1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 261 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12906 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by filing made easy Downloading and importing outside vendor information was very easy. More organizations need to make this available. I am still a little confused with the HSA, HSP, and the other venues employers use to get around some of the required health law data. Not everyone seems to be talking the same language. Turbo Tax does a good job of asking the right questions but that doesn't mean I am sure of what they are asking because of the different terms used out there. I am satisfied with Turbo Tax and plan to use it again next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even Easier than Last Year! The experts at Turbo Tax confidently walk you through it all. Including the areas you're unsure of or want to learn more about and they make sure that all changes in tax laws are accounted for. There's no second-guessing or being left scratching your head. And, it's FAST. The peace of mind that Turbo Tax provides--along with a great education of the tax laws and what records I need to keep for the coming year, makes filing taxes a smooth and worry-free experience. And knowing it's done correctly each time = Peace of mind! February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way-to-go! I have used this program for many years, first with help of a CPA friend but now able to "flying solo!" (pretty easy, even for someone with no fiscal background# The biggest disappointments 1) when my computer crashed and I no longer had prior 2013 year's data to easily transfer to start 2015 and 2) when I found out the Deluxe version I had always used no longer fit my needs because the company had deleted certain forms/features right after I entered half my info but was able to easily upgrade #but at an additional fee!# March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Turbo Tax 2014 This is the first year that I can remember having to work through bugs in Turbo Tax. Schedule l-1 problems: 1) Partner has a foreign address. It cannot be entered using step by step. 2) Box 16 G didn't like my numbers. I had to delete the worksheet and go through the step by step again. 3) Box 11 A didn't remove the number in line 1 and last line when I unclicked the boxes. As I cycled back through Schedule k-1, these boxes were checked after I removed them in the previous cycle. I had to use forms to remove the numbers. April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by not as good as past years programs had problems filing for extension , couldn't e-file it and wouldn't print out mailing instructions to extend (didn't have that problem last year! wasted a lot of time trying to do it and then seen where a lot of users were having the same problems no responses on how to fix it, ended up mailing it after researching were to send it! had to buy a more expensive program than last year, not as user friendly as past programs. hate to switch as i have used turbo tax for many years but.... hopefully they will address these issues April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review of 2014 Tax return I have used Turbo Tax Software for the past 5 years and have always found it to be easy to use, very detailed, had all the pertinent forms and questions to ask to get the most of the refunds, while still meeting the Internal Revenue rules and regulations. The Personal and small business program was exactly what you need if you have a small business. Try Turbo Tax the next time you file your taxes, you will find the program is as advertised and very easy to use. Just follow the questions and it will be accurate and correct. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Refund I alway's use Turbo Tax and have for years.I had a very hard time with the printing. Going through Adobie made it hard and after working with it I may try a different tax program. Using turbo tax really makes it easy and e-filing ws great. You don't have any forms to mail and you have it on the computer when you need it.The state was a little harder for me to delete forms that I didn't need this year but got through it.With this said I have had great success using Turbo Tax and I hope the program is fixed before next year. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used from day 1 TurboTax continues to improve every year. We've been using it since it was Macintax! Thanks for upgrading Deluxe to its traditional features. I especially like how the software now tells you it is updated at the very beginning and does not update when unnecessary. The company does not fill your e-mail inbox with unnecessary junk. Thanks! (to the TruboTax folks, there needs to be a bookmark box so if you want to review something (brain fade) you can jump back to where you left off without having to step through each item) February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Overall, Turbo Tax is a wonderful application! My dislike for the application comes from the additional fees that are charged for using a credit card to pay your taxes or other fees and the fee charged to file state returns. Twenty dollars to file state returns is ridiculous and a 2.49% fee to use a credit card to pay your taxes, etc., is crazy! I understand the cost of doing business, but I think there has to be a better way to perform these very beneficial functions without the additional fees to the consumer. Thank you. February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some not good "improvements" It is good software for getting return completed, but for some reason there were many instances where I was not certain it transferred data from my 2013 return. This made it confusing at times. Then the whole debacle of moving simple Schedule C activity to another higher priced software was annoying, as is the high cost of additional state software ($49.99 same as basic Deluxe package with 1 state, and the high price for filing state returns ($24.99 ea). Might as well hire someone to do it all for me. May not use in future. April 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Day Early After 5 years of TurboTax, I feel the presentation has improved and the wording chosen is clearer and more conversational in tone. Some more dialog on difficult topics such as farming, energy savings, earned income credit and alternate minimum tax would be helpful. Generally, I found the "help' screens to be below par, as they were either vague or off the point which interrupted the computational progress. Would it be too difficult to hot link to paragraphs in he 1040 instructions that apply to a given section of TurboTax?. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Have been using TT Deluxe for more than 10 years, This year suddenly noticed I cannot do my usual filing unless I upgrade to Home and Business. Glad the CEO finally backtrack and allowed for free upgarde to the higher version. It's still a big hassle to try to upgrade to Premiere and finally to the Home and business version since the automatic in program upgrade did not work on my computer. Don't know if next year I have to buy a higher version or not but thinking seriously to switch to another program if that is the case. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very intuitive or transparent It's not very clear how the calculations are done until after you've completed entering your information and save a copy of the return and the corresponding worksheets, which I don't like. This is especially true in calculating your tax expense. Also, once you enter your information, it's not easy to find where you need to go for an update. For example, if you filled out information for a 1098-T but want to edit, going to the tuition and education section and clicking update won't get you immediately to the screen you need. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Refund Im a tax practitioner and have bveen for the last 33 yrs. and I've used Pro Series and so getting used to a new system as Turbo is a real shocker for me, but am seriously thinking of switching to Turbo Tax either next year or the next, if I can get used to your slower way of imputing data. Other than the slowness of your system, I like it okay. Got the same results with my ProSeries and Turbo. I would also like to see a Print Option so that I can choose which forms NOT to print for all returns; saves a lot on paper and time. February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by As usual great product This is the eighth year that I have used Turbo Tax and have always been impressed with the ease of use and the accuracy of the product. In eight years I have not had any kickbacks or problems. I am a retired CPA and while employed as a CPA I have used various products available to CPA tax preparers (not Turbo Tax) during tax seasons. I have found Turbo Tax to be very easy to use by any non-professional individuals. It has the answers needed for at least 95% of individuals filing tax returns. I would highly recommend its use. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Review (April, 2015) I've used TurboTax for a few years now and overall I'm very pleased with it. For the most part,TT is good at explaining obscure tax language in terms I can understand. My only suggestion is to expand this good feature a bit. There were times (specifically, doing my state K1s) when TT presented puzzling instructions -- probably directly from the state forms -- without explaining what they mean. I know such explanations are hard to include for all forms for all 50 states, but that's where I think there is room for improvement. April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Peasy I have used TurboTax for years - and I've never wanted to file by mail until this year. I have never had an issue with TurboTax, it is my go to software for taxes - but the file by mail option was not there for me. The only option was efile and efile later - what happened to file by mail. Even the help option told you to select file by mail. Ugh - super frustrating. The only way I could figure out how to print my state tax to mail it in was to go through the motions of efiling, and then just cancel before actually submitting. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but frustrating I have used turbo tax for many years, and I have always been very impressed with its user interface and usability. This time was no exception for many areas, but overall I found it more confusing than in the past and there were numerous areas where things were unclear. Specifically, there were numerous areas where numbers were referenced without adequate descriptions or source locations. There were also several situations where questions were asked without complete descriptions or context to make answering the questions easy. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small Business and CA return While the federal return is great the state instructions are not very good. Make sure you don't make the same mistake I did on your CA LLC return form 568. The wizard should ask you about line 6 Amount paid with form FTB 3537 and 2014 form FTB 3522 and form FTB 3536. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . I It should actually pull this information from your prior return and ask you to verify it. Otherwise you end up over paying your LLC fees and the state of CA is not good about making sure you get your refund for it. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need better direct access features Turbo Tax's strong point has always been it's interview-style approach to taxes. This works well, but completely falls apart when you want to correct one number. Let's say you estimated your healthcare costs (Personal & Small Biz) and then want to go back and correct it. It is almost impossible to find the right place to do this. There are similar examples. What TT needs is a way to quickly and easily address each line of detail without forcing you back to the underlying forms. In short, a much more robust navigation facility. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax through the years Have used Turbo Tax since the second year it came out. It has gotten easier to use and I like being able to see the "running tax" amount on the top. Had trouble the last few years with oil royalties we inherited because the program seem to want to make it a business -- which it is not, just small (very) checks we get from time-to-time for a very small interest. Working though the home office questions is well laid out. Like the ability to save a PDF so tax forms may be reviewed when needed and the software is off the computer. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Other Years I started my new business in 2014 and was unsure what business expenses were legitimate and what were not. The Home and Business version was easy to step through, thorough, and educational with respect to allowable business expenses. Especially reassuring was the color coded risk of audit panel. This version of Turbo Tax not only helped me minimize my taxes but also allowed me to sleep better knowing that my risk of audit was acceptable. And now I have a much better handle on what business expenses to watch in 2015 and beyond. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked as expected There were really only two issues with the software: 1) Upon opening the software, an update was needed. After the update, the software said it would open. But nothing happened. I had to start it manually from my Windows menu. This happened twice following an update. 2) It seemed to me it was difficult to jump around to different parts of my return. If I wanted to look back at something (e.g., check income, or deductions, etc.), it was easier to just wade back through the Q&A process. I would have preferred a more direct jump. April 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by What Happened? I have been a loyal Turbo Tax used for over 20 years, however this is my last year. I was shocked by the surprise in app purchase required to have the same functionality I have been using in the deluxe version for years. I only continued to use the product after being offered a free upgrade when I called to return it. Then I got another surprise when I went to electronically file my state tax only to find a 66% increase in filing fee. Tried Blocks tax software ( offered free to unhappy TT users) and found it to be comparable . March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always reliable! I depend on Turbo Tax to prepare our taxes every year. We are a middle class working family with regular W-2 income, mutual funds, rental income and small business income. In 2015, I used TurboTax Home and Business. The most helpful feature is transferring information from the previous year to present. The only thing I would want to improve is being able to edit names of charities when making typographical error, and not transferring supporting detail. Other than that, Turbo Tax is great, especially for a busy, working mother! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as easy as last year Sched. C process not as clear as last year, particularly with business asset entries apparently for depreciation. All assets had previously been taken as Sec. 179 depreciation, yet entries were still required concerning date of purchase, date placed in service, etc. Generated items during final review which had to be corrected, but were basically unnecessary. Otherwise, an excellent product. I will use it again next year. Please, Please don.t get into the situation with various versions next year that you experienced this year! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is the best I think I found one error in one of your screens. In the summary that shows all deductions, the line Other Deductions appeared to be incorrect. It showed me a negative approximately 12,000 when the amount should have been $1,294. This represented gambling losses in the same amount as my wife's gambling winnings. Take a look at this and let me know if I am correct. I do not believe that this screen error affected the accuracy of my return, but if it did, please let me know immediately. Thanks PS I will be using TurboTax next year February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is awesome I have been using TurboTax for over a decade to file my taxes. I love the fact that I can file my return as soon as I have all my tax statements. No waiting for weeks for a tax professional to complete their work. I also like the fact that all my ongoing information is transferred from my previous return the year before. Really saves time. As does the ability to input financial information from the QuickBooks program I use for my small business. My only complaint is that a free state e-file is not included in the purchase price. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy filing, just an issue with which software to I bought the regular Home edition for 49.99 and the Business edition for $139.99 because the Home & Business didn't indicate that a sole member LLC could use it. I saw many posts about the confusion. I was thankful for the free upgrade that was allowed on the Home edition to file a Schedule C, however, I am out the $139.99 I spent on the Business edition because I cannot return it now that it is opened. Really want to make me happy -- send me a refund for $139.99. I have used TurboTax to prepare my taxes for more than 10 years. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I <3 Turbo Tax I love the peace of mind I have knowing I was walked through each step in an organized and clear way. This is my second time using TurboTax. Having everything from my last year return imputed to this years return made it so fast and simple. I own my own small business and am thrilled at how quickly and easily filing my taxes was this year! Thank you Turbo Tax! I will be using Turbo Tax next year and the years after! My only complaint is that I feel e-filing a state return should be included without the additional charge of 19.99. February 15, 2015
  • 2015-08-27T13:07:58.857-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-261, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12906, tr_12906
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 259 260 261 262 263 ... 298 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.