1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 240 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too many advertisements for other products This system was nice and fast. However, it constantly had buttons to upgrade to different platforms that cost money to file state returns, etc. This was so distracting and annoying -- I ended up spending an hour filling out information on my state returns when I got to the end and had to cancel them because the only option to submit them was to pay a fee. Very misleading / a waste of time. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Love it February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service! It was very easy to follow the steps to get the best deductions and credits available for me. I was terrified to start my taxes on my own and by following the simple step-by-step instructions I was able to finish both, my federal and state taxes fast and easy. I totally recommend Turbo Tax to anyone because it takes away all the hassle and trouble of finding the right options for your case. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why I will file with Turbo Tax next year I really appreciate being able to relatively quick, start and finish my taxes. I enjoy being informed of what things mean. It helps assure me when making my decisions about the next procedure. I just wish I could do it all offline and then import it for the sign. Maybe they already have this. Great job Those of you who work for this company. I expect this service again or better next year. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy, made taxes fun! AMAZING March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me money! Loved that I could enter the FEIN of my multiple W2s and it pulled the Company Data - I had nearly 20 W2s and only had to manually add 2 or 3 companies. Saved me time. Also - the online customer service was quick and convenient and very helpful. Turbo Tax is the only way to go. My first time filing myself and I certainly will continue with turbo tax. I highly recommend turbotax to everyone! March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is Awesome I have used Turbo Tax for 20 years or more and each year I think it couldn't get better and yet each year it does. I really enjoyed the new look and box pictures of each section. It was even more simple and stress-free than ever. I waited till the last day to file just because I knew from experience with Turbo Tax that it would only take a few minutes and it would be very simple to complete. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me Happy Love it February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by helpful see con April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my 2nd or 3rd year using turbo tax, like it March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by way to go ! I thought it was going to be hard to do by myself,but it was easy.There was step by step instructions so you don't feel lost.I don't type very well,but it didn't time me out.I had trouble trying to get my AGI number and had to wait untill the next day when the IRS office was open.I came back to the site after I got my number and was able to log in and pick up where I left off the day before. March 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as Time Efficient as last year I have used Turbo Tax for several years. When entering my info, I really don't need to know how old Turbo Tax is or where they are. I could do without the frequent "Okay now on to the next thing" and click continue. Just move on to the next section and cut out the cutesy stuff. I could have done this at least half an hour faster without all the unnecessary clicking and facts about Turbo Tax. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Straight forward! Over the years I've heard a lot about Turbo Tax but I've never tried it until now. I used it for my son's return (which I've always done using the 1040EZ paper forms) and it was extremely easy, but more importantly, Turbo Tax got him an additional $179 that I would not have known to look for! I will definitely use it again and will even consider it for my own more complicated return. Thanks! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use thanks April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Fun! I loved all the little extras Turbotax wrote when answering certain questions, for example when I put in my birthdate, there was a lil sidenote that said, "Hey we're 22 years old," or something like this, and I thought it was cute. Anyway, the program was super easy, it walked you through every question holding your hand every step of the way. I will most likely use Turbotax again next year. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by HAPPY HAPPY JOY JOY I DON'T KNOW WHY I HESITATED SO LONG, TURBO TAX ASKED THE RIGHT QUESTIONS, HELPED WITH ALL MY INQUIRIES AND WAS QUICK AND EASY. THIS YEAR I RECEIVED AN INCREASED RETURN OF THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS. LAST YEAR I PURCHASED THE DISK, THIS YEAR I WENT TO THEIR WEBSITE...TURBO TAX HAS INCREASED MY REFUND EACH TIME. YES I AM VERY SATISFIED WITH TURBO TAX, I'LL BE SHOUTING FROM THE ROOFTOP..THANK YOU!! March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wrecked Nerves? TurboTax is the cure. Honestly, I was terrified to file my taxes for the first time. My sister told me to use TurboTax. As soon as I started my nerves just disappeared. The guided steps created a sense of ease to such a complex process. I was terrified that I was going to mess something up if I did my taxes on my own. However, I now feel that I can rest easy knowing my taxes are done and I didn't mess anything up. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and accurate refund I Love TURBO TAX this is my second year using them im 26 yrs old I can say I file my own taxes :) its so simple ,fun, and I don't have to wait to setup an appointment I file when I want to on my time very cool.TURBO TAX really did help me get the most money back from my return I couldn't be more satisfied ,Its so awesome I got my whole family filing there taxes through TURBO TAX we love it!!! April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy So much easier than reading through a booklet and writing out a tax return by hand. And no stamp required. Imports your wages automatically, if your employer makes it available like mine does. And my credit union pays for the free federal filing. A little too many opportunities to upgrade. I wish they would ask once at the beginning and stop asking again and again. Very highly recommended. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is awesome - Never using H&R Block again TurboTax is a really simple to use software that walks you through every step you need. I thought I needed an agent at H&R Block to do it for me, but really who knows about my life better than me? TurboTax lets you fill in all the information you need and doesn't let you miss a detail, which I was not confident of after using H&R Block. It's also convenient because I can do it right at home. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund, Refund, Refund! Great! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by You can't help it I owe Great April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TURBO AWESOMENESS TurboTax is so simple. The step by step instructions are so easy to follow and understand. I've researched several online tax filing programs and TurboTax stood above the rest with a five star rating & State filing fee's being the most affordable. I will definitely use TurboTax every year and recommend it to anyone filing their own taxes. Thanks TurboTax Team for making my filing stress free. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by YAY! for E-Z E-Z ! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic A One February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently Superior! I have been filing with TurboTax since it first came out. Last year I switched to H&R Block. This year, I was unhappy with the results of the competitor, and redid the return with TurboTax. The return was also complicated by having a total of six W-2 forms as well! There was a difference of nearly $500 in my return! Clearly TurboTax is a superior product. Never going back to the "other guys." April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better this year Last year was the first time that I paid for my info to be imported and it was the first time that when I got to the very end of my filing that I was told that I could not e-file. I would have to mail my income tax without any explanation. Not this year. I did the free filing from scratch and had no problem what so ever with e-filing. I am grateful. I did pay to have my state tax done though. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does it get any better than FREE? I've been using TurboTax for the last 10 years or so and it just keeps getting better. My returns these days are pretty simple and the online application makes it a breeze to file. All of the upselling is a little annoying, especially if you have declined it once, it shouldn't keep presenting the offers. But the fact that both my Fed and State were free makes it totally worth using this tool. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I Needed in One Spot! TurboTax / Free edition was everything I needed for my simple (1040A) tax return. This year I could choose whether I wanted to be prompted through ALL income, deductions, and exemptions - or select them individually (from a list). I made my own selections in one section, but used the prompts in another. I'm a repeat customer. Much easier than dealing w/paper and postage - and I'm saving money. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Like Magic! By us March 16, 2015
  • 2016-02-06 T06:24:08.406-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-240, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 238 239 240 241 242 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.