1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 9 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183505 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183502 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Some Really Frustrating Moments The final review picks up estimated amounts, but only in the totals. That means I have to go back to the form and figure out what entry led to the total being estimated. It's not always clear in the form where that estimated amount is. The frustration is exacerbated by the fact that when I go to the step-by-step (because I couldn't cancel the estimated flag on the form) I have to go over the same questions I already had answered in order to get to what I needed to change. Finally, I had to do it all over again when the program seemed to revert to a previous version of the return. I don't know if it didn't ask me if I wanted to save, or if somehow I missed the question, but it's still frustrating. September 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Taxes As usual TurboTax was all I needed to complete my Federal return. However, I was not completely sure where to enter the cost of equipment that was less than %500 and therefore reported as Expenses instead of Assets. I finally listed them under Other Expenses. September 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by K1 help needed Overall, I'm very satisfied with the Turbo Tax products. Being a retired systems engineer, I understand that software is a constant process of improvement and updating! September 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Crunches numbers like a CPA-for less $$$ If I had to pay a CPA to do my taxes, I would be paying out a good $2000 or so. For about $160, including the Audit Defense, the software navigates the most ridiculous tax laws in the world and handles the calculations with ease. If I had to do my taxes longhand, it would take weeks, and I just don't have the time to do that. It's pretty simple, rather intuitive, and, can be worked well if you already have knowledge of tax law, which I do. September 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Premier Desktop PC Review This review would apply to people who do not like doing income taxes, have not done them by themselves before, and who are comfortable using computer software. Because of tax software reviews on a leading shopping site, I opted to try another desktop tax software program. There were two things that made me uncomfortable with the that, but I did not call them to clarify those concerns with them. Being on a Sunday and wanting to get the taxes completed, I decided to just try TurboTax Premier. I wish I would have ignored the those reviews. TurboTax gives you the option to walk through step by step, which for me, was easy ... and I hate doing income tax prep. You have the option to skip the step by step. You will likely still need to review some information to determine if you could take advantage of something. But, they share this info with you during the process. As discussed in the reviews mentioned above, they do not make it clear that you will pay to efile your state form. It provides one state download for free, which if you had not known, you would likely believe that it is include in the cost. At one point in the program is states "$24.99 = Done". That also implies that with your version of the software it is covered. You can file by paper without paying extra which obviously defeats the purpose of using the software. This review does not take in consideration people who may want phone support. I did not use support, so I cannot say which is better. There are reviews on that topic elsewhere that favor another program regarding phone support. Regarding what they store and do not store, you should not have to "search" to find out. Even with the desktop version, some important personal information is stored on a TurboTac servers, according to what I found in search on the TurboTax site. The bottom line for me is that I found it fairly easy to use and would use this over another leading desktop software program. September 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Return made easy My husband and I have used TurboTax for many years. This year he tried to save money and bought a copy of HR Block. We ended up tossing it and buying TurboTax anyhow. We (he)definitely learned a lesson. Keep up the great work and the continuing improvements. September 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confusing Was almost fun doing the easy stuff but once you got into the hard stuff (stocks and funds) the program lost me!! State return never transferred half the info from the fed reuurn. September 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by problems with federal/NYS conflicts. I had a conflict within the program - informed me that I have to file the Federal return on paper. Also informed me that I had to e file the NYS return. Program refused to do it - went into endless loop trying to e file both without filing either. No answers on the help site and no Phone number for support. September 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tool for Filing! This is an excellent tool for filing return that are more complicated than a basic residential return. We have business expenses and investments. Turbo tax does a fine job of walking us through each source of income and each deduction. The questions are great and I really like the addition of audit defense coverage in case the IRS audits. I have used Turbo tax since 2009 and will continue to use this program for many years to come. September 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest Filing Ever It just seemed to be substantially easier to file this year (2014). It really stood out and it went so much faster than any other year that I used Turbo Tax. What a relief!!! September 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buggy overpriced product It seems every year Turbotax gets worse. All the conveniences of last year are gone. Navigating through the interview is ridiculously cumbersome. But it does have ALL the forms unlike other tax software. September 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Will never, ever use this again. You linked a form 2106 for unreimbursed expenses, when all you need is the shedcule A. 2106 is a high risk form to the IRS! Really dudes! September 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 Nickel and dimed me to death! Used Deluxe for years and now with this version 2014 if wants me to pay extra for features that have always been included. Never again. September 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incomplete Version Had to purchase additional add on to complete my return. This was disappointing as I have used Turbo Tax for years and had been satisfied. This additional expense and inconvenience were unexpected and unappreciated. September 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what it used to be Users should be advised well in advance that Deluxe no longer supports a Schedule C form for an individual joint return. I have been using turbotax for 25 years. This is the first year I have been very disappointed. They offered a $25 refund to individuals who bought Deluxe but needed Home and Business. If you filed an extension, you did not know that until after the refund time limit was over. The upgrade cost me $40. The mere fact that we needed a schedule C form cost an additional $40. That is a lot of money for one additional form that used to be included with the Deluxe version. Unhappy user this year. Will I use turbotax again next year? Only after I look at the other options. This is the first time in 25 years I have considered looking at another income tax product.. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great program I've used TurboTax for 10 years. I always get the latest tax information and forms. I can easily retrieve any year. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding While the process of taxation is a total pain, it is easy to follow through with a program like Turbo Tax. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax for years. It keeps track of previous years returns and makes tax preparation a logical step by step process. I have never ben audited (knock on wood). September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes the stress out of doing taxes on your own I always did our taxes myself, but when we bought a house I figured we should have someone else do it. Fast forward two years, and we still hadn't gotten the taxes done (now 2 years are due!# I was really stressing out about it! Our situation is fairly simple, I'm smart and educated, etc., etc., so honestly, it was just easier, faster and way cheaper to do it myself. I know we need to see a financial advisor and figure out what we need to do to maximize our deductions, but that would be something to put in place going forward. We're in that place where we earn too much to take deductions like student loan interest, but we live in a high cost of living area, so our dollars don't actually go that far, unfortunately. I'm just glad that I was able to use TurboTax to catch back up, get us a decent refund back #no sense letting the government continue to hold onto it!), and move on! I trust TurboTax and it really is super easy to use. September 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 1emmy I think it help me over all to do the correct step by step September 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet peeve... Less program as the years pass, forcing you to you to "upgrade" to keep par with prior year capabilities. The last update TT ran rendered the application unusable (start TT, then an error forcing TT to close). The repair utility then failed. I had to uninstall and reinstall TT to fix the problem. Growing increasingly disenchanted with TT... September 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hate print feature This is the stupidest way to print out the tax return that I have ever seen. The print button lets you select the forms to print but doesn't really print. September 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst software I have ever used. If you have to go back and change something in your return, it is next to impossible to get it done. The help section does not take you anywhere, it just gives you canned questions which may or may not help. If you have to stop for some reason, you have to go through a bunch of screens to get you back where you were. If your return is rejected, it does not change from that until you finalize, even if you have changed the information countless times. The online version is not worth any amount of money you will save. September 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid, but... Rock solid product as long as you know how to enter non straightforward situations. In other words, go to the forms and get it done right. Very buggy on the Mac when it comes to updating. Constantly makes you download a new version (150 Mb) and install. Never got fixed over the year. September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome software I will always use TurboTax for filing taxes. It's super easy, fast, and I always get my refund faster than advertised. Great software! September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly Very user friendly. Easy to understand. No need to hire HR Block September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prefect! I'm using it since 2012 and I love it! It's easy and fast September 17, 2015
  • 2015-10-08T13:13:09.927-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183502, tr_183502
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 3833 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.