1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 250 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly Easy! I am so grateful to Turbo Tax! Instead of paying someone to handle my taxes for me, I can feel independent and efficient in doing them myself! Everything is self-explanatory and easy to understand. Whenever anything was unclear or hard for me to comprehend, there is an option to have it explained a little more clearly. This was perfect for me! I enjoyed Turbo Tax to the fullest and will recommend it to everyone! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Turbo Tax Turbo Tax took me from step one to the last step and got me the best return out there. H&R block online was telling me we owed the IRS and I knew better.. I came here and got our usual refund with out the hassle of trying to find out where H&R went wrong. Thank you Turbo Tax, I filed for free but my taxes are pretty basic and nothing special about them, so I knew right away they were getting me the right refund! February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish each letter were worth 1 mil. to TURBO TAX To me turbo tax is even BETTER than having someone to talk you through the process, I mean it's that simple and NON- THREATENING. Just like watching a video and a really profound and smashing scene occurs and you want that view once again , what do most people do?, REWIND. This is what turbo tax offers a great rewind session for the scaredy cats when it comes around to tax time. BE BRAVE USE THE "TURBO TAX-MAN". February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by One little thing from greatness I love TurboTax. I would love it more if it could reward me for spending $30-50 a year by importing info. I understand they want you to upgrade, but I pay for my state filing, it just be nice not have to input the info every year. And seeing how my taxes have changed with my prior filings would be great. That's it. Just that. It seems...unnecessary and a obvious moneygrab. You're great. But you could be perfect. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ridiculously simple! This was my first time filing taxes, and I was beyond impressed with Turbotax!! It walks you through every step, explains everything, and is nearly foolproof! I also loved the way it was sort of personalized and almost felt like you were there with someone talking you through everything. It also makes it super convenient to be able to file your State taxes as well, even though you do pay a fee. Great experience! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Refund!!!!! Ive always used HRBlock for my taxes, which are very basic returns. Some how they end up getting messed up or I feel I didn't receive my full return. This year was showing me I was going to owe 675$!!!!! I thought I would try out turbo tax and compare. Turbo tax is awersome! walked me through every step and made sure that I got my full exemptions. I now am receiving money instead of owing!! Thank you Turbo Tax!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Professional I was recommend to Turbo tax from several friends. As they said, it is very convenient, you do not need print out the forms and go to post office mailing it. Also, as a student with some working income, it is kind of complex to get the max deduction and appropriate calculation for the correct refund. Turbo tax is smart for getting that! Definitely and have already recommend it to my other friends. Great software! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EZ Peezy Turbo Tax is the way to go. The program holds your hand through the process. As long as you have the right information and numbers, you can't go wrong, especially people with few deductions and straight forward income. The programs for those with more income and deductions are easy to follow and cost a little more, but not what a tax company return costs! And the followup is great, sent to your email or cellphone. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a genuine experience I filed for the first time as a college junior, yikes, and turbo tax was amazing. I was really nervous but the process was fool-proof. you couldn't mess up, and if you did they notify you! I messed up a pin number they needed and within a day they emailed me saying they could help me fix it and that I could refile. I was kinda nervous about using Turbotax but after this experience I would recommend it to everyone! March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks Turbo Tax! A friend of mine recommended Turbo Tax after I had a disaster with my taxes last year. Turbo Tax was crazy simple, and really explained things well when I didn't understand what it was asking. The only con I can give it was saying it was free and it kept trying to sneak in an upgrade for $30. Other than that, it's great. Highly recommend. I also highly recommend the movie Insidious for anyone wanting to be scared. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gettin it done, turbo style. It is great to use, the program/page knows what to ask and where to send you. It is a trusted site so I know I can use it on my own. But if there happens to be a question I have or that I did enter something by mistake, or change. It seemed confusing or that I was frustrated I could not simply go back to the other portion. I wish I knew more about the steps to take and what page or area to go to. Thank you though. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not afforadable I'm only getting back a small refund since I was a full-time student and also studied abroad during the summer allowing little time for work and income. I was happy to use the Turbo Tax without a cost, but when I reached the end, was informed it would cost almost $30 to file my state tax return! Very disappointed and chose not to file my state taxes using Turbo Tax since many other sites offer FREE State e-filing. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievably Awesome!! I HATE doing my taxes every year. I had been using a different company for several years and accidently signed onto this one when helping my boyfriend get started on his taxes. Best mistake I have ever made!! After he finished his he was able to invite me to use Turbotax also so I did. It was great! I already have recommended it to several people. Thanks for making it so easy and understandable. See you next year!! March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is Amazing!! This year was my first time filing for my taxes. As a post-grad college student, I was very unsure on how to go about filing my taxes for the first time but TurboTax made my filing easy and efficent for me. The step-by-step features made it incredibly stress free for me as well. I would highly recommend turbotax to anyone who is filing taxes for the first time or who just needs the extra help. Thank you TurboTax!!! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for free, I really love the fact, there is no calculations needed on my end. I watch as the deductions start kicking in and showing me, if I have a refund coming or not, as we go along. There are too many, reminders to upgrade, when all I need is a standard quick filing. Also, some of the "easy and friendly" questions are a little too simplistic. On the other hand, its a great program,, and will eventually, get the job done. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was it really that easy?! I loved how easy it was to file my tax return. As a second year user of TurboTax I really appreciate how quick it is, and that it can all be done online! The one thing I don't like is I thought I had filed my return 3 weeks ago, and when I hadn't gotten my return back today I went to check... Turns out I hadn't clicked all the way through the filing page. Oops. Got to remember that for next year! Thank you TurboTax! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You have reallly BEDAZZLED Me!!!! I can only say that I am sorry for not using turbotax sooner. I was so used to using that same old way I had used for years. I just did not think it could get any better. Boy was I wrong! I just decided I wanted to try something different this year. I was totally knocked off my feet with the wonderful experience I had with turbotax. I will recommend turbotax above all others any day. I am sold. You have me for life. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I did this all by myself! I really liked turbo tax. I did not like that I had to pay extra to use my stored info.(I chose to put it all in again) But just as well I did this all by myself this year and I feel really awesome!! My girlfriend usually did this for me. But since we are not talking I had to do it myself. I was dreading it, But it was GREAT! I really look forward to doing my taxes next year. AND all my friends taxes! Thanks so much March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest refund ever! This is the first time I've filed my taxes on my own. In past years I have used my parents accountant to assist me. As an emerging adult into the world I was afraid that I was going to do my taxes wrong. With turbotax I had no issues, and I got a great refund! I am very happy with how easy the process went, and I would absolutely recommend this to all of my friends and family. Thank you TurboTax..really...thank you. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, Easy, MONEY This is my third year in a row filing taxes by myself, and Turbo Tax has made it easy each and every time. It tells me exactly what I need and where to find it, and makes doing taxes easy and actually sort of fun! It's exciting to see the refund number change as you enter more information, even more so when it changes in a positive direction. I keep telling my friends that for their taxes, this is the best way to go. February 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by its a minefield gets old very quick when Turbo Tax tries to get you to buy a state return or upgrade for more than the return is worth, I would consider this in future but because of the loss of time , to get around numerous pitch jobs, I probably wont consider T.T if next year is the same, if I made 5000$ last year as a student every penny is important to me so spending 30$ on a state return is sort of ridiculous at my income level March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by PAINLESS INCOME TAX FILING I've been using TurboTax for several years and it just seems to get better and easier every year. I e-file the free Federal return now since my state return is so simple. But even so, TT can still be used to provide a guide to your state taxes. I was a bit disappointed in the poor registration of the numeric detail in the intitial form review, and the fact this form is NOT printable at this stage. Highly recommended! March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rockin Customer Experience This has been the best tax filing experience I've had in years. I was able to prepare and file my return in just 2 hours. Granted I have a fairly simple return but, it was more than an ez1040 filing. Navigation through each step was clear and simple to understand. Instructions added a personal touch that made me feel at ease and confident that my data was accurate. Thank you for giving me my afternoon back Turbo Tax! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes the frustration out of taxes This is my 4th time using Turbo Tax. I use the free version because my taxes are very uncomplicated. This year, I thought I'd try out forms directly from the IRS but when I did my taxes through Turbo Tax, I realized I had missed several options which would have cost me in the form of a smaller refund. I definitely recommend Turbo Tax and for those with more strenuous needs, the upgraded versions are likely top notch. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple by Design The software is great. It leads you through and has pop up boxes with good, basic information and links to more. I loved the links to the Mint page and how easy is was to get the PINs. I plan to use TurboTax from now on. I'll be having life changes soon that will greatly impact my taxes, so glad I found it now. Glad I read a review of different software for taxes. I chose the best one and will purchase more products. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Why? CON-Really, is a 2-3% charge on credit cards necessary? You couldn't lump the 50 cent charge into the $30 I already paid? PRO-The explain functions were great. I would add a section (Have all the necessary documents?) somewhere in the beginning to remind people of possible documents, especially for times like this when health insurance reqs are added. I completely forgot about getting that. Overall a decent service. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund through the roof I have always used Turbo Tax because of the walk through process and the helpful hints. I have always gotten the most $$ possible for my refund. I have never tried another program so I hope that I am making the BEST choice by using TurboTax, but I pretty sure I am. I just know that other companies are starting to give better deals to online tax users, I just wish that Turbo Tax would be FREE for simple tax form filers March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by supereasyrefund Thank You. This was my first time filing online. I was in a place were I just couldn't make it to a tax place. (H & R) I am a super busy, tired mother of three. All three kids are young and making any appointments just seem so hard right now in my life. I was always scared of doing my own taxes, thinking i would just completely mess it up some how. This year was the easiest of any year I have filed. Thank You, Melissa February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thought I only had to do things 1 time?!? I thought you guys made it very easy for me to actually do my own taxes I'm not a number lady and you made it happen!! But 2 days after I filed I get an email saying your state refund has been rejected and this happens from time to time well with my accountant this never happened!! I mean I thought that was what all you analysis were for.. waste of time having to do it twice... overall you get a 6 out of 10 thanks mel March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome and super easy! Since my tax return was super easy I was really glad I was able to file my Federal tax return for free online. Since I go to school and work part-time, and my parents were able to claim me as a dependent I didn't have to input too much information. However. I was a little bummed that we would have to pay for California. Well $29.99 isn't that bad but it does take away from my tax return and I don't get much as it is. March 30, 2015
  • 2015-05-21T12:35:23.030-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-250, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14450, tr_14450
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 248 249 250 251 252 ... 272 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.