1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 270 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO Easy! I LOVE Turbo Tax! I have been using it for years. I did try the other year visiting H&R Block to ask a question, but honestly I knew more than the people working there, so went back to Turbo Tax. TT is so easy, I love that it has kept all of my tax info in one place. I also love that I don't have to pay more for someone else to do it, where I would spend more time and money running around making appointments and delivering paperwork. I also feel better that they do the Federal free e-file and that each of my banks recommend it. If I made more money, I would for sure be getting the deluxe versions but I don't, so I use the free and pay for the state. The only thing that would make this better would be discounts for low income people for state returns and a version in-between the free and $30. I definitely would recommend this to anyone, ESPECIALLY if you have more complicated and itemized deductions. April 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A fond Goodby to TurboTax & Quicken I have been an enthusiastic Intuit supporter for years. For over a decade I have enjoyed using Intuit's TurboTax Deluxe for itemized deductions and schedule C for my several businesses. I have also used Intuit's Quicken to handle collecting and documenting the detail throughout the year. I understand next year I will be required to buy their high end TurboTax package at roughly double the cost to accomplish what used to be included in their Deluxe package. Even if it still worked, the Deluxe package is no longer price competitive with several others. Also, their Quicken still does not have a smartphone version that will work for me or that is receiving favorable user reviews. It appears Intuit's product development cycle at least for Quicken is at an end and both softwares are now "cash cows" in their business plan. Reluctantly I plan to move to another tax software and Quicken competitor in the next tax cycle. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the free federal return, not so much state I've used TurboTax for a couple years now, and have been pleasantly satisfied with the federal return process. Being a "starving post-college-student," the fact that I can waltz through such a well organized yet in-depth filing process for free has been lovely and greatly appreciated. I am unhappy, however, to find that I can't file my state taxes for free, and that this little nugget of knowledge wasn't dropped until after I had worked through my whole state return. I'm not sure if this is something new to TurboTax as my permanent residency is in WA (whoohoo no state tax forms for the Evergreen State) and I am a new non-resident in OR. If I really felt like shelling out $30-60-ish bucks I would consider it, but I'd rather have that money in my pocket by doing my state taxes myself. I simply wish the website was more upfront with all the fees involved from the start of the process. I don't like wasting my time this way. March 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too much advertising It's very confusing how to NOT file for state taxes. it's not made clear when you choose to fill out federal and state that once you click the option to fill out both you then HAVE to file your state taxes with TurboTax. Maybe there's a way to undo starting the process of filing for state taxes but it was not easy to find (if it exists). I ended up just giving up and filing with state taxes through TurboTax. $30 isn't that big of a deal in the long run and overall I will probably still use TurboTax again because it's a good product, but I think there were a lot of changes made from last year to this year that made the program more difficult to use in the free version. Clearly quality of the free version is dependent on the success of the paid for version, but for a poor student, navigating around not using the premium/state tax filing was definitely an annoyance. Thanks for listening to my concerns! Overall it's a great program. March 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Got it done fast TurboTax helped get the job done quickly and fairly stress free. However, I didn't like that it wouldn't let me preview my return during the process. My federal gross income was adjusted to a totally different number and I was very confused as to how that number was reached. My question was answered at the end when I was finally able to see my return and find where that number was calculate. I also didn't like how many times I was asked to upgrade. At one point the charge to upgrade was sneaked into my charges, luckily I saw it just before I paid. I also didn't like how much this cost, however I chose to pay it because I chose to wait so long to do my taxes. Lastly, I didn't like that I needed to print of 25 pages to be able to print a copy of my return. I feel there were several pages that were not necessary for my personal records. Overall, TurboTax is great if you don't mind paying for it and would like a lot of help while filing. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Depressed my Payment Overall Turbotax is a great service, however, this year it was kind of an annoyance. We selected filing everything for free, or so we thought. After going through our taxes we found out we owed on our taxes this year, that being said we put it off paying our taxes till the first week of April. Logging back in and finishing our taxes, we then found out we owed $29.99 to file our state. Even though we could have switched to H&R to file our free state we decided just to pay it. The next annoying thing was that all throughout the finalization process we saw the words "finish your return" or "finish your refund". It was a cosmetic thing, but a young couple who has to pay for some dumb reason even though we have no dependents taken out, it was an annoying set of words that didn't help the situation. Hopefully next year, they could take that into mind and be a little more attentive to those of us that have the unfortunate task of owing. April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Had a little problem with my NY state return... Most of the tax preparation was nice and easy. But when it came time to finally file the federal and state returns it kept giving me an error which stated that my school's name for the IT-201 form had too many characters. So I went back and attempted to edit this information (even though it was 100% correct already) but it wouldn't let me. So I looked up what to do in this situation from the TurboTax Support section of their website and it said to start my state return over. While a bit frustrated I agreed to try this, but it wouldn't let me as it won't let you start anything over once you put in your payment method. Very frustrating. I ended up having to file my state return by mail because the supposed "college name error" that it is showing wouldn't let me e-file without fixing the error. This was very inconvenient compared to other years where I had no problems like this. Other than that I've never had an issue with this tax prep software March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for the newbie or the veteran! I was intimidated when I thought about filing my taxes and my mom recommended TurboTax. Now I know why! It broke things down really easily and made it less overwhelming. It only showed me one thing at a time so I felt like each step was manageable and simple. The directions were in positive, colloquial language so it felt almost like playing a game or taking a simple survey! I thought "Hey, I know these answers!" It was amusing and comforting to see the animated graphics speeding along, for example, to illustrate my progress. It helped me feel like I was right on track and that the next step would be just as simple as the current one. I was a little confused about the TurboTax Plus option and had to be careful to take it off of my preferences, otherwise I would have gotten stuck with a cost I didn't want. But it made it simple enough that if I just kept an eye out and read carefully, I could make sure I knew what I was choosing. Thanks TurboTax! April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smooth and Fresh I had a great experience with turbo tax this year. It was quick and easy and had very few setbacks. One of the things that I think could be improved on was a portion in the Deductions section. It had asked about a few boxes on last years 1098-T and I never understand why that matters. Maybe just an explanation link like turbotax has for many other sections could help explain the relevance of asking for information found on a 2013 form while filing for 2014. Other than that, everything was smooth and very user friendly. And its free!!! Which brings me to my next point which is, what do I really get for the Turbotax Plus. It asks a handful of times to upgrade, but it works so well for free that I can't seem to want to do it. I Think a discounted price for returning filers who upgrade for the first time could help show people if Turbotax Plus is really for them or not, plus it could help Turbotax bring in some money instead of none. Just a thought. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplified my complex returns! I had a complicated return with W-2's, 1098-T, 1098-E, taxable scholarships not reported on a W-2, etc. It was a nightmare trying to figure out how to accurately report everything on my own, and to maximize my credits and deductions. I even called the IRS tax help and was given poor, vague advice. I decided to try TurboTax instead, and while it still took lots of trial and error, with numerous calls into the help center, I am now confident that my returns are accurate. The software considered deductions and returns I wasn't even aware of, and gave me more money back than I anticipated! Best of all, it is free. If you upgrade to better services, you still don't have to pay until the end, which still means no commitment! The help center experts were VERY knowledgeable and willing to help me, sometimes spending 20+ minutes on the phone and asking colleagues to track down appropriate solutions for me. They were pleasant, understanding, and polite. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heck Yesss! I've heard a lot about TurboTax but had never tried it because I had to get the disk, download the software, AND it cost money. My sister used it last year but made more than me so I also disregarded her suggestion. This year, my neighbor at work mentioned he did his for free with TurboTax. I thought: "It's only my second year filing...I don't know how to do this; and Jeesh how embarrassing to ask my Dad for help!" So, I went online and started. I was surprised at how easy it was, interactive and personal, and clearly worded the questions were. Not to mention the blue hyperlinks with helpful information. I was a bit surprised to find the state tax filing wasn't free but much cheaper than the $60-90 I've heard others were paying through H&R Block or their accountant. I expect my taxes to be easy and straightforward being a single person with a full time job and student loans. TurboTax made that an actuality--a much better experience than last year! March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still Works TurboTax is my go-to method of getting my tax returns filed. The service does what it says it does - it holds your hand and walks you through the tedium so you make the shortest path from W2's and 1099's to a refund check. This year's version had some pro's and cons compared to previous years. The interface, like most online user interfaces, got sleeker and more minimal. The "narrative" or "guidance" of the wizard did a better job of quickly helping you understand and guiding you through all the credits, deductions, etc than years past. However, in years past, it was easier to navigate around through the process. For instance, once I got started I could not go back to the beginning and pay to import my information from last year. There were other little moments like that where I just wanted to go back and choose a different path, but it wasn't always easy. Still, I always DO recommend TurboTax to friends, strangers, anyone who asks. In the end it does the job. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bring Back Turbotax Basic I have filed for the past few years using TurboTax Basic, and loved the product. This year, I could not find it. The replacement product seems to be the "Federal Free Edition". I had a frustrating experience using it. Nowhere on your web site could I determine if I could file a standard 1040 form with this "Federal Free Edition" (you just gave the examples 1040-EZ and 1040-A). So I took a chance and decided to try it, since I have a simple return to file. After completing nearly all of the tax return, I started getting pop-up messages telling me "You must upgrade to the Deluxe version to complete your return." Only $54.99! I know that I do not need the Deluxe version. It would not get me one single deduction more. At least I was able to complete and file my return. But, it was more stressful, because I thought I had wasted all that time completing the form and you were going to force me to purchase a product I did not want or need. Bring back Basic! Thank you April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax calmed my Tax Time Anxiety!!! This is my first year filing taxes myself. I've always had a friend or family member do them or paid someone to do them. While I find most IRS related stuff confusing, taxes really scared me. Turns out my taxes are very simple and pretty easy to file myself. Turbo Tax has tons of help and resources available to help me understand all the scary sounding lingo and help me make all the correct choices for my Tax Return! I'm so glad I decided to use Turbo Tax. I saved a lot of money and I feel so relieved knowing it's all done. They asked every possible question to make sure I didn't miss anything along the way! Every single step has Help and Info boxes I can click on to explain or define anything and everything. They do have customer service available, but I didn't even need to call since the site has every answer I could need. I now will be getting my guaranteed maximum refund without any stress. I will definitely be using Turbo Tax from now on! Thank you Turbo Tax!!! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost didn't get it in...but we're all good now. Thanks for helping me do my own taxes. I'm worried for when things get more complicated like owning a home and having kids, etc. I'm not sure I could stick with Turbo Tax later. This seems great for me right now since there's not a lot of extenuating circumstances so it's easier to make sure TurboTax matches what I have. This year, I didn't know for two weeks this wasn't signed and submitted; I thought I had requested the efile already. Luckily, I knew from past experience that TT sends an email acknowledging receipt of the submission and later the IRS approves it, and so on. I hadn't gotten this yet and wondered about the hold up. I found out tonight by calling customer service (automated) that I needed to finish this. I'm not sure if you already have a procedure in place but maybe a prompt could go out saying, "hey, you started this, but... you've still got to do ______", something like that, so this doesn't get missed. That would be very bad to submit after 4/15. February 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful program The program was very repetitive. I know this is to help prevent errors but it made questions difficult to answer. Because the program was confusing, it made errors such as considering me a child at the very end who needed a parent's SSN. This was because I answered a question stating that I did not earn at least half of my income (because my scholarships did not have a W-2, only a 1098-T). Answering this question truthfully created an error and I had to google the answer. This brought me to tears because the program was so difficult to use. Other TurboTax users also had this program and I was grateful they answered it for me (not a turbotax answer). In addition, when I went back to check or correct certain areas, some of my answers were erased and I had to keep filling them out. At the end, it said I had missed answers I KNOW I had already answered several times. Overall, I was not satisfied with the program and next year I will choose a different tax preparation service. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by please drop the informal remarks What is with the mood questions at the beginning? Who cares, you're wasting my time and seem totally unprofessional. Also, because I didn't want to be bothered, I selected "don't ask" thinking it would skip all of the nonsense and just get to my refund, and instead I get all of this sympathy #more wasted time# about how I'm so upset that I don't want to be asked how I'm doing. The initial section was pretty much where most of the vernacular language was, and once it got going it was ok #though still somewhat present#. The software did the job it needed to do, but came off as A) wasting my time trying to sound "cool", B) very unprofessional- if there is one place I want formal and to the point language, it is in my tax preparations, and C) you are not kidding anyone that a scripted computer program cares about how I am feeling today. Honestly, at the time, I thought it was so awful I would have walked away and used a new program if I wasn't starting my taxes on April 14th. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, Affordable, Fun What I love about TurboTax (and why I keep coming back to it year after year) is that it is super easy to use. I love the conversational tone they take as you move along; the cartoon-like pictures that they put with different options that makes it feel simple and easy to understand; the explanations you can find for any and everything all along the way, etc. I also like that they are sure to review all areas with you, and if you accidentally put something in that you are unsure about they just walk you through it in a clear way as if that was the most natural thing in the world. They double check everything, and it's so easy it almost makes me *enjoy* doing my taxes! Who'd have thought?! Really. As you watch that tax refund calculator in the upper left hand corner move up and down, it's almost like a game and makes you excited to see how much you're winning. Mostly, it just keeps things clear and simple and easy to follow. So easy to follow. I recommend TurboTax to everyone I know. March 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misleading Pricing I was very happy with Turbo Tax my first time I used it. The second time I noticed that I was given the Deluxe version the first time for free just to pay for it the following year. When I was about to file my return I realized that I was being charged for the Deluxe this time. I then erased everything I've done and started over so I could change my plan until I find out that it was saying that I had to buy the Deluxe because of a form that was required. I've done my research and that form was not required at all. I have a very simply tax life. Also, I've chosen to pay to TurboTax out of my refund and it didn't say anywhere I had to pay an extra $29.99 just for the payment, not for the service itself. If I wasn't careful, I would never see in that long legal stuff that no one reads the extra $29.99. Not happy with the lack of transparency on costs and misleading information to make you pay more for something you do not need. I'm definitely considering doing my own taxes next year. April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TT Needs to make fees more clear We were completely done and ready to FILE - we thought. But reading the fine print before I pressed AGREE, I noticed that the fee was not the $29.99 we thought it would be. Apparently By selecting "deduct fee from refund" we inadvertently caused the fee to jump to $69.99. No where did we see that this was the result if we chose that alternative. Maybe in the beginning when you are shown the charts for Free and Plus, if paying attention we could have seen this might happen. But by the time we went through all the screens, information, reviews and re-reviews, we lost track of that ino. So after about an hour of fiddling and talking to customer support - having the IE browser hang up and not let us "revisit" the choice of payment methods, etc. We finally had to quit - sign in again and return to the option to "revisit" before we got the matter resolved, changed to charge my credit card, got a receipt and actually FILED the forms. Whew!! It was cheaper, easier, quicker elsewhere last year. March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by felt pressured to buy all the time I am very disappointed about how much turbo tax pushes to get customers to upgrade. I did my best to consistently answer "no" but somehow must have still inadvertently clicked on something (though I truly question when !!) because at the very end I had to pay to keep on going. So I cleared all my answers and started fresh, and was able to get the free version by redoing my entire returns. I felt I concentrated more on avoiding purchasing the turbotax upgrades than I did on the actual questions about my taxes. This is unacceptable. Either it is a free service or it isn't. Next year, my taxes will get more complicated, as I just got married and will change jobs in a couple of months. I was actually planning on buying the better version of turbo tax to file next year as I had had a positive experience until now (I've been using turbotax for years before and never had it been like this). After this ordeal, I think I'll hire an accountant. By insisting so much, you actually lost a customer. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by forced Upsell required I understand that 1040A, and 1040EZ are simple forms, but if you need to file a standard 1040 then you will be required to pay $50 dollars. I mean really $50 for a standard 1040 a form that only requires an additional 3 pages of work, and the work this program does is run it throw pre-built algorithms anyways rather insulting. the program worked yes. It got me more then my expected refund, but every 5 minutes told me that I needed to buy the next higher version to complete what the IRS calls a difficulty-2 form(still easily completed without a CPA), and is still only 5 pages, and the funniest part was either by a fault of their program, or incorrect analysis still alowd me to file a standard 1040 with the free version which just begs the question why the HECK did it keep saying that I needed to buy the Deluxe edition every 5 minutes. if 1040A, 1040EZ, and 1040 where included in federal free version without prompting to purchase the Deluxe edition every 5 minutes then would give 5 stars. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE TURBOTAX I have used TurboTax to file my taxes every year since I started filing taxes (2007). They were amazing then, yet it is clear that they have continued to improve over the years by making their site even more easy and user-friendly. Their brief descriptions of tax credits and categories that are on almost every category is awesome! Concise and easy to read. The only downside is the cost to file state. I always have to go reenter information on a free filing site for state. I understand why though. However, one of the options for any fees through TurboTax is to have it deduct automatically from the refund, which is a cool feature. My one suggestion if it would be possible financially for TurboTax is to waive the difference for filing state returns if one's tax refund is less than the cost (for me that would only be $5 they would be waiving). Anyway, I thought that would be an awesome consumer-related business practice if it wouldn't mean losing profit entirely. Overall, I love TurboTax and highly recommend it. March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ads Ruined a Good Experience As a college student, all I need is a straightforward tax experience. I don't have complicated expenses or complex financial information; I just want software that can get the job done for me. I've had a positive experience with TurboTax in the past, but this year was ruined by a barrage of product ads by Intuit. Every few steps there was another option asking if you wanted to upgrade your tax product for a few more features. If this wasn't obnoxious enough, there were hidden fees occasionally added on that I was not aware of until the end of the process. For example, while Federal taxes were free, State taxes were not, and this was not made clear from the beginning. Additionally, it was not apparent that allowing the TurboTax fee to be removed from your refund would cost another 29.99! Little things like this added up to make for an annoying tax experience, something which can be stressful enough as it is. I likely won't be using TurboTax in the future unless it majorly overhauls its advertising practices. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Easy I've always used my dad to help me file my taxes since he does that for a living, but it's become more of a hassle since I no longer live in my hometown. I decided to use TurboTax this year to see if I could do it; & I definitely can! This site is so easy and painless. No one likes dealing with their taxes, but this site makes it seem kind of fun. I really like how it guides you from one step to the next and, if you are confused, everything has little info boxes to help you understand - I LOVE THAT! The one thing I did NOT like was the promoting of the TurboTax Deluxe package. I'm not too savvy when it comes to taxes so I didn't understand what it was trying to sell me, but I ended up choosing "This does not apply to me." It popped up again later and I dismissed it again. The fact that it popped up a second time when I turned it down the first time was kind of annoying. But if that's the only thing I don't like then I think TurboTax has all the right things going for it! Will definitely be using this next year!! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Experience I have used Turbo Tax the past three years. My first two times went very well, without any difficulties. This time, when I actually needed more guidance, it was a different situation. I was married this year, bought a house, and had residency and occupational changes concerning the state these were located. Instead of the usually "follow the steps" guidance, I had to manually go back and fix the information that was not being calculated correctly (or not asked to be input). Once these were fixed; however, I did receive the max refund. Upon filing my returns I came to one more problem. It was going to cost a total of $119.96 to file. I did wait until after the deadline to complete my state returns for free which was my fault. The problem though was Turbo Tax suggesting a file a state return for a state that did not need one. This would have cost me an addition $29.99 for not reason, and would have had I not caught it. The combination of all these pros and cons has made me change my usual rating of 5 Stars to 3 Stars. March 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Little Dissapointed So i've done my taxes with turbo taxes for the past three years and it has always been a quick and painless experience, and by painless I mean FREE. This year I log in to my turbo tax account and I selected the free option....Not turbo tax plus or any of the added services you guys offer. Upon reviewing my taxes and attempting to file it (the last steps before getting tax returns) I realized only my federal tax was free and my state taxes were not. This year I moved across the united states and as a consequence I had partial residency in two states. This meant that I would be charged $27.99 per state!!! Definitely an unanticipated fee and by that time I had already been through all the pains of filing my taxes. I might as well have gone to H&R block where they would have filed my taxes for only $40....instead I ended up paying $56 and had no help from a professional tax preparer. Unless you are up front about the costs involved next year I will not be using your services again. Hidden fees are garbage and I do not deal with garbage. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by How Turbo Tax Changed My Life As someone who suffers from anxiety based soley in situations pertaining to money or calculations I dread the tax time of year. I often suffer minor panic attacks when the word "taxes" comes up in conversations near me, the mere mention sends me into fits of worry. This is not something one should simply put off or save for later. Last year I had an awful time dealing with my taxes, I was swimming in questions and tax forms trying to figure out how to complete my taxes without spending tons of money or trusting the wrong person. This year I am happy to announce that TurboTax has SAVED me. I feel born again. Filling out the forms was easy and even a little fun. The personalized touches and features, such as questions about how i'm feeling or the friendly font, made me feel like I was sitting down with a friend who geniuinely wanted me to feel comfortable and stress-free. I will definitely be recommending TurboTax to any and all who inquire. I'm actualy looking forward to tax season next year because I know I am in good hands. Thank you! March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way Better Than HR Block!!! I had already completed my parents taxes on HR Block's site, then they hit me with a huge price tag - a complete surprise since their prices are hard to find listed on their site. I came to your site and was pleasantly surprised to find your prices clearly listed and MUCH less expensive than your competitor's prices!! When I saw your prices I knew that I was going to re-do the taxes. Once I was in your program I found it MUCH more visually pleasing than HR Block's software. Something about how you set up your software made filling out the tax forms feel less tedious. It was a wonderful experience (which was a surprise considering that it was the second time that night that I was completing a set of tax forms!!!) Thank you for your great software AND for making it so incredibly affordable. My parents don't have much money and it was SUCH a blessing for them to be able to have their taxes prepared and filed for $0. You have just gained a few new loyal customers!!! Me and my three brothers will all be using Turbo Tax from now on. Keep up the good work!!!!! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service Even though we ended up owing this year, this service was a great tool available for us to utilize this tax year. We had taken in our taxes the previous year and ended up paying more than we were getting back in our refund just to get them done. Turbo Tax allowed us to do our taxes at our time and at our own pace. The simple fact that they allow you to log out and pick right back up where you left off is amazing. I was even able to use quick help menus to figure out how to use different features and even research reasons why we owed the IRS in the first place. Finally, the depth into which Turbo Tax delves into in the attempt to get you the most write-offs and deductions possible is very impressive. There are many avenues in which I would have never explored had they not been brought to my attention by the software. The only bad I would have to say is that some of the quick help menus will load blank and offer no information what so ever. But a quick refresh and reload usually cleared the problem right up. Thanks for some great software and useful tools guys! March 9, 2015
  • 2015-05-03T12:35:35.111-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-270, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14404, tr_14404
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 268 269 270 271 272 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.