1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 5 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184773 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by AGI/PIN for filing I should be able to use either AGI or a pin to file electronically. When I enter the AGI, I get a message from Turbo Tax that the only way to E-file is with a pin. When I try to get a pin from IRS via online form, I get a message stating it can't provide one. When I try to get one over the phone I'm told I don't need one and to enter 0 for AGI. Neither has worked. Keep getting rejected notices. October 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by removing stock transactions from TTax Deluxe I always use turbo tax, but I'm really unhappy you removed stock transactions from TTax Deluxe. Next year I will only buy a product that includes that capability without having to pay extra for it to do my totally common and ordinary return. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2 Me Like Minions 2 Gru - Inseparable!! I have ALWAYS used Turbo Tax & this year was no exception!! Though I had an extension to file, requesting the extension was simple & a breeze. All of my experiences have been easy as the program guides you through every conceivable area that pertains to you and any/all given scenarios/situations. And, if you EVER run into a roadblock you can ALWAYS reach out for support. Thank you Turbo Tax - - until next year!! October 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Turbo Tax enables tax payers to complete their own tax return, avoiding the need for a paid tax preparer. Using Turbo Tax allows the tax payer to gain knowledge of tax laws and actually do tax planning. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than my accountant After paying my accountant more than $2800 to do my taxes a friend suggested I use turbo tax, I tried it and learned that all my accountant was doing was using turbo tax as well. I've been using turbo tax for the last 5 years and I love it. I'm not using anything else. October 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Held Hostage Did not like at all removing features from your regular version to force customers to buy the DeLux version. Total inflexibility in some areas is puzzling. For instance, your software does not let me put in mileage on some business property, only partial depreciation of a vehicle or two. Right now I am filing an Amended return but can not print it unless I submit this review. This is ridiculous! October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program I love working with TurboTax. It is by far and away the easiest way to do my taxes. The step-by-step process assures that I complete my taxes in the correct manner. This is a great program. October 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I missed the submission deadline due to confusion regarding online vs down loaded software - I think I ended up purchasing both, but again I didn't see any way on my account login to confirm this. I started my return thinking I was using the downloaded version. I realized there was a problem when it would not let me transfer data from last year's return, which included several pages of farm income data and depreciation schedules, etc. If I could have transferred this data while using the online version I would have completed the return with time to spare. Additional confusion with the downloaded version - it doesn't follow the same order of interview sections. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy!! very easy to use, all you need is your own information and they ask all the questions October 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt tourtured this year Was not happy with surprise that we can no longer file Schedule C with regular return using the Deluxe product as for a decade. Website was not available to file returns online and had to print, mail, and wait for refunds. Also, State package failed to allow for tax discount allowed by law. October 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great But..... October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Accurate I have stopped Using a CPA Great program, especially the probability of audit software. OK, I'd rather always go safe than questionable, so even if itemization is recommended, unless it would be a substantial amount of money, I would use the standard deduction, and Turbo Tax keeps getting easier and easier to use. October 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Added Fees. Dislike added fees for state filing, unable to itemize deductions unless paid added fees for different program. Will definitely review other programs next year. October 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 5 stars IF... Overall, for just tax processing it works well. I use it every year. However, one of the most basic items that is missing is the ability to import previous year details or worksheets. THIS IS DUMB! Having to do the same things, year after year, is ridiculous. It should be easy to do! October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems like decades I've been using TurboTax for what seems like decades, and TurboTax seems to keep helping me through the un-necessarily complex maze of a tax system we have here in this country. Actually, I wish we didn't need TurboTax and that someone in this country would simplify our tax system, but until that day comes (if ever), I'll be using TurboTax! October 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened this year? The main strength of TurboTax, its comprehensive ability to deal with almost any tax situation and generate a return with the most possible deductions is still there. The licensing this year was very confusing. I ordered a version that was supposed to meet all of my needs and I went about filling things in and then I tried to add a schedule c. A popup came up and said that I had to pay $10 in order to generate a schedule c. This smacks of ransomware and made me very angry. If the licensing for tax year 2015 is as bad as 2014, I will end my 20+yr relationship with TurboTax and move on to something else. There were some critical parts of the system such as deduction for home office expenses where the navigation kept going in circles. I thought I had found a major bug. As it turns out, instead of following a sequential path through the questions, I had to jump back a few sections, add some changes there, and then come back to where I was. This was a real time-waster for me. Please keep the navigation flows simple and linear. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reduce the stress of doing taxes. Overall Turbo Tax makes it easy to do taxes, which would otherwise be a nightmare. The fact that your data is transfered and input to the worksheets and tax forms is great. October 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I had to pay for one of the returns and it was rejected so I am out the money for one that I did not transmit. October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Process wouldn't allow me to make mistakes. I loved it! October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Software Review Turbo Tax for 2014 rating is 10 with 10 being very good: 1. Installation easy and glitch free 2. Tax sections layout is easy to understand and use 3. Tax "easy guide" sections very useful 4. Tax comparison columns for last year and this year is a plus 5. Printing tax documents for e-filing or mailing seamless 6. Audit risk meter is a great indicator of accurate tax filing. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund ? I wish ! I was pleased with the Premier version of TurboTax, particularly the ability to import the data from my brokerage accounts at Fidelity & Scottrade. I wish I could do the same with the 5 K-1's that I had to enter by hand.. Typing the names, addresses, ID numbers, etc. was quite laborious. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Program Would like more streamlining of questions...and take it to a more easier level if possible October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IT Guidance!!!! Like the step by step prompts - and the choice of addressing only what you want to work on at the moment. Love that Tech support stays with you when needed until the problem is completely resolved!!! October 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Poor Experience After many years, this one was very disappointing. The program could not handle various stock plans for employees and it was very difficult to modify anything already interviewed and entered.. In addition the e-filing was not well explained, was continually rejected for an inexplicable reason, and there was very little rational explanation. I am not sure I will use it again. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstandin,,professsional. Perfect I had two very complex problems with my Turbo Tax Softt Ware. on both ocassions I was most fortunate to get MARIA and Helan. On each and from each I recieved Courteous.Patient,Respectful and Professional assistance. I am 82 years old and the problems were of my own making. Each of the ladies never critisized my Computer ignorance or slowness. They patiently worked with me until on each occasion they resolved my problem and never once embarassed me. TURBO TAX you are fortunate to have them.. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great software All desktop software should run like this... no hiccups, smooth transitions to upgrades (like you will need Premier over Deluxe for investments) October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy!!! All around great product. Helps you organize all of the tax papers you receive at the end of the year and make sense of it all. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax software You amazed me again, it even is fun doing taxes with TT in spite of the many twists and turns of the Tax Code! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by If examples did not match the links to help seemed to be a dead end. To get out of the link was very vague. October 16, 2015
  • 2016-02-07 T07:51:24.101-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.