1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 4 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182893 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182875 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by went the extra mile to help me with my return I didnt mean to sign up for the deluxe and didnt realize it until I was very near the end. I called the customer support and the most awesome lady assisted me, step by step on remedying my situation. She also walked me through obtaining my PIN # from the IRS and stayed with me on the phone until everything was done. I would definitely recommend TurboTax to anyone!!! August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It was helpful and very easy to use! There was not one page where I did not know what to do. August 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tool I like using the software it is very user friendly. August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sometimes confusing, but did the job The questions they ask are mostly straight forward. Sometimes the explanations didn't clarify a topic very much. It is very hard to understand how something applies to the forms, but I guess that's why I use the software. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall, an excellent program As a multi-decade user of the Home and Business versions, I have saved thousands of dollars in professional tax preparation fees and have developed complete trust and confidence in Turbo Tax. August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product, but prices are going up I've been a loyal Turbotax user for 15+ years. First, just recently I believe that their data breach affected my brother as bogus returns were filed under his name. Dealing with that is a pain in the rear, plus he was never contacted to receive any credit watch services. Secondly, they now require that you upgrade to Home & Business in order to file a simple Schedule C when you are not issuing 1099's. The cost difference between that and what I normally paid was about $50. Next year, I'm shopping around. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience. Handled complicated K-1 and IRD deductions. August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Data Entry Torture Chamber recommend highly that data be entered by entering directly from source documents, ie 1099's. TurboTax would transfer the data into the particular list for summing and entering onto the proper line on the return. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Corporation Taxes Buying Turbo Tax at Amazon saved me a hundred dollars. It was well worth the four and a half hours I spent on Turbo Tax. It could have been easier if I had more help with forms corrections. Also, there was not a good direction on how to print the final corporation taxes for mailing. There were 3 choices given: print a copy for your records, save to pdf and cancel. August 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business & Trust incomplete directions for trust return Fed, MO. NM not supported at all. Not worth the money. Used personal for years but the business / trust needs substantial work. August 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish there was better K1 step-by-step instructions. With more and more "alternative" investments, this would seem to be a new area that many taxpayers are going to be asking for better assistance with. K1 forms are not well standardized and it seems to me until you improve these data entries, professional help will be needed to interpret these, and your customers will be taking their returns to their tax accountants, at much greater expense (and time and effort). This looks like a business opportunity for intuit, until Congress wises up and simplifies the tax code!!! August 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 Easy to use but is becoming too expensive I have been a long-time Turbo Tax user (15+ years) and have always been pleased with the product. However, I had several disappointments this year. First, I was not happy that I was required to buy the more expensive version to meet my needs this year even though my tax situation did not change from previous years. Second, I had to file an extension and had to go outside the software to do it. I've only filed an extension one other time and it was included in the software then. I would have expected it to be included, especially in the more expensive version (see #1). Finally, when I efiled my state return, I noticed the fee had gone up $5 from previous years. Through reading other user comments, I saw they actually increased it mid season. In the past, I have purchased TT without even comparing other products, but that will no longer be the case. August 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Federal was good; States so so We are long time users of Turbo Tax (from times before Intuit.) Federal returns are consistently great on their information gathering and computation. The document import features vary in effectiveness and with some of the imports, it was just easier to hand enter the data. State returns (we file 4 states returns in our family) are very inconsistent and difficult to use, California is definitely the best and most through. Wisconsin on the other hand appears to be incomplete and confusing. Fortunately we only need to file for Non-resident loss carryforwards on a K-1 at for the last couple of years, but that will change and we are considering skipping out to a professional when it does because we don;t trust Turbotax Wisconsin to get it right.. August 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by My 2014 refund I started a TurboTax file to apply for an extension to file. When it came time to finish the filing process, I opened the original TurboTax file to finish the final filing. Bad news, the file didn't import my previous year's data. I puzzled over this problem with no luck for almost 2 hours. I was finally able to get assistance thru the online help chat area, where I was told to start over with a totally new filing process. Very irritating. August 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by forced upgrade for investments....would not import prior year.....tech support excellent, but required three time as much effort in prior years....next year turbo tax use is doubtful..........even this survey is proving painful....ben August 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Experience August 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent It went smoothly, only took me 40 minutes. I spent more time worrying about having to do taxes than doing them! August 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Busy to Fool Around Overall, the 2014 Turbo Tax program was more comprehensive and easier to use, as I found it convenient to go from the narrated step-by-step method of data entry, to the quicker filling in of data worksheet forms. All other background operation processes were very smooth and ran without a hitch. August 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrating First I had to buy and install new operating system just to make it work. Then I couldn't download last year's information. Then I had to upgrade from TurboTax Deluxe to Premier for $30.00 for the same things I did last year. And it made no difference in my taxes. Also you're supposed to be able to take up where you left off. Every time I did that it seemed to repeat several steps. Start early to deal with problems/delays! August 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by loss i have used turbo tax for several years now; each year is an improvement, but i wish i did not have to reanswer all the questions when i go back and correct something i.e. on 1099R, it always asks about IRA when entering a employers: retirement plan. August 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Seniors Very helpful with schedule C and In Home Business Office. August 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than an accountant Used Turbo tax for last 10 years and will continue going forward. Great program with good updating to be 100% on top of existing IRS "do's and don'ts's" The program allows a layman (non-accountant) to be well versed in tax law and allowable deductions. August 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was double billed by turbo tax in 2014. Profile info did not auto populate as I would expect, using this year after year. August 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MLPs: Even though the tax support packages provide data on the basis and how much is considered Ordinary Income, is this sufficient for IRS? What if one has an unusual event with regard to Foreign Tax Credits (i.e., having to pay a foreign government on assets in U.S.), is there any where to go to get answers? August 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use with access to several levels of help Hard to imagine who could want more detail or help as an individual (not filing for own company). Constant updates, videos, examples, etc. August 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business section For the most part this is the easiest tax software to use. However, navigation needs improvement. If you need to go back and check an entry it is nearly impossible to find where it was located. Bookmarking it is not really helpful for some reason. If you tell it to walk you through the entire section again, you will have to answer many of the questions all over again. That is a huge pain in the neck! If i have already answered yes or no to a question, it should save that answer! It does in some places and not in others. (i.e. did you document your mileage) Deprecation needs more guidance!!! (i.e AMT value) August 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of Returns to File I have used Turbotax for close to 20 years and have been very satisfied. My kids now live in three different states, and they charged my $43 for the state and then another $25 to file it. $68 is too much to file a state tax return! August 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I always like it I could not stop use it or change to different softwares since I started to use TurboTax over 12 years ago. I like it and so easier to use, convenient and quick. August 12, 2015
  • 2015-09-02T11:38:58.899-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182875, tr_182875
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 3820 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.