1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 7 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184765 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184764 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expensive I've been a user of TurboTax for many years. One thing that I have noticed is that the cost of the product is skyrocketing without any additional increased benefit. Audit defense should be included when the deluxe package. Next year I will more than likely not use this product. I would suggest an incentive program for return users. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by nickel and dime you an extra $30 to add a very simple k-1. No upfront warning that things had changed this year. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Ease I have ALWAYS appreciated the STEP by STEP help! October 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worse than past years - noticeable hiccups There were multiple hiccups using the TT Deluxe for Mac version this year, certain fields that couldn't be edited after input, extra empty lines, etc. The most aggravating hiccup was that I e-filed federal and wanted to mail in my state form. It was like TT tried to efile my state too, only it hadn't - and so it was worthless for reviewing the state form. I needed to go to the state form view and manually fill in certain lines, and look up the mailing info online. I've filed virtually the same setup previous years, but the execution this time around was a serious disappointment compared to the past. I expect a lot more from a $60 program. I will definitely look into other options next year. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too clunky at the end The end was too clunky and caused me to miss the midnight deadline. Ouch! Too many items could have been retained in memory during the ongoing session instead of constantly re-entering them. October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by confusing user entry. We have used Turbo Tax for 8 years and not sure if i want to use it again. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed. Service when taxR rejected!! I have been preparing my return with the help of Turbo Tax, for last ten years, and its excellent software. I like it. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes it easy, even for me Turbotax has paid for itself hundreds of times over. I don't use a service, never have, but the life changes in later life can be complicated to get right on a tax return. Turbotax just asks me questions, then it automatically pulls up obscure IRS forms, fills them in, checks the math, asks more than once on frequently missed fields, lets me save and come back after a nap, can't say enough. This is my fourth year, will never go back to manual entry! Will never pay a service ... that's just wrong. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Am Confident In Turbo Tax I have used Turbo Tax for over 10 years. It is easy and I am confident that my taxes are being filed correctly. I would highly recommend it to anyone. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in this year's release I wish that Turbo Tax had indicated that eFiling would require more information this year. I didn't realize the issue with using a PIN or the AGI from 2013 would be required. It would have been good to know this information early on...Next year, please begin with this information in the instructions. Every person needs to see this guidance before they begin working on their taxes. October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by over many years, it has gotten worse I have used this program for many, many year. I expected that it would improve over the years to cover more issues. Unfortunately, TurboTax has not expanded its offerings even though many years have gone by. They really had an opportunity to excel, but they did not. October 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too many software bugs and descrepencies Many times, doing the 'Review' reported errors that had been previously fixed. Many times, doing the 'Review' asked to link a schedule to a field and no information was provided. Many times, attempting to link a field to a schedule failed because other fields were linked already and thus a conflict that Turbo Tax did not correctly report. No explanation of how I ended up with two identical 1099-MISC forms from the same business for the same amount. No idea of how I ended up blindly following a programmers choice to wind up creating a second and then a third 'Schedule C' business which had to be ferreted out and then deleted. No idea of why, there were fields that were filed in on various forms that suddenly ended up disappearing at a later time. No ide of how in the world a dependent from two years ago, who is no longer a dependent and who is not qualified to be a dependend ended up on our list of dependent exemptions. No Idea of why the 10xx-OTH health form kept being flagged as an error due to no matched names or SSN numbers because the report only showes me and my wife and we were the Only people listed on the Exemptions page. Only when going directly to the 10xx-OTH worksheed, did my daughters name show up and I was able to FIX that problems TOO! I am not happy with what I experienced this year! October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by income tax for dummies I have used turbo tax for many years, tried other software once, did not like it near as well. Keep up the good work, I put my trust in you and tell others they should also. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank GOD! Thank the Lord for Kathy Coon who walked me through the steps I needed to do to complete my return! She stayed on the phone with me while I completed the information. Turbo Tax is so easy to use, it walks you through each section question by question. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid Platform I had to go to Google to get explanations and Answers. Still an easy uncomplicated user friendly Tax Platform. Like that it imports last years tax return to work from. Please keep it error free. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by More than I expected! Used Turbo-tax to file my extension and then got an email reminding me to finish up by Oct.15. That was good! Very detailed, next time I will allow more time to prepare my return! I didn't realize what it would cost until the end of preparation. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difficulties Never Experienced Before As usual - most of my tax preparation was easy with Turbo Tax which I do love however this year I encountered errors with my K-1 entry even though I was entering exactly as on the form. Very stressful. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall an excellent product 99% user-friendly once you have some experience with TurboTax. Areas where I've had issues: (1) inputs assume that user has proper documentation - I sometimes get late or incomplete 1099's and it can be difficult to determine how to enter data from statements into TurboTax. And (2) I'm retired and have to pay estimated taxes; that would be easier if TurboTax provided the user with provisions to directly enter predicted incomes rather than deducing estimated taxes from the previous year's data. For instance, accounting for the impact of large, one-time energy-saving tax credits on estimated taxes. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need more explanations and info Every input requested by Turbotax should have an explanation and help the user to find this data by directing them where/how to find it. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome program I feel that Turbo tax looked out for my best interest to make sure I went over all possible scenarios and ways to get back the money I deserve October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax is a godsend TurboTax premier is my first choice for tax prep, and I recommend it to everyone. Intuit really removes the intimidation factor. And offers a variety of ways to seek answers. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything great!! I have used TurboTax for a number of years now, but this year was by far the easiest! The total time was about two hours, and could have been shorter if I knew where to find some items. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Very good program, thorough, better than the rest and worth the money. Easy to use. I use the forms method as I am familiar with taxes and how to prepare. I also use the Corp, Partnership, LLC version. TTax is the handsdown best for the money bar none. I have tried and compared others and even ones that are considered "professional" and some of those are cumbersome, expensive and just plain junk when comparing price and ease of use. For the novice, the interview method is certain to cover all bases but I like to know where the data is going (which form). For the individual this is the ONLY way to go. I have used Intuit's TurboTax product since the mid-80's and occasionally checked the competition and always prefer TTax. I checked student as I am always learning at a young 70! October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missing Forms and Worksheets We've been using Turbo Tax for years. Since I worked for H & R Block many years ago, I pretty much know when something is added or missing. The interview has improved a great deal over the years, however, some questions are difficult to determine which way to go on the answer. I can tell when a form is not fully filled out or missing altogether. The Error Check is very helpful. But I really like the program and the growing features. Thanks, Ron October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never audited I use Turbo Tax for my personal and home base business taxes. It's easy to use and only requires you to read along with entering your data. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Excellent product and very easy to navigate. Will continue with it next year as well October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tech Support! The person assisting me from Tech Support did an awesome job! She helped me from beginning to the very end! She didn't hang up until she knew my problem was solved. I wish I remembered her name! She was a pleasure to talk to. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love TurboTax I love Turbo Tax and have used it for 15 years. It does take time to do your taxes right. We have a small business and there are many facets to doing it right. Turbo Tax helps you not make a mistake, even on the things you don't understand such as depreciation. I will always use Turbo Tax! October 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-29 T09:55:51.520-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184764, tr_184764
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.