1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 5 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181867 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by tax time Must include the business parts and schedules like 2013. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than sliced bread! I've used Turbo Tax for several years and it is so easy to follow and file. I tried going to Block once but they asked me the exact same questions and charged me a fortune. I've never gone back. Turbo Tax is for me! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Application This is an excellent product; I will utilize every year. Thanks a bunch! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! I use this every year and it just keeps getting better. I love the fact it imports all my info from the previous year to speed up a job I don't like doing anyways... May 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad bugs in the program When at the review tab, after the review is done I'm getting the feedback as "looks like you're not done with health insurance". When going to health insurance, it asks for personal information. I have tripple checked all of the personal information. Even re entered, one by one. But still have the issue. I personally think this is a software issue. One since we have been living abroad for last 5 years and do not enter anything on US health insurance (never had since we moved) and also none of our personal information has changed. Please help me out. This is very frustrating. Had to Force a file function without using the review function oi turbo tax. May 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some Improvements Needed I had problems with transferring information from QB to TT. I ended up having to enter some stuff by hand. Just couldn't get a couple of numbers to fall into the right place. I also do not like the balance sheet part of it. Luckily for me I am really small, but the numbers need to flow more smoothly. I do not see why I should have to make changes manually. I took a lot of time to do tax mapping and would have expected this to work in a more smooth fashion. May 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could Offer Better Advice I have used Turbo Tax for years and it is pretty simple. But it would be great if it offered a bit better guidance on possible ededuuctions. I also use the Small Business version which is not very user friendly. I hope they look into using more spreadsheets for data input, it would make preparation of the K-1's much simpler. I'll use Turbo Tax again but they need to think about how the product can be improved! Don't get complacent! May 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need better direct access features Turbo Tax's strong point has always been it's interview-style approach to taxes. This works well, but completely falls apart when you want to correct one number. Let's say you estimated your healthcare costs (Personal & Small Biz) and then want to go back and correct it. It is almost impossible to find the right place to do this. There are similar examples. What TT needs is a way to quickly and easily address each line of detail without forcing you back to the underlying forms. In short, a much more robust navigation facility. May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! I would recommend this tax service to anyone in my network. The service has gotten me a great refund for two years running! Thanks again for the wonderful service! May 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax I love using Turbo Tax online. You have all my information for many years. I don't have to worry about getting the new software every year. May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good as it always is May 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbotax has gone downhill This year I purchased Turbotax Premier as I have done in past years with not too many issues. They diminished the capabilities of Premier this year forcing me to upgrade to Business which I really don't need and never have. I complete the sections as instructed only to get errors that need addressing at the end of the return. This is not unexpected, however, the software is broken and does not allow the errors to be fixed forcing you into a continuous loop of frustration. Finally after dealing with multiple such software bugs in different areas, I begin transmitting my returns only to be stopped once again by a new error that they found on my federal return AFTER they had given the go-ahead to file, and now informing me that I will have to mail my return because it is ineligible for electronic filing. What gives?!? How was this not flagged when I was entering this information, and then later in the federal review? Experiencing these errors makes me wonder how many other bugs there are that did not catch problems, or improper advice on how to enter information, or bad calculations the software has made. It may look glossy and professional, but it is anything but, and needs much more testing before being released to the public. Lastly, I hate the fact that I have to log into my account in order to use my desktop software which I specifically purchased to avoid having my information online. Bad bad bad. Turbotax has gone seriously downhill and I am going to be very reluctant to use it again in the years ahead. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best You are a fool not to use this program. This is my third year using it and it only gets better May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by JR CPA Don't mind paying for quality services I receive or pay fairly when decide to purchase anything worth parting with my money for...but I would have started with Home and Business upgrade if e file costs were disclosed. I was a bit taken back by the fact I was not able to print all my work and was not told in advance that was an immanent conclusion to all my hard work...other than that, I was impressed again with the Turbo Tax software! May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! This software has helped me and saved me $$$ for several years now. It is so easy. I can't imagine anyone wasting their hard earned dollars on taking all their info to a CPA or tax preparer and having someone else do it for them. May 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inaccurate tax due calculation Using 2013 quarterly tax due figures (3 quarters) total of $7314.00 and what you indicated the payment on line 65 the sum of$10852.00 resulted in an under payment of $3718.00 with non payment penalty and interest it amounts to $3744.44. How do you explain that? What about your 100% accurate guarantee? How does that work? May 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Update issues 1. The insurance subsidy was showing I had to pay a big penalty midway through my return. I almost stopped and went to a tax pro for help as my state info was saying I would not owe the penalty. I had to wait until the very end of my return to find I did not have to pay a penalty. 2. There was an error in the program that would not let me enter the appropriate information and the software was not corrected until May. As I had already paid to file before finding this information I was forced to file for an extension. It also was very difficult to find the information as to when the software correction would happen. I have used Turbo Tax for about 10 years and this is the first time I have had issues with getting my taxes finished. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by past due Tax man breathing down my neck and had to get out taxes for a few past due years. I had most of the documentation and all except two of the old programs. Old computer died so could not run them from where they were installed. BUT I could get the disks that I had run again and they picked up the old data files. This software made it almost painless. May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Filing is a Lot Less Scarey May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax gets the Max! This is the second year I have used TurboTax and i am really pleased. The website is easy to use and asks all the right questions. The "Explain This" section is really helpful in determining if items pertain to you. They were very helpful. Just get all of your papers together and sit down and begin. Rates are reasonable. May 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Got my refunds Nothing much to add, except I, along with a lot of others, it seems, was not favorably impressed by the downgrading you did to the Deluxe version. May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Job! I would like to see a preliminary list of documents needed to complete a return. I found myself getting up and looking for documents a little to much. Maybe a list of the most commonly needed documents before starting the return would help to make it a more efficient experience for the tax payer. Thanks. May 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2 Years in a row... NO ELECTRONIC DEPOSIT This is the second year I have to wait 3-4 weeks for my refund check because the e-refund did not work. May 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by getting worse Last Year was bad. This was even worse. Remember without us you do not have a business. I have been a steady customer for years,but after the last two years I am reconsidering ..... May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Very all encompassing and easy. I cant believe its free! May 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by great service, poor information I needed to track a federal refund I didn't receive unable to locate my bank information. :( May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved my semester I didn't have enough cash to pay for summer school, and I wasn't going to be able to take a loan for Fall 2015 until I submitted my tax return. Turbo Tax took care of both of them for me! I would definitely recommend it if you are a single student working full time. May 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simplifies Complicated Taxes As a self-employed person, I find taxes to be very intimidating. Turbo Tax walks you through the whole process, and if you miss something (a critical receipt turns up, for example), you can always add it in later. With TurboTax I feel confident that the forms are done correctly, and I still maintain control of my finances, while deepening my understanding of what is happening to my money in the world of the IRS. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow! so easy it's scary I don't have a lot of special deductions or a home etc so mine were pretty easy- I do however have child tax credits and the other one- those forms can be tricky and wording of dirrections can be difficult to know if you are doing it right. It takes the guess work out- also I made an error in my 2012 taxes which would have been avoided with this program. I will definitely use it again for 2015 taxes. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value! Easy to use, this was our second year with TurboTax. Our tax professional retired so we decided to do it ourselves. The first year was a little tedious as a lot of information was needed, because we file a 1040, schedules A, C, E as well as depreciation schedules. If you can type, then you can get it done. TurboTax checks your entries and looks at other possible ways to save you money on your returns. I recommend it to anyone looking to an alternative to taking your taxes to a stranger. May 8, 2015
  • 2015-05-21T14:10:28.308-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181865, tr_181865
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 3799 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.