1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 266 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Improvement, still a good product. I have been using Turbo tax for fifteen years and I remember liking it more when I first started. So rather than feel that the program has improved I feel less comfortable. It does a good job, just feels disjointed or too separated from the actual forms. Not always easy to get specific answers as to where to enter information specific to my situation. Probably if you have never filed paper forms may not seem like a big deal. Personally I like the older versions that more closely mirrored the actual forms. Now you can toggle between form view and the interview but again I am not in love with the way that actually happens. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Software For Taxes Ever! I used to use other software many years ago and struggled to do my taxes. Then, a gentleman who worked for me also did taxes part time for other people and he told me about Turbo Tax. That was over 11 years ago and I am still using it today. It has just gotten better and better over the years and now everyone should be able to use it instead of paying a professional. Just keep ledgers of what you spent using Excel and at the end of the year just plug in the numbers and go! I am also a part-time actor so I think Turbo Tax should hire me for their next commercial. Because I am not just an actor, I ALSO USE THE PRODUCT!!! February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amended returns Good: (1) Carryover of interest and div from previous year helpful and comparison of previous year to be sure all items are listed is what I did by hand before TurboTax. (2) State tax easily done for me. Bad: Last year one dividend listing was not carried over and had to file an ammended return. After filing, I realized I needed to file another ammended return for the same year. Even after following instructions for a second 1040-X from the TurboTax help web site, the numbers in the column A (original amount or previously adjusted) did NOT reflect the adjusted amount. I could not use TurboTax to file the second 1040-X March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Every year good until 2014 taxes I have loved Turbo tax ever since I started using it over a decade ago. But in 2014 I got married. What a pain it was doing turbo tax this year! It only pulls in 2013 data for one return. We needed to compare married filing singly and married filing jointly. We had to fill out 3 forms manually. There was a lot of opportunity for human error and we made our fair share. We finally went to a tax professional to be sure we were doing the right thing. We ended up filing as married, filing singly. It would be great if Turbo Tax could automatically compare our options and not make us fill out a new set of forms for each option. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets Easier Every Year Although downloading small business and investment sections is an extra step, I appreciate that it was easy and was included in the price of the original product. The investment sections were a bit difficult to work with than past versions but that could be government mandated. The state forms were extremely simple and the vast majority of the work was just carried forward from the federal. Have used TurboTax in the past (also tried H&R Block previously) and the style this year is vastly improved without the video presentation/prompting. I particularly like the availability of deeper explanations but only when requested. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not happy with Turbo Tax cahnges I'm a retired CPA and have used Turbo Tax for many years. I used the Deluxe version in the past as I need Schedule C, E, D as well as other forms not now included in the Deluxe version that i initially purchased for my 2014 tax return. Since I have a fairly complex return, I now need the Home and Business version. I use other Intuit products (Quicken and Quick Books Pro) and find them quite good, but am quite disappointed in the changes that were made requiring me to buy the more expensive version to prepare my return. Major PR fiasco for you guys as H & R Block surely is eating into you core customers for tax software. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Go Back to Last Year's Version Your company has made a terrible mistake in requiring upgrades to Premier and Home and Business for access to Schedule C and Schedule E. I have been a loyal customer for over 15 years and in the past the Deluxe version satisfied all of my requirements. In 2015 you need to allow people to access Schedules C and E without upgrading. The Premier and Home and Business versions should provide a bunch of additional features for people needing it. Many customers (like me) only need basic access to these 2 schedules. If you do require upgraded versions in the future, I will definitely be using a different tax product next year. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One small glitch I have been a Turbo Tax user since before it was called Turbo Tax and love the product. There was just one tiny but annoying problem with this year's version. Before the files could be transmitted I had to correct the way my suffix (Jr.) was typed in the form. I went back to the personal info page and found the examples from Turbo Tax to be exactly as it was filled in by Turbo Tax. After correcting it from Jr. to JR I had to page through the entire file section to get back to the transmit page. This correction should have been handled by the program back on the first page. Oh well. Stuff happens even with the best program. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I purchased TurboTax Home and Business version to file taxes for a lawn care business is started last year. When I installed it, for some reason, it thought I had the Premier version and wouldn't let me fill out the section for self-employment. After about 30 minutes on the phone with customer service, they finally resolved this issue. Then when I got to my State return, the program wouldn't download the correct paperwork for my state return. After about an hour on the phone, customer service was finally able to resolve this problem as well. These glitches seem totally unnecessary for a program that has been around this long. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by State eFile failed; otherwise all was okay Good going through original eFiling, Federal accepted with no problems but state was rejected due to "missing recipient name on 1099R. However, I checked all the forms and there was a name on each of the 1099Rs. Then tried again to e-file state and got error message: 601ERRV:?,PARSE_2 -?:? - Malformed Data. Intuit does not know what caused this problem. No resolution after hours of self-research and call with tech support - who tried hard to be helpful - so had to print the return and mail. (Of course, my printer is broken at the moment so this was not at all convenient.) They are refunding my state e-filing fee, however. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Speedy filing I've used Turbo Tax and MacinTax before that for many years. Usually, it doesn't take me long to fill out my taxes. This year was no exception. Everything went quite smoothly. One problem which I've had for years is that the program asks me for any adjustments I need to make between the Federal treatment and State treatment of income and deductions for my returns. I have no idea... I really want the program to *tell me* if there are differences and what they are. Really, only a tax professional is going to know this info. Other than this, I think the product is a good product, and I will most likely continue to use it. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax EXTRA STRENGTH As a CPA, I debate which tax software to use for my personal taxes. Every year, I purchase the Desktop version of Home & Business Turbo Tax to do my PERSONAL taxes. My favorite part of it is how it lets you see ALL of the forms -- including that very important -- Schedule C, while you are working on them! Actually, I like the prior year comparison on Turbo Tax much better than the ones by the expensive tax software that my employer uses. If tax software were headache cures, I'd call it Turbo Tax Extra Strength. It is so much better than the Turbo Tax Online where you can't see your Schedule C. SEE MY PHOTO OF TURBO CAT March 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by experince I have used Turbotax Deluxe for many years. This time I wound up having to get a second program, Premier for simple investment entries; Then I could not file my State of OH form through you--kept getting into a viscous loop--always needing to update the latest version of the form--I tried both Internet Exploror and Chrome to no avail. The I went ahead and purchased the OH filing option, but again no help--still the viscous circle. I filed the federal form, but I will need to file the OH form by hand and mail it myself--very disappointed and I demand a refund of the $39.99 I spent in trying to access the OH filing option. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Premium I am greatly disappointed in having to purchase Premium Turbo Tax when the past years Deluxe Turbo Tax has been sufficient. To add further to the insult was an additional up charge of $10 to work on certain business expenses. I thought that was the whole purpose of Premium. Also, I qualified for discount pricing on Turbo Tax Premium from my work, but It had to be the on line version. I need to be able to work on four or five tax returns at a time without closing it out, deleting it, and starting again. I had to pay extra for the programs and pay the price increase. I do not qualify for the discount offered by Intuit because I am late filing 2013 returns because of logistical issues. April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Support Today I was trying to buy my Audit Defense and file my taxes using my credit card. For some reason, the software would not open the corresponding window in my browser so I had to call Turbo Tax. Because of their high call volumes, they gave me an option to be put in the queue and they would call me back. I had to do this twice, once for my Audit Defense, and once to buy my state e-file. It worked like a charm and both of my representatives were friendly and took the time to help me - it was a very quick process and took a slight complication, and made it easy to handle. I am very pleased and happy to say...I used Turbo Tax! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problems with filing HI state return I can not file my HI state return due to an error that on form N312 my state tax number has too many digits. When I check the form it is blank except for my name and SSN and the window for state tax code has "none assigned" in bold red letters. Well, this is a form for a state tax credit that I do not claim, there is no information on the form and I do not have a state tax number. However, I can not find a way to delete this form from my return to clear this error and proceed to file my HI return. I leave the country on Monday for six weeks and need this resolved quickly, or I have to file by mail before Monday. Thank you. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accurate, easy and fast I love Turbo Tax. Since my first experience three years ago, I have never looked back. I avoided Turbo Tax for many years thinking that the system would ask me questions I didn't know the answers to or confuse me with tax jargon. But, after a friend talked me into using it, I found that I was easily able to answer the inquiries from the system. The system also provides inquiry pop ups defining key terms and tax situations including examples. I actually enjoy my tax preparation experience now and, because of Turbo Tax's continuous updates and crosschecks , am confident that my taxes are filed accurately. Well worth the money! March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product; W2G entry terrible The good: TurboTax is an excellent product. I've used it over 15 years and plan to next year as well. In general, there is little wasted keystroking. I get my taxes (and my partner's) done in the better part of 3 days. The irritating: EVERY INDIVIDUAL W2G has to be keystroked. Even with copy-and-paste, doing 25 W2G entries still takes a couple of hours. So many other places TT permits multiple entries on a single page, in almost spreadsheet economy. But W2Gs? Not on your life! You go through 5 pages, returning to the list of the ones you already entered for EVERY W2G! TT staff, you can do so much better on this entry method! April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by All Day with Turbo Tax I found my self very frustrated at time during this process. Your search icon absolutely searches for nothing and displays nothing. It does not even say I dunno. It just leaves you hanging. Also, you cannot scroll down the page. You have to always mouse the scroll bar. Time-consuming and uncomfortable. Your error review/correction process is different --and the change did not make it better. It's cumbersome to find the thing needing correction. Finally, so many many items did not need correcting. I distinctly remember having answered all those questions and yet there I was chasing after answers already given. Otherwise, A-OK. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eleven Years of Turbo Tax Filings I just filed my eleventh tax return with Turbo Tax. I keep up my financial records all year long, and start working on my taxes in January. By the time I get the last form from the financial institutions I deal with, it's all done. Turbo Tax prompts me for what I need, and I just have to get it. The hard part is remembering what I've already entered, and since it's all visible either in the step by step or forms view, I just do one last pass to get that warm, fuzzy feeling before E-Filing. Buy the software on Amazon, and get a 10% bonus on whatever part of your federal refund you use to buy a gift card - what could be better? April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax has been difficult to order this year Doing the taxes was fine and what I have become to expect. The problem came with any time I tried to purchase anything on line. I kept getting a payment error for the state program. Once when I wanted to buy an additional state and second when I wanted to pay to e file. I waited a long time to get purchase of the additional state program but refused to do that again to file so just printed out the forms and mailed them. You lost a sale and next year I may just think about going some place else. I was already a little miffed that the deluxe program had been dumbed down and I was forced to up grade to the most expensive program. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Surprises As usual, the program is easy to navigate and use. The thing that was surprising was that I needed to upgrade to the Home and Business version for this year. Even though I was upgraded for free this year, I anticipate my cost of the program being significantly higher next year when the Deluxe version was always able to handle my return in prior years. It feels like a way for Intuit to increase their revenue by making features previously available on the Deluxe version no longer available, forcing customers to the more costly solution. I will seriously reevaluate my choices next year before purchasing Turbo Tax for 2015 returns. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weird situation with import from previous year This version of TurboTax is very similar to previous versions. However, I did find it better than previous in navigating back into previously covered materials to change numbers, maximize contributions etc. Still find it better than most other tax software I have used, especially for those of us who own small business and have to provide Schedule C's. The weirdest problem occurred with the import feature. for some reason it automatically decided that I should declare unreimbursed business expenses for a Job that I left the previous year. Did not seem to cross reference with the current W-2's or 1099's. That should not happen. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax gets better every year! Just like fine wine, TurboTax gets better every year. I was an early adopter of Turbo Tax back in the mid 80's when it first came out as Chipsoft's MacInTax, and subsequently purchased by Intuit a few years later and merged to TurboTax. Every single year this program keeps improving, and stability improves. I've found that year over year, I am forced to go up the ladder to keep getting the forms I need. (I have 2 LLC's, and a need to do a K-1, & Schedule C&D.) I now use the Home & Business version which fits my needs. Years ago, I used to use just Deluxe. Anyway, I'm happy with the continuity and stability. Fantastic Job!!! February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Skips over home office expenses The only things I really don't like are the fact that once I enter that I have a home-office, it doesn't take me right to the home utilities and expenses, but goes on to other topics. At the end I realize I haven't entered those write-offs and have to go SEARCHING for where to enter them. This is the second year this has happened to me. Don't undertsand why it hasn't been fixed yet. Also, when I edit a section, it doesn't show clearly that that is done. Maybe changing that button to a different color would help. I have to scroll down to look for where I was and find the next point. Otherwise, I'm pretty happy with the software. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems, what are all of the complaints about? I am not sure what negative reviews were about. Everything went smoothly, I liked the layout, and explanations were great, and ItsDeductible is terrific for entering donations. Included in price was Federal return, 1 free federal e-file, and 1 free state return. I had to pay to e-file state. This is no different than what I have been doing every year. Also, I can do all of my children's taxes. It is free if I mail printed forms in, but I have to pay for both state and fed e-file fees. I also like to pay for the audit insurance where I don't have to talk to IRS person at-all if there is a problem (might be $60 for this service?) March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by DYI Taxes I"ve been a TurboTax user for over 15 years. I feel it is important to understand my taxes and the things the impact them. TurboTax does that for me in a very logical, straight-forward way that enables me to really understand the elements of my federal and state taxes. Given that I have a relatively complicated return (multiple states, partnerships, personal business, etc.), I find the process to be very doable as long as you have gathered all the information before you start. This is taxes for the common person as well as for the unusual situation. Highly recommend - now if they would just eliminate the filing fee for state :( April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Refund Overall this is a very good program, it leads yopu step by step and is close to fool proof. I believe it also cuts down on the chance of an audit verses doing it by hand and mailing it in! It has been especially helpful for me in prepairing returns that involve realestate and Form C whic we us for our new LLC business. It's step by step and walks me through the items I need. It additionally prepares me for what I need to keep track of for the next tax season, whic is a great help. Gives me a heads up for how to keep my records and if I'm diligent during the year, it will save me time when i get ready to file again the next year! April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still good, but could be better Have used Turbotax (and Macintax) since forever. It is good and reliable, and I wouldn't consider changing because of the ease of importing prior data, but it could still be improved: Make it easier to go more directly to the data input point (NOT the actual form) when you know what you need to input/change. Now, you have to go back to the beginning of an interview section and plow through all the questions until you get to the point where you need to make the change. SUGGEST expanding the Index for Step-by-Step view to include many more points in the interview process, thus enabling a quicker access to the needed data entry point. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1040 & 1041 Expert Help a phone call away. I have been using Turbotax deluxe for filing are joint individual returns for ages. What a breeze. Since I have been doing 1040 for 5 decades, I have found no errors in the returns. I just started using 1041 for a trust in 2013. I found the best way to get a hold of expert advice is to ask the question and sometimes the exact same question is asked by someone in the community. Then you will be able to click on contact us. Use the prompt for expert advice - $19.95, however if you have purchased the software, there is no cost. A certified accountant will call you back..... so no waiting on speaker phone for 45". Turbotax rocks!!!! March 17, 2015
  • 2015-04-26T12:33:55.245-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-266, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_12504, tr_12504
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 264 265 266 267 268 ... 289 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.