1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 56 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181925 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Great Product April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by myturbotax I liked that ADP was able to transfer most if not all of my information from my W2s. Also, that all of the screens and questions provided "Learn more" features if I wasn't sure about an area. I hope everything goes well. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extra Fees I have used Turbotax online edition for the past 10 years with ease. This year was by far the worst experience I've had with them. In the past the site walked me through quickly and it was quite easy to get my federal taxes filed with e-file for free. When I first started to enter in my information it wouldn't allow me to choose the head of household filing status. Finally they fixed this bug and I could finish where I left off 2 months later. Then, they "required" me to upgrade to the deluxe version because I got a 1099-MISC for a one time coaching stipend I received for measly $1,000. This deluxe upgrade cost me $55 AND didn't even include my state! At least the deluxe version software you can purchase in the stores include the state e-filing! This way would have cost me about $100. Instead I went to the CalFile and e-filed for free. I'm very disappointed in Turbotax online this year. I don't know if I will continue to use them next year. The convenience isn't worth the extra fees to me. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME! AWESOME! Love turbotax. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EasyPeesy Went through usaa, very helpful, intuit sent me email notices that were very convenient. Didn't have to search for anything, just clicked on the link, went right to where I needed to be. Everything loads every quickly, even on the iPad--actually much quicker than buying the sw, then installing updates, then waiting for questions, having to break down my security to xsmit. Love doing it online and via apple and usaa. Good partnership intuit! April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by State Return questions I live in Tennessee and do not have to file a state return. Turbo tax should recognize that residents of the Great State of Tennessee do not have to file a state tax return 99.999999% of the time and therefore Turbo tax should not ask me if i'm sure that i don't want to efile my state return. The state return check box should not be selected by default when efiling for Tennessee residents. by default Turbo Tax should recognize that 99.9999% of Tennessee residents DO NOT have to file a state return. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Correction, immediate fixed April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow2015 Loved being asked each and every question even if it didn't pertain to our situation. Thank you again for making tax time less stressful. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by E file great - Hidden Charges not so Great? When it came to filing my returns , I had to purchase another e file for the second state return for 42.00 which I feel was excessive and un fair. Secondly, when i filed the returns the addtional purchase for the second state did not get recorded or I did not get credit. I had to pay for both states twice. This is wrong and I hope some responds to my email with a explanation. Sincerely, long time user April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth transaction Love the program...just want a few more valuation descriptions for charitable donations. I purchased some new books for a classroom and donated them, but the descriptions for these types of charitable donations do not fit. I would like to see a selection "actual cost" since I have my receipts and it was actual cost. Also, I had to list the books as household items - a category for "educational materials" would be nice! April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not great, but good for last minute Federal was very easy, state tax was a huge and stock forms were ridiculously hard to follow. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Used to be great, now every useful feature is blocked behind layers of spam and minor conveniences are held for ransom..... or else you have to do parts of it over and over. classic strongarmming April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remembers the Details! Turbo Tax remembers the relevant info and earning/spending habits; Able to remember more deductions. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was pleased with explanation of the tax questions and the ease of getting my refund back. But. . . It was difficult to log in due to disabled email accounts (Almost an hour). It lacked editing sections that has been easier. It lacked full disclosure of costs until the end. these are easily fixed. I did not get an option to print. My filing cost increased substantially over previous years, and I will be looking for other alternatives if they are not corrected. Thank you for this opportunity. April 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Non plused This version is certainly a significant step back from the turbo tax I have been used to. I doubt I will use this again next year. The application stalled and was slow proceeding from one tax block to another. It did not have the nice logical flow and prompts I'm used to and that made it easier to fill in. It's not intuitive and the window helps would often cause the application to minimize and I'd have to pull it up again. It was not me it kept happening over and over. Going back to re-check completed blocks or edit was difficult, not easy navigating back like before. Had to redo stuff several times. I've been loyal and found incredible value in turbo tax for years but as I reflected I think this edition was sloppy and quality was severely compromised and showed even in appearance. Looked cheap! I doubt turbo tax will come back under current leader, he was trying to monetize and didn't include required forms on the deluxe versions for crying out loud. Unless there's a DRASTIC redo and they talk to users to improve the app I'm done. they have lost the lead April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a Relief! I have used Turbo Tax for years. It keeps me from HAVING to hire an accountant. It is easy for me to understand. I like it! Thank you Turbo Tax! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than sitting w/a strangr, stressd This is my 3rd time filing with TurboTax. It's been a while, but I'm glad I didn't go elsewhere. I was able to file from the comfort of my home, relaxed, without the pressure of a public environment and time restraints. I had to sign back in several times when I had to go look for info or docs. It just said welcome back and let's get back to where we were. And at the end, I was able to see my completed forms. Filing with Turbo helped me to be at ease and have confidence in filing my own taxes again. I was very 'pleezd' . Now I look forward to the final part. Receiving the refunds. Thank you TurboTax. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Got a refund, some software glitches I am a longtime user of TurboTax for around 10 years. This year was a difficult experience filing. The software would tell me that if I wanted to go back and explore certain options on my own, to go to that section and click on explore on my own, except when I would do that, that option did not appear. I had to prepare my return twice because of this. Also, at the start of tax season, there were some very confusing messages from TurboTax about certain unforeseen difficulties the company had with this year's returns, stating that people could get a refund for the purchase of TurboTax. The messages were multiple and confusing. I ultimately did not seek said refund. Also, while preparing my return, TurboTax said that the form for itemized deductions was not available, but I could continue to file anyway without the form. Seriously?! In the end, I guess it showed up, because on the second return I prepared, that alert did not come up. TurboTax was always my "go-to" for my tax preparation. After this year, I am not so sure. A friend of mine used H&R Block's software and said it was easy, free too. I may just have to try that next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So So Refund Tricky on the free tax preparation cost me $120 April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Rocks Easy to navigate, understand and fast! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy-peasy I used TurboTax for years, but it was so easy, I was worried I was missing something or doing something wrong. I went to a tax professional last year, who reviewed my previous returns, said they were spot on, and charged me a fortune to complete my 2013 taxes. I went back to TurboTax this year and won't be switching again. It's just easy; that's ok. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb! April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Make taxes less scary I hate filing taxes. I leave it to the last minute every year. I'm not kidding, it's 11:30 pm on 4/15. But TurboTax made me laugh while i went through the process, and I suspect that next year I'll be more likely to get things sorted out more in advance. April 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Filed with lots of questions and crossed fingers. Towards the end where it was doing the final check (Smart Check) of the Federal form, it kept popping up with these form questions. There was a small window in the middle of the page to try to see what it was asking for on the form. The questions that it was asking for for form inputs were not clear and understandable. It was very frustrating. I may end up using a tax service next year. April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to use Easy to use. Didn't get a refund, but oh well. At least my info is on file if I need to revisit info. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy I have used turbo tax for some time and I dig it. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommendable for first timers Very helpful for a first timer like me. Searchable answers by users to your questions and quick explanation window pop-up also helps. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as pie The CD is easy to download and the step by step instructions is easy to understand. I don't have a difficult tax return, so filling in the information was really easy. 5 stars. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for expanations and details April 16, 2015
  • 2015-05-27T13:33:05.879-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-56, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181915, tr_181915
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 54 55 56 57 58 ... 3800 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.