1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 261 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 tax year edition Each level of TurboTax always supported all elements of the lower levels, plus some additional features. Now you seem to have tailored your structures to make the user select a particular level in advance, where the new selection may not support all forms that may have been relevant in former years. I much prefer the former structure, and I would probably not choose TurboTax under the current structure, if I did not have my existing tax history saved in TurboTax records. Please return to the former more supportive levels structure. March 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Amended Return I have using TTax for about 10 years. This yearI had a complete printed copy and a Pdf copy by no .tax copy so basically had to completely redo my taxes! Unfortunately, I had deducted the original downloaded copy of TTax before IRS contacted us with a mistake in the estimated tax paid. The we received a late 1099-R that was different from our calculation. I "hope" the amended return is correct but am not confident. In addition, for some reason I was unable to download a copy of TTax 2014 and had to have a technician accomplish that. May 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Excellent, but there was one problem The only issue was when you are recapturing the remainder of unamortized closing expenses at the sale of a rental property (and probably other property), the form asks for the sale price and cost basis of which there are none. This is very confusing and if you put in the sale price of the asset you double the gain. I worked it out with an extremely knowledgeable TurboTax technical representative, but that shouldn't have been required. This is the first year in probably 20 TurboTax hasn't gotten 5 stars from me and it was due to this. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by K1 problem Everything typically goes well, I have used Turbo Tax for many years. This year it got stuck on my K1s Federal. I got to the end and Turbo said Ieft one of my Ks blank and this needs to be fixed. I went back and double checked both of my Ks, they were fine, no blank spots anywhere. The message would not go away. Later I got stuck on a “worksheet” extension, there was no indication of where to go to fix the extension or what belonged to, I didn’t fill out any extension pages. No information about where to go to fix it was frustrating. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow. I itemize and questions and suggestions help very well. I do like specific instructions to go to review/update a part of the form. Final printing of the required Washington County. Oregon Tri-met tax on self employed tax: we need 2 forms. First prints to the page break and then prints "page two data" in the middle of the second from. Second form prints more (the rest of the data for the second report) in the middle of the second page. (must not expect two self-employed plus regular joint return) on the same return??) April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Very Accessible I normally use the web version of TurboTax. This is the first year I have used the software version and, while I appreciate that it is intuitive and helpful, it doesn't work with my screen reader. I am visually impaired and use a program called ZoomText to magnify the screen and read text to me. The software version of TT doesn't allow me to read 90% of the text within the program, so I had to have someone else navigate while I provided the answers. Unless this is fixed in future versions, I'll be switching back to the web version. March 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Who designed this mess I have to use an ip pin. I spent over an hour trying to find how to enter the pin numbers. When I finally accidentally found the place by searching the forms file, (it didn't show on a search, only looking down the list) then there is all kinds of confusing windows to pick through. The normal work thru makes no mention of the ip pin, I thought I was ready to file, then had it rejected because of the No IP PIN. I tried to get numbers after rejection by IRS. No wait until we send one. They arrived before the date they set as their goal. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not get the maximum refund. The system claimed that I owed $28 penalty because my estimated tax payments were not enough. However, I received a refund so my estimated payments were enough. Therefore, I did not receive my maximum refund. I believe this was caused by the fact that the first time through, the system could not calculate the deduction for state income or state sales tax. At that point, the calculations stated that I owed over $400. When the State Sales Tax was finally filled in, and the system calculated the refund, it did not delete the $28 penalty. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Random Thoughts I've been using this program for as long as it has been around. Suddenly, it can't remember where I was when I left. Also, it used to efile Federal and state without an additional charge, now it requires an additional 19.99 to efile your state tax return. I don't really understand that. To add salt to the wound, when in my federal return, it knows all my banking info (because it xferred from last years return) then when I get to the state filing it can't recall my banking info and I have to reenter it. Stuff like that is irritating. . March 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falling down Intuit products in general are performing poorly with the new Mac Yosemite. If you're not an experienced Turbo Tax user, this can be even more frustrating. Plus, Turbotax still doesn't give you a menu specifically to print and file your state return. They assume you will efile even if your state charges for this (a bad deal for the taxpayer). The overall link to Quicken is weak because of the Yosemite problems, and updates require that you install only by opening the application, not if you already have a file (like your return) open. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplied The Complicated We Love Turbotax! Easy to Use, Auto populates previous information which I find beneficial. It handles all of our business and personal income tax needs seamlessly and with ease. I had to call Customer Service one time, and she was very helpful. With Turbotax, I am confident in the filing of our tax return. Did you know the IRS considers a 5th wheel a 2nd home and the loan interest is tax deductible? Turbotax did! The audit defense is reasonable and provides us with peace of mind. I will be a loyal customer for life! Thank you Turbotax April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Won't use again I bought turbo tax deluxe this year as I have for many years. I assumed it would cover the same stuff as it has in the past. I was wrong, no longer was I able to enter my 1099-B it isn't supported so for $30.00 more I had to down load turbo tax premier. Then I went to enter my small farm info and once again I was told its not supported and for $10.00 I had to download turbo tax home and business. I'm now out almost $100.00. Charging me over $40.00 more over the $50.00 I've paid for turbo in the past. I will not buy Turbo tax next year. May 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for federal, less so for state I've used Turbo Tax Home & Business for more than a decade; it has always worked well and I've never had a problem using the program or filing my taxes. It does a great job walking you through every step of the federal return process, with tutorials and help readily available. That all comes to a screeching halt when its time to do the state return (mine is NJ). Dense questions are asked, the tutorials are gone, and the help screens offer little help. You are on your own if you can't think like a tax preparer when you get to this part. March 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works great, but not all forms included with basic I have used Turbo Tax for years. The step by step guide is great and easy to follow. I have never had any problems until this year. However, for some reason Turbo Tax decided to make a change to their program this year and I had to upgrade to home and business just for 1 form. The farm schedule used to be part of the basic program, now it's not. I had to pay double just to get what I needed. I am very disappointed. I hope they decide to go back and include it for next year. Otherwise, I will have to find another program for 2015 taxes. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but still some uncertainties I have been using TurboTax for many years and overall it has been far better than filling out papers by hand. Handling unemployment issues is not well spelled out as to how to characterize expenses for job search. Healthcare issue is extremely unclear as to how to handle the last page. TurboTax insists on filling out the form when Healthcare act staff tell you that you do not have to file the form, This is really confusing and it would help if TurboTax cleared it up instead of asking for a form that cannot and should not be filled out. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Vogel review I have used Turbo Tax for 10 years or so, and found this year's easier to use than in the past. I was able to make corrections easily, and find tax information. In one event I had to call for help and the Turbotax agent was friendly and helpful. I was unhappy that you took schedule C out of the standard edition and hope you will put it back. I also missed some of the tax comparison data that you used to have at the end of the process. and the notations about tax audit $ possibilities. But the system worked well for me again. Thank you. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Format for data entry. Found Turbo Tax easy to use and the navigation for data entry was well organized. Having the data from last year's return was helpful. Using direct data download from our financial institutions resulted in duplicate entries for all 1099 sections. I had to go in manually and delete the duplicate entries. I entered tax exempt income from 2 1099 forms but the program would not add the totals. The printed copy of my return shows only the amount of one of the 1099s. What is strange is that last year the program had no problem in this area. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Polished TurboTax is a very well-established program that has polished itself to a high gloss. I should also put in a good word for some excellent phone support I received. Some kinks remain, however: (1) It is difficult to pick up certain dialogues in the middle; one is often forced to retrace steps uselessly. (2) Filing the state return (at least my state, which had to be done by mail) is counterintuitive and confusing -- even to the extent that when one tries to save the file (as advised) it comes up with the file name for one's federal 1040. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Worst TurboTax User Experience in 15 years I use TurboTax to prepare returns for myself and my family . only one member needed the "Business features". The interview forced all users to work through a meaningless large set of questions dealing with irrelevant business topics. There should be an easy way to declare that the return is non-business and skip all business related interview questions. In the past, the forms I needed for my return were included in the Personal version of Turbo TAX - no so this year .... this change set the tone for the disappointing experience to come April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly good Most of Turbotax is easy to use, has useful previous year comparisons to present year, good review of business depreciations. Really easy to go through 1099-B transactions. I have used Turbotax since it was called Macintax. For the third year in a row, I was forced to file by mail (not e-file) because of a fatal flaw in Intuit software on K-1 worksheet, which asks for information that the issuer of K-1 does not provide. Intuit software folks really need to read all the chatter in the Intuit user community about problems with K-1 forms. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect Ohio has a small business tax deduction that requires form SBD, which is not included in your program. As a result, I must file my Ohio taxes by paper mail, print out a copy of the SBD form myself from the Ohio Department of Taxation website, fill it out by hand, and mail it in with the return I printed from TurboTax. Because your program did not include the SBD last year, I did not know about it and now I must file a revision for 2013 taxes, and I can't do that through TurboTax, because you don't have it. Everything else was very good. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Forced to upgrade I've done my taxes on turbo tax since the beginning. This is the first year I've been forced to upgrade. I've always had access to the forms for a simple rental and small business...but this year, I was forced upgrade to premier....and then forced to upgrade again to home and business version. I shouldn't have to upgrade for something that's been included in previous versions. Besides being forced to upgrade, everything went pretty smooth. One issue is a 1099-S...Turbo Tax only gave the option to fill out a 1099-B, so I had to improvise April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Multiple income sources made easy 2014 was a difficult year and the taxes were complicated. I was out of work for 3/4 of the year, on unemployment for 1/3rd of the year, had a on-call "self employed" position that yielded about 3 weeks of work that turned into a very brief casual staff position before finally landing a full time job in the last quarter. I also went to school part time for one semester to obtain a much needed skill for the job I landed. I was seriously dreading doing my taxes, but TurboTax made doing them straight forward and easy. Thank you TurboTax!!!!! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20+ years of TT The federal income tax system has become 'over the top' for the average tax payer......thank you TT for sheltering me from this barrage of nomenclature that has no relativity in my world. Your prompts, examples, and checks and balances are crucial to getting thru this burdensome task of taxes. #I never thought a Roth IRA could be so complicated, until I printed your rules and example--whew# Keep up the good work and maintain your current level of support and and representation for those of us who aren't #and don't want to be# accountants April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TTax Home and Business Review The end result was achieved. We finished and filed our taxes. This year seemed to be a bit more difficult to complete the process. Entries that I believed were completed such as on forms 1099-R ended up to be incomplete in the final review cycle. I hope that the numerical entries remained unchanged. I was disappointed by Intuit for the price I paid for because Intuit did not offer all the features on lesser versions. I purchased my copy early and, as it turned out, paid a premium that Intuit eventually reduced the price for. Oh well !!! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good but two caveats I had a book self-published and was sent a 1099-Misc form from sales. Turbo Tax incorrectly forces you to generate a Schedule C as if this were a business when in fact it is a hobby and should have the option of entering under Miscellaneous Income (clearly stated in Turbo's own "read more" button). Also, I was never prompted to enter my health insurance premiums under medical expenses even though they are deductible in the amount exceeding 2% of AGI, which they do in my case. I had to pick the edit button under that category to enter it. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Questionable, tiresome, and worrying. The program itself is OK. It has changed over the years and does not seem as "friendly" as it used to be. It use to ask a lot more questions to determine what you need to do and how to file, what forms might be needed, or suggestions to change how you look at things and make the filing more targeted to what your situation needs to be. All of that seems to be gone. Because I have had to make all of this "unaided", I am no longer sure if I have done it all correctly, or if there was a way I could have done it better, and perhaps paid less. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Premium is great as usual As usual Premium handles everything well for the variety of investment activity. What I did not like this year was having to upgrade to Home & Business to enter my wife's self-employed business numbers. Her business is self-employed cosmetologist. She has Gross Sales, Supplies, Rent, Insurance and Supplies only. In the past 7 years, I was able to enter her tax info in Premium. Now Intuit, forces you to upgrade from Premium to Home & Business to enter any business info. Well, she retired in 2014, so I'll put up with an upgrade for 1 year. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by lots of questions It feels like you go in circles and put in the same information more than once. specifically schedule c, itemized deductions, job expenses - each asked about my car...why? shouldn't it have populated where it needed to be? Secondly, depreciation is truly not easy to determine, add to that form 8824 which populated after I mentioned I replaced a car. Very difficult to navigate this year. I'm really concerned that my turbo tax is not as accurate as it should be, there aren't any mistakes, but that doesn't mean it's correct. Hence my concern April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by fine product mostly, but don't get divorce … and will then prevent you from filing your returns because there are mistakes in worksheets concerning for your ex-spouse. Sadly divorces are common, and as such, they should be a high-priority use case for your software developers. Why does the software not provide a transition path from year n to year n+1 for a divorced couple with a few short questions? I cannot imagine this kind of software to hard to add to the product, especially because it could rely on an interactive mode, querying the user for additional information as needed. March 14, 2015
  • 2015-08-04T11:32:52.678-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-261, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12846, tr_12846
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 259 260 261 262 263 ... 296 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.