1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 259 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by so easy a caveman could do it! Can I just say how much I love TurboTax?? I have been using them since I was 16 and could file for taxes and they have never let me down. I love when I start to see my refund rise the more I complete my taxes. Their website is sleek and very user-friendly and they double and triple check that you have everything down. Oh, and I got all my taxes done, both state and federal, in just about an hour. 10/10 - would recommend to anyone, especially those a little uneasy about doing taxes every year. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by REFUNDFULOUS LOL really easy to use, they walk you through literally every step there is always a place to click when you need help and if you get stuck NOOOOO problem save and come back BAMMMM everything is right where you left it. honestly anyone can use it i'm 22 and this was my first time i got the maximum return they could help me get with the information i provided so if you can read and click on your electronic device turbo tax puts the speed in filing hints the name (can i copyright that ?) thank you! February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as 1 2 3 Turbo Tax should offer the least return possible, it always ask for an upgrade, but not to down grade, when all information is entered and the chosen service is entirely to much. I filed with turbo tax last year, had to file a 1040 with schedule c. This year circumstances changed and I only needed to file a 1040ez. I had to create a new account to do so. This is an inconvenience and not supportive, from turbo tax, as it appears, you are only after my money, not out to support me as a customer. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund This is my first time as an adult that my parents didn't get to file it all. I mean this is the first year I've had a job and could file. It was easy going, some questions I had to ask my mom, but for the most part; simple. I get all the way through to the part where it asks me how I'd like to pay for my state stuff. YOU CAN PAY THROUGH YOUR REFUND!!! Cool! Except it's $30 and they don't really say that. Until you get to the end. No no. Would've been 5 stars if they didn't try to sneak that in. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing!!! I've never liked the fact of filing on-line. With this new health insurance requirement, it made understanding the EZ form so much worse. An ex co-worker suggested Turbo Tax, but I still didn't want to file this way. OMG!!! This was so easy. I recommend this way of filing to anyone who asks (and those who don't). It's like using a "Filing Taxes for Dummies" manual. Step by step instructions made this so easy and less worrisome. Great Job to everyone at Turbo Tax who made this program possible. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Free Edition ! Free Edition is awesome and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't have to file state taxes. However, I think the paid state option should include the ability to pay the fee for filing state taxes out of the federal refund. Until I receive this refund, I don't have enough money in my bank account or on a credit card to pay for BOTH the state return AND the "Turbo Tax PLUS" edition. However, I would have happily used my federal return to pay for filing state taxes if that had been an option. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by and you get a refund! - Everybody get's REFUNDS! This was my first time ever filing taxes, and Turbotax really took the tax out of taxation - both mentally and financially. My friend recommended it to me after she received her refund of $3k. I thought I would end up owing but through Turbotax I got a refund of over $2k. Pretty sweet! It felt like the Oprah of tax returns - EVERYBODY GETS REFUNDS! (Ideally). It was super easy with a guided tutorial every step of the way. I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs help doing their taxes. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy and straightforward. It is really very easy though time consuming to complete but that is because it is so through. It leads you through every possible scenario and situation trying to get all of the needed facts and information to correctly fill out the forms and try to find all possible deductions and credits so as to limit your tax liability and get you the largest tax refund allowed. I have used paid tax preparers in the past but have been using TurboTax for the past 10+ years with great satisfaction and trust. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for College Students I'm a college student that is filing for the first time by myself. I heard about Turbo Tax from an advertisement from my bank, and decided to try it! I had no idea what to expect, I knew the absolute bare minimum about taxes. Turbo tax not only helped me file with complete ease, but when I was confused about what they were asking me for, the little pop ups were so clear and I learned a lot. I really believe they got me the most money I could get back. I will absolutely use them again next year! March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by List Standard Deduction First I liked the provision of all the various options. But some of them seemed a bit repetitive. After one run through the possible deductions, I didn't really see the need to look at them all again. But my main suggestion is that the dollar amount of the Federal Standard Deduction should really be mentioned at the beginning of the deduction calculation process. My itemized deductions came to only about half the Standard Deduction. If I knew that to begin with, I would have simply skipped all the itemized options. April 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Effective but Misleading I have used Turbo Tax since I started filing and usually find the experience to be quit pleasant. Save a few frozen screens and glitches that forced me to restart certain sections, the site was pretty sturdy overall. My biggest issue this year was the sneaky, underhanded way the site tried to get me to sign up for Turbo Tax PLUS. More than once I had to back track and figure out what I had clicked to suddenly have another $30 charge on my return. I think things need to be more clear. Perhaps a pop up that alerts us to the charge before continuing instead of allowing us to plough through. It was way to easy to accidentally add TTP without meaning to and I think that is just a bad business practice. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Easiet Tax Return I Ever Filed I was really dreading filing my taxes once again because I knew I would owe money, and because, you know, taxes are never a joy to do. When I first logged onto Turbo Tax I was asked a question about how I felt about filing my taxes and so began a series of encourgements to get me through the process. Some people might find this interaction annoying but to me it made the process actually fun. I can honestly say this is the first time EVER in my years and years of filing that the process was EASY & PAINLESS! Thank you Turbo Tax. I'll be back next year.... April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turtle vs Time Time was going and I had been procrastinating on filing my taxes. With days left to spare, I received a few reminders to my inbox from TurboTax that time was running out, which gave this turtle the fire I needed to get it done before the deadline. In thinking it was going to be a long drawn out project especially not being a tax expert, I reluctantly pressed on; only to realize in no time I was done. TurboTax is easy to understand, it explains everything and because of it's simplicity I was finsihed in a flash! This turtle won the race! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Where have You Been All My Life?!? Every year I have dreaded doing my taxes - and that's even with using our CPA! Granted, my lifestyle is much simpler now so filing my taxes is easier, but, still, the black cloud was there. I put it off and put it off, and then finally took the advice of friends and tried Turbo Tax. I love the way it 'talks' to me in such a calming way - with no condescension. Doing the taxes was almost fun! I felt confident and not for one second stressed. Fantastic! i will recommend Turbo Tax to everyone I know! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks! I think turbo tax is great and easy and very helpful, the yes or no questions make it just so simple! although I got confused when it came to the health insurance part, I had my form but didn't know what were the right questions to answer to get to be able to apply it, it would be nice if there was a section to put in your form number (ex 1099-HC) to help even more, turbo tax knew I was missing something with the health insurance so they figured it out anyway! you guys are awesome! happy 22 years! February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE Turbo Tax BUT.... Great program and I'm impressed BUT....all the sales and trying to get us to pay 29.99 for a SIMPLE RETURN is not cool. I am not that savvy with filing taxes so all the extra mumbo jumbo causes me to rethink what I'm doing. IF I needed the extra version to file my taxes, I would definitely pay it because it is worth it in the long run but, since I am only filing a simple return, PLEASE don't cause more confusion with all the sales tactics. Otherwise....you would Rock My Return. THANKS MUCH, Kim March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A fond Goodby to TurboTax & Quicken I have been an enthusiastic Intuit supporter for years. For over a decade I have enjoyed using Intuit's TurboTax Deluxe for itemized deductions and schedule C for my several businesses. I have also used Intuit's Quicken to handle collecting and documenting the detail throughout the year. I understand next year I will be required to buy their high end TurboTax package at roughly double the cost to accomplish what used to be included in their Deluxe package. Even if it still worked, the Deluxe package is no longer price competitive with several others. Also, their Quicken still does not have a smartphone version that will work for me or that is receiving favorable user reviews. It appears Intuit's product development cycle at least for Quicken is at an end and both softwares are now "cash cows" in their business plan. Reluctantly I plan to move to another tax software and Quicken competitor in the next tax cycle. April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only good thing is it's free My state refund was rejected even though I filled it out correctly, and everything else they transferred over from my federal. Then when I went back to fix it the only stuff they told me had to be fixed I know was not wrong in the first place. And then I had to try to find the places to fill the info back in because it doesn't take you straight to it when you click the 'fix it' button or whatever. The only good thing is that it was free and initially filling out my taxes was very easy to understand. February 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated Very frustrated, I have a Deluxe 2013 version but it didn't give me option to upgrade. so after son went through whole process including paid extra 48.00 to file a DC return which wasn't able to be electronically filed he abandoned it and went to another site redid the entire process with Turbo tax paid an additional 29.00 to get the tax filed and it didn't even include the required DC tax return Form only instructions how to file so now Im out 77.00 and still no State DC form to file. Absolutely absurd. April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Simple and easy to use (first timer) I'm new to starting my taxes the steps were simple and easy to follow. Although I felt at one point in the process (due to the fact I'm a dependent) in the 1098-T section I had already been claimed and had that document put in under parents. I had to find via search bar in turbotax whether or not I needed to put it in myself as well or not. I eventually found the answer there but it was not thoroughly explained that since I'm a dependent to say I did not receive a 1098-T even if I did. Overall that was a great way to do my first taxes. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Knocks it Out of the Park Doing my taxes was a daunting task until I started using TurboTax last year. It's easy to navigate interface, simple instructions, and helpful explanations of anything that I was confused on made doing my taxes and quick and easy process. Entering in the information for my W-2's is a breeze, and it gives specific information about the deductions I can get for paying for my tuition and textbooks. Now I can spend my time looking forward to my refund rather than dreading doing my taxes in the first place. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Guided Help for a First Timer! This is the first year I decided to step up and file taxes. Although I am still in school and my parents claim me as a dependent themselves, I figured it wouldn't hurt to educate myself in tax filing. My friend recommended TurboTax because of how detailed the process is and I couldn't agree more! TurboTax really held my hand through what seemed like a daunting process - explained every feature and boxes on W2 forms that I always just ignored. This was EXTREMELY helpful and I'd recommend this to anyone! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Painless This is my 4th year to use Turbo Tax online and this was the first time I had to share data without paying for Dlx version, which keeps going up in price. In the previous free versions there was a $10 efile fee. The last couple years my return required the Dlx version because they were more complex. TTax state that they will not share sensitive or personal information and I believe that is true. After all if that happened the class action suite would put them out of business. Still I would rather pay a small fee to file. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Filing for Anyone My husband and I like using TurboTax because of its ease of use; not to mention, TurboTax is military friendly, which we personally appreciate. The breakdown of each section as you're filing is super helpful, and it puts questions and tips into basic terms that anyone from beginner to professional could understand. We like that it saves our progress so we can take a break and come back to work on it at another time without having to re-enter tons of information. We also happen to get a kick out of some of the funny encouragement prompts as we move through the site...makes us feel like we're getting gold star stickers on our homework or something haha! Watching the refund calculator on the screen as we complete each section is a nice feature as well. TurboTax is so much more affordable for the average taxpayer to use, than having to pay a tax consultant to do the work for you; and with the option to chat with an online representative, there's really no reason why anyone should be paying a couple hundred bucks to a tax consultant. Just avoid the headache and use TurboTax. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This program works great. Its extremely user friendly. However navigation is often difficult. I don't have my own computer but i do have a cell. I think its ridiculous that you cannot file taxes on your phone or access many of the sites features Via phone. they ought to fix that for next year. I paid federal then decided against state. I changed my mind, but navigating to a menu that allowed you to pay state (after already submitting federal) was like finding hay in a needle stack. Painful and annoying. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continues to Get Better Every Year After doing my taxes by hand or spending time with a tax consultant for so many years, it's awesome having TurboTax around today. Although they ask the same questions multiple times and try to add a level of personality to their process, I understand they are just attempting to create an environment where stress is eased and mistakes are minimized. What impresses me most is the fact that TurboTax gets easier each and every year without any significant price increases. See you next year around this time! March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing!!! I am a student and first time filer and I thought that was going to take me hours. I wasn't sure what to expect so I though that the worst was coming for sure. But this was like using an app on my phone. Everything was easy to fill out, the guides worked very simplistically. I had a lot of the files that I needed on hand so that might be why it felt so easy. But from start to finish this was a fantastic and simple way to do my taxes. I would recommend that anyone that is afraid to do this alone, try it! March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Glitch on Mobile App I had to clear and re-start my tax return on the desktop site (after multiple glitch's with the mobile app) which was extremely disappointing as I had four W2's to file. Glitch's: 1. When I was asked to select which option I wanted to use for completing my return, I wanted the free option, however, on the mobile app, I was given a list comparing the free, plus and upgraded versions, the only one that had the orange 'continue' button on it was the 'PLUS' option. I was unable to select the Turbo Tax Free option, however when I was on the desktop site, I was able to select this as it was the first choice given. 2. While I was using the mobile app, I was attempting to register but kept getting an error message: ContactInfoModel.phone(value: ) size must be between 2 and 20; and had to re-open my form on the desktop site to complete, register and file my tax return. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by mostly easy most of the prompts were straight forward and simple and easy. it was very helpful that it saves for you as you go. but you have to find where you can elect to donate to the presidential election fund (it is not a simple check marked box in the regular taxes prompt, it is in a separate portion). the only issue I had was the way they worded the prompt for when I was including business purchases and car mileage etc. it was a bit of a head ache and totally confusing even though it was written in easy terms. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Filer - Fast, Easy! I was really impressed with the simplicity of filing, especially appreciated the explanations by each question or category. Made filing for me easier than expected. I felt much more comfortable after reading the first explanation and used these each time they were available. I feel I understood the process so much better. After reading the agreement for depositing my refund, I was distressed that I could not discover the fees that the bank will charge (the one used as a depository for Turbotax refunds). February 28, 2015
  • 2015-04-18T11:30:31.220-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-259, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14256, tr_14256
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 257 258 259 260 261 ... 269 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.