1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 144 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by not so hot have been using HR Block for last two years. like their format and data presentation much better. T-T also would not update from HRB's last year's filing and I could not upload my income date from Pershing LLC (may not be T-T's fault). Did not know how to hide the mini-worksheets when looking at forms and I could not, or could not figure how to, go directly to a spot on a form and have it allow me to enter data (or at least take me directly to the input location). Had to wade thru the decision tree all over again, Also could not use "create similar form" to avoid entering all the issuer's information each time. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still not as good as it SHOULD be A former BETA tester, I am still disappointed that several of my suggestions have not yet been implemented. - For example, the user should have the ability to use COMMENTS on ANY/ALL input areas. I have many customers who do not KNOW the COMPLETE answer to a question, but TT no longer allows me to open a dialog box and then use an honest answer to approximate the eventual results. In addition, too many questions do not allow a "MARKED ESTIMATE" response so that the program can find all my 'MARKED ESTIMATE" answers as if they were ERRORs. This is a MAJOR LOSS. I should be able to flag any and all of my answers. February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time filing 1099s, and I had challenges Overall, the Home and Business Software started off without any challenges. I had to do my 1099s before my taxes (so I have yet to finish my actual tax return). While I was able to do my 1099s pretty effortlessly, I still can't figure out how to file them electronically or import them into my actual tax return. And I'm not a computer novice, so I think that part is lacking. But I've liked TurboTax for doing my own business taxes for years. This was my first time filling out 1099s, and the filing of them and the importing of them into my actual return could have been easier, as I've yet to figure those things out! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure, sometimes a pain I've used TT even when I hated using it, and loved the results each year, though not necessarily the process or the bad news (I always owe). Heck, I've got *.tax files back to 1997. Must be why I'm so glad they've finally got the "text zoom" working - old eyes! There are always a couple rough spots, but you can usually follow the quick zooms and drill down through forms to figure out whether you've put a number in the wrong place, or TT has. (This year I backed out of itemizing and TT left one negative number stuck someplace for me to find and zero out. And why ask me about sped-up refunds when I owe $6K? :-/ ) February 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just too many glitches! For a novice to either the cloud or self prepared taxes, or both, my estimation is that TT will be just way too difficult. it's fine for those of us who've been preparing our own taxes all our lives and also for those of us who are on the cloud all day, but i feel sorry for anyone just getting started and who has even a bit of complexity to his or her taxes. and i encountered quite of few of the same glitches that have been around for years. my guess is that the new tax prep software players are gaining market share. for myself i stick with the devil i know for the devil i don't know.but who knows about next year. March 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy with Changes I bought Turbo tax deluxe before finding out it no longer covered the same things as previous years. I thought about returning it and then heard about the $25 refund so I kept it and upgraded it to the home and business version. The $25 didn't come close to the extra cost of the home and business version and since I did it while working in Turbo Tax I didn't realize the cost before I upgraded. I then come to find out that Turbo Tax is going to make it right for those who just had the deluxe version. Either way I am out money that had I realized was going to happen I would have used different software all together. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far, so good I've been using TurboTax since it was first released. It has always been easy to navigate and very reliable. They've added the ACA section, and offer helpful comparisons. The formerly frustrating help features have beefed up, so you can jump to the spot you need for input. What I noticed was there was a place where I eliminated the home office deduction for a business, but the form had to be deleted manually. It was awkward to find the form and delete it. It seems as thought navigation has gotten harder, in the effort to dumb down the interface. But for the most part, all of the improvements this year are good. March 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Job accomplished! In past years I was able to do my taxes and even file a simple schedule C with Basic TurboTax. This year I needed to go all the way up to Home & Business Version. Fortunately, the customer service gave me a link to the more expensive version free, since I had already purchased the Basic version, and was disappointed that I could not do my taxes as in past years with this version. Hopefully TurboTax will go back to having all the forms in all the versions, and allow you to jump to the forms if you wish to. Your family life section should have an option for empty nest. We have kids, they just no longer live with us. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved CPA-fee & Received Larger Return Although I wasn't anticipating paying a fee to e-file my State return, I am 100% satisfied with my TurboTax experience. The step-by-step guide, in layman terminology, and side windows describing unfamiliar concepts, made the whole experience SUPER easy! I used to pay my CPA about $200 (for what I think is a simple return# & by simply investing in the Costco-bought software #cheaper than office supply store) I was able to save the CPA fee & I ultimately reaped a larger refund!!! Love this software -- will recommend to anybody who is able to read & has taxes to file. No special tax or accounting experience required. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Finally! I've used the Home and Business TT for several years and it is very convenient when it transfers over your prior year records and basically starts the new year with the information you need. However, this year I ended my consulting business and while the software seemed straightforward with its questions and final results, the "advice" on line (via TT?) indicated different things would happen. It took a long time to get to someone on the phone that basically told me I did not need to follow that advice - in other words, just take it as TT gives it and send in your return. So, I hope it is right - it always has been. March 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by My worst experience with Turbo Tax This was my most frustrating tax filing I have ever experienced. Very difficult to go back and change some things or find out where to change them. For instance, I had three 1099's for Consulting and I entered the title of the business related with one of them as Non-Profit Finances and wanted to go back and change it to Consulting but could never find a away to change it. Then a major frustration at the end. Will not print my state return so I can file it by mail. It appears that you are holding me hostage for the $19.99 filing fee. If I have to pay that fee it will be the last money Turbo Tax will ever get from me. February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, Accurate and Private I like working on my taxes at my speed and having the knowledge that I am gathering all my information and someone is walking me through each section with lots of help topics. I enjoy working at my own speed and not having to get everything done in a one hour appointment somewhere else. I especially love having my information private; like this year I had several medical issues and did not want to discuss all that with the "tax man". I have been using Turbo Tax for years and do not plan to ever go back to a private company. Turbo Tax allows me to be in control of this rather arduous and personal task. Thank you for a great product. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing With Confidence I like to use turbo tax except for: The business section did not allow me a choice as to whether I wanted to depreciate my car as part of my business. My understanding is that if I get depreciation credit on the car and then sell it, I will have to claim the credit on next years taxes as such. I would like to avoid depreciating the car (I am just using the car as an example. It could apply to other business items as well) if I want to. I would like a choice in the matter. Also, once I have started printing a copy (at the end) I would like to have the option of stopping it. The CANCEL BUTTON did not help me to stop it. February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Use...for the Most Part I've used Turbo Tax for years. I like the software and appreciate that I can do my own taxes. In general, Turbo Tax is very user-friendly. However, there are times when I feel that the questions are worded in a very confusing way. There are also times when I feel like none of the options are true, but there's no option to select 'other' or 'none of these'. I will continue to Turbo Tax. I think it is a great product that is simple to use and provides resources to find the answers you are looking for. Taxes can be very confusing, and I think Turbo Tax does the best job possible to make it as easy as possible! Thank you! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Software For Taxes Ever! I used to use other software many years ago and struggled to do my taxes. Then, a gentleman who worked for me also did taxes part time for other people and he told me about Turbo Tax. That was over 11 years ago and I am still using it today. It has just gotten better and better over the years and now everyone should be able to use it instead of paying a professional. Just keep ledgers of what you spent using Excel and at the end of the year just plug in the numbers and go! I am also a part-time actor so I think Turbo Tax should hire me for their next commercial. Because I am not just an actor, I ALSO USE THE PRODUCT!!! February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not happy with Turbo Tax cahnges I'm a retired CPA and have used Turbo Tax for many years. I used the Deluxe version in the past as I need Schedule C, E, D as well as other forms not now included in the Deluxe version that i initially purchased for my 2014 tax return. Since I have a fairly complex return, I now need the Home and Business version. I use other Intuit products (Quicken and Quick Books Pro) and find them quite good, but am quite disappointed in the changes that were made requiring me to buy the more expensive version to prepare my return. Major PR fiasco for you guys as H & R Block surely is eating into you core customers for tax software. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Go Back to Last Year's Version Your company has made a terrible mistake in requiring upgrades to Premier and Home and Business for access to Schedule C and Schedule E. I have been a loyal customer for over 15 years and in the past the Deluxe version satisfied all of my requirements. In 2015 you need to allow people to access Schedules C and E without upgrading. The Premier and Home and Business versions should provide a bunch of additional features for people needing it. Many customers (like me) only need basic access to these 2 schedules. If you do require upgraded versions in the future, I will definitely be using a different tax product next year. March 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Speedy filing I've used Turbo Tax and MacinTax before that for many years. Usually, it doesn't take me long to fill out my taxes. This year was no exception. Everything went quite smoothly. One problem which I've had for years is that the program asks me for any adjustments I need to make between the Federal treatment and State treatment of income and deductions for my returns. I have no idea... I really want the program to *tell me* if there are differences and what they are. Really, only a tax professional is going to know this info. Other than this, I think the product is a good product, and I will most likely continue to use it. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax EXTRA STRENGTH As a CPA, I debate which tax software to use for my personal taxes. Every year, I purchase the Desktop version of Home & Business Turbo Tax to do my PERSONAL taxes. My favorite part of it is how it lets you see ALL of the forms -- including that very important -- Schedule C, while you are working on them! Actually, I like the prior year comparison on Turbo Tax much better than the ones by the expensive tax software that my employer uses. If tax software were headache cures, I'd call it Turbo Tax Extra Strength. It is so much better than the Turbo Tax Online where you can't see your Schedule C. SEE MY PHOTO OF TURBO CAT March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall for 2014 Overall, very well thought out program. It helps me a lot with my kids college and wife's business. However, there were some problems with my local forms or the City of Jackson, Michigan. TurboTax does not properly transfer the local income tax my wife paid to all the places on this form. Consequently, it shows $0 in tax withheld when in reality there was $231. This turns a $217 in taxes owed to a $14 refund. Additionally, it prints the wrong address for me on Attachment 1 - even though the system asks for my actual work location address. Like last year, I will use the TurboTax forms to help me fill this out by hand and mail in. March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax has been difficult to order this year Doing the taxes was fine and what I have become to expect. The problem came with any time I tried to purchase anything on line. I kept getting a payment error for the state program. Once when I wanted to buy an additional state and second when I wanted to pay to e file. I waited a long time to get purchase of the additional state program but refused to do that again to file so just printed out the forms and mailed them. You lost a sale and next year I may just think about going some place else. I was already a little miffed that the deluxe program had been dumbed down and I was forced to up grade to the most expensive program. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems, what are all of the complaints about? I am not sure what negative reviews were about. Everything went smoothly, I liked the layout, and explanations were great, and ItsDeductible is terrific for entering donations. Included in price was Federal return, 1 free federal e-file, and 1 free state return. I had to pay to e-file state. This is no different than what I have been doing every year. Also, I can do all of my children's taxes. It is free if I mail printed forms in, but I have to pay for both state and fed e-file fees. I also like to pay for the audit insurance where I don't have to talk to IRS person at-all if there is a problem (might be $60 for this service?) March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product I have a small business and rental house using Turbo-Tax Business for the last Eight years. The business slump forced me to cut way back closing my store front location, becoming Home Business. Turbo-Tax allowed me to get rid of CPA and his Big bill. I’m very pleased with all the work sheets I’m able to store each year. With this paperwork Plus the Tax Audit, I purchase each year, I will have peace of mind in case of audit. I found in past audits that the IRS wants a paper backup which Turbo-Tax has Plus if you have a Major Investment account such as Edward Jones or many others that are Super easy to transfer to your 1040 forms. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Skips over home office expenses The only things I really don't like are the fact that once I enter that I have a home-office, it doesn't take me right to the home utilities and expenses, but goes on to other topics. At the end I realize I haven't entered those write-offs and have to go SEARCHING for where to enter them. This is the second year this has happened to me. Don't undertsand why it hasn't been fixed yet. Also, when I edit a section, it doesn't show clearly that that is done. Maybe changing that button to a different color would help. I have to scroll down to look for where I was and find the next point. Otherwise, I'm pretty happy with the software. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weird situation with import from previous year This version of TurboTax is very similar to previous versions. However, I did find it better than previous in navigating back into previously covered materials to change numbers, maximize contributions etc. Still find it better than most other tax software I have used, especially for those of us who own small business and have to provide Schedule C's. The weirdest problem occurred with the import feature. for some reason it automatically decided that I should declare unreimbursed business expenses for a Job that I left the previous year. Did not seem to cross reference with the current W-2's or 1099's. That should not happen. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax gets better every year! Just like fine wine, TurboTax gets better every year. I was an early adopter of Turbo Tax back in the mid 80's when it first came out as Chipsoft's MacInTax, and subsequently purchased by Intuit a few years later and merged to TurboTax. Every single year this program keeps improving, and stability improves. I've found that year over year, I am forced to go up the ladder to keep getting the forms I need. (I have 2 LLC's, and a need to do a K-1, & Schedule C&D.) I now use the Home & Business version which fits my needs. Years ago, I used to use just Deluxe. Anyway, I'm happy with the continuity and stability. Fantastic Job!!! February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1040 & 1041 Expert Help a phone call away. I have been using Turbotax deluxe for filing are joint individual returns for ages. What a breeze. Since I have been doing 1040 for 5 decades, I have found no errors in the returns. I just started using 1041 for a trust in 2013. I found the best way to get a hold of expert advice is to ask the question and sometimes the exact same question is asked by someone in the community. Then you will be able to click on contact us. Use the prompt for expert advice - $19.95, however if you have purchased the software, there is no cost. A certified accountant will call you back..... so no waiting on speaker phone for 45". Turbotax rocks!!!! March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax! I have used Turbo Tax Deluxe for several years. I have recommended it to several others who tried it and was amazed at how easy it was to use and understand. I purchased the Deluxe I normally use and found part way through my return that Schedule C had been moved into the Personal and Small Business product. I had to upgrade...but was able to continue at that point and complete. BUT A CLASS ACT COMPANY! I was told I would get a $25 refund toward the additional cost this year....and an e-mail apologizing for the change and saying that they would be returning the Deluxe product to its previous form for the 2015 tax year! THANK YOU! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Taxes made easy I have used turbo tax for years and like how it walks through all the issues- and we have a complicated tax situation. But this year, as I was completing an issue that had several parts, when I completed one part and when back to the main list of parts I had to scroll back down through the completed parts to find my place again. Then when I was e-filing it kept taking me back to a form that I did not need and asking for information before the form could be transmitted? It was for a 1099 Misc, but there was no payee and it kept asking for an EIN. It would be nice to have a Help line that we could call if we are stuck on something. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer for 25 Years! Turbo Tax is the very best tax preparation tool I have ever used. I don't have to worry about missing anything by letting TT walk me through the process and the TT software helps answer any quesitons I may have about what the program is asking me to enter. For the last 15 years I have used my TT experience to set up a spreadsheet where I keep my income and expenses up to date throughout the year so that when tax time comes I only have to confirm my completed entries and transfer my data into TT - couldn't be easier and this allows me to e-file at the earliest possible date, ensuring I have the most up-to-date forms in the process. January 24, 2015
  • 2015-04-01T13:12:05.006-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-144, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_6777, tr_6777
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 142 143 144 145 146 ... 153 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.