1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 6 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(183343 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 183326 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incomplete Version Had to purchase additional add on to complete my return. This was disappointing as I have used Turbo Tax for years and had been satisfied. This additional expense and inconvenience were unexpected and unappreciated. September 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what it used to be Users should be advised well in advance that Deluxe no longer supports a Schedule C form for an individual joint return. I have been using turbotax for 25 years. This is the first year I have been very disappointed. They offered a $25 refund to individuals who bought Deluxe but needed Home and Business. If you filed an extension, you did not know that until after the refund time limit was over. The upgrade cost me $40. The mere fact that we needed a schedule C form cost an additional $40. That is a lot of money for one additional form that used to be included with the Deluxe version. Unhappy user this year. Will I use turbotax again next year? Only after I look at the other options. This is the first time in 25 years I have considered looking at another income tax product.. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great program I've used TurboTax for 10 years. I always get the latest tax information and forms. I can easily retrieve any year. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding While the process of taxation is a total pain, it is easy to follow through with a program like Turbo Tax. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax for years. It keeps track of previous years returns and makes tax preparation a logical step by step process. I have never ben audited (knock on wood). September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes the stress out of doing taxes on your own I always did our taxes myself, but when we bought a house I figured we should have someone else do it. Fast forward two years, and we still hadn't gotten the taxes done (now 2 years are due!# I was really stressing out about it! Our situation is fairly simple, I'm smart and educated, etc., etc., so honestly, it was just easier, faster and way cheaper to do it myself. I know we need to see a financial advisor and figure out what we need to do to maximize our deductions, but that would be something to put in place going forward. We're in that place where we earn too much to take deductions like student loan interest, but we live in a high cost of living area, so our dollars don't actually go that far, unfortunately. I'm just glad that I was able to use TurboTax to catch back up, get us a decent refund back #no sense letting the government continue to hold onto it!), and move on! I trust TurboTax and it really is super easy to use. September 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 1emmy I think it help me over all to do the correct step by step September 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet peeve... Less program as the years pass, forcing you to you to "upgrade" to keep par with prior year capabilities. The last update TT ran rendered the application unusable (start TT, then an error forcing TT to close). The repair utility then failed. I had to uninstall and reinstall TT to fix the problem. Growing increasingly disenchanted with TT... September 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hate print feature This is the stupidest way to print out the tax return that I have ever seen. The print button lets you select the forms to print but doesn't really print. September 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst software I have ever used. If you have to go back and change something in your return, it is next to impossible to get it done. The help section does not take you anywhere, it just gives you canned questions which may or may not help. If you have to stop for some reason, you have to go through a bunch of screens to get you back where you were. If your return is rejected, it does not change from that until you finalize, even if you have changed the information countless times. The online version is not worth any amount of money you will save. September 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid, but... Rock solid product as long as you know how to enter non straightforward situations. In other words, go to the forms and get it done right. Very buggy on the Mac when it comes to updating. Constantly makes you download a new version (150 Mb) and install. Never got fixed over the year. September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome software I will always use TurboTax for filing taxes. It's super easy, fast, and I always get my refund faster than advertised. Great software! September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly Very user friendly. Easy to understand. No need to hire HR Block September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prefect! I'm using it since 2012 and I love it! It's easy and fast September 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 last minute taxes Turbo Tax once again proved to be useful in a pinch. Got everything in and filed in 2 hours. September 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hard businessTax done easily Doing Turbo tax for several years now. i always do the business and home version because I have a business. i also work over seas and need a foreign income exclusion to be calculated. Turbo tax takes little steps and allows me to inout the data i need each step. If I miss something they catch it and show me where it needs to be input. Doing my taxes used to be hard and I would give it to a tax person to do. BUT they didnt look for the little things .OR If I forgot information it never made it in. After starting Turbo tax i could find those little things. Where I used to PAY for it by paying taxes I now find deductions because of the little steps they give me. I have not had to pay taxes for several years and I get bigger refunds when i get my returns. September 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too difficult to override or omit information that isn't important or required. System said I had 29 errors, which weren't really errors and i couldn't figure out how to correct anyway. It was taking too much time, so i just filed returns via mail rather than electronically. September 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Business It's easy to use. Really good for small business September 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by S Corporation Tax filing made easy! TurboTax for Business is great! I started my S Corp 2014 Federal tax return at 10:30 P.M. and had it e-filed an hour later! It was easy and TurboTax caught all my mistakes. The speed and accuracy and the e-file capability make this a winner for me, a procrastinator who was up against my extension deadline. FYI, I do my personal taxes with TurboTax Premier and enjoy the same capability.. September 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does the heavy lifting but fails in key areas Turbo Tax for Business does a reasonable job but absolutely requires some advanced knowledge of Business Tax Return Preparation. The program saves time by importing account balances from Quickbooks. That said, it is critical that the Quickbooks accounts be properly assigned to the correct Tax Return lines. A critical shortcoming is in how it imports Payroll information. It appears to look at Social Security Wages and not total wages. So, if an officer takes a base salary and the Quickbooks W2 properly shows the add-in of greater than 2% S-Corp officer health insurance and Long Term Care, TurboTax will NOT pick-up the box 1 number. Even after manually entering Officer Salary, you then have to manually adjust total payroll and a number of other related forms to get the numbers to accurately reflect the allocations. Also, Turbo Tax creates far more supporting schedules and detail that is actually necessary for filing. Would be nice if program offered option to selectively include detail only where absolutely necessary. Turbo Tax for Business is an overall time saver but if you are not careful, you can file a return with erroneous data as you must carefully check each line item that it imports. And, even if you manually key all of the numbers requested in the Interview Step-by-Step mode, you may still find errors in the flow through from the worksheets to the actual IRS/State Tax forms. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product the tips and links are a great tool to have and use, no need to pay someone else . September 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Calfornia LLC When I reviewed the return it said errors existed. It wouldn't let me correct the errors. I finally gave up and printed return and mailed it. Probably go back to paper copies since that's what I had to do anyway. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked just fine I need more experience. I think program was fine. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quickbooks On line Needs to be compatible with all forms of Turbotax otherwise they do have have long term value. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by way better than H&R Block I've used TurboTax for years and found it easy to use. Last year I tried the competing product from H&R Block since I could buy 1 program for both my personal return and my S corp return. The H&R Block program was much harder to use, had much less helpful help. This year I am back to TurboTax September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love that my information transfers year after year making it faster to verify continuity September 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad news For years I have dealt with K-1's both reporting as well as selling will ease using TT Basic. This year, what an absolute mess. The programmers must not have even known what a K1 was. Since K1 information is now on brokerage sheets, TT is going to have to design the program so that the "Sell" in this years TT know what to ask and what not to ask.. I don't know who decided to change everything, but they really #excuse my French# screwed up. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Common paymaster In the Turbo Tax Business software a warning comes up that talks about payroll matching your payroll tax returns. I have a couple of small businesses and use a common paymaster. It would be nice to be able to check a box for this option or at least be able to attach a statement to my return stating that my company uses a common paymaster in order to avoid any future issues. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love turbo tax Great program. Keep it coming. September 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does the job The program was fairly easy to use to file a S Corp and a LLC return. Instructions/help was occasionally limited in scope but with the internet fairly easy to research those areas that needed more in depth explanation. And, while it wasn't always easy to see where things flowed, it did a good job of informing you of the data source so you could figure it out. Would like to have the ability to open multiple forms side by side as I have two 34" monitors and it was a hassle to keep going back to look at a form and then occasionally forgetting where you had just been. Finally, just charge a price that includes one State product. I would imagine that virtually 99% of users are also filing a State return. Since I had to file a LLC and a S Corp I had to purchase the Federal and two California, virtually doubling the original cost. September 15, 2015
  • 2015-10-03T11:15:28.088-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_183326, tr_183326
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 3829 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.