1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 242 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent & Trustworthy Tax Service I have used Turbo Tax for years now and wouldn't consider using any other tax service. I love the step-by-step guidance as I'm walked through the whole process. I have no fear of any miscalculations or un-found deductions. When I have questions there seems to be answers found quickly through pop-up boxes or online help from other tax filers. Excellent site and one I can completely trust. February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy Just that. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by like a walk in the park I've used Turbo Tax painlessly for many years in the past with out a second thought. This year I tried a couple other online tax preparation sites and stopped before even completing the Federal part on both sites. They were both like doing the paper forms. I had to constantly use their info.and what's this option, and still wasn't clear on what to do. Your format is clear and concise giving a sense of ease comfort knowing the returns are done correctly. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PLUS option forced onto customers While the rest of the service is efficiently convenient and user friendly, as a long-standing customer who also assists low-income family members in preparing their taxes, I find it highly exploitative and unethical to coerce customers to be forced into paying for PLUS in order to use their federal return to pay for their state filing. For most people using that option (loaded with impractical and unnecessary add-ons) it is because they have no other way to pay for this obligatory annual cost up front. Having gone through the entire process and nearly finished, customers likely feel obligated or pressured into authorizing the PLUS charge, paying out of pocket to avoid the charge, or starting their taxes over with another service. Please reconsider forcing this predatory "option" onto customers. Perhaps low-income filers can qualify for a waiver to use their federal return? Considering that turbo tax is merely a broker of preparation services, not the actual refunding authority, they should not be forcing filers to spend their money to pay such "tolls" which financially benefit turbo tax directly. April 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service! It was very easy to follow the steps to get the best deductions and credits available for me. I was terrified to start my taxes on my own and by following the simple step-by-step instructions I was able to finish both, my federal and state taxes fast and easy. I totally recommend Turbo Tax to anyone because it takes away all the hassle and trouble of finding the right options for your case. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes Made Easy!! This is my second year using Turbo Tax and I love using them. The website is user friendly and so easy to use. I love the detail they use in explaining the what, why and how's of each question. Last year I had to call customer service to ask a question and although it took a while for me to get through to a representative, he was extremely knowledgeable and polite. Awesome job Turbo Tax!! April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a bad program to do taxes I just finished my son's tax returns; he is a student with wages of $1227. Fed refund of a whopping $5 and state refund $49. If a student is filing a return (between ages 16-24) with wages under at least $10,000, ALL state returns should be free. I know you have to make changes for all tax codes, etc but this is too much. Yes, I have an accounting degree so this isn't my first tax return. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy to Use!!!! Turbo Tax was very easy to use and very simple too! everything is written very well and simplified for those that don't understand some of the terminology that goes with tax preparation. It took me roughly 20 mins or so to complete the entire process, which is great when I don't have a great deal of time in my busy schedule. Thanks Turbo Tax for making tax season endurable and affordable! February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy Very easy February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by overwhlmed Excellent March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, convenient, fast I'm 19 years old, I go to school full time, and I work full time. I barely have any time to myself to get projects done, and this was the first year I had to file taxes, and Turbotax was the way to go. Even though I didn't have time to do it all at once, I was able to start right back up where I left off and get it all done. Turbotax is definitely going to be my go to company from now on. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! Thanks! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy and convenient to use April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very simple to use. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes Made Easy April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oh, What a Relief it is !!! Honestly, I'm so glad it's done! Taxes. It's a load off our shoulders. We did the electronic filing today. Just waiting for the refund. WooHoo!! Turbotax was easy and sooo helpful. If you're not sure, it helps you along every step. Ask question, get answers. Go, stop, continue, go back = everything you need. (I needed a cup of coffee, that's all.) Thanks, turbotax. We highly recommend it!! February 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Explain what I'm buying When you, constantly, tell me that I need to upgrade from the free version, with a $27.99 state fee, to the premium package, what does that mean? Am I paying $34.99 + $27.99? Am I just paying $7 more? What am I doing it for? If you'd explained this a little better, I would've done it. As it stands, I staunchly refused as I'm not willing to spend money on something that may just be a name. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Easy Grade A+ February 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by good that it brought in my old info was okay March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soo Easy! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am not good, but Turbo is I am not good with technology, and I was nervous using turbotax because of that, but I was more nervous about me making mistakes on my taxes. Turbo walked me through everything, when I had questions I actually got great answers and images, which really helped, and it checked all the things I was concerned about like my 1095A form. It was fast and easy on its part, and I know what I am doing for next year! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free Fed Return = LEGIT April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax keeps getting better April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Attention to detail ? April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me money! Loved that I could enter the FEIN of my multiple W2s and it pulled the Company Data - I had nearly 20 W2s and only had to manually add 2 or 3 companies. Saved me time. Also - the online customer service was quick and convenient and very helpful. Turbo Tax is the only way to go. My first time filing myself and I certainly will continue with turbo tax. I highly recommend turbotax to everyone! March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Love it February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me Happy Love it February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy, made taxes fun! AMAZING March 22, 2015
  • 2015-04-20T11:59:20.862-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-242, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14279, tr_14279
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 240 241 242 243 244 ... 269 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.