1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 263 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12923 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for federal, less so for state I've used Turbo Tax Home & Business for more than a decade; it has always worked well and I've never had a problem using the program or filing my taxes. It does a great job walking you through every step of the federal return process, with tutorials and help readily available. That all comes to a screeching halt when its time to do the state return (mine is NJ). Dense questions are asked, the tutorials are gone, and the help screens offer little help. You are on your own if you can't think like a tax preparer when you get to this part. March 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works great, but not all forms included with basic I have used Turbo Tax for years. The step by step guide is great and easy to follow. I have never had any problems until this year. However, for some reason Turbo Tax decided to make a change to their program this year and I had to upgrade to home and business just for 1 form. The farm schedule used to be part of the basic program, now it's not. I had to pay double just to get what I needed. I am very disappointed. I hope they decide to go back and include it for next year. Otherwise, I will have to find another program for 2015 taxes. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but still some uncertainties I have been using TurboTax for many years and overall it has been far better than filling out papers by hand. Handling unemployment issues is not well spelled out as to how to characterize expenses for job search. Healthcare issue is extremely unclear as to how to handle the last page. TurboTax insists on filling out the form when Healthcare act staff tell you that you do not have to file the form, This is really confusing and it would help if TurboTax cleared it up instead of asking for a form that cannot and should not be filled out. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Vogel review I have used Turbo Tax for 10 years or so, and found this year's easier to use than in the past. I was able to make corrections easily, and find tax information. In one event I had to call for help and the Turbotax agent was friendly and helpful. I was unhappy that you took schedule C out of the standard edition and hope you will put it back. I also missed some of the tax comparison data that you used to have at the end of the process. and the notations about tax audit $ possibilities. But the system worked well for me again. Thank you. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Format for data entry. Found Turbo Tax easy to use and the navigation for data entry was well organized. Having the data from last year's return was helpful. Using direct data download from our financial institutions resulted in duplicate entries for all 1099 sections. I had to go in manually and delete the duplicate entries. I entered tax exempt income from 2 1099 forms but the program would not add the totals. The printed copy of my return shows only the amount of one of the 1099s. What is strange is that last year the program had no problem in this area. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Polished TurboTax is a very well-established program that has polished itself to a high gloss. I should also put in a good word for some excellent phone support I received. Some kinks remain, however: (1) It is difficult to pick up certain dialogues in the middle; one is often forced to retrace steps uselessly. (2) Filing the state return (at least my state, which had to be done by mail) is counterintuitive and confusing -- even to the extent that when one tries to save the file (as advised) it comes up with the file name for one's federal 1040. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst TurboTax User Experience in 15 years I use TurboTax to prepare returns for myself and my family . only one member needed the "Business features". The interview forced all users to work through a meaningless large set of questions dealing with irrelevant business topics. There should be an easy way to declare that the return is non-business and skip all business related interview questions. In the past, the forms I needed for my return were included in the Personal version of Turbo TAX - no so this year .... this change set the tone for the disappointing experience to come April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly good Most of Turbotax is easy to use, has useful previous year comparisons to present year, good review of business depreciations. Really easy to go through 1099-B transactions. I have used Turbotax since it was called Macintax. For the third year in a row, I was forced to file by mail (not e-file) because of a fatal flaw in Intuit software on K-1 worksheet, which asks for information that the issuer of K-1 does not provide. Intuit software folks really need to read all the chatter in the Intuit user community about problems with K-1 forms. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect Ohio has a small business tax deduction that requires form SBD, which is not included in your program. As a result, I must file my Ohio taxes by paper mail, print out a copy of the SBD form myself from the Ohio Department of Taxation website, fill it out by hand, and mail it in with the return I printed from TurboTax. Because your program did not include the SBD last year, I did not know about it and now I must file a revision for 2013 taxes, and I can't do that through TurboTax, because you don't have it. Everything else was very good. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Forced to upgrade I've done my taxes on turbo tax since the beginning. This is the first year I've been forced to upgrade. I've always had access to the forms for a simple rental and small business...but this year, I was forced upgrade to premier....and then forced to upgrade again to home and business version. I shouldn't have to upgrade for something that's been included in previous versions. Besides being forced to upgrade, everything went pretty smooth. One issue is a 1099-S...Turbo Tax only gave the option to fill out a 1099-B, so I had to improvise April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Multiple income sources made easy 2014 was a difficult year and the taxes were complicated. I was out of work for 3/4 of the year, on unemployment for 1/3rd of the year, had a on-call "self employed" position that yielded about 3 weeks of work that turned into a very brief casual staff position before finally landing a full time job in the last quarter. I also went to school part time for one semester to obtain a much needed skill for the job I landed. I was seriously dreading doing my taxes, but TurboTax made doing them straight forward and easy. Thank you TurboTax!!!!! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20+ years of TT The federal income tax system has become 'over the top' for the average tax payer......thank you TT for sheltering me from this barrage of nomenclature that has no relativity in my world. Your prompts, examples, and checks and balances are crucial to getting thru this burdensome task of taxes. #I never thought a Roth IRA could be so complicated, until I printed your rules and example--whew# Keep up the good work and maintain your current level of support and and representation for those of us who aren't #and don't want to be# accountants April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TTax Home and Business Review The end result was achieved. We finished and filed our taxes. This year seemed to be a bit more difficult to complete the process. Entries that I believed were completed such as on forms 1099-R ended up to be incomplete in the final review cycle. I hope that the numerical entries remained unchanged. I was disappointed by Intuit for the price I paid for because Intuit did not offer all the features on lesser versions. I purchased my copy early and, as it turned out, paid a premium that Intuit eventually reduced the price for. Oh well !!! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good but two caveats I had a book self-published and was sent a 1099-Misc form from sales. Turbo Tax incorrectly forces you to generate a Schedule C as if this were a business when in fact it is a hobby and should have the option of entering under Miscellaneous Income (clearly stated in Turbo's own "read more" button). Also, I was never prompted to enter my health insurance premiums under medical expenses even though they are deductible in the amount exceeding 2% of AGI, which they do in my case. I had to pick the edit button under that category to enter it. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Questionable, tiresome, and worrying. The program itself is OK. It has changed over the years and does not seem as "friendly" as it used to be. It use to ask a lot more questions to determine what you need to do and how to file, what forms might be needed, or suggestions to change how you look at things and make the filing more targeted to what your situation needs to be. All of that seems to be gone. Because I have had to make all of this "unaided", I am no longer sure if I have done it all correctly, or if there was a way I could have done it better, and perhaps paid less. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Premium is great as usual As usual Premium handles everything well for the variety of investment activity. What I did not like this year was having to upgrade to Home & Business to enter my wife's self-employed business numbers. Her business is self-employed cosmetologist. She has Gross Sales, Supplies, Rent, Insurance and Supplies only. In the past 7 years, I was able to enter her tax info in Premium. Now Intuit, forces you to upgrade from Premium to Home & Business to enter any business info. Well, she retired in 2014, so I'll put up with an upgrade for 1 year. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by lots of questions It feels like you go in circles and put in the same information more than once. specifically schedule c, itemized deductions, job expenses - each asked about my car...why? shouldn't it have populated where it needed to be? Secondly, depreciation is truly not easy to determine, add to that form 8824 which populated after I mentioned I replaced a car. Very difficult to navigate this year. I'm really concerned that my turbo tax is not as accurate as it should be, there aren't any mistakes, but that doesn't mean it's correct. Hence my concern April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by fine product mostly, but don't get divorce … and will then prevent you from filing your returns because there are mistakes in worksheets concerning for your ex-spouse. Sadly divorces are common, and as such, they should be a high-priority use case for your software developers. Why does the software not provide a transition path from year n to year n+1 for a divorced couple with a few short questions? I cannot imagine this kind of software to hard to add to the product, especially because it could rely on an interactive mode, querying the user for additional information as needed. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maximum refunds Easy to use options. Either turbo tax will walk you through step by step or you can do and select everything on your own. Performs scans for errors and checks for audit likely hood. It will enter information automatically from previous years, if turbo tax was used, and go out to get information through the internet if available, like W2 or 1099. It would be nice if the scenarios it performs in the background could be seen to better understand for future years. Or have a what if scenarios available to understand affects on the bottom line. March 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by You're your best advocate, don't leave it up to TT Double-entry of 1099-MISC under both business and personal sections cause a lot of confusion, wasted time, and could have resulted in incorrect numbers had I not been paying close attention. The TurboTax description of use tax as being required on purchases that didn't specifically incur my state's sales tax indicated that other states' sales tax was inadequate. I nearly included all out-of-state purchases (taxed and untaxed) before checking directly with my state's tax requirements to confirm that only untaxed purchases incurred use tax. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund in a jiffy TurboTax is easy to use no matter your educational level. The questions are simple and the designed algorithm puts the answers in the correct place. TurboTax will automatically upgrade you to the proper product if you have started your return but could use a different version (deluex or premier). TurboTax lets you purchase additional states if needed from within the program while you are in the process of entering your information You cant lose with TurboTax! I have been using TurboTax for years and years and it just gets easier each time. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy And Speedy Returns I have completed several returns using the online filing process for 10 years now. This year I purchased the desktop version and used it along with the online one. It is so easy to use that I showed my daughter once, and she is now completing her own returns with no assistance. And I love that it can transfer data (W-2s and tax returns) from other sources into the current tax return, cutting down on the time required for completion. I have used software from other companies but this is by far the easiest! I wouldn't trade it for the world! February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still A Satisfied Customer I've used Turbo Tax from its beginnings, and it remains the easy to use, affordable solution for doing and filing your taxes. I'm glad they owned up to the mistake they made this year in their offerings, and I hope they've learned a valuable lesson. I know I just one of many loyal customers, but one doesn't remain loyal unless the product make that loyalty a good decision. At different and simultaneous times I've been a salaried employee, a contractor, and a small business owner. Turbo Tax has handled all of those situations without issue. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally got the program right! This is the first year, (I have been using for over 15 years) that the program did not identify an error without the proper explanation. In the past, I have always had to research some of the errors or section of the tax form that it would jump to. Now I can recommend it to my "average" friends that do not understand or are intimidated by Tax software. At the end of the process, it is offered to become a TurboTax advantage member. It would be Most helpful to add to the offer, " IF YOU ARE CURRENTLY A MEMBER YOU DO NOT HAVE TO JOIN AGAIN! February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Review I ran into problems putting individual 1099 Misc forms for Royalty income using H&R Block the last years. Switched to Turbo Tax in hopes for better function. The input of most data into Turbo Tax is generally good, better than H&R Block. However, I ran into a similar problem with IRS Sched. E. Turbo Tax takes LLC Form K-1 very well, but also fails on individual 1099 Misc for Royalty income. It is completely opaque on correctly accepting that data. It appears Sched. E is the correct place for Royalty income, but there is no apparent access. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Turbo I've been using Turbo Tax since 1987 and it seemed to get a little easier and smoother each year. The only problem I had this year is that when I needed to make a correction when the review showed a missing amount on a worksheet, a small remark stating "make any corrections that may be needed by going back through the question phase rather that override it here in review." That would have saved me several minutes. Also, it would be great to have that "What If" worksheet back as it was the handiest sheet to use to get prepared for next year. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased After reading some reviews I nearly chose another software. after much thought I went with Turbo Tax as I have for many years. I was pleased with the simple navigation and familiar content. The one drawback that concerns me is the promotional content which seems to rely on ones desire to get through the program and overlook one of the highlighted choices leading to additional cost and at times what seemed like unnecessary divulgence of personal info. I will continue with Turbo Tax Home & Business until I feel it is no longer a viable value. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Deluxe The pros and cons pretty much say it all. I was very surprised by the changes as was almost everyone else. I Even went to do mine on H&R Block online. Your offer to upgrade online for $ 30.00. and then file for a $25.00 refund was meaningless. Your final move to provide the free Business upgrade for free online should have been done immediately. I am a big fan and have recommended Turbo Tax to a lot of friends. I will look at your software description closely next year before I make my purchase I hope I will be using your product next year. April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saves me $ Have used Turbo Tax for many years and really have no complaints. It loads fine on my rather old PC so that is good. And having it pull all my old data is great because I sure wouldn't know what to pull myself! I just wish I could go back and change just one or two items without having to go thru the entire section all over again - especially in the home office deduction and the business expenses relating to your automobile. Other than that I will keep using Turbo Tax until I get so big with my business that I will need a real accountant! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by i'm glad to see Intuit did the right thing addressing the issues about their product pricing. That's why I did not switch providers.. It will be interesting to see how you price products next year. Not sure what version you have include schedules C, D and E in. Perhaps you go back to including them in Deluxe, but put certain limits. For example, for schedule C - if you have revenue less than "X' $'s… For schedule D - if you have less that 20 trades…. or something like that…….. If you exceed the limits, then you would be required to "buy up" February 7, 2015
  • 2015-09-03T12:18:16.740-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-263, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12923, tr_12923
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 261 262 263 264 265 ... 298 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.