1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 31 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184761 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184759 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by First experience I have lived in the state from 0 to 12 months and never since... I have just figured out I have to make a return. The words "return", "itemized"... seem obvious for you but not for me. Nevertheless I have managed to do it and could not have done it without Turbotax. The pain is nearly over... I have tested the hotline, convenient. I advise people to have all their data prepared in excel, using same tables from one year to another. These preparations tables could be provided by Turbotax. October 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed, program changed some input! Program changed name on Schedule C to my husbands, also changed the box B code to 99999, when I had it correct to begin with because I printed the incorrect one to begin with. Fixed the name but didn't notice the code until I e-filed!!!! may have to go back to Tax Cut! Now what? do I worry about the code and file an amended return?!!!???!!! October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program, but have a question Turbo Tax is a lifesaver for me because I do not think I could do the return without this help. The tax code has grown to be a gruesome monster that needs a fix. I was wondering if the capital loss carry forward should be adjusted to take less than $3000 when the amount of tax due is $0. It should take into consideration the headroom that is available to keep tax at $0 and carry forward more losses for future use on unrealized gains if available later. I think it should automatically calculate the right credit to take full advantage of any headroom in the tax table. Also I question the Foreign tax credit, because I could not use it this year though I paid the tax. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally It's Done As painful as the tax preparation process is, Turbo Tax makes it as comfortable as is possible. I have used TT for several years, and most always I purchase Audit Insurance. So far I have not needed the service, but it gives me comfort to have the protection. I give credit to the analysis and error checking within the software for the accuracy of my returns. Thank you. See you again next year. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product A trust worthy software that I have been using for over 26 years. I use QuickBooks as another great product made by Intuit. All my finances are handled with Intuit products. Great company. October 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful,but needs a few changes! Seems to be missing instructions as to next step ie; where is a link as to State Tax early on. Turbo Tax has been a great help in understanding all the choices that are available. I used to use an a CPA and was never asked most of the questions asked here.and always left with a feeling some ting were missed. Thanks Turbo Tax!!! October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes my life easy I've used it for many years and it keeps track of my past returns so it can fill in information and I don't have to repeat it. October 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 software was not a good experience. Twice I had to ask TurboTax to open the software I thought I was buying. As in past years I bought Deluxe, only to find out it did not accommodate K-1's in 2014. Wasted money. So I bought Premier Investments and Rentals but it would not open, so TurboTax customer service opened it for me. Thank you. Then when I tried to do my farm income, the software said I had to buy the business version. By this time I was irritated. But TurboTax downloaded the needed software for free. Thank you. TurboTax stubbed their toe on the software modules for 2014. I like TurboTax but there are other softwares available. Learn from your mistakes please. October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by On-line help 1- Like every past year my last year's tax info again was not transferred properly which resulted in typing data which should have been there. 2-Some questions asked during the interview did not have enough explanation to make the right decision for a non-accountant like me. 3- During the interview I entered wrong data in the personal business area specifically related to health insurance premiums paid. To correct this I tried everything including going directly to the worksheet forms but it won't let me. October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Taxing Overall, it makes an unpleasant task more tolerable October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy Return I'm a long time user of TurboTax. The software is pretty much, streamlined (not slow or clunky) with updates to make my return accurate. I've been given real peace of mind with all the support being offered (ie help center, error check, legal options, etc). I'm looking forward to 2015 using TurboTax. October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good - except entering payment Service was great, but I just wanted to use TurboTax for my state ONLY. I had to pay for BOTH Federal ($105.00) and State before I had the option to choose which to file or print. I called TurboTax 4 times about this issue and the representatives were great, but none of them understood why I couldn't select only State returns to pay for and file. I am now waiting on a $105 refund for the federal that I have already filed myself on paper. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only way to file This is my 11th year of using Turbo Tax. It makes April 15th a much less stressful situation. I put in the information and Turbo Tax does the calculations. It doesn't get any easier than that! October 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still better than pencil and paper! For years, I did my income taxes with pencil and paper. A few years ago I started using TurboTax, because I was tired of filling out page after page of Schedule D investment info, and liked the ability to easily import the data. Unfortunately, the program runs EXTREMELY slowly at times, even with nothing else running on my computer. I also find it almost impossible to find explanations when I'm not sure how something should be entered - and I've had this difficulty year after year. Finding / changing an entry can be difficult as well. I tried to find how / where to apply a part of this year's refund to my estimated taxes for next year.... while I can find where it is on my (filled in) forms, I can't find anywhere to actually split my refund into part refund, part payment of this year's taxes. Finally gave up (after about a 10 minutes search) and just filed with all my overpayment as a refund. October 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by After purchasing the 2013 version to do taxes for that year I was disappointed to find out that I could not use the efile because air message says deadline to use efile is oct 2014. no where on the box does it indicate this. Why sell this product if you cant use the efile which is why I originally purchased it. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's DONE ! Don't know anything, there's a wizard for that, but get a pot of coffee, you'll be at it a while. Know a bit, and you can skip most of the wizard and just use wizards for the little sections you need. Know a lot, used to the forms, you can ck progress on the forms, reassure yourself it's getting done, and if all else fails, over ride whatever the program did - ONLY for the tax savvy! October 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Overall, a very good program and one that I have used for a number of years. The only con is that as my return becomes more complicated, the program does not keep up on ease of use. Many times in the more detailed needed areas, the questions are not easy to follow or the schedule to be completed requires a more significant tax knowledge than the common user. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 18 Years In A Row I've used TurboTax for 18 years now, and it's fantastic. My returns have gotten more complex, but I have yet to come across something that it couldn't handle. I have been completely confident in using it. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets better every year I'm not a big review writer, but I must say....TurboTax can handle anything I throw at it, and my tax return is over 100 pages! Partnership K-1s, Single Member LLCs, Depreciation on Rental Properties....this stuff is complex, and TurboTax never skips a beat. I've been using TurboTax since the first year they offered it, back in the '90s, I think. And to think we used to have to actually WRITE on those horrible IRS forms! Thanks TurboTax....Thanks for the hundreds of hours of time you've saved me over the years. October 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor handling of 1099Rs TT does not provide a method to do Roth IRA conversions from any year other than the current year. TT does not generate FORM 8606 for contributions to a Traditional IRA especially when all of the IRA contribution was made "after-tax". It also does not let you just do a specific FORM 8606. TT does not handle AZ state tax well for Private School Credit. It only allowed a maximum of $1056 for 2014 for a couple filing jointly. It should have been $2056. October 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by just not sure October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've been using TurboTax for a very long time. I've seen many improvements over the years that have helped us do our taxes for easily. We've been using it for so long now that we don't know any other to prepare our tax returns. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and thorough The program is easy, friendly, detailed, and all you have to do is collect your documentation and enter the information. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as always This con comment was something showing up for years 2013 and 2014 for sure. I have used your program for years. Also, in the past the deluxe tax program did not require purchasing extra programs to cover capital gains and schedule E (i believe for K-1s. Thank you for your attention to this. Irvg I am retired Married 52 Years October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always A Relief! October 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Using PDF With XP operating software, I can't print the PDF Tax file. I will be forced to buy a new computer just for that one feature. Last year my computer did print the file. October 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great experience Turbo Tax is a great product, easy to use, the best way to file online. October 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not sure about the state return. Seems to be harder than previous years. Our accountant took a while with our Business return, so we filed an extension for the Federal, didn't realize had to do a separate one for the state. Always used Turbo Tax but may have to let accountant do personal one also. Always seemed that by the time I got all the info together it was just as easy to do it myself. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complex to Simple October 4, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T08:05:02.722-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-31, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184759, tr_184759
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 29 30 31 32 33 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.