1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 5 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184763 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184763 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by I missed the submission deadline due to confusion regarding online vs down loaded software - I think I ended up purchasing both, but again I didn't see any way on my account login to confirm this. I started my return thinking I was using the downloaded version. I realized there was a problem when it would not let me transfer data from last year's return, which included several pages of farm income data and depreciation schedules, etc. If I could have transferred this data while using the online version I would have completed the return with time to spare. Additional confusion with the downloaded version - it doesn't follow the same order of interview sections. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy!! very easy to use, all you need is your own information and they ask all the questions October 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt tourtured this year Was not happy with surprise that we can no longer file Schedule C with regular return using the Deluxe product as for a decade. Website was not available to file returns online and had to print, mail, and wait for refunds. Also, State package failed to allow for tax discount allowed by law. October 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great But..... October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Accurate I have stopped Using a CPA Great program, especially the probability of audit software. OK, I'd rather always go safe than questionable, so even if itemization is recommended, unless it would be a substantial amount of money, I would use the standard deduction, and Turbo Tax keeps getting easier and easier to use. October 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Added Fees. Dislike added fees for state filing, unable to itemize deductions unless paid added fees for different program. Will definitely review other programs next year. October 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 5 stars IF... Overall, for just tax processing it works well. I use it every year. However, one of the most basic items that is missing is the ability to import previous year details or worksheets. THIS IS DUMB! Having to do the same things, year after year, is ridiculous. It should be easy to do! October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems like decades I've been using TurboTax for what seems like decades, and TurboTax seems to keep helping me through the un-necessarily complex maze of a tax system we have here in this country. Actually, I wish we didn't need TurboTax and that someone in this country would simplify our tax system, but until that day comes (if ever), I'll be using TurboTax! October 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened this year? The main strength of TurboTax, its comprehensive ability to deal with almost any tax situation and generate a return with the most possible deductions is still there. The licensing this year was very confusing. I ordered a version that was supposed to meet all of my needs and I went about filling things in and then I tried to add a schedule c. A popup came up and said that I had to pay $10 in order to generate a schedule c. This smacks of ransomware and made me very angry. If the licensing for tax year 2015 is as bad as 2014, I will end my 20+yr relationship with TurboTax and move on to something else. There were some critical parts of the system such as deduction for home office expenses where the navigation kept going in circles. I thought I had found a major bug. As it turns out, instead of following a sequential path through the questions, I had to jump back a few sections, add some changes there, and then come back to where I was. This was a real time-waster for me. Please keep the navigation flows simple and linear. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reduce the stress of doing taxes. Overall Turbo Tax makes it easy to do taxes, which would otherwise be a nightmare. The fact that your data is transfered and input to the worksheets and tax forms is great. October 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I had to pay for one of the returns and it was rejected so I am out the money for one that I did not transmit. October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Process wouldn't allow me to make mistakes. I loved it! October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Software Review Turbo Tax for 2014 rating is 10 with 10 being very good: 1. Installation easy and glitch free 2. Tax sections layout is easy to understand and use 3. Tax "easy guide" sections very useful 4. Tax comparison columns for last year and this year is a plus 5. Printing tax documents for e-filing or mailing seamless 6. Audit risk meter is a great indicator of accurate tax filing. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund ? I wish ! I was pleased with the Premier version of TurboTax, particularly the ability to import the data from my brokerage accounts at Fidelity & Scottrade. I wish I could do the same with the 5 K-1's that I had to enter by hand.. Typing the names, addresses, ID numbers, etc. was quite laborious. October 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Program Would like more streamlining of questions...and take it to a more easier level if possible October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IT Guidance!!!! Like the step by step prompts - and the choice of addressing only what you want to work on at the moment. Love that Tech support stays with you when needed until the problem is completely resolved!!! October 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Poor Experience After many years, this one was very disappointing. The program could not handle various stock plans for employees and it was very difficult to modify anything already interviewed and entered.. In addition the e-filing was not well explained, was continually rejected for an inexplicable reason, and there was very little rational explanation. I am not sure I will use it again. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstandin,,professsional. Perfect I had two very complex problems with my Turbo Tax Softt Ware. on both ocassions I was most fortunate to get MARIA and Helan. On each and from each I recieved Courteous.Patient,Respectful and Professional assistance. I am 82 years old and the problems were of my own making. Each of the ladies never critisized my Computer ignorance or slowness. They patiently worked with me until on each occasion they resolved my problem and never once embarassed me. TURBO TAX you are fortunate to have them.. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great software All desktop software should run like this... no hiccups, smooth transitions to upgrades (like you will need Premier over Deluxe for investments) October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy!!! All around great product. Helps you organize all of the tax papers you receive at the end of the year and make sense of it all. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax software You amazed me again, it even is fun doing taxes with TT in spite of the many twists and turns of the Tax Code! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by If examples did not match the links to help seemed to be a dead end. To get out of the link was very vague. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Took the Uncertainty out of doing my taxes I used to spend thousands to get my home and small business taxes done---after a $3,000 charge last time I knew something had to give. . Wished I had used Turbo tax several years sooner, would have a ton of money saved! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this program It is probably not your problem, but when you enter an answer of figure into a blank space, program minimizes automatically. You have to click on program icon in task bar to open it up. Probably a Windows 10 issue as I have encountered same action in other programs. Otherwise, your program make it easy to complete you taxes even if they are complicated. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use, Great time saver I've been using TurboTax since nearly their beginning. It's a great product and really simplifies the process. Had the opportunity to speak to a TurboTax representative this year to get some E-filing questions answered. The call back was fast and Mary was not only knowledgeable and helpful, she was also comforting and encouraging during a time that can be stressful. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes review I like that Turbo Tax walks us through the return, but having to go back and repeatedly answer questions already answered just to get to the entry to be updated or corrected is frustrating and very time consuming. A change to make that easier would be helpful. Also, it would be very helpful to explain about numbers from last year's return and why they are imported to the current return. I just take this under faith but would want to know more. October 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Most Difficult Experience in 15 Years I have used TurboTax Mac for about 15 years, and in the past it made my life easier. This year, it computed my tax liability just as quickly as before. As I said in the "Pros" section, TurboTax does a great job of quickly determining what information to include and which forms are required. However, in the past I always performed all the updates and then completed the tax calculations and printed the forms to pdf working completely offline. I feel more secure working that way. Not only was it impossible to do that with the 2014 TurboTax for Mac software, but also the software to interface with the online functions did not work properly for me. I went through a lot of days of trying different workarounds to the software issues, something that has never happened to me with TurboTax Home & Business for Mac in prior years. Here is what I learned: If you want to work completely offline, you can do the calculations on TurboTax, then fill out the forms from IRS by hand. A tech support person said I could print to pdf offline using the Windows version, so I bought a CD (after already paying for the Mac version), but it turns out the Windows version on CD cannot read the file I transferred from my Mac. A second terrific tech support person told me that it would work if I downloaded the updates, which could not work for me because I was in a situation where I needed to work completely offline. This will probably work for others if they buy the Windows/Mac CD and do all the updating before going offline as I have in the past. It just was not possible in my particular situation this year because I was working from a high-security Windows computer that is not legally allowed to connect to the internet. I finally gave up and decided to efile from my Mac for the first time ever. I decided to encrypt my file first thing (I had not encrypted before because doing so entails going online). I duplicated my file and selected the option to save as an encrypted file. I gave my login information, and then there was a glitch in the software that led to a blank screen. I waited about 30 minutes and nothing happened, so I started over. The same thing happened. After more than an hour I called another terrific technical support person who said the encryption could take more than an hour, but that by now there should be a progress bar showing, and maybe I could try again but it might just be slow. I did not think it was worth starting over again, so I just waited another couple of hours with no change in the blankness of the blank square where the progress bar should be, and eventually decided to efile without encrypting first. The efile process was as quick and smooth as I would have expected from a TurboTax product. Will I renew my subscription another year? Yes, TurboTax has come through for me so many times in past years. This is what I plan to do next year for my 2015 taxes: Buy the Windows/Mac CD, do all the updates on both my Mac and on a friend's Windows machine that can connect to the internet, go offline, do the calculations on my Mac and then transfer the file to the Windows machine to print my forms to pdf. However, before buying the 2016 version, I will wait for assurances that the Mac version is fully functional on its own. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by sale of 2nd home/vacation home cumbersome to enter I am spoiled by Turbotax, since most things are intuitive and easy to find. But when this year I had to enter the sale of my vacation home, finding the place in TurboTax to report the sale was very difficult. It was as if it was a hack thrown in together last minute, and there was never plan to support this taxable event properly. So I was disappointed. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax is thorough but software glitchy The program is thorough and I felt confident in all of the steps. The software did not install properly for the State return. The City return for NY kept taking me to the State portion. The representatives were very helpful and the better part of the service. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Everything seemed to work until I got to saving the file and printing the forms. I could only print the 1040 form, not the accompanying forms a, B, etc., and I could not print the VT form at all, nor could I save it as a PDF. I'm VERY disappointed in the software and, after using Turbotax for many years, I am definitely looking at other software for next year. October 16, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:34:46.342-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184763, tr_184763
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.