1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 9 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184772 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by 10 year customer...but will never use again I am appalled at having to pay an addl $30 to upgrade to Premier edition to input my rental income info. I then had to pay an addl $10 to input my business income. Both of these schedules were completed in 2013 with only the Deluxe edition. I completed at the last minute and had to pay addl fees.. Fuming!!!!! Will never use Turbo Tax again. They messed up!!!! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expert software and great support! TurboTax is awesome! We called for support for one tricky issue that I couldn't solve (turns out to be my own error), and the support guy knew exactly what the problem was and how to fix it. It was amazing! Overall, we saved so much money using it (versus a CPA). It handled our complex tax situation pretty well and the error check and audit defense are great add-on options. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another good jopb Downloaded the software, imported last year info. did the drill and filled in the blanks, and got it done in no time. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I originally worked on 2014 taxes before and up to 4/15/2015. I updated Turbo tax after a couple months and it automatically came up with a very different tax amt after update with no explanation. Which is right? It should explain the update and why amounts may differ. Also the amount I owe at top of page should keep a running tally of the total tax I owe not the amount minus my estimated pmt from my filed extension. This was very confusing since I never filed an extension before. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time user would prefer less jargon. I wasn't sure what all the answers were and the help boxes did not help. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by only way to go I rarely feel like there is any good customer service anymore but I was blown away with the support I received on the phone with Don. He was patient, knowledgeable and very helpful overall ! And I was a panicked user and was well taken care of. Way to go ! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Saver! Have been using Turbo Tax for years. Works for us. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peazy I've used Turbo Tax for several years. I'm no tax expert so this program makes it easy to file with step-by-step prompts. I especially like that I do not have to pay a professional lots of $$$ to file my taxes. As long as you have all your information and tax records, it's a breeze to use. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by use it every year - excellent Turbo makes it easy to file a return, hands down. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy of use Overall Turbo Tax is a good software for beginners and the average joe. Have recommended it for 10 plus years to several, clients, associates, friends and family members. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked my refund Plan to use it again next year October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way Easy =) Thank you - this program rocks! October 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by E-FILE WILL NOT WORK, I'M STUCK IN A LOOP! I CANNOT e-file! I have the federal and the state returns ready to e-file, but I am stuck! HELP! It has always worked well, but now it goes to a screen "Let's make sure TurboTax Online works with your browser", or whatever it says - it says to install Chrome, IE, Firefox, or Safari - BUT I already have Chrome, IE, and Firefox! So I re-installed Chrome, still will not e-file! I re-installed Firefox, still will not e-file! I sign in directly in Chrome on the turbotax site, but it says "Extension has been filed (I filed that by 4/15/15), let's get started on your return"! I already have the return ready, but I CANNOT E-FILE! October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Return I have used this product for several years. I have relied on Turbo Tax to help me file as I do my own preparation. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use but have an issue on efiling the bug gets one into infinite loop of checking and filing. Was not able to get help right away, but figure out how to deal with it eventually. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy - says I have low risk of audit I really appreciated the on-line version. I contacted the center and the people have been good. Although it said I had a low audit risk, I went ahead and did the audit protection. I will let you know if I do get audited. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under the wire First year with a farm business and TT really helped! Walked me through all aspects including everything from itemizing startup costs, expenses, and assets to Section 179 applicability. Very nice to see TT supports the small farmer. Thank You! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gave me confidence to do my own return Overall I had a very good experience. Saved me a lot of time and helped me investigate different scenarios. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Home & Business did it for me Today I was able to do state and federal returns in less than 4 hours (finding all the documents and transferring the info). I have been using Home and Business for years, and this was the easiest it ever was. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 years running... October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Zippy Tax Filing Very quick and easy to use, since the software walks you throught the forms as needed. Some areas could use some more detailed explanations: 1) Investment expenses and interest - some of these go on schedule A, some go elsewhere. This should be more explicit on the walk-through as the forms are being filled out. Say something like "Investment account expenses should go on schedule X. Investment publication expenses should go on Schedule Y. Investment interest should go on Schedule Z." 2) Consider the case when a filer is living in one unit of a multi-unit property, and renting out the other unit(s). The filer depreciates the portion of the property that is actually rented - this needs to be spelled out when handling depreciation. I was asked "What is the total purchase price of the asset?". This is misleading. Perhaps say something like "Enter the purchase price of the depreciable portion of the property", and explain the case where the user lives in a multi-unit property, and depreciates the part that is rented out. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product Product probably handles 99-100% of tax situations for the majority of tax payers. I don't like that when I want to revise information regarding business income or expenses, I can't go directly to the item I want to modify -- I have to get through all the questions I've answered previously. I also have to report nominee income from investments. Turbo Tax can handle nominee interest and dividends, but doesn't have a nominee option for 1099-B's. October 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very complicated Taxes should be simplified. It gets worse every year. Turbo tax makes it easier but I shouldn't even need Turbo tax to fill out my taxes. Way to complicated! October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbotax inexplicably drops local documents In every previous year I have used Turbotax to file federally and in Oregon, the last step included with my state return is to file a "return" locally, in the Portland/Multnomah area (where I have my business). I count on Turbotax to guide me through this process. This year: crickets. I can only assume/hope that the local filing requirement has changed. If it has *not* changed, and Turbotax has simply chosen to drop it from the Oregon state option without saying that they have, well, then, they have very seriously screwed up. Time will tell. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Importing info made the process easier If all comes back without changes, I will be very happy October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saved a lot of time Help is up and down depending on who answers your call. There is no tech help if you have problems downloading or working with the software. The help line folks have very limited knowledge of even how to navigate around the software. I love that TT breaks the process into small, non-stressful bites. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Tool Have been using this product for years. None compares. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Tax Return Even though I have been using Turbo Tax for many-many years, I am still not very clear about AMT taxes. More explanation needs to be given on this matter. In addition, I encountered the following two problems with the 2014 tax return: 1) All the donations I made in 2014 with my 2013 California tax return did not show up - 5 out 7 showed up. 2) The amortization of a morgage financing cost did not carry forward from prior years. The financing cost is being amortized for 15 years and has 2 more years to go. The system was very frustrating. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long-Time User I have used TurboTax for many, many years, and it has been a life-saver. I find that it is easy to follow and a great deal less expensive that paying a tax-preparer. In general, I find that it is worth the effort, even if I have to do it myself. October 15, 2015
  • 2016-02-08 T06:56:05.488-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.