1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 253 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works I have been using Turbo Tax for the last 4-5 years. I used to use the Download version, and this is the first time doing everything online, and the transition was seamless. I'm sure there are other things out there that work at a comparable price. I even heard of things that are absolutely free (TurboTax still charges something for filing state taxes). But their software has worked consistently and, so-far-knock-on-wood, I haven't had a problem. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's exemplary! I've used this method for completing my taxes for several years. It has never failed me and is so much faster, easier and less expensive than any other method I've ever used. The information boxes are invaluable. I just clicked on the links to get info on things like "What is this" or "What do I have to have to qualify for this" or "Where can I find this". TurboTax has been and will continue to be my choice for filing my taxes. SO user-friendly!! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Well Priced Currently use the free edition (which is an excellent service in itself) but will definitely upgrade to paid editions when my taxes get more complex. The only complaint I have is if you upgrade (before filing and paying) to see how it may change your filing options, you cannot go back without redoing the entire thing over again. Entered in my all my tax information 3 times before filing (going back and forth,) but hey, it's free so I guess I can't complain April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved it except for the end! Everything was seamless and wonderfully easy, until the payment section! I spent 20 minutes going back and forth in my tax returns trying to uncheck the turbo tax PLUS purchase, and every time I did, it would still appear in the end agreement. Finally I had to select paying for the state return by a credit card - it would not let me deduct the payment from my tax returns unless I bought TurboTax PLUS. It was annoying. Other than that, I loved it. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Convenient and Easy to Use I really enjoyed using TurboTax. Admittedly, my returns are pretty simple, but this program made it really easy to file. The questions are very simple and straight-forward, and there are lots of ways to get the answers to questions as you go through. The interface is visually appealing, easy to use, and has a sense of humor. And I know that their detailed questions got me some extra money that I wasn't expecting. It was a very pleasant experience! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very cool I really liked that it was easy to understand. I have used another company to file my taxes for free and although it was easy to use it was not as user friendly and personable. Theirs explained the process in a more complicated way. I liked how fast this was and it guided me to where I needed to go. Very good. Very happy with this product. In the future I will probably choose to pay for the full product when I have more people and things to claim. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by big suprise on my refund I usually used other tax software and I am easily amazed and surprised knowing that using turbo tax software was very easy and not complicated. It only took me less than 30 minutes to file my income tax return and so happy to finished it early and so excited to print my refund. I will recommend this to my family, relatives and friends. Their software will guide you step by step and even if you have any question there have definitely answers to it. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent but missing something.... I haven't filed my taxes in a few years due to no income and I thought I needed to file paperwork. It would have been nice to have seen a screen indicating something to this effect, such as: No need to send anything when you e-file or Keep a copy of the following documents for your record or send this document to this address. I was confused about what I needed to keep and what I could toss. Overall, I can't complain because it was free. Thank you! February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as good as it was I was used to Turbo Tax being the best around, but I was surely disappointed this year. We used to be able to access our returns online, but , apparently, no more, unless you pay extra money. I was used to paying for the Louisiana, but of course, that has almost doubled in price from when I first started using Turbo Tax, over 10 years ago. The million disclosures were confusing, as were the choices of which version to use. I may have to check someone else out next year, since you won't even access the prior year anymore. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job Liked that the program took me step by step with easy to understand questions making the process quick and easy. Loved that it did the state return for free also this year. Had a problem with the SD100 form as the circle to check for permanent resident was within the writing above not by the word resident this called for changing it and I couldn't figure out how to do it. Finally read where another person had the problem and how to fix it was there. February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could have been a little better I would have given a 10 if I didn't have to correct the same info over and over again. I think there was a glitch in the California Worksheet section cause every time I would make corrections, making sure it was not directly on the form itself, I would have to make the same corrections all over again! Very frustrating considering I was already charged to file my state income tax so mailing them which was the other option, was not an option for me. Also it would have been better if you could only go to specific parts on the forms to edit something without going through the whole thing all over again. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy!! I finished everything completely including federal and state tax with the understanding it would all be for free (which was pretty hard to believe anyway). When finally I got to the end of the process and it said I would have to pay (ALOT) for two different state taxes i filed. That was an unpleasant surprise. I didn't remember ever seeing I would have to pay money for those. I decided to do the state taxes manually and use Turbo tax for the federal. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy! Have as much of your tax stuff with you as you can remember where you put it. Just click through, fill in the blanks and read the suggestions. It was the first time I have used TurboTax. It was really easy except finding that last anoying thing I forgot where I had it filed. It signed me out, but its for safety and started where i left off when I came back from my document hunt. I finished it up and have a happy surprise that I'm looking forward too. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than the rest I have used other websites my whole life and they always made this process a hassel and nothing to look forward to. Turbo Tax was actually a lot easier and faster than any other one. My only complaint is the fact that i Couldn't pay for my use with my refund. I would have had to spend an additional $30 to do that, however, other websites would do that for the initial cost. But after all is said and done, I will most likely use Turbo Tax in the future. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my day! Oh my good lord, was I so worried about filing my taxes. I'm a young 20-something, and I had never done it before, but a friend recommended TurboTax. From the moment I saw their cute, welcoming homepage I chose them over the other big tax companies! The process was really fun, surprisingly, and felt more like a fun personality quiz than "doing my taxes". As a graphic designer, the cute graphics really made my day too. Would recommend this to EVERYONE! February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 TurboTax Online I didn't care much for the "dumbing-down" you did with the changes you made from last year. No specifics - just in general. I felt like I had less control over what was going on, compared to previous years' versions of TurboTax Online. If your customers are too "uninformed" to figure out the way you've had it set up for the past several years, maybe they need to be going to a local tax preparer who will be handling things from A to Z. Just sayin'..... March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Ol' Turbo Tax I am writing this review as a user of turbo tax over the last 5 years. Turbo tax has always been an easy process for me and over the years has been improving in easiness of navigation. They simply ask you questions and explain things that you don't understand. You don't have to be an expert to do your OWN taxes and best of all you can get it for FREE. There are other options but for me FREE has worked great. Thanks turbo tax and I will be back next year. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by income tax made easy easy This was my first year to use turbotax. What I liked best was how easy it was to follow for a 70+ senior citizen and how magically all the required forms were filled out. Most of all there was none of the checking and rechecking figures when preparing a manual return. I could have overlooked the prompt but -- not until I printed out the final copy did I know for sure that the accompanying schedules would be completed. Silly me, it happened magically. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was worried it would be like pulling teeth! Thanks! You made it so easy and I feel confident in the results. I was worried it would be confusing and difficult....but I was wrong! Way wrong! I tried Turbo Tax many, many years ago and it left me feeling confused and worried that I wasn't doing it right. This time, WOW what a difference! Thank you, so much. Hopefully, next year, we'll actually make a living wage and I can test you out further!!! Keep up the great job and keep it light hearted, it made a huge difference for me! April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like the help answers I have used TurboTax for a number of years for our taxes and now this is the second year to file for our daughters. It is easy and I feel like this process helps me make sure we don't miss anything. The questions guide you along and you can click for help on anything you don't understand. I didn't like that this year TurboTax kept trying to get me to pay for our Free e-file federal tax return. Other than that, I like the program and find it easy to use. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy and secure The experience was easier than what I remember from filing in 2013. I think the process improved a lot since a year ago. there was one point where I felt like TurboTax almost tricked me into signing up for pro when I didn't really want it, which is when it asked me if I wanted to pay the fees with my tax refund. I only realized that I signed up for the pro edition when I saw my fees at the end and it took me a while to figure where I could remove that. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surpassed expectations-again! Turbo Tax always takes me by surprise. I can't believe I was crazy enough to pay 10% of what I OWED to another preparer last year. Never again. Turbo Tax was easy, smooth and the longest part was just me gathering all the paperwork. I love the "explain this" feature. It makes understanding the tax code easy. Even for someone who's studied taxation, this site brought it all together. There's no way to miss a deduction or credit with Turbo Tax. Thank you! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Understanding at any Educational level Turbo tax has saved me tremendous time through the organization of their site. In addition, I have filed my taxes three times with them and have gotten excellent results and feedback on all instances. Even with the instance of having a foreign job, Turbo Tax still delivers! I am not versed in income taxes nor do I have any background in finances. The detailed explanations provided by this site from being a college student and transitioning into the work world, was easy with the assistance of Turbo Tax. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Would be nice to have online access. Have used turbo tax for years in past needed the delux version but life changed and now do not need it. Maybe in future will need delux again. I think if you have been a fairly regular customer/user it would be nice to have turbo tax store each yr tax return actually submitted thru turbo tax in one online location, could redact name, ss,dob etc from stored version so less issues for you and more safety for us, thank you April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy peasy Did my joint return in 45 minutes. The whole thing was fast, simple, and non threatening. Most people hate the idea of doing a tax return and I sympathize with them. You're always afraid you're going to mess it up. With Turbo Tax the whole experience is so fast and easy, you're all done before you know it. Don't call it "Turbo" for nothing. Then you're sitting back thinking "That's it? Wow. Why was I paying all that money before. Got my return done and saved $300." See you next year! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aweomse and Easy Process I really enjoyed using this site to do my taxes. I have never done my taxes before, I have always paid to have them done. I was skeptical at my own ability to do them, but TurboTax made it extremely easy! I like that it calculates how much you will be getting back as you go and that they constantly ask other questions in order to get the most money back for you. I will be using this site and recommending it for all of my friends and family in the future! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really free! The other major "free" online tax preparation service company was free until i got to filing for the EIC credits. With qualifying children that meant if i wanted to receive the extra $2,000 ish, they required me to upgrade to their paid version. I logged out of them, into TurboTax and filed my complete return including the EIC for free. Next year they can keep their "billions" i'll stick with the truly free tax preparation services offered from TurboTax. March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for short on time The interface wasn't difficult to navigate and it was easy and enjoyable to look at. The really simple questions helped avoid confusion about what they were specifically looking for me to answer. Also filling out the tax return in small chunks and sections made it less intimidating. Some sites have really long forms to scroll through and it just looks annoying. This is my third time filing taxes and it was the easiest and fastest I've ever done them!! :) February 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by DOB You tell me i have been rejected because my birthdate isn't correct. I was born on 10/16/1930 and that HAS NOT changed. I am now 84 years old. This is CORRECT and ALWAYS has been. I have filed my taxes for several years with Turbo Tax. Now, this year, the only way to get past information carried forward is to pay you for it. We have little to no income and for many years, since retirement, only gotten back $60 from the state of CA. So we did EZ, therefore not having to pay the $40+ dollars, and for some reason the DOB isn't correct. This is very frustrating and concerning for a man of my age. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One Stop Made Easy I always use Turbo-tax each year, it's easy convenient and hassle free. The returns can go straight into your bank account which makes it even more convenient! I did make an error on entering something this year, and I went to the free online chat before I submitted my return and a gentleman named Todd walked me through how to fix everything. He was knowledgeable, professional, and saved the day. Thanks TurboTax for making my returns each year super easy! February 20, 2015
  • 2015-04-20T11:59:22.611-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-253, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14279, tr_14279
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 251 252 253 254 255 ... 269 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.