1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 52 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184773 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always dependable! Always a dependable product for a necessary process. July 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sad Product I started my returns using your software and then I was interrupted and when I tried to go back to the returns, I was not able to open your 2014 software. Your technical people finally got it to open. Do to duplicate entries, I had to override and delete the duplicates. However, when I then tried to check my returns, I was told to remove the overrides first. Consequently, I could not check for errors since I had to use the override to eliminate the duplicate errors. This does not make sense! Introduce errors so you can check the returns! A sad piece of software and certainly not logical! I have used TurboTax for years and it was Excellent! This year it was terrible! I just hope my returns are ok. TurboTax can do a much better job. Mike York July 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed this year I've used TT for many, many years and it seems to get worse not better. The direct download function for investments had errors that had to be corrected to the actual 1099s. Foreign Tax Credit is handled badly so had to resort to pulling up form 1116 and correctly entering the data. Since I used to prepare returns for CPA firm for number of years I found it easier to go to the form on more than one occasion. A very frustrating experience this year and I will be reviewing ALTERNATIVES!! July 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax love ... I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 20 years ... for the first two I shadowed my accountant whom I paid hundreds of dollars to prepare my taxes ... after two years of comparing his returns to those I prepared on Turbo Tax I was confident that Turbo Tax was accurate and easy not to mention hundreds of dollars cheaper ... I was within $15 of the accountant each of the two years I did the returns ... mine are not simple as I have rental properties and buy and sell stocks ...own my own home ... Anyone can do Turbo Tax because they lead you and don't miss anything ... the reviews are terrific because they catch anything and everything out of balance ... This is the best program of any kind on the market today!!! July 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrides cause massive issues As long as you have a straightforward return this program is great. But if you ever need to manually enter any amounts on the forms (this is sometimes the case for self-employed folks, among others) you cannot use the online version, and you cannot e-file. Beware! July 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Review In most areas the program provides step by step guidance with good supporting information. However, the support for the foreign income exemption is not there. One has to wait and go back to the form after checking for errors (which are highlighted) and make the appropriate entries with minimal guidance. Error check appear to be accurate - but is not. The error check is repeated after making the necessary correction until no additional error are found. However, when the beginning of step-by-step guidance is selected and, without making any entries, the Error Check is performed again, then new errors will be identified. July 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need more categories for my business they should have select categories for certain businesses July 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lack ofTransmision of Returns and Recreating Forms I completed my returns in early April. Went to the end of the process and printed the coupon to send the state payment. When the IRS refund didn't come, researched and discovered returns were never transmitted. I have no idea why. After April, the computer crashed and I did not have any form of copy of the returns and had to recreate. I was the beneficiary of a trust. In previous years, including this past April, I could complete my return on the Deluxe version. With the second completion of returns for 2014, I had to buy-up to the Premier edition. My calculated bottom line for both the IRS and the state were different the second time around, with higher taxes for the year. I am sure I did something different, but I sure don't know what. My situation is fairly simple. This whole episode really makes me wonder about Turbo Tax. July 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by what can i say.. I have used the product since the 1990s. Wouldn't use anything else! July 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by As good as always I've been using this product since 1992, and it has never failed me! July 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truth about Turbo Tax Easy to use and takes the headache away from doing taxes. July 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great program It is a great program & I have used it for years. It would be nice to see the break down & a special section for DOT transportation required users. I t can be a pain going from your site to the IRS & looking up all of the meals & gratuities to calculate daily meal values. I know I am allowed so much a day to eat & it would be nice to see that in the "Learn More" drop down explanation. It also would be nice if like going thru the 9 sections of deductions that when you finished a sub menu that it came back to that sub section instead of the top so you have to scroll thru the whole menu again. Would speed up productivity & keep everything working right. My file folders for my records are put in order for that & if I take a break then I have to start all over again. Thanks for such a great program & I order mine way in advance just so I know I will have it at tax time. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complicated but clearly explained. When working on my 2014 income tax I felt like I has a partner with a PhD in TAX. Turbo Tax made me feel comfortable that the my return would go through without a glitch. William C. Hardy July 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only Slightly Painful Overall, it was a good experience, and now that I have one under my belt, I will use TurboTax for my next tax return. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The state tax missed my retirement contributions. (Massachusetts). I had to manually research online and enter my contributions to the city retirement fund. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Thorough I have used Turbo Tax for at least 15 years. I like that it gives me the choice to skip a section if it doesn't apply to me. I also have the option of step-by-step help or exploring on my own. I also like that at any point I can go back to any section and revise my numbers (like if I suddenly remember something). I use Quicken for my checking account and am able to print a report by category; this helps me find totals to input into the TT software. I had never had a problem e-filing until this year...thus the 4 stars instead of 5. But customer service was very helpful and we were able to solve the problem. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program I have been using Turbo Tax for a number of years. The program is up to date - regarding IRS changes. There is always on line help if needed. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by spectaculary amended ! Jan was very helpful with resolving my issue. July 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping a bit The new requirement for buying the Business edition is a great annoyance as I have been using TTax for twenty years or more and never had to buy an upgrade to file a Schedule C. I have less than two hundred dollars in Sch C income, and yet will have to pay for the Home and Business edition to record that minor income. Same for Sch D. A single stock trade requires buying the Premiere Edition. I think I can handle it without TurboTax's help in 2015. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Inexpensive! This is my third year using TurboTax. We operate a small business and in the past used tax accountants to do our tax preparation. A friend recommended TurboTax as an economical alternative to paying large fees to a tax account or struggling through the incredibly complex process ourselves. Using TurboTax certainly fulfills our need for an affordable and reliable method of tax filing. The program double-checks everything for accuracy and helps avoid red flags in the return. TurboTax definitely takes some of the pain out of paying income taxes!! July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by got by for another year been using TurboTax for as many years as I can remember. until the tax laws get simplier, I will continue using TurboTax July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional, easy, trustworthy I love it, I love saving money by doing my taxes myself, and I feel confident in the process and all of the documentation provided for a small business owner. I wish it was easier to change information that I already provided (which I had to do when I found additional documentation, additional income or expenses, etc. as I went along). July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Areas for improvement TurboTax handles the everyday items well. However, K-1's especially error resolution are a nightmare. Attempting to find items like applying your refund to next year's return are needlessly difficult. I find that getting an early copy of the program is the most expensive. Why can I buy a copy of the same program from Costco at a significant discount to the price I pay to TurboTax directly? July 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Harder every year I have reached a tentative conclusion that it is easier/faster to file manually than having to go through all of the steps required in TurboTax to complete schedules A, C, and E. I know I can't really blame TurboTax. The source of the problem is the ridiculous tax laws enacted by the U.S. Congress. Our country needs some serious tax simplification. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative, helpful and easy to use I appreciate the clear step by step questions. Turbo Tax reminds me of things I would have forgotten and informs me of things I would otherwise not have known to include. I've used it for over 15 years and have always been satisfied with it's simplicity and results. July 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience ever I've used Turbo tax more than 15 years. This will be the last. The problems started with importing from the last year. Every form imported had to be filled out and I couldn't get rid of them even though multiple forms didn't apply this year. July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Year Completed I've been using TT since 1987. With TT, I understand my taxes better and can complete them when I'm ready to do them. I also love the fact that I have an electronic and hard copy of all of my previous returns. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made Capital Gains/Losses entry "a piece of cake!" TurboTax customer service was very apologetic and helpful when I called about the upgrade to the Premier version. Schedule D was not setup in the 2014 Deluxe desktop version to e-file. It was a painless process to get the free upgrade so we could e-file our return. We've used TurboTax for several years with great results. I definitely recommend if you're not using an accountant. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth I have always thought that Intuit must own a paper company. Too many unnecessary forms in the finished product. There should be an "eco-sensitive" option to print only the forms that are absolutely necessary to keep in your hard copy file. For example, the state return requires a copy of the federal to be attached, but the file copy should just have a "reminder" to attach the federal in the event it needs to be duplicated for any reason. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used for last 10 years Like that it builds on past years, but allows me to use all forms if necessary or situation changes. It's easy to work on in little time parcels then pick up where you left it. Don't like the extra cost to E-file state when state prefers it. July 7, 2015
  • 2015-12-01 T10:30:17.254-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-52, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 50 51 52 53 54 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.