1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 993 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182862 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182858 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Program with a few bugs Overall this works fine with a relatively simple return. One issue - it becomes obsessed with activity in the previous year even if you say no I didn't have any income from that this year. Also, I had to put in information for a K1 trust, then I heard from the attorney he made a mistake and I didn't have any income from the trust, so I removed it from the federal return. The state return could not be completed without me putting the name of the trust - so I put NOT APPLICABLE to get it to finally let me submit the return. The state return needs to update when I update the federal return - seems to be a bug. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still Confusing Return is pretty simple and straight forward. There are some aspects of the return that are confusing to the average person and even with the help from Turbo Tax it is difficult to understand what number goes where. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience I've been using TT for many years and it has gotten better each year. It has many screens but I suppose that is necessary since the tax laws are so difficult an they have to handle everything. I usually just go to the "do it yourself" way and I save lots of time. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAST AND EASY have been using Turbotax for years, it is a fantastic program that makes filing very easy and accurate April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by can't print copy to mail April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Missed Credit Turbotax did not properly enter information for married tax credit. I caught it, but that would have been a $480 mistake otherwise. It also would not allow me to e-file. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Easy, but way overpriced It is very easy to use, but $95 is a lot of money to spend when you have standard deductions and nothing special about your taxes. Plus, I still have to mail in my state payment because that isn't included in the price. I've used turbo tax for years and it just gets more expensive every year. Maybe this year I'll buy a home and it will be worth my time to go to a tax preparation service ... it would be cheaper. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY I've been using TurboTax since it came on a 5 1/4 diskette! Great Product. Keep up the good work! April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The forced upgrade from Deluxe to Premier version was galling. I had filed prior year returns using the Deluxe edition with the same investment items. The product packaging was certainly not clear in this regard, although I heard the generalities through news items. This is just a more egregious example of your continuous quest to squeeze more money out of your customers (audit defense, "Get your refund now," take the electronic filing fee out of your refund for a small fee (larger than the filing fee), etc.). It gets tiresome, and this latest trick is certainly enough to drive me to check out the competition next year. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy peasy This was my first time filing and I found it very easy to follow the screens. I was nervous at first but felt very confident by the end of the submission. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Help with 2014 Taxes Turbo Tax did a fantastic job of walking me through the 2014 taxes. The taxes were more complex this year due to K-1 distributions from a trust fund. I will have a similar problem next year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time User TurboTax Deluxe 2014 was perfect for our tax situation. The step-by-step process was super easy to follow. It was also simple to go back to a section for review or to make changes. The instructions were clear, and the extra hints and tips very helpful. I liked how the electronic file was automatically saved without my having to do anything special, so I could stop anytime and pick up later where I left off. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another year with TurboTax Sometimes I get so frustrated when I've completed the inputs and start error check. This time there were 35 errors, mostly items that didn't automatically transfer to the state form. Why? However, I am comfortable with Turbo-Tax, having used it for 12 years or so. Audit Defense is wonderful. We were audited a few years ago when our 1099s were not sent in by the finance companies. Audit Defense took over. The only thing we had to do was wait for the clearance letter from the IRS. No money due. We will continue to use TurboTax, although I wish they would include efiling of a state return in the price. Also, I've tried to find a nickname five times now. I don't want a nickname. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Experience April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes made easy Taxes completed in 1.5 hours. It is less expensive than getting a tax company to do it and it can be done from the comfort of your own home. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to use I find Turbotax very easy to use. The timesavings is WELL worth the cost of the software. I do taxes for myself and my mother. Make sure to download Turbotax rather than start the tax documents on-line. It can be a little hard to make sure you are actually downloading the software. You can then do more than one filing (I think the limit is up to 5) for no extra fee to Turbotax. You will have to pay for each State tax return e-file. Federal e-files are free. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily done I do like the convenience of Turbo Tax. BUT every year we get to the end and the price is always more than I expect. I think on the Free Fed the price of doing the state should show right there in the same line. I thought I was going to pay 14.99 for the state and I paid 14.99 for the fed and 29.95 for the state. I may not have understood but I have done this for so many years with you and it was so simple until last year. From now on I will purchase the disc and install it and I will know for sure how much it cost me. Thanks April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Long Time User Software would hang up while trying to open State (NC). April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was the simplest and quickest ever I should have done this long ago. It was the simplest way to file. The experience was painless and very easy to understand. Ive struggled doing my own taxes in the past and been somewhat embarrassed when others did them for me. Never again, I'm Turbo Tax(en) from now on. Thanks April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good job If I knew it was this easy,I would have done it all those years I haven't. Now I know how my accountant did it !! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by terrific turbo Great tax service. Some of the pop ups not as explanatory as hoped. But easy to back up and make corrections. I will use it again. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Have used for years and still love it. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing Is Easy Overall very good experience. There does seem to be a flaw in how data is interpreted relative to the Massachusetts return where the tax payer is receiving a federal military pension in which the taxpayer was never required to make a contribution. In Massachusetts the federal military pension is not subject to state taxes. This represents a change as years ago such a pension was subject to Massachusetts state tax. TurboTax, for the last few years, has indicated in a dialogue box that the tax payer might have contributed to a retirement plan or pension and not gotten a Massachusetts tax break when the tax payer made a contribution. As such TurboTax calculates retirement contribution deduction based upon the annual pension amount. Neither I nor a TurboTax phone consultant could find a work around to eliminate the deduction. Since I never made a contribution to my federal military pension I am not entitled to that deduction. This needs to be addressed a fixed for those federal military retirees who also file a Massachusetts state tax return who never contributed to their pension. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Walk through of Federal was so easy! The Federal return was easy to follow. Gave great examples. lots of underlines to explain details and/or where to find the information requested. The MT State was terrible. Questions that didn't make sense. Re: Itemized deduction from last year. Asking for help that said "none were available". The Show Form/Schedules and Worksheets asking for information from other Worksheet I couldn't find. It was a nightmare and still don't know if I did it correctly. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightning Fast I really enjoy using TurboTax. I have used it in the past, and will most likely continue to use it in the future. It even kept my work from previous years so I could speed through the slow parts of the return process. It sounds silly, but the fading and swooping between pages made the process of filing my returns a little fun. I stopped working on my returns part-way through and when I went back a couple days later, I felt like I picked up right from where I left off without any frustration. I like that TurboTax also likes to double- and triple-check the information I put it. I always felt like I was forgetting something, but the way TurboTax phrases and portrays things made me feel more at ease. I think that it is a great program, and I would recommend using it to anyone who wants a quick, easy, aesthetically pleasing way to file for their returns. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improvements from previous years impressive Would't know what to do without it. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much easier this year! I thought this year went a lot smoother than any other year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by couldn't have done it myself remembers (from year to year) my depreciation items and handles all of that. I own a triplex where I live.in one of the units. Having all of the expenses properly divided up and allocated is extremely helpful. would like an outline in advance of all the steps TurboTax will take me through so I can have all of my paperwork and numbers in the right sequence to enter. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TAX PREP FOR DUMB AND ME OVER ALL IT DID AMAZING JOB OF THE PROCESS OF FILLING A COMPLEX TAX FORM. THE ONLY PART THAT WAS NOT CLEAR WAS USING THE IDENTITY PROTECTION NUMBERS WE WERE ISSUED DUE TO ID THEFT. AS I WRITE THIS I STILL AM NOT SURE IF THE NUMBERS WAS PUT ON MY FORM OR NOT? April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, quick, satisfactory Obviously, TurboTax isn't perfect, but for a taxpayer without any curveballs, it works just fine. Any return that qualities for more than the standard deduction may be better off using a preparation service. April 6, 2015
  • 2015-08-30T12:15:54.750-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-993, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182858, tr_182858
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 991 992 993 994 995 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.