1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 263 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Easy! The step-by-step instructions (and explanations) made it easy to understand and made the entire process less intimidating. You also have the option to skip to different parts of the filing to redo or review what you have entered. However, it is also easy to accidentally upgrade to another package. At the end, I realized I was set up for the Federal Free Edition Plus version for an additional $29.99. I wasn't able to remove the additional package and wasn't sure when I signed up, so I had to restart the filing. Overall though, I thought it was quick and would file again with Turbo Tax next year. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly Simple I started my return about 3 weeks ago but had to wait on a possible 1099 which was never issued. When I started out, I was told the Federal Return was Free AS WELL AS my State of Arkansas Return. Everything was ready to go but the final steps when I resumed working on the return today. It was then that a charge for the State return appeared. I could find no explanation for this charge but agreed to pay since I didn't want to go to another site and re-enter the information. It was still a BARGAIN compared to what my Tax Preparer for over 20 years had been charging me. I will come back next year. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very simple to fill out I am a NY State resident and am entitled to a Star credit for taxes. Minimum distributions are exempt. I receive a minimum distribution that is exempt but because Box 7 is not "X" it does not show as a minimum distribution. This is a 457B minimum distribution. In order to file the Star exemption I had to state that the Box 7 was "X". Perhaps you should have an additional field so this can be reported properly. I called NYS Deferred Comp who filed the 1099R. They cannot check the box even though it is a minimum distribution because it is a 457B. You should do something to correct this situation. February 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My state return has been rejected like five times, there is no detailed information on the specifics as to why the rejection. I even called the state to get IL pin and its still being rejected. No number to contact to get a refund for the state taxes I paid to TURBO TAX ,I refuse to pay twice for a service I initially paid for through TURBO TAX!!! And the year of 2012 taxes got messed, I will not be returning to TURBO TAX for 2016!!! DIS PLEASED CUSTOMER....And to this day and hour its still being rejected. I will be pursuing a refund for my unprocessed state taxes...GOING over to state.revenue March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Fast Detailed & Cheap! A really easy and precise website. I enjoy how in-depth they go to help you out. I learn new things every time I use TurboTax. The majority of filing my taxes were easy. I didn't understand some of the information. Also there was a brief moment (roughly 20 minutes) Where none of my devices were loading the website. I assume the website was currently frozen or my area was slow on internet. Either way, I was able to finish my taxes, free and with very little complications. Also if I needed to talk to anyone, they were only a phone call away. I appreciate the stress free filing! Thank you TurboTax! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So relieved! Doing taxes is very stressful, Turbo Tax helped relieve that stress. A couple of pages were a little confusing and I had to go back and undo a couple of things to get it correct. It's good that you can correct mistakes immediately. By and large pretty easy for a simple, personal return. It took a little over 2 hours for my first time and with a few interruptions. I love that it's free for a federal return, again relieving some of the stress. Have to do state separately unless you pay an extra fee. They really do cover all the bases, so much easier than doing it myself by hand. Will do next year. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Military-Friendly Tax Return Filer It was easy to file, because little bits of info are there to help you along the way. They also notify you via-email if your tax return was rejected. I'm just waiting for my return to go through. SInce Turbotax asked some personal questions in the end, I just wanted to share that I used to live in Tokyo for 4 years, then moved to New Jersey. I pretty much hated most of my time there and I got sent to a deployment. On the positive note, I did make some friends, two good Korean Churches, and a good family who took me in as one of their own. Looking forward to move overseas again in the near future.. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Time I filed my taxes for the first time this year using TurboTax, and it wasn't as bad as it seemed. I was just slightly annoyed at the advertising for other TurboTax products and their associates. I understand that they have to make a living, but I feel that they should have informed us of what products were best suited to our needs first, instead of just telling us we can file our federal for free and then asking us o upgrade when we have a hiccup, like reporting contest winnings or small business earnings. Other than that, I think it was aesthetically pleasing and worth my effort in giving it a review. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by FL state charge when we don't file state taxes First I would like to say I and my family have always been happy with turbotax., however this time I was charged for Florida state filing when there is no tax in our state. I do want to commend Aliah and Mandy whom I spoke with at Intuit to put in the process a refund in my checking account for the charges of the unexpected state charge which I am confident will happen, as I have not seen not a result as of today. However, I am sure turbotaxintuit will live up to their professional reputation of giving continuing great service. Thank you listening to a single moms problem, and your prompt attention. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfull service offered by Turbotax Great free service offered. I have a very simple and basic tax filing need. The system is easy to use and follow. If you have your w-2 and other information available. It goes by very fast. The only thing I didn't like about the program is that if you don't use the upgraded $29.99 plan, They make you manually enter all of your information over. Its obvious They think that no one will want to do that. They have the information already because you review it before you are offered the upgrade. For the 5 minutes it takes to re-enter your information. Save your 30 bucks. Besides that it was great. Thanks April 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pushed Filing State Return That Was Not Required!! Was not required to file a State Return (Missouri) because AGI was not high enough. Never any mention in system that the State Return was not required. Wanted me to pay another $27 to file State Return at least four (4) times during the process of filing of Federal Return. Did my own research of Missouri filing requirements to learn a State Return was not required. This Return was very simple - Single, 2 W-2's, 1 SSA-1099, and 1 1099-R. No Itemized Deductions or anything else. Would not recommend this system to anyone unless they have at least at least a basic understanding of Filing Requirements. March 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bait and Switch online free online tax prep Maybe I missed something in the fine print, it is certainly possible, but after the smooth sailing of working through the federal tax portion of the online free program, which actually was very easy, the program went right into the state taxes. I never noticed any statements that if I wanted to actually FILE the state form I would have to pay, although I remember that had been the policy in previous years but it had also been clearly indicated. Too sick and tired this year to re- file out the form but will avoid the trap in future years. Sate tax is includes in free program but is not free! Be aware February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bugs 1. Clicking to review the Receipt did not display a receipt; it sent user a few screens back. Happens in 2 places. Made me decide not to click on links that might mess up all the time I put into the return. 2. Same page as the first place "View a receipt" appeared; Looks like there's no space between a period and first word of the next sentence 'You'. 3. The "personality" of the return is too much; I just want to get on with it in a business-like tone, not read extra screens that are trying to be cute. But I appreciate the effort to take the pain out of filing taxes. So thank you for thinking of the user. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient and easy to navigate See my 'con', which is really my only complaint about it. Wish it would've reminded me of the standard deduction amount up front as a tip when starting the itemizing/deductions section as I would've realized that my donations and medical in excess of 10% were not even close to the standard deduction and would've saved a LOT of time. Other than that it is an awesome product and really covers the laws well, even explaining why I couldn't get the child tax credit even though I had legal rights to claiming the deduction on my daughter and had custody. They have come a long way since I last used it in 2010. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Easiest! I was able to glide through this return with no problems. Easiest and best way to file, I think. I have the more simpler taxes though so I cant say the same for everyone. But it really takes all the guessing work out of it. I was hung up on the PIN issue for a while but the IRS customer service wouldn't ever answer which is obviously not turbo taxes issue, so I looked further and it allowed me to use my AGI from last years return. So all in all it was the best way for me to file this year. And I wasn't charged a cent! Last year I used taxslayer, well let me say no more. Turbo Tax girl for life! Thanks! March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skeptical but delightfully satisfied I've done my own taxes for years, mostly by pen and paper. Everyone knows tax preparation is about crunching numbers and chewing your nails and hoping you didn't forget something. TurboTax had me feeling uneasy. How could such an arduous task seem so smooth and effortless and arrive at the finish so quickly? Obviously, they were missing something. So I pulled out my pen and papers and went back to the grind. Figuring and refiguring the 1040A, 1040 and 1040 w/ schedule A, I arrived at the same conclusion in only 5 times as long as it took on TurboTax. And $29.95 cheaper than my former web based option. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quicker than I thought Overall, it seems like we spend less time on our taxes than ever before. Turbo Tax makes everything simple and straight-forward. Thank you. I was a bit confused by the various service options (Plus, Deluxe, etc, etc) and what the prices were getting me, exactly. The first few pages kept trying to get me to upgrade to the $39.99 Plus version so I could keep all prior information. In the end, I ended up going with Federal FREE version and starting from scratch. And then paid $29.99 to file my Federal and State together. I'm happy to pay $29.99 as the process was easy and straightforward (and convenient). March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Peazy Easy to use; step by step tutorial type process. We used the free version, and that doesn't retain your information for subsequent years unless you pay the fee. Using this version of Turbo tax can save you a little money. In most places your tax preparer and their software, which DOES retain your information, usually starts at charging for basic returns around $50 (OK, about $20 bucks less than TT) and you deal with a real live person. If you return get's just a little complicated, like with Form 2106, or some others, it can run you into the hundreds pretty quick, so TT has an advantage there for sure. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy and Quite Funny. Turbo Tax was super easy and quite entertaining! They have little witty sentences that are quite funny. It entertains you even with the most mundane thing to do - taxes. It was very simple and if you need specifics, it would have a detailed explanation in a very accessible button which would have a pop up along with some very common questions asked. I love how they displayed how much money you'd be getting as you go through each section. You feel good when more money gets added. They also include many things that other people would have not thought about including. Best part is that it was all free! WOOH! April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Return Overall, Turbo Tax seems to work well. I was concerned that at times it just went back. Also, when signing the date wanted me to type a day before the actual date. Additonally, at the end it said the return was filed on Dec. 31 of 1969 at a completely different time. Not only are the month and time wrong, but the year surely isn't 1969! These minor glitches worry me because if I am intrusting in this site to file taxes, then I would expect the date and times to coincide. Thus, I recommend screen shotting. All in all, the process is nice and I appreciate having this option to file taxes. Thanks Turbo Tax! March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome software I was amazed on how this software has evolved. Everything was very easy! There is a bug however. If you choose to put your state refund toward next years taxes: 1) So you have already put in lets say $300 towards next years taxes and moved on to the next screen. 2) All of a sudden you realize that you really didn't want to do that so you go back to that page and click no. 3) *here is the bug; by clicking no, it does not remove the total you put in previously, you have to click yes, remove the total, click no and then move on. Note: They have included part year residence and health insurance exemptions, etc. April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Program did not catch error on empty tax paid box I had two W-2 forms this year. When entering one I failed to enter the Fed Tax Paid amount. The program guided me through everything all the way to the end and never caught that empty box. There were some entries where it takes you back to the page and outlines the box in RED if you failed to complete it - BUT NOT ON THE FED TAX PAID box. That's a BIG issue. If I had not known that I should received 100% of what I paid in, I would never have caught it. I just knew the amount of my refund didnt look right and had to go back and find what was wrong myself. Makes me wonder how many other issues there might be. March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by NEVER generated a return when it said it did. Twice I went through the entire process & was told that my 2014 return can only be mailed in. Each time that I got to the end where I was prompted that my return is ready to print there were only 2 pages that were generated which were called "File by Mail Instructions" but absolutely NO RETURN. I had my parent try this for a third time to have again NO RETURN in order to file my school fafsa. In disgust I went to another company to prepare my tax return. I have used TurboTax for many years & was satisfied but not for the 2014 Return. My parents use TurboTax every year & we have never had this problem before. April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Return on Fleek! I loved TurboTax! I suggest everyone gives it a try. At first I was hesitant to do it because I had always gone to H and R block but my friends suggested I try it. I was nervous at first but everything seemed to work smoothly. Turbotax makes it very simple to plug in the numbers. They tell you where exactly to find it on your W2 form such as box 12 and so forth. Even the whole new health section was easy to follow along. Best decision I have made in awhile was to switch over to turbotax instead of going to H &R Block who stole my money for years for plugging in numbers that I could of done since forever ago ! March 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by MR. Bradshaw Child Supporter 2013 Return - I didn't appreciate being charged the TurboTax Fees and Extra Coverage. You Guys took it out of my bank, instead of using the $4,000.00 Refund amount. My Ex-wife illegally took my child out Calif. to Texas, where I haven't been able to see or anything from my child. I have been paying & having my tax return deducted & intercepted illegally by the state of texas. In addition you folks charged me personally, instead of using my refund. My daughter is now 22, w/ husband & baby. She doesn't really contact me or anything, yet. I still had to pay you guys out of my own broke pocket. "14 yrs a Slave" -Jim B. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good On A First Timer :D Overall a pretty amazing service. Uploading your return is easy, the only real downside to this service is that the federal refund is free to use, the state refund is not... so either way they suck money out of you somewhere. One more downside is if you apply for the direct deposit option; which to me seemed the most convenient; they automatically apply you for "Turbo Tax Plus" and there is NO WAY TO GET OUT OF IT. So out of pocket pay is necessary to avoid the extra $29.99. Other than that I love doing my taxes online at home and Turbo Tax makes me feel assured that I will get the most for my year of hard work! February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TURBO TAX IS THE GREATEST! Turbo Tax is the greatest! I have been using it for years. When I used to make a lot of $$$ I paid for all the services and never had a problem. After I retired and started living on a fixed income, I started using the Free version. I thought maybe with this version there would be a problem but so far, nothing has happened and everything has worked out great. I am not only happy with Turbo Tax, I am also very grateful that it has given me a chance to prepare my own taxes, at my own pace and free. I love Turbo Tax and recommend it to all. If you know how to read, you can file your own taxes! Thank you Turbo Tax!!!! April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Procrastinators sucess Maybe the top 3 questions (for Troubleshooting), in a box icon on the main of each page as I'm filing. The questions in the top right corner and when clicked on it, the main 3 answers appear on the same page that I'm already working on. Worries of leaving my taxes, even for important "tax finishing" questions as i'm in mid-file... I know I share this frustration with plenty of e-filers, (the possible "do over" a starting from scratch feel). Even if the chance is slim of losing my tax workings in progress, it's just the idea of it. It would still save a lot of us, (especially newcomers) from reluctance and anxiety. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little confusion, but overall thumbs up! Overall I loved the ease of using TurboTax to file my federal taxes. I was originally going to file my state taxes, but decided against. Once I made that decision, I couldn't figure out how to delete my assessment, that way I only filed my federal taxes. After some searching through the FAQ I was able to redirect myself to the page which was about 50 steps back from the final review page. There should be a way to "update your cart" and delete the state taxes at the final review before paying. I consider myself pretty tech savvy, but found it confusing. With that in mind, I will still use TurboTax to file next year! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by break it down now Each step was introduced and explained before hand, and reviewed again after completion; consequently, transitions into and in between sections and sub-sections were smooth. The language used was almost conversational, which made the process feel amicable. I consider myself intelligent enough to understand the process of filing, but I am also easily overwhelmed by tedious and technical processes. In addition, frustration also ensues with the intimidation of unwarranted complication of directions and explanations. The smooth transitions, friendly tone and straightforward explanations all helped in overcoming any anxiety. April 15, 2015
  • 2015-04-25T11:41:56.329-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-263, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14335, tr_14335
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 261 262 263 264 265 ... 270 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.