TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time User I'm a long time user of TurboTax and it's prevented quite a few gray hairs! Saved me from the stress of manual filing and trying to interpret the ill-logic of the US tax code! One thing I found out this year that could be improved... I filed my 94 year old mother's Federal Return and the application prompted me to buy the CA state program, however she isn't even REQUIRED to file with the state because her AGI is below the threshold. It would be nice if Turbotax brought that to my attention and didn't offer to sell me software she didn't need. Overall, however, I'm very happy with the program.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from first time using a MAC TO complete my turbo tax filing after many years using Windows PCs. Was a little troublesome getting started, but once I got the tax file opened, everything went smoothly, even somewhat easier than past years.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very complete even though I have done taxes for years, I still appreciate being walked through each step. I want to make sure I have not overlooked anything.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Year I have used TurboTax for many years and have been completely satisfied with its accuracy and ease of use.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax saw Me! Our tax year included Married, Joint Return with one over 65 and one under 65. One with only S/S income and the other with wages, S/S and 401K distribution. We also had one year of full medical and one without any medical. TurboTax was the only online tax preparer that had the forms that would include ALL the worksheets to render a return!!!
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh I feel like they are not very clear from the outset on what additional fees you may have to pay. I was under the impression that the packaged I purchased had everything I needed (it was the one they recommended) but it didn't include state filing info, so that was extra. Then filing the state info was an additional fee as well. I get that it may vary from state to state, but the whole process ended up costing me far more than I anticipated. Will probably find another option next year.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy for Refund! I have used Turbo Tax since 1987. I recomend it to all friends and relatives.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Return When reviewing tax form it did not specify why the form needed correction. However there was only one correction and the rest was easy and well explained.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product Everything is good other than above comment.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program I've used TurboTax for longer than I care to remember. It just gets easier every year. Thanks TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cost after Cost Easy to use, but bought software at the store for $30. Then mid-process, had to pay $45 for the state. Then at the end of the process there was an additional $25 fee for the checking that the software did? I had expected the initial payment would be sufficient, but that does not appear to be the case.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost TOO simple..... Being old, slowing down, but doing my year to year taxes, is still a breeze .
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Simple, A Caveman Can Do It! I haven't done my own taxes since 1976, so I was extremely hesitant to buy TurboTax and do them myself. Well, the basic edition of TurboTax was easy to use, contained very clear instructions and provided an easy, step-by-stop process to enter in all the required data...including confusing IRA forms (since I had a major rollover in my accounts last year). At the end of a very easy process, I had my return ready to go and file with the IRS. I don't see how this can get any easier!!!
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from glitch the submit return had a glitch. no number to talk to a human given. help page was no help. shutting program down and walking away then trying again worked.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund I've used TurboTax for many years and have been happy with it.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from printing a return in the past it would print when asked now ....it has to be saved to adobe and then go there to print my adobe cant find the file I had to download the whole thing to another computer bummer now this stupid review must have a nickname that is not mine how d stupid is that
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great again Always satisfied with TurboTax. Still number 1 tax software and I will re-use next year.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it! Thank you for making the process easy to follow for this 1st timer!! Had to step up to the plate as hubby has medical challenges . I am happy to say we're all squared away and appreciate the simplicity of filing our taxes and hopefully hubby can sleep better tonight ! Casa Hendrix is one happy place! See you or should I say, will use you in 2019 if God wills it and the creeks don't rise....oops we don't have any creeks around here!! lol!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it! I am thrilled to do this for the 1st time and was able to follow and complete return. Husband Marvin was soooo nervous as that is his nature, but I have learned to step up to the plate and take care of many duties as he has had several health challenges. Thank you for assisting us and making this process easy for us! I know I failed to enter dr visits, but really wanted to make sure we filed so Marvin can sleep well tonight. LOL! Some people are just worry warts 24/7! Thanks again! We'll use you again in 2019 ...if the Lord wills it and the creeks don't rise!!!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from money in the BANK so easy to use, any questions ,you answer, thanks
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for what I needed. Quicken - thanks again. I love TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank You Thank you for assisting me with filing my tax return. The only Con that I have is the use of the program to get the user to purchase more products from TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I have used TurboTax for many years. Each year it has improved and I believe this year they have out-done themselves. I feel comfortable and supported throughout the entire process.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Devils in the Details TurboTax has been my only tax prep tool for 20+ years because it is better than the competition. Unfortunately, the product is marred by vexatious nits. Worse, TT/Intuit doesn't seem to care about feedback from customers as great suggestions with lots of support in the customer forums are ignored and TT reps push the "ask your friends" mentality instead of providing direct answers. To wit ... 1 - Foreign tax credit for more than one country requires an artificial workaround documented by a generous contributor. 2 - Guidance for required Explanatory Statements is missing, when the Explanation is trivial and could be (and sometimes is) supplied by TT automatically. 3 - Basic editing tools like copy/paste and using Enter or Tab to move to a new field don't work smoothly. 4 - Formatting and font selection for imported documents is poor. Long descriptions of stock transactions (Sched D) are shrunk to become unreadable instead of truncated. The user must change each entry manually in a place reached by several clicks. These and other problems should not deflect anyone from using TT as it has many great features and is easy to use for 95% of my return.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comments - TTBasic2017 TT Basic doesn't accept phone numbers if : - the number exceeds 10 digits; most foreign numbers will have 11 digits: (2) for the country code and (9) for the phone number - if one tries to only enter the phone number without the country code, the number is not accepted if it starts with a "0" which is the case for most mobile numbers.... - the summary sheet doesn't display the phone number correctly if there is a foreign phone number.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple to use product
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Double Jeopardy Very easy to use; With thorough checkpoints to ensure no entry errors. Need to inform sooner of extra surcharges - surcharges stated as last final item before submitting state efiles
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hidden Fees Abound I had to pay for use of State (which is fine) but then I got charged again another State filing fee and then another fee for wanting direct deposit. It seems absurd. I understand that Turbotax needs to make money but you are also already paying for the software. It's like they know people will have to file so they can charge whatever fees they want.
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden Fees Galore Turbotax had these hidden fees: -Illinois State Filing ($49.95) -Indiana State Filing ($49.95) -Electronic Filing for Illinois ($24.99) -Electronic Filing for Indiana ($24.99) If I had known about these up front I would have considered other options.
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rtjTT2017 Got new PC, copied (I thought) the file from old PC to new PC. and it appeared to recognize me for personnel data, but not all last year tax data
Date published: 2018-03-17
  • y_2018, m_11, d_13, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_246
  • loc_, sid_600_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 331ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.