1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow instructions. Overall, it really helps to have prior experience with filing taxes before. This is a good computer program-but beware of Turbo Tax's efforts to guide you towards more costly, unnecessary upgrades. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've done my taxes with this program for years. It's very simple and straight forward. Explanations are to the point and presented where you understand them easily. Would recommend it for everyone! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy TurboTax made filing taxes easy even for a newbie like me. I loved the detailed process and the support provided through each step of the process. I'll definitely be using TurboTax again next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy breezy Love Turbo Tax! Have been using it for years. I hate doing taxes and Turbo Tax takes the pain out of an otherwise painful process. It's easy to use, fast, and affordable. For me, it's the only way to go. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use This program is fairly easy to use. Just read each question and fill in the information. Had a little problem entering my policy number for the NY Health Exchange information but eventually got it right. February 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wrong Time Zone This product placed me in an earlier time zone than I am stating that I filed my taxes an hour later than I did in reality. 1145pm is NOT the same as 1245am in any time zone. TExas in NOT New York! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Turbo Tax! who doesn't hate taxes? oh yeah, the IRS! they get the money! but turbo tax has helped me make a stressful tax form into a ahhhhhhhh moment. thank you turbo tax and thank you St. Mary's Credit Union too. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience! If you want to file your tax without any hassle, I would recommend using Turbo Tax. I've been using since 2011, and it's been the best way to file my tax return. I would recommend this to everyone. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1st time filer First time using TurboTax. It was very helpful, but didn't like how they want to keep adding more fees for services they provide. Need to be more up front about state fees and total fees of filing. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I was assigned a IRS IP PIN and I was not asked for this information, I assume it will be rejected and at that point I will be able to enter the IP PIN. I am hoping.. but the process was simple and quick March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund Turbotax made filing my return as quick and painless as possible. The step by step instructions made it impossible to be confused. Turbotax is fairly priced and did not take up too much of my time. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to File Easy step by step instructions, anyone can follow them. Not a fan of them constantly pushing for you to purchase the next one above the free file but I understand that they're trying to make money. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I really enjoyed using TurboTax because it takes the stress out of filing my taxes. I don't have to worry about which information goes in which box, or whether I'm adding and subtracting correctly. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, easy, almost painless Turbotax is great. It was thorough and easy to use. I appreciate the humor used in explaining why they're asking certain questions. I really enjoyed this service and will be using it in the future. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gettin' money! TurboTax was very helpful and easy to use. I am a first time tax doer and barely had to do a thing. This site is great and it's free! I will definitely be using this site every time I do my taxes! March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Easy It couldn't be simpler with Turbo Tax. I don't understand why anyone would pay to have a simple return prepared. It is a Do It Yourself Guide for Dummies. I have used it every year for over 10 years now! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complicated made easy I had a couple of extraordinary tax situations for 2014 that I was worried about, but TurboTax made it easy for me to nail down and take control of my situation. I'm confident my taxes are done correctly. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great First Time Experience!! This was my first year filing taxes and because my Mom uses TurboTax I decided to as well. It was very easy to follow all of the steps and entering my information was just a few clicks. Thank you TurboTax March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me money, HR block tried charging me $45 Happy that it was free and relatively easy to use. I didnt feel like I didnt know what to do next. Maybe cut back on all the additional offers, felt like I was being swarmed by the paparazzi haha April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest tax refund in 50 years I've used TurboTax before which is why I used it this year even though my tax return seemed easy enough. The program has improved making it faster and very convenient. Thank you for your wonderful product April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for ease of use Filing taxes is usually really really stressful and I procrastinate every year. But Turbotax really made it easy, I filed in one afternoon and they made me feel like i was really getting my money. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by iPhone EZ I've used the FREE TurboTax service for several years and it's gotten even easier to do! I really like that I'm able to import my W-2 with no hassle. I was able to complete my return on my iPhone! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank You Anyone can do their own taxes online with Turbo Tax. This is my 7th year. Can't imagine doing my taxes any other way. Bonus...it's FREE! I get to keep all of my refund! Thanks so much Turbo Tax :) February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Succinct! There are a lot of "options" out there to file your taxes. In my opinion, and I have opted to use other services (i.e, H and R Block, etc.) for prior returns, TurboTax offers the best 'bang for the buck." March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's good I saw on tv that you could not file state tax free also but that is not the case or I used the wrong website. I barely gave it five stars. I would give it 6 and recommend to someone if the state was free. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and most easy tax filing Absolutely wonderful experience filing my taxes with you guys this year, can`t wait to do it again with you next year, easy, not complicated at all, did not get stress at all filing it, love it!!! March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by really was simple This time was even faster than last. Could'nt have been simpler. They walk you thru fast and easy. If you don't understand something, you click and a window pops up explaining it. Fast and simple! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as pie This was our FIRST time e- filing .BLEW US AWAY!!..Very easy and reassured IF we made a mistake Turbo caught it and langue was easy to understand.I{Karen} am teared-up that we didn't try Turbo-Tax SOONER. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy. Imports your W2 and 1095-A and does the math for you. All you need to do is put in the correct info. Didn't take long and you can leave and pick up where you started. Also they let you preview your forms. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbooooooo tax I love that the site led me step by step through my entire tax return. And, if I had a question, I could click on the suggested questions to read about what I was unsure of. It was super quick, half hour! March 23, 2015
  • 2015-12-01 T09:59:05.624-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.