1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 261 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review It is very difficult to go back to a point where an input error cause the process to return an unexpected result. Also, there is confusion on which version of Turbo Tax to use. In the past, Deluxe handled all my needs. When I received an email telling me it wouldn't handle my rental property, I was told to purchase Premier. During my entry process, I kept getting errors. Finally I got a message to download a free version of Home and Business. Once that downloaded, every went smooth and fast. I wish that information had been provided upfront. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fewer interview questions but a bigger pain The process was bigger hassle this year. I was force to upgrade to business version when basic would do in the past. Nothing about my tax filing status changed, but Intiut decided to unbundle the investment property and schedule C form I needed and remove from basic version. I didn't realize Schedule C wasn't included in the Premier version until was nearly ready to file. I could not easily upgrade to needed version online and needed to call support. I got call back 3 hours later. I later completed online help form & got assistance right away February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dissapointed I am dissapointed with the 2014 changes that require the most expensive version to complete two common Schedules which were previously provided with the Deluxe Version. The result is that the Deluxe version is now the Basic Version. This year, I assume because everyone was so surprised by the change, Turbo Tax did provide free upgrades needed to complete Schedule D and Schedule C. Next year I assume that my cost will be double over previous years for the ability to complete the two forms. This may cause me to rethink the benefits of Turbo Tax April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Investment Property Problems I have now entered two new investment properties into TurboTax (one in each 2012 and 2013) and I do not find it well organized. All of the expenses of the acquisition do not show up in the initial setup screen. In order to get all of the costs of the loan for the property I have to go to the refinancing section. Most investment property acquisitions are financed and the all of the costs of the acquisition should be in one place. Currently I am having troubles where it will not print a form 4562 for one of my rentals. what can I do about that? April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently Good! I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 15 years. Always a good, reliable product. User-friendly and accurate. Am not pleased that I will have to pay more next year in order to get the forms I need included in the program (I own a small business that I operate from my home). Prior year's info did not seem to transfer, so I filled in "missing" business info only to find it duplicated several screens later. Had to go back and delete quite a few entries that had been duplicated. Even with this setback, taxes were completed in a timely fashion. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by And The Winner Is!!!!!! Away we go for the deadline, April 15th! Turbo Tax is one of the greatest, informative, multi-optional screen traveling tax program there is on the market! Turbo Tax makes each line easy to input information on each screen. Any doubt as what to input? Fear not, there are several options to find a solution: Click on help, ask your question and up pops questions asked similar to yours, submit your own question, get directed to another informational site, and you can even get live help! Print out your own copy, mail or e-file! You have a choice! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps Getting Better! I've used TurboTax for many years now, and they are continually improving it. How? By helping you identify all the items (including savings!) that you need to minimize your taxes and do an accurate job. I have a business, so have used the Home & Business version. Really makes the job as painless as can be. One example - all the data and categories from last year's forms are pre-filled when you open the next year's forms. (Of course, you can always change things that are differenr.) Tax time is never fun. But TurboTax sure helps cut the stress! February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Returning User Had not filed taxes by myself since 2007 tax year, was an expat and used major accounting firms. Found the system to be pretty forgiving. Primary shortcoming was an inability to add a form that was not in the package. I will file an amendment to complete this. Found it difficult to find the help phone number, but once I got it the call back service was excellent. I had not shutdown my firewall and my return would not transmit. An obvious error, but Intuit could improve the error message and help so that I (not a computer genius) could find it. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 Experience Once again I really appreciated all my prior year tax information automatically "dumping" into this year's return. The updates seemed to load faster this year. The step-by-step process of entering information went smoothly, and I liked how easy it was when reviewing the forms to go to the actual worksheet or form. Like many people, I was extremely disappointed in the way TurboTax repackaged its product this year. However, the company did seem to try to reach out to its customers and make things right...especially if one took the time to call. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Started with Macintax in 1988 Overall still a great product. I didn't like the fact that I had to keep upgrading. Have investments, need an upgrade. Need to file a schedule C, need and upgrade. They were free for me this year, but I was warned I'll to buy next year. I started my return using the interview process a few weeks ago. I quit and returned today. It didn't remember where I left off and I had to start from the beginning. I transfered data from last years return which included investments and a schedule C. It should have known I needed to do them again this year. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by user friendly i have used TurboTax for several years. I love that it transfers my previous year to the current year. I used another product ONE year and was immensely frustrated as I tried to maneuver from one area to another. TurboTax is as user friendly as anyone could ever expect!!!! Thank you My only wish, is that I could choose the "married filing separately" option, at the very end of my return and TurboTax would survey my info. and detect which option would be most beneficial to me. I do not want to spend several more hours completing another return April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could be better Maybe I don't know how to use some navigation tool but it is very irritating to have to go through many of the same questions over again to get back to a particular page to add an expense, for example, of a property that I previously worked on. Also we get 1099-MISC forms from rental assistance programs and property management company that only provide one form and one $ amount for several properties. The associated property list is a bullet item list instead of a checklist; we cannot choose all properties associated with the single 1099-MISC. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done - whew! The program is easy for even us tax-ignorant folks to use. I appreciate that it walks me through all steps and possible deductions. It also offers options of letting users pick and choose if they prefer. I used some of the drop-down explanations for items, and learned about some things that will change how I handle certain financial items next year. An important one was the information that if I pay for my IRA management bills myself, I can deduct them, but if I have the bill deducted from my IRA account, the fee is not deductible. Interesting! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! but.... turbo tax is fantastic!! Ive used it for the last 2 years! Aways been wonderful and I am sure this is more of IRS issue then turbotax's however entering the information for K-1's this year was WAY more confusing and difficult then last years!! However, The customer service at TurboTax can't be beat! The gentleman who stayed on the line with me was great! Very patient and very kind and EXTEMELY helpful!! I cant say enough good things about my experience.... but if you could make the K-1 entries a little easier next year would be awesome!! Thanks April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product that can always be better It is a consistently good product getting better each year. this year i found the its-deductible charity app integration not so great still. the product doesn't replace what was done in the previous year, just adds duplicate items. by far the most time consuming event. that and the poor instructions and usage of 1009-r reporting took up most of my time. My wish list includes better handling of selling business assets and instructions where the state tax forms are in use. Maybe next year they will improve itsdeductable integration and processing. March 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2014 formatting I have never been so confused and confounded by the apparently new formatting. I have many doubts that my Federal return was filed correctly but no way to be certain. When I decided to file my state return myself, it came back to me as incomplete--refile. I am unable to generate a coherent form from Turbotax for state, which must also include a Federal copy. I cannot print readable copies for my own files. Turbotax, why did you do this? I was very happy the last five years with your product but will not purchase it again. I am lost and dismayed. April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the extra $$$ I have used basic Turbo Tax for years - with a farm and small business - with no problems. Can't say the same for Turbo Tax Personal and Small Business. It's 4/9 and you would think the snafus would be fixed by now - but NO. Info transferred to the State return was wrong. Trying to ACH to pay State taxes due tells me that I'm trying to use a foreign bank account. Uh - NO. The whole program was very difficult to use this year and I probably won't buy it again. I dread moving all the depreciated equipment to a new program but will do it next year. April 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo for Mac 2015 Iv'e used TTax many years and was pleased until TurboTax for Mac 2015. Has some serious bug: not all data transfers from Fed to state forms resulting in a sate tax liability one hundred times greater than the Fed, an obvious flag that was not caught by TTax. I've used QuickBooks and just switched to Quicken thinking there would be fewer problems using the same developer's programs but, there are still some bugs that need squashing in both current versions. If those corrections are made TTax would get four or five stars; until then its TWO STARS. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of TurboTax Deluxe I have been using TurboTax Deluxe for over twenty years and was very displeased to find out the package was changed for basic forms like C, D and K. I applaud management for correcting a major blunder and look forward to seeing TurboTax deluxe the same content as it has been for years, next year! Areas that could be better. Eliminate auto unchecking needed boxes after completion when one reviews. Make state input forms so one can go back and select only the item they want to look at when reviewing. Starting at the first step is non-productive. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like it This has been a stable, relatively reliable product for many years. It imports information from last year's return and really makes things easy, like personal data, depreciation, etc. I do not like the fact that Intuit is pressuring customers to store their data on the cloud. Current events and experiences of other corporations suggest this is not as secure as it should be (yet). E-file has been glitchy several years, including this year. State e-file is expensive and getting more so. I would recommend the product for it's overall ease of use. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is the first year I've had a problem with Turbo Tax. I didn't realize we had been bumped up a few tax brackets and needed forms we have not used before. I had downloaded Deluxe and needed Home & Business. I called Turbo Tax and they upgraded me with no problems. Ramero even stayed on the phone with me until I was sure it was all working. Turbo Tax is GREAT even for dummies like me... It asked the right questions for me to find the information I need. I still had to pay taxes, but Turbo made it easier to get the right info in the right place. April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by More Confusing Than Before Flavors of TurboTax have become like to cereal or cookie aisle...way too many. Previously, one could have confidence in buying just one product. This year was different. First there were concerns about hacked TT files and fake returns filed. Then there was the mixup about which version to buy. After I thoughtfully purchased "deluxe" I was still asked to keep upgrading to more complete versions. Fortunately, no charge. The whole idea behind TT originally was KISS. Intuit has now moved beyond that, and value to the customer depreciates as a result. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TAX PREPARATION MADE EASY I paid a CPA to do my taxes for years. My tax situation includes a very small business. After annual tax preparation fees upward of $500 for an hours service, (I'm not making that kind of income), I decided, enough! Purchased my first Turbo Tax in 2014 and the rest is history. I was surprised how easy it was. Took me 5 hours the first taxes, 3 hours to prepare 2014 taxes. Any questions I had were available via Q&A resources that Turbo Tax provides. I've yet not to find an answer to my questions. Turbo Tax, thanks for helping out the working folks! March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TruboTax Personal & Small Business Easy to use. Nice to have last years info brought in. The W2 import didn't work, for about the fifth year in a row. Nice to be able to download the state tax, but to have to pay almost $30.00 to file the return on top of the almost $90.00 to buy the product is steep, and something i will have to consider when purchasing next year. And of course, the increase in price to get the same capability as last year has been covered a lot. Even made the national news. Until now it has been an automatic choice: taxes = turbo tax. Next year, not so automatic. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Struggled to Finish Generally, I buy it each year so I must love to hate it. There's often an obvious error so you have to watch closely. This year it showed I was not a US resident so I wasn't eligible for certain State deductions even though I was a citizen on my Fed form. I also needed to fight the software for an extra hour to find a way to enter SE payments where I was required to calculate percentages of amount previously entered. Questions on many subjects I searched in the web FAQ, were unanswered after months of customer queries. Cant wait till next year : ) April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent as Always I am self employed and purchased what I thought would be the same as the Deluxe version in prior years. Then I learned that it did not include preparation of Schedule C. I was greatly relieved when it gave me the opportunity to download the Home and Business version at no additional cost. It steps you through everything with great examples and help for each topic as you go. If you keep good records it can be done quickly and smoothly and far more economically than paying a tax preparation firm. The free Federal e-file caps off a great experience!! April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes The Turbotax software is easy to navigate. However the expenses continually add up. The cost of the program is not the part that is hard to swallow. The cost to file electronically for the State, the cost of Audit Defense (which is typically covered under a CPA cost), this and that.... There is also online advertising which makes it appear cheaper to do your taxes online, but when you look at the fees it is far cheaper to download the software. I would prefer a program that the expenses are lined out, and that there are no "leading" advertisements. March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Made the Painful more Agonizing Have used Turbo Tax for 4 years. Started off normal then hit a few bumps. The its deductible account I created last year, did not save any of the charities used. Had to re-enter all of them. Why did you demand information about my health insurance status? I used my free state e-file and you still charges me 20 dollars to e-file. Really ended on a sour note... Making a tax service look more attractive now. After spending 100 dollars for the 2014 software and 20 dollars to file plus 2-3 hours time, I believe it would be cheaper to work with them. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Years of Turbo Tax Use Overall I find the product to work extremely well for most purposes. However this year, I sold a rental property that I owned jointly with a friend. The results of the sale on her return were different than my return. Since I have a number of years of tax experience, I loaded her data on my system, and tried to start from scratch. In the end I found myself entering data on the worksheets to get the results I believed were correct. I think it had to do with the free upgrade process. For whatever reason my upgraded to higher version than her upgrade. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by How TT Can Improve Nice that someone answers the phone in a reasonable amount of time so close to tax time. The second person I spoke with was very helpful and her solution worked. It would be nice to be able to just enter info on the tax forms and then let TT do a review and error check instead of having to go through the interview. I have used TT for over 15 and I know what to do and where everything goes. I did appreciate the Healthcare section very much. I will likely continue to use TT, but PLEASE make it easier for those of us who know what to do. Thank you April 9, 2015
  • 2015-06-30T11:00:01.854-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-261, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12757, tr_12757
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 259 260 261 262 263 ... 294 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.