1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 266 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12917 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed with this new version I have used Deluxe many many years and loved it. Easy to use. This new Business version, which I was required to get because no Sch C or Sch D or 8606 in Deluxe, I don't like. Took me an hour to figure out how to import the 2013 from Deluxe into Business version. I hate that it starts out with BUSINESS questions/forms instead of personal and W-2 and simple things first. My business has always been complicated to input so having to start out with that first was a nightmare. I always input EVERYTHING else first (1099's, etc) and saved business for the end. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The software is good for small business. We operate a nonprofit and we use this program to complete our W-2s and 1099s. Helped a friend do his taxes this year. He is a farmer. Was surprised that there was no home office component in that section. Farmers need some where to work on their business too. I just wondered why there was no recommendation to do a dummy form for business use of home in a Turbo Tax file under schedule c and transfer the numbers. It was very difficult to use the IRS worksheet to do it. Someone needs to program and correct for that. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deteriorating Interview Process, Compartmentalized You now have to buy a "Business" version of Turbo Tax if you are an individual taxpayer with W-2s and a schedule C for freelance income? There was a second download I had to install while preparing my return as well, although I can't remember what the topic was now. Turbo Tax is just creating more products for sale. The interview process is so unintuitive and convoluted this year. I couldn't even bother to take the time to keep track of all the things that I hated this year. I have used Turbo Tax for many years and will be trying something else for 2015. March 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big headache TurboTax missed a marked estimated value for self employed insurance premiums in the federal forms. TT allowed me to efile my federal forms with an estimated value. The estimated value was caught in the state review. This should not have happened! I have spent over 8 hours on the phone to just to find the marked estimated value and many more hours to figure out the next steps. I now need to amend the federal but I have not filed the state. TT does not handle this case. Looks like I need to file incorrectly with the state and then amend both. Not happy. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic comments The States programs sometimes, it picks up erroneous values for income etc.(glitches) already imputed in the Federal Return. I file Federal and states NY,OH and my resident NJ. My Federal return is very long, the program do not have detailed "tax item Tree file" to allow you to jump back and forth in the step by step input procedure! "Show topic is not well treed". Download 1st. State program is defaulted for resident State it is no good for multiple state users like me. State income tax instruction booklets should be included with the State downloading. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble with vehicle disposal I had to call for help in entering a disposal date for my previous car, which I used for business. The screen offered no help at all, and the help agent had to puzzle through the process. The choices for the old car were a) I own it, b) I lease it, and c) not my car. There wasn't a choice for "I disposed of it" on that screen, so none of the choices were valid. I also didn't like having to re-enter many choices on various screens in going back through a process to correct something or fill in a blank. Why can't you save the previous choices all the time? February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was Nervous, but it worked great I've used TurboTax for years, but I agonized over whether or not I should buy and use it this year due to all the hubbub. I'm very glad I did though. I use Schedule C, so I purchased the Deluxe download, and when I got to the Schedule C part, it prompted me to upgrade for free to Home & Business which I did, and it was seamless. No troubles whatsoever. Very happy. I also did my State taxes. Note that I do not e-file my returns; I print them out and mail hard copies. Anyway, I'm very happy I could stay with the ease and info transfer of TurboTax this year! March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY FRUSTRATING!!! I don't know what is going on with your software/product, but after years of using turbo tax faithfully, I am so very disappointed this year. After getting 3/4 of the way finished, turbo tax just shut down on me and when i restarted, all my information was lost!! This happened TWICE!! Its literally like I had to do my taxes 3X over! I feel that I rushed through the third time, so I hope everything got entered correctly. It just shouldn't have had to go this way!! Thanks Turbo Tax....I now have a SUPER migraine and will do things very different next year!! February 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by HOW NOT TO CREATE SOFTWARE SYSTEM WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO DOWNLOAD THE ONE FREE STATE SOFTWARE THAT I AM ENTITLED TO. JUST BECAUSE I HAD INCOME IN TWO STATES [LA & MS] AND I WANTED ONLY LA DOWNLOAD. IT WAS ASKING FOR 39.99 EVEN FOR THE FREE DOWNLOAD THAT I AM ENTITLED TO. I HAD TO CALL TURBO TAX THREE TIMES TO GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED BY BUYING A SPECIAL LA DOWNLOAD, COST WAIVED. EVEN THEN, THOUGH THE STATE RETURN WAS COMPLETED, IT WAS UNABLE TO REVIEW IT. I HAD TO ACCEPT STATE RETURN WITH NO REVIEW. VERY SERIOUS FLAW IN THE SYSTEM. Comment coming from a Computer/Software Expert. March 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by After 5 years using turbotax I was disappointed This year was frankly a nightmare. We have used Turbotax successfully for 5 years. But this year, when we tried to enter income from a S corporation it would not let me unless I upgraded. So for one line I had to pay an additional $15. I don't think the system was correct because we had no business expenses and did not need a business section. We only needed to enter into the income section "income from an S corporation". No matter what I did, it would not let me proceed unless I purchased an upgrade. I will likely use another method of filing next year. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long time user It would be nice for you to remind us that you are going to charge us to e-file state returns. Also I have found the printing sequence to be awkward for the past couple years. Printing from the PDF, you have to close the viewer and return to TTax, and then cancel out of the print window to proceed. Also, this year had problems after E-filing Fed, had to use back button to get back to filing options to print out state return to mail. Finally, It would be nice if you gave loyal TTax customers a price break. ( for below, Retired, former small business owner. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by tax questions I like that it is easy to follow but I wish that it would offer more information regarding using your home as an office for your business. It guides to the tax form that you need to retrieve from the IRS but that should be incorporated in the software. In addition, the section about non-farm optional income or tax and farm optional tax method should be spelled out so that turbo tax knows which one to select. Especially if you have used turbo tax in the past and are transferring last year's information in to the current year it should have that information. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turdo Tax For decades I used to do my own taxes by hand, and in recent years I have used professional preparers. TurboTax is by far the cheapest and easiest way to prepare Federal and State returns - BY FAR! I trust their guarantee of accuracy, because if it isn't accurate, I'll sue, and no business wants that bad press. TurboTax reduced my filing from 8-10 hours down to about 2 hours for both returns. Once you have used it and have your personal information entered from a previous year, it cuts the prep time even more. I'll be using TurboTax for the rest of my life. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My GO-TO Tax Program! You know, I need the extra services provided: that being guidance through this experience. I had the option to cut corners, but this is my first time to do my own taxes, so I wanted major guidance. I got that and more. Big advantage was the program sees your errors coming and prevents them so you do not have to correct errors forever. (I was told that would happen, and guess what! I had none the first time through.) Getting me my best refund was the topper, so thanks Mr. Turbo Tax. There is nothing about you NOT to like and find totally awesome. Best, Scott April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Opinion As an accountant with 40 years experience in taxes, using Turbo Tax has changed my life - I no longer hate preparing tax returns, I love it! When I began working in public accounting in 1977, we prepared the tax returns by hand, using a pencil, and then a copy of the pencil version was sent to the IRS. It was a nightmare from Washington. Today, Turbo tax has condensed the tax enormous size of the tax return into simple and easy to answer questions. Turbo Tax has taken a government train wreck, and turned into something that anyone can understand. Great job! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Convert Previously I was paying an accountant about $200 to file my taxes. Even with that it took me many hours to put together information for her and I was always worried I had missed something. Last year I still paid the accountant to run the numbers, but for comparison sake I also did it myself with Turbotax. I received a much bigger refund through Turbotax because of a deduction that the accountant had been missing for years. Plus Turbotax is easier, cost less and gives me more confidence than the accountant. Now I will file "happily ever after" with Turbotax. March 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay - I have used Turbo tax for many years to do my own taxes. I also help my mom with hers. In the past I have found it pretty straightforward. Not so much this year -- especially when I got to the states - Georgia, Michigan. I thought about letting my daughter use to do her new york taxes - but the cost seemed too high - $39.99 for one ez form. She ended up doing them on-line for free. I also did not appreciate the requirement that I use the business version, just because of very small side consulting work. I think I'll investigate other options for next year. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highest Refund EVER! I just finished my taxes and I just found out that I am getting the biggest refund I have ever got. EVER! It did take a little while to answer all of the questions, but it was totally worth it and some of my information was transferred from last year since I used Turbo Tax last year too. So I just needed to quickly review it. I am truly satisfied with Turbo Tax. Even when there were one or two things I had to think about it was not that hard. The explainations and examples were so good and helpful that I did not even have to call the customer service number. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I just completed my taxes. I am neither a skilled administrator or a person with tremendous eye for detail, so I really enjoyed Turbo tax. It transferred data from last year and that really sped things up. The only thing I was a little worried about was the e-filing pin that I generated, wasn't carried over correctly to the last of three forms in the wizard that contained the pin. i updated it in the last form of the wizard that required it, so we will see if there are any issues with filing being rejected. Other than that, it was pretty painless experience. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful!! it's great how Turbotax automatically does the calculates needed of your entries, and changes the calculations involved in other forms, etc. whenever you might change an entry. . I also think it's great that information from prior years is automatically transferred to the current year you are working on -- for example, it added a capital gains loss worksheet and automatically put in the proper numbers, based on last year's form. you can alter or delete information as needed; It also 'knows' what additional questions to ask you based on information you put in April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased Again! I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 10 years and each year has felt the same. Makes doing taxes easier and faster and I am confident that I am getting the refund I am due (if any) and that my tax return is complete and right and with a modicum of privacy regarding my personal business not present with CPA's or tax shops. This also takes the angst out of the yearly tax changes relative to my filing and year to year changes are consistent with previous years and I don't feel like I have to relearn a computer language to use the software. It's good stuff! April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 Not Too Happy This Year This was my most disappointing use of Turbo Tax. I was sure if I spent the extra 49.99 I would get maximum use of my deductions, but I was wrong. I couldn't write off my meals, my car maintenance (I'm a courier so I need a working car) or other deductions attributed to using the car. I attribute this to my lack of how to properly use the program and find my way around certain windows. However, despite my disappointments, I will be using Turbo Tax in 2015. $49.99 for a tax preparer is cheaper than the $300-$400 being asked for by tax agencies here in my area. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tell customer why Schedule A is reduced It took me hours to figure out that my schedule A total numbers did not match on property tax and deductible interest because they were automatically reduced by the 8.7% home office deduction I was taking. Duh! A little help comment on this to the customer would be nice. Also, last year with the auto-load from previous years it kept dumping my X-wife into the form. UGHH! I could not get rid of her. I had to start all over like a fresh customer and load from scratch to get things right. This should not be. Provide an option to purge somebody out of the forms. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product This is a very good product - easy to use with good customer support. But at the very end you find out that your one free state e-filing is not free, it is $19.95, (only the preparation is free) so I will be printing and mailing ours. Also - why doesn't TurboTax provide the State return preparation for 5 years? One other thing. In the very beginning it prompts you to put in "Your" information - but it should prompt you to put in the first taxpayer's information because what you input here will be the top name on your tax return. TurboTax should explain that. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get 'er done! Each year that I use Turbo Tax I get more familiar with it and like it more. I am a professional tax preparer and use a program developed by a huge company. I see more simplicity using Turbo Tax and think anyone would feel more comfortable. The form I've had the most trouble with all along is the non-cash contributions when the list of donations has to go to so many places. I think it could be made a little easier to follow. Over all, I am so happy to be able to jump back from forms to help with step by step and it makes it so much less stressful to complete. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable as always I don't understand why there have been so many negative reviews this year. I purchased Personal and Business version from Amazon at a good price. Entered all my information, and as I have experienced the last 13+ years, TurboTax answered my questions within the app and educated me throughout the process on several new tax laws. I find this program to be reliable. I'm using a windows 7 HP laptop with no problems installing, etc. My only complaint is that I will have to pay for additional returns at an exorbitant rate. Not sure if that is Intuit's fault or not. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 program the people who helped online were very helpful. thank you. My main gripe is that I pay $100+ for the home and business program. I cannot file my PA state tax electronically for some reason regarding a K-1. So I print and mail. I do a federal return for my 94 year old Dad- costs $42+ to download state and then you want another $25 to e file. So I elect to print and mail- but it doesn't give me that option anymore. I have to go all way back through program and say I will print my federal and state. (I already e filed the federal)- one big mess. Takes forever. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tax Software on the Market! I worked as a professional tax preparer for 9 years at H&R Block. Upon retiring I reviewed the various tax software on the market and have found TurboTax to be way better than TaxCut and the others. For the last 8 years I have been using TurboTax to do taxes for myself and for 4 other family members with various degrees of complications, from self-employment to complex investment porfolios, and have found TurboTax to be well suited to all situations. The ability to import bank and brokerage information directly into the tax returns is the best feature of all. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by OK Filling in the forms under the TT interview system is smooth and easy to follow. When there are errors on review there is great telephone support to get the errors fixed. My telephone helper spoke clearly and without a foreign accent making it easy for me to understand. The screen sharing feature was hard to get started but was helpful once it got running. I have used TT for umpteen years after it caught my accountant in multiple errors. I was not happy with the confusion and the extra cost the required upgrade to a higher level to do my securities this year March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State tax would not email I went through the program with no problems until the end. I tried to E-mail my returns and needed an update to proceed. Went to the answer line to get a fix. Uncoupled the returns and the federal taxes e-mailed OK. Tried the state again and got the same update notice. I had paid the state email fee already. There was a very complicated instruction to maybe fix this mess, but I was not computer competent enough to get through the instructions. I gave up and mailed the state tax forms. I don't know what will happen to my paid fee. Guess it is lost. Bard Allison March 6, 2015
  • 2015-09-01T11:09:38.319-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-266, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12917, tr_12917
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 264 265 266 267 268 ... 298 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.