1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 266 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Want to be a Tax expert? Use TurboTax I've been using this product for 16 years. It's an excellent tool that allows you to organize your Tax related info, walks you through the Tax return preparation by asking simple and straightforward questions. It has multiple help tools including instant help, on-screen comments, and internet links. It helps tremendously to answer the questions correctly. It uses your prior year Tax return to automatically fill out some info, so you only need to confirm the changes. At the end of the day, it's a perfect learning tool if you want to know more about Taxes. I recommend TurboTax to all my friends. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience in 2014! Home and Business is a difficult tax to file (lots of details), but it went well! I have been using TurboTax for well over 12 years and this one was the best. You had answered many of the questions that nagged me in the past, such as double reporting of long term insurance in the business and personal portions, and kept beautiful track of carryovers. As every prior time except for once, I used the desktop version since I got bitten once by the downloaded version. Then the server lost my tax files which caused me to reload what I could from the PDF version for next year (but lost the carryovers) March 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frustrating Every time I went to work on my return, there would be a "new version" and I had to update. The problem was that on my MAC the updates would NEVER work normally. Each time I had to delete all copies already on my computer, load a new copy, update, but then have to go to "application assistant" to finish the loading of the update.Since I could never just open a file in progress I finally had to find a time when I can do the whole return in one extended session and be done before I had to update it again. I'll give TT a shot again next year, but if this problem persists, I'll find an alternative. March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Transfer Problems/EFT Apparently Intuit got in a hurry this year I found several bugs. They were difficult to locate the problem. One bug allow by Oklahoma return to be transfer after review of the return only to be unaccepted by Oklahoma. I found where the intuit didn't properly complete transfer on 511NRB. Also it wanted to file my Oil royalty income on Schedule C not the proper Schedule E, made it extremely difficult get the information in proper place on Schedule E. The depletion deduction supposedly automatic figured is not and any number it comes up with will not show on the form or be giving credit in return. February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a Great Program - Lousy Merchandizing If you felt it was necessary to upgrade all the Deluxe customers who have faithfully used your software for years you needed to make that news well publicized before people bought their software. After using the same version of the same software for that many years, people don't read the fine print on the box. They buy what they have known and trusted. If you were going to change what Deluxe included, then you could at least have dropped the name Deluxe and renamed all the versions so people would have to read the details and selected the appropriate one for their needs. Very poorly thought out! February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Two patches and a refund The order of instruction to fix the files causing the import issue with itsdeductible needs to be changed to the following Line 1 Print these insrtuctions Line 2.--The current line 5, with the patches, needs to be line 2, to download the patches to the desktop before you close the program. The following steps need to return to the original line 1... Closing the Turbotax program.etc. When closed first you lose the patch link,and if you change the files as instructed , you cannot get back in to Turbotax to get the patch files. I found them online luckily, through the question file. Not fun! I February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I see myself as a dinosaur with computer technology but feel that Turbotax has enabled me to do my own taxes. Now as a clergyperson-retired and running a small home business, the software and support system have met my needs. It was only in a very few instances I became confused and had to either call TurboTax and pay for professional advice or turn online to the Turbotax wider community without charge. Even though clergy taxes are a "different animal", while dealing with "housing allowances" for example, I have found this resource helpful. I am a ten years user of Turbotax and a senior citizen. February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard copy printing after e-filing After e-filing there should be an option to print a hard copy without printing all the backup data for each state return. I have income sources in three states and therefore must file in three states. I always opt for e-filing but need to keep a hard copy due to the nature of the nature of our business. Although you can go through the long list of forms to select only those that you require, it is time consuming and could result in errors if you accidentally fail to print a form you need. It would be convenient if TurboTax had an option to print the full Federal return and the Stat returns only. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my 1st time What a pleasant surprise...very good, very user friendly. I am techo phobic... I never have done it this way. I have paid big bucks many times to hand in my well organized numbers so someone else could run it thru their program and now I see how easy it is to input data and let the program do the work . I liked it alot, and I think next year will be better because my records will be on hand to reference and I will have a better handle on how to do my entries. It will probably make me keep better records for deductions too. Very Happy not to leave $600 plus dollors at H&R Despite ther cute ads !! April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of 2014 Home and Business I used the CD version of Home and Business both for 2013 and 2014. I. In this version, there is NO place in the interview to add the following for K-1s: -ending percentages for partner's share of profit, loss & capital -partner's share of liabilities at year end -partner's capital account analysis I had to add all this information on the forms view 2. In Turbotax Corporation and Partnerships software, when you right click on a data field, it tells you the source of the entry for most fields. This is a very useful feature, perhaps you could incorporate this feature into Home & Business software. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I Did It! Eventually... I was able to get my personal taxes done with the Turbo Tax Personal and Small Business version that I purchased. I had to get an accountant to do my business taxes that set me back $500. Needed my Schedule K-1 forms. I could have saved money and bought the less costly Personal Turbo Tax so that didn't make me too happy. And the business part of the personal and business edition just made it more confusing to someone who is not an accountant. Keep the Turbo Tax versions separated for the specific task they are used for. It will help us and save us some money. Once completed, everything went well. March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 I originally bought another tax software this year, after using Turbo Tax for many years, due to the price increase and the fact that I started my own business mid-year 2014. I was disappointed in the cost increase and tried the other software. After getting frustrated with the software and receiving an email from Turbo Tax saying they'd upgrade previous customers for free this year, I went back and am glad I did. It is so much more user-friendly than the other software I used and I feel I got the best tax refund I could. Thanks for working with your customers after receiving feedback, Turbo Tax! March 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buggy Home & Business Edition Easy Step was terrible, losing track multiple times as I went forward and back. Sometimes it would kick me all the way out to the beginning of a section. Back button was especially poor, sometimes forgetting what page I was on, so even if I hit continue it lost my place. In addition, some of the rendered forms did not format properly on my Mac OSX screen, splitting numbers and moving them down a row, etc. Very, very buggy this year. Moving to HR Block next year. Worst TurboTax I have ever used, going all the way back to the first years when they robust videos and guides...product seems cheap now. March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quickly got to the point I first did my taxes by hand this year for the first time since 1988! 12 forms and counting! I got a better understanding of the benefits of turbo tax. The healthcare forms are bad by hand. Turbotax it was a breeze. But that being said I found errors in the way TurboTax report business income. The error is not in the calculation but rather in the questions it asks. Bank business account interest income should be reported on schedule C and not on Schedule B. I have been reporting this income on schedule b for years and years because Turbotax asks for all 1099-INT during the building of schedule B. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Home & Business did everything I needed I have used TurboTax on my Mac since they bought out Mac- in-Tax. I always used the Deluxe addition and it provided everything I needed to handle multiple stockbrokers and a simple business and seemed simple but thorough to use. Last year I decided to try the Premier version and since it did nothing additional for me, I went back to the Deluxe version that my wife picked up for me. I was surprised that it could do nothing like previous versions and I had to spend an extra $43 for the Home and Business before I could get the forms I needed. I was so disappointed that I may use H&R Block next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good... but the cost?? I am pleased with the functionality and organization of the software, and the ability to import data from third party companies and software. However, I am so disappointed by the higher cost of the software vs prior years and paying $24.99 to efile a state return, that I may stop using it unless there are reductions in cost or improvements in value next year (include the state efile!!). As it is now, when you add in full Audit Protection, it would not cost much me more to use a professional preparer again which is a far more valuable service, saves a lot of my time, and supports my local economy. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by At times confusing; forced upgrade! Used basic TTax for years. No problems with IRS, keeps track of info, transfers to current year, etc. Don't like having to upgrade to more expensive TTax programs for the same info this year. Yes, it was free---- this year. But what about next. Will I be forced next year to pay the additional cost of the upgrades? I am retired and can't afford superfluous expenses. Take me back to prior years when the basic TTax did great. Would like one question for vehicle expense: Do you intend to use mileage usage only? If yes, then bypass the numerous questions about ownership, total miles driven, etc., etc. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by disapointed i'm not sure i will be using turbo tax again next year because of the surprise charges. forced to upgrade to get the same results that i got last year from deluxe and i was expecting a free state efile and there is a 19.99 charge even for the first one. that's $70 more than i paid last year. so for the price i might as well drop everything off at H&R block and let them do my taxes. i like your product because it WAS reliable and affordable. well it's still reliable. i'm not sure i'll be a return customer. i don't like these kind of surprises. i will be evaluating other options before i file again. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by buying the download helped me compare MFS to MFJ I have used Turbo Tax for over a decade and this was the first year that our returns were more complicated than I thought I could handle. It took some time and a lengthy phone call to support (Hi Leslie!!) but saved me a lot of time and money by not having to go to a tax preparer or fill out 3 separate returns to compare Married Filing Jointly to Married Filing Separately. For some reason I found it very hard to locate the refund/owing amounts. Maybe it was because I had been working on it so long. I also had a lot of trouble getting the download to open on my computer. But, the support was there. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better each year User since 2011. Experience gets better each year, due in part to improvements to the user interface and my understanding of the byzantine tax code. I especially appreciate quick fix of the Schedule C snafu earlier this year. I'd categorize myself as an intermediate use (itemize deductions, have kids in college, wife runs her own home business). If my finances were any more sophisticated, I'd likely turn them over to a good accountant. I still support junking the current income tax system for a simplified flat or consumption tax, but until that occurs, Turbo tax is my choice and recommendation. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have saved money over the years with Turbo Tax I used to do my own taxes...by HAND! Oh, I hated that experience! I am right brained, and mathematically challenged, so I would get so confused with all the forms, and boxes, etc. I hated it! Have I said that already? Then a friend told me about Turbo Tax and I paid the money to buy it and have never looked back since. I can do my taxes in a couple of hours now and get a great refund. I lost money...oh, so much money, by doing it by hand. I hated it! But, I love Turbo Tax. I have my daughter and her husband using it, and my oldest son will use it next year because I am NOT doing his taxes for him! April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden Fees After paying $80 for the program at Costco (Turbotax Home and Business 2013), the program kept trying to add other services for a price. It kept pushing me to add an Audit Defense to my cart for $40 and then it charged me $25 to E-file my state return (Even though my state and federal returns were only going to be about $90 each). It also gave me an option to just have the money deducted from my return rather than using my card... but to have it deducted would cost $35. It was convenient and fast.. but it was annoying how it pushed other products on me, especially when my return wasn't very much. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great program but hard to read much of the print Please make it easier to read the small, gray print !!!!!! An individual page can be enlarged by using the "view" tab but that gets to be a pain doing it with each page and having to go back to the "view" tab for each incremental increase in size. Too much of the direction and "help" print is in light gray instead of black. Make all the print black, start it at a larger size and make it an easier , more fluid motion to increase the print size where needed. Trying to find a nickname that works for this survey is also a major pain !!! I'm on my 11th try for a nickname that has not already been used. March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As always, user friendly! TurboTax Deluxe is great for filing my returns because I have so many variables. I have a small business as well as my main employment, and my spouse works two jobs also. I always choose the option of being led through all the topics. There is inevitably a deduction or credit I would not be aware of and TurboTax shows it to me to my advantage. The screens are simple and clear, and no matter what mistake or oversight I make, it is caught for correction. I appreciate that it pulls the previous year's tax info and populates this year's return. Saves so much time. I have used it for years and trust it. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doing my own taxes!! Love, love, love the product and service you provide! I really appreciate how your company handled the small business TurboTax version issue... very impressive (you owned it!). I would really like to see info put in to TurboTax for deduction area where it tells you BEFOREHAND what amount you need to meet in order to be able to use the deductions... i.e. health care expense. It would save me ALOT of time on my taxes and gathering all the details if I know I am not even close to the number I need to be able to take advantage of the deduction. Thank you for offering such a great product!! ~ Julie :) March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feedback It took some time to familiarize with the changes from Premier to Home & Business. I file in two states and have a Trust and an LLC. Inputting the Trust & LLC data was much easier than previously - but it took a while to figure out the "Business" input section had nothing to do with Trusts or LLC's, so I wasted some time in that area. The HELP #find# section is now very robust, and really helped quickly fix some "error messages" and questions I had trouble with in previous years using Premier. If TurboTax doesn't change anything between now and next year, next year's tax submittal will be very easy. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Complicated Return but done successfully I find this program working well for my needs and have been using it for about 5-7 years. It has taken awhile to know where all of the pieces are and having the Live Community has helped with a number of things. The program are not for electronic savvy individuals doing their taxes. As it gets more and more complicated over the years, the program will not look at alternative ways of handling your taxes. That is something that only an accountant or tax professional can do. Good program and hopes that it continues to evolve and introduces a few more intuitive aspects so its not just punching numbers. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable, more answers needed for small business I have used Turbotax for many years and have generally found it to be reliable and a good walk through the tax preparation process. I use the Q&A and community section quite a bit and feel that in the small business section, the specific needs of my business are not always met. The organization of the responses to a search are also hard to follow and I'm not sure if they are in order of relevance. I have been preparing my taxes enough years with Turbotax that I can wade through most areas and I find that the software is a good instructional guide to having optimal tax situation for very little money. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax makes doing taxes easy! I have been using TurboTax to file my taxes for over 15 years. I would not want to file my taxes any other way. I love how TurboTax walks you through every step. TurboTax was there for our family, when we purchased our first home, when we went back to school,when we had a baby, when we changed careers, and when we started a business. You don't have to worry about making any errors because TurboTax checks for errors and scans to make sure your returns are correct based on IRS standards. It also checks to make sure you are getting all the credits and deductions that you qualify for. Thank you TurboTax! March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Customer service referred me to a tax consultant concerning a question on Ma. form about IRA previously taxed contributions. The consultant, Denice, answered my question quickly and easily. I had another question that was driving me nuts about an exempt portion of interest of an $11 credit on a Ma. form, that was keeping me from finishing my return. Denice took the time to hook up to my tax form and with professionalism, expertise and a friendly courteous manner solved the problem after going through a number of procedures to help a novice computer operator. Thank you Denice and Turbo Tax. Great Job! April 9, 2015
  • 2015-05-28T12:54:54.263-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-266, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12650, tr_12650
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 264 265 266 267 268 ... 292 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.