1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 250 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14485 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing your taxes using turbotax.com TurboTax was right for me. My return was simple and it was made even more simple with the help of turbo tax. I was given many options, but all I had to do was click on the things that applied to me. They also offer guarantees which adds to your peace of mind. Did I mention the savings! My federal return was free and my state return was not a lot of money for the everything it offered. I would recommend this. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy breezy refund! TurboTax is an amazing way to do your taxes. I would highly recommend TurboTax to any one wanting to get every penny earned and deserved. It's fast and simple and walks you step by step. Let alone it responds to your answers. I've always went to those tax preparation people and let me assure you I will never go back. If your considering using TurboTax and you are new , or would highly tell you to try it out. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing tax tool I really enjoyed using Turbo Tax for the very first time. I have been warned by family members that doing taxes online could be confusing and risky. But Turbo Tax was very simple to use. The guides were easy to follow and the way the questions were worded were easy to understand. I didn't feel too overwhelmed and I finished my return feeling confident that everything was filed correctly. Thank you Turbo Tax! March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing My Tax Return - Super Easy!! A great way to file my tax return. As a retired person, it was easy to fill out the information required. Questions and messages to help make the process easy to understand and to ensure filling in the correct information in the correct places on the form. E-File is the way to file - no hassle with mailing paperwork and waiting longer for refund check or direct deposit. Will definitely use again and again!!! March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for Free Federal returns I really enjoy using turbotax to file my taxes each year. It is free to file federal taxes through this website, and it is so easy, though there are a lot of pins and passwords it seems. Be sure to have all of your infomation saved and in a convenient places for when you do your taxes. I have never used turbotax for filing my state taxes because they charge (and so I use the paper filing version) around $30. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy prep Though I started my tax collection and prep before the deadline, I didn't complete it till after so I missed out on the free state filing. But it was still easy to use and loads of hints and info. have used in the past and will use next year also. thanks fore the use of your program. The use of a short nickname is a problem. first mine was too short then someone had used it before. simply skip nickname use... February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confusion Much confusion trying to start. I was asked to submit my 6 digit number. Didn't have one. I chose to start by other means. Filled in SS#, address. Was told hmmm don't know you. Tried again, tried again. Each time was told system didn't know me. Well, I got at least five 6-digit #'s in my in mail, each one after I was told I wasn't recognized. I gather I misunderstood something, but this was not user friendly. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by turbo tax was great! I knew I just needed to do the standard deduction and turbo tax made it easy to let me enter me w2 info and roll! On top of that I made an error when putting in my PIN (AGI) from the last years tax return and turbo tax sent me an email very quickly stating that the filing was rejected because of that error, but I was able to go through the steps to correct it with turbo tax and re-file just a few hours later. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My doubts were washed away! I was worried about filing my taxes online, and thought that with TurboTax I would be getting the bare minimum, but I went to financial service branches in my area to see if it could get any better. TurboTax not only gave me the best option for my refund, but I didn't have to deal with anyone rude or impatient, and it was the easiest responsible thing I ever had to do. I'm not so scared to file taxes anymore. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad it's done! I did a simple 1040A return. It was easy and quick, but I found some of the comments the program made to be a little silly or unnecessary. I guess they are trying to make it seem like you are dealing with a person who is helping you with your return, but we all know it is just a program. I also get annoyed at the self check out machines at grocery stores that talk to you. It is just fake, and I don't like it. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you TurboTax! My husband and I have been using TurboTax for 20 years. We have always been satisfied. The software is easy to navigate and has numerous places to ask questions or have a section explained. This is a great help to those of us who are not CPA's! I have noticed many updates to TurboTax over the years and each one has made it better. We will continue to use TurboTax and definitely recommend the product to others. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by whew I had no idea how to file my taxes and was scared to attempt it without my "friend" who did my taxes. Shortly after I sent him my information, he passed away. I finally asked a family member to help me using turbo tax and feel as if I wasted his time, because I easily understood all of the questions being asked and it has you review your answers, making it difficult to make a mistake. Thank you for Turbo Tax!. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I did it! I've been preparing my taxes for years, I use to dread it because t took to long and it was pretty complicated. Until a year ago I found Turbo Tax. Whether you'll filling short form or long form, Turbo Tax is the way to go. If you have questions, or come across something you don't quite understand, they're right to answer your questions. I wish I had use this tool a long time ago. Great way to file your taxes. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! So easy to use! I'm not going to lie I was pretty scared to file my own taxes. It was my first time. I went to H&R block and walked out right after she totaled how much I would owe them for filing for me. I heard about Turbotax from my brother who said it was really easy to use. So here I am. I must say I am not disappointed. Will be using next year and to also help my bf with his. AMAZING!!!!! I won't be scared next year. :) March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Just Gets Better Every Year Seriously...every year I use TurboTax...and every year I am even more impressed than the last. The site is so user-friendly. I love how it walks you through and explains every step so plainly and makes sure you don't miss a thing. Definitely some smart and impressive software and beautifully designed and smooth transitions. It cannot get any better than TurboTax. I actually enjoy doing my own taxes every year. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peezy Refund It was easy, detailed and provided simple directions. this was the first time I have ever done my taxes by myself and it was really easy. They didn't force me into paying extra money but they did provide the option and gave good reasons why it would be a good idea to upgrade. if I wasn't so poor because of school I would have probably upgraded. Definitely would recommend this to anyone looking to do their taxes April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by "Tax Error" Twilight Zone Even though I'm retired, and only receive SS, have not additional income, investments, etc., the site insists on asking for a W-2 & other income. I wanted to file an EZ this year, & it put me in a 1040A, no matter how I entered info. This continues to be very frustrating. Because there are "problems" with the Federal Return, I can't e-file either return. Both Federal and State returns need to be sent U.S. mail. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ridiculously simple! This was my first time filing taxes, and I was beyond impressed with Turbotax!! It walks you through every step, explains everything, and is nearly foolproof! I also loved the way it was sort of personalized and almost felt like you were there with someone talking you through everything. It also makes it super convenient to be able to file your State taxes as well, even though you do pay a fee. Great experience! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Turbo Tax Turbo Tax took me from step one to the last step and got me the best return out there. H&R block online was telling me we owed the IRS and I knew better.. I came here and got our usual refund with out the hassle of trying to find out where H&R went wrong. Thank you Turbo Tax, I filed for free but my taxes are pretty basic and nothing special about them, so I knew right away they were getting me the right refund! February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish each letter were worth 1 mil. to TURBO TAX To me turbo tax is even BETTER than having someone to talk you through the process, I mean it's that simple and NON- THREATENING. Just like watching a video and a really profound and smashing scene occurs and you want that view once again , what do most people do?, REWIND. This is what turbo tax offers a great rewind session for the scaredy cats when it comes around to tax time. BE BRAVE USE THE "TURBO TAX-MAN". February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by One little thing from greatness I love TurboTax. I would love it more if it could reward me for spending $30-50 a year by importing info. I understand they want you to upgrade, but I pay for my state filing, it just be nice not have to input the info every year. And seeing how my taxes have changed with my prior filings would be great. That's it. Just that. It seems...unnecessary and a obvious moneygrab. You're great. But you could be perfect. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly Easy! I am so grateful to Turbo Tax! Instead of paying someone to handle my taxes for me, I can feel independent and efficient in doing them myself! Everything is self-explanatory and easy to understand. Whenever anything was unclear or hard for me to comprehend, there is an option to have it explained a little more clearly. This was perfect for me! I enjoyed Turbo Tax to the fullest and will recommend it to everyone! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Refund!!!!! Ive always used HRBlock for my taxes, which are very basic returns. Some how they end up getting messed up or I feel I didn't receive my full return. This year was showing me I was going to owe 675$!!!!! I thought I would try out turbo tax and compare. Turbo tax is awersome! walked me through every step and made sure that I got my full exemptions. I now am receiving money instead of owing!! Thank you Turbo Tax!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Professional I was recommend to Turbo tax from several friends. As they said, it is very convenient, you do not need print out the forms and go to post office mailing it. Also, as a student with some working income, it is kind of complex to get the max deduction and appropriate calculation for the correct refund. Turbo tax is smart for getting that! Definitely and have already recommend it to my other friends. Great software! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks Turbo Tax! A friend of mine recommended Turbo Tax after I had a disaster with my taxes last year. Turbo Tax was crazy simple, and really explained things well when I didn't understand what it was asking. The only con I can give it was saying it was free and it kept trying to sneak in an upgrade for $30. Other than that, it's great. Highly recommend. I also highly recommend the movie Insidious for anyone wanting to be scared. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a genuine experience I filed for the first time as a college junior, yikes, and turbo tax was amazing. I was really nervous but the process was fool-proof. you couldn't mess up, and if you did they notify you! I messed up a pin number they needed and within a day they emailed me saying they could help me fix it and that I could refile. I was kinda nervous about using Turbotax but after this experience I would recommend it to everyone! March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EZ Peezy Turbo Tax is the way to go. The program holds your hand through the process. As long as you have the right information and numbers, you can't go wrong, especially people with few deductions and straight forward income. The programs for those with more income and deductions are easy to follow and cost a little more, but not what a tax company return costs! And the followup is great, sent to your email or cellphone. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gettin it done, turbo style. It is great to use, the program/page knows what to ask and where to send you. It is a trusted site so I know I can use it on my own. But if there happens to be a question I have or that I did enter something by mistake, or change. It seemed confusing or that I was frustrated I could not simply go back to the other portion. I wish I knew more about the steps to take and what page or area to go to. Thank you though. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for free, I really love the fact, there is no calculations needed on my end. I watch as the deductions start kicking in and showing me, if I have a refund coming or not, as we go along. There are too many, reminders to upgrade, when all I need is a standard quick filing. Also, some of the "easy and friendly" questions are a little too simplistic. On the other hand, its a great program,, and will eventually, get the job done. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not afforadable I'm only getting back a small refund since I was a full-time student and also studied abroad during the summer allowing little time for work and income. I was happy to use the Turbo Tax without a cost, but when I reached the end, was informed it would cost almost $30 to file my state tax return! Very disappointed and chose not to file my state taxes using Turbo Tax since many other sites offer FREE State e-filing. March 9, 2015
  • 2015-09-04T11:26:12.501-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-250, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14485, tr_14485
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 248 249 250 251 252 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.