1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 253 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth My Eight Minutes I was not really looking forward to filing my tax return, because how adult is that? But, to my surprise and delight, and after much nagging from my dad, I did it and it was actually kinda fun! Turbo Tax walks you through every step with cute little graphics and positive affirmation. I appreciated that. And my return isn't huge, because I didn't work a whole lot (current student/future nurse), but, hey, I now have more money than I did before I Turbo Taxed. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Ol' Turbo Tax I am writing this review as a user of turbo tax over the last 5 years. Turbo tax has always been an easy process for me and over the years has been improving in easiness of navigation. They simply ask you questions and explain things that you don't understand. You don't have to be an expert to do your OWN taxes and best of all you can get it for FREE. There are other options but for me FREE has worked great. Thanks turbo tax and I will be back next year. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aweomse and Easy Process I really enjoyed using this site to do my taxes. I have never done my taxes before, I have always paid to have them done. I was skeptical at my own ability to do them, but TurboTax made it extremely easy! I like that it calculates how much you will be getting back as you go and that they constantly ask other questions in order to get the most money back for you. I will be using this site and recommending it for all of my friends and family in the future! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really free! The other major "free" online tax preparation service company was free until i got to filing for the EIC credits. With qualifying children that meant if i wanted to receive the extra $2,000 ish, they required me to upgrade to their paid version. I logged out of them, into TurboTax and filed my complete return including the EIC for free. Next year they can keep their "billions" i'll stick with the truly free tax preparation services offered from TurboTax. March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for short on time The interface wasn't difficult to navigate and it was easy and enjoyable to look at. The really simple questions helped avoid confusion about what they were specifically looking for me to answer. Also filling out the tax return in small chunks and sections made it less intimidating. Some sites have really long forms to scroll through and it just looks annoying. This is my third time filing taxes and it was the easiest and fastest I've ever done them!! :) February 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Easy to use but don't like all the 'upsell' I've used turbo tax in the past but when i wanted to use the free version this year they tried to upsell me to a $29 version so that I wouldn't have to enter my basic info again. They said otherwise they'd DELETE my info so I'd have to enter it again. ...that was really lame, I was going to use different software but due to time constraints I chose to re-enter my info. But next year i'll probably try a different software. That seemed totally unnecessary. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok, but what's with all the fees? I like TurboTax because it's easy to file. They make everything easy to understand. What I hate about it is you have to pay for absolutely everything. I couldn't even import my personal name, address, etc. from last year without being told I'd be charged for it (which I don't remember being told in the past I'd be charged for that). Honestly kind of makes me want to switch who I file taxes online with, even though I've been filing with TurboTax since 2009. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A few glitches Overall, TurboTax is a quick and efficient way to file your taxes. I didn't like some of the changes to this year's program...some of the graphics/cartoons were a little goofy. There were a couple of pages that I manually typed information, but they wouldn't load and had to re-do several times until they finally took. Also when trying to pay, unless you click the button at the top to use your auto populated address from your return, the info won't process. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One Stop Made Easy I always use Turbo-tax each year, it's easy convenient and hassle free. The returns can go straight into your bank account which makes it even more convenient! I did make an error on entering something this year, and I went to the free online chat before I submitted my return and a gentleman named Todd walked me through how to fix everything. He was knowledgeable, professional, and saved the day. Thanks TurboTax for making my returns each year super easy! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Well Priced Currently use the free edition (which is an excellent service in itself) but will definitely upgrade to paid editions when my taxes get more complex. The only complaint I have is if you upgrade (before filing and paying) to see how it may change your filing options, you cannot go back without redoing the entire thing over again. Entered in my all my tax information 3 times before filing (going back and forth,) but hey, it's free so I guess I can't complain April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Would be nice to have online access. Have used turbo tax for years in past needed the delux version but life changed and now do not need it. Maybe in future will need delux again. I think if you have been a fairly regular customer/user it would be nice to have turbo tax store each yr tax return actually submitted thru turbo tax in one online location, could redact name, ss,dob etc from stored version so less issues for you and more safety for us, thank you April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy, frustrated then thrilled. Was happy to be able to file Form 8379, but instructions were a bit confusing because the form was combined. Started with Innocent Spouse Relief which did't apply and then went to Injured Spouse Allocation only after I realized that after checking Question #2 box, I had to hit the continue button on bottom with out filling any info in the form that first appears which did't apply anyway. I then was asked the questions that pertained to what I need to file. February 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Eeh It asked questions about a 1099R method of determining soem simple method something for which I had no documents. I just sent it in without fixing it. Seemed totally unimportant and the amount in question was minimal. So much for simple methods. Also I received and email from TT about free state filing but when it came down to it they wanted $28 as ususal so I wasted time filling in stuff for the state return that I then had to figure out how to delete it. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Update your system I tried to pay for the state portion, but every time I tried to pay an error message said they could not validate my credit card information and then i had 5 purchases/reversals and then 2 purchases on my bank statement. That is not alright, it could have told me my address was wrong, my phone number, etc etc etc. From beginning to finish when I actually got that part over with and then filing my taxes took over 3 hours. Seriously... need to update everything. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest thing ever I'd used Turbo Tax years ago, but when MilitaryOneSource offered a competitors product for free I switched. BUT this year trying to use it was the most stressful thing. I decided Turbo Tax was my only option even if it meant paying for it. I loved the guides and the ease of getting it all together. AND they even were able to our state returns completed with any crazy headache like the competitor was giving me. Next year I will definitely be using Turbo Tax! March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New look of TurboTax Overall a good product, but I was slowed down early-on by extra screens asking how I felt about doing my taxes, seemed non-professional. Disappointed that importing my previous year's info required the upgrade. Why? The computer had already completed the task... felt like a tricky way to get me to buy. I have really liked TurboTax and trusted your product and am hoping for a return to the more business-like look you had in 2014 (for my 2013 return). Thanks! March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much Easier than Paper Filing Using TurboTax is much easier than getting all the forms and filling everything out by hand. Putting in your employer's ID number instantly pulls up all their info and you just have to input the numbers from your W2s. And it guides you through everything as it asks questions and helps you find credits. A few parts can be confusing and if you have to file anything but the basics it will cost you, but overall this is a much quicker way to get your taxes done. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets better every year. I was worried about doing my taxes this year, because I had multiple W-2's to file and figured I'd run into some problems. TurboTax made this exceptionally easy. Another thing I noticed is how I almost enjoyed filing with your surprisingly simple step-by-step procedure. Finally, I had to stop in the middle of my return and, when I came back, everything was saved and I didn't have to go back to redo anything. This site just gets better and better every year. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Easy, and Accurate! I have checked out most tax sites, and this is the easiest one I have found to use so far. There is no confusion, just straight forward questions. Whenever I am unsure of an answer, there are definitions throughout, help pages, and a FAQ page. Also, at the end of the program, there are links to state and national programs that are unique to the filer's financial and family situation. I have never seen this in a tax program before, and it is a wonderful resource! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by For once, I didn't want to die doing my taxes I enjoyed interface the most. It was just like the commercials. There were PICTURES to help me decide if the deductions or credits applied to me. My first attempt at filing my own taxes, I accidentally input the state withholding for the federal withholding. I realize that that's a stupid mistake, but thinking for one second that you owe the IRS thousands of dollars is a nightmare. Thanks TurboTax for letting me keep my brown hair brown. Too young for grays! April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick simple and easy way to file your taxes I have used TurboTax to file my returns the past several years. The process of gathering your tax information is simple and complete. I like the way it walks you through the entire filing process asking questions to assure you have entered all income, expenses, and deductions. They provide pop-up descriptions of the filing topic that are easy to understand. Try finding that in the IRS form filing instructions. TurboTax is the easiest way to file your returns. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything about Turbo Tax was so easy and I felt like they really found every deduction I had. The only thing I didn't like, which wasn't the fault of Turbo Tax, was that when I started, the whole thing was going to be free, except I did not receive a W2 from a former employer in time to complete my free state taxes during the time when Turbo Tax was offering a free state filing to people who filed early (in early February). But $14.99 is totally reasonable. March 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrated I filled out my daughters taxes and when they were finished it let me know that I would have to pay $27 for her state refund. At that point I thought I would just opt out of the state refund and file the paper form or at the state website. I could not get to a point that it would let me opt out! So I ended up paying for a $39 refund. It seems to me I should have been able to choose whether or not to file the state. I believe I could in the past. Disappointed. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME You guys thought of everything...except, what if I change my mind and want to buy a product after I have filed. I love your service, its easy to use and I have told so many of my friends and neighbors about the service. I have used Turbo Tax for the last 5 or 6 years now and would not change it, Unless you start selling advertisement space and I get bombared with too many offers. But right now it is the best and easy to use... Thanks for another amazing year. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Free I was extremely pleased by the ease of filing. I began with Turbo Tax, and then decided to try and look around. I tried using H&R Block, but it was very confusing. I got caught up on the 1099-Q form with them. When I asked their online support for help. I was there for an hour and made no real progress. I only came back to TurboTax today and it was so simple and I FINISHED everything today. :) It's so simple I never once needed to ask for help! Thank youuuuuu. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy I have been using Turbotax for years. It is simple and it walks you through every possible aspect of filing a return. My taxes are simple, but I like knowing that I went over everything "just in case". The only thing I would complain about is that they claimed to be able to get $100 more on my refund if I paid for the upgrade and itemized. I have done my own taxes for years, and when I did the work sheet on my own, I would not benefit from itemizing this year. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth sailing! I really enjoyed the swift quick process of filing my tax return this year. The process seems to have been even more simplified, reducing the total time necessary to complete the tax filing. The cons for me were the way that I was asked about marital status, which I found confusing/unnecessary, and the repeated attempts to sell me the upgraded version, although I understand that is part of TurboTax's business. Altogether, I am still very happy with the service. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product for filing tax returns! I'm always happy with the process and results when using TurboTax online. I am confident I didn't miss anything and am getting my maximum refund. I always am surprised by a tax credit or two that I didn't realize I qualified for. Thanks for the great product. As always, I will continue to recommend my friends and family all use TurboTax. My girlfriend made the switch this year and couldn't have been happier with the price, ease of use, and confidence in her return. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Refund Using TurboTax is always quick and easy for me (Ive only filed simple forms though). My only qualms are that it gets a bit annoying that it asks you a bunch of times if you want to upgrade and I wish it had an option to skip state taxes altogether rather than answer all the questions first then you can say no. But other than those two little issues that Ive found, its a very easy program to use. Much cheaper and faster then having to go somewhere to get it done. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Quick, First Time Fliling I loved using TurboTax. It was easy to understand, nice to pause filing and pick it up another day. I used it on my smartphone as well as my computer, and both were very user-friendly. I am an active military service member, so the only confusing part was the state taxes. It was clear as to which state I should file under, but address and rent information was slightly confusing. it only took a little extra time reading over instructions to figure it out, though. February 26, 2015
  • 2015-04-25T11:41:52.185-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-253, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14335, tr_14335
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 251 252 253 254 255 ... 270 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.