1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 263 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo tax failings The last 2 or 3 years I have saved a pdf file of my return--then the next year your program says it cannot find my return. No amount of twisting or turning permitted you to recognize your return to extract info for the new year. A different program could extract all my info when I tried them--but you don't seem to be able to get info from your own pdf files!! Also I want to save the whole file to a zip drive as a protective back-up, and you want me to save a pdf of the return, which is useless. You should permit the saving of the whole file to a zip drive as a back-up, April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product but losing confidence in Intuit I've used Turbo Tax for as long as it's been on the market and felt I got an excellent product at a fair price. This year I bought my usual package and found that it didn't handle my tax situation any longer. I upgraded (fortunately free by the time I encountered this change# and then found my upgrade was not adequate requiring another upgrade #also free#. I don't know what to expect next year. In addition, notice that Turbo Tax is heavily discounted to the general public #such as in Costco) but automatic renewals pay the full price. Not the best way to generate loyalty. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, but you may have questions Overall, this is a really good program that I've been using since 1998. It's the unusual, uncommon stuff, though, that continue to leave me researching for a clear answer, like anything having to do with pensions & annuities, but I don't blame Intuit for that -- I leave that on the IRS' front porch! TT has made my annual tax filings much easier -- and more inexpensive! -- than they would have been. The home business section is a breeze to go through #if you are prepared!# and the income & deductions sections are equally easy. I won't use anything else to prepare my taxes! February 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less easy to use this year I've been using Turbo Tax both online and installed versions for home and business for many years. This is the first year I struggled to find sections and navigate through entering my deductions. It felt like I had to go into sub-sub menus to get to the places where I enter information. Start, select, Edit, select, enter. It is far less easy to find where elements if I needed to go back into a section versus following the linear process. Overall Turbo Tax is a great product for us, and we will remain loyal. Just keep the navigation clean if we need to go back and review. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Filing Software - Still the best I have used turbo tax for many years and each current year's version is always improved and better than the prior year. The step by step function is excellent for the average person who is willing to spend a little bit of time working through the questions. The ability to download W-2 information and prior tax return information is definitely a plus and the explanations provided for the income and expense sections are clear and try to be as non technical as possible. The help function was very helpful for me this year in answering an atypical technical 1099 Misc question. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly positive, a couple small annoyances I've been using TurboTax for many, many years and it has always worked well for me; that's still the case. My wife has a very small business and this year our kids earned a little money as contract employees. In the past we had always been able to use TurboTax Premier. This year (tax year 2014) we were forced to upgrade to TurboTax Home & Business; I was slightly annoyed by the surprise change. Also, I never found where to enter IRA contributions in TurboTax' EasyStep process. I eventually made this entry by switching modes and entering data directly into the tax forms. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 tax effort Disappointed that I had to upgrade to home and business for the small amount of investment and consulting income which previously could be handled by deluxe. The material brought forward from last year's return was very helpful although I had the same problem as last year with an entry that required a substitute form for foreign pension income. To get to the substitute form I had to delete the entry brought forward and then re-enter it from scratch. I have foreign pension income and consulting fees from which foreign tax is deducted. TT does a good job of sorting this out. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by While TurboTax does a good job overall, I have a few criticisms: 1. My birth date is entered in the program but is not used in preparing its tips for the user: e.g.; TurboTax suggests that a user over 70 years of age could benefit from creating an IRA. 2. TurboTax always jumps back to the top of the page no matter how far down the page the user has had to scroll to complete a particular area of input to the program. This unnecessarily forces the user to scroll down the page again and again to get to the next item of concern. Very time consuming and extremely irritating!. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much improved this year Federal went well as it usually does. There were some lack of details with income from hobby, as to why expenses were broken out and didn't affect refund. Also, went a couple rounds with trying to put in tool costs for work, only to find out I made too much so it wasn't time well spent. State, however, felt much improved. My voice concerns have been heard. It felt much less like following the state instructions, and much more helpful, especially importing all of the previously entered information, and giving useful overviews without having to reach each and every question. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly outstanding; some hitches Virtually everything is excellent. Two things I found extremely difficult, and in need of clearer workflows and explanations, were: 1) explaining and tracking IRAs, rollovers, IRA basis, etc; and 2) tracking the information needed to calculate AMT, especially the proportion of mortgage interest that's deductible. The software should allow one to enter refinance information directly, allocate it to eligible and ineligible portions, and then track it from year to year and use it to automatically calculate AMT. At present, one has to track and calculate this outside TurboTax. March 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by High cost - Poor help Turbo Tax offers free electronic filing but it only applies to the federal return, State filing is a cost of $25 or you print your return out and use the info to go to a site offering free state filing. Free filing should cover both federal and state returns. TurboTax "help" is of little value. To get answers you must go to the IRS web site and dig it out yourself. I use Taxwise as a volunteer at the senior center. Both provide the right answer but Taxwise is easier to use. I will have my returned prepared there next year and will get tax preparation and filing at no cost! March 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still Not Happy With PA State Return process If PA State Wages differ from FICA wages, the PA State Income Tax instructions say explicitly to fill out a PA W-2 RW (Reconciliation Worksheet), but Turbotax does NOT fill out the form. Last year, this caused a delay in my state refund. I tried everything this year to see if I could get the form to be filled out in Turbotax, but it didn't. I don't understand why the software is not implementing the State Tax requirements correctly. Now rather than e-file my state return via Turbotax, I have to print it out, manually fill out a PA W-2 RW, and snailmail my return to PA. Why? April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by gotta love TTax long-time TTax user. absolutely love the product and the ease of use. easily finds all available deductions and multi-filing ability enables filing of all our taxes. Cons: simply cannot understand why TTax broke up the new products of 2014 to make users have to purchase upgraded products to access forms, deductions, etc. that have been included in the same product for years. Users with no change in filing status or forms suddenly need to purchase an upgraded product? Actually made me consider another tax preparation software product for the first time in more than a decade. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Right Way Would like a BUTTON that DELETES whole form if I decide to undo a selection instead of going through all the pages removing the info. I know I can go to FORMS and do this but it would be convenient (my opinion) if I could delete all info within a section with one click. The software really is simple to use. I know you guys must be laying off programmers because there is nothing left to improve (until Congress and the IRS complicates it more). I am considering your offer for Auto Renew because I buy it every year anyway and upgrade Quicken usually every third or fourth year. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like Working with a Friend My husband passed away in 2014 and we have always worked on our tax return as a team. I maintain all of the records and files and he inputs the information into Turbo Tax. I was always with him providing data but had never done the entire process from start to finish by myself. I was a bit intimidated when I started but found because I was prepared with the data that the input to Turbo Tax was not bad as I was walked through everything. I also used last years documents as a template when I didn't totally understand something. It was a great experience for a painful process. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Tool I like constant update of the return amount (or owed). Helped a lot when we owned oil stocks that was a LLP. Helped when my old business partner caused me to be sued, yeah carry-over deductible. Helps when we have multiple sideline businesses going on such as when we both did some consulting. Now when I am involved in 2 antique sales booths, in different cities. Turbo Tax is smarter than any tax consultant I have used. Before I have to gather the data, tell then what to do with it, which did not guarantee that they did it. Now I just gather then enter and Turbo Tax helps me. April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looking for other options after 15 years. I needed to upgrade to home and business and next year it will probably not be free!!! Right??? Then you snag me for $60 as I am trying to get out the door (efiling.) You would think that would be part of the Deluxe. Hey I am not a millionaire!!! I am not even at $100K. Why cant Deluxe include a Form C for a small business and and Form E for Rental and Royalties??? And I have yet to figure how to link the 1099 Misc to the Form E without recording my income from those sources twice. Maybe you can have one of your young whippersnappers send me instructions on how to do this!!! April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Changed Versions?? For the last 8 years we have used Turbo Tax Deluxe Version. I have a home-based sales business and Deluxe always covered what we needed. This year we bought Deluxe version and tried to enter tax info for home-based business and a screen popped up stating I need the Home & Business Addition. And that I can buy it now for only $40! I just paid $59.99 and now you want another $40 because you didn't let people know you changed the software. If I would have known this ahead of time, I could have purchased the Home & Business addition for the same price as the Deluxe at the store! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Mess with a Great Product I like TurboTax and have used the US and Canadian versions for most of the past 20 years. Great product and I've never had trouble getting help from Intuit or the user community. HOWEVER, like many others, I was annoyed when Intuit tried to break out the small (home) business portion. They kept me onboard - this time! - by upgrading the software so I had the same functions as always. IF INTUIT does not stick with the tried-and-true formula that has worked so well for me all these years, I am likely to switch to a different product... PLEASE keep the original configuration. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thx to Bonnie P. CPA, PTIN Bonnie P. helped me determine the proper amount of my charitable carry-forward for 2014 as well as the trade-in of my SUV and the purchase of the new SUV. She also help correct the interest on my equity bank loan. After these were completed she had me go through the federal and state check lists to assure that there were no further errors needing correct (and, of course, there were not). So, kudos to Bonnie and other people assisting me. It was unusually difficult because I use an Apple iMac not a Microsoft-based operating system to be able for Bonnie to view my 2014 return. March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax program for the past 10 years. In the past years, the Deluxe version allowed access to all the steps and forms, while the Premier version and the Home & Business version provided more detailed guidance on investment, rental property and business income and deduction. The 2014 Deluxe, however, will not allow access to reporting investment, rental property and business activities. But it provides a free upgrade for such access. It is somewhat confusing, but gets the job done. I am curious what the Deluxe version would be like with Turbo Tax for 2015. March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not impressed with the version this year I have always loved TT, but I was not real impressed with the version this year. I would suggest that you go back and look at the versions in past years and keep what works. I love it when its simple to use, offers great tax tips, easy for me to save and find my docs, and guides me through the processes (all of them). It was hard to maneuver the documents up and down. It was more difficult to use. It encouraged saving in the cloud which I did not want to use. I had a hard time finding my document each time I went out of the system. It did not guide through all the processes. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the money I have used TurboTax for 3 years now & it tends to be right on the money. This year I had a problem with the way it added up the refund. Iwas give an option on a deduction & when I tried several different options, the refund jumped all over the place but never went back to the original. I finally looked at the forms page & saw that each time I changed the option, another form was added, which added on to my final refund. If I hadn't caught that, the program didn't catch it, and I would have been in trouble. First time I've had a problem. Other than that I think it works great. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by difficult to review step-by-step once covered Turbo Tax is very user friendly, but if you have reviewed a topic and then have to go back to that topic it can be difficult. Multiple times my husband and I had to first find what we were looking for to review in the "forms" view, and then we could go to review that information in the "step-by-step" view. This was especially true in the state form. We tried to work through the tax credits for Private Schools section in Arizona and despite going over it multiple times I am still not sure we understand how state tax credits work, nor were we able to find this topic very easily. March 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by changes from last year I felt it was harder to enter information in the 2014, the questions did not seem to flow. I entered self employed expenses in the business section but in the personal there was also an area to enter business and none of the information carried over from what was entered in the business section. Last year I did not need to upgrade to be able to do a schedule C and this year I had to pay more to get the schedule C version for turbo tax. I will consider different software next year. I have been using turbo tax for over 10 years and I am that dissatisfied with this years version. April 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by RVP I am extremely dissatisfied with Turbo tax from being made to purchase a higher program to do what I always do with the Personal Deluxe program. Then I was encouraged to find that there will be a refund check of $25 after I efile this year. Then was again discouraged and frustrated to no end with the problem of not being able to efile my taxes and NOONE has filed these and IRS has NO record of Efile. Please assist ASAP Many people use this program in my organization but we will find alternative programs if this cannot be resolved. Thank you for your attention to this matter. February 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Low Income people should get FREE State Tax Filing My income was under $15,000, yet I am charged $20 to electronically file State Taxes. Additionally to do so, you want me to pay more for you to DEDUCT it from my Tax Return, or ask that I pay for a credit card that I do NOT have. Do you realize that $20 is 3 hours work at a minimum wage job (after taxes). and you wanted more to simply route part of my refund to your bank account. I will re=enter the info electronically at my state site and save the money. For the 30 minutes it takes to do so, I will effectively be paid more per hour than I will make when I get out of college. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great small business Tool ! I did save a bundle on filing fees ( three years in a row) and no phone calls from person preparing my taxes to gather more info. Good to excellent tool, personal or for business, easy to follow instructions and always the option to go back to specific topic or IRS form to review or add info. My best advise is to gather all your information, records and practice. Start a "dummy return" then after corrections and verification, start the new filing return with confidence that everything is there. Don't forget to "save" your return often to avoid loosing progress in your computer. March 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overwheleming I've been using your product for several years and I feel that every time there are errors it is difficult to follow. Errors will refers to carry overs or worksheets or schedules there is no explanation to assist with understanding why in the middle of the guide me process it doesn't show the connection. I think it should link automatically to the form from the previous year rather then have to open the previous year filing and go line by line. Please get this resolve because for the amount of hours of going back and force I might as well pay a tax professional to do it for me. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax does a great job with getting all of the deductions for a tax payer. It is easy to use. However, it is making customers angry to be charged more money when they are ready to E-file. If cost $19.99 to e-file with the state it should be paid upfront or it should be told of the charge at time of purchase. Also another hidden fee of direct deposit! Really? It is not clear that this extra charge is not there if you pay by credit card. The credit card payment did not work so I had to call to make a payment. However it was great that you waived the $19.99 fee for my trouble. February 25, 2015
  • 2015-05-28T12:54:53.899-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-263, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12650, tr_12650
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 261 262 263 264 265 ... 292 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.