1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 5 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182854 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182852 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by KISS - Turbo Tax Keeps It Simple and Swift! Filing tax returns could not be any easier. The software is user friendly. It is a great help that no data is lost due to timing out caused by delays while researching for the information and numbers. There is excellent guidance if it is needed. Love it! August 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TT helped me get through this. Thx. In the pre-internet days, I did my taxes the old-fashioned way - I read the instructions and filled out the forms. I'm glad I did that, because I think I have a better feel for what is being asked. August 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by first use of Premier It would be helpful if anytime I see a number, TurboTax can either put into the source document or at least tell me the form and maybe line that is the basis for the number August 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by up to date pretty good... would prefer to have specialist in my business available to answer questions August 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't Print State Return TT keeps marking my State return as incomplete. When I press the "Continue Where I Left Off" button I'm sent to the write a review page, then to Exit TT. When I log off and return to TT, my state return is still marked as incomplete. I'm going back to my accountant. August 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by It just Stinks so many errors. Foreign tax credit is a disaster. Had no S corp K-1 but hit the Easy button for it and could not get rid of it. Said electronic filing of NY return was required, but prohibited it without explanation. State questionnaires do not have areas for state tax negative adjustments. Charged the fee twice for electronic filing of same state return. That is just the tip of the iceberg. Why I don't hire an accountant, I don't know. Almost the worst software product I have ever encountered. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product as always Once again this has proven itself to be the easiest way I know to do my tax returns. Using it for 5 years running at least. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use Use every year - Too easy and inexpensive not to use! August 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 Falls Short I have been using this for 10+ years. I am disappointed that a major glitch was not corrected, even though I am filing my return in August (with an extension) and the error was noted by others 6 months ago (as I just discovered), The glitch has to do with Ohio state tax, specifically a deduction for Medical expenses, which Ohio provides a break on compared to the federal rules. The numbers do not flow from Federal entries smoothly and thus do not end up correctly in the Ohio return. Fortunately, I caught the error at the last minute just before filing. This saved me $342. ##END August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Review August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by YOUR KATE YOUR REPRESENTATIVE KATE MADE IT POSSIBLE TO GET MY T/R FOR 2014 FILED. THANK YOU KATE!!!!! August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was hard to get to the point of printing a draft of the return for my wife to check. Making changes after the first session is awkward. August 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This year was weird I've used TurboTax for the past few years. This year I filed an extension as I have in the past. When I went to finish I had a big problem, for some reason the program doubled my income on the state side, there wasn't any way for me to change it, I didnt get any reply when I asked questions on the community board, It took forever to actually find a number and every time I tried to contact there was a long wait. I had to ask my family's accountant to fix it. Filed easily enough after she went through the whole thing manually. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Ever! Years and years of using this product to file my returns. It seems that each year the software gets better and better. August 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by hard to use I have used this product nearly since the beginning of the company. The product has not change much in the style operating for many years, however, with the changing of the tax laws, the software methodologies have fallen into jumping all over the place. For example, this year I was caught in a black hole wondering why it was insisting on a K1 form for Corp S and Partnership. I am not a partnership nor a Corp so these didn't apply. spent hours trying to figure out why this happened. There was nothing in the help files that I could find on this. I have not looked at the competitive products so I don't know if they do this too, but I will next year. You really need to do a ground up redesign of this software. Also, I think charging for the state software then charging again for efiling is abusive to your customers. $25 for filing the state is unreasonable. August 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TT2014 August 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used for fiduciary 1041 filing Better, faster, cheaper than going to a CPA or tax attorney. This is a relatively simple fiduciary return. Need to keep this estate open for several years, and there are a few forms and hand-edits that need to be made that always cause me to scratch my head. Would expect that changes made one year and saved in the previous TurboTax Business filing would be pulled into the new year filing. August 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool Turbo tax is a great tool. It has not failed me up to date. Love it ! August 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Software for Taxes Overall, great software, but if you only covered the items to fix in the check tax file section, it would be perfect. August 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED:( Initially I gave this 2 stars, but when it kept giving me error messages after writing my whole review, but then kept giving me error messages and finally deleted it, they lost a star and a customer. Things what were populated by TT were being called incorrect. Changes didn't save. I did updates just before since I'm filing this, and I probably wasted a good 1/2 hour of my time. I'm going back to Tax Cut. I used Turbo Tax for 20 years up until 5 years ago when I went with the cheaper software. This year they were the same, but I would even pay more, because time is more valuable than money. August 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but getting harder to use August 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and Concise I have been using Turbo Tax for many, many years to file my corporate taxes ( four businesses ). My businesses are involved in real estate - Buying and selling and holding and renting. Works great for me. August 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't file my return It's now August. I just found out that my federal return has not been filed, even though I hit the "File" button. This has happened two years in a row. I'll never use TurboTax again. August 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another gd experience with TT. 10 yrs and counting It seemed more transparent this year. I was better able to reconcile the TT data compilation and calculation with my own side calculations. That is very comforting. I trust TT completely on my CA return. I like to check on the US return, but the CA is just too gnarly. August 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by delayed refund I had to go back and forth to my paperwork often; and when it came to trans porting info from firms like Merril Lynch,Vanguard,T.Rowe I had already put some of the info in the begining which made it a duplicate- I am glad I caught it or I would have paid on it twice!. I appreciated the help I got from Turbo Tax over the phone after I got past the recording help voice. August 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy-accurate The software makes a difficult task much easier. I no longer have to spend hours reading the details of the tax form instructions, trusting TurboTax to get it right. August 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Easy to Use! I will buy this tax program every year to file my taxes. August 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handy Tool I've used this product for years and have always been pleased with the result. I'm a stickler for accuracy & the prompts and questions along the way give me assurance that my income is properly reported & taxes are accurately calculated. August 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been using turbo tax for over 10 years Overall a super product. I really appreciate the instant calculations and the step through process which helps me not to forget anything. The review process sometimes gives me fits, but I love the product and have been able to file on time almost every year. Also, the ability to import all the stuff from banks and financial institutions saves a ton of time. August 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by a bit confusing for the first timer. overall good August 6, 2015
  • 2015-08-29T11:28:14.802-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182852, tr_182852
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.