1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 5 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181921 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Done! May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Making the complex simple! Very easy to use ... you make it easier every year. I used to use taxcut and switched when H&R Block bought it because all they did was try to sell their services through the software. I find Turbo Tax so easy to use. great product May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work to deal with Non-Resident Alien Spouse Please put continue button on the guided entry menu at top and bottom of page - stop making me scroll to bottom to continue. Please make location of choice buttons static on one page questions. Stop jumping them around on each page. Big issue when dealing with Non-resident alien spouse who does not have a SS or ITIN number. Allow for SS/ITIN space to allow "Non-resident spouse" or auto fill with the question "does spouse have SS or ITIN?" = no I know I have to print and send the return so stop checking for missing SS number if SS = non-resident alien spouse. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Requires Upgrade to Business Next Year I have used Turbo Tax for years. Sometimes I'm amazed at what a good job it does. Sometimes, when doing uncommon things, I'm frustrated by obscure bugs and lack of clarity about what's happening. Starting next year, california is going to require e-filing of Form 568 (LLC tax and fees). Turbo tax already prepares this form (for a single-member LLC like mine), and I have been printing it out and mailing it to the Franchise Tax Board -- no problem. But now that California says e-filing will be required, TT says I will have to upgrade to Home and Business in order to e-file. I think this is very unreasonable. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by In some cases the PA state section would not allow editing of income from interest so I had to fill out and file a paper version. May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so good Still best way to do taxes if not use accountant. But, this year's version rougher and not as smoothly used as previous years. Some topics-forms such as figuring when estimated paid and calculating penalty were hard to locate--not a good feature of software. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good - could be better Overall I am very satisfied and would never, ever do my taxes manually nor would I be likely to use any other tax prep software. I wish, however, that there was a place to enter the school taxes and the property taxes separately and that they would then calculate together as one line item. There are a couple other places where this is the case. The less manual addition that needs to be done outside of TT, the more accurate it will be. I also found this year's version a little harder to navigate than previous versions, due to all the "improvements." May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble with K-1 Overall Turbotax did a fine job. It is easy to move around and switch between forms mode and Q&A mode. It struggled when doing K-1 forms from Publicly Traded Partnerships. I was forced to override the results from the sale of one. The capital gains from the K-1 was being double counted due to a downloaded 1099-B from my broker. There was no easy way to link the two to get the correct value. Foreign Tax credit section for K-1s was also cumbersome and difficult to understand. Finally, there is a software bug in turbotax that is rather annoying. Some places in the Q&A I would enter a value, then go back and change it to zero and it wouldn't let me ('Enter a value between 1 and ...). I think I had to go to Forms mode to delete the entry. This happened more than once. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complicated I have used Turbo for years and it seems to deal with complicated filings very well. Pays for itself many times over is accountant fees saved ... forget the many man hours it has saved me. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbotax Review Turbotax makes tax filing a painless process. I have used it for years and have found it reliable and easy. May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all functions on online version Can't access forms to change items. Caused me to have to file by mail. Don't know why you can't have same options as disc version. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mom5150 Turbo Tax is amazing in the way it walks you through the whole process and asks questions to clarify if you are eligible for deductions, or reminds you of income you may have forgotten. Specifically stating which ones are uncommon so you're not worried that you should have info that most people don't anyway, is very nerve-settling. I also love the refund calculator showing so you know what every change does to your amount. This year I'm adding each charitable contribution to "It's Deductible Online" so next year the info will just pop on over! May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State was more difficult than the Federal. The state questions regarding IRA distributions were hard to understand. The questions did not specify which document it was related to. And the questions were not based on the W-2 but rather on the state tax form.. I did not know that I was on the state tax form. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still using after more than 15 years A little disappointed that several procedures were removed from Deluxe version this year. Had to spend more money to purchase Premier version to access those procedures. I would like to see ItsDeductible available for use off-line. Haven't seen that for many years. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Tax Prep I couldn't image doing my taxes without Turbotax, it is so easy. The option to pass on a section is very helpful but you can also go step-by-step through a section and be guided the whole way. The interface is clean and colorful and that helps in doing this annual chore. Thank you Turbotax! May 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used Turbo Tax for years. When I filed my Louisiana return almost a month after federal return, nowhere in the state return did it let me know what my state estimated payments had been. Finally found the figure and that it was correct and was different from the suggested estimates from 2013. You need another page on the state return to let customers know that the estimated payments were carried over form the federal return. May 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost/Benefit of Preimer Product Would prefer an a la carte option. Pay only for features that can be used. May 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by No more Turbotax I will consider other tax preparation alternatives in 2016. May 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 14-ok Doing the business was more expensive and not so helpful. I am not sure that we got all the deductions I was entitled to because I was not sure how to do it. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplifies filing US taxes when overseas The interview/questionnaire format is much more approachable than the actual IRS forms. I especially appreciate the context-sensitive help screens that give more explanation to the terms used in the interview when they are not obvious. For overseas US citizens with non-complicated tax situations, TurboTax makes it possible for us to file our taxes without hiring expensive accountants. I have been a TurboTax user for over 20 years. I remember much older versions of the software allowed you to switch from the interview mode to the underlying IRS tax forms, so that you could see the forms being completed as you progressed. You could also override fields in the IRS forms when necessary. It was also easier to find where in the interview you need to be to complete certain sections of the form by going to the field in the underlying IRS form and then switching back to interview mode. I wish that kind of flexibility was present in the modern online version of TurboTax. A few years ago, I believe TurboTax also helped us overseas filers by completing a FBAR form that we could directly mail to the IRS. Recent versions no longer allow that. I know FATCA changed filing requirements for overseas filers, but I don't think anything in FATCA prevents TurboTax from helping users generate the FBAR form. Prices seem to have jumped significantly for TurboTax Premier (the version I use) since last year. That was an unwelcomed surprise. But it is still better value than hiring an accountant, and it suits my current needs. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax works great for me. My Friends love it also. All questions are answered. I've been usingTurbo Tax for at least 10 years.. May 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Personal and Small Business I have used Turbo Tax for years, but this year it has cost me more time and effort than it should have. The update I downloaded on tax day caused my laptop to crash. I would log on and it would freeze. I was fortunate that my mother also had Turbo Tax and I was able to finish my taxes. I was so unhappy with this program and all the extra work it required to get my pc working again that I am not sure I will use Turbo Tax next year. May 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by drove me crazy Have used turbo for a few years now. This year has been a nightmare. May not ever use again. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as pie lst time filer with turbo and relatively easy. Only got confused when it reported missing information. Eventually got it. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better late then never... I love Turbo Tax because I can do it myself..it is easy and I love the Audit Defence option. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by rocked my refund thank you I would always go to some one else thinking it would be too hard. I now feel like a tax advisor May 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not appear to handle State allocation correct Painless but does not allow detailed access to the state allocation process. Filing late, but am going to redo that return on a more sophisticated package to see if I am correct. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by continuity from previous year is great. Still confusing because of complexity of tax laws; I don't think you can make it any simpler. May 11, 2015
  • 2015-05-27T13:32:52.895-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181915, tr_181915
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 3800 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.