1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 9 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182907 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182894 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, almost great I contributed 4K to HSA, employer 1K. W2 box 12 code W was 5K, labeled as employer contributions. In fact is was sum of both me and employer. I did not declare HAS so tax was computed on 5K. At review time TT did not notice that I had HSA contributions but not HSA declared.It should have generated a warning that I had illogical entries. I had to look on other (non TT) forums to find the cause of the problem. Hint to TT, fix this for next year. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall its a good software... Its a great software, but it took me like 2 weeks to file the return... somehow I feel like it should have taken far less time than that... I wasted like 3 days stock downloading a Florida State Tax Return, just to find out later on that I didn't need it... July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplicity itself As someone who dreads filing, Turbo Tax is so easy it gets me to do it, because I know "it won't be all that bad". It grabs data from Quicken, which grabs it from my bank account. I did three years in three half days of work last year, and a fourth year today in just over 3 hours. I'm confident, also, that the software gets me the right deal. My effective tax rate is always lower than I fear it would be. An outstanding product. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outrageous State eFile Fees The fees for eFiling State returns are beyond the pale. I have paid $40 to $80 for federal taxes and one state return and then an additional $40 for any additional state returns, but on top of that you want to charge me another $25 per state return eFiling, a service that in this day and age should be included in the cost of your software, like the Federal return is. I have never paid these ridiculous fees to eFile a state return and I never will. The state eFiling should be included in the price of the state return. If you must charge something (I continue to fail to see why), I might pay no more than $5, but even then I would feel I was being ill used. July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doing my taxes can be a challenging experience thanks to Turbo Tax I feel confident that I'll get the best return. July 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maximized my expectation Makes my life easy by making it possible for me to do it myself. I enjoyed the challenges of its review features. Very interesting software. July 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State Refund Prior years the State return was electronically sent free. I was surprised to find this added charge at the end of the process. July 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by One of the worst programs to navigate, edit, change, etc. 3 out of 5 stars. Have used TT for 20 years or more. July 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good feelings i VERY MUCH LIKED COMPARING MY RESULTS TO OTHERS WHO FILED. It gave me an extra confidence in my own results. I also liked knowing how I compared to others in my income range. Try to find a way to get it back.Also find a way to carry over the addresses of the donation places to whom I donated items so that convenience is included. Also is there a good way for you to encrypt the TTax files after filing so that they are further protected? July 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tabular Data TurboTax (TT) has two problems: >Excessive screen clutter created by Smart Worksheets which cannot be turned off. >No way to see tabular data in simple tables for: -1099B Items / gains and losses / Form 8949 -Sch-K1 line items User is forced to drill down into Form 8949, using a clumsy scroll control, to see/edit each transaction from the broker. Why not present this in a simple table or grid as an option? I think Pro Series does this. User is forced to scroll through lots of screen space to find, enter, and access entry lines in Schedule K1s. Seeing a K-1 as a table (similar to how the TXF does a top down list) would make review and confirmation 10 times easier. The entire tax return's topside numbers should be visible as a table that a user can filter on category or amounts. Your UI designers seem to think presenting "picture images" of IRS Forms is all the user wants. In fact IRS forms are terrible designs for entry of data - an artifact of the 1950s. In UI design, we strive to present compact logical relationships in data that a user can see - this might be called a "Logical Model" of the data - which can sit aside the IRS Forms data model. If one can say the IRS has a concept of a "Data Model". One more thing: you might consider a tree hierarchy for the forms - they are all listed at one level. But in fact certain forms are children of other forms. For example you can't have Form 8949 without Schedule D. July 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This year's format was the most difficult one to work with. I have been using TurboTax for more than 20 years and had difficulty revising entries, etc. Not happy with this one but used it anyway. July 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Asset Detailed explanations and how to tutorials assist me every year, Turbo tax continues to go the extra mile to simplify a complicated task. July 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs to be more cleaar on what goes where July 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cheesy Too many commercials pushing to buy extra and over doing it with how well you have checked my returns. I don't like the fact that you downgraded the product and moved the investment section to a higher cost version. July 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TURBO TAX USE July 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Annual sanity assault I could not merge 2013 with 2014 because I had already started 2014. A STANDOUT reminder notice to import 2013 before starting would be helpful. On schedule E depreciation on real estate there should be an option to just enter an amount if already calculated and if not wanting to enter purchase price, land value, date, etc. and having turbotax do the calculations. July 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This was a great help in filing my return. Much easier than trying to do it by hand. You caught many deductions I would have missed. I will certainly continue to use TurboTax in the future. Saved me both time and money. Paid for the minimal cost of the software many times over. I will recommend it to everyone I know. July 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier than I though it would be! Best decision I've ever made to try this, I will come back next year! July 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally Finished Have been using for 5 years some years it's easy sometimes I have a hard time with explanations. July 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Remarks Overall good, would like to see a review at the end of the year on how well I prepared my own taxes. July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised, pleased and confident I kept thinking my refund was too good to be true! But after the accuracy check and pouring over the forms directly I have confidence that this return is accurate. July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pragram! Beautiful thing when used each year as it save all your info and fills it in the next year thus saving a lot of boring work of filling in basic fields. July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TOTALLY MADE IT EASY ! ! ! I wish I had known about this before. It made it so easy. I'm thinking of becoming a tax preparer now. July 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hope Turbotax fixes early debacle before 2015 Great product, but change to limit which versions could complete investment gains and very simple home businesses was one of the worst business product decisions in decades. I hope Intuit is smart enough to return to their previous approach when they release 2015 Turbotax - or sadly I will be one of the many "former" customers. July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by surprised give this a try. i was very suprised just how easy filing my own taxes could be! July 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not User Friendly White lettering on light blue background was very difficult to read. All TurboTax content needs to be reviewed with respect to users with low vision or some color blindness. Improvements can be made to increase contrast between colored or shaded background and the text. For instance, white text within a light blue background was very difficult to read, while black lettering on white, was easily read. This problem will probably cause me to use a tax preparer in the future, as it made using TurboTax too difficult. July 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Depreciation for Rental Home I had to use the IRS website and forms to calculate the depreciation on my rental home. I would expect this to be included in the TurboTax Premier package. Everything else was great. July 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great program July 22, 2015
  • 2015-09-04T11:52:42.990-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182894, tr_182894
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 3820 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.