1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 4 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184773 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes Overall, the software provides very good support thru every step and makes the filing less stressful. thank you October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amita Made it Work My taxes were made more complicated by the fact that I owed taxes in 2 states in 2014. I was having a really hard time figuring out how to avoid getting double taxed on my dividend and interest income. Amita spent hours walking me through what to do. When she ran into roadblocks, she took the time offline to figure out how to fix my issues, then patiently walked me through the correct way to fill out my forms. I am extremely grateful to her and impressed with the level of customer service at TurboTax. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one Con! I have used Turbo Tax since the first year it started and have always been happy with it. I not only like Turbo Tax Software, but I have been extremely happy with the call in customer service. I have been very ill and am now disabled. This year I had to mail my taxes in by Oct. 15, it would have been great if there was also a way (just a button to select) to send Turbo tax a copy of my return. You just don't know how Turbo Tax having a copy of my taxes has helped in the past. We had a home fire that took everything and you helped me get it back. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as always October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I used to use H&R Block which was great, but was advised I could do this for myself. I have used TurboTax ever since. It is very user friendly. The "helps" to answer any questions are easy to understand and make using TurboTax a breeze. Try TurboTax...it could help your dreaded filing time seem not so taxing! October 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smiling!! Filing was easy and TurboTax asked questions I would not have thought to answer. October 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes Tax Filing so Easy I like how easy it makes tax filing for us. I hear complaints, but I don't relate. Have used it for the last 10 years, and it gets better each year. Remembers all my old data, so I can do comparisons on previous payments or deductions etc. October 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by frustrated Hello, A couple of things... I am a US citizen and have lived overseas for 12 years, and other than having to file and pay taxes have very little to do with the US except the odd business trip. My complaints: 1. You dont offer your program(s) for expats without a US address / account, so i have to rely on someone to travel to the US and bring one back, and if it happens to be the wrong version, because thats all that was available in the store, I am unable to upgrade online for the same reasons. 2. You offer very little to zero information / guidance when it comes down to filling out the back-up forms i.e. 1116, FEI excluded amounts etc 3. In conjunction with the above, when asked to fill in amounts in the workpages or descriptions for expenses, it names the workpage, but one has no insight into what item it refers to. I am of the opinion that your programs in earlier years were "friendlier".... i do understand the taxes situation has becom more complicated rather than simpler, but nonetheless... October 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Frustration .....so had to re-input alllll info! As a 'retired' EA, who used Lacerte professionally, I think TurboTax is an OK program for someone who has a simple return, but having had to amend more than a few returns of audited TT-users, am glad to see you continue to try to make the program more 'amateur' friendly. My suggestion for eliminating my 'goof' would be to ask if TT used prior year, then put in some kind of message or ALERT! to remind user to carry fwd prior info, before proceeding. October 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Get's the job done Turbotax "Step by Step" walked me through the process very nicely. I could easily switch to forms and see what was happening. HOWEVER, anything unusual (at least to Intuit) creates problems. Clergy Housing for bi-vocational ministers is very poorly handled in program documentation. The instructions in the help community were wrong. The program also failed to provide the opportunity to include the Housing Allocation Attachment. October 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just OK If you know how to complete a tax return, TurboTax is darn near impossible to use... finding the place to enter unusual items like foreign tax paid and information required for the 1116, the 2555 and the kiddie tax is horribly frustrating. It's fine if your situation is simple and you just follow along but there needs to be an option for more experienced and knowledgable people with more complex situations. Buying the more expensive option doesn't help, the format is all the same. October 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handling of Healthcare Marketplace Complications I turned back to Turbo Tax this year on October 15th (yikes!) after having repeated problems with the competition's software related to my health insurance. H&R's software was wholly unable to calculate my taxes correctly based on my being self-employed and purchasing a Healthcare Marketplace plan. I understand this was a common problem, and Turbo Tax handily picked up the ball that H&R dropped. Turbo Tax is generally easy to use and handled these problems well. The only con is that Turbo Tax's self-guided navigation is less intuitive with more complicated taxes (even in the Business Edition). Turbo Tax was a great lifesaver at the last moment this year, but I will probably still hire a private CPA next year. October 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy Camper I was a little disappointed this year. While there were more question/items that were allowed for my home office. I was trying to write off my internet which I use for work and it stated that it would ask the question later after the questions about utilities etc... and it never came up. I kept going back thinking I missed it, but it was never there. That would have been another $600.00 write off, so I am some what disappointed. Still can't beat the convenience of TurboTax! October 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by SO SO DIRECTIONS CAN BE HARD TO FOLLOW. DATA ENTRY SEEMS REPETITIOUS AT TIMES. October 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by lowers my blood pressure I can't thank you enough for making my annual income tax nightmare into an easy process that is done in no time at all. The step by step process of asking easy to understand questions makes sure you get every deduction you can. October 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made My Life Easier Have used this tool for several years and will continue! October 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 TurboTax Personal Return Had several really complex tax returns due to dealing with husband's estate and resulting termination of family partnrship. Couldn't have done it without TurboTax for the 2013 and 2014 returns. Thank you! October 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by People on phone nice and but software a mess October 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longtime user I've used Turbotax for over ten years. It has only become more user-friendly and comprehensive. October 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longtime user I've used Turbotax for more than 10 years and it has only become more user-friendly. Always accurate. October 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful The software is solid. It's my preferred method of filing taxes for business and personal. It's able to issue a K1, which I use for my 1040. It is thorough, and even though things like the AMT calculations must be done, it's assuring that it's taken care of. October 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So helpful! This was so easy. Attempted to do these forms by hand and they were very confusing. I will forever use TurboTax! October 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mediocre There were so many areas where I had to hunt and hunt when it was obvious I should have been linked to the next screen. This added hours to filing my return. October 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me again! This is a fantastic tool for completing tax returns. It is a snap to fill out the forms if one has the required data available. Unfortunately, I have a difficult time getting everything together. While not part of the Turbo Tax program, it might be nice if there were a tutorial available in the program of how to organize paperwork throughout the year. Essentially teach organizationally challenged people like me what papers i need to keep and where to file them. And also how to obtain online copies of tax documents, such as SSA-1099 for those unorganized procrastinators who would otherwise just estimate income since they couldn't find the information in time to file taxes. October 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ELECTRONIC FILING FALLS SHORT Was really disappointed this year using Turbo Tax. Since last year tax return was processed after Nov 23, 2014, I found I was ineligible to file electronically. There was no prompting if you meet this exception. I got done 10/15/15 and had plenty of time to print the tax return and mail it on the extension date but the program allowed me to think I could file electronically. After being rejected twice, by entering AGI from last year I searched irs.gov to see about acquiring a electronic pin and found the exception. Perhaps the software failure was because I did not electronically file last year. No matter what, I feel the software should of prompted and not left me in a panic worrying if I will be penalized for mailing it after 10/15/15. October 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2014 stinks I have bee using Turbo Tax every year since at least 2005. Every year it becomes more difficult and cumbersome to use. This year it took me over an hour to change an error entry I made on the Q&A. It would not change on the form! I could not find a way to split a gain from sale of another person (non-partnership) Also, since I did not file until October 2015 for 2014 taxes I was not eligible for the $25 rebate for the upgrade to Premier which I needed due to your changes for 2014. I also think this increase in price for the same services I used before is extreme. How about some type of ala carte for those of us who need some of the changes you have taken from Deluxe and now include in Premier. At this point I am not sure if my return was electronically files ....apparently I have to go through this review to get that information. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH YOUR 2014 PRODUCT OR PRICE ! October 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by More Info... Didn't like the overall flow and feel. Felt very vague and out of touch with form it was going to. I'd like to understand what from I'm entering data to ultimately. October 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Appeared more complicated than 2013 version I found 2014 to be more complicated than 2013. October 20, 2015
  • 2016-02-04 T06:07:55.100-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.