1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 6 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184766 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184764 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased to be able to e-file Had to reload TT2013 and look up the AGI A lot of time searchng October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice program As a former tax professional who continues to stay abreast of the tax laws, this program is very nice. Navigating is intuitive for those less familiar with tax laws. The reveiw process points taxpayers in the right direction. If you only want to use the forms and not the guided screnes, it can become cumbersome at times. The calculations are spot on and can be relied upon when filing a return. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Company still needs to think about customers first I almost changed tax packages this year due to their "stripping down" of the deluxe package features. They recovered by offering the features, but only after customers complained - loudly. One aspect I DID NOT like - I could not file electronically for the state return if I did not file electronically for Federal. My ID was compromised by the IRS and someone submitted a return with my credentials. I now can no longer file a Federal return electronically, and must send my paper return to a special address. This now means I can no longer file my state return electronically, either. This will likely cause me to change tax packages for the 2015 tax year. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by foreign tax return I have dual citizenship and own my own company in a foreign country which makes my IRS filing a little more difficult. TurboTax does not offer forms such as 5471 that is needed to finish the filing and i need to print the forms and add that one by hand. other than that I had a great experience using turbotax October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free ! I have been using Turbo Tax for several years and have never been disappointed. TT makes filing your own taxes a breeze. TT offers an optional access that has detailed information explaining exactly what that section is looking for. Saving a lot of precious time. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Foreign account guidance It would be nice to see Tubo Tax provide instructions and coordination on filing FBAR reports as part of the tax program itself. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed that I had to buy Home & Business Turbo Tax is generally a good product and helps me get the taxes done. I noticed absolutely nothing helpful about the HOme & Business edition, and feel disappointed that the Schedule C was removed from Deluxe, forcing me to upgrade. And WHY? WHY????? October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplified easy to use, gives you snapshot comparison of previous years return October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good and Bad The program is still excellent, but I thought that they did away with the costly forced upgrade for taxpayers with investment and business income after all of the bad publicity early this year. However, I was forced to upgrade to complete my return. Because I was at the 10/15 deadline for my own return, I had no choice. I am going to contact Turbotax to find out what happened. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Complete I purchased the Premier version of Turbo Tax so that I wouldn't have to pay for the state filing fee. It says that my state return is included but yet I have to pay to file my state tax forms. Also, the download/cd version should import user information from the online version of TurboTax. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Help! Nice to have a solid piece of software to help a person through this. I had my returns reviewed by a CPA and they were impressed. October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Didn't Quite Get'r Done I hate doing my taxes. I'd hire it out, but by the time I pull together all the data needed by the accountant, 90% of the job is done. TurboTax gives me the organization and structure to fill out the myriad of forms following the arcane rules of the tax code that I'll never understand, not that I want to anyway. The only problem is I haven't figured out the Intuit site navigation system. I need to go back and forth through the return to make sure I've entered all my information in the right places, and I have a very hard time finding the one window that lets me access the different Schedule C's that I need. Navigation could be better. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by CPA loves Turbo Tax for E-file Best product available for e-file. Error checks make it easy to get it done. October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Federal return good - NOT for non-resident State I gave up on filing a non-resident state return for income from a partnership there because I simply could not figure out what was being asked for and there was no obvious way to figure it out. My state of residency return was okay but it was still confusing compared to the federal returns. Seems like Turbo Tax could invest a little time in further developing the state returns. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good but Missing Important Item I have been using Turbo Tax for many years. Every year it seems to get just a little easier to use. Thank you. In 2009, I had my identity stolen via an additional tax return sent in with my info. It was no fun and many hours to fix it. Since then the IRS has been sending me an "Identity Protection PIN". Turbo Tax has been requesting that PIN for the last few years. This year it never asked for it. WHY? October 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by okay Tax Cut & H&R Block easier It should be intuitive, like ASK if you want a Refund or Applied to the next years tax return. why should I have to look for the place to enter that item. It should have the Cumulative Depreciation to date, not the BALANCE Left.............. that means I have to SUBTRACT how much that number is FROM the Original Value, If it was right there from the prior year I could have entered it. I imported from Turbo Tax 2013 and nothing was RIGHT....... I have used the H&R Block tax Cut program for years since the 90's and it is so easy. I switched once to Turbo Tax and went back to Tax Cut, in 2013 and 2014 I went to you thinking I would download to Quicken, never did so I may go back to Tax Cut... PS I have A BS in Accounting and have prepared taxes for over 52 years, by hand in the '60s so I know what I am doing, and your set up is not intuitive. Maybe you should have others try it and tell you where the weak points are before you put it out with changes. People who write software are the least likely to see the issues, but the people who use it will. I used to install software and systems and TEACH people how to do Accounting, data bases, taxes etc and I always let the end user try my instructions before giving them out. Then I would see where they would get STUCK, and with corrections I could have things move more smoothly and intuitively, by the way your name Is Intuit....so All your software should be just That!!! I have also taught people how to use Quicken and Quickbooks, that have never been Bookeepers. These programs are much better than your Tax Programs, which are only used once a year......So they should be super easy not harder than accounting software..... K October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As usual, I can't break the darn thing!! Though I am a software developer, I was very concerned about relying on software to build my tax filing and focus on my return value while adhering to IRS tax code. Over a three year period, while I continued using the services of my CPA, each year I would create TurboTax filing with the same information provided to my CPA. Every year TurboTax lived up to its tagline by truly maximizing my return value beat out the competition; my own CPA. That was approximately 10 years ago and was one of the smartest money moves I have ever executed. Today I feel much more knowledgeable about the tax filing process and I save consideral money each year by eliminating that personal CPA cost. And a few years back I was audited in both business and personal. I was quite nervous on the personal side where TurboTax was used, yet the filing held up quite well, Intuit, I am very pleased with your product lines. Promise to continue striving for excellence, and I promise to keep spreading the word about TurboTax, Quicken Premier, and Quickbooks v15 Enterprise. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely Reliable Turbotax is easy to use, finds all the deductions, thoroughly examines your income and expenses to identify everything needed to accurately file your taxes. October 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax doesn't know how to handle divorce & ACA I have 3 kids from a previous marriage and since I'm allowed to deduct them, they are listed as dependents on my taxes. HOWEVER, they are on All Kids (medicaid in Illinois) with their mother. Turbo Tax did not seem to comprehend that my 1095-A form did not include the kids, and Turbo Tax kept trying to repopulate the electronic form with the kids info and then gave me error messages. FIX THIS!!!!! You made me miss the e-filing deadline and I paid for state efiling for nothing!!!! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and fast Overall, I like using Turbo Tax. It makes it easy to file a return even if you have some complications. I always procrastinate and having a system that reminds you of what you need to enter and what paperwork you need helps me. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Always do my own taxes with TurboTax I have been using Turbo Tax since 1995. I have never been audited since using Turbo Tax. The instructions are easy to follow and I am extremely happy with the product. I am a senior who flunked accounting in college. This program makes filing my taxes very easy. October 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy a senior citizen can do it Took me less than two hours to complete and file. October 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Program made me pay first. Then declare I could not E-file October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trump It $imple to buy $imple to install $imple to update $imple to follow the steps for inputting data $imple to learn and improve required records $imple to file $o just how basic and simple can it get to do your own taxes, and at your own pace $o I give this product five stars because of it ease of use and the $$$$$'s it saves. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great graphics, quick and easy to understand and complete, every step of the way. Turbo Tax tactfully makes this an educational experience along the way. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over a decade of happiness! There are still a number of tax nuances that I am confused by, but at least I can maneuver through them with TurboTax. I also love that I can access the files online for other uses. If I were President of the US, I would make this program available as part of the irs.gov site. The IRS should have all of our W-2s, 1099s, etc. already on their site so that they simply import to your return. If Intuit can make this, why can't the IRS? Love you guys!! October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by missed out It was ok. Maybe I would have a better idea of the program if I didn't file my return as the very last minute, actually the last 30 minutes. I will get a copy of program earlier next year and may not have as many questions. HRB has an easier on screen view but customer service not up to par with TT. Like I said, maybe next year will be better. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by With TurboTax, doing my taxes was a breeze. Thx!! TurboTax is worth the expense! October 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-29 T09:55:49.281-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184764, tr_184764
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 3860 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.