1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 259 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great site but!!!!!!!! Me and my sister have been using turbo tax for many years. Up untill now (in 2015) I havent had any problems. This year what a major hassel . I signed in on your site numerous times, tried 4 different code numbers, I even called your 800 number. Finally! I got into your site to do my taxes. You seem to still have all my information. But still Ihad problems. It shouldn't take 4 hours to do your taxes! From now on , make your web-site easier to access especially for long time users. -John March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest return experience ever!! After my boyfriend insisted that I try filing with TurboTax this year, I decided to give it a shot. It was so much easier to just answer questions in plain English, versus trying to maneuver pages of difficult tax forms. It was like having a friendly and quirky accountant in front of you, walking you through the steps at your own pace. I found the free Federal return to be such a breeze, that paying $29.99 for the state return was a no-brainer. 10 out of 10, would recommend to anyone! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Thorough TurboTax is extremely easy to use and always give detailed explanations on different terms and questions. I was going to stop using the site when the IRS gave me over a thousand dollars less 2 years ago (because I needed a form that Turbo Tax did not instruct me to include). However, my trust has been regained. It seems as though I am getting my full return. On the down side, I disliked how I had to pay upfront to print my forms. I was hoping to have it deducted from my federal return. April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I was extremely disappointed to learn that there is now a fee to upload my current information that was already entered and saved from using Turbo Tax in the past. I would have switched to using a different method to file, but I was limited in time and decided to continue simply because I'm familiar with Turbo Tax, having used it for many years. I will likely switch next year and allow myself more time since I refuse to pay any amount of money just to have my previous information pop up. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time user of Turbo Tax Turbo Tax is from now on my go to place for taxes every single year. This year was my very first time using it and I was a bit worried because of the big words tax preparing involves but Turbo tax does all the work for you. No big words or things you don't understand, Turbo tax is just amazing. The section where you can ask questions basically allows you to ask anything and something very closely related pops up with the answer. No headaches whatsoever and from the comfort of my own home. February 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Charged my credit card I make less than $35,000 a year. By law I should be able to file my taxes for free. Last year I was able to use turbo tax without having to pay any fee. This year turbo tax asked for a credit card so I had to pay $29.99 or I wouldn't be able to file my taxes. I did not have to do this last year and there were no other options that would allow me to file it for free. I HAD TO USE A CREDIT CAD TO HAVE IT DONE. I will not be using turbo tax next year nor will I recommend this site to anyone. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING EXPERIENCE I've filed my taxes online before, and while other websites are generally pretty self explanatory, Turbo Tax took ease of use to ANOTHER LEVEL. I actually ENJOYED doing my taxes this year!!! The website was visually pleasing and very easy to navigate! I didn't run into ANY problems or confusion because they simplified the process SO MUCH! I will ALWAYS use/ recommend Turbo Tax for filing any type of taxes so long as the system stays this user friendly. A+++, Turbo Tax! You guys nailed it! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Boom Baby! Absolutely fantastic program! I love turbo tax and have been a satisfied customer for years! Turbo Tax is the most user friendly, easy to navigate, tax program on the planet! Again it was an absolute breeze. Its strangely awesome how personal the program feels, it was like you had a tax expert right next to you walking you through step by step. LET TUBRO TAX BE SHOUTED FROM THE ROOF TOPS! Ahh I'm kidding, but seriously thank you so much for all of the hard work put into this great program! March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Refund As a fresh out of college, working individual I needed the reassurance that this program provided. I feel confident in my filing and learned a great deal about taxes along the way. Turbo tax made the process simple, and organized it in a way that a beginner like me can easily navigate. I LOVE that it provides the option to save and exit, so that you can do your taxes as the forms roll in. Overall, my experience was great! I highly recommend giving this program a try if you haven't already! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Taxes Weren't Taxing As someone who isn't good at math or any sort of legal document, TurboTax really helps make approaching taxes easy. I dread doing my taxes every year, but TurboTax has made that process an easy and enjoyable one with all of the helpful and entertaining prompts that guide you through the entire tax return step-by-step. TurboTax also helps me get credits I wouldn't have known I was eligible for had I filled out the document on my own and sent it in. Extra credits found is always a good thing! March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh I have always used TurboTax for my own returns. It's always very simple, and easy. Unfortunately, my new husband did not have a normal situation, only because we filed 2 years of returns in a short amount of time. I guess the previous year wasn't accepted yet, so the "AGI was incorrect." Once it was rejected, it stayed rejected. Even when I went to fix it, even though the numbers were correct, it was rejected, rejected, rejected. I'm sending it through the mail, hoping for a better outcome. July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by so very easy to file using this free software It was so easy to use free TurboTax intuit software compared to using the federal government forms. It was a free product for me because I only earned dividend income that the IRS should know. I made no state income so my income tax filing was completely free. What a deal. I also like the fact that if I am not finished and need to step away to take care of my dad in the nursing home then I could save my work and come back again later. Thank God for Turbotax that reduced my stress immensely! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Other Options TurboTax provides me with confidence in filing my taxes. The software is user friendly. The downside of TurboTax is the advertisement for other products to purchase. If questions to purchase other products was removed from the process when inputting the tax information, the process would be must faster. Additionally, the cost to file the state tax is not competitive with other tax software. For example FreeTaxUSA does not charge for state filing. I may consider using that software next year. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good go-to source for simple returns I've used TurboTax for the 3rd year in a row now and I've found the process of filing for returns to be extremely simple with this system. For those that aren't savvy on returns, there's a nice guided walk-through of most everything you could possibly include in a tax return session. For those that are using it for business, expect to pay $30 or more for the necessary tax return process (though it's probably worth it if you're trying to be thorough and keep documentation from year to year). March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is easy and helpful! For my first time use, it's very user friendly! I am quite pleased with it and has made taxes not so scary. It's all about good record keeping and plugging and chugging. I know I should've done this sooner and not the day before it's due, but that's what happened. And hey I made it! Thank you TurboTax! I love how it breaks down everything for you and explains every portion that you're on and asks if there are any possible itemized deductions that you could have overlooked (there are so many!) April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Made my state refund very difficult My form k-40 for my state refund kept on dragging me back and forth putting in and deleting my information on my form, if i had no information on it they told me to put it in. When the information was put in, it then told me to delete the information if i wanted to efile. This happened over and over and wouldnt let me proceed with e-filing so i had to end up mailing it. If i couldnt have mailed it this year i may have billed turbotax for the gaping hole i wouldve punched in my computer screen April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by so easy a caveman could do it! Can I just say how much I love TurboTax?? I have been using them since I was 16 and could file for taxes and they have never let me down. I love when I start to see my refund rise the more I complete my taxes. Their website is sleek and very user-friendly and they double and triple check that you have everything down. Oh, and I got all my taxes done, both state and federal, in just about an hour. 10/10 - would recommend to anyone, especially those a little uneasy about doing taxes every year. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as 1 2 3 Turbo Tax should offer the least return possible, it always ask for an upgrade, but not to down grade, when all information is entered and the chosen service is entirely to much. I filed with turbo tax last year, had to file a 1040 with schedule c. This year circumstances changed and I only needed to file a 1040ez. I had to create a new account to do so. This is an inconvenience and not supportive, from turbo tax, as it appears, you are only after my money, not out to support me as a customer. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by REFUNDFULOUS LOL really easy to use, they walk you through literally every step there is always a place to click when you need help and if you get stuck NOOOOO problem save and come back BAMMMM everything is right where you left it. honestly anyone can use it i'm 22 and this was my first time i got the maximum return they could help me get with the information i provided so if you can read and click on your electronic device turbo tax puts the speed in filing hints the name (can i copyright that ?) thank you! February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund This is my first time as an adult that my parents didn't get to file it all. I mean this is the first year I've had a job and could file. It was easy going, some questions I had to ask my mom, but for the most part; simple. I get all the way through to the part where it asks me how I'd like to pay for my state stuff. YOU CAN PAY THROUGH YOUR REFUND!!! Cool! Except it's $30 and they don't really say that. Until you get to the end. No no. Would've been 5 stars if they didn't try to sneak that in. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy and straightforward. It is really very easy though time consuming to complete but that is because it is so through. It leads you through every possible scenario and situation trying to get all of the needed facts and information to correctly fill out the forms and try to find all possible deductions and credits so as to limit your tax liability and get you the largest tax refund allowed. I have used paid tax preparers in the past but have been using TurboTax for the past 10+ years with great satisfaction and trust. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy I think its best to use turbo tax if you are a motivated individual and know how to follow basic instructions. You can file your return faster and more efficient than some tax preparing services. I like the layout of the pages and the animation on each section. The pages were not cluttered and it was easy on the eyes. Every page had a purpose that was visible without over saturation. I had a good experience filing my taxes. Now lets just see how long the process takes for me to get the refund. April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Free Edition ! Free Edition is awesome and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't have to file state taxes. However, I think the paid state option should include the ability to pay the fee for filing state taxes out of the federal refund. Until I receive this refund, I don't have enough money in my bank account or on a credit card to pay for BOTH the state return AND the "Turbo Tax PLUS" edition. However, I would have happily used my federal return to pay for filing state taxes if that had been an option. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by and you get a refund! - Everybody get's REFUNDS! This was my first time ever filing taxes, and Turbotax really took the tax out of taxation - both mentally and financially. My friend recommended it to me after she received her refund of $3k. I thought I would end up owing but through Turbotax I got a refund of over $2k. Pretty sweet! It felt like the Oprah of tax returns - EVERYBODY GETS REFUNDS! (Ideally). It was super easy with a guided tutorial every step of the way. I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs help doing their taxes. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for College Students I'm a college student that is filing for the first time by myself. I heard about Turbo Tax from an advertisement from my bank, and decided to try it! I had no idea what to expect, I knew the absolute bare minimum about taxes. Turbo tax not only helped me file with complete ease, but when I was confused about what they were asking me for, the little pop ups were so clear and I learned a lot. I really believe they got me the most money I could get back. I will absolutely use them again next year! March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing!!! I've never liked the fact of filing on-line. With this new health insurance requirement, it made understanding the EZ form so much worse. An ex co-worker suggested Turbo Tax, but I still didn't want to file this way. OMG!!! This was so easy. I recommend this way of filing to anyone who asks (and those who don't). It's like using a "Filing Taxes for Dummies" manual. Step by step instructions made this so easy and less worrisome. Great Job to everyone at Turbo Tax who made this program possible. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE Turbo Tax BUT.... Great program and I'm impressed BUT....all the sales and trying to get us to pay 29.99 for a SIMPLE RETURN is not cool. I am not that savvy with filing taxes so all the extra mumbo jumbo causes me to rethink what I'm doing. IF I needed the extra version to file my taxes, I would definitely pay it because it is worth it in the long run but, since I am only filing a simple return, PLEASE don't cause more confusion with all the sales tactics. Otherwise....you would Rock My Return. THANKS MUCH, Kim March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Where have You Been All My Life?!? Every year I have dreaded doing my taxes - and that's even with using our CPA! Granted, my lifestyle is much simpler now so filing my taxes is easier, but, still, the black cloud was there. I put it off and put it off, and then finally took the advice of friends and tried Turbo Tax. I love the way it 'talks' to me in such a calming way - with no condescension. Doing the taxes was almost fun! I felt confident and not for one second stressed. Fantastic! i will recommend Turbo Tax to everyone I know! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks! I think turbo tax is great and easy and very helpful, the yes or no questions make it just so simple! although I got confused when it came to the health insurance part, I had my form but didn't know what were the right questions to answer to get to be able to apply it, it would be nice if there was a section to put in your form number (ex 1099-HC) to help even more, turbo tax knew I was missing something with the health insurance so they figured it out anyway! you guys are awesome! happy 22 years! February 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only good thing is it's free My state refund was rejected even though I filled it out correctly, and everything else they transferred over from my federal. Then when I went back to fix it the only stuff they told me had to be fixed I know was not wrong in the first place. And then I had to try to find the places to fill the info back in because it doesn't take you straight to it when you click the 'fix it' button or whatever. The only good thing is that it was free and initially filling out my taxes was very easy to understand. February 18, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:07:26.070-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-259, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 257 258 259 260 261 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.