1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 5 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182574 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complicated but clearly explained. When working on my 2014 income tax I felt like I has a partner with a PhD in TAX. Turbo Tax made me feel comfortable that the my return would go through without a glitch. William C. Hardy July 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only Slightly Painful Overall, it was a good experience, and now that I have one under my belt, I will use TurboTax for my next tax return. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The state tax missed my retirement contributions. (Massachusetts). I had to manually research online and enter my contributions to the city retirement fund. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Thorough I have used Turbo Tax for at least 15 years. I like that it gives me the choice to skip a section if it doesn't apply to me. I also have the option of step-by-step help or exploring on my own. I also like that at any point I can go back to any section and revise my numbers (like if I suddenly remember something). I use Quicken for my checking account and am able to print a report by category; this helps me find totals to input into the TT software. I had never had a problem e-filing until this year...thus the 4 stars instead of 5. But customer service was very helpful and we were able to solve the problem. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program I have been using Turbo Tax for a number of years. The program is up to date - regarding IRS changes. There is always on line help if needed. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by spectaculary amended ! Jan was very helpful with resolving my issue. July 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping a bit The new requirement for buying the Business edition is a great annoyance as I have been using TTax for twenty years or more and never had to buy an upgrade to file a Schedule C. I have less than two hundred dollars in Sch C income, and yet will have to pay for the Home and Business edition to record that minor income. Same for Sch D. A single stock trade requires buying the Premiere Edition. I think I can handle it without TurboTax's help in 2015. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Inexpensive! This is my third year using TurboTax. We operate a small business and in the past used tax accountants to do our tax preparation. A friend recommended TurboTax as an economical alternative to paying large fees to a tax account or struggling through the incredibly complex process ourselves. Using TurboTax certainly fulfills our need for an affordable and reliable method of tax filing. The program double-checks everything for accuracy and helps avoid red flags in the return. TurboTax definitely takes some of the pain out of paying income taxes!! July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by got by for another year been using TurboTax for as many years as I can remember. until the tax laws get simplier, I will continue using TurboTax July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional, easy, trustworthy I love it, I love saving money by doing my taxes myself, and I feel confident in the process and all of the documentation provided for a small business owner. I wish it was easier to change information that I already provided (which I had to do when I found additional documentation, additional income or expenses, etc. as I went along). July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Areas for improvement TurboTax handles the everyday items well. However, K-1's especially error resolution are a nightmare. Attempting to find items like applying your refund to next year's return are needlessly difficult. I find that getting an early copy of the program is the most expensive. Why can I buy a copy of the same program from Costco at a significant discount to the price I pay to TurboTax directly? July 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Harder every year I have reached a tentative conclusion that it is easier/faster to file manually than having to go through all of the steps required in TurboTax to complete schedules A, C, and E. I know I can't really blame TurboTax. The source of the problem is the ridiculous tax laws enacted by the U.S. Congress. Our country needs some serious tax simplification. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative, helpful and easy to use I appreciate the clear step by step questions. Turbo Tax reminds me of things I would have forgotten and informs me of things I would otherwise not have known to include. I've used it for over 15 years and have always been satisfied with it's simplicity and results. July 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience ever I've used Turbo tax more than 15 years. This will be the last. The problems started with importing from the last year. Every form imported had to be filled out and I couldn't get rid of them even though multiple forms didn't apply this year. July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Year Completed I've been using TT since 1987. With TT, I understand my taxes better and can complete them when I'm ready to do them. I also love the fact that I have an electronic and hard copy of all of my previous returns. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made Capital Gains/Losses entry "a piece of cake!" TurboTax customer service was very apologetic and helpful when I called about the upgrade to the Premier version. Schedule D was not setup in the 2014 Deluxe desktop version to e-file. It was a painless process to get the free upgrade so we could e-file our return. We've used TurboTax for several years with great results. I definitely recommend if you're not using an accountant. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth I have always thought that Intuit must own a paper company. Too many unnecessary forms in the finished product. There should be an "eco-sensitive" option to print only the forms that are absolutely necessary to keep in your hard copy file. For example, the state return requires a copy of the federal to be attached, but the file copy should just have a "reminder" to attach the federal in the event it needs to be duplicated for any reason. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used for last 10 years Like that it builds on past years, but allows me to use all forms if necessary or situation changes. It's easy to work on in little time parcels then pick up where you left it. Don't like the extra cost to E-file state when state prefers it. July 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by User Friendly TurboTax is the next best thing to sitting down in front of a Tax Preparer. I like it a lot. My only adjustment would be is to review the contribution area. I believe there is a major attempt to capture all areas, but maybe a drop down menu adjustment would help lead from the area of beds & linens over to quilts. (Hope this is clear), But, otherwise...keep up the great work! Thanks! July 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 I will miss loss of deluxe features next year. I do like being familiar with program year to year. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No time, No problem I am super busy with 5 kids, work and kids activities. This program is affordable and so convenient. I can start it, stop, save it and then return to it later. There is no need for making an appointment, dragging all my paperwork and myself to drive to a tax preparers office that will do the same as Turbo Tax but charge me more. July 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relieved to be done July 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cannot delete erroneous information For some reason Turbotax seems to think i had a k-1 from a partnership and Sub - S information. I do not but every time i attempted to delete the reference i got an error in final review. To complete and e-file my return i had to enter erroneous partnership and Sub-S information. Very frustrating. July 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frustrated Never advised of tax status July 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product is easy to use. You provide access to knowledgeable customer service folks; however, they are difficult to reach. Disappointed I could not import my 1099 info from my financial institutions; yet, you have this convenience in less expensive products July 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience second year I have used TurboTax..so easy and saved so much money. Would recommend to everyone July 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Faulty Healthcare Form For EIC Dependents Only I have two dependents. One is for EIC only, as per the custody agreement with my ex. Turbo tax was not prepared with their new healthcare coverage form. The software would not allow for e-filing, without tech support involvement, as it would not allow for removing EIC only dependents from the form. I received an error over an over again on my final review. I spent an hour with tech support, after thirty minutes searching my own solutions on their community help section. Not impressed this year... I'm already two months late. Surely, that extra hour and a half was most critical. ;) July 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did the math Used Turbo Tax for many years - they do the math - correctly! July 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by National Holiday on July 6th? Last time using Turbo Tax. I would rather pay an accountant to make my life difficult. July 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax. So far, so good! It should allow one to charge the amount owed plus the additional calculated penalty interest. July 5, 2015
  • 2015-08-01T11:06:42.771-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182572, tr_182572
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 3813 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.