1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 959 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(180287 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by great help This makes taxes preparation affordable. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 stars I've been using Turbo Tax for years. It seems like it gets easier every year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quick and easy its a lot easier than trying the old way April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great online return and phone assistance Turbo tax is easy to follow while filing my tax returns. I did my Federal and State income tax returns in a couple of hours. If I had done them on my own it would have taken a few days. When I was trying to print my state return my computer flickered off then back on and my return vanished, I tried going back on Turbo Tax but could not retrieve my state return. I contacted tech support and they were very helpful and walked me through getting back to where I could print my return. They were very patient and talked me through the process. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product I find Turbo tax very thorough. Instructions are fairly easy to follow. I like to be able to go back and review my entries. Would have given it a 5 star rating, but took off one star because I feel the prize of the FIT return should include the state tax return. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I enjoy using TurboTax as it walks you through and simplifies the entire process of filing-almost makes it easy which I appreciate!! April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saved many hours of frustration -- as always My Federal and state taxes were 51 pages -- just the filing copy. I reviewed them with eyes glazing over as I paged past hundreds of lines asking to add or subtract this or that line and fetch values from other forms all with little or no explanation. I would never go through all that without Turbo Tax. The hours of frustration and wasted time are too difficult to imagine. My only difficulty this year was minor by comparison. It was my first time filing jointly. I thought TT stated as I began entering data that they would tell me later what my preferred (tax advantaged) filing status should be once all data was entered. It really didn't or at least not as expected. I wanted to see a side-by-side comparison of married-file-jointly and two individual return along with an explanation of why one was preferred. TT didn't really keep all numbers separable so it could not quite do that. I recognize that perhaps the tax code won't allow that but I didn't find an explanation. I guess I expected this to be a common use case. After some digging, I was able to get a comparison worksheet, so all ended well. Everything else was fast, simple and painless. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Refund TurboTax is free and enables me to file my taxes with ease. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Turbo Tax made a chore much more pleasurable. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peasy I love using TurboTax for my taxes. They make it so easy to sit down for a few minutes at a time and still make progress. Plus - they save all the information from years past, so I don't have to fill in all the names and addresses of banks, companies, charities, etc that I use/donate to every year. I also like the links to help sections - sometimes they ask a question and I don't know what they mean, so I can read a little more about it to feel more confident I'm answering correctly. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Blessing This program doesn't give you any idea of how things are being calculated, and some years some questions are asked; other years those questions are not asked and others are. You're told to input details from forms you've received in the mail but the input possibilities don't match the information you've received. You're asked multiple times about health insurance and it's not clear whether you can keep all those entries or if you do you'll be duplicating your deductions. Etc., etc., etc. It's frustrating to try to work with TurboTax but I haven't found anything any better, and can't afford a professional. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience. But, part way through the steps, I was switched to Premiere version. I wasn't sure which version (deluxe or premiere) I was getting into when I signed in each time. I muddled through it and it finally synced. Part of the confusion was that the Premiere version was on-line turbo tax but the deluxe version was a download to my computer. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trials & Tribulations Although the product preformed quite well for me, I did have a few gut wrenching problems. The program was prone to jumping into a loop where I had to turn off my computer and restart to continue. Once I even lost all my entered data and had to start over again. I hope you can fix such problems for next year. I have used TurboTax for a number of years now and this was the first year I really got frustrated. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally good with a few flaws Generally, it does everything needed to get the job done but there are some things that should be fixed or changed. 1. Charitable contributions should be able to be displayed in alphabetical order. As it is, they're strictly ordered in the sequence entered so the following year, it's necessary to pick through the list to find the ones to edit for that year. Alphabetizing would be a big help and shouldn't be difficult. 2. After entering zero for Farm Income (we have no farm), it asks a question about the source of the farm income. This is inappropriate and should be corrected. 3. I made no estimated payments and still got a refund, yet TurboTax generates Estimated Payment vouchers with substantial amounts for the following tax year. No explanation but again, wholly inappropriate. 4. When reviewing numbers on forms, the "Data Source" should be able to track you back to the entry/ies that generated the result. Frequently, this doesn't work; i.e., nothing happens when using "Data Source". It seems like it used to work pretty well in prior years but now is broken. 5. After previewing this review and editing several times, things just went dead and I had to redo the review. May be an IE glitch. Fortunately, I had saved this part of the review. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by okay needs adjustments hard when not able to see shades of color - think outside of the box . April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not 100% satisfied I suspect, in the end, it's going to be my fault but by the time I finished both federal and state forms my cost is nearly $250; that includes the surcharge for using my credit card to pay the federal return plus the nearly $100 I was charged for both returns. I did NOT expect to pay for the federal return. Last year, my pro charged $250. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Charges Turbo Tax was insisting that I needed to upgrade to Deluxe in order to file my taxes, however there was no reason for this. I only needed a 1040A not a 1040 (long form). The woman from the Help Chat also could not find a reason for this. She was very informative and accommodating--she waved all the fees for the upgrade so that I could file my taxes. If she hadn't waved the fees it would have been cheeper and faster to hire an accountant to fill out and file my taxes for me. I also think it is ridiculous that upgrading to Deluxe increases the filing fee for the State taxes. I filed with Turbo tax late year and the process was quick and painless, which was why I returned to Turbo Tax this year. However after the experience this year of all the unfounded additional fees, no detailed explanation for why the upgrade was needed or the ability to review the full form itself has made me seriously question whether I will return to Turbo Tax next year. I may just hire an accountant and save myself the hassle and stress. The only reason I rated Turbo Tax a 2 is because of the helpful woman (Emily) from the Chat room. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much more than expected I have had a successful year with a side income through internet selling. I store, sell and ship my product from home. After taking home an extra $21.000 this year, I was worried that I would have to pay a bundle of taxes! Instead, I am getting money back! Turbo tax walked me through all the ways to deduct expenses, especially with square footage space in my home that I use for my business. Very thankful I kept all the records with my business too. Just plug in the numbers and I was done in no time. Great product TURBO TAX!! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used to pay to get the same result I started using TurboTax after paying a tax preparer. Turns out the time or organize and time to do them myself is about the same, and the result (docs) are the same! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good This is the first time in years I have gotten money back. Thank you for your help!! April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Much more expensive then prior years. In prior years i was able to buy the basic package which handled my taxes which included investments and K1's This year I had to purchase the Deluxe pakage which, i found out could not handle investments As a result, i had to upgrade online to the Premier package which cost an additional $30 plus dollars Bottom line, a lot less capability for more money. I will look for competitive packages next year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy! I liked the software. I am just used to using a preparer but this was very easy to use. I was very pleased with my refund! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax use I've used Turbo Tax for several years and I really like using it to file my taxes for the reasons stated above. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Common Sense If it is actually possible for a layperson to do his/her own taxes, then TurboTax works. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old Customer I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years. Dread April 15th but Turbo Tax makes it bearable. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is great, but why is my return rejected over and over again especially after I go through the steps to fix the problem??? What the heck can I do if you will not accept my Nickname? April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THANKS A BUNDLE LOVED IT ALL THE WAY! THANK YOU FOR MAKING SUCH A HAIR-RAISING JOB SUCH AN ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.... I KNOW I'LL BE BACK THIS TIME, NEXT YEAR. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than expecter\d All in all it is the way to go. Have been using TT for many years -both personal Fed & State (s) , and S-Corp. Never a pleasure to do taxes but with T-T it is not difficult. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy-breezy I have used Turbo Tax for several years now and I'm always pleasantly surprised how quick and easy it is. Thank you. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Federal Return, Good; State Return, not so good! Some of the summaries that TURBO TAX provides at the end of tax categories, such as Deductions & Credits, gives a comparison of these deductions and credits with the previous tax year. I would like to be able to print these out, but am unable to do so. April 6, 2015
  • 2015-04-19T13:05:03.522-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-959, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_180277, tr_180277
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 957 958 959 960 961 ... 3765 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.