1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 266 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13703 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate Answer each question in a truthful way and gather all necessary paperwork and bundle it and file it in a container. Label it. Each year maintain the supporting documentation in a separate container. Save all of the receipts having to do with repairs and parts for you investment properties. Save your medical expense receipts, and your mortgage payments. then when the time comes, enter each one of the fields based on your saved evidence. This is a very user friendly software. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Overall Good, but can be a time waster Overall this is a good program. I can't imagine doing my taxes without it. But, you can waste time filling out worksheets that won't count. Many deductions have high limits before they kick in, so check that out before you spend all the time filling in the details. For example, we had storm damage. We started filling out everything before we realized we would need tens of thousands of loss before it made a difference. If they would just tell you up front, you would save time. February 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Force to take extra steps After better than 10 years of use of turbo tax, I think this is the last. I own a rental property and do freelance photography. All other years I filed with TurboTax Deluxe version now I am force to purchase the Premier edition because of the freelance business. Also, in the pass I was able to file my state return by mail if I chose to. Now when the state return is printed to mail, it has "Do not file" all over it. That will force you to pay an additional $19.99 to e-file it. January 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disconcerting final review before filing I had run multiple reviews, but just before filing there was one more review. It resulted in a couple of changes. That was disconcerting, and it meant the preview copy I had printed was not quite correct. BUMMER. What a waste of paper. Could not the earlier reviews have found those final issues before? Sure wish they had. I much prefer the disc version to the on-line version due to greater access to forms. I am so glad I was able to change back to the disc version last year. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Tax Titan!!! Without Turbo Tax I'd be completely at sea and drowning in waves of paperwork. Even with today's technology, it seems impossible to keep accurate records without dedicating a file cabinet to each year. However, TurboTax is now smoothly integrated with my computer systems and having the option of saving everything as a pdf, accessible whenever needed, I have been able to eliminate 90% of my many years of filing/storing records. Thanks guys, for giving me back half my office!!! February 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Glad it's over! We have been clients for many years. We have always liked working with Turbo Tax. This year was not as good as in the past. The population of information was not good. There were lots of Xxxxxxx's and a lot more work for us. I hope you will go back to the old method. It was much better than this year. The three gentlemen we worked with were awesome. Taxes are always stressful and the three of them were outstanding. I would sure like to have them help us next year. A.H.Walker April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Bait and Switch The packaging says 'FEDERAL RETURNS & FEDERAL E-FILE plus STATE RETURNS. It contains a link to activate the state download. And, after February 17th, that link cost you $40 for your state return. Yet, you didn't change the packaging or the cost or the advertising at Sam's Club. AND, you do not note that detail on the packaging - something like "Oh yeah, after February, it will cost you AT LEAST another $40 more plus filing fees." I am not happy with this series of changes. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the ease of use. I've used Turbotax for many years. This year's version is super easy to use. The questions and format cover intricate tax situations. Luckily, you wised up by allowing a free download of Home & Business. My daughter has a small business so her 1040 includes a schedule C. It is a simple C with a small income and mileage expense. Certainly not a complicated Schedule C, but that is the form needed to complete the return. Overall, very pleased with your product and recommend it. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TTX2014-RBFJR I have used TTX for 10 years or so. In general I love it. I am self employed so I use schedule C schedule D, and schedule A. More details in the examples of business expenses would be helpful. I would also like to be able to print individual screens of supporting details for cross reference with other things and other years without pulling up the whole return. The price is becoming less and less of a good deal even with Costco discounts. Repeat buyers should get a better deal. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes for a US citizen living abroad - Could not update the amounts for 1099-INT and 1009-DIV for existing accounts that I had imported in 2013. Would have been nice for this to be done automatically. - Could not find Capital One 360 bank in the search list - Could not import tax documents from Morgan Stanley StockConnect (Intuit ESPP!) - Importing 1099-DIV from E*Trade brokerage account did not import my investment income automatically. - Help link for the required forms to be printed (after e-filing) did not work May 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbotax 2014 review Turbo tax had serious problems this year. 1. Issue of which program to use--finally opened by Turbo tax. I chose the more expensive one to be sure of the right program for me. 2. Poor downloads, especially for its deductible. Sort of fixed by Turbo tax, but not listed in the point by point program has having worked. When I tried to download a second time, would not work. Finally found the fixed download had actually worked by checking the FORMS. So a klunky program this year. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Easy to use I have used Turbo Tax for several years and have always been satsfied. This year was no different, the walk through every scenario makes it easy not to miss anything. I found it easy just group the document into simple categories and add as necessary. It creates whatever forms are needed. We have a Home Business my wife works and I work for a lare company, i have investments and stock sales etc. The process to add all these various documents is easy and simple with Turbo Tax. March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax review 2014 I liked Turbo Tax much better when it was just a tax program and not an advertising medium. Get rid of all the unnecessary screens on the paid version and offer a free version or lower cost version for people willing to look at your ads. I use Turbo Tax to do the taxes for most of my adult children and grandchildren as well as a few friends. I would like to be able to efile a few more than the five file limit, perhaps ten would do. Why do we have to pay to file state returns? February 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wheres the turbo tax? Had to have a Cosco employee help me find the correct software package. Strange, since I've been buying turbo tax for years. I had trouble with the free upgrade to business. I only make a few hundred on the side. I had trouble with a free upgrade to premium or something. Neither worked because i needed access to my "account". Even though i typed in the correct password and question answer I was rejected. I gave up. Until today. then it seems to have corrected itself. Thank you. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Preparation and Regulations in Laymen's Terms TurboTax is better than an accountant, because an accountant can misread your figures or omit items that you gave them. This allows the taxpayer to input his own data and check the accuracy of the calculations. TurboTax is up to date on the tax code. Their is no way for you to know if your accountant is aware of all the changes. I enjoyed the format and look forward to filing my return for 2015. Turbo Tax has provided me with a system to use for my recordkeeping for next year. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long time user I have been using TurboTax from the days of MS DOS! I actually first transitioned to Windows so that I could continue using TurboTax to do my taxes. I have continued using it because the program is reliable and comprehensive. I use the "Walk Me Through" and have found more deductions and increased my refund. I can do my taxes myself and do them more quickly using TurboTax. I have even helped friends with their taxes, knowing that TurboTax will give an accurate return every time. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A sanity saver I have used TurboTax for the last 10 years. I have been very happy with its format and ease of use. At times some conflicting information pups up. This year when you are asked for the pin to sign the returns, it seemed that you could use last year pin. But that is not correct; you have to obtain a new pin from the IRS. TurboTax addresses this requirement later. At one time, you could use the same pin every year. I would recommend streamlining the language and format in this area. March 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Working with Mac version. While doing e-file and AFTER paying the Fed tax by credit card and AFTER seeing messages that everything had been checked, right before transmitting, a message came up that a few more questions needed to be answered. There was some Form that needed an answer and when putting in an answer the Fed and State taxes re-calculated and changed by about $50 on Fed and about $35 on State (CA). This should have been caught BEFORE I paid the Fed tax by credit card. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful completing a pretty complicated return Have been using TurboTax and MacinTax before it for 20 years. Great to be able to import previous year's info and data. There are still some quirks to figure out, but it is getting more user friendly. Liked the way I could go to "Forms" to see any errors and then correct them. Some of the instructions could be clearer on how to address certain subjects. I did find the "Help" very useful on IRA and Roth IRA rules. Downloading investment data on capital gains was a big time saver. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Educational This was really easy to use to file both fed and state taxes. First time using it, and found it to be super educational in that we usually just drop our "stuff" off with "a guy" and they kinda sort it out and do our taxes based off of that. Here they get into the nitty gritty of all the things you can enter, and had me searching for things I didn't even know I could include, and was definitely writing stuff down that I should be keeping track of for next year. Also, it was easy. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Annoying Upsells I went to annualize my income to reduce my underpayment penalty. The form didn't have instructions for grabbing last years total tax liability, and I had to google it in another window. Then it didn't fill all the fields in correctly on form 2210AI, and threw an error during the review time, and I had to go fix the forms manually. :( Kept trying to sell me state returns, even though I live in a state with no income tax. Kept trying to sell me "Audit Defender" - No Thank You! April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy as usual I think we bought a version we didn't need, because we weren't able to get the forms for investment from the basic version. However we had purchased the software before going on vacation out of the country, and received emails that weren't read until we got back. I don't have the receipt, so I just used the version we got. You should make a version for retired folks, on Social Security, with pensions and IRAs and other investment income. We don't need the home business version. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Filing I sold a 2nd home that was used as a rental in past years but not in 2014. I took me three attempts before a found the correct interview to use. TT did finally get me to the right place and it may have been my misunderstanding of the situation and how to handle. The biggest problem was when I filed the Feds rejected my filing for wrong Fed Payer number I entered incorrectly. I entered it correctly in the State section but not in the Fed section. TT did not detect the error. Why? February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have been using TT for years and it has always served me well. There has never been a question of accuracy, I believe it it the gold standard in tax programs. For those of us who have fairly complex returns I think it would be nice to have a third method setting, between step by step and forms. I would like to be able to enter the data I know how to handle on forms and then get an abbreviated step routine that would check not just accuracy but for things I might have omitted. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amended 2013 Fed Return Tricky I used TurboTax Deluxe 2013 to prepare an amended return (Fed and Maryland). My original Fed return was adjusted by IRS (additional refund due to an error in total estimated tax payment on the original return). I had to manually make the entries for this adjustment directly in Form 1040X (forms mode). For 1040X TurboTax printed the entire modified 1040 return instead of just printing the schedules and forms that were changed. I manually removed the unnecessary forms/schedules. February 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax doesn't know how to handle divorce & ACA I have 3 kids from a previous marriage and since I'm allowed to deduct them, they are listed as dependents on my taxes. HOWEVER, they are on All Kids (medicaid in Illinois) with their mother. Turbo Tax did not seem to comprehend that my 1095-A form did not include the kids, and Turbo Tax kept trying to repopulate the electronic form with the kids info and then gave me error messages. FIX THIS!!!!! You made me miss the e-filing deadline and I paid for state efiling for nothing!!!! October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and covers many areas not expected I have a fairly complicated tax situation. I have investment income, multiple partnership K-1s, self employment income and W-2 income on deferred compensation. I have used Turbo Tax for years and find it very easy to use. It covers all my tax situations and it is quick. In the past it has also covered stock option transactions. I recommend Turbo Tax to anyone who has used a tax service in the past for their complicated return but has a computer and a basic knowledge of income tax. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best TurboTax software yet!! Over the past few years, I have found using TurboTax Home & Business, very frustrating at times, in terms of entering info asked on each page, only to learn a few pages later that it was in the wrong category, had to go back, correct prior entry & enter it on right page. This back & forth really prolonged the process!! However, this year, it seemed soooo much faster & easier; instructions were clear and pages made much more sense to me. Please keep it this way for future years! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Experience Initially disappointed that I had to upgrade to Home and Business after using the De Luxe version last year whilst in the middle of my return but the upgrade was so easy and transparent when done online at the time and overall it was a great experience. Also Turbo Tax say that they will refund $25 because of the upgrade requirement this year so any pain is taken out. I will recommend Turbo Tax to all my friends, family and business contacts for next year. A great product. Peter January 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by turbotax is bad I have used turbotax since 2007 with no problems until this year. It would not transfer my infro. I had to hand enter all my person infro. Also I could not find my state return on turbo as in the past. so I was forced to efile my state form. when I did I could not get into turbo with my password. for 2 hrs of trying. Turbo servers were messed I guess. Next when I tried to paid for the state form the turbo server took an other hour to get my card info accepted... BAD, BAD, BAD.. April 3, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:15:52.985-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-266, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13703, tr_13703
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 264 265 266 267 268 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.