1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 61 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by 1099s Need help I have used the online 1099 reporting for several years, but this year I couldn't access the online site directly. I kept getting an error that I could only make changes through Turbo Tax. But in Turbo Tax there is no link to the website and there is no option to electronically file. I can now access the website through a normal tax return if I answer the question that I need to file 1099s, but I don't understand why that option isn't available in the actual W-2 & 1099 return preparation. So I either have to input the information again online or file a paper copy. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product, too bad the cost increased in 2014. I have a small consulting business. And I was totally unprepared for the increase in price just because I needed to file a Schedule C. I had to get the most expensive version. I'm not a corporation or even a large company, just me, trying to make ends meet in a difficult economy. I probably won't be a Turbo Tax customer in 2015 if you keep this same pricing structure. Too bad, it was a great product and a good value... until now. February 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've used Turbo Tax for a number of years and I've generally been pleased with the product. However I was very unhappy that the Deluxe product this year no longer supports capital gains. Having capital gains is a very common situation and I feel provision for doing it should included in the Deluxe version. If you make me upgrade to do capital gains next year, I'll be dropping my Turbo Tax subscription and looking for another product. February 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amended 2013 Fed Return Tricky I used TurboTax Deluxe 2013 to prepare an amended return (Fed and Maryland). My original Fed return was adjusted by IRS (additional refund due to an error in total estimated tax payment on the original return). I had to manually make the entries for this adjustment directly in Form 1040X (forms mode). For 1040X TurboTax printed the entire modified 1040 return instead of just printing the schedules and forms that were changed. I manually removed the unnecessary forms/schedules. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complex issues made simple! Thanks again for getting me through another tax season. I filed our Fed 1065 and State 565 and Fed & state 1040. Then, filed my mother's 1040 final return. Still am working on our daughter's 1040!! A Marathon year which contained several new twists from prior years. Thanks to your tax experts, I finished in record time.....so we can take our vacation the end of March and really relax and enjoy it! I appreciate the great assistance. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Program for Everyone I have been using Turbo Tax since 2008 for our small businesses and couldn't be happier. I love how TT questions some of my entries especially where I made mistakes. It's also very helpful when TT suggests deductions, etc. I recommend this to all my friends even those who don't have any type of business. My only issue this year is that I constantly have to scroll down the page to click continue. This may just be my computer though. January 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 Horrible experience What should have been a short filing process turned into a 2 hour time filled with frustration and exasperation. The program did NOT transfer figures it did automatically last year, nor did it explain what I had to do to make it correct. I spent more time on the help section and on the phone than I did actually filing my return. I will not be using this program next year unless they make drastic improvements! Not user friendly at all. February 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great except for the free state filing I have purchased Turbo Tax for several years, and I have yet to be able to get the one free state filing advertised. It asked me if I wanted to use my one free state filing, and I chose yes, yet when it is time to file, I am charged $19.99. This happens year after year, I have never gotten a free state filing. I think you should decrease the price of your product by $19.99 instead of telling people it is included in the purchase price. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointed In Turbo Tax For Changing Product First, the change in what was included in the package was a real problem and will make me rethink using Turbo Tax in the future if I am going to have to pay for a different higher level of program to get what I had always been getting from the next lower level program. I think that was just a way to increase the cost by 30 to 40% without any reason to do so. Second, it seemed to me that when going through the program this year that there was extra time required by having to go back to the general section page each time I completed a sub section rather than simply going on to the next subsection and being asked if you want to open that subsection of move on to the next topic. February 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is the first year of having a modest amount of royalty income so I was surprised that this forced me to upgrade to a small business package. Plus Turbo Tax informed me that this type of income is considered self-employed. I wish there was some kind of detailed explanation on why I would need to be considered self-employed. I have this uncomfortable feeling that I was hosed on taxes this year and do not feel confident that I needed to be subjected to this. Next tax year I will consider other options for doing taxes. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Guided Fantasy" I only use the program once a year and I feel comfortable from the time I open the program until I print the return. The program has a familiar look and feel. There can be tax law changes/updates that I am not aware of but I know that Turbo Tax has built them into the program. It's almost like like I am sitting across the table from a paid tax preparer asking for the pertinent information required to complete the return! Thanks again! January 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor for Small Business Owner I find it unacceptable that as a small business owner I can’t make the De Minimis Safe Harbor Election in accordance with IRS regulation section 1.263(a)-1(f). I’m forced to print and mail my return with my own De Minimis Safe Harbor Election form. So much for Turbo Tax being a Home & “Business” tool. I thought mailing in returns was supposed to be a thing of the past. Perhaps next year Turbo Tax will bring back the Pony Express or carrier pigeon. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed in upgrade requirements After using Turbo Tax Deluxe for several years, I was disappointed to find out that I had to upgrade to Premier before I could enter the few stocks I sold. I was then further surprised to learn that I had to upgrade to Home & Business before I could enter my expenses on my small business. I don't recall this issue in prior years and am disappointed that this great product is moving toward what might appear to be a bait and switch format. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but state vehicle tax area needs work I have lost a few dollars in prior years because I followed the guidance on Turbotax where car registration is considered nondeductible in several states. Learned this year that tax portion of car annual fees are deductible in all states. Turbotax needs to provide better guidance on specific state formats to ensure allowed deductions are taken. Guidance now pushes users toward a conclusion that car taxes are not deductible in many states. February 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deluxe version (1) My Window 8 was reloaded due to virus and 2013 files was lost. Turbo 2014 got 2012 Carryover and applied to 2014. It took me a lot of time time trying to correct the overpaid tax and section 179 disallowed amounts. Eventually found a way to overrided it. (2) I spent lots of time collecting data for Schedule A, but eventually used Standard Deduction instead. I hope turbo would estimate how much medical expenses and some others with high deductibles would be allowed before or during inputting data so that I could save some time not trying too hard. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost slick Been using TurboTax for 7 years. I like that it finds last year's work and starts there. Having to do the "free" Business upgrade was an annoyance at the least. I do not own a business so why am I going through all the business-owner tax questions? Seems like Intuit tried to bundle features rather than recompiling the application. Bet the 800 numbers are going off the hook. Still a good program that has demonstrated integrity every year. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by NEXT YEAR iI have used TurbTax Deluxe for several years. I appreciate the upgrade because I have stock transactions. TurboTax should continue to keep stock transactions in TurboTax Deluxe. No one knows what TurboTax will do next year. I know that several people have altready or are going to switch to HR Block. Keep the TurboTax prices competitive and don't keep asking users to upgrade to a more pricey version from what they have been used to using. February 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've used Turbo-Tax for a number of years and had been happy. This year I purchased the Deluxe Edition, as always, only to find out Schedule C is not included. I had to by the home and business edition at a considerably greater price. The state tax part of my purchased Turbo Tax did not work. I paid $40 more than in previous years and got less results for my purchase. I will reconsider whether Turbo Tax is the best option for me next year. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by STRESS RELIEVER I have always been afraid of doing taxes for fear of mistakes and audits by the IRS if I did it wrong. Turbo Tax took all that anxiety away and allowed me to complete my own taxes without paying someone else to do it for me - even though I completed all the prep work myself and they just had to fill in the blanks. This is my second year of preparing my own taxes and the confidence I feel after having Turbo Tax do all the checks and balances is substantial. Thank you February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm done! Simple as Always! I used the newly named Personal & Small Business. It was as straightforward as always. Walks you through each step or will let you jump where you need to go. Especially great with your business expenses asking you if you had this or that and explains what the different options are. Also really helpful to sort through the education credits as we have a daughter in college. Been using TurboTax for years and will continue too. Highly recommend! January 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ny now requires all returns to be efiled. NY says if you use tax prep software you must efile. I prep a number of family members who would paper file . now i am stuck unable to file their NY returns. I was unaware of this and would not have purchased turbo tax if i knew i would be unable to prepare all of my family's tax returns. also the fact that I had to purchase premier and ended aup spending $80 instead of $40 to prep these tax returns. February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax, On the Money This is not my 1st time using Turbo Tax but it still amazes me how much detail is covered by this software. Seemingly every possibility is covered here. it can at times seem somewhat overwhelming but the outcome is rewarding in that I feel comfortable. I feel that no stone has been left unturned in the search for every possible legal deduction. Even though I didn't have a refund this year I feel confident that all the bases have been covered. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saving time and money! I have been using TurboTax for close to 10 years now. I have to say that TurboTax never failed to get the help that I need in a flash. It's so quick and easy that anybody can do it. It is user friendly. Downloading is quick and fast too. I highly recommend TurboTax to anyone. I have been using "Personal & Small Business" for long time and with little changes every year, I was able to quickly do my taxes done in one hour or less. Thank you TurboTax! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by as good as it gets!!!!! turbo tax does a great job. before I discovered turbo tax, regret paying an accountant several hundred dollars to do a return and what he probably did was plug my figures into his "Turbo tax" and charge me. accountants are great for specific problems but the job of submitting a fairly simple return is what turbo tax does...hands down.....only con is the extra charge to e-file your state return...$20 bucks isn't a deal breaker...just irritating. February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch I have been using Turbo Tax for the last 5 years. I love it. I like how you can go down the list of income and deductions and watch your refund grow. The only thing that caught me off guard this year was when I went to e-file my state return and all of a sudden I was getting charged $19.99. This was the first year I've done e-file and didn't expect that additional charge. It wasn't very clear ahead of time that it would cost any money to do that. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Great Refund I've used Turbo Tax for several years and love it. I e-file my federal returns and mail my state returns. This is the first year I'm having trouble printing the state to file by mail. It kept printing with words "DO NOT FILE", "FORM NOT FINAL" So I cannot print the forms to file by mail with these words on it. My state refunds are too small to bother with paying the $19.95 e-filing fee. I tried finding a help search to correct this with no luck. January 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review I've used TurboTax Home & Business for many years. I like the guided approach for data entry but I am the "Trust and Verify" type. I understand the convoluted math of tax forms so I like to look at the completed IRS forms to make sure the data printed was what I was expecting. If not, then I go back to the topics again to review my entries or make corrections. I found this year's version to be the easiest yet to bounce around from place to place. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Change is not always good Was not happy to learn that Turbo Tax eliminated "business" from the Delux version forcing everyone to use the "business version" which is way more expensive..Will check out competitors next year even though I have used Turbo tax for 9 years. and was given a full refund for having to upgrade to the "Business version". Also had trouble printing my return. Can't pick a nickname without it being used by sombody I'm up to 15 trys so far. What a joke January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Tax Preparation Opinion Using 2014 Turbo Tax I am comfortable with computer tax filing and I find Turbo Tax perfect for my purposes. I am using the Home and Business version because the features work for my small home business and for depreciation. Of the three main tax software, I find that Turbo Tax meets my needs. I am frustrated that there is a fee associated with filing my CA state return electronically. This year it is $19.95. Since I am paying $90 for the software, I think all or part of the cost should be absorbed by that initial cost. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My experiences with 2014 Turbotax Home and Busines In the past an easy guided walk through of the Form F was accomplished painlessly and I was confident with the info inputted and results. I have used Turbotax for at least 12 years. This year, with the Home and Business version, I was not able to access the guided walk through and had to back into input screens for adding and deleting. I lost quickly lost confidence in the process. Can you explain why the lack of the guided walk through of Farm Form F? February 18, 2015
<<prev 59 60 61 62 63 ... 69 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.