1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 953 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(180909 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily done I do like the convenience of Turbo Tax. BUT every year we get to the end and the price is always more than I expect. I think on the Free Fed the price of doing the state should show right there in the same line. I thought I was going to pay 14.99 for the state and I paid 14.99 for the fed and 29.95 for the state. I may not have understood but I have done this for so many years with you and it was so simple until last year. From now on I will purchase the disc and install it and I will know for sure how much it cost me. Thanks April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Long Time User Software would hang up while trying to open State (NC). April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was the simplest and quickest ever I should have done this long ago. It was the simplest way to file. The experience was painless and very easy to understand. Ive struggled doing my own taxes in the past and been somewhat embarrassed when others did them for me. Never again, I'm Turbo Tax(en) from now on. Thanks April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good job If I knew it was this easy,I would have done it all those years I haven't. Now I know how my accountant did it !! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by terrific turbo Great tax service. Some of the pop ups not as explanatory as hoped. But easy to back up and make corrections. I will use it again. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Have used for years and still love it. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing Is Easy Overall very good experience. There does seem to be a flaw in how data is interpreted relative to the Massachusetts return where the tax payer is receiving a federal military pension in which the taxpayer was never required to make a contribution. In Massachusetts the federal military pension is not subject to state taxes. This represents a change as years ago such a pension was subject to Massachusetts state tax. TurboTax, for the last few years, has indicated in a dialogue box that the tax payer might have contributed to a retirement plan or pension and not gotten a Massachusetts tax break when the tax payer made a contribution. As such TurboTax calculates retirement contribution deduction based upon the annual pension amount. Neither I nor a TurboTax phone consultant could find a work around to eliminate the deduction. Since I never made a contribution to my federal military pension I am not entitled to that deduction. This needs to be addressed a fixed for those federal military retirees who also file a Massachusetts state tax return who never contributed to their pension. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Walk through of Federal was so easy! The Federal return was easy to follow. Gave great examples. lots of underlines to explain details and/or where to find the information requested. The MT State was terrible. Questions that didn't make sense. Re: Itemized deduction from last year. Asking for help that said "none were available". The Show Form/Schedules and Worksheets asking for information from other Worksheet I couldn't find. It was a nightmare and still don't know if I did it correctly. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightning Fast I really enjoy using TurboTax. I have used it in the past, and will most likely continue to use it in the future. It even kept my work from previous years so I could speed through the slow parts of the return process. It sounds silly, but the fading and swooping between pages made the process of filing my returns a little fun. I stopped working on my returns part-way through and when I went back a couple days later, I felt like I picked up right from where I left off without any frustration. I like that TurboTax also likes to double- and triple-check the information I put it. I always felt like I was forgetting something, but the way TurboTax phrases and portrays things made me feel more at ease. I think that it is a great program, and I would recommend using it to anyone who wants a quick, easy, aesthetically pleasing way to file for their returns. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improvements from previous years impressive Would't know what to do without it. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much easier this year! I thought this year went a lot smoother than any other year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by couldn't have done it myself remembers (from year to year) my depreciation items and handles all of that. I own a triplex where I live.in one of the units. Having all of the expenses properly divided up and allocated is extremely helpful. would like an outline in advance of all the steps TurboTax will take me through so I can have all of my paperwork and numbers in the right sequence to enter. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TAX PREP FOR DUMB AND ME OVER ALL IT DID AMAZING JOB OF THE PROCESS OF FILLING A COMPLEX TAX FORM. THE ONLY PART THAT WAS NOT CLEAR WAS USING THE IDENTITY PROTECTION NUMBERS WE WERE ISSUED DUE TO ID THEFT. AS I WRITE THIS I STILL AM NOT SURE IF THE NUMBERS WAS PUT ON MY FORM OR NOT? April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, quick, satisfactory Obviously, TurboTax isn't perfect, but for a taxpayer without any curveballs, it works just fine. Any return that qualities for more than the standard deduction may be better off using a preparation service. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the stellar product of previous years While I will agree that the Home & Business Edition did make it easier to file taxes with freelance income, I am perturbed about three things: 1.) That I had to upgrade from Deluxe, which worked fine for my needs for 10 or more years. My tax situation has not changed from last year, and I made so little freelance income, that it did not justify doubling the cost to buy the home & business version. 2.) Turbo Tax's fix for issue #1 came too little, too late. At first they were just offering a slight refund (not the cost difference between the two products, but better than nothing). Then, after I ponied up for this more expensive version, and after the return period expired, I get an email (paraphrased) "starting today, we are making Deluxe do what it always did and we're still offering the original refund." Well, that's great, but I've already shelled out nearly $100 for home and business, and I can't take it back and buy Deluxe, which Intuit now "fixed". Not happy. 3.) This year's turbo tax packaging says that it will import info from Quicken. As past versions of Turbo Tax (I've been using this product since 1997) would import from at least 3 versions back of the current Quicken version, this is usually a great thing, as I can't always afford the latest and greatest, and see no reason to change something that isn't broken. Once you get to the point of importing within the program, it will only import from 2014 and 2015. Buyer beware. Overall, It's not a terrible way to do your taxes, and certainly is easier than tracking down paper forms from the library or IRS, but this is not the outstanding tax preparation software I've come to expect from Intuit. Very disappointed. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Used TurboTax for Years I've used this program for many years, and it has steadily improved so that filing my own taxes is relatively easy. The step-by-step instructions are generally clear and accurate. My returns are not complicated so the filing process is fairly straightforward. One problem I encountered in filing my 2014 return was the program's failure to e-file my returns after upgrading to the Premier edition. Had to go through some reconfiguration steps in order to accomplish the e-file process. Otherwise, everything went smoothly. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Asking me questions lets me find all the paperwork that I already have, but, may not have known could be tax deductible. This year I got back twice what I did last year with a CPA. The other awesome thing about Turbo Tax is It's deductible. I don't have time to have a garage sale, plus, I like donating to charity. It's deductible helps me maximize my deductions. I write down what I donate and they figure out how much its worth. Love That! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone. It makes me feel like a tax pro. I've learned a lot just by using it the past few years. I wouldn't want to do my taxes without it. I love it. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOT GOOD I started using turbo tax before 2000. This is the first time I had to go into saved files to print my return. Like what the H_ll ! Also it will not take a nick name that is shorter than 4 letters. Why have a nick name then??? Dirisealldaaaamackate. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Options are sometimes unclear Turbo Tax could use a better UI design. Sometimes there are two options to handle a tax situation. Turbo Tax doesn't always help you understand which is the right path for you before leading you off into the weeds. Take the Foreign Tax Credit. There are two ways to handle it: as a deduction or as a credit. Turbo Tax says that it will help you decide which is better for you. What it tells you is that taking a credit rather than a deduction will likely reduce your tax obligation more. What it doesn't tell you up front is that taking a deduction is a single step that takes seconds, while taking a tax credit is an incredibly complex process that could literally take hours. In my case, the amount of foreign taxes I paid was so small, taking it as a deduction was the obvious choice. I discovered that only after wasting far too much time off in the weeds trying to ferret out a bunch of info that was so hard to find I finally just gave up. The UI would be vastly improved if when there are two possible paths the steps involved are summarized so that you know what you're getting yourself into before you make your choice. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Got tricked into upgrading I upgraded from the free version to the pro version for $30 because I was confused and thought the mandatory $30 charge from my state filing would then be included... which it wasn't. Anyways I then had to pay $60 and was unable to change it. I really did not like this at all as my return was very small as I am a college student and feel like I have been tricked April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't use any other tax program than Turbotax. I promise you, if you don't think you can navigate Turbotax, you're soooooooo wrong. Phenomenal product that's easy to use and understand. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by itseasy Been using it for about 12 years don't plan on stopping April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Return Great. I'll use it year after year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great software as usual! Been using TurboTax for many years. It was excellent this year as in previous years. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Got a little confused on some of the business deductions, infact I tried to revisit to go over, but when I filed the taxes and looked at the print out, it didn't flag me to review vehicle expense...So I hope I don't get audited due to that. April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by State Tax Return is to be desired! On my KY state tax return, my forms showed I was taking an deduction for energy efficient items. I wasn't. Tried to correct it, Turbo Tax refused. It was line 66. I even tried to amend my 2014 State return. Nothing I did worked. Nor did the form print out when I printed the forms for mailing. I wasted the money I spent for my state return. I didn't owe state taxes nor did I have to pay. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This year's TurboTax was the easiest yet! I have used TurboTax for the past several years and each year it gets better. The state tax was quick based on the direct access from my federal taxes and it required only a brief review in order to complete it. Next year I won't wait until April to file! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I thought I knew what I was doing... The experience was great and I feel safe in my return. I love how they offer tools to do the tedious state tax return that on paper is often forgone. April 6, 2015
  • 2015-04-24T13:35:07.871-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-953, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_180892, tr_180892
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 951 952 953 954 955 ... 3779 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.