1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 9 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182353 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by worse version ever This is the worse version yet. I have seen error after error. I have forms listed which I never even worked on, I input information such as health insurance premiums paid while entering a K1, and the information never transfers, on and on and on. I have lost faith in Turbo Tax, I really have. I also used the business version for a Corporation and it too was a nightmare importing data from QuickBooks, data that was properly mapped and coded. I will probably be looking for different software next year. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fire refund very specific wit the details in thequestions that helped a lot in how t o answer them best without getting confused June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was easy June 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Premier 2014 CD version I was frustrated this year with ambiguity of some questions and lack of references to previous tax year (i.e. 'last year this info was found on line __ of your Federal return"). In addition, I did not get as many answers to the questions I posted to the community and those there were not entirely relevant. This year also lacked the ability to review certain figures ahead of time that would be used on the final result (i.e. NYS amount vs Federal) If I were an expert I wouldn't need T.T. This was my 3rd year using the product. Year 1 was new and confusing; year 2 I sailed along because there were so many references to where the info was 'found last year' so I had a frame of reference. This year started to wear me out: i.e. 'Do they mean the amount of money I paid in 2014 for 2013 or do they mean the amount of 2013 taxes paid? - which can only be determined in 2014 when you complete your taxes" Please do a better job next year in design, clarifying what info you need and where to find it, and finally, in your accountant people answering community questions. Thank you. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amending return Ark. state sent us a corrected 1099 G and that's when it got difficult. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best experience ever I hadn't done my own taxes in years. Then I read an article that said I could probably do a better job doing my own taxes with software than my accountant. To my surprise I believe I did. Thank you TurboTax. Could not have done it without you. May 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by need alternate payment please provide an alternate to US credit card. I do not live in US. I have been using Turbo tax for a long time (I think 12-15 years). May 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit of frustration Things were great until near the end. Correctly linking a 1099-misc to Schedule C or E was required, but having to go through the interview process again and again must have taken 2 or 3 hours before it passed muster. Not being able to directly jump to the form made it difficult, and not being clearly given a path to the problem page meant a lot of hunting and guessing. It's done, but at the moment I am not as happy with the product as I was earlier today. May 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax stumbles over Schedule K-1 The software insists on getting details that are unavailable from the general partnership on the Schedule K-1. This details over a few dollars surely would not be interesting to IRS! I spent a lot of time entering the medical/dental/glasses expense only to take the standard deduction. I should have been warded that only total expenses beyond a threshold lead to higher deduction than the standard. May 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please think about us 6 million overseas! I have been using TurboTax for over 20 years, but this was the hardest year ever. 1. There seemed to be less continuity among the interview screens; and I had to frequently hunt and peck to relocate an important interview. Many were buried within other sections, albeit logical; but I would not have imagined that major items like home office costs would be so remotely located. 2. The Home Office interview was particularly hard to find; and I had to pass through several interview steps that were not totally intuitive to locate it. I nearly drew myself a site map so I could return to key screens! 3. The different business deductions were not clear in places; and I had to be extremely careful not to enter expenses twice in the business and then the home office sections. 4. Depreciation guidance changed significantly concerning Section 179 for us abroad; but it took me one full day of hunting and pecking and checking Community Q+A to finally figure out how to change this to Straight Line depreciation within TurboTax. 5. There is an error in Form 2555 that sends us to the smart worksheet for additional child tax credit even when it is not warranted; and it is a bear to escape out of it! If I had not been as experienced as I am--and learned my lesson to carefully review every form following a glitch in the 2555 that cost me one full year of aggravation with IRS--I would not have been able to complete my taxes this year. I'd propose that TurboTax carefully review the logic of the interview screens, assuring that major interviews are easily located; and that it consider having a small, sub-interview set for US citizens abroad. May 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value I've only used Turbo Tax, so it's hard to compare it to other packages. It appears that it's probably the best overall package for the money. It's a bit awkward, however, to search and find areas and topics. May 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wasted Time Program would not let me send return as presented. Would always review and ask me to fill forms that were not required. May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lifesaver We will ALWAYS use Turbo Tax in the future! May 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Peazy May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple It was so easy and simple step by step review. May 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The previous versions were much better. Turbo Tax used to be a lot easier with less advertisements for additional services. They are out pricing their product. I will look into other tax softwares next year. I bought the upgrade and did not get a credit for the original purchase. It is definitely not as user friendly as it has been in the past. I recommended this to my brother and he could not navigate through the program without my help. May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MAKES MY LIFE EASIER I have used TurboTax for years and find it easier than paper forms and it eliminates my need for an accountant to do my taxes. I also really like the convenience of e-filing. Turbo Tax walk through where you answer questions and end up with filled in forms backed by worksheets is sweet. I am able to easily review forms and worksheets to understand what is being done and get a sense that what I am filing is accurate. Additionally, I like that Turbo Tax imports previous year information. May 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and Easy This is the 2nd time I've used Turbo Tax and I'll probably keep coming back. I like the general layout and it offers options that appeal to someone like me that has an uncomplicated tax situation. May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use format, user friendly. I will most likely use it again next year. May 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollin in Dough I've been using TurboTax in both WIN and MAC for longer than I care to discuss. I'm hooked, as the system makes it very easy to roll one year into the next and remind you of the past (financial mistakes) that you can report. That said, using hard paper allows tracking entries across forms. TurboTax doesn't enable this at all, and does not enable review well until it does an error analysis at the end. The tax code wants at times to utilize single entries onto multiple forms. Thus non-linear methodology is what drives some people nuts, and TurboTax by creating a dialog format, tries to mitigate that. Generally, it succeeds. Not always. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Great Job ! I will more then likely be back next year. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very intuitive When you transition to the state return you get the impression that all the information has been populated for you. It should prompt you to go through the interview process. The error message at the end before sending it off through me a curve ball. I had to call for help not knowing I had not completed the state interview. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by If only everything were this easy Turbo tax once again has guided me to a maximized return. I really like doing my own taxes and knowing I am getting the maximized deductions. May 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Foreign Pension Plan Reporting I have used Turbo Tax for many years happily, however, this year it would not let me e-file because form 1099 R - on which I need to report Foreign Pension Income - does not accept foreign address information nor would complete without Fed ID - which is not available. Help Community suggested various options but none of them work for e-filing, what a shame - and it did not make me aware of it until after I had paid for my State return e-filing. How do I get my money back??? May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love TurboTax Love it- have used it for years. Able to manage expenses and income from rental property and self employment PLUS my day job. And with my AAA discount, it's even better. Why anyone would go to H&R or the other places is beyond me. Especially cool that it saves your info and you can log out and go back later right where you left off. And that as you use it year to year it keeps your info so you don't start blank each time. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Tax Return Product May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Prep Product! I have used TurboTax for over 10 years now. I wouldn't consider any other tax software or method for completing my return..including an accountant. TurboTax is very user friendly and reminds me of things I have forgotten or may want to consider, especially once you have used it for several years and it has previous returns to compare with your current return. I have never had a problem or audit with the IRS since using TurboTax. Thanks TurboTax for a GREAT product! May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy suprise ! this was my 1st time doing my return alone and the program helped guide me all the way , i look forward to doing it again next year ! May 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Your program does not complete the tax return. Check 1120-S Schedule K line 17 C. Should reflect the payment of the K-1 for the current period if included for officers. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks Turbo Tax for beeing here for us.I am familiar with the program and very pleased to follow the same format with not too many changes. If I buy 2015 early next year, even I get a discount! May 28, 2015
  • 2015-07-06T11:22:34.125-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182342, tr_182342
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 3809 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.