1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 80 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by not quite as good as years before Having used Turbo Tax for several years I was familiar with it - or so I thought. It was surprising then that Premier 2014 had changed and wouldn't let me do a simple Schedule C - I don't need all of the stuff in the business version, but I had to buy it anyway - and then all the info I entered didn't carry forward in a visible manner - it was all there in the background - but Home and Business wanted me to enter everything again. Fortunately, and without any help or guidance from Turbo Tax, I discovered that! God only know what would have happened if i had re-entered the information. While I will use it Turbo Tax again, I am just a bit more wary about recommending it to anyone. February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good This was my first time doing my own returns since ages ago when I was in college and could file 1040EZ. I decided to try out TurboTax this year because I had heard so many good things about it and I am never excited to pay the accountant his fee. This is moderately easy to walk through, but time consuming. There were a couple of questions that I thought should have been automatic (for example, Did you pay any student loan interest?), but instead I had to search for them and the section wasn't apparent. The tasks/steps required to report local tax paid that is NOT withheld on your W2 was very clunky and a little confusing. I also think this should be streamlined right up front. When you're asked about the withholding entering in the W2 information, I think TurboTax should be set up to then branch off and ask, Were you required to pay local taxes out of pocket? and then allow the person to enter the amount paid. I was panicking about being able to enter this and had to find a way to do it using the help feature. Overall, my experience was good. The software (I bought a CD from a retailer) was easy and quick to install, the UI is clean and easy to navigate and I didn't run into any glitches. February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Review Turbotax makes it very easy to file a tax return. If you don't understand something, Turbotax provides an information link that usually explains it. I like how Turbotax loads your 2013 return info & downloads your W-2 info. I do not like the high charge for e-filing your state income tax return. I also do not like how difficult Turbotax makes it to enter direct deposit info so you can get your refund electronically. I only had health care coverage for 9 of 12 months in 2014, and my health care penalty exemption is pending. Turbotax indicated it would help me file a form with the health care exchange to determine if I qualify for a penalty exemption, & I am uncertain if it will be done. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still the best tax program TurboTax has continued to improve over the years. I've used it for decades. The main shortcoming is that, when entering estimated items, there is no easy and direct way to see where those fields are without revisiting each and every field, on each and every page, to check for the pop-up message, or run the final "check" and let each of those estimated fields appear as items requiring correction. Hope it can be improved in the future - possibly with an "Estimated Items" pane that would provide an easy-to-access summary of all estimated fields, with direct access to them. That would be a great addition for those who may need to estimate their tax situation before having the actual numbers. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay but weak in some areas Easy to use, but confusing at times. Particularly troublesome is asking questions that the user probably has no way of knowing, and Turbo-tax can easily answer or prepare an answer or show a table that will give the answer. For example, on Required Mandatory withdraws from Retirement, it is based on what the value was at the end of the year, then a complex calculation based on that number. Why doesn't Turbo-Tax just ask "what is the value at year end" so Turbo-Tax can calculate. Instead user has to go to the government website and try to do the calculation. I am going to try to check out H&R Block's software next year. I am not a tax person, so why should I have to to the math calculation? February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax for more than a decade. I love that I don't have to re-enter my personal information. I also like how I can follow step by step with ease. I'm just so upset that I couldn't buy the Deluxe Version CD like last year, but I was forced to buy the more expensive Personal & Small Business CD. I have used Turbo Deluxe for myself and daughter but couldn't this year. I received an email about refunding $25, so I will wait and see how that ends up. That is why I stayed with Turbo this year. Let's see what happens next year, please restore the Deluxe CD as in the past. I have always given you 5 stars, hopefully if I do receive the refund I can bring it back up for this year. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've used TurboTax for many years now, even when I was working for H&R Block! It has unparalleled ease of use, and being able to load information from each previous tax year makes data entry fast and easy; I don't have to re-enter information I've entered in prior tax years. I find the PDF copies of tax returns very useful. Because I have extensive tax preparation experience, I usually go straight to forms, but the step-by-step method works great when I'm not sure just which forms to file in a given situation. The available help, both in the application and online, are terrific. Since the IRS is not answering their phone anymore, it is doubly important to have access to accurate instructions. January 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with 1095a and 8962 If the medcial premiums qre entered diectly on the form 1095A, the premiums will not be added to the premium tax credit is not automatically added to line 48 of the form 1040. I had to enter the premium data using the step-by-step, inorderfor the PTC to be placed on line 48 of the 1040. Initially my returns were rejected because the amount on line 5 was not precisely the difference in lines 3 and 4 of the 8962.. My electronic filing was rejected due to the error in the form(s). I have used Turbotax for over 25 years. This is the first time I have not been ableto file mhy returns upon completion of all of my forms. I have always skipped the guide and gonw directly to the forms with no problems. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy as usual, but sneaky I use Turbo Tax every year. As usual, it was simple, quick, efficient and overall very easy to use. I purchased Premier, as that seemed to fit my tax needs for 2014. I don't like that it let me go all the way through my return then wouldn't let me file without upgrading to Home & Business (because I have some leftover H&B deductions that linger from 2013). It's legit, I needed Home and Business - but they should have told me right up front instead of holding my filing hostage until I paid $10 (not to file, but so the error check could run). Would have appreciated a warning right up front - "Hey, based on your 2013 return, you need the next version up unless you want to give up these deductions"! February 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great now. What about future? I have used TurboTax for many years, and I appreciate how it updates my data from year-to-year. It has consistently been reliable, stable, and comprehensive. However, this year, my deluxe didn't fit my needs--but to TurboTax's credit, it upgraded my deluxe to the "home and business" version automatically, and for free. Though I like that they watched out for me in this way, I should not need this big (and expensive) of a program for my very small Schedule C needs. If the Deluxe version doesn't work for me next year, or the Home and Business version isn't available at a much reduced rate, I'll be looking elsewhere for a product, despite the fact that I have really liked TurboTax ever since it was MacinTax. February 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loyal but Disappointed with 2014 TurboTax I've been a loyal user/purchaser of TurboTax for over 10+ years. Last year was a bit questionable, this year was noticably worse, the questions and steps read as if they were speaking to an accountant or CPA. Previous years gave you clear direction and understanding without having to google or pull out the dictionary to understand what the heck they were asking or saying. Too often I was confused due to the way the questions were asked. It was extremely exhausting to use this year. I was almost afraid to submit but I reviewed it 10 times then took a leap of faith and hit the submit button. Turbo, please rethink what you are doing and please regain my confidence for the 2015 season or I'll have to search elsewhere. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Took care of new 2014 Tax Issues I have used Turbotax for years, but never filed early before. The new tax laws on the healthcare were adequately handled on Turbotax, and the interview prompted me to consider things that I never would have understood on my own or from healthcare.gov. I appreciated the free upgrade to Premier (I had always used Deluxe sufficiently before). And I received a second unexpected upgrade when I had to use Home and Business for some miscellaneous income. I have never called phone support before, thinking it was only for technical support of the product, but I was wrong. The accountants were experienced and knowledgeable of the situation, and I received some very sound advice. I also really liked the feature that I could get a call back when it was my turn in line. February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014: Not as Fluid as 2013 I found that this year's version (2014) did not meet the standards of fluidity that I have experienced in the past. Also, there were times when the program did not return me to exactly where I left off. The import of 1099 Combined Form from TD Ameritrade was laborious, frustrating and showed me that this "teamwork" that was supposed to be developed between both companies is a fallacy. I wish the two companies would work out the kinks before issuing the documents, not after. They certainly had enough time to do so..very disappointing. Enough, because it is a repeat of the problem from last year, that I am seriously considering moving my account from TD Ameritrade and also using another tax software program next year. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always good value - but one suggestion I've used Turbotax for many years and I am very satisfied. The program generally gives fabulous value for what you pay for this software. I would like to see more drill down links that would allow me to go right to calculations or worksheets used to arrive at numbers. This is particularly noticeable when using the state programs. Often states will ask for breakdowns of federal numbers between family members (ie - medical expenses), and the conversion from federally accepted costs vs actual costs complicates this. The ability to drill down to the federal calcs at that point would help. Also, within the help screens, it would be great to have hyperlinks to IRS code or instructions. Thanks fo rthe great product anyway. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ok its tax time.... now what do I do? Greeting Turbo Tax! its tax time again! And here we go again. Just like every American at this time of the year has the duty of having their taxes prepared and filed... And Just like most American citizens it is a bit of a burden. I my self feel a bit uneasy and a little unsecure about having my taxes done. But having Turbo Tax there, makes a bit of a difference... the program very simple to use and I can get my taxes done in the privacy of my home. I do Like this very much. But the fact of the program going through each item accurately gives me piece of mind. this is my second year using turbo tax and last year was a great experience, and I am hoping that this year will be the same. Thanks for the great product Tommy Z January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peasy-Filed really easy TurboTax is easier than ever to use. I used TurboTax last year and didn't order it. I found it super easy to log onto my 2013 product and download the 2014 product! I was so happy that it didn't take me forever to locate the download or even log onto my account in which I forgot my password! The questions are easier to read and the program moves a bit faster I believe than last year. The updates are super fast too when loading the TurboTax also. From beginning the return to the efile It took me 30 full minutes! I was so happy I called my friend to brag! As a gift this year, since I love the program so much, I'll be filing my family members taxes so they won't have to go anywhere to file! (My children and cousin that is). January 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as Simple When K-1's are received from a Partnership or S-Corp, as far as the NY State information entry, it is very time consuming and difficult to find where the Additions and Subtractions to Federal Income from the K-1 Schedule can be included. There should be a simple format that has NY Shareholder K-1 line by line entry. This would eliminate searching and determining the right code to use with the amounts. This probably affects other states as well. If someone is not familiar with this type of information, they would end up filing a return that is incomplete. Turbo Tax does not ask specific enough questions or provide enough detail regarding Additions and Subtractions for the average taxpayer to know they are missing something. February 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed in Quality I use both Quicken and TurboTax and have for many years. The issue this year with the TurboTax Deluxe/Premier version aside, I find all Intuit software to be horribly buggy and they are slow to fix issues. Oftentimes, these bugs are very obvious. On my MA state return this year, all muni income is reported on 1099-DIV and the forms were easy to fill out on TurboTax (entered manually, separating out MA income). However, the amounts that are tax free in MA were not transferred to the state return and this would've significantly increased my tax bill if I had not made a manual entry (one workaround cited in a post on their support forum). This is such a basic item it makes me wonder what other items may have been missed and if my return is truly accurate. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eliminating the pain of tax time Year after year Turbo Tax makes it possible for individuals to complete their taxes without outside help. One step at a time, you are guided through the maze of complicated tax issues to arrive at a final destination of completion. You need only supply the data and take the journey to a successful and worry free filing. You of course must do your part by saving and organizing your yearly tax documents and simply plug in the numbers in response to the questions. The great thing is that after you have done it for the first time, the next year is even easier because your tax format has been established and your vital information already there for importing. I recommend this product as THE solution for tax preparation and filing. February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got Em Done I've been a user of Turbo for many years (about10-15years) . Loved it! This year I was a bit shocked when I had to reload the software several times and had to re-start from page one. Then, I stayed on-- all the way through state and federal prep, because I was afraid it would happen again. Issue: I had saved my file the first time, in order to finish later-- but it did not recognize the file IT had saved, I could see it, in my saved files--but even I couldn't get it to load. I reinstalled Turbo twice, or three times, and then-- after many hours of failure, had to start at the beginning and do it all again. Still, Turbo has always done a good job of making sure I enter all info needed, so I am hopeful next year -- no glitches. February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Even though tax rules change from year to year, I like to run scenarios on turbo tax in order to prepare for the following year. For example I may be considering having a second child, a third, fourth, etc. and it would be nice to know how things will affect my taxes the next year even if it is based on this years tax rules. Anyway to do so is not that easy with turbo tax to go back and make a few changes to see what it does to my return. A simplified navigation feature would be nice for next year. Lastly, I am disappointed in being forced to buy premium to file my state. Id like a credit for that. Next year perhaps a version for two states would be helpful but it makes sense as to why you would simply give one free state to distribute throughout the United States. February 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by unsure Like many, I was outraged that the deluxe version of Turbo Tax which I have used since 1995 was no longer able to process our return because of my small business income. So now Intuit has "free" upgrades to premium which came too late for me so I will have to try to get the rebate from them which still doesn't cover the cost of the upgrade. I have heard of some problems with the rebate process but I will withhold judgment until later. I tried another tax prep program a few years ago and didn't like it as well so I went back to Turbo Tax. Next year I will probably explore all the options more fully before automatically getting Turbo Tax. If the pricing structure and version requirements remain the same next year I will probably use something else. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old faithful I have been a faithful user of TurboTax since my nascent first tax return. I commend them on the making the minefield of tax preparation easy while still keeping the interface easy to use. The only thing that prevented a five star rating is the ever present cryptic errors that can occur during the review and error correction steps. Most of the time it works OK, but sometimes the error can be very cryptic and can only be solved by manually editing the tax form data. When this occurs it is incredibly difficult to correlate the error text with the wizard steps that need to be redone. Things that might help would be to show the actual section of the tax form associated with the error or to reference the wizard associated with the invalid input. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for 80% of taxpayers I am paid for work as a handyman. It is reported on a 1099 misc. I do not own my own business, but had to identify myself that way. I am a contract employee for a property management company. The 1099 reflects all monies paid to me, despite more than half of that income being expenses incurred on the various jobs. These expenses are building materials, repair parts and new replacement parts. Once I deduct all these expenses, as well as others that are related to my work, I show a loss. I believe this loss has created the "moderate risk" rating for the possibility of an audit. I loathe the thought of dealing with the IRS and believe that, had my "business" been identified as a contract employee situation, my expenses would be better justified. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by MUCH EASIER THAN THE OTHER TAX SOFTWARE I have used another top brand software for the last several years and have had problems every year with file recovery or something. This year I switched and I am glad I did. All of the things i had questions about were explained fairly well in the tips except a few in the business section. I had to call a few times for help but I am a distributor for a company so my situation isn't typical and I don't know much about taxes. Everyone I spoke with was very nice and helpful. I will use Turbo Tax again next year as well. ALSO... I didn't receive the correct deductions last year because the other tax software made me believe that I couldn't claim my college student. Turbo Tax explained it very simply for me, I'm getting back more money this year!!! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but needs to be more User Friendly (1) Changed some entry selections to a "drop-down" menu, which takes longer than a "radio button" that was used in the past. (2) If your previous return used a "supporting details' entry form, then when you do the current return there's no way to tell you have the details from the year before. Should have a "flag" beside entry boxes if they have a "supporting details" table from the previous year. (3) Also, if you used "supporting details" the year before, and this year you try to enter a number, it opens the table and puts the cursor in your previous description, so you end up typing over what you had from the year before. Not User Friendly. The "flag" or some sort of notice that there are supporting details from the year before would be VERY helpful. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by turbo tax is AWESOME!!!! i have been using turbo tax probably 10 years now, 1 year i was talked into another company (H&R) and it was aweful. i do our taxes, my son, daughter and her husband and brother-in-law so tax time is a busy time for me. i love how i can choose to walk thru each topic and turbo tax asks the questions and you just answer, it does all the figuring. or for the kids taxes i can pick the topic and enter the figures in. so easy and is reasonalbly priced. This year i was having problems and called customer service twice. Both times the gentlemen were very helpful and stayed on the phone till i had my problem resolved. which actually was a connection problem on my end. i recomend turbo tax all the time. Thanks for a great product and a wonderful customer service. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fairly high quality software. This software handles the chore of filing your taxes better than the competition in most situations. The cost is higher than Taxcut or H&R, but the higher cost is probably worth it. The methods employed by Turbotax of raising the cost are infuriating. I have used TurboTax Basic to handle my filing needs for nearly 20 years. This year my return was no more complex than in the past and in many ways less complicated. Yet, I was required to purchase TurboTax Small Business version instead. This increase in cost is quite steep. The interview is well designed and works well for most situations. I do feel sorry for anyone or company that must deal with tax code. It has become more and more bloated over the years. All too often the tax law is changed at the last minute, making in difficult to incorporate the changes. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product..but forced unnecessary upgrade I love turbo tax and I use it every year. Unfortunately this year is the first year I have an issue with it. We were forced to upgrade to the Business turbo tax after we had already purchased the deluxe version. We have a weird tax situation where my husband is self-employed because he works for his dad (who refuses to do 1099) and does not own a business. He doesn't have the deductions that a normal self employed person would have so we don't need the business version. I love the product and eventually my husband will take over the business and we will need this version but we just don't right now. I am not sure if I will purchase turbotax next year. Such a bummer because I really do love this product. But I could take my taxes for someone to do for the amount they are asking for. February 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ALL RIGHTY THEN! I really like the product, but my search engines didn't, and there was no way to reach Intuit/TurboTax except via an e-mail link in my juno e-mail. The phone person was helpful, and when I explained how my new computer would not take the T.Tax CD I'd received, she very kindly allowed me to download the appropriate program/forms for my situation. I'm 70, and this was a big challenge for me... The charitable donation section is difficult when you buy supplies to restore antiques for a legitimate historical society and have to enter each and every little tool or battery or other small item several times per month for several months; it would be simpler to just be allowed to put the month and not the exact day. Yes, I will buy this program again; it's still cheaper than a CPA, faster too. February 3, 2015
<<prev 78 79 80 81 82 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.