1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 7 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182862 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182858 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by TAXES MADE SIMPLE Never had an issue with the program until this year. Requiring an upgrade to submit 4 numbers for Sub S K-1 information was stupid change, even though they provided a free upgrade. The program provides great assistance to assure returns are correct and with the maximum refund. Been loyal to program for 11 years but will have second thoughts if K-1 requires upgrade. Will go to better priced competitor August 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Miscommunication on payment of state tax Until a notification was received in August, I was totally unaware that my state income tax payment was not received and processed. Everything went OK for the Federal 1040 return and payment. I didn't do anything unusual for the state return. Yet, I got a total shocker close to 4 months later that I still owed more than $700.00. I'd like to see a confirmation e-mail sent confirming the receipt of and application of the tax payment. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Help August 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is my Tax Saver!!! Ever since I started using Turbo tax, it has given me all the tax savings that I can get. I can see that each year, I am seeing new information in the itemized deductions which is very beneficial to me. If I have some questions about an item, the help feature is all I need and it's clearly understood. I like the assurance of the software that all info is accurate and also the audit risk feature is a plus. August 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by A good product with many improvement opportunities I live overseas and have been using TurboTax for over ten years. The common stuffs are handled quite well, but the forms needed by the overseas filers must be improved. Form 1116 in particular is problematic, to the point that I almost want to do it manually. It does not provide clear instruction/explanation to some (particularly those that the users need more help) input items. The foreign tax credit carryovers need to be manually entered every year (it should have the data from last year's record). And worse yet, the F1116 workflow is not smooth and has been changed almost every year, so I need to explore new ways to work around the problems. This year I also needed to upgrade from the Premier edition to the Home and Business edition to do a simple Form 1040 Schedule C, which costs more. August 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Save my beacon When you're pressed for time using the extension option is very helpful. It'll relieve your stress and give you the time needed to breath. Just don't forget this is only and extension. August 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved over $1200 I thought Turbo Tax was very easy to use. I would like to have a bit more detail in solving out of balance issues and a bit more explaination on some of the more accountant oriented stuff like asset depreciation. I got it all figured out and competed so, I'm a happy customer. And you just saved me over 1200.00. thank you August 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another satisfied year I've been using Turbo Tax for more than 20 years and have no intention of changing the way I file my taxes as long as things go as smoothly as they always have. August 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Free state returs I am shocked. After using Turbo tax for years, for the first time I cant download my state returns. WHY! With all the money paid for home and business copy this year, I may have to use paper forms. Is there any easy way for me to download the State forms (Michigan)? July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by all went well until the actual filing part and now I can't get CC to go through the remaining process! July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loyal Customer July 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting around in the program When a person designates at the beginning that they want to work through by their selves you expect to be able to do that. The difficulty I incurred after working on a specific area of Income or Expense categories, the program takes you back to the beginning of the category instead of letting you go on to the next subject. July 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Missing file I wish we had a competition July 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh I have always used TurboTax for my own returns. It's always very simple, and easy. Unfortunately, my new husband did not have a normal situation, only because we filed 2 years of returns in a short amount of time. I guess the previous year wasn't accepted yet, so the "AGI was incorrect." Once it was rejected, it stayed rejected. Even when I went to fix it, even though the numbers were correct, it was rejected, rejected, rejected. I'm sending it through the mail, hoping for a better outcome. July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too much marketing I don't disagree with TT trying to sell products that help the tax filer. BUT, I don't like the selling mixed with the technical preparation sequence. This causes me to speed read and possibly miss critical information. Another issue the initial TT email for electronic filing. The subject line reads "E-file Successful". This leads one to believe the IRS has accepted the return. The reality is the transmission to IRS was successful. Again, this causes confusion. Again, you are forcing me to select a nick name with 4 or more characters. My nick name is Jim. Why are you trying to change it? July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comprehensive. . .but complicated to learn I've prepared tax returns since 1982. The tax code is ridiculously complicated (arcane to be more exact#. I began using Turbo Tax when it first became available. It was a good product then, and has remained the best tax product since (and, yes, I've tried other products#. It is robust and very comprehensive - there have been occasions requiring considerable research and experimentation with Turbo Tax forms/worksheets, but I haven't come across a situation it can't handle. It is expensive. I do wish the retail product permitted spreadsheet importation. It is annoying that it does NOT save supporting details input in Forms mode #only in Interview mode). But overall I couldn't prepare my own taxes without it. July 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by confused Had a problem, thought I had filled on 4/13/15 - forms were never transmitted and I had to refile "late" so that I could fill out FASFA forms for college. did not realize that forms had never been submitted until after the due date. July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by money nothing i like everything that you have done for me. July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long time user I have used TurboTax for a number of years. I like that it automatically imports data from prior years. This saves time. I like that one can e-file free. It is also nice that one can download a PDF version of the return and associated worksheets, as well as print them. What I don't like is that it is not easy to go back in and change a particular form. July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but needs some fine tuning Good app, but with a few adjustments will be even better. July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Intuitive and accurate! Makes suggestions for deductions I had forgotten, reminds you to double (and triple) check, and overall makes the process much easer. I used to do my own taxes without it. Cannot recommend it enough. And I am a lawyer so I understand this stuff. July 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Execution on filing Got requests from Federal and had to mail additional info because the e-file did not include the proper worksheets, even though I paid extra for the premium product. Had the wrong mailing address for Georgia returns. Pitiful! July 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced! I couldn't believe almost 200.00 dollars when all was said and done! July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe Tax I started doing my own return with TurboTax after I retired in 2005. I am completely satisfied. I feel secure, with no worries about leaving something out. I save time and money. July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PRINTING HEADACHE POOR CHANGE: TO PRINT A WORKSHEET (OR OTHER FORM) SOFTWARE RQUIRES SAVING FORM AS PDF FILE AND THEN GOING AND OPENING THE PDF FILE TO PRINT IT. THIS IS INCONVENIENT IF YOU WANT TO PRINT A SPECIFIC FORM OR WORKSHEET. PREFER THE PRINT OPTIONS OF PREVIOUS VERSIONS July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This service helps me immensely. If walks you through every step and detail. There are helpful hints and explanations throughout. I have used this for several years and have never been disappointed or frustrated. While my taxes are not all that complicated I do use several tax forms. Even if I had more complexity I am confident I could use this system to do my taxes accurately, knowledgeably, and as stress free as filing taxes can be. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why I will file with Turbo Tax next year I really appreciate being able to relatively quick, start and finish my taxes. I enjoy being informed of what things mean. It helps assure me when making my decisions about the next procedure. I just wish I could do it all offline and then import it for the sign. Maybe they already have this. Great job Those of you who work for this company. I expect this service again or better next year. July 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disgusted with Do Not File/Form Not Final on Ohio I read the same causes many times but no solid way to get rid of messages and simply print so I can file my return. So I tried to file my state return electronically. Guess what? At the last click required to submit, I got a message that a form was missing and I should go to On-line tab and and update. I did that and no forms were updated. Tried to submit again with repeat of error. What do I do now??? Maybe fill out my Ohio return by hand. July 29, 2015
  • 2015-08-30T12:14:44.617-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182858, tr_182858
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.