1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better and Easier Every Year I really appreciate that TurboTax seems to get simpler every year. My taxes are complicated - Schedule C, home office, 2 rental properties including partial rental of my home. So I really appreciate that Turbo Tax seems to make my job easier each year. The biggest improvement I would love to see is the ability to show your tax information for 5 or 10 years compared to the current year. I've been using TurboTax that long, so the data should be there....
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of Filing When on a form, needs to be a way to jump to that exact part of the Step by Step. Even further, when on a specific line on a specific form, being able to switch over to Step by Step from the exact line would be a great help. I understand most of the lines on the forms are the end result of worksheets. That is great tracing backwards from form to worksheet to worksheet. Just need the ability to go straight to Step by Step rather than cascading down and going through all the questions again and again just to reach the area associated to the line on the form. Keith
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better All in all this program is not bad. Not happy that I could do personal returns on my Mac but not my corporate. Would love it if Turbo Tax would make corporate return software for Mac. Also some things are difficult to find like how to amend return, and would love live chat option or being able to talk to a live person with questions.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True Really look forward to relying on TurboTax each year in helping me with my return. I could NEVER do it without it. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Good and The Glitch This is my first time using TurboTax. I found it streamlined my strategy for filing taxes, helped me organize data, and informed me of considerations I had not made - such as filing income from out of state, even if small or renter's credit in the State of California. All of these positives resulted in momentum I have not had before when filing taxes. As much momentum as the positives created, there were some glitches that threatened to prevent me from being able to file the return at all. Momentum Kill. As a result, I have some "fixes" of my own for TurboTax (TT). FIX #1: when recommending a fix PLEASE provide a link back to the page and/or section on the site where that issue can be found. At least list the location of the fix somewhere obvious on the same window as the fix. This would have saved me HOURS and huge frustration. FIX #2 - Form 3544. In a nutshell, users beware of a list of questions in the State Return section for self-employeed filers that mentions something like "credit raptures". AVOID answering any questions in this section unless it does apply to you. DO NOT put in a number "0" as an answer. BIG MISTAKE. You cannot un-do this once you enter "0". It will show up as a fix when you go to review your return. The fix will mention FORM 3544. You will have no idea what that is or where to find it on the site to "fix" this issue. You will then turn to the help center and read a very dooming answer stating once you enter a "0", you cannot un-do the damage. It gets worse! Answering questions regarding Form 3544 even with the number "0" will increase your tax liability. Help Center will let you know that the only way to undo the damage done is deleting your state return. However, you cannot delete your state return if you have "already registered it or purchased it" according to the help center. I had not done either and there was still no option to edit or delete my CA state return. SOLUTION: Fortunately, a friend of mine suggested looking through "forms" and to attempt deleting Form 3544. VOILA! I would have missed the filing deadline if it were not for my friend. TurboTax was no friend to me here. Also prior to the Form 3544 glitch, one of the fixes required that I add a pin number, my birthdate and today's date in order to file. When I did so, TT would not accept today's date. After I figured out the Form 3544 problem, TT accepted today's date. Not sure what the issue was there. In all, there were 4 fixes recommended where I found it next to impossible to fix the issues and this almost prevented me from filing by the deadline. In these 4 instances, there was either insufficient information to fix the issues - such as where to go to fix issues I had not heard of or encountered anywhere on the site previously - OR there was simply a glitch in the TurboTax system such as not accepting today's date. On the whole, TurboTax is brilliantly laid out and has taken an immense amount of factors into consideration. It also has a quick response time technically to all entries. Please Fix the Fixes! The feedback here would be such a simple way to make it significantly more user friendly than it already is. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for developing this software
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Breeze To File Tax Returns Great tax product. I switched over from H&R Block, and will stick with Turbo Tax from now on.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for most things If you own properties in multiple states and finally have to claim income on one of them you will need to call customer service to resolve because turbo tax will give you some bogus numbers expecting you to pay a ton of money in a state where you did not make much money,,,, now I know so it is easy; glad I called customer service; they resolved it right away.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1534, tr_4115
  • loc_, sid_900_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.