1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 250 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by your sneaky I chose the 29.99 state return fee and when I read the fine print in the overview and acceptance I had been charged twice one was for the plus so I rejected, went back and corrected it and again in the fine print it had been added back and was going to be deducted from the return. I finally paid by credit card and the second charge did not get added. Don't be too quick to send until you've reviewed especially if getting a refund! March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Free doesn't mean Free Completed the Free Fed filing and then went to file State. Got charged for State when it should have been free. Almost no way to go back and start over once you filed the Fed so you end up paying. I didn't see any help phone contact numbers and existing help look-ups were circuitous at best. TurboTax needs to be more up front with pricing options especially for low income filers. Put all the pricing parameters on the sign in page! April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely not Free Overall, TurboTax is very straight forward and very easy to use but do not be fooled into thinking that filing everything is free. They do Federal for free but expect to pay thirty dollars for your State income tax unless you want to do it yourself. While not a huge hit, its unexpected after you turn down multiple attempts to upgrade and see the word free on almost every page. Again not a major issue but something to keep in mind. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by no refund no payment I have used Turbo Tax for a number of years and find it simple to use which certainly saves me a lot of grief. I am 76 years old and the old bean doesn't work as good as it used to so I am very grateful to be able to sit down and be guided thru the process with very little effort on my part. This process always give me peace of mind in as much as I don't worry about whether my taxes are done right or not. Thank you Turbo Tax NFD March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not What I Was Expecting This was undoubtedly a much less painful experience than I had expected it to be and that's entirely because of TurboTax. I filed previously with H&R and it was an extremely nerve-wracking experience. This was absolutely wonderful and I felt safe with my information and secure that it was being done correctly! The use of humor and imagery is seriously a much needed change of pace for such a ridiculously horrible annual experience! April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Last Minute Filing Frenzy Just like last year, I knew I shouldn't, but I did... I waited until a few hours before the deadline to file my taxes. Luckily, TurboTax makes it easy. I had my W-2, 1099-INT and 1098-T forms ready to go, and clicked right through the easy to follow prompts provided by TurboTax. I even had enough time to spare to write a rave review and share my experience to encourage you not to wait until the last minute (but if you do, use TurboTax). April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesomeness An easy and simple way to file taxes unlike anything I've ever experienced before. I started with a different efile system but when i logged onto turbo i abandoned the other one because turbo tax is so smooooth. It didn't take you through steps and forms that didn't apply to you buy instead it let's you choose... so happy it continually saved all my info automatically and when i was ready i completed it still lying in bed. Thank you! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! I literally watched my partner do his taxes using this site and saw that he saved $45, compared to the old tax website that we used to us, on filing with TurboTax. The presentation of this website is amusing, easy to follow, and eye catching. The time to file took so much less time, especially using the import option. I am thoroughly satisfied with this tax service and will use and recommend this to friends, family, and co-workers. March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can't wait for my refund! This is a good product to use if you're not familiar with the tax code - and who is these days. it's relatively quick and easy and it's really convenient for eFiling. The $30 i paid to eFile my state tax was worth it considering the refund $. Customer service was also pretty helpful. The little encouraging messages here and there make it a little less stressful, as well. Really looking forward to getting that refund check in the mail :) April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than TRIPLED my refund!! I initially did my taxes using another tax program. I heard someone say they did the same and then used TurboTax and doubled their refund. I thought... what the heck?? I am SOOOO GLAD I DID!!! My refund didn't double, it MORE THAN TRIPLED!! Turbotax is much more thorough and asks more detailed questions. I have used it in the past, and decided to try something different, BUT I can guarentee I am back to stay!!! Thank you TurboTax!!! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome way to file your taxes! As a first time tax filer, I went into this very nervous and stressed out. However, TurboTax reassured me that there is nothing to worry about. I got done with my taxes very fast! Almost every step was explained and easy to understand. The step by step guide really makes filing your taxes very simple, easy, and unstressful. You can even take out half the work by just paying a small fee, otherwise, everything is FREE! Thanks TurboTax! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bawlin Service There's not really much else to say that hasn't already been said. I used this service last year, took less 10 minutes to do, got my refund quickly and without any problems. I'd recommend it to any first timers wanting to get the most out of their refund as well as veterans who want an easier and quicker way of getting things done. And the newly implemented free state return is just icing on the cake. Keep the great work going guys!! March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super simple Preparing taxes is usually an intimidating process for most people, however, with Turbo tax, the process is made easy. I like that the screen are simplified, allowing you to focus on one thing at a time. No more feeling tensed that you missed something, made a mistake, or just outright confused. The language in the 'tip/hint' boxes are also easy to understand. A newbie to tax preparation would have no issues navigating this software. March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by good but bad the fact that u save all my info but charge 30 bucks to import it , the fact that you constantly annoyed me to upgrade to your version i did not want , and several other things really put me off towards your product . I have used turbo tax the last several years with all my info auto imported and without the annoying hassle . This has off put me from your product and i will most likely not be using it next year because of your actions . April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Peasy There is no better way that I have found to do taxes. I wish that all employer tax ID's and Filer Tax Form were connected so when we entered the ID and SS# that it would fill in the data for us to verify instead of us having to fill in each box. 1,2,3, 12a, 12b, 12c... Also the question about American Opportunity Tax Credit! can we connect Turbo Tax to the IRS so the question can be answered via a connection or download into TurboTax! February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Free But a Hassle Deleting my info a making me start from scratch just because I used the free Federal Form is a hassle to the free user. Then, after I put all the deleted info back in you ask me to upgrade and pay $29.99? My refund was $37 and the program kept hounding me to upgrade to services that cost more than my refund! I won't always be a dependent college student. When I graduate and need to pay for a more complicated return I'll remember this! March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Can't Beat "Free" It really is free to file your federal return. You don't have to use the software to file your state return, but if you choose to do so it is reasonably priced. It was easy to find answers to my questions by using the search bar built into the software. You can save your work at any time and come back to finish it later. I've used it many times and I have never had any problems. It is easy to use even for non-technical people. Get it. March 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 2014 Review First off, it's not free for both Fed & State even though it said so on TV and radio if you make less than X-amt of income. State filing costs $29.95 for the cheapest version. Secondly, it was the worst program I have ever used and I will not use it next year. Lastly, somehow it got into a "childcare" mode, which I have no idea how that even happened, and I could not find where to make the corrections and it would not let me start over. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but don't ding those of us helping retirees Turbo Tax just works - that is great and I am appreciative. I'd give it 5 stars, but it irks me that I have to re-input all the info that could easily be carried over. This wouldn't be a big deal if it were a more complex return. However, this was the return for my retired Mom. It's 1040EZ and I'm helping a retiree - no need to beat up the seniors on a fixed income for your $29.99. Save that for those of us still working! Robert Petty April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally! Painless taxes! This was so easy- the last couple of years I took all my stuff to a big-name tax prep firm, and ended up paying. I wasn't informed that I would actually be better off not itemizing my deductions, so I paid the IRS AND the tax prep service. I thought I'd do my taxes myself this year, and this year the IRS didn't send out instruction booklets. I found Turbo Tax through Swagbucks, & ended up filing for free! And I got a refund! AWESOME!!!! April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed after Years of Service This is the fifth year that I have used Turbotax for my filing. Previously, Turbotax remembered my previous filings and automatically entered most of my information. This year I had to upgrade for that "feature" that was previously a default. Main reason I kept coming back was because my information was being reused to save time. Now, there is no point to come back since each year I have redo EVERYTHING. May not use turbotax next year. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now entering the red carpet is... I received interest from the IRS last year because they audited me and it took them the entire year to decide all was well. They sent me only a letter and exactly which box should be used to file that (box 1 or 3) was uncertain to me, but either I did it right or it didn't really matter, I suppose. Otherwise, I was more than pleased; have been pleased both years now. I would have trouble finding any real fault with TurboTax. Go team!!! February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes Done Free and Easy This software was easy to use. If I had confusion on the income or deduction portions, there were great examples that informed me of what they were looking for. I believe that I got the most deductions that were possible with this Turbo Tax software. I have used Turbo Tax for many years and this was the first time that I had used the online Turbo Tax and it was a breeze filing both Federal and State income taxes. I highly recommend it. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I've used Turbotax free federal filing several times over the years. This year there were some major upgrades in the interface that made things very smooth. So smooth in fact that I decided to just file my state return for a small fee because everything was already entered for me and the payment information (didn't get a refund sadly) was stored for the filing. It was much easier to pay my taxes this year than in years past. Good work. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty dependable Been using this site since I first started working/filing tax. IRS website directed me here and I've never seen a reason to go anywhere else. I've always had the one job, not wealthy enough to need any of the extended features but it's nice to know they are available if I get to that level. I always recommend the free filing option when I see people paying the walk-in filing places a fee to do a refund even simpler than the ones I file. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use I love all the new features, like the fact that when you enter most of the employers numbers, it actually imports your entire W2. No more having to go line by line and making sure all numbers match. You fly through it so quickly and makes you less stressed. I also love the fact that it goes through and makes sure you get all of the deductions you can possibly get. Who else does all that plus files both State and Federal taxes for free!! February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quick and easy The actual input and doing of taxes, was really easy. They ask many questions and help you to know what questions to answer. Its really helpful in the way that can figure out what to deduct, and other things that you may not have thought of. I did not like that, they will not make your info from this year available to next year unless you upgrade. So its free to do and file but the advantage of using the same service next year is lost . March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! Your system is very user friendly and easy. It makes filing nearly stress free (except for the paying part). I especially appreciate that you can back up to review entries if you have to without a big hassle or having to re-enter data. The only little problem is that if there is a breakdown of how much of the amount that I owe is regular income tax and how much of it is the penalty for not having health insurance, I would like to know. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy-my kid did it! I was going to do the taxes for my daughter so she came over April 14th. I read her the first sentence from Turbo Tax and she said-I WANT to do it. Super simple and so very user friendly! She only had to ask me a couple of questions for clarification for the form. Last year she PAID H&R Block to do them for her-what a WASTE of money! It was so wonderful that it was free and when she gets older she will use the upgraded service from Turbo Tax. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Login Verification Difficulties In the past Turbo tax has been a snap to log into and use. Now in light of a security breach, I am assuming, it is a very time consuming and difficult task to get into the account and complete taxes. It took multiple tries over several days to successfully get on so taxes could be completed. I hope by next tax season this will not be the case as I will probably shift to another online tax preparer that does not eat up so much of my time. April 9, 2015
  • 2015-04-24T12:17:31.428-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-250, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14328, tr_14328
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 248 249 250 251 252 ... 270 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.