1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 6 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184773 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Took the Uncertainty out of doing my taxes I used to spend thousands to get my home and small business taxes done---after a $3,000 charge last time I knew something had to give. . Wished I had used Turbo tax several years sooner, would have a ton of money saved! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this program It is probably not your problem, but when you enter an answer of figure into a blank space, program minimizes automatically. You have to click on program icon in task bar to open it up. Probably a Windows 10 issue as I have encountered same action in other programs. Otherwise, your program make it easy to complete you taxes even if they are complicated. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use, Great time saver I've been using TurboTax since nearly their beginning. It's a great product and really simplifies the process. Had the opportunity to speak to a TurboTax representative this year to get some E-filing questions answered. The call back was fast and Mary was not only knowledgeable and helpful, she was also comforting and encouraging during a time that can be stressful. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes review I like that Turbo Tax walks us through the return, but having to go back and repeatedly answer questions already answered just to get to the entry to be updated or corrected is frustrating and very time consuming. A change to make that easier would be helpful. Also, it would be very helpful to explain about numbers from last year's return and why they are imported to the current return. I just take this under faith but would want to know more. October 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Most Difficult Experience in 15 Years I have used TurboTax Mac for about 15 years, and in the past it made my life easier. This year, it computed my tax liability just as quickly as before. As I said in the "Pros" section, TurboTax does a great job of quickly determining what information to include and which forms are required. However, in the past I always performed all the updates and then completed the tax calculations and printed the forms to pdf working completely offline. I feel more secure working that way. Not only was it impossible to do that with the 2014 TurboTax for Mac software, but also the software to interface with the online functions did not work properly for me. I went through a lot of days of trying different workarounds to the software issues, something that has never happened to me with TurboTax Home & Business for Mac in prior years. Here is what I learned: If you want to work completely offline, you can do the calculations on TurboTax, then fill out the forms from IRS by hand. A tech support person said I could print to pdf offline using the Windows version, so I bought a CD (after already paying for the Mac version), but it turns out the Windows version on CD cannot read the file I transferred from my Mac. A second terrific tech support person told me that it would work if I downloaded the updates, which could not work for me because I was in a situation where I needed to work completely offline. This will probably work for others if they buy the Windows/Mac CD and do all the updating before going offline as I have in the past. It just was not possible in my particular situation this year because I was working from a high-security Windows computer that is not legally allowed to connect to the internet. I finally gave up and decided to efile from my Mac for the first time ever. I decided to encrypt my file first thing (I had not encrypted before because doing so entails going online). I duplicated my file and selected the option to save as an encrypted file. I gave my login information, and then there was a glitch in the software that led to a blank screen. I waited about 30 minutes and nothing happened, so I started over. The same thing happened. After more than an hour I called another terrific technical support person who said the encryption could take more than an hour, but that by now there should be a progress bar showing, and maybe I could try again but it might just be slow. I did not think it was worth starting over again, so I just waited another couple of hours with no change in the blankness of the blank square where the progress bar should be, and eventually decided to efile without encrypting first. The efile process was as quick and smooth as I would have expected from a TurboTax product. Will I renew my subscription another year? Yes, TurboTax has come through for me so many times in past years. This is what I plan to do next year for my 2015 taxes: Buy the Windows/Mac CD, do all the updates on both my Mac and on a friend's Windows machine that can connect to the internet, go offline, do the calculations on my Mac and then transfer the file to the Windows machine to print my forms to pdf. However, before buying the 2016 version, I will wait for assurances that the Mac version is fully functional on its own. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by sale of 2nd home/vacation home cumbersome to enter I am spoiled by Turbotax, since most things are intuitive and easy to find. But when this year I had to enter the sale of my vacation home, finding the place in TurboTax to report the sale was very difficult. It was as if it was a hack thrown in together last minute, and there was never plan to support this taxable event properly. So I was disappointed. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax is thorough but software glitchy The program is thorough and I felt confident in all of the steps. The software did not install properly for the State return. The City return for NY kept taking me to the State portion. The representatives were very helpful and the better part of the service. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Everything seemed to work until I got to saving the file and printing the forms. I could only print the 1040 form, not the accompanying forms a, B, etc., and I could not print the VT form at all, nor could I save it as a PDF. I'm VERY disappointed in the software and, after using Turbotax for many years, I am definitely looking at other software for next year. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased to be able to e-file Had to reload TT2013 and look up the AGI A lot of time searchng October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice program As a former tax professional who continues to stay abreast of the tax laws, this program is very nice. Navigating is intuitive for those less familiar with tax laws. The reveiw process points taxpayers in the right direction. If you only want to use the forms and not the guided screnes, it can become cumbersome at times. The calculations are spot on and can be relied upon when filing a return. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Company still needs to think about customers first I almost changed tax packages this year due to their "stripping down" of the deluxe package features. They recovered by offering the features, but only after customers complained - loudly. One aspect I DID NOT like - I could not file electronically for the state return if I did not file electronically for Federal. My ID was compromised by the IRS and someone submitted a return with my credentials. I now can no longer file a Federal return electronically, and must send my paper return to a special address. This now means I can no longer file my state return electronically, either. This will likely cause me to change tax packages for the 2015 tax year. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by foreign tax return I have dual citizenship and own my own company in a foreign country which makes my IRS filing a little more difficult. TurboTax does not offer forms such as 5471 that is needed to finish the filing and i need to print the forms and add that one by hand. other than that I had a great experience using turbotax October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free ! I have been using Turbo Tax for several years and have never been disappointed. TT makes filing your own taxes a breeze. TT offers an optional access that has detailed information explaining exactly what that section is looking for. Saving a lot of precious time. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Foreign account guidance It would be nice to see Tubo Tax provide instructions and coordination on filing FBAR reports as part of the tax program itself. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed that I had to buy Home & Business Turbo Tax is generally a good product and helps me get the taxes done. I noticed absolutely nothing helpful about the HOme & Business edition, and feel disappointed that the Schedule C was removed from Deluxe, forcing me to upgrade. And WHY? WHY????? October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplified easy to use, gives you snapshot comparison of previous years return October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good and Bad The program is still excellent, but I thought that they did away with the costly forced upgrade for taxpayers with investment and business income after all of the bad publicity early this year. However, I was forced to upgrade to complete my return. Because I was at the 10/15 deadline for my own return, I had no choice. I am going to contact Turbotax to find out what happened. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Complete I purchased the Premier version of Turbo Tax so that I wouldn't have to pay for the state filing fee. It says that my state return is included but yet I have to pay to file my state tax forms. Also, the download/cd version should import user information from the online version of TurboTax. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Help! Nice to have a solid piece of software to help a person through this. I had my returns reviewed by a CPA and they were impressed. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Didn't Quite Get'r Done I hate doing my taxes. I'd hire it out, but by the time I pull together all the data needed by the accountant, 90% of the job is done. TurboTax gives me the organization and structure to fill out the myriad of forms following the arcane rules of the tax code that I'll never understand, not that I want to anyway. The only problem is I haven't figured out the Intuit site navigation system. I need to go back and forth through the return to make sure I've entered all my information in the right places, and I have a very hard time finding the one window that lets me access the different Schedule C's that I need. Navigation could be better. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by CPA loves Turbo Tax for E-file Best product available for e-file. Error checks make it easy to get it done. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Federal return good - NOT for non-resident State I gave up on filing a non-resident state return for income from a partnership there because I simply could not figure out what was being asked for and there was no obvious way to figure it out. My state of residency return was okay but it was still confusing compared to the federal returns. Seems like Turbo Tax could invest a little time in further developing the state returns. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good but Missing Important Item I have been using Turbo Tax for many years. Every year it seems to get just a little easier to use. Thank you. In 2009, I had my identity stolen via an additional tax return sent in with my info. It was no fun and many hours to fix it. Since then the IRS has been sending me an "Identity Protection PIN". Turbo Tax has been requesting that PIN for the last few years. This year it never asked for it. WHY? October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by okay Tax Cut & H&R Block easier It should be intuitive, like ASK if you want a Refund or Applied to the next years tax return. why should I have to look for the place to enter that item. It should have the Cumulative Depreciation to date, not the BALANCE Left.............. that means I have to SUBTRACT how much that number is FROM the Original Value, If it was right there from the prior year I could have entered it. I imported from Turbo Tax 2013 and nothing was RIGHT....... I have used the H&R Block tax Cut program for years since the 90's and it is so easy. I switched once to Turbo Tax and went back to Tax Cut, in 2013 and 2014 I went to you thinking I would download to Quicken, never did so I may go back to Tax Cut... PS I have A BS in Accounting and have prepared taxes for over 52 years, by hand in the '60s so I know what I am doing, and your set up is not intuitive. Maybe you should have others try it and tell you where the weak points are before you put it out with changes. People who write software are the least likely to see the issues, but the people who use it will. I used to install software and systems and TEACH people how to do Accounting, data bases, taxes etc and I always let the end user try my instructions before giving them out. Then I would see where they would get STUCK, and with corrections I could have things move more smoothly and intuitively, by the way your name Is Intuit....so All your software should be just That!!! I have also taught people how to use Quicken and Quickbooks, that have never been Bookeepers. These programs are much better than your Tax Programs, which are only used once a year......So they should be super easy not harder than accounting software..... K October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As usual, I can't break the darn thing!! Though I am a software developer, I was very concerned about relying on software to build my tax filing and focus on my return value while adhering to IRS tax code. Over a three year period, while I continued using the services of my CPA, each year I would create TurboTax filing with the same information provided to my CPA. Every year TurboTax lived up to its tagline by truly maximizing my return value beat out the competition; my own CPA. That was approximately 10 years ago and was one of the smartest money moves I have ever executed. Today I feel much more knowledgeable about the tax filing process and I save consideral money each year by eliminating that personal CPA cost. And a few years back I was audited in both business and personal. I was quite nervous on the personal side where TurboTax was used, yet the filing held up quite well, Intuit, I am very pleased with your product lines. Promise to continue striving for excellence, and I promise to keep spreading the word about TurboTax, Quicken Premier, and Quickbooks v15 Enterprise. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely Reliable Turbotax is easy to use, finds all the deductions, thoroughly examines your income and expenses to identify everything needed to accurately file your taxes. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT THINGS HAPPEN TELL ALL MY FRIENDS TO USE THE SYSTEM. October 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax doesn't know how to handle divorce & ACA I have 3 kids from a previous marriage and since I'm allowed to deduct them, they are listed as dependents on my taxes. HOWEVER, they are on All Kids (medicaid in Illinois) with their mother. Turbo Tax did not seem to comprehend that my 1095-A form did not include the kids, and Turbo Tax kept trying to repopulate the electronic form with the kids info and then gave me error messages. FIX THIS!!!!! You made me miss the e-filing deadline and I paid for state efiling for nothing!!!! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and fast Overall, I like using Turbo Tax. It makes it easy to file a return even if you have some complications. I always procrastinate and having a system that reminds you of what you need to enter and what paperwork you need helps me. October 16, 2015
  • 2016-02-07 T07:51:22.816-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.