1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 991 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181338 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy! TurboTax took all the stress out of filing my taxes. It was cheap, simple and having the option to pay with my refund was great! April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Complicated for couples living in different states My wife and I lived in different states for part of last year. TurboTax recommended filing jointly, so I went ahead and did this. However, one of the states (Massachusetts) rejected the return since it was missing insurance information on my spouse, who did not live in MA at any time. It turned out that I had to file separately for MA taxes -- would have been nice if TurboTax had caught this to begin with! After scouring the TurboTax message boards, I found that I had to create a "mock" married filing separately federal return by editing our joint return, then generate the separate state return based on this new "mock" federal return. Even after I did this, I found through trial-and-error that I needed to manually delete some forms for my spouse that TurboTax failed to delete on its own, even after multiple rounds of error-checking and revisiting all the step-by-step items. This process took 1-2 hours extra in the end, and could have easily taken longer. Needless to say, this was a clunky experience. While most people will not encounter this situation, it is not entirely uncommon either. I still recommend TurboTax for simple situations, but I may be tempted to hire a real-life tax consultant in the future. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicely Explained and Paced I was very happy with the experience. The explanations were thorough and clear. The enetire process took about one hour. I felt it was very well worth it. The price was very reasonable. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest One! Excellent program.! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So much easier than the old way This is sooooo much easier than the old way of doing taxes. Taxes used to be so much a headache, now I did a 23 page tax return in the span of an hour. Thanks for making taxes easy and convenient. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Standard review - one issue Call me old school, but I like having everything I'm working on to be resident on my computer, so I can work offline. It was not obvious how to do a download, so I ended up going to Best Buy and getting the CD. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very easy to follow. Walks you through the entire process. First time doing my own taxes. Highly recommend. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it done I always use turbo tax because it is convenient and digs into my taxes to get the most refund available April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2015 turbo tax review April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So appreciative. First-timer here, and I had no issues filing using TurboTax. As a military member, I especially appreciate the program taking the time to cater to special situations like my moving from state to state a few times this year. TurboTax made what I thought would be a formalized and unfamiliar process into an easy-to-use and easy-to-navigate experience and it's changed my perspective on what "doing my taxes" will be like each year. April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Is NOT free... The free version ended up costing us $100 in "upgrades" and a charge to file our state taxes #which isn't disclosed until the very end of the process#. Plus, I was unable to type alpha and numeric text into some of the boxes and was unable to claim some employment expenses. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. When I use Turbo Tax I feel that they are taking me step by step and if I have any questions they are right there to answer. I have been using is for years and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks for all the help. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The review The process is easy, but the one thing I can decifer is how to remove the fee, I wanted to not use the advance features of turbo and it added them any way. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbotax S Corp Can't import Quickbooks MAC file - must purchase Quickbooks for Windows to import Quickbooks file. I then have to request a refund for QuickBooks for Windows. A direct import of QuickBooks for MAC must be developed or a TurboTax S Corp for MAC must be developed. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Easy to follow instructions - April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falls flat with complex filings There is a lot of data that doesn't get carried over from the previous year TT interview to the current one. For example, every year I have to re-enter information about an inherited IRA and associated RMD which should be carried over and displayed merely for review/edit purposes. On the state side I have income from a state other than my home state, so I have to file two state returns, which means paying for a second TT state. Unfortunately, the non-resident state program always confuses me due to the horrible TT interview guidance. I also find it absurd that I have to enter zero in a bunch of interview fields when they don't apply. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax was super! Everything was very self explanatory. Easy to follow instructions. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable year to year April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delighted easy to use, detailed if needed April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quickest Filing Ever! It took several hours to fill in everything last year--my first year to use TurboTax. This year about 1 1/2 hours which is fantastic! I changed jobs and our taxes are very simple. I like the way I'm asked questions to get all the deductions possible. I was going to have them done at Jackson-Hewitt. The lady did a preliminary and said I owed double what TurboTax ended up with. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unusual Experience Unusual for TurboTax not to be up front in announcing changes to their software package. This snafu spoiled what would have been an uneventful experience. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid way to get every penny credit deserved I have been using Turbo Tax to file both my personal and small business taxes for years. I have stayed by the company for many reasons as stated above; easy to use, text large enough to see, and back-up support if you need it. I would recommend this software, and I have, to many of my friends and relatives. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, fully guided filing TurboTax is the easiest method to file taxes. Each year, after your initial filing, a ton of time is saved due to TT importing all of your personal information. Further, based on your previous years situation it reminds you to "visit" areas that could optimize your refund. The "cons" of TurboTax is it has gotten a little pricey. On the basic return as mine is, I could have saved half of the price with less expensive alternatives. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good job I always have to call the IRS for help. Always need to get my AGI or e-file pin number. Other than that I will always use Turbo Tax. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Irritaion 1) The price for e-fining for state is ridiculously high at $25.00. That should be capped at about $10. 2) It is irritating to try to work around the closing section to e-file the federal and manually file the state. Clearly, you have made it confusing and difficult for the filer. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like it..been using for 4 years After using Turbo Tax for 4 years this year's version is the easiest version that I have used. Very easy to understand and, at least for me, easily completed. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way to GO - IF YOU MUST DO YOUR TAXES I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 10 years to do my taxes. Since retirement I have had a small consulting practice and use Turbo Tax to calculate business expenAlso, the Import Utility from brokerage/banks is a life saver. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Straightforward I checked my taxes on other software and they all matched ... this one just seemed to be the most straight forward. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I depend on Turbo Tax I always seem to end up doing taxes in April and I absolutely depend on Turbo Tax. LOVE IT! April 6, 2015
  • 2015-05-02T12:55:51.312-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-991, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181331, tr_181331
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 989 990 991 992 993 ... 3787 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.