for a few years now and I am very satisfied with the service. For example, easy access, internet friendly, self sufficient, easy to log back in to re-cap. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as pie This was our FIRST time e- filing .BLEW US AWAY!!..Very easy and reassured IF we made a mistake Turbo caught it and langue was easy to understand.I{Karen} am teared-up that we didn't try Turbo-Tax SOONER. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy. Imports your W2 and 1095-A and does the math for you. All you need to do is put in the correct info. Didn't take long and you can leave and pick up where you started. Also they let you preview your forms. February 28, 2015
  • 2015-11-26 T15:49:52.692-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.