TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fed is a Good Deal..State, no so much I have used Turbo Tax for years and love it and this year purchased it for the Illinois return. Could not believe it was extra to efile the state return after paying $45 for the state product.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Accurate Refund TurboTax continues to search for ways to save you money. I would suggest that you add more customer service reps available by telephone for questions.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely easy to use For many years, I would have my taxes done by a CPA but once my deductions dwindled away, I was paying the CPA more to do my taxes than my return was worth. Needless to say, I started doing my own taxes and this is the first time I've had to pay, not much but I am paying this year. It could have been worse without using Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will go back to Tax Act next year. Still unable to access Turbo Tax with the enlargement program Zoom Text engaged so had to have my wife access the program and then turn on the enlargement program. Once accessed it was easy to read in enlargement and easy to answer questions but Turbo Tax refused to download the Tax Act returns from last year even though they were filed as a PDF file. When it came to the state the charges were so exorbitant that there was no comparison to using Tax Act which I used last year because Turbo tax was so unfriendly to the sight impaired user in 2015.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful way to file I have been using turbotax for about 12 years and love doing it myself. The program is like having an accountant there to advise you at a fraction of the cost. Many resources to research any topic you may have questions about as well.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from state taxes I will never use turbo tax again. I am trying to file my state taxes. I have to buy turbo tax and then pay to file my state tax. I cannot get help when I call turbo tax you hang up and will NOT connect me to a person to answer my question. In the past years I have been able to print my state taxes and mail them in without paying. I am SOOOOO disappointed in turbo tax this year!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 2016 Taxes The handling of IRAs with cost basis etc was somewhat confusing to me.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some picky points I prepare my taxes as the 1099s and other info arrive, so I have to start some topics and then come back to edit them. And when I do, TurboTax not only walks me through interview questions I have previously answered, but it "undoes" my answers by going back to the interview's default response until I change it again. Another issue is filing electronically. I cannot, because a special situation requires that I override one entry on Form 1040. But TT considers that an "error" and does not allow electronic filing. That's OK --- but TT leads me through the entire electronic filing drill, including identity verification, before telling me it cannot file my return electronically because I refuse, for the umpteenth time I am asked, to correct that one "error." An early warning about electronic filing would be better.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy Brought in all the info from last year's return. Calculated SSI taxable for me. This saved a lot of time as SSI taxable is a real pain. Would have been easier if TT asked if I just wanted standard deduction first.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tax tool I've used TurboTax for many years and it keeps getting better. I appreciate the ease of using it and it's totally accurate!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Old Folks I'm 76, and of course, began in the last century filling out tax forms with pen and ink (had to be black!). So you can appreciate that I'm very grateful for TurboTax. As long as you keep a folder of financial income and expenses throughout the year, it's an easy exercise to plug in the data in TurboTax. You can do it, too!!!
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I tried e-mail but didn't have 2015 agi. tried mailing put couldn`t get iot to print forms. now what? I cant find 2015 filing even though I used turbo Tax. I have 2011, etc. but no 2015. can you possibly generate this for me?
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to open return Each time I go to open TT there's no obvious way to open the return I have been working on. Choices are to start a new return, refile a submitted return, etc., but I have to go to File on the main menu to find the return I want to work on.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 Taxes On a number of occasions, Turbo Tax asked me if I wanted to import carry-overs from last year (or something like that)... I had no idea what it was talking about and if I did, wouldn't Turbo Tax already know about them from last year's filing?
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomely easy for these Seniors At 73 I filed our first tax return without the CPA in 39 years! I was terrified but decided to try it at the urging of our adult kids. WHAT WAS I WAITING FOR??? This was very straightforward, with superb coaching and guidance. No mystery at all, and I won't go back to the "old way".
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars Long time user of TurboTax and have been consistently satisfied with its ability to fit my tax filing needs and the proven accuracy it provides.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Three Problems for Foreign Filers 1. The contact info field for phone number is formatted only for U.S. numbers. Had to enter my son's stateside number. 2. Driver License or State ID requests should allow for None. I have no U.S. driver's license nor a state I.D. 3. Paying by credit card still requires a U.S. (or Canada) billing address. I have a U.S. Visa Card but my billing address is Costa Rica, so every year I have to temporarily change my billing address to my son's address in the U.S. in order to pay. Intuit really needs to fix this. It's the only purchase I have to do this for.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay I've used Trubo for more than 10 years and really liked it because it was fast and easy. This year not so much. Lots of questions and very frustrating
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2016 Was very easy once I had all the required forms handy.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My tax return Turbotax did my taxes in record time and better still, find no error.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo to TurboTax As a first time user, I was pleasantly surprised as to how user friendly TurboTax is to use! It seemed to anticipate any questions I had with each step of the easy well developed process.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Very easy to use and navigate through. Just had some issues trying to find out if I needed to submit a return for another state which I have rental property for........still no answer but from what I saw at the end, its a no. I was forced to pay for forms for the other state and an eFile for that state when I didn't owe or receive anything back from the state where my rental property is located......
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lousy version of turbotax I have been using TurboTax for years and I have never had a single problem until this year. Specifically, when I got to enter my wife's and my drivers license to protect against fraud, it accepted it but when I said that I had a ISS number and all that detail that went with it, (but really did not have a number), it kept saying I did not have a valid number and would not let me clear those yellow highlighted items. It would not allow me to "continue" on. Somehow by the grace of God, I was able to move on (I don't know what I did) and file my return.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Help I Needed I have no complaints about TurboTax. I have used it every year and it has never let me down yet. As long as I have to do taxes, Turbo Tax will always be my faithful sidekick. When you have Turbo Tax to walk you through it you really don't need to spend money to have somebody else do them for you.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love TurboTax I've used TurboTax for several years and it keeps getting better and easier. My returns are not overly complex but I do itemize and have a number of other deductions. I particularly like the ability to import info from previous year which saves a lot of time
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had a very hard time finding out if the basic version included questions for Schedule A (it did). I only found out after I took a chance and bought the basic. This should not be so hard to find out. I realize this is a marketing ploy, but it was very annoying.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed The most disturbing aspect was that despite my having alerted TurboTax last year, they still does not realize that Social Security benefits are NOT taxable for a dual citizen of the USA and Israel. In 2010 and 2011 this cost me more than $8000 since I did not know it until it was too late to get a refund. I hold TurboTax responsible. The other aspect is that using the step by step method, there is no way to enter expenses for rental activity. You have to remember and initiate going to the Forms.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of TurboTax Basic Improved data entry guidance from previous versions. Really easy data import from stock broker, but could not find a way to import data from my bank. e-file is great, and free, too! I found it hard to verify some data that had been imported. I had to try 6 times to get a nickname that works....
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly easy StepByStep Great if you want to make sure you have covered all possible ways to reduce your tax bill. But step-by-step is very tedious if your return is very much the same from year to year. Frustrating that TurboTax asked about a state return multiple times when you have already told the tax software what state you live in, which lucky me has no state income tax.
Date published: 2017-03-20
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_294
  • loc_, sid_600_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 103ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.