1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 9 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184761 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184759 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peazy I've used Turbo Tax for several years. I'm no tax expert so this program makes it easy to file with step-by-step prompts. I especially like that I do not have to pay a professional lots of $$$ to file my taxes. As long as you have all your information and tax records, it's a breeze to use. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by use it every year - excellent Turbo makes it easy to file a return, hands down. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy of use Overall Turbo Tax is a good software for beginners and the average joe. Have recommended it for 10 plus years to several, clients, associates, friends and family members. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked my refund Plan to use it again next year October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way Easy =) Thank you - this program rocks! October 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by E-FILE WILL NOT WORK, I'M STUCK IN A LOOP! I CANNOT e-file! I have the federal and the state returns ready to e-file, but I am stuck! HELP! It has always worked well, but now it goes to a screen "Let's make sure TurboTax Online works with your browser", or whatever it says - it says to install Chrome, IE, Firefox, or Safari - BUT I already have Chrome, IE, and Firefox! So I re-installed Chrome, still will not e-file! I re-installed Firefox, still will not e-file! I sign in directly in Chrome on the turbotax site, but it says "Extension has been filed (I filed that by 4/15/15), let's get started on your return"! I already have the return ready, but I CANNOT E-FILE! October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Return I have used this product for several years. I have relied on Turbo Tax to help me file as I do my own preparation. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use but have an issue on efiling the bug gets one into infinite loop of checking and filing. Was not able to get help right away, but figure out how to deal with it eventually. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy - says I have low risk of audit I really appreciated the on-line version. I contacted the center and the people have been good. Although it said I had a low audit risk, I went ahead and did the audit protection. I will let you know if I do get audited. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under the wire First year with a farm business and TT really helped! Walked me through all aspects including everything from itemizing startup costs, expenses, and assets to Section 179 applicability. Very nice to see TT supports the small farmer. Thank You! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gave me confidence to do my own return Overall I had a very good experience. Saved me a lot of time and helped me investigate different scenarios. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Home & Business did it for me Today I was able to do state and federal returns in less than 4 hours (finding all the documents and transferring the info). I have been using Home and Business for years, and this was the easiest it ever was. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 years running... October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Zippy Tax Filing Very quick and easy to use, since the software walks you throught the forms as needed. Some areas could use some more detailed explanations: 1) Investment expenses and interest - some of these go on schedule A, some go elsewhere. This should be more explicit on the walk-through as the forms are being filled out. Say something like "Investment account expenses should go on schedule X. Investment publication expenses should go on Schedule Y. Investment interest should go on Schedule Z." 2) Consider the case when a filer is living in one unit of a multi-unit property, and renting out the other unit(s). The filer depreciates the portion of the property that is actually rented - this needs to be spelled out when handling depreciation. I was asked "What is the total purchase price of the asset?". This is misleading. Perhaps say something like "Enter the purchase price of the depreciable portion of the property", and explain the case where the user lives in a multi-unit property, and depreciates the part that is rented out. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product Product probably handles 99-100% of tax situations for the majority of tax payers. I don't like that when I want to revise information regarding business income or expenses, I can't go directly to the item I want to modify -- I have to get through all the questions I've answered previously. I also have to report nominee income from investments. Turbo Tax can handle nominee interest and dividends, but doesn't have a nominee option for 1099-B's. October 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very complicated Taxes should be simplified. It gets worse every year. Turbo tax makes it easier but I shouldn't even need Turbo tax to fill out my taxes. Way to complicated! October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbotax inexplicably drops local documents In every previous year I have used Turbotax to file federally and in Oregon, the last step included with my state return is to file a "return" locally, in the Portland/Multnomah area (where I have my business). I count on Turbotax to guide me through this process. This year: crickets. I can only assume/hope that the local filing requirement has changed. If it has *not* changed, and Turbotax has simply chosen to drop it from the Oregon state option without saying that they have, well, then, they have very seriously screwed up. Time will tell. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Importing info made the process easier If all comes back without changes, I will be very happy October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saved a lot of time Help is up and down depending on who answers your call. There is no tech help if you have problems downloading or working with the software. The help line folks have very limited knowledge of even how to navigate around the software. I love that TT breaks the process into small, non-stressful bites. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Tool Have been using this product for years. None compares. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Return Even though I have been using Turbo Tax for many-many years, I am still not very clear about AMT taxes. More explanation needs to be given on this matter. In addition, I encountered the following two problems with the 2014 tax return: 1) All the donations I made in 2014 with my 2013 California tax return did not show up - 5 out 7 showed up. 2) The amortization of a morgage financing cost did not carry forward from prior years. The financing cost is being amortized for 15 years and has 2 more years to go. The system was very frustrating. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long-Time User I have used TurboTax for many, many years, and it has been a life-saver. I find that it is easy to follow and a great deal less expensive that paying a tax-preparer. In general, I find that it is worth the effort, even if I have to do it myself. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Foreign Tax Credit Barriers To take the foreign tax credit option, you must enter the countries from which the income was derived. Most mutual funds will have numerous countries sourcing income making it impractical to enter the data as Turbotax requires in order to take the credit, which is more valuable than as an itemized deduction. In the past, an entry of "various" would suffice when the amounts are comparatively small (eg hundreds of dollars credit for the 35/39% bracket. October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality wasted a lot of my time Every year I waste time because of the poor quality of turbo tax for handling investment transactions. I will switch to other software finally. October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not handle international returns properly!!! The software is getting better every year but as tax returns get more complex due to international laws it should keep up with all the possible ways to automate savings. Using form 1116 to claim foreign tax paid kept adding 2 times the amount of deduction to the return. I gave up on chasing it after 2 hours and filed via standard deductions losing about $200 in my return. October 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by No help with State returns Same as previous years, you provide very little help with State returns while charging a premium for the software. You should provide pop ups to help me determine whether specific items apply to me. For numerous items you don't even provide definitions. Saying "if you have any blah blah blah, enter it here" is zero help. In addition, you don't provide nearly enough assistance in splitting various items between States when more than one State is involved. But you demand a high price for the State software and a $25 - $25!!!! - fee for simply e-file each State. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Term User Data entry is simple. Understanding the tax rules is made easier by utilizing the "explanation" feature of the tax program. I also use the Home and Business desktop version which allows me to move from "Step by Step" mode to Forms mode. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clutch Program 5 stars. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy-to-use, complete October 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T08:04:56.534-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184759, tr_184759
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.