1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 253 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now entering the red carpet is... I received interest from the IRS last year because they audited me and it took them the entire year to decide all was well. They sent me only a letter and exactly which box should be used to file that (box 1 or 3) was uncertain to me, but either I did it right or it didn't really matter, I suppose. Otherwise, I was more than pleased; have been pleased both years now. I would have trouble finding any real fault with TurboTax. Go team!!! February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I've used Turbotax free federal filing several times over the years. This year there were some major upgrades in the interface that made things very smooth. So smooth in fact that I decided to just file my state return for a small fee because everything was already entered for me and the payment information (didn't get a refund sadly) was stored for the filing. It was much easier to pay my taxes this year than in years past. Good work. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed after Years of Service This is the fifth year that I have used Turbotax for my filing. Previously, Turbotax remembered my previous filings and automatically entered most of my information. This year I had to upgrade for that "feature" that was previously a default. Main reason I kept coming back was because my information was being reused to save time. Now, there is no point to come back since each year I have redo EVERYTHING. May not use turbotax next year. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes Done Free and Easy This software was easy to use. If I had confusion on the income or deduction portions, there were great examples that informed me of what they were looking for. I believe that I got the most deductions that were possible with this Turbo Tax software. I have used Turbo Tax for many years and this was the first time that I had used the online Turbo Tax and it was a breeze filing both Federal and State income taxes. I highly recommend it. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but don't ding those of us helping retirees Turbo Tax just works - that is great and I am appreciative. I'd give it 5 stars, but it irks me that I have to re-input all the info that could easily be carried over. This wouldn't be a big deal if it were a more complex return. However, this was the return for my retired Mom. It's 1040EZ and I'm helping a retiree - no need to beat up the seniors on a fixed income for your $29.99. Save that for those of us still working! Robert Petty April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use I love all the new features, like the fact that when you enter most of the employers numbers, it actually imports your entire W2. No more having to go line by line and making sure all numbers match. You fly through it so quickly and makes you less stressed. I also love the fact that it goes through and makes sure you get all of the deductions you can possibly get. Who else does all that plus files both State and Federal taxes for free!! February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quick and easy The actual input and doing of taxes, was really easy. They ask many questions and help you to know what questions to answer. Its really helpful in the way that can figure out what to deduct, and other things that you may not have thought of. I did not like that, they will not make your info from this year available to next year unless you upgrade. So its free to do and file but the advantage of using the same service next year is lost . March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Last Minute Filing Frenzy Just like last year, I knew I shouldn't, but I did... I waited until a few hours before the deadline to file my taxes. Luckily, TurboTax makes it easy. I had my W-2, 1099-INT and 1098-T forms ready to go, and clicked right through the easy to follow prompts provided by TurboTax. I even had enough time to spare to write a rave review and share my experience to encourage you not to wait until the last minute (but if you do, use TurboTax). April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! Your system is very user friendly and easy. It makes filing nearly stress free (except for the paying part). I especially appreciate that you can back up to review entries if you have to without a big hassle or having to re-enter data. The only little problem is that if there is a breakdown of how much of the amount that I owe is regular income tax and how much of it is the penalty for not having health insurance, I would like to know. March 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by good but bad the fact that u save all my info but charge 30 bucks to import it , the fact that you constantly annoyed me to upgrade to your version i did not want , and several other things really put me off towards your product . I have used turbo tax the last several years with all my info auto imported and without the annoying hassle . This has off put me from your product and i will most likely not be using it next year because of your actions . April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 2014 Review First off, it's not free for both Fed & State even though it said so on TV and radio if you make less than X-amt of income. State filing costs $29.95 for the cheapest version. Secondly, it was the worst program I have ever used and I will not use it next year. Lastly, somehow it got into a "childcare" mode, which I have no idea how that even happened, and I could not find where to make the corrections and it would not let me start over. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty dependable Been using this site since I first started working/filing tax. IRS website directed me here and I've never seen a reason to go anywhere else. I've always had the one job, not wealthy enough to need any of the extended features but it's nice to know they are available if I get to that level. I always recommend the free filing option when I see people paying the walk-in filing places a fee to do a refund even simpler than the ones I file. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally! Painless taxes! This was so easy- the last couple of years I took all my stuff to a big-name tax prep firm, and ended up paying. I wasn't informed that I would actually be better off not itemizing my deductions, so I paid the IRS AND the tax prep service. I thought I'd do my taxes myself this year, and this year the IRS didn't send out instruction booklets. I found Turbo Tax through Swagbucks, & ended up filing for free! And I got a refund! AWESOME!!!! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can't wait for my refund! This is a good product to use if you're not familiar with the tax code - and who is these days. it's relatively quick and easy and it's really convenient for eFiling. The $30 i paid to eFile my state tax was worth it considering the refund $. Customer service was also pretty helpful. The little encouraging messages here and there make it a little less stressful, as well. Really looking forward to getting that refund check in the mail :) April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Login Verification Difficulties In the past Turbo tax has been a snap to log into and use. Now in light of a security breach, I am assuming, it is a very time consuming and difficult task to get into the account and complete taxes. It took multiple tries over several days to successfully get on so taxes could be completed. I hope by next tax season this will not be the case as I will probably shift to another online tax preparer that does not eat up so much of my time. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Timer This was my first time using the program. The transition and filing of information was easy to understand and if necessary I did appreciate the timely pop ups for help and potential advice. I would recommend and look forward to continuing my business with turbo tax because it is in a sense getting with the times, technology is the future so you definitely have to be aware in its uses to fully be able to enjoy a easier life in my opinion. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! Love the ease and support provided for filing my Federal Return. Unfortunately, the fee for the State Return would take up my entire State Refund and isn't worth it. After all - every dollar counts to poor college graduates trying to pay back their student loans. I'll have to use the inconvenient, yet free, state site to do that. I'll definately pay attention to the deadline next year! But sooooo happy with the Federal filing. Thank you! February 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 Terible Service!!! this is a terrible service! not worth the frustration, I wish i had gone to H&R Block. I will be doing so next year. they wont even let you file electronically, AFTER you have completed all of the tedious steps. If you have ANY discrepancies, they FORCE you to file by mail! and on top of that make you pay $60+ at the very end after they have led you to believe that the service is "free". Stay away if you at all value your time or money... April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by first time, but not the last Doing taxes can be such a daunting task, & with such a full schedule I have very limited time. I started my refund online not knowing what to expect having always gone to someone else to do so, but I am very happy I went with turbotax. It was relatively quick, easy, and all the parts that weren't, were explained in detail. I highly recommend this, I will definitely be coming back next year. Thank you so much for the support along the way. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely fabulous! I was a little nervous at first. Once I got started I felt very confident that I could do this. Not only did Turbo Tax walk me through the whole process, but each section had an explanation as to why that particular question was being asked. Also liked being stopped during the end of segments & asked to verify the info I had inputted. When I submitted the final draft, I knew that everything was correct...no questions! Thank you Thank you! March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy I am a Happy Turbo Tax user for many years now. It is user friendly for anyone who can answer questions. It just leads you along and before you know it your done. Whenever you feel unsure you can just go back and review then proceed right along. You can even do it in spurts of time and just pick up where you left off, in our fast pace of life we sometimes do not have a lot of time dedicated to doing taxes. Thanks Turbo Tax !!! : ) Dr Rosy April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick, Easy, Understandable The overall setup of the site/program is easy to read, completely understandable, and the fact it guides you through the process is ideal for first time tax return customers, such as myself. I also liked the simplicity of how after so long it times you out, making it feel more secured and less like anyone else could access my information. The overall process was well organized, and very understandable. Would recommend to my friends/family. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was the hold up, lol I loved the process and could have had it completed within an hour had I known that I needed my IRS pin. I couldn't find my return from last year for about 3 weeks to use my AIG instead. Working 9 to 5 weekdays made it impossible to visit or even call the IRS office. But, all my info was saved at Turbo tax until 3 weeks later at which time I was also able to change the way I received my returns without going all the way back. It was great! March 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 8965 form not well on this site! >:( I was HOMELESS for part of 2014. so it said I have to submit form 8965 to MARKETPLACE.....I have no idea where it at near me, or if I have to send it off! That makes doing taxes on line pointless. So I called the IRS. They said I should to be able to send the 8965 to the market place though TURBO TAX. But nowhere did it ask which of the choices applies to me! i.e. HOMELESS. So I'm afraid now my tax return will be held up! VERY DISAPOINTED! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience I've used TurboTax to file my returns the past couple of years and have always had a effortless time doing so. The process is easy to understand and when I don't, it allows me to ask questions and receive answers quickly. I will definitely continue to use TurboTax and if I had to say anything bad about it, sometimes the continual asking for me to upgrade gets under my skin. Even so, the process is one I'm willing to go through over others. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly excellent It was all good and easy until I had to get my e pin from the IRS website. The first time I tried it the Turbo Tax website kept reloading and wouldn't let me fill out the form on the IRS website. It was very frustrating and I have up on rifling for a few days. Eventually I thought about paying HR Block and decided to go back to Turbo Tax because I'm cheap. I ended up needing to wait on hold for an hour with the IRS. It was easy after that. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAST & EASY! I don't know if there are any cons yet, but I have to say, this was very easy! I was really scared to file my taxes since I usually file with an accountant and pay for it. This year, I decided to save a little money and do it myself. It was very easy and I actually found that I qualified for a few credits so I am getting back WAY more than I thought! Five stars! If everything goes well, I will definitely use TurboTax next year!!! SO HAPPY! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUPER EASY!! I did my return trying three sites at the same time two out of the three gave me the same amount return but the other was a bit to detailed in their questioning. The Third had a larger refund but wanted to charge a $20 Fee to get my EIC and when I agreed to pay it came back with an Error that I could not fix so Turbo You Won!! I will use it again next year. Its good to get a Free tax preparation for a person who has a simple return to do!!! February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Safe and Thorough! I used the free version, and it was still extremely safe and thorough. They highlight a lot of terms that may not be understood, and provide an explanation. I've only filed taxes for 3 years, so I'm far from familiar with all the terminology and paperwork that goes into taxes. Turbo Tax is awesome at breaking things down, and guaranteeing the best experience. Very professional, very advanced system. I will definitely be returning next year! April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Refund The process was incredibly easy, I just plugged in my income info and school info and it pumped everything out for me. Only issue I had was I didn't realize the American Opportunity Credit is only refundable to 40% (but Googling it wasn't that hard) and I'm still not sure what a $6,200 deduction means because I didn't get close to that big of a refund so I'm not sure how that played in either. Simplicity is great, explanations would be nice. April 3, 2015
  • 2015-07-28T10:49:23.709-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-253, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14473, tr_14473
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 251 252 253 254 255 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.