1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved my refund Did an amazing job quick easy January 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 I did not appreciate being charged for TurboTax Plus, when I distinctly remembered asking to remove that feature and also declining the numerous other offers to upgrade to that option. It was for that reason that I chose not to file my state taxes through your site. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by that was easy The most efficient and accurate tax filing program I have ever used the past 3 years. The competitors offer free review to maximize refund but they have fallen short each time. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 The Best Customer service in the whole world All of the representatives were upbeat, kind, patient and beyond helpful. And the music while I was on hold was great not annoying, soothing and kept me entertained while waiting. February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Taxes! Overall it was good. January 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Job I didn't like that Turbo Tax has a limit on letters for employers. Some employers have big names. It makes filing more difficult for the employee if he/she doesn't know how to abbreviate. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome good helpful dont have to leave the house and can trust that my taxes were done right January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy filing I liked the service, simplified and saves time and allows the maximum possible refund January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Tax Filer It is my first time filing taxes for myself, and turbo tax made it fool proof. I have to admit that I was pretty nervous, but turbo tax made it so much easier for me. I recommend turbo tax to new and previous filers, it makes everything much easier and less stressful. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It is very simple, and it guides you. I was just a little bit confused at some parts, and the help suggestions didn't really help. I wish the Chat option was still available. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So fast and super easy! The entire process was user friendly and made it easy to get through the tax filing process. Makes me wonder why anyone would pay to have their taxes done when they could just use Turbo Tax! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT Thank you for the quick response about the rejects. I believe that I have another reject and I will need help again. Knowing this makes my worry a little bit less. Thank you February 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Paper filing a mess Couldn't efile fed taxes and the turbotax site would not complete proces just kept going back and forth. Not sure if they ever efiled my state ytaxes what a mess. It was free but a mess February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some things were confusing to find and after my return got rejected it will not let me fix it, just keeps re-filing the same thing. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy So easy. I was guided step by step. questions were answered. Hardly took any time at all. feel very confident that my tax return was done correctly and filed immediately. February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 it good I had trouble add the car I used so I couldn't enter the date I stopped using it. because it wanted me to say I sold it but it was a loaner I took care of so there was no way to specify the fact February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy Refund! My first time using Turbo Tax and I have to say I'm impressed. Very fast and easy process and was completely free. I'll definitely come back next year for my 2015 refund! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Refund is Great I have used Turbo-tax for years now and have never had a problem. They make sure you get every deduction you have coming to you; while making sure you aren't ezposed to an audit/ February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am not sure I did this correctly. I always use turbo tax. But state rejected and not sure why. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Streamlined! I have used Turbo tax for many years and I really like knowing that all my tax info is in one place and easily accessible. However this year, it seems that isn't true. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easier and FASTER than applying for a job! I have a busy life and I really don't enjoy doing taxes but this was easier than an online personality quiz I took once! Very apply with the ease this site has provided for such a mundane necessity. Thank you! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Fast and Easy Very fast and easy to file. I've used TurboTax for many years and it's always been reliable. It gets better every time I use it too. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest way Ive filed in years The site was very helpful and explained in detail what information it was asking for. Step by step, it was easy to follow. Ill be filing with Turbo Tax next year! February 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by REJECTED THREE TIMES!!!!! I can not get out of this rejected approved cycle... Who do I call? What do I do? How can I get it out of this mess!!! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super EASY! Overall great product, Super confident in my return! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Quick and Easy Quick, easy, and simple. I really like how it asked if I wanted to go over several sections that (didnt apply to me), so I could easily skip them and get this done on my break at work. February 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by STUPID! I was told I had to upgrade to Deluxe but why would I pay $25 for a $60 refund? I then had to restart in order to downgrade and ended up spending three hours just trying to file taxes for the first time. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!! Just one word, AWESOME! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very user friendly. Easy to understand I will use this service again. Very helpful and easy to use. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy for 1st timer My first job and first W-2, this program made it super easy. January 31, 2015
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 63 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.