1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 263 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Using Turbotax happily since 2008 I have been using TurboTax since 2008 and will continue to use this system as long as I can. I have found and proven the same results or even better results than the big chains/corporates can provide. This costs me only about 1/4th of the cost and asks all the questions that are necessary to get me the largest refund every year. Most importantly, it asks all the pertinent questions in an extremely simple format so there's practically no way to be confused and answer incorrect. Very satisfied with TurboTax and have recommended it to many friends. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax ROCKS!! Turbo Tax ROCKS! Totally takes the stress out of filing my taxes! My anxiety level goes up every time I think of taxes, but Turbo Tax brings that right down! They are actually friendly, and warm via computer - not sure how but they are... they even told me sorry for my loss when the realized I am a widow.. SWEET! YOU GUYS AT TURBO TAX made my day... I LOVE how easy it is, I LOVE that you answer my questions as we go, I LOVE that it's DONE / simple / direct / and GUARANTEED! I'm recommending you to all my friends on FACEBOOK! Thank you TURBO TAX!! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone whether they need to do an EZ return or one with many deductions (I have used Turbo Tax for both). It takes you through each area step by step and if you are unsure about a question there is a link that explains the question in more detail. If that doesn't work there is also a Help link for even more information. It is so simple I have never had to use the Help Link. It's just silly to pay a CPA a large amount as long as you can ADD up the totals of your deductions in advance. Turbo Tax is the ONLY way to go! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Easy Money! I am 22 years old filing my taxes on my own for the first time. I was terrified and expected to be calling my mom every 5 minutes asking for help. Not once did I need to make that call! TurboTax was 100% easy to understand and easy to file. I feel like I got 100% of my refund back (even more than I was expecting!). The price to file is lower than any other site Iv seen and so much easier. It guided me throughout the whole process and any questions I did have were answered through the site. I will definitely be using TurboTax for the years to come! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie I have been using TurboTax for 5+ years for me and my kids returns. It is easy and it's free which is one of the reasons I keep coming back. Our returns are not that hard. However, EVERY year I have problems printing my return. This year when I tried to print my return (and review it) I was kicked out of turbo tax after trying to get it to load. You also have a message on there that says you can print later. Well, there is no "later" opportunity to print. Once you send, that's it! It is the one thing that may send me to other web sites to try out. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got It Done! Hey - it was pretty easy. I really wanted to see my form all filled out a little earlier than that very last step. And I had actually done it by hand a week or two ago to see where I was at - and had made a mistake! So very glad I went with Turbo Tax. I'd have been expecting $200 more back from the IRS than what is actually coming if you guys hadn't shown me my error ahead of time. Thanks for helping me through. Next year I won't wait till the last minute just cuz I'm afraid of getting it done by myself - BECAUSE I WON'T BE - I'LL HAVE YOU GUYS!!! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes made easy with scark and grace. I used Taxslayer last year and I filed my taxes alright I guess, it wasn't very enjoyable as taxes go, and it's "free" service pretty much dumped me into a sea of confusing monetary jargon. But this year I listened to my silly mom and went with Turbotax and I'm pretty grateful. The snarky banter throughout the process made the whole experience less than painful. It quickly and calmly buzzed me through all the necessary questions, I didn't feel like I was being assaulted by details. Honestly I'm impressed, you definitely acquired a return customer. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Filer I'm a first time tax filer and TurboTax was everything I needed to get this done. I didn't have any extravagant options, just needed to file the small amount of income I've received since entering the working world after college. Everything I needed to know or understand was either right in front of me or just a click away. This really made the whole scary business of filing and making sure I get everything I deserve back from the government very easy. I also understand what I was doing and what information I was enterting which is important to me. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy to use, Cavemen could do this! Oh wait... I, like many people, struggle during tax season for one simple reason: filing. Do I pay unnecessary money to have a professional do them, or do I get no help or support whatsoever trying to file them on the confusing IRS site? A friend told me about this, and I'll never file them differently again. Turbotax pretty much does all the hard work for you, are professional and help you understand the things you normally wouldn't, and quick to get you the best refund possible. If I had four mutant arms grafted to my body, I'd give this site six thumbs up. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loyal for a reason Since I got my first job at age 18, I've been preparing my own taxes with Turbo Tax (sometimes even doing my parent's for them on it). It has always been straightforward and helpful, even on the years when my income was weird, like the year that there was no withholding by my employer or the year where I had 5 different jobs. Doesn't matter if I'm doing my return from online, or from the disk on my father's computer, back when I still lived with him, Turbo Tax works, and is my go to for a good reason. My taxes took less than an hour start to finish. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Format I would have given this a 5 star rating if not for all the efforts they make to charge for different things. The most absurd is charging you $29 at the beginning for all the information they already have on file such as your name and address. That's why I came back to Turbo Tax so I wouldn't have to go through all that busy work of filling all that in .I was really surprised to find at the end they wanted to charge me to do state taxes when Fl. doesn't even have state income taxes. I really like the simplicity of the program even a child could do it. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Indeed Overall using this program to do taxes is an easy choice. I've been using it the last few years and keep coming back. They import all the numbers from document to document and make it easy to get this done in less than an hour. The only downside is the $30.00 they take off the state refund, which is normally small for me so it takes about 20% of it. That being said I look at it as spending 15.00 on each program instead of having to do it myself or hiring a professional. An easy and aesthetically pleasing interface top off what was a great experience. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax makes Tax Day painless Turbo Tax takes the frustration out of tax filing. Each section is presented with proper details in a simple to understand program. Even if you give a wrong answer because you didn't read carefully, Turbo Tax brings you back to address those areas when they don't make sense. Thorough and all-inclusive, it would be difficult to overlook anything with Turbo Tax doing the prodding and making sure the filer has addressed all things necessary. I have used Turbo Tax for years and they have spoiled me, making me think tax filings are easy. Highly recommend. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No knowledge needed I have been doing my own taxes for 55 years and volunteered as a tax counselor for the AARP Tax Aide Program for 10 years. TurboTax works well for novice preparer . Just keep answering all the questions. If the form was visible and you were able to jump to the next form after completing that form, I think I could finish my return much faster. This is the first time I used TurboTax in many years. I don't feel in control of what I am doing which makes me wonder about the correctness of a return. I would recommend TurboTax to most people to their taxes. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier than H&R Block I have used H&R Block since 2008. Now that I have college loans and 1098-T, H&R Block was getting too complicated to use. I saved and exited my session with them and tried Turbo Tax. Wow, the way turbo tax is set up makes it actually kinda fun. Also, I breezed through my taxes (two jobs and two different colleges) much faster than H&R Block. If I'm not mistaken, it took less than an hour. Now, the most important thing for me was the 1098-T section. Turbo Tax actually has a place to enter the boxes from your form (Boxes 1-10), where H&R Block does not. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Should have used a long time ago! I had been using another online tax preparation website for the last couple of years and have been satisfied until this year when they discontinued their FREE version! I was so appalled after having entered all of my information only to have no option to file for free! This is the first year I've tried TurboTax and I'm wondering why didn't I begin sooner. The information provided by TurboTax is a lot more thorough and easier to understand than its competitor. This year I really feel as if I have a firm grasp on understanding taxes! I'm highly satisfied! March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Easiet Tax Return I Ever Filed I was really dreading filing my taxes once again because I knew I would owe money, and because, you know, taxes are never a joy to do. When I first logged onto Turbo Tax I was asked a question about how I felt about filing my taxes and so began a series of encourgements to get me through the process. Some people might find this interaction annoying but to me it made the process actually fun. I can honestly say this is the first time EVER in my years and years of filing that the process was EASY & PAINLESS! Thank you Turbo Tax. I'll be back next year.... April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern Filing Done Right If you had told someone twenty years ago that you could you your Federal and State taxes in under an hour while lying in bed, you would have sounded insane. From start to finish, Turbo Tax exceeded my expectations. Care is obviously taken never to overload the client with too many empty boxes and small printed questions. Information is saved and shared to minimize redundant input. The process is smooth, effortless, and encouraging. I would recommend it to anyone, particularly young people such as myself who have simplistic tax needs... and low patience! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I don't live in constant fear anymore... Being my first time doing taxes, I was so scared that I wouldn't have the right forms or wouldn't know how to do it. TurboTax made it so easy to fill it out by answering simple questions along the way. I remember my mom sitting at the dining room table with papers covering the whole thing and was prepared for the worst. Luckily I didn't have many things happen in the last year (tax wise) so the stack was contained to an edge of my bar. I was also scared that I was going to have to pay the gov'mnt more money, but that's a different story! Thanks TurboTax! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Year after year...exemplary filing tool Fourth year using TurboTax for my returns. Year after year, it has gotten me my maximum refund by being the exemplary tax filing tool. Extremely easy to navigate: you can go it alone or the system will actually guide you. Gives you access to an extraordinary amount of deductions and savings. Best of all, it's free! You can always upgrade to a paid version which has an even greater assortment of features and functionality. All in all, I've used Turbotax for the last four years, and plan to continue using Turbotax for the years to come. Awesome job TurboTax! March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is Excellent! I've been using TurboTax for the last 3 years now, and I say this product is pretty amazing. Even if you are filing taxes for the first time, the site pretty much walks you through every step at a time and provides the right answers to any questions you may have. If you are experienced at filing taxes, you'll have everything filed and completed in no time. Even the mobile application is very simple to use, and it has a snap feature that allows you to upload you're W-2 information instantly with a smartphone. I recommend this product to anyone and everyone! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good despise IRS issues This is the first time I e-filed with Turbotax, a company my dad often bought tax software form in past and current years. My return is more simple and free e-file fit me. I found out I needed an Identity Protection PIN, though Turbotax couldn't help me correctly with that, they were the only ones who could give me a direct access number to the IRS who could. I will absolutely use free e-file again and have already told a handful of people they should too. Thank you Turbotax for allowing me to file electronically without charging me. I will return next year. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phew... got it done in time! I faced some specific questions regarding 1099 paid leaves, as there was an overpayment so I paid money back but not in same calendar year. Couldnt figure out where or how to ask if that mattered... at first... but finally figured out how to ask the question in the box. Nice that it doesnt send you to refreshed pages and is simply a pop up, as I was worried I would lose where i was in process. Maybe make a larger note about ability to ask questions 'on the side' without interruption? I easily found what I was looking for.... but had no idea it was that easy! April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good tool but be careful I answered no to all upgrades at every place TurboTax tried to entice me. At the end when you try to pay using funds from your return, it adds and additional $29.99 - even when you go back and remove the extra service and charge from your invoice. If it costs an extra 29.99 to have it deducted from your refund, I saw no place where that was made clear. I just ended up using a credit card and paying the $29.99 for my State return, as agreed. Otherwise, its a good and easy service that's never been audited in the years I've been using it to do my son's returns. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes the worry out of self-preparing your taxes. I've been a loyal Turbo Tax user since 2008 and the program gets more thorough every year. I know that I did not miss a single deduction because Turbo Tax includes every possible scenario and walks you through it. And if you still don't get it, the online chat and/or phone call with a tax professional will help you get all your questions answered. I was on the phone w/Carol T. She was absolutely amazing. She explained everything and really went out of her way to help me. I dread tax season every year but Turbo Tax makes it an easier and less stressful process. March 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Next Year it Will Be TAXACT First time user of your site. All goes well until you want money for an offered free filing. This "Free" filing should remain free for the entire filing year... Your pricing for filing just a state return is ridiculous and overpriced. If you advertise something at a price than keep it as not to scare off future customers.. It was recommended for me to use TurboTax because the simplicity and the price was right. Next time I will review that option a little more closely. Shopping around next year looks more promising now. I had better start my State Refund now... March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing for a newbie I've been using Turbo Tax online now for a few years. As someone who doesn't always understand every thing involved with tax preparation Turbo Tax online makes it so pain free. They walk you through everything and give details on everything that you aren't sure of. There is side notes to help explain what a term or phrase means or there is a search bar that lets you type in a question and get hundreds of answers or tips. It makes tax season so much less stressful when you have a program that can help you with every step. I always come back for their assistance. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, anxiety-reducing process This is the fourth year of filing using Turbo Tax Basic, and it gets easier and faster each year, which is a most pleasant surprise. The guided narrative during online filing makes an anxious time less trying and more reassuring. Do yourself a favor and have all of your deduction spending and donations itemized and tallied up and close at hand. Apart from the consistent badgering to upgrade to the Turbo Tax Deluxe service, which I clearly do not need, it's an understandable and calming process to file both state and federal taxes in one quick session. Yay! Done. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO worth it For people who are single with simple taxes like myself (i just have a 9-5 job, and I'm paying student loans and giving to charity, but that's it), Turbo Tax is amazing. It's so reliable and easy to use. I trust Turbo Tax with all of my private information. I have used Turbo Tax in the past, and they have always done a great job. The e-file and direct deposit options are great. The email updates give me peace of mind. The step-by-step walk through, including the little explanations of things, is so easy to use and helpful. THANK YOU to whoever created Turbo Tax! March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free Tax E-File I've purchased several TurboTax products in the past, especially when my returns were trickier, and I've always been pleased with the product. This is the 1st year I've used the free, on-line, e-file option and I am just as pleased. One of my favorite characteristics of the TurboTax interface is the option to learn more about deductions and requirements, even if they do not apply to my present return. I find these descriptions helpful and informative. I feel these "tax tips" serve to educate me and may even better prepare me personally for filing in upcoming years. April 14, 2015
  • 2015-05-27T12:11:14.945-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-263, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14451, tr_14451
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 261 262 263 264 265 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.