TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 4 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive! I feel that the original cost of the program is too high. I expected to pay extra to file state taxes but 39.99 for the form PLUS 19.99 to e-file?? At the very least, you should give a simple warning ON THE FRONT of the software package that it is going to cost a total of $80 to file your taxes this way. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT, GREAT, GREAT PROGRAM I have used Turbo Tax for 20+ years and all the folks I work with have changed to it over the years. Never had a problem with program. It is concise and easy to understand. Makes April 15th a lot easier to take. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2010 Turbo Tax Review Probably as good as it gets for a layman's interpretation of our incredibly complex tax code. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rolled in My Refund! This was the easiest most convenient way I have ever filed my taxes. It was right from home, not running home to get something I forgot. GREAT JOB! I will stick with Turbo Tax from now on. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difficult to do a 1040X I've used Turbotax for 20 years or more but never for a 1040X. It was difficult to get the new 1040 and the old 1040 to compare since the old one from a relative was not done on Turbotax. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My refund I have been using H&R Block for years and the store I went to buy a copy, they were out so I bought a copy of Turbo Tax instead. Good choice for me. I will buy Turbo Tax again next year. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax first timer Very easy to use to file your taxes. I did struggle to find out how to use the applicatiion to file more than one return ( my two sons). If not for that issue, I would have given 5 stars. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Refund! I have been using this Turbo tax for many years, starting when it was called intuit. Over the years I've found the program very accurate and covers all tax issues. It also seems to get more user friendly each year. January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome awesome awesome VERY EASY TO READ AND FOLLOW ALONG... I'D SERIOUSLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!! NO MORE PAYING OTHERS TO DO MY TAXES!!! I GOT THIS HONEY!!! TURBOTAX IS WORTH EVERY DIME YOU SPEND ON IT!!! March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time user it went very well This was my first time using a software tax form. Although having nothing to compare it with I thought it went very well and quit fast. I can't imagine another product being much better. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Simple step-by-step easy-to-follow worksheet instructions. It took less than an hour to install the software and enter the information to complete the return. I used a Mac; I'm sure the Windows version is identical. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy!!!! I am so relieved! TurboTax made filing my taxes simple and stress free! WAY cheaper than having them done for me, too! I waited until the last minute, so was worried about getting my taxes done, but now I can relax! April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tax software year after year. I've used this software for several years and is has worked perfectly for me. Have been retired for a few years and still use the basic version as a great way to document the tax year. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy and helpful A great program to do your simple taxes at home and save tax preparers fees. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product to use I like using Turbo Tax as it pulls in previous return information and new years information quickly. It walks thru everything and makes the return process quick and un-eventful. It will be utilized for years to come. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was very frustrating at the end that you couldn't just file taxes without having to say no to so many upgrades/endorcements/advertising - trying to get me to buy additional things. April 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Turbo Tax Again I have been trying to get Turbo Tax to work properly for weeks and I have decided I won't use it next year. Now this situtation could be changed if there is a chance that you guys can tell me what to do with my tax report that you filed, but I wan't really to file it. Can you get the file back or UNFile it? Please let me know. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't File Taxes Any Other Way! I've used TurboTax for the last several years to file my taxes and I'll continue to use it for the rest of my life. Filing is made super quick and easy with TurboTax and I have my refunds in hand in no time. Thank you! January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No taxation without representation Please be more clear on what the a student who goes to college out of state should indicate for their state of residence. I had to go back and change it. The "explain this" link was not helpful in these regards at all. March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perhaps you can include other retirement pays and not only IRAs, 401Ks, Civil Service and Railroad retirements. Additional choices would be easier to follow for people like me, otherise you have an outstanding product.. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as pie It was easy for my first time, their was a few things that I didn't understand what to put in for the amount like box 10,but you fix it for me.Then their is the state tax Tenn. doesn't have one. Thank you for your help. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me! One of the few benefits of growing old is the simplification of taxes in retirement. For those of us that just need 'down and dirty', uncomplicated tax filing, this works just fine. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and quick I've used another company's software and found it to be less user friendly last year so bought TurboTax last year and gave up on the other software. This year I saved myself money--just got TurboTax and it was a breeze. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Painful Filling individual forms was most helpful. Step by step method was somewhat confusing because it always went back to the very beginning after each entry.Maryland, just outside of w. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free Refund I feel Turbo Tax is an easy in and out process. It only takes a few minutes of your time. The process is simple and direct. I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone who is interested. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not too bad I have been using Turbotax for about as long as it has been available. For the most part it is easy to use, understandable and answers most of the questions that come up. There is the occasional glitch. This year I have had to call customer service twice but this is the first year I have had to call customer service at all. The situation was resolved quickly and professionally. I have no doubt the glitch this year will not occur next year and I will be using Turbotax next year for me and my entire family just like I have every year. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple, a little frustrating, well worth the money great simple software that I could recommend to anyone of any age group, if you can type, have the proper forms, and a little help anyone can file their taxes for less than what it would cost to have a professional do it. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax for many years, never any complaints. Just wondering why the tax software is cheaper in the store than being a TurboTax customer and receiving my copy automatically? slightly more expensive (No biggy) February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience Been using for a very long time. Had to buy a new Mac finally because this version required an OS my old Mac did not support. I'm back after a year away and very happy to return. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by /first time user I have never done my taxes before but decided to try this year because they are fairly simple. I am glad I chose Turbo as it was easy to follow and I will use it again next year. March 13, 2015
  • 2015-07-03T12:02:22.929-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_673, tr_673
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.