1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 31 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.7 out of 5 average

(90866 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Difficult to use I have always done my taxes myself by hand. I decided to try Turbo Tax this year on a friend's recommendation. She swore that I would only need the basic $15 version to do everything I needed. She was wrong. I then had to upgrade to the Premier version part way through and pay another $75. I do not like all of the ads embedded in this product asking you to pay more for other services/products, or that because I have the higher priced version I should be able to also efile my state form only to find out that would be another $20. By the time a person adds up all of these extra costs, they may be better off just hiring someone to do their taxes for them! Turbo Tax was doing strange things with my medical costs, telling me I would not be able to take any deductions when I should qualify for over $3000 in medical expense deductions. It took two people at Turbo Tax to figure out what was happening. The people were very nice and helpful, but had long wait times to get through to someone. The website has very weird, convoluted ways to contact someone (you wind up ultimately just having to call), when a chat feature would have been more useful and timely. Turbo Tax once lost most of my entered information, even after I had several times shut down my computer and started back on it with all the information intact. I don't know what happened, just reentered all of the info (big pain). An auto-save feature would be very helpful, or at least prompts to save periodically. I did like the import forms feature of Turbo Tax, but unfortunately could only use this for one of my forms - I had to enter all the information directly from the other 8 forms. Overall I do not think Turbo Tax is worth the money. I got just as many deductions by doing my own taxes by hand and it took less time with less hassle, and federal taxes offer free efile (you just have to do a lot of data entry, but that's what I was doing with Turbo Tax anyway!) Perhaps it is much handier for those who use the product every year and therefore do not have to do all of the data entry since info is carried over from the previous year. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Step-By-Step Good User Interface. Option go back and forth is good. Help is good. Maybe the professionals experience (pictured in software) need to be increased by one year every year. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Tax Pro I have used Turbo Tax for several years and find it easy to use and compatable with my needs. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome step by step help I would highly recommend it, its very easy to use and they work step by step making sure you don't miss a thing even a ten year old could do it March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by couldn't do it without them definitely love turbo tax, very easy to follow as it does all the work for you, also love the fact I can call for backup support where need be March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used for Years Each year it gets easier to use and almost makes you look forward to doing your taxes. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Very good experience with your tax software. However, I was disappointed in the way you changed your service from Premier to Deluxe without any explanation. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by So easy to use! First time filing and it was easy to follow! It guided me through the whole thing with no problems. Things were easy to go back and fix too. March 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best changes this year My main comment pertains to the state tax portion. In all year past, towards the end, the website would say that you have filed both state and federal returns. This year, as soon as you pay for the state, there is never a mention of it again. I ASSUME my state taxes were filed after i paid all the fees, but i did not receive a confirmation of such. TurboTax, you have raised your fees and lowered your service.You used to be amazing. I may use H&R Block next year. Even if I have to re-enter all of my info, it may be worth it.colorado March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expensive for multi state return but worth it. I have pretty straight forward finances except for needing to file three state returns plus federal. Would have liked to see some kind of a discount, considering the lack of financial diversity within each state return, but other than that, absolutely adore Turbo Tax.... I'd be lost without it! March 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Grrrrrr.... Been using this product for a least 10 yrs...most frustrating to date! Spent 30 on phone w/technician to get returns filed electronically...NEVER had that problem before. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax is the best product you can use TurboTax has always been there for me. I have used Turbo Tax to do my taxes since the first time I ever did my taxes. This year was the first year that I had my own business, and yes taxes were a bit trickier but turbo tax made sure to ask all of the right questions so that I would get back the most on my return. Even when I had a problem due to my own error, Turbo Tax was there for me to fix it right away. I have heard of people hiring other people to do their taxes for you, but unless those people are following you around 24/7 they may not ask the right questions or make sure you get the deductions that you deserve. Over all I love Turbo Tax and will never use any other program for our yearly date! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax I have always used CPA's in the past even though, most years, my taxes were straight-forward. After talking with friends who recommended Turbo Tax, I tried it this year. It was very easy and detailed. Because of the question format, I am confident all of our bases are covered and that my spouse and I filed the best way for us. In the past, it has cost me over $300 to file my taxes- plus we usually owe a little. With Turbo Tax, I gathered all my info like I've done in the past but I did the entry myself. Now I understand taxes better and know what changes to make to help us reduce what's owed at the end of a year- or even get money back. I will definitely use Turbo Tax from now on!! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filed it baby Really simple walk through process. Fast and efficient March 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Good Had several questions. Finally resolved on own . Think the fee for refund is exorbitant. Also wanted to get discount from Ameritrade after I had already bought from Walmart. Could not get answer. Used TurboTax for several years probably wont use again March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program I was a little confused this year with the upgrade but it took me only a few minutes to get used to the new version. I like TurboTax. I would not use any other program to prepare my taxes. However the Help Center is not helpful in certain cases. To get the right help I "google" my specific questions and I get a list of right answers from Intuit.com and the community. Thank you March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Tax Prep Website I have used Turbotax for over 10 years. Every time I do, I'm glad I did. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool, been using for many years Stopped paying an accountant to do our taxes (Schedule C, so we need the Business version). Feel more in control, and also getting just as much back as when I was paying the $$$$ accountant fees. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly This is my second year using Turbo Tax and I have been %100 satisfy with the program. It is designed for the common consumer that has limited concept of the using on line programs. It was recommended to me and I will recommend it to all my family and friends. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best. Refund. Ever. I have to leave for class in 15 minutes. I started on my taxes at 8 in the morning. This was by far the easiest tax return I've ever performed. And to be honest, I thought a lot of the sidebar commentary was funny. It made the whole experience a whole lot more laid back. I never thought I'd even half enjoy doing my taxes. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent tool to file taxes Turbo tax is an excellent tool for any user! VERY user friendly and the explaination boxes on each screen make it simple to understand. My son convinced me its easy to use & even though I can get taxes prepared for free I enjoyed doing the taxes myself and seeing it all come together. My only potentially negative comment is regarding the sales tax feature. I purchased a car in 2014 and thought I would benefit from adding in that sales tax but it did not calculate any savings at all and I actually had to go to another web site to find out combined state & local taxes for my state of VA. I recommend you have a cheat sheet of state & local taxes linked to the tax page to help. I didn't add any other receipts and I'm hoping I did that area correctly but I'm pretty sure I did since the refund stayed the same. Overall its been an EXCELLENT experience and I will certainly encourage friends to use turbo tax and I will definitely be back to use it each year! March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Filing very hard entering large amounts of donations March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! I have used TurboTax since the first version. I tried another one 1 time and went back to TurboTax. TurboTax wallks you through every step then checks your answers. If you missed a deduction TurboTax asks about it. Efiling couldn't be easier. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Student Issues My son is a dependent on my return. He is also a student. Because I took the college expenses, 1098T, there was no where on HIS return to note that. So, basically on his return I had to say he did not receive a 1098T form. If the parent takes the college tuition deductions, then there needs to be a place on the students individual return that states this. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you, so straight forward, so easy to use. Makes doing taxes so much more relaxing. Thank you. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by NoWorryMaxResults I've been using TurboTax for over a decade and it gets better every year - easy to use, very helpful guidance, comprehensive in scope as my tax situation has evolved over time, gentle email reminders for filing starting in December... I can't imagine going back to the old days or using any other software regardless of the cost, which is also minimal, BTW! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great job! Great to use Turbo Tax, very simple and quick!! March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Review I highly recommend this product to any individual / family. Can't beat it. For business owners / family it gets confusing so you might want to pay a 1-on-1 pro to sit with you and make sure you don't screw it up. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund!! I would refer ALL of my family and friends to Turbo Tax and will continue to use every year! Turbo Tax makes its so simple to file taxes, its insane!! By far THE BEST site I have and will ever use to do my usually stressful taxes! They take all the worries and stress out of the filing experience! ABSOLUTELY LOVE TURBO TAX!!!! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently the BEST I have used Turbo Tax for the past 15+ years to do my taxes. It has enabled me to manage challenging tax situations and taught me a great deal. It is the only tax prep i will ever use. March 3, 2015
<<prev 29 30 31 32 33 ... 1855 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.