1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 252 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy and very helpful! I've been using Turbo Tax for years now and have never had a problem until this year. My payment wasn't going though so I contacted their support group. When you call, you just basically save your spot in line and they call you back later when its your turn, which is nice so you don't have to listen to elevator music for an hour. The lady was so amazingly helpful and we got everything figured out! Turbo Tax is great! Thanks! February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax EZ free file Overall I really liked Turbo tax. It is easy to use and I can quickly file my return. I feel it is accurate and easy. I dislike how hard it is to print a copy for my records. I would gladly pay a small amount ($10) if I knew I could print a copy or two (easily) for retention in my files. I understand that it is a marketing ploy to upgrade, but there should be a cheaper alternative. Thanks for being so user friendly otherwise. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by review2015 I have been using the medium-priced product for many years; I found it easy to use from the beginning and now I am familiar with it; the fact that I can import data from previous tax years and external sources was a big plus. It is a shame that I can't use the paid product any more due to the restrictive method of payment. I am very very disappointed that I can't use the paid Intuit product any more. Can't stress it enough... April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by KILT IIIIT!!!! I should have been using turbo tax the whole time. I will never use anyone else again. This was completely free, whereas last year I paid $267 dollars using a tax service!! No appointment or waiting. I did my taxes on my couch, on my tablet, in my p.j.s and am completely confident that turbo tax made sure I received the maximum refund in the fastest way and understood every step. Sigh, I don't know why I didn't try it sooner. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solved the Mystery My problem was that just zeroes in boxes on my W-2 prevented the program from accepting my completed return. Went online and to a phone number, called, left a message to be called back; Got a call back within 1 1/2 hours, had a great IT guy who recognized the problem as soon as he looked at my W-2 with my permission to look at my return on my computer; gave me the fix and I was good to go!!! Mystery solved and happy ending!!! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for first time I am 19 years old, and this was my first year filing taxes. I had been really worried i would screw something up but when someone told me how easy turbotax was I jumped on the oportunity. I am sure glad I did because it was so much easier than i had been expecting. If it is your first time I would say definently use turbotax. It takes all the hard, complicated work out and explains everything as it goes. 10/10 thanks turbotax! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Took the worry away!!!! I was dreading filing taxes this year because I had more than one W-2 and unemployment to deal with. Turbo tax walked me through each step with easy to follow directions and made me feel better about filing this year. I also was concerned with the new health care law and how that would affect our family but Turbo Tax once again walked me through that as well. I would greatly reccomend all my friends and family using Turbo Tax! March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Easy, and Stress-Free At first when I started filling out my information this year, I felt a little tiny bit lost. but after hitting next a couple of times I felt right at home. The setup is so user friendly, I love it. By the end of the filing process, I was noticing the improvements from last year. It is streamline and convenient. I spent less than 20 minutes filling out all of the information. Thankful for this service. Doing it again next year. February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic for federal, and good for Missouri state TurboTax was great for doing my federal return. Very easy to follow and seemed very thorough. It handled my Missouri state tax return pretty well, but I needed to go outside the product to search for more information on "Qualified Health Insurance Premiums." I would have liked to see a detailed explanation of what this was within Turbotax. Overall, I would definitely recommend TurboTax. I will probably use it again next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as Pie This is my second year using Turbotax. I recommend it to family and friends all the time. It is easy to follow, very thorough and if you have to leave and come back to finish it saves where you left off! Being able to put my employer's EID number to upload my W2 information was so easy. The process is a little repetitive at times but at least you have plenty of chances to double check your personal information. Thanks Turbotax! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund! I've been using Turbo Tax for 7 years now and every year its just as easy at the last. I don't need to be a tax expert, they do all the work finding the refunds that apply to me. They found one that applied that I had never heard of which made for a fantastic surprise, and with a wedding coming up I already know where that money needs to go. Thank you Turbo Tax, I don't know how you do it for free but I sincerely appreciate it. February 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by feeling unhappy look...honestly, its a great product. unfortunately, because of the $60 in fees you guys sprang on me, (I'm assuming because I waited until the 11th hour), I will never be using this product again. when I started the return, "everything was free!" now all the sudden I'm paying $60? my fiance paid exactly $0 for the exact same service back in January. so...yeah. this was our last trip to turbo tax. hope you're happy with your $60. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Feeling iffy this year Turbo Tax was simple to use this year - as it has always been. However, as a family with very limited income, the basic free package has changed and the 1040 was not included. I constantly had the popup to upgrade to the $59 product. NOT AFFORDABLE for me. That was VERY disappointing. Really nothing changed for me, there was nothing special about my taxes this year, but I don't have a good comfortable feeling that it was correct. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by it's a good app I like the access of the app, right on my phone. I don't have to pay an accountant to do my taxes. The EASY step by step instructions are flawless. It was my first time doing my own taxes, I completely dislike math, but with the easy step by step instructions it was easy. The only thing I didn't like is the fact I had to constantly re file what I had already filed, because a glitch on their end. Other than that no other problems. May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite Program So Far! Last year I filed with H&R Block for free and decided to try turbo tax this year. Boy will I ever go back to H&R block or try any other program? Heck no! I am very impressed with how helpful and fast Turbo Tax has served me. It took about an hour or two to get my taxes done and I really feel like they helped me to get my maximum refund. Definitely going to keep filling with Turbo Tax and I'm purchasing one of their programs soon. February 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by your sneaky I chose the 29.99 state return fee and when I read the fine print in the overview and acceptance I had been charged twice one was for the plus so I rejected, went back and corrected it and again in the fine print it had been added back and was going to be deducted from the return. I finally paid by credit card and the second charge did not get added. Don't be too quick to send until you've reviewed especially if getting a refund! March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sorting the Fog I am a young tax-payer. I have always been instructed to use 1040EZ. TurboTax has helped to sort through the fog and anguish of the tax process; TurboTax has guided me to utilize my school tuition and payments to create a substantial refund. This has completely changed my view of taxes and actually has me looking forward to next year in which I will definitely be using TurboTax again and recommending it to anyone who will listen. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely not Free Overall, TurboTax is very straight forward and very easy to use but do not be fooled into thinking that filing everything is free. They do Federal for free but expect to pay thirty dollars for your State income tax unless you want to do it yourself. While not a huge hit, its unexpected after you turn down multiple attempts to upgrade and see the word free on almost every page. Again not a major issue but something to keep in mind. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by no refund no payment I have used Turbo Tax for a number of years and find it simple to use which certainly saves me a lot of grief. I am 76 years old and the old bean doesn't work as good as it used to so I am very grateful to be able to sit down and be guided thru the process with very little effort on my part. This process always give me peace of mind in as much as I don't worry about whether my taxes are done right or not. Thank you Turbo Tax NFD March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not What I Was Expecting This was undoubtedly a much less painful experience than I had expected it to be and that's entirely because of TurboTax. I filed previously with H&R and it was an extremely nerve-wracking experience. This was absolutely wonderful and I felt safe with my information and secure that it was being done correctly! The use of humor and imagery is seriously a much needed change of pace for such a ridiculously horrible annual experience! April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Free doesn't mean Free Completed the Free Fed filing and then went to file State. Got charged for State when it should have been free. Almost no way to go back and start over once you filed the Fed so you end up paying. I didn't see any help phone contact numbers and existing help look-ups were circuitous at best. TurboTax needs to be more up front with pricing options especially for low income filers. Put all the pricing parameters on the sign in page! April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! I literally watched my partner do his taxes using this site and saw that he saved $45, compared to the old tax website that we used to us, on filing with TurboTax. The presentation of this website is amusing, easy to follow, and eye catching. The time to file took so much less time, especially using the import option. I am thoroughly satisfied with this tax service and will use and recommend this to friends, family, and co-workers. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than TRIPLED my refund!! I initially did my taxes using another tax program. I heard someone say they did the same and then used TurboTax and doubled their refund. I thought... what the heck?? I am SOOOO GLAD I DID!!! My refund didn't double, it MORE THAN TRIPLED!! Turbotax is much more thorough and asks more detailed questions. I have used it in the past, and decided to try something different, BUT I can guarentee I am back to stay!!! Thank you TurboTax!!! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesomeness An easy and simple way to file taxes unlike anything I've ever experienced before. I started with a different efile system but when i logged onto turbo i abandoned the other one because turbo tax is so smooooth. It didn't take you through steps and forms that didn't apply to you buy instead it let's you choose... so happy it continually saved all my info automatically and when i was ready i completed it still lying in bed. Thank you! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome way to file your taxes! As a first time tax filer, I went into this very nervous and stressed out. However, TurboTax reassured me that there is nothing to worry about. I got done with my taxes very fast! Almost every step was explained and easy to understand. The step by step guide really makes filing your taxes very simple, easy, and unstressful. You can even take out half the work by just paying a small fee, otherwise, everything is FREE! Thanks TurboTax! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super simple Preparing taxes is usually an intimidating process for most people, however, with Turbo tax, the process is made easy. I like that the screen are simplified, allowing you to focus on one thing at a time. No more feeling tensed that you missed something, made a mistake, or just outright confused. The language in the 'tip/hint' boxes are also easy to understand. A newbie to tax preparation would have no issues navigating this software. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems Easy & Efficient First time filing myself; I had not been working most of last year so it was a fairly simple process. My only hope is that everything is as straightforward as it seems considering that I had to file in two states. However, I did choose the free E-file instead of the plus so perhaps that makes the difference. I do have a peace of mind though and appreciate that the site is in a such a way that a new timer can navigate through it well. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bawlin Service There's not really much else to say that hasn't already been said. I used this service last year, took less 10 minutes to do, got my refund quickly and without any problems. I'd recommend it to any first timers wanting to get the most out of their refund as well as veterans who want an easier and quicker way of getting things done. And the newly implemented free state return is just icing on the cake. Keep the great work going guys!! March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Peasy There is no better way that I have found to do taxes. I wish that all employer tax ID's and Filer Tax Form were connected so when we entered the ID and SS# that it would fill in the data for us to verify instead of us having to fill in each box. 1,2,3, 12a, 12b, 12c... Also the question about American Opportunity Tax Credit! can we connect Turbo Tax to the IRS so the question can be answered via a connection or download into TurboTax! February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Free But a Hassle Deleting my info a making me start from scratch just because I used the free Federal Form is a hassle to the free user. Then, after I put all the deleted info back in you ask me to upgrade and pay $29.99? My refund was $37 and the program kept hounding me to upgrade to services that cost more than my refund! I won't always be a dependent college student. When I graduate and need to pay for a more complicated return I'll remember this! March 8, 2015
  • 2015-08-01T10:37:15.870-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-252, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14474, tr_14474
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 250 251 252 253 254 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.