1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 263 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13703 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by You Messed up I hate what you did, We bought Turbo Tax deduction & homeowner deluxe and I couldn't use it with upgrading to Home & Business (granted that was free) But I didn't realize I was completing my return Online. That made me extremely unhappy. Preparing my Tax Returns this year was more confusing then ever. If you don't switch back 'Turbo Tax deduction & homeowner deluxe' to the way it was I don't believe I will use Turbo Tax next year. Clean up your mess,,,,, Please March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchase TurboTax each year! We use the TurboTax Home and Business version. It transfers key info, prompts for new entries when necessary, and checks for accuracy. It's very user friendly because it explains new or complex items. It's quite efficient since it automatically calculates and enters amounts relative to prior entries. Since it double checks all entries for theory and errors, it's quite reliable and thorough. Then, if desired, it e-files the return(s)! I highly recommend TurboTax! April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TT2014 review I didn't care for the fact that the software kept wanting to go to the web when you asked it anything in the way of help. I also get very annoyed year after year having to pay for the State Taxes to be sent via the web when it makes it sound like that will be free. Maybe it is the truth but it sure feels misleading. The whole having to go to the business version also stunk this year. It was attempted to be remedied but it still cost me extra in time and money. October 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Software Overall, enjoyed using TurboTax as it is very user friendly. Used this software for number of years and the interactive questions are well formed and make sense. Only problem that I found was when getting to a specific spot for editing i had to answer so many questions that were already answered. May be there is a way to do it. One specific example was that I wanted to edit the amount entered for homeowner's insurance and it did not take me directly to the spot. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job I have used Turbotax for many years, using the forms method. The program seems to prefer the interview method. But, I cannot use the program on my main PC as it is a 64 bit. It seems to take a long time to start up and to run while other complex programs run fast. But, although I'm a lawyer, I would not want to do my taxes without the program. On the whole though, I find turbotax to be a very useful tool. Without it, I'd probably hire a professional tax preparer. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience this year First, as everyone found out later, all the features in the deluxe version changed making certain forms require an upgrade. Since I had previously filed for an extension, I was no longer eligible for the free upgrade by the time I performed my taxes, so the overall cost was higher than if I had bought the Home and Business by itself. Next, the package indicated a $19.99 efile but I was charged $25. I have used turbotax for years and this is definitely the last. October 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax has gone downhill over the years Turbo Tax has gone downhill over the years. I have been using this product continuously since 1998 and have seen a general degrading of the product, particularly in the state income tax portion. Only from years of experience in using the product can a person find and correct these errors. While OK for the average tax filing, it's definitely deficient in multiple areas for the person filing a more complicated tax return. Still, for the average person, it's OK. March 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax becomes less transparent and glitchy going back and forth between "easy step" and "forms" was difficult. when trying to re-enter "easy step" it cycles back to beginning instead of where I left it. also program got calculations wrong (changed the result when re-run), so I had to re-run it several times. never had much complaint about this program; am a long-time user. cannot emphasize enough how disappointing my experience was this time. not sure what I'll do next year--not inclined to do this again. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2015 for Taxes 2014 In the past I have had lots of Oil Royalties which are reported on form 1099-MISC. This year it was easier, but still had to go back and delete 1099 Misc so it wouldn't be reported twice. I don't have a printer and no way to print my taxes so hope you are sending electronically all the forms the IRS will need. At the end of my taxes before sending to IRS, it said please print your taxes as we aren't sending the IRS all the forms they need. I hope this is not true April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 I would like more help with Schedule K-1, especially if I sell the investment.. Info seems a bit thin. I like the encouragement to look toward the future. I would like clear info about where and where not to include long term care premiums. Turbo tax has been a good product. Competition seems to be developing equally good products at a better price. As long as Costco carries Turbo tax at a good price, I will continue to buy Turbotax. Thanks for the tax help. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent tax preparation agent Every year I learn more and more about this complicated process of taking care of federal, state, business and LLC taxes. It's Greek one year or two and finally it all starts to make sense, well, sort-of. But that' Ok as I feel confident that I got it all covered so that the IRS and SBE are all happy! Thanks for the diligence at every angle, and for ensuring all my information is secured and not subject to access. Please keep it that way, as the utmost priority! March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is still a great help I've been using Turbo Tax since the late 80's. Makes the overall task much easier. Had a small problem this year in that it said I had a partnership. I have no idea how that got in there. It didn't show up in the final submission. The import from Edward Jones saved me a lot of work. I still very much appreciate the ability to override and do work on the forms themselves. If you save your data all year in Quicken or similar, it saves you a lot of work at the end. April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by More complex then ever For some reason Turbo Tax kept insisting that I enter a car as a service vehicle. My car is for personal use, but it would not let me file unless I claimed it as a service vehicle. I ended up having to put a date it "went into service" then I entered zero on both mileage and cost of gas as it was never a service vehicle. This and other bugs have made me very unhappy with Turbo tax this year. I would have returned it to the store except 60 days had already gone by. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Little sad! Had to search out both for the 1099-DIv and Schedule C. Did not come up even after going through business questions. Used old tax forms to get name of the forms to do taxes.Still, have not filed North Dakota state taxes. Would not let me start.... Paid for the "Personal and Business" program so it should have let me do them. WHAT DO YOU THINK...H&R block??? Have used Turbo tax before but stopped because program did cover trucking driving and used professional CPA. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Edsel to the rescue I had difficulty in trying to encrypt when it was suggested. Since I had too many unsuccessful tries, I was locked out, and it took too long a time on the telephone getting it resolved. Then the recommendation to encrypt never appeared again. TurboTax does not let me enter the correct date of the beginning of my retirement. So I enter an inaccurate one, and the process goes on. On the "fix errors" page, I am told what is lacking but not how to fix it: roadblock. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Prep Product! I have used TurboTax for over 10 years now. I wouldn't consider any other tax software or method for completing my return..including an accountant. TurboTax is very user friendly and reminds me of things I have forgotten or may want to consider, especially once you have used it for several years and it has previous returns to compare with your current return. I have never had a problem or audit with the IRS since using TurboTax. Thanks TurboTax for a GREAT product! May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by pretty good Much easier and more thorough than I expected; automatically populates fields on other forms after data is entered once;Easy to go back and review & edit or complete sections later. a few rough spots were reconciled quickly using the help buttons and the forum; I'd rather have the state e-filing fee included in the overall price -- additional payments just never leave a good feeling. Other than that, I was really impressed and will probably do this again next year. February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use For nearly 20 years I've used Turbo Tax and it has always included Schedule C for a small business. This year it was taken out and I was required to get the Home and Business edition, for nearly three times the cost. Very disappointing. This will probably be my last year using Turbo Tax. It's just too expensive for what I get when there are several other less expensive options out there. Very sad. Heaven forbid that you'd get a decent product for a reasonable cost. January 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by TurboTax Needs Help If all you have is a couple of W-2s and a few standard deductions, TurboTax is slick. But - - You have to buy a new version every year - it takes a LOT of space to save the files - It apparently doesn't import all the tedious info from the previous years - you have to reenter all that stuff again - It ignores a lot of the subtle little stuff that could save you money - the promise of "professional help" is much more generous than the reality of providing that help April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, bad, ugly Negative reviews made me apprehensive. To use this product, I had to buy the Home and Business version. Because of health issues I had to file early and only used the product because I am familiar with it and needed to finish before scheduled surgery. It will require thought before I purchase next year's package. H & R Block would have been my choice after hearing problems but since I needed to file early, it made my choice unnerving at a stressful time of the year. February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modify the way "Joint Ownership" forms are generat IRS says "I can apportion, by %, my share of income and expenses for my business that I jointly own with my wife. It would be much simpler to enter all expense and income (Totals) then multiply the business by each's share... and let TT generate the forms. I must do it manually now, then "mail" my fed return instead of taking advantage of electronic filing. As currently programmed, I must apply %'s to all entries, a lot of hassle and then TT generates the forms... February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than an accountant I have used TurboTax since the 1980s, when it was MacInTax, with the exception of a few years when I took my taxes to an accountant. For any the but most complicated situations (such as complicated ISO/NQ grants, complex real estate, etc.) it is actually faster and easier than using an accountant, because the main challenge in both cases is keeping track and adding up all your income and expenses. Data entry is no big deal, and it is certainly much less expensive! February 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Schedule C / 8829 needs revamped Somewhere in the whole data entry process (under UTILITIES) was a comment that told me NOT to enter all my communications expenses (telephone, cell phone, cable, etc), as it would be covered in a future section... NEVER HAPPENED. I had to go and manually find Form 8829 and enter them (because I knew they skipped it). The Form never showed up in the Forms view, although it WAS in the return. When I opened it up, it then appeared in the list but not until I edited it. April 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax weakness TurboTax indicated that I should use standard deduction. When I filed I was continually asked for data for itemized deductions that would no longer be necessary. Could not toggle out to standard deduction only. Otherwise, a fine product. Also does not allow easy access to previously filed returns. I needed data from 2013 filing and took me 1 hour to find how to get info. Even then my form was not completely filled out although it was filed through TurboTax last year. March 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not too swift Con #1 Does not address the renting of a house to family members as "not for profit" This is a common situation and should have been included in the questions asked. Con#2 I was all the way finished with federal and state (Illinois) and printed a copy to check before e-filing only to discover "Form not final Do not file" written on the state form. Before starting the state portion there should have been a notification that Illinois had not yet finalized their forms. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by STRESS RELIEVER I have always been afraid of doing taxes for fear of mistakes and audits by the IRS if I did it wrong. Turbo Tax took all that anxiety away and allowed me to complete my own taxes without paying someone else to do it for me - even though I completed all the prep work myself and they just had to fill in the blanks. This is my second year of preparing my own taxes and the confidence I feel after having Turbo Tax do all the checks and balances is substantial. Thank you February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rules Meets Need for Home and Business I've used Turbo Tax for Home and Business for over five years. Each year, the software helps me to have confidence that my taxes have been prepared accurately while ensuring that I receive the deductions for which I am entitled. I like the ease in entering information and the prompts that answer questions that I might have about different tax terms and forms. I'm a loyal Turbo Tax and Intuit customer. I'll be buying the 2015 edition as soon as it becomes available. November 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by You ruined it What a disaster. First it would not E-file my federal because it needed an update. After countless attempts to update and being rejected over and over again, TurboTax says I already submitted. REALLY? I have no idea if my federal has been submitted or not. TurboTax says it E-filed my state even though I told it not to. I have no idea what is going. I have used TurboTax for well over 10 years and love it but not this year. Fix it or I am not buying TurboTax again. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience When I tried to sign current date for efile, program said invalid. My search indicate this problem occurred in previous years Called Intuit tech team, who suggested fixes I already tried. They said would ask more senior people and would email me suggestions- did not receive response Intuit should be resolving problems that while not everyone encountered, but there is not that should be addressed I finally resolve, but most do not have technical skills that I poissess March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund made easy A few years back, I had to get extra help to file my bankruptcy data. The option I needed was not avaiable yet within TruboTax. This year I found out that the options I needed back then are now available. That would save some headaches to those who need to so this year. Also this year we had an appartment we sold to file. Doing that part was not so intuitive within the software itself. Thanks to TurboTax online community support I was able to file the required data. March 20, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:15:53.506-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-263, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13703, tr_13703
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 261 262 263 264 265 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.